表是由单元格的行和列组成的。单元格类似于文本框架,可在其中添加文本、定位框架或其他表。可以在 Adobe InDesign CS5 中创建表,也可以从其他应用程序导入表。

注意:

要在 Adobe InCopy 中创建、编辑表和设置表的格式,请确保位于“版面”视图中。

创建表

表是由单元格的行和列组成的。单元格类似于文本框架,可在其中添加文本、随文图或其他表。可以从头开始创建表,也可以通过从现有文本转换的方式创建表。还可以在一个表中嵌入另一个表。

创建一个表时,新建表的宽度会与作为容器的文本框的宽度一致。插入点位于行首时,表插在同一行上;插入点位于行中间时,表插在下一行上。

表随周围的文本一起流动,就像随文图一样。例如,当表上方文本的点大小改变或者添加、删除文本时,表会在串接的框架之间移动。但是,表不能在路径文本框架上显示。

您可以用创建横排表的方法来创建直排表。表的排版方向取决于用来创建该表的文本框架的排版方向;文本框架的排版方向改变时,表的排版方向会随之改变。在框架网格内创建的表也是如此。但是,表中单元格的排版方向是可以改变的,与表的排版方向无关。

注意:

先确认文本框架的排版方向,再创建表。

Michael Murphy 在妙用表格设计技巧中提供了一篇有关创建和设置表格式的文章。

来自 InfiniteSkills.com 的 Jeff Witchell 提供了有关表设置基础知识的视频演示。

从头开始创建表

创建的表的宽度将与文本框架的宽度一致。

  1. 使用“文字”工具 ,将插入点放置在要显示表的位置。
  2. 选择“表”>“插入表”。
  3. 指定行数和列数。
  4. 指定正文行中的水平单元格数以及列中的垂直单元格数。
  5. 如果表内容将跨多个列或多个框架,请指定要在其中重复信息的表头行或表尾行的数量。
  6. (可选)指定一种表样式。
  7. 单击“确定”。

表的行高由指定的表样式决定。例如,表样式可以使用一些单元格样式来分别设置表不同部分的格式。如果其中任意一种单元格样式中包括段落样式,则段落样式的行距值决定该部分的行高。如果未使用任何段落样式,则文档的默认嵌条决定行高。(嵌条基于行距值。本文中,嵌条是选定文本中最高文字的大致高度。)

从现有文本创建表

将文本转换为表之前,一定要正确设置文本。

  1. 要准备转换文本,请插入制表符、逗号、段落回车符或其他字符以分隔列。插入制表符、逗号、段落回车符或其他字符以分隔行。(多数情况下,不用编辑文本即可将其转换为表。)
  2. 使用“文字”工具 ,选择要转换为表的文本。
  3. 选择“表“>“将文本转换为表”。
  4. 对于列分隔符和行分隔符,请指出新行和新列应开始的位置。在“列分隔符和行分隔符”字段中,选择“制表符”、“逗号”或“段落”;或者键入字符(如分号 (;))。(下一次从文本创建表时,键入的任意字符均会显示在该菜单中。)
  5. 如果为列和行指定了相同的分隔符,请指出要让表包括的列数。
  6. (可选)指定一种表样式以设置表的格式。
  7. 单击“确定”。

如果任何行所含的项目少于表中的列数,则多出的部分由空单元格来填补。

向表中嵌入表

  1. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 选择要嵌入的单元格或表,然后选择“编辑”>“剪切”或“复制”。将插入点放置在要在其中显示该表的单元格中,然后选择“编辑”>“粘贴”。

    • 单击单元格内部区域,然后选择“表”>“插入表”,指定行数和列数,然后单击“确定”。

  2. 根据需要调整单元格内边距。(请参阅设置表中文本的格式。)

如果在单元格中创建表,则无法使用鼠标选择溢出单元格边界的任何表部分。请将行或列加大,或者将插入点放置在表的第一部分中,然后使用键盘快捷键移动插入点并选择文本。

从其他应用程序导入表

使用“置入”命令导入包含表的 Microsoft Word 文档或导入 Microsoft Excel 电子表格时,导入的数据是可以编辑的表。可以使用“导入选项”对话框控制格式。

也可以将 Excel 电子表格或 Word 表中的数据粘贴到 InDesign 或 InCopy 文档中。“剪贴板处理”首选项设置决定如何对从另一个应用程序粘贴的文本设置格式。如果选中的是“纯文本”,则粘贴的信息显示为无格式制表符分隔文本,之后可以将该文本转换为表。如果选中“所有信息”,则粘贴的文本显示在带格式的表中。

如果要将另一个应用程序中的文本粘贴到现有的表中,请插入足够容纳所粘贴文本的行和列,在“剪贴板处理”首选项中选择“纯文本”,并确保至少选中一个单元格(除非想将粘贴的表嵌入一个单元格中)。

如果希望进一步控制所导入表的格式,或者希望保留电子表格的格式,请使用“置入”命令导入表。如果希望保留指向电子表格的链接,请在“文件处理”首选项设置中选择“置入文本和电子表格文件时创建链接”。

注意:

也可以跨多个选中的表单元格复制和粘贴制表符分隔文本。这种技巧是替换内容,同时保留格式的极佳方法。例如,假设需要更新一份月刊杂志中设置了格式的表格内容。一种可行做法是链接到 Excel 电子表格。但如果内容来自别的源,则可以复制包含新内容的制表符分隔文本,在设置了格式的 InDesign 表中选择单元格范围,然后粘贴。

向表中添加文本

可以将文本、定位对象、XML 标签和其他表添加到单元格中。除非设置固定的行高,否则表行的高度就会加以扩展以便容纳更多的文本行。不能将脚注添加到表中。

  1. 使用“文字”工具 ,执行以下操作之一:
    • 将插入点放置在一个单元格中,然后键入文本。按 Enter 键或 Return 键可在同一单元格中新建一个段落。按 Tab 键可在各单元格之间向前移动(在最后一个单元格处按 Tab 键将插入一个新行)。按 Shift+Tab 键可在各单元格之间向后移动。

    • 复制文本,将插入点放置在单元格中,然后选择“编辑”>“粘贴”。

    • 将插入点放置在要添加文本的单元格中,选择“文件”>“置入”,然后双击一个文本文件。

向表中添加图形

要向独立 InCopy 文档中的表添加图形,请确保位于“版面”视图中。要向链接的 InDesign 文档中的表添加图形,请使用 InDesign,以便从更多方面控制文本框架的大小调节。

  1. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 将插入点放置在要添加图形的位置,选择“文件”>“置入”,然后双击图形的文件名。

    • 将插入点放置在要添加图形的位置,选择“对象”>“定位对象”>“插入”,然后指定设置。随后即可将图形添加到定位对象中。

    • 复制图形或框架,放置插入点,然后选择“编辑”>“粘贴”。

当添加的图形大于单元格时,单元格的高度就会扩展以便容纳图形,但是单元格的宽度不会改变,图形有可能延伸到单元格右侧以外的区域。如果在其中放置图形的行的高度已设置为固定高度,则高于这一行高的图形会导致单元格溢流

注意:

为避免单元格溢流,最好先将图像放置在表外,调整图像的大小后再将图像粘贴到表单元格中。

添加表头和表尾

创建长表时,该表可能会跨多个栏、框架或页面。可以使用表头或表尾在表的每个拆开部分的顶部或底部重复信息。

可以在创建表时添加表头行和表尾行。也可以使用“表选项”对话框来添加表头行和表尾行并更改它们在表中的显示方式。可以将正文行转换为表头行或表尾行。

se_04
Header rows repeated once per frame

注意:

要对表按顺序编号,如 Table 1A、Table 1B 等,可为表头或表尾添加一个变量。(请参阅为图和表创建动态题注。)

  1. 选择表顶部的行以创建表头行,或选择表底部的行以创建表尾行。
  2. 选择“表”>“转换行”>“作为表头”或“作为表尾”。
  1. 将插入点放置在表中,然后选择“表”>“表选项”>“表头和表尾”。
  2. 指定表头行或表尾行的数量。可以在表的顶部或底部添加空行。
  3. 指定表头或表尾中的信息是显示在每个文本栏中(如果文本框架具有多栏),还是每个框架显示一次,或是每页只显示一次。
  4. 如果不希望表头信息显示在表的第一行中,请选择“跳过第一行”。如果不希望表尾信息显示在表的最后一行中,请选择“跳过最后一行”。

    当希望连续表示表头和表尾时,“跳过第一行”选项尤为有用。例如,对于跨多个页面的表格,您可能希望表头文本为“表 2(续)”。如果不希望在表的第一行显示“(续)”,请选择“跳过第一行”,只在表的第一行键入表 2

  5. 单击“确定”。
  1. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 将插入点放置在表头行或表尾行中,然后选择“表”>“转换行”>“作为正文”。

    • 选择“表”>“表选项”>“表头和表尾”,然后指定另外的表头行数或表尾行数。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

A table consists of rows and columns of cells. A cell is like a text frame in which you can add text, anchored frames, or other tables. Create tables in Adobe InDesign CS5 or export them from other applications.

Note:

To create, edit, and format tables in Adobe InCopy, make sure you are in Layout view.

Create tables

A table consists of rows and columns of cells. A cell is like a text frame in which you can add text, inline graphics, or other tables. You can create tables from scratch or by converting them from existing text. You can also embed a table within a table.

When you create a table, the new table fills the width of the container text frame. A table is inserted on the same line when the insertion point is at the beginning of the line, or on the next line, when the insertion point is in the middle of a line.

Tables flow with surrounding text just as inline graphics do. For example, a table moves through threaded frames when the text above it changes in point size or when text is added or deleted. However, a table cannot appear on a text-on-path frame.

You can create vertical tables the same way you create horizontal ones. The writing direction of a table depends on that of the text frame used to create the table, and the writing direction of the table changes when that of the text frame is changed. This behavior is the same when you create a table within a frame grid. However, the writing direction for cells within a table can be changed, irrespective of the writing direction of the table.

Note:

Confirm the writing direction of the text frame before creating a table.

Michael Murphy provides an article on creating and formatting tables at Mind Your Table Manners.

Jeff Witchell from InfiniteSkills.com provides a video demonstration on The basics of setting up tables.

Create a table from scratch

The table you create fills the width of the text frame.

  1. Using the Type tool , place the insertion point where you want the table to appear.
  2. Choose Table > Insert Table.
  3. Specify the numbers of rows and columns.
  4. Specify the number of horizontal cells in the body row and the number of vertical cells in the Column.
  5. If your table contents will continue on more than one column or frame, specify the number of header or footer rows in which you want the information to be repeated.
  6. (Optional) Specify a table style.
  7. Click OK.

The row height of a table is determined by the specified table style. For example, a table style may use cell styles to format different parts of the table. If any of these cell styles include paragraph styles, the leading value of the paragraph styles determines the row height of that area. If no paragraph style is used, the document’s default slug determines the row height. (The slug is based on the leading value. In this context, a slug is the approximate height of the highlighting in selected text.)

Create a table from existing text

Before you convert text to a table, make sure that you set up the text properly.

  1. To prepare the text for conversion, insert tabs, commas, paragraph returns, or another character to separate columns. Insert tabs, commas, paragraph returns, or another character to separate rows. (In many instances, text can be converted to a table without having to be edited.)
  2. Using the Type tool , select the text you want to convert to a table.
  3. Choose Table > Convert Text To Table.
  4. For both Column Separator and Row Separator, indicate where new rows and columns should begin. Choose Tab, Comma, or Paragraph, or type the character, such as a semicolon (;), in the Column Separator and Row Separator field. (Any character you type appears in the menu the next time you create a table from text.)
  5. If you specify the same separator for columns and rows, indicate the number of columns you want the table to include.
  6. (Optional) Specify a table style to format the table.
  7. Click OK.

If any row has fewer items than the number of columns in a table, empty cells fill out the row.

Embed a table within a table

  1. Do one of the following:
    • Select the cells or table you want to embed, and then choose Edit > Cut or Copy. Place the insertion point in the cell where you want the table to appear, and then choose Edit > Paste.

    • Click inside a cell, choose Table > Insert Table, specify the number of rows and columns, and then click OK.

  2. Adjust the cell inset as necessary. (See Format text within a table.)

If you create a table within a cell, you cannot use the mouse to select any part of the table that oversets the cell boundary. Instead, expand the row or column; or place the insertion point in the first part of the table, and use keyboard shortcuts to move the insertion point and select text.

Importing tables from other applications

When you use the Place command to import a Microsoft Word document that includes tables, or a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet, imported data is an editable table. You can use the Import Options dialog box to control the formatting.

You can also paste data from an Excel spreadsheet or a Word table into an InDesign or InCopy document. The Clipboard Handling preference settings determine how text pasted from another application is formatted. If Text Only is selected, the information appears as unformatted tabbed text, which you can then convert to a table. If All Information is selected, the pasted text appears in a formatted table.

If you’re pasting text from another application into an existing table, insert enough rows and columns to accommodate the pasted text, select the Text Only option in Clipboard Handling preferences, and make sure that at least one cell is selected (unless you want to embed the pasted table into a cell).

If you want more control over formatting the imported table, or if you want to maintain spreadsheet formatting, use the Place command to import the table. If you want to maintain a link to the spreadsheet, select the Create Links When Placing Text And Spreadsheet Files option in File Handling preference settings.

Note:

You can also copy and paste tabbed text across a selection of table cells. This technique is a great way to replace content while preserving formatting. For example, suppose you want to update the content of a formatting table in a monthly magazine. One possibility is to link to an Excel spreadsheet. However, if your content comes from a different source, you can copy the tabbed text containing the new content, select the range of cells in the formatted InDesign table, and paste.

Add text to a table

You can add text, anchored objects, XML tags, and other tables to table cells. The height of a table row expands to accommodate additional lines of text, unless you set a fixed row height. You cannot add footnotes to tables.

  1. Using the Type tool , do any of the following:
    • Position the insertion point in a cell, and type text. Press Enter or Return to create a new paragraph in the same cell. Press Tab to move forward through cells (pressing Tab in the last cell inserts a new row). Press Shift+Tab to move backwards through cells.

    • Copy text, position the insertion point in a cell, and then choose Edit > Paste.

    • Position the insertion point in a cell where you want to add text, choose File > Place, and then double-click a text file.

Add graphics to a table

To add a graphic to a table in a standalone InCopy document, make sure that you’re in Layout view. To add a graphic to a table in a linked InDesign document, use InDesign so that you have more control over resizing the text frame.

  1. Do any of the following:
    • Position the insertion point where you want the graphic, choose File > Place, and then double-click the graphic’s filename.

    • Position the insertion point where you want the graphic, choose Object > Anchored Object > Insert, and then specify settings. You can later add a graphic to the anchored object.

    • Copy a graphic or a frame, position the insertion point, and then choose Edit > Paste.

When you add a graphic that is larger than the cell, the cell height expands to accommodate the graphic, but the width of the cell doesn’t change—the graphic may extend beyond the right side of the cell. If the row in which the graphic is placed is set to a fixed height, a graphic that is taller than the row height causes the cell to be overset.

Note:

To avoid an overset cell, you may want to place the image outside the table, resize the image, and then paste it into the table cell.

Add table headers and footers

When you create a long table, the table may span more than one column, frame, or page. You can use headers or footers to repeat the information at the top or bottom of each divided portion of the table.

You can add header and footer rows when you create the table. You can also use the Table Options dialog box to add header and footer rows and change how they appear in the table. You can convert body rows to header or footer rows.

se_04
Header rows repeated once per frame

Note:

To number tables sequentially, such as Table 1A, Table 1B, and so on, add a variable to the table header or footer. (See Create running captions for figures and tables.)

  1. Select the rows at the top of the table to create header rows, or at the bottom of the table to create footer rows.
  2. Choose Table > Convert Rows > To Header or To Footer.
  1. Place the insertion point in the table, and then choose Table > Table Options > Headers And Footers.
  2. Specify the number of header or footer rows. Blank rows may be added to the top or bottom of the table.
  3. Specify whether the information in the header or footer appears in every text column (if text frames have more than one column), once per frame, or only once per page.
  4. Select Skip First if you don’t want the header information to appear in the first row of the table. Select Skip Last if you don’t want the footer information to appear in the last row of the table.

    The Skip First option is especially useful if you want to indicate that the header or footer is continued. For example, for a table that spans multiple pages, you may want the header text to be “Table 2 (Continued).” Since you don't want “(Continued)” to appear at the beginning of the table, select Skip First, and simply type Table 2 in the first row of the table.

  5. Click OK.
  1. Do any of the following:
    • Place the insertion point in the header or footer row, and then choose Table > Convert Rows > To Body.

    • Choose Table > Table Options > Headers And Footers, and then specify a different number of header rows or footer rows.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy