意大利艺术家 Daniele De Nigris 将几何学与艺术相融合,利用简单的瓷砖图案设计难以想象的复杂图像。他的方法细致严谨、条理分明,通过添加、删除和复制形状、颜色和渐变效果,创作出了一个精美的马赛克图像。以下就是他创作该图像的过程,该图像被选为了 Adobe Animate 2017 的启动画面。

设计基础图案

Daniele 首先创建了一个四条边、其中三条边上包含接合点的方形瓷砖图案 — 作品标题“3/4”就由此而来。Daniele 的作品就是以这个图案为基础,通过复制和旋转设计出来的。

Daniele 使用一系列基本形状构建这个图案,例如同心圆和线条。然后,他使用“Pathfinder”(路径查找)工具中的“分割”功能剪去正方形外部的同心圆。 

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_1

Daniele 通过填充不同的灰度来区分图案的各个部分。然后他创建了一个基础图案的横切面,用来在稍后连接基础图案。方法如下:他在基础图案的左上方复制了一个空白矩形,用其覆盖基础图案的右下边。然后,他使用“Pathfinder”(路径查找)工具中的“裁切”功能将基础图案裁切成一部分。他将这个额外图层隐藏起来备用。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_2

旋转并重复绘制,创建平铺效果

Daniele 接下来要创建更大的图案。他复制原始图案并将其逆时针旋转 90 度,重复此操作,直至四块瓷砖构成完整的内部方形图案。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_3

Daniele 进一步复制由四个正方形组成的这个图案,使其延伸至画布之外。然后,他复制横切面图层(先前裁切的基础图案的一部分),使用其连接由四个正方形组成的内部图案与外部图案。Daniele 复制连接图层并针对剩余的三个角进行旋转,最终完成整个图案。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_4

为图案上色

Daniele 创建一个自定颜色色板。在添加
颜色后,Daniele 删除所有形状中的黑色轮廓。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_5

通过渐变融合模拟维度

Daniele 通过对各个路径片段应用渐变来打造立体感。此流程包含多个步骤。首先,他创建一个新图层,并使用“极坐标网格”工具快速创建一组同心圆。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_6

他使用“Pathfinder”(路径查找)工具中的“分割”功能删除同心圆的所有部分,仅保留等分圆上已上色部分的两段圆弧。然后,他将这些线条的笔触颜色从默认的白色更改为无填充线性渐变。为获得平滑的渐变效果,他将渐变的白色起始位置设置为 1%(而非 0%),将黑色结束位置设置为 99%(而非 100%)。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_7

他将笔触粗细增加至 52 点,以使其填充两段圆弧之间的空间并实现平滑的渐变效果。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_8

为融合渐变,Daniele 为每段圆弧的起点和终点选择了渐变颜色。他对第二段圆弧重复了同样的操作。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_9

然后,他沿垂直方向创建这两段圆弧的映像,形成另一个四分之一圆,并重复上述过程为顶部半圆添加渐变效果。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_10

Daniele 将一半的圆变暗,然后创建这些圆的映像,填充图案的另一半。然后他对长边曲线重复这一过程。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_11

添加黑洞创造对比度和立体感

Daniele 通过用黑色填充图案的部分区域,创造强烈的反差感。为此,他选择长椭圆形、将其复制粘贴至顶部图层、删除原始椭圆并将新椭圆涂成
黑色。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_12

为创造立体感,Daniele 用无笔触的渐变填充设置图案中心的圆。他将渐变的黑白端点颜色替换为圆顶部和底部的颜色,
然后将其反转以打造景深效果。他对图案中的其它圆重复这一操作。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_13

打造 3D 效果

Daniele 利用阴影使图案呈现出三维效果。他画出两个圆并用一个矩形将其覆盖,矩形以 45 度角与两个圆的圆心相交。他使用“Shape Builder”(形状生成器)工具选择或保留矩形的中间部分(下方阴影区域),删除其余部分。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_14

选择该形状后,Daniele 使用黑色渐变为其上色 — 一端为 100% 不透明,另一端为 0% 不透明 — 角度设置为 45 度。最后,他将“Transparency”(透明度)设置设为“Multiply”(正片叠底)和“50% Opacity”(50% 不透明),完成设置。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_15

添加线条和纹理

Daniele 使用“Blend”(混合)与“Shape Builder”(形状生成器)工具添加同心线和同心圆,然后添加扫描的纸张纹理,完善作品。

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_16

 

艺术家相关信息:
Daniele De Nigris 在意大利的博洛尼亚长大,自小便对几何图案和艺术创作情有独钟。一位设计教授很早便发现了他在这方面的潜力,在这位教授和家人的大力支持下,Daniele 得以投身职业和个人艺术创作,释放自己的创作激情。 

从大自然到建筑,再到日常物品的细节,身边的每件事物都是 Daniele 的灵感源泉。他努力学习世界各地艺术家们的创作经验,并且热衷于从各种艺术手册,特别是介绍几何设计的艺术手册中汲取知识。Daniele 对荷兰著名艺术家 M.C. Escher 深深植根于建筑和数学的作品尤其钟爱。

最初 Daniele 只是在纸上画一些素描,后来开始专注于研究自己感兴趣的创意。在研究一件作品的过程中,Daniele 会花大量时间分析整体设计的颜色和结构。最终,他开始使用 Illustrator 和 Adobe Photoshop 创作自己的作品。

关注 Daniele De Nigris

03/26/2020
Google
此页面是否有帮助?

Italian artist Daniele De Nigris blends geometry and artistry to build impossibly complex designs from simple tile patterns. His approach is both meticulous and methodical as he adds, subtracts, and repeats shapes, colors, and gradients until he arrives at his mosaic masterpieces. Here’s how he created the image that was selected for the Adobe Animate CC 2017 splash screen.

Design the base pattern

Daniele creates a square tile that includes points of engagement on three of the four sides — hence the “3/4” title of the piece. The foundation of Daniele’s design is this square pattern he repeats and rotates
throughout the composition.

Daniele uses basic shapes — a rotated square containing concentric ellipses and lines — to form the base pattern. He then uses the Divide function in the Pathfinder tool to trim the concentric circle pattern that falls outside the square. 

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_1

Daniele adds grayscale fills to distinguish parts of the pattern. He then creates a cross section of the base tile to connect larger sections of the pattern later in the project. To do this, he duplicates an empty rectangle from the top left of the tile, brings it to the front, and uses it to cover the bottom right side of the base pattern. Then, he uses the Crop function in the Pathfinder tool to create a portion of the main pattern. He hides this extra layer until he needs it.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_2

Rotate and repeat to create a tiled effect

Daniele is now ready to create the larger pattern. He duplicates the original square pattern and rotates it -90 degrees. He repeats this process until there are four tiles to complete the internal square pattern.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_3

Daniele repeats the four-square pattern so it extends off the canvas. Then, he copies the cross-section layer, the portion of the main pattern he created earlier, and places it so it connects the internal four-square section to the layout just outside the area. To finish the layout, Daniele copies the connecting layer and rotates it for the remaining three corners.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_4

Color the pattern

Daniele creates a palette of custom color swatches that he uses across multiple projects. Once he adds
color, Daniele removes the black outlines from all the shapes.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_5

Simulate dimension with gradient blends

Daniele uses a system of applying gradients to individual path segments that combine to form the illusion of depth. It’s a multistep process. To begin, he creates a new layer and quickly creates concentric circles with the Polar Grid tool.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_6

He eliminates all but the two arcs that bisect the colored part of the circle using the Divide function in the Pathfinder tool. Then, he changes the stroke color of those lines from the default, white, to a linear gradient with no fill. To create a smooth gradient, he sets the Location of the start of the gradient, white, to 1% (not 0%) and the end, black, to 99% (not 100%).

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_7

He increases the stroke weight to 52 points, so it fills the space between the two arcs and creates a smooth gradient.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_8

To blend the gradient, Daniele selects the color at the start and endpoint of each arc to create the gradient. He repeats this for the second arc.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_9

He then reflects the two arcs vertically to create the other quarter circle, and repeats the process to add a gradient to the top half of the circle.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_10

Daniele shades half the circles and then reflects them to fill in the other half of the pattern. He repeats the process on the curves of the long edges.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_11

Add black holes for contrast and illusion

Daniele creates striking contrast when he fills portions of the design with black. To do this, he selects the elongated ovals, copies and pastes them to the top layer, deletes the original ovals, and colors the new
ones black.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_12

To create the illusion of depth, Daniele sets the circle at the center of the pattern with a gradient fill and no stroke. He replaces the black to white endpoint colors of the gradient with colors from the top and
bottom of the circle, then reverses it to give the impression of depth. He repeats this for the rest of the circles in the pattern.  

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_13

Make it 3D

Daniele uses shadows to make the design appear three-dimensional. He draws two circles and overlaps them with a rectangle that intersects the center of the circles at a 45-degree angle. He uses the Shape Builder tool to select, or keep, the middle portion of the rectangle (the shaded area below), and deletes the remaining pieces.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_14

With the shape selected, Daniele colors it with a gradient set to black — 100% opacity at one end and 0% opacity at the other — set with a 45-degree angle. For the complete effect, he sets the Transparency setting to Multiply and 50% Opacity.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_15

Add lines and texture

Daniele uses the Blend and Shape Builder tools to add concentric lines and circles, then adds a scanned paper texture to finish the piece.

create-complex-design-tile-patterns_16

 

About the artist:
Daniele De Nigris’s love of geometric patterns and art began when he was a boy growing up in Bologna, Italy. Thanks to a supportive family and a design professor who saw his potential early on, Daniele was able to turn his passion to create into a professional and personal artistic journey. 

Daniele finds inspiration in everything around him, from nature to architecture to the details in everyday objects. He appreciates artists from all over the world and likes to learn from art manuals, particularly those that focus on geometric design. Daniele was blown away by the work of noted Dutch artist M.C. Escher, whose creations were strongly rooted in architecture and mathematics.

Daniele starts with quick sketches on paper, then focuses on the ideas that interest him. In the most time-consuming part of his process, Daniele studies the piece and determines the coloring and structure of the overall design. Finally, he moves to Illustrator and Adobe Photoshop CC to create the final composition.

Follow Daniele De Nigris

07/26/2017
Google
Was this page helpful?
Yes
No