在 Adobe Premiere Pro 中使用您最好的作品制作一个令人惊艳的生动作品集。

展现您的天赋

无论您是想在大型电影工作室找一份理想的工作,还是想给潜在的自由职业客户留下深刻印象,作品集都是一个重要工具。优秀的作品集不仅可以展现您的能力,还可以凸显您的个性。独特的创意可以让您脱颖而出,征服对方的心。

问自己三个问题:

  • 您展示的作品是否是您自己的创意成果?业内专业人士可以一眼看出您在课堂练习或在线教程中制作的作品。这样的作品看起来通常毫无个性,所以请不要使用这样的作品。
  • 您是否对自己的作品感到自豪?每一帧都应当展现您最好的创意和技巧。
  • 您的作品集是否短小精悍,不超过 2 分钟?应当确保作品集尽量简短。大多数人愿意花 1 分钟时间观看您的作品集,但是如果超过 2 分钟,就可能丧失兴趣。应当删除欠佳的剪辑,让作品集更简短。您可以随时用新作品扩展作品集。
  • 您的作品集是否有配乐?好的配乐能够有效地感动观众。应当
    花一些时间来寻找最合适的音频,创造专业的音画效果。

如果对于所有这些问题,您的答案都是肯定的,就说明您已做好了充分准备。如果不是,也不要担心。花一些时间制作一个您可以自豪地向陌生人(不仅仅是家人和朋友)展示的作品集。

选择作品集类型

作品集主要有两种基本类型:

  • 拼贴画式作品集——通常使用配乐,并包含很多简短剪辑。此类作品集最适合展示简短的商业性作品,也称为现场演示作品。示例如下,该作品集由 Coyote Post 公司制作,包含商业广告、音乐视频、旁白和 VFX 作品。
  • 场景式作品集——通常包含较长的剪辑(可能达 15 秒),展示某种技术或特定主题。此类作品集最适合展示电影摄影、纪录片或叙事作品。示例如下,该作品集由 Stargate Studios 视效团队制作,展示了他们拥有超过 200,000 个剪辑的“虚拟外景场地”库、虚拟环境、CG 道具以及用于真实感场景强化的 VFX 元素。

无论您选择什么类型或风格的作品集,目标都是吸引和感动观众。观众往往更容易记住最开始和最后的画面,所以开头和结尾一定要抓住他们的眼球。

画面应当连续流畅,使主题和创意完美衔接。激动人心的场面应当清晰传达关键故事元素,使观众可以瞬间感受到场面中的刺激和兴奋感。让他们感受到您的激情。

展现个性化

  • 加入您的姓名和公司徽标。让对方知道您是谁,既可以放在开头,也可以放在结尾,或者开头结尾都加上。
  • 加入您的联系信息。提供充足的信息(电话号码、电子邮件地址和网站),以便对方与您联系。您可以把这些信息作为作品集末尾的标题,或者在 YouTube、Vimeo、Behance 或其他社交媒体平台上发布视频时加上您的联系方式。
  • 准确把握配乐节奏。充分展示您对细节的关注,以及您知道如何专业地呈现画面。无论快节奏、慢节奏还是合拍,观众都能感受得到,可以分别尝试这三种节奏。
  • 重点展示您为知名品牌制作的作品。留一点时间展示与您合作过的知名品牌徽标。这种方式可以有效加深观众的印象。但请务必确认您获得了这些徽标或名称的使用许可。
  • 展示前后对比。如果您是一名绘景师、视觉效果艺术家、配色师或类似专业人士,您的观众考虑将您的作品用于某个特定项目,那么前后对比将是您
    展现自己技能的关键。
  • 展示序列镜头。如果您是 3D 建模师和合成师,需要分阶段制作画面,展示序列镜头将尤为重要。
  • 展现真实情感。如果您的作品集中有激动人心的场景,请展现最真实的感情,这样能够有效地吸引观众。

展现专业性

  • 避免使用受版权保护、未经授权的音乐。这是违法行为,并且会暴露您对于版权问题的无知。
  • 不要将别人制作的内容据为己用。应当明确标出作品中您只参与了部分制作的内容。可以添加简单的标注,例如“3D 建模师”或“负责运动跟踪”,避免产生混淆,并展现您的团队精神。
  • 切勿重复堆砌。重复的内容会让人感觉,您没有足够的作品可以展示。所以应当尽量简短。
  • 检查是否有错误。拼写错误、音频问题和纵横比失调都将对您产生不利影响,而这些问题极易被忽略。让别人检查通常会很有帮助,例如可以请朋友帮您检查。

获取反馈

请一些能够为您提供真诚反馈的观众观看您的作品集。如果他们能够坦率地给您提供改进建议,可以帮您节省很多时间和精力。一些很小的调整有时可以带来巨大的改善——例如剪掉镜头中意外出现的麦克风,或者进一步完善音轨。

向您信任的导师和同事寻求意见。问他们:作品集是不是太长了?是否有任何剪辑没能很好展现我的才能?顺序是否合适?你还想看到哪些内容?最重要的是:看了这个作品集,你是否愿意雇用我?

定制您的作品集

某些行业有着自己的作品集标准。进行相关调查,并根据特定公司的喜好定制您的作品集,他们可能会把您的作品发布在他们的网站上。

如果您的作品集包含激烈场景,应当展现出对于对话和动作节奏的敏感度。如果是音乐视频,应当制作一个以音乐剪辑为重点的作品集。了解您的客户或潜在雇主想要看到什么,以及想要什么样的效果。大多数专业人士都会针对不同的客户制作多个版本的作品集。

似乎需要花很多时间,但这绝对是值得的。应当使您的作品成为最有视觉吸引力、最能吸引人眼球的一份“个人简历”。

现在就开始吧

要详细了解如何使用您最好的视频作品和配乐制作精彩作品集,请阅读设计作品集

04/12/2021

教程作者:Tyler BrownRod HarlanMaxim Jago

此页面是否有帮助?

Put together a dynamic and engaging reel in Adobe Premiere Pro that showcases your best work.

Show off your talent

Whether you’re trying to land your dream job at a major movie studio or impress potential freelance clients, your demo reel is a primary tool for landing good work. The best reels show not only what you can do, but also who you are. Emphasizing your unique, creative voice can make you stand out from the crowd. Your reel can help convince people you’re the person they want to hire.

Ask yourself these questions:

  • Is the work you’re showing the result of your own creative efforts? Industry professionals can spot material from a class exercise or online tutorial. The work you produce in school will often look like other students’ work, so leave it out.
  • Are you proud of the work you’ve done? Every frame should present your very best creative and technical work.
  • Do you have one or two minutes of great material? Keep your reel short. Most people will give you a minute of their time to watch your reel but if it runs over two minutes, it will likely lose their interest. Consider excluding clips that might not be your very best and go for a shorter reel. You can always expand your reel later with newer work.
  • Do you have a soundtrack? A well-done soundtrack can move viewers considerably. It’s worth investing
    serious time to find exactly the right audio to showcase your visuals in a professional way.

If you answered yes to all of these questions, then you’re ready to build your reel. If not, don’t worry. Take the time to build a body of work that you’ll be proud to show to strangers, not just your friends and family.

Choose the type of reel

There are two basic types of demo reels:

  • Collage-style reels are often cut to music and contain many short clips. They are best for showcasing short-form commercial work, also known as spot work. The collage-style reel example shown here, by production company Coyote Post, highlights the studio’s commercial, music video, narrative, and VFX work.
  • Scene-based reels usually contain longer segments (maybe 15 seconds long) showcasing a technique or specific theme. They are best for showing off cinematography, documentary, or narrative work. The scene-based reel example shown here, from the visual effects team at Stargate Studios, shows their “Virtual Backlot” library of over 200,000 stock footage clips, virtual environments, CG props, and VFX elements for photorealistic scene augmentation.

Whatever structure or style you choose for your demo reel, your goal is to move and engage your audience. Viewers tend to remember the first few moments and the very last shot — so grab their attention.

Visuals should flow together well, connecting themes and ideas. Dramatic scenes should clearly convey key elements of the story to allow viewers to quickly understand the tension and excitement of the moments you included. Let people see what you’re passionate about.

Keep it personal 

  • Include your name or company logo. Let people know who you are, whether it’s at the start or end of your reel — or both.
  • Include your contact information. Provide enough information (phone number, email address, and website) so that people can reach you. Either bake it into your reel as a title placed at the end or include your contact information when you post your video on YouTube, Vimeo, Behance, or your preferred social media platform.
  • Cut to the beat of your music if it lends itself to this treatment. Show that you pay attention to detail and know how to present visuals professionally. Viewers will feel it if you’re ahead of the beat, on the beat, or after — and it’s worth experimenting with all three approaches to timing.
  • Highlight work you’ve done for known brands. Give extra screen time to logos people will recognize. This kind of shared branding is a powerful way to be more memorable. Always confirm that you have permission to use company logos or names.
  • Show before and after clips. If you’re a matte painter, visual effects artist, colorist, or similar specialist and your audience is considering your work for a particular project, these are key to
    highlighting your skills.
  • Show sequence shots. This is particularly important if you build visuals in stages, the way 3D modelers and compositors do.
  • Show authentic emotions. If your reel includes dramatic scenes, choose moments with the most genuine performances, as these will engage your audience more powerfully.

Be professional

  • Never use unlicensed, copyrighted music. It’s illegal and demonstrates a lack of awareness of the issue.
  • Don’t take credit for work you didn’t do. Clearly label any clips for which you did only part of the work. Adding a simple text overlay that says “3D modeler” or “responsible for motion tracking” avoids confusion and shows you can work as part of a creative team.
  • Don’t pad your reel. Repeated footage gives the impression that you don’t have enough to fill a reel. Make it shorter instead.
  • Don’t forget to check for errors. Misspellings, audio glitches, and squeezed-looking aspect ratios work against you. These are incredibly easy to miss. A fresh pair of eyes often helps — if possible, get a friend to check the video for you.

Get feedback

Test your reel with audiences who can provide brutally honest feedback. It will save you time and energy later if they give you frank criticism or suggestions for improvements. Tiny adjustments can make a big difference — like cropping out a microphone that crept into a shot or taking more time to perfect the soundtrack.

Get as many opinions as you can from mentors and colleagues you trust. Ask them: Is the reel too long? Is there any clip that doesn’t represent me well? Is the order exactly right? What would you like to see more of? And most importantly: Would you hire me based on this reel?

Tailor your reel

Some industry niches have their own demo reel standards. Do your research and tailor your reel to a specific company’s preferences, which they may post on their website.

If your reel contains dramatic scenes, demonstrate sensitivity to the pace and flow of dialogue and action. If you edit music videos, cut a reel that focuses on that type of editing. Know what your clients or potential employers want to see and how they want to see it. Most working professionals create several versions of their demo reel to cater to different clients.

If this seems like a lot of work, it is — but it’s worth it. Your reel has to the potential to be the most visually engaging, attention-grabbing resume you can offer.

Now get to work

To learn the ins and outs of assembling a demo reel using clips from your best videos and a matching soundtrack, be sure to read Assemble your demo reel.

03/29/2017

Contributors: Tyler BrownRod Harlan, Maxim Jago

Was this page helpful?
Yes
No