本文档可以帮助您解决在 Adobe Audition 2 和 3 中录制、播放或监控时出现的问题。

录制问题可能会以多种不同的方式表现出来,包括(但不限于)以下方式:

  • 录制的音频质量较差。
  • 音频通过系统监控,但是录制的音频文件为空。
  • 在录制时播放延迟。
  • 在监控传入的音频时播放延迟。

录制或播放问题可能是由不同的原因所致,包括设备驱动程序和软硬件之间的冲突,以及特定文件中的元素有所损坏。虽然某些问题只有在您使用 Adobe Audition 时才会出现,但未必是由 Adobe Audition 所致。可能它是唯一一个占用的内存或处理器资源足够多以致暴露出问题的应用程序。

若要最大限度地受益于此文档,请按照顺序执行任务。 记录您执行的任务以及每个任务的结果,包括错误或其他问题。如果致电 Adobe 技术支持部门,他们可以使用这些信息为您提供更好的帮助。

音频延迟

音频延迟是指音频信号从声卡输入传递到声卡输出所需的时间。音频信号将得到数字化处理、通过 Adobe Audition 进行传送并由应用的音效处理。然后它将在声卡输出位置转换回模拟形式。其中每个步骤都会造成音频延迟(以毫秒为单位)。现有音频(多音轨中某个音轨上的现有音频文件)不会出现相同时长的延迟,因为已经对音轨进行数字化处理。在 Adobe Audition 中,现有音轨与监控输入之间播放延迟的这种差异就是延迟最明显的地方。

如果延迟超过 10 毫秒,那么现有音轨与监控输入的播放之间就会产生听得见的延迟。尽管缓冲区设置(参阅下文中的步骤 8)可以帮助减少延迟,硬件设备驱动程序的设计以及音效处理量可能会使监控非常困难(或无法进行监控)。如果声卡的设备驱动程序不允许足够低的延迟,则可能无法在录制的同时监控。也可能您需要使用设备驱动程序延迟较低的新声卡(例如 ASIO 声卡)。

适用于延迟时间的一般准则

  • 小于 10 毫秒 - 允许实时监控传入音轨,包括音效。
  • 等于 10 毫秒 - 可以检测到延迟,不过听起来还是比较自然,可以进行监控。
  • 11-20 毫秒 - 开始变得无法进行监控,实际声源模糊,监控的输出很明显。
  • 20-30 毫秒 - 延迟的声音开始听起来像是实际延迟而不是原始信号的一部分。

注意:人耳习惯了延迟,因为这在我们周围总是自然地发生。声音的频率、与声源的距离以及人耳的物理性质全都对听觉起着一定的作用。但是,录制和监控过程中发生的延迟时间是因为声卡、设备驱动程序以及计算机 CPU 处理能力的物理性质和限制。

疑难解答

1. 确保系统符合 Adobe Audition 的最低要求。

Adobe Audition 在不符合以下要求的系统上无法正常运行:

Adobe Audition 3

  • Intel Pentium 4(DV 需要 1.4 GHz,HDV 需要 3.4 GHz);Intel Centrino;Intel Xeon(HD 需要双 Xeon 2.8-GHz 处理器);或者 Intel Core Duo 或兼容的处理器(AMD 系统需要支持 SSE2 的处理器)
  • 带有 Service Pack 2 的 Microsoft Windows XP Professional 或 Home Edition 或者 Windows Vista Home Premium、Business、Ultimate 或 Enterprise(仅针对 32 位版本进行了支持认证)
  • 512 MB RAM(DV 播放需要 1 GB;HDV 和 HD 播放需要 2 GB)
  • 10 GB 可用硬盘空间(与 Loopology DVD 一起使用时)
  • 安装时所需的 DVD 驱动器
  • 1,280 x 900 显示器分辨率,以及 32 位显卡和 16 MB VRAM
  • 兼容 Microsoft DirectX 或 ASIO 的声卡
  • 使用 QuickTime 功能所需的 QuickTime 7.0
  • 产品激活需要 Internet 或电话连接

Adobe Audition 2

  • Intel Pentium III、IV、Intel Centrino(或其他支持 SSE 的处理器)
  • 带有 Service Pack 2 的 Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition 或 Windows XP Home Edition
  • 512 MB RAM(建议 1 GB 或以上)
  • 700 MB 可用硬盘空间(建议具有 5.5 GB 可用硬盘空间,以便安装可选的音频剪辑)
  • 1024x768 屏幕分辨率(推荐使用 1280x1024)
  • 具有 DirectSound 或 ASIO 驱动程序的声卡(建议使用多音轨 ASIO 声卡)
  • CD-ROM 驱动器(建议使用 DVD-ROM 驱动器,以便安装可选的音频剪辑)
  • 用于创建音频 CD 的 CD-RW 驱动器
  • 扬声器或耳机(建议准备)
  • 产品激活和基于 Internet 的服务所需的 Internet 或电话连接

2. 验证是否为 Adobe Audition 选择了正确的驱动程序。

Adobe Audition 2 和 3 基于新 ASIO 播放引擎进行设计,在使用 ASIO 驱动程序时才能实现最佳性能。如果未安装 ASIO 驱动程序以用于 Adobe Audition,请选择 Adobe Audition Windows Sound 驱动程序。

要验证是否为 Adobe Audition 选择了正确的驱动程序,请执行以下操作:

  1. 选择“编辑”>“音频硬件设置”,然后单击“编辑视图”、“多音轨”或“环绕编码器”选项卡。

    注意:分别设置每个视图(“编辑”、“多音轨”和“环绕编码器”)。
  2. 确保在“音频驱动程序”菜单中选择已安装的声卡驱动程序。
    • 如果 ASIO 设备驱动程序可用,确保选择它。
    • 如果 ASIO 设备驱动程序不可用,请选择 Adobe Audition Windows Sound 驱动程序,并参阅设置 Adobe Audition 3 音频硬件驱动程序 (kb408729) 以了解有关设置 AWS 驱动程序的详细信息。

注意:Adobe 建议您选择随音频设备一起安装的 ASIO 驱动程序,而非默认 Adobe Audition Windows Sound 驱动程序。仅当系统音频设备没有自己的 ASIO 驱动程序时才使用 Adobe Audition Windows Sound 驱动程序。

3. 验证是否正确设置了声卡。

如果在 Adobe Audition 中录制时出现了问题,可能是未正确设置声卡。声卡控制所有播放和录制,如果未正确设置,则应用程序无法录制音频。

ASIO 设备驱动程序

  1. 选择“编辑”>“音频硬件设置”,然后单击“编辑视图”、“多音轨”或“环绕编码器”选项卡。
  2. 在“驱动程序属性”部分中,选择“控制面板”。
  3. 在驱动程序控制面板中设置设备。有关硬件设置的详细信息,请参阅硬件制造商的用户指南。

Adobe Audition Windows Sound 设备驱动程序:

  1. 选择“编辑”>“音频硬件设置”,然后单击“编辑视图”、“多音轨”或“环绕编码器”选项卡。
  2. 在“驱动程序属性”部分中,选择“控制面板”。
  3. 在 Adobe Audition Windows Sound 控制面板中设置设备。有关设置 AWS 驱动程序的详细信息,请参阅设置 Adobe Audition 3 音频硬件驱动程序 (kb408729)。

4. 更新声卡驱动程序。

许多声卡制造商经常更新其软件驱动程序。如果您最近未更新过声卡驱动程序,请与声卡制造商联系,以获得更新的驱动程序。或者,从制造商的网站下载。

5. 将 Adobe Audition 临时文件夹放置在具有足够可用磁盘空间的高性能驱动器上。

当您在编辑视图中录制时,Adobe Audition 会将临时文件存储在其主要临时目录中。确保将主要临时目录放置在可用空间最多且速度最快的驱动器(7200 rpm 及以上)上。专门为 Adobe Audition 临时文件创建一个文件夹。通过为临时文件创建文件夹,您可以在需要删除这些文件时轻松地找到它们。

要创建主要临时目录并为其设置位置,请执行以下操作:

  1. 在希望主要临时目录所位于的硬盘驱动器的根目录处创建一个文件夹(如 Adobe AuditionTemp)。
  2. 在 Adobe Audition 中,选择“编辑”>“首选项”,然后单击“系统”选项卡。
  3. 在“临时文件夹”部分中,输入您在第 1 步中创建的文件夹的路径(或浏览)。

当您在多音轨视图中录制时,Adobe Audition 会直接将文件存储到当前会话的文件夹的子文件夹中。(例如,假设有一个名为 Thomas.ses 的会话,一个名为 Thomas_Recorded 的文件夹包含为该会话录制的所有文件。)确保会话文件(以及这个关联的文件夹)存储在可用空间最多且速度最快的驱动器(7200 rpm 及以上)上。

将 Adobe Audition 临时目录或会话文件夹放置在单独的硬盘驱动器上可以提高性能。如果您有多个硬盘驱动器,要将主要临时文件夹和会话文件夹放置在不包含 Adobe Audition 程序文件的硬盘驱动器上。

有关管理临时文件和文件夹的更多信息,请参阅《Adobe Audition 2.0 用户指南》中第 40 页上的“管理临时文件”。

6. 更改 Adobe Audition 中的“波形缓存”设置。

更改“波形缓存”设置可以提高 Adobe Audition 的性能。要更改“波形缓存”设置,请选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“系统”,然后根据您计算机上安装的 RAM 大小,在“缓存大小”字段中输入下表中的值。

安装的 RAM “波形缓存”设置
512 MB 32 MB
1 GB 64 MB
大于 1 GB 128 MB

7. 在未运行其他应用程序的情况下运行 Adobe Audition。

与 Adobe Audition 并发运行时,某些应用程序可能会导致系统错误或冻结。在启动 Adobe Audition 之前,要停用其他应用程序,包括启动项(随 Windows 自动启动的项目)。

要停用启动项,请执行以下操作:

  1. 退出所有应用程序。
  2. 选择“开始”>“运行”,然后在“打开”框中键入msconfig。单击“确定”。
  3. 单击“启动”选项卡,然后单击“全部停用”。
  4. 选择测试问题必需的所有启动项(例如,已安装音频设备的驱动程序控制面板)。如果不确定某个项目是否必需,则使其保持选中状态(启用)。
  5. 单击“确定”,然后重新启动 Windows。
  6. 右键单击“通知区域”(在以前版本的 Windows 中称为“系统任务栏”)中的图标,以关闭或停用仍处于活动状态的任何启动项。

然后,尝试重现问题:

  • 如果问题没有出现,表明停用的启动项之一与 Adobe Audition 冲突。一次重新启用一个启动项,逐一进行测试,直到确定与 Adobe Audition 冲突的项目为止。然后,联系该项目的开发商获取更新(若可以获取)。
  • 如果出现了问题,表明启动项不是起因,您可以重新启用它们。
    1. 选择“开始”>“运行”,然后在“打开”框中键入msconfig。单击“确定”。
    2. 单击“启动”选项卡,然后单击“全部启用”。
    3. 单击“确定”,然后重新启动 Windows。

8. 更改缓冲区大小设置。

调整缓冲区设置可以降低延迟,并帮助消除在录制或播放过程中可能会出现的点击声、弹出声、漏字及其他失真。在调整缓冲区设置之前,要记下当前的缓冲区设置,以便可以在必要时进行恢复。如果使用的是 Adobe Windows Sound 驱动程序,则可以在 Adobe Audition 中调整缓冲区设置。

要更改 Adobe Windows Sound 缓冲区设置,请执行以下操作:

  1. 选择“编辑”>“音频硬件设置”,然后单击“多音轨”选项卡。

    注意:请分别配置“编辑视图”和“环绕编解码器”。
  2. 选择 Adobe Audition Windows Sound 驱动程序,然后单击“控制面板”。
  3. 在“直接声音输入端口”部分,找到并选中您要用于音频输入的设备名称旁边的框。
  4. 双击“缓冲区大小”列中的数字,然后更改为所需的大小(请参阅该文档的本部分中的缓冲区大小准则)。

注意:如果使用的是 ASIO 声卡,那么请参阅制造商的文档,以了解有关设置缓冲区大小的详细信息。

注意以下缓冲区大小准则:

  • 要提高录制性能,应减小缓冲区大小(从 32 个到 256 个样本),该设置会降低延迟。
  • 要提高播放和混音性能(带音效),应增大缓冲区大小(从 512 个到 2048 个样本),该设置会提高延迟。

9. 优化 IDE 磁盘。

默认情况下,Windows XP 会为大多数 IDE 设备启用直接内存访问 (DMA)。如果停用了 DMA,请重新启用以提高 IDE 磁盘的传输速率并防止出现播放和录制问题。有关 DMA 模式的更多信息,请通过以下网址访问 Microsoft 网站:www.microsoft.com/whdc/default.mspx

有关如何优化 IDE 磁盘的说明,请参考您的 Windows 文档。

10. 更新显卡驱动程序。

Adobe Audition 2 和 3 的图形密集程度比以前的版本更高,可以利用更多视频 RAM 以及最新的驱动程序更新。如果您最近未更新过显卡驱动程序,请联系显卡制造商以获得更新的驱动程序,或者从制造商的网站下载。

11. 确定监控需求(Adobe Audition 混音与外部监控)。

Adobe Audition 配备三种监控类型,用于监控传入的音频信号。选择适当的监控类型有助于避免可能出现的驱动程序性能问题。有关监控的更多信息,请参阅《Adobe Audition 用户指南》的“聆听输入及应用于音轨的音效”部分。具有低延迟驱动程序的声卡在使用所有三种监控方法时性能相当。具有高延迟驱动程序声卡会导致在播放内容和监控内容之间出现明显延迟。如果延迟太长,可能您会被限制为只能监控外部输入。

要设置监控类型,请选择“选项”>“监控”,然后选择以下选项之一:

  • Adobe Audition“混音”>“智能监控输入”:仅在您录制音轨时监控输入。仅当声卡延迟较低,不会导致出现信号延迟时,才使用此设置。
  • Adobe Audition“混音”>“始终监控输入”:在播放和录制期间始终监控输入。仅当声卡延迟较低,不会导致出现信号延迟时,才使用此设置。
  • “外部”:直接从声卡监控输入,无需经由 Adobe Audition 中的音效和发送机制来传送它们。此选项将绕过 Adobe Audition,让声卡直接将音频传递到输出。有关通过声卡直接监控的更多详细信息,请参阅您的声卡用户指南。

 

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

This document can help you resolve problems that occur while you record, playback, or monitor in Adobe Audition 2 and 3.

Recording problems can manifest themselves in many different ways, including (but not limited to) the following:

  • Quality of recorded audio is poor.
  • Audio is monitored through the system but the recorded audio file is empty.
  • Delay in playback while recording.
  • Delay in playback while monitoring incoming audio.

Different factors can cause recording or playback problems, including conflicts among device drivers, software, and hardware, and corrupt elements in specific files. Although some problems occur only when you work with Adobe Audition, Adobe Audition isn't necessarily the cause. It could be the only application that is memory-intensive or processor-intensive enough to expose the problem.

To benefit most from this document, perform the tasks in order. Record the tasks you perform and the results of each, including errors or other problems. Adobe Technical Support can use this information to better assist you, if you call.

Audio latency

Audio Latency is the time that an audio signal takes to pass from the sound card input to the sound cards output. The audio signal is digitized, routed through Adobe Audition, and processed by any effects applied. Then it's converted back to analog form at the sound card outputs. Each of these steps contributes to the audio latency, which is measured in milliseconds (ms). Existing audio (audio files already on a track in the Multitrack) doesn't exhibit the same amount of latency since the tracks are already digitized. In Adobe Audition, this discrepancy in playback delay, between existing tracks and monitoring inputs, is where latency is most noticeable.

Latency over 10 milliseconds can produce an audible delay between playback of existing tracks and monitoring. Although buffer settings (see step 8 below) can help reduce latency, the design of the hardware device driver and the amount of effects processing can potentially make monitoring difficult (or unusable). If the device driver for your sound card does not allow a low enough latency, then it's possible that you can't monitor while recording. It's also possible that you require a new sound card with low latency device drivers (for example, an ASIO sound card).

General guidelines that apply to latency times

  • Less than 10 ms - allows real-time monitoring of incoming tracks including effects.
  • At 10 ms - latency can be detected but can still sound natural and is usable for monitoring.
  • 11-20 ms - monitoring starts to become unusable, smearing of the actual sound source, and the monitored output is apparent.
  • 20-30 ms - delayed sound starts to sound like an actual delay rather than a component of the original signal.

Note: The human ear is accustomed to latency because it occurs naturally in the world around us. The frequency of a sound, distance from the sound's source, and the physical properties of the human ear all play a part in hearing. However, the amount of latency introduced in the recording and monitoring process is due to the physical properties and limitations of the sound card, device drivers, and processing power of the computer CPU.

Troubleshooting

1. Make sure that the system meets the minimum requirements for Adobe Audition.

Adobe Audition can't run correctly on a system that doesn't meet the following requirements:

Adobe Audition 3

  • Intel Pentium 4 (1.4 GHz for DV, 3.4 GHz for HDV); Intel Centrino; Intel Xeon (dual Xeon 2.8-GHz processors for HD); or Intel Core Duo or compatible processor (SSE2-enabled processor required for AMD systems)
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional or Home Edition with Service Pack 2 or Windows Vista Home Premium, Business, Ultimate, or Enterprise (certified support for 32-bit editions only)
  • 512 MB of RAM (1 GB for DV playback; 2 GB for HDV and HD playback)
  • 10 GB of available hard-disk space (when used with Loopology DVD)
  • DVD drive required for installation
  • 1,280 x 900 monitor resolution with 32-bit video card and 16 MB of VRAM
  • Microsoft DirectX or ASIO compatible sound card
  • QuickTime 7.0 required to use QuickTime features
  • Internet or phone connection required for product activation

Adobe Audition 2

  • Intel Pentium III, IV, Intel Centrino (or other SSE-enabled processor)
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition, or Windows XP Home Edition, with Service Pack 2
  • 512 MB of RAM (1 GB or more recommended)
  • 700 MB of available hard disk space (5.5 GB of available hard-disk space recommended for installing optional audio clips)
  • 1024 x 768 display (1280 x 1024 recommended)
  • Sound card with DirectSound or ASIO drivers (multitrack ASIO sound card recommended)
  • CD-ROM drive (DVD-ROM drive recommended for installing optional audio clips)
  • CD-RW drive for audio CD creation
  • Speakers or headphones recommended
  • Internet or phone connection required for product activation and Internet-related services

2. Verify that the correct driver is selected for Adobe Audition.

Adobe Audition 2 and 3 is designed around a new ASIO playback engine which performs optimally when using an ASIO driver. If no ASIO driver is installed for use with Adobe Audition, choose the Adobe Audition Windows Sound driver instead.

To verify that the correct driver is selected for Adobe Audition, do the following:

  1. Choose Edit > Audio Hardware Setup, and click either the Edit View, Multitrack, or Surround Encoder tab.

    Note: Set up each of the Views (Edit, Multitrack, and Surround Encoder) separately.
  2. Make sure that the installed sound card driver is selected in the Audio Driver menu.
    • If an ASIO device driver is available, then be sure to select it.
    • If an ASIO device driver is NOT available, then select the Adobe Audition Windows Sound driver and see Set up Adobe Audition 3 audio hardware drivers (kb408729) for details on setting up the AWS driver.

Note: Adobe recommends that you choose the ASIO driver that is installed with your sound device instead of the default Adobe Audition Windows Sound driver. Only use the Adobe Audition Windows Sound driver in a situation where the system audio device does not have its own ASIO driver.

3. Verify that the sound card is set correctly.

If you have problems recording in Adobe Audition, it's possible that the sound card isn't set properly. The sound card controls all playback and recording, and if it isn't set correctly, applications can't record audio.

ASIO device drivers

  1. Choose Edit > Audio Hardware Setup, and click either Edit View, Multitrack, or Surround Encoder tab.
  2. In the Driver Properties section, select Control Panel.
  3. Set up the device in the driver control panel. See the hardware manufacturers user guide for details on hardware setup.

Adobe Audition Windows Sound device driver:

  1. Choose Edit > Audio Hardware Setup, and click either Edit View, Multitrack, or Surround Encoder tab.
  2. In the Driver Properties section, select Control Panel.
  3. Set up the device in the Adobe Audition Windows Sound control panel. See Set up Adobe Audition 3 audio hardware drivers (kb408729) for details on setting up the AWS driver.

4. Update the sound card driver.

Many sound card manufacturers frequently update their software drivers. If you haven't recently updated the sound card driver, contact the sound card manufacturer for an updated driver. Or download one from the manufacturer's website.

5. Set Adobe Audition temporary folders to high-performance drives that have adequate free disk space.

When you record in Edit View, Adobe Audition stores temporary files in its Primary Temp Directory. Make sure that the Primary Temp Directory is set to the fastest drive (7200 rpm and above) and that has the most free space. Create a folder just for Adobe Audition temporary files. By creating a folder for the temporary files, you can find the files easily if it's necessary to delete them.

To create and set the location of the Primary Temp Directory, do the following:

  1. Create a folder at the root of the hard drive where you want the Primary Temp Directory (for example, Adobe AuditionTemp)
  2. In Adobe Audition, choose Edit > Preferences and click the System tab.
  3. In the Temporary Folders section, enter the path (or browse) to the folder you created in step 1.

When you record in Multitrack View, Adobe Audition stores files directly into a subfolder within the folder of the current session. (For example, with a session called Thomas.ses, a folder called Thomas_Recorded contains all the files recorded for that session.) Make sure that the session files (and this associated folder) are stored on the fastest drive (7200 rpm and above) and that it has the most free space.

Putting the Adobe Audition temporary directories or session folders on separate hard drives can improve performance. If you have multiple hard drives, put the Primary Temp Folder and the session folders on the hard drive that doesn't contain the Adobe Audition program files.

For more information about managing temporary files and folders, see "Managing Temporary Files" on page 40 of the Adobe Audition 2.0 User Guide.

6. Change the Wave Cache settings in Adobe Audition.

Changes to the Wave Cache setting increases performance in Adobe Audition. To change the Wave Cache setting, choose Edit > Preferences > System, and then enter a value from the following table in the Cache Size field, depending on how much RAM is installed on your computer.

Installed RAM Wave Cache setting
512MB 32MB
1GB 64MB
Higher than 1GB 128MB

7. Run Adobe Audition while no other applications are running.

Some applications can cause system errors or freezes when running concurrently with Adobe Audition. Before starting Adobe Audition, disable other applications, including startup items (items that start automatically with Windows).

To disable startup items, do the following:

  1. Quit all applications.
  2. Choose Start > Run, and type msconfig in the Open box. Click OK.
  3. Click the Startup tab, and click Disable All.
  4. Select any startup items that are essential for testing the problem (for example, a driver control panel for the installed sound device). If you are unsure whether an item is essential, leave it selected (enabled).
  5. Click OK, and restart Windows.
  6. Right-click icons in the Notification Area (called the System Tray in earlier versions of Windows) to close or disable any startup items that are still active.

Then, try to recreate the problem:

  • If the problem doesn't occur, then one of the disabled startup items conflicts with Adobe Audition. Re enable startup items one at a time, testing each time until you determine which item conflicts with Adobe Audition. Then contact that item's developer for an update, if available.
  • If the problem does occur, then startup items aren't the cause and you can re enable them:
    1. Choose Start > Run, and type msconfig in the Open box. Click OK.
    2. Click the Startup tab, and click Enable All.
    3. Click OK, and restart Windows.

8. Change the buffer size settings.

Buffer settings can lower latency, and help eliminate clicks, pops, dropouts, and other distortions that can occur in recording or playback. Before you adjust the buffer settings, make a note of what the current buffer settings are so that you can restore them if necessary. If you use the Adobe Windows Sound driver, then you can adjust buffer settings within Adobe Audition.

To change the Adobe Windows Sound buffer settings:

  1. Choose Edit > Audio Hardware Setup and then click the Multitrack tab.

    Note: Configure Edit View and Surround Encoder separately.
  2. Select the Adobe Audition Windows Sound driver, and then click Control Panel.
  3. In the Direct Sound Input Ports section, find and check the box next to the device name you intend to use for audio input.
  4. Double-click the number in the Buffer Size column and change to the desired size (see the Buffer Size guidelines in this section of the document).

Note: If you use an ASIO sound card, then see the manufacturer's documentation for details on setting the buffer size.

Note the following Buffer Size guidelines:

  • To improve recording performance, lower the buffer size (from 32 through 256 Samples); this setting lowers the latency.
  • To improve playback and mixing performance (with effects), increase the buffer size (from 512 through 2048 samples); this increases latency

9. Optimize IDE disks.

Windows XP enables Direct Memory Access (DMA) by default on most IDE devices. If DMA is disabled, re enable it to improve the transfer rate of IDE disks and to prevent playback and recording problems. 

For instructions on how to optimize IDE disks, refer to your Windows documentation.

10. Update the video card driver.

Adobe Audition 2 and 3is more graphically intense than earlier versions and can take advantage of more video RAM as well as most recent driver updates. If you haven't recently updated the video card driver, contact the video card manufacturer for an updated driver, or download one from the manufacturer's website.

11. Determine monitoring needs (Adobe Audition Mix versus External monitoring).

Adobe Audition features three possible types of monitoring for the incoming audio signal. Selecting the proper monitoring type can help to avoid possible problems with driver performance. For more information about monitoring, see the "To hear inputs with effects applied to tracks" section of the Adobe Audition User Guide. Sound cards with low-latency drivers should perform equally well using any of the three monitoring methods. Sound cards with high latency drivers cause a significant delay between what is being played and what is being monitored. If the delay is too long, it's possible you're limited to monitoring External inputs only.

To set the monitoring type choose Options > Monitoring and select one of the following:

  • Adobe Audition Mix > Smart Input: Monitors the input only when you record a track. Use this setting only if your sound card latency is low enough not to cause a signal delay.
  • Adobe Audition Mix > Always Input: Monitors the input at all times during playback and recording. Use this setting only if your sound card latency is low enough not to cause a signal delay.
  • External: Monitors the input directly from the sound card, without routing them through effects and sends in Adobe Audition. This option bypasses Adobe Audition and lets the sound card pass audio directly through to the outputs. For more details about monitoring directly through the sound card, consult your sound card user guide.

 

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy