Find answers to common questions about file versioning in Creative Cloud.

Creative Cloud keeps a copy of files you save to the cloud. You can access these files through the Creative Cloud website.

Versioning

Adobe keeps these on the server for a limited time. If you accidentally modify a file, or a collaborator overwrites something you did, you can get it back with a few easy clicks. The versioning of your files depends on the kind of file it is:

  • Synced files: Creative Cloud creates a copy of the previous version each time you save a file to the cloud.
  • Cloud documents: Creative Cloud saves versions at regular intervals during the autosave process. Currently, you can save your files as cloud documents only in Adobe Aero, Adobe Fresco, Adobe Illustrator, Adobe Photoshop, and Adobe XD.

You cannot revert Adobe XD files directly from the Creative Cloud website. You can learn more about it in the next section.

  1. Sign in to the Creative Cloud website.

  2. Open the tab containing your file, and select it.

    Select file
  3. Click the Timeline icon  on the right to view the previous versions of the file.

    View earlier versions of your files
  4. Select the file to which you want to revert. 

  5. Click the more options () icon and select Revert to this version

    Revert to an earlier version

While the Creative Cloud website keeps versions of your XD files, you cannot revert to previous version directly. For this, open the file in Adobe XD through the Creative Cloud website. Then, copy and paste the content to your current version in Adobe XD itself.

  1. Sign in to the Creative Cloud website.

  2. Open the tab containing your file, and select it.

    Select file
  3. Click the Timeline icon  on the right to view the previous versions of the file.

    View earlier versions of your files
  4. Select the file to which you want to revert. 

  5. Click the more options () icon and select Open in Adobe XD

    Open new version in a new window

    When the file opens in XD, copy and paste the content to your current version. 

When you revert to an earlier version, it is copied to the top of your version history. The version you just replaced moves below it. The new current version is also synced to your computer or mobile device so you can begin working with it.

Creative Cloud retains versions for a limited time, only deleting them as they age out.

To keep a file from being deleted from the server, you should mark it.

  1. Sign in to the Creative Cloud website.

  2. Open the tab containing your file, and select it.

    Select file
  3. Click the Timeline icon  on the right. A list of existing file versions appears.

    View earlier versions of your files
  4. Select the file that you want to mark. 

  5. Click the bookmark icon  to mark the version.

    Name this version

     Naming a version also preserves it from deletion.

    Name a file version

    Versions you name or mark appear under the Marked versions section of the timeline panel and are available to you. The files that appear in this section do not get deleted automatically.

    Note:

    If you unmark a marked file, it gets deleted automatically after it ages out.

It’s easy to fix. Simply choose the version you want to work with from the list of versions. Most likely, this is the second version in the list. Then revert to this version.

Depending on your app, you can preview, open, mark, or revert to a previous version of your cloud document within your app. 

App Preview previous versions Open previous versions Revert to a previous version Mark (permanently store) a version
Adobe Fresco Yes No Yes Yes
Adobe XD Yes Yes No Yes
Illustrator Yes No Yes Yes
Illustrator on iPad Yes No Yes Yes
Photoshop
Yes Yes Yes Yes
Photoshop on iPad No No No No