Learn how to share and collaborate on projects with other users

Note:

Adobe will stop the Adobe Story CC service on January 22, 2019. Adobe Story CC, Adobe Story CC (Classic), and Adobe Story CC desktop application will be discontinued. See End of service FAQ for more information.

Collaborating with other users

You can share your projects with any user. When sharing scripts, specify a role for the people among whom the script is shared. The role determines the actions that a person can perform on the shared script.

Co-author

Co-authors can add, modify, or delete content from the script. However, they cannot delete the script itself. Co-authors can also, like reviewers, comment on the script.

Writer

This role, assigned to freelance writers, is assigned at the project level and gives users access to only the documents that they or the project owner has created. Users in this role have limited permissions and cannot perform the following actions:

  • See drafts of episodes authored by other writers
  • Create or view reports and schedules
  • See the lists assigned to the current project
  • Share, archive, or rename a project shared with them
  • See edit notifications for projects unshared by the primary user and when you need to act on any notifications.

Reviewer

Reviewers cannot edit the content, but can add comments to the script.

Reader

Readers can only read the script but cannot view comments on the script, edit the script, or view the sharing information.

You can simultaneously collaborate with other users in real time to edit the scripts.

The status bar at the bottom of the Schedule window provides information on the status of the document. For example, if a reviewer X is editing the file, the information, “X is editing...” is displayed. The information disappears after the file is saved indicating that you can now edit the file.

Note:

You can delete a comment by clicking the Delete icon in the comment.

Modify assigned roles

Do one of the following:

  • Select the three dots … in the selected project card.
  • Select Share Projects > Permissions.
  • Select the drop-down arrow next to the user name whose role you want to modify.
  • Select a different role and click OK.
share_project-001

Project sharing

You can share a project with another user as co-author, reviewer, or reader.

  1. Co-author: Co-authors can add, modify, or delete content from the script. However, they cannot delete the script itself. Co-authors can also, like reviewers, comment on the script.

  2. Reviewer: Reviewers cannot edit the content, but can add comments to the script.

  3. Reader: Readers can only read the script but cannot view comments on the script, edit the script, or view the sharing information.

    Only an author can delete a document in a shared project, whereas author and co-author can add documents. The author owns any document created in a shared project. Documents added to the shared project are automatically shared. When co-authors/reviewers/readers delete a project shared with them, the project is unshared with them and removed from their Projects view. In a shared project, Adobe Story notifies collaborators about:

    • Documents added/deleted
    • Edits in documents
    • Comments in the documents

Share project

  1. In the Projects view, select a project and click the three dots… (Share)

  2. In the Share Project dialog box, enter the email address of the person with whom you are sharing the file in Add New Email ID. You can also choose from the existing contacts listed in this dialog.

    share_project-Invite-Users
    The Share Project dialog

    Note:

    The Share Project dialog lists users with whom a project is shared. Invitees who haven’t yet accepted a share request are listed as well.

  3. Select a role for the person and click Add.

  4. To add another person to the list, click below the current text menu. Repeat to add more people with whom to share the project.

  5. If you want Adobe® Story to send an email to users with whom you have shared the script, select Send email Notification.

  6. Click OK. Story remembers your share settings, so that you can reuse them for other projects easily.

Open documents from a shared project

  1. Click the notifications icon in the menu panel and locate the share invite message.

  2. Click Accept to access the shared project. If, for some reason, you do not want to accept the shared project, click Decline.

Stop sharing project with a user

  1.  Click the three dots …next to the project’s name, and select Share.

  2. In the Share Project dialog, deselect the user with whom you want to stop sharing the script and click OK.

Manage Permissions

  1. Click the three dots …next to the project’s name, and select Share or click the Manage Permissions from the Projects view.

  2. Select the three dots …next to the Permissions.

  3. Select the cross mark to unshare the project or select the options in the Role drop-down list to modify roles and user permissions. 

    Manage-shared-projects

Change role of a collaborator

  1. Click the three dots … next to the project’s name, and select Share.

  2. In the Share Project dialog, select the appropriate roles for the listed users and click OK.

Remove sharing of received projects

When you delete shared projects, you cannot restore them. Request the author to share the project again in case you deleted a shared project inadvertently.

  • Click the downward arrow icon next to the project’s name and select Delete.

View notifications

In Adobe Story, notifications are messages used to provide information on shared documents/projects, and the comments and edits posted on them. While comments and edits are displayed to other users almost instantly, a notification on comments is sent only after a user closes the document.

Note:

Only the most recent 500 notifications in an account are displayed.

Notification panel new

Users receive a notification when:

  • The owner unshares a project
  • Notification is actionable

View notifications and comments

  • The latest five notifications are displayed in the notification menu. Click See All Notifications at the end of the menu to view all notifications.

Notifications for edited documents

When you click the link in an email received for edit notification, the related document opens in Adobe Story. The edit notification toolbar provides the name of the author who edited the content, and also, the total number of changes in the document.

Email notifications

Notifications are automatically sent as emails to users when:

  • The author modifies their permissions by changing their role.
  • Author shares a document.
  • A collaboration request for a document is accepted or rejected.
  • A document is edited and closed, or comments are posted on a document.

Note:

Notifications on edits and comments are sent only after the user closes the document.

Note:

Ensure that you enable Send email Notification when sharing a document.

For content updates and comments, the email contains a link to the location in the document containing the update or comment.

The language used in the email depends on the locale in which you are logged in. For example, if you have logged into the application in the French locale, notifications are sent in French.

Disable email notifications

  1. Select Edit > Preferences, or click Preferences in the menu bar.

  2. In the Preferences dialog, select Notifications.

  3. Select No in the option asking you whether you want to receive emails for notifications.

Stop sharing scripts with a user:

  1. Click the three dots … next to the script’s name, and select Share.

  2. In the Share Documents dialog box, select the user with whom you want to stop sharing the script.

  3. Click the Delete icon.

    Users with whom you have stopped sharing the script are presented with a dialog box. Users can use the option in the dialog box to delete the script from their project.

Unshare multiple projects from a user

You can choose to unshare multiple projects shared with a user. You cannot unshare the projects from a user created by the user himself.

  1. In the Projects view, click Projects.

  2. Select Manager Permissions.

  3. In the Manage Shared Projects dialog, enter the Email ID of the user with whom you want to unshare the projects and click Find. The names of the projects appear in the dialog box.

  4. Select the project names to unshare and click Apply.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy