关于相机原始数据文件

一个相机原始数据文件包含来自数码相机图像传感器且未经处理和压缩的灰度图片数据以及有关如何捕捉图像的信息(元数据)。Photoshop ® Camera Raw 软件可以解释相机原始数据文件,该软件使用有关相机的信息以及图像元数据来构建和处理彩色图像。

可以将相机原始数据文件看作是照片负片。您可以随时重新处理该文件以得到所需的效果,即对白平衡、色调范围、对比度、颜色饱和度以及锐化进行调整。在调整相机原始图像时,原来的相机原始数据将保存下来。调整内容将作为元数据存储在附带的附属文件、数据库或文件本身(对于 DNG 格式)中。

使用相机拍摄 JPEG 文件时,相机自动处理 JPEG 文件以改进和压缩图像。通常,您几乎无法控制如何完成此处理过程。与拍摄 JPEG 图像相比,使用相机拍摄相机原始图像可使您更好地进行控制,因为相机原始数据不会使您受限于由相机完成的处理。您仍然可以在 Camera Raw 中编辑 JPEG 和 TIFF 图像,但所要编辑的像素已经过相机处理。相机原始数据文件始终包含来自相机且未经压缩的原始像素。

要拍摄相机原始图像,必须将相机设置为以其自有相机原始数据文件格式来存储文件。

注意:

Photoshop Raw 格式 (.raw) 是一种文件格式,用于在应用程序和计算机平台之间传输图像。不要将 Photoshop Raw 与相机原始数据文件格式相混淆。相机原始数据文件的文件扩展名因相机制造商而异。

数码相机使用线性色调响应曲线(灰度系数为 1.0)来捕捉和存储相机原始数据。胶片和人眼对光线产生非线性的对数响应(灰度系数大于 2)。作为灰度图像查看的未经处理的相机原始图像看起来很暗,这是因为对于人眼来说,在照片传感器和计算机中具有两倍亮度的对象看起来达不到两倍的亮度。

有关支持的相机列表以及 Camera Raw 的详细信息,请参阅数码相机原始数据文件支持

要查看相机列表以及每种相机所需的 Camera Raw 版本,请参阅 Camera Raw 支持的相机

关于 Adobe Camera Raw

Camera Raw 软件是作为一个增效工具随 Adobe After Effects® 和 Adobe Photoshop 一起提供的,并且还为 Adobe Bridge 增添了功能。Camera Raw 为其中的每个应用程序提供了导入和处理相机原始数据文件的功能。也可以使用 Camera Raw 来处理 JPEG 和 TIFF 文件。

注意:

Camera Raw 最多可支持 65,000 像素长或宽和 512 兆像素的图像。Camera Raw 在打开 CMYK 图像时将这种图像转换为 RGB。有关支持的相机的列表,请参阅数码相机原始数据文件支持

必须装有 Photoshop 或 After Effects 才能从 Adobe Bridge 的“Camera Raw”对话框中打开文件。但是,如果没有安装 Photoshop 或 After Effects,仍可在 Adobe Bridge 中预览图像和查看其元数据。如果另一个应用程序与图像文件类型相关联,则可以通过 Adobe Bridge 在该应用程序中打开文件。

通过使用 Adobe Bridge,您可以应用、复制和清除图像设置,以及查看相机原始数据文件的预览和元数据,而无需在“Camera Raw”对话框中打开这些文件。Adobe Bridge 中的预览是使用当前图像设置生成的 JPEG 图像;该预览并不是原始相机数据本身,后者将显示为很暗的灰度图像。

:通过相机原始图像生成预览时,“Camera Raw”对话框的缩览图和预览图像中将显示一个警告图标

您可以修改 Camera Raw 用于特定相机型号的默认设置。对于每种相机型号,您还可以修改特定 ISO 设置或特定相机(按序列号)的默认设置。您可以修改图像设置并将其存储为预设以用于其它图像。

使用 Camera Raw 对相机原始图像进行调整(包括拉直和裁剪)时,将保留图像原来的相机原始数据。调整内容或者存储在 Camera Raw 数据库中,作为元数据嵌入在图像文件中,或者存储在附属 XMP 文件(相机原始数据文件附带的元数据文件)中。有关详细信息,请参阅指定 Camera Raw 设置的存储位置

使用 Camera Raw 增效工具处理和编辑相机原始数据文件后,在 Adobe Bridge 的图像缩览图中将显示一个图标 

如果在 Photoshop 中打开相机原始数据文件,则可以使用其它图像格式来存储图像,如 PSD、JPEG、大型文档格式 (PSB)、TIFF、Cineon、Photoshop Raw、PNG 或 PBM。在 Photoshop 的“Camera Raw”对话框中,可以使用数字负片 (DNG)、JPEG、TIFF 或 Photoshop (PSD) 格式来存储处理的文件。虽然Photoshop Camera Raw 软件可打开和编辑相机原始图像文件,但不能以相机原始格式存储图像。

Camera Raw 有新版本可用时,可通过安装此增效工具的新版本来更新该软件。可以选择“帮助”>“更新”来检查 Adobe 软件更新。

各种相机型号使用多种不同的格式来存储相机原始图像,并且必须以不同的方式为这些格式解释数据。Camera Raw 包含对很多相机型号的支持,还可以解释很多相机原始格式。

注意:

如果打开 Camera Raw 文件时出现问题,请参阅为什么我的 Photoshop 或 Lightroom 版本不支持我的相机?

数字负片 (DNG) 格式简介

数字负片 (DNG) 格式用于存储原始相机数据,这是一种非专有的、公开发布并得到广泛支持的格式。硬件和软件开发人员都会使用 DNG,这是因为它实现了一种处理和归档相机原始数据的灵活工作流程。也可以将 DNG 用作中间格式来存储最初使用专有相机原始格式捕捉的图像。

由于 DNG 元数据是公开发布的,因此,软件读取器(如 Camera Raw)不需要了解特定于相机的信息,即可解码和处理由支持 DNG 的相机创建的文件。如果对专有格式的支持中断,用户将无法访问使用该格式存储的图像,这些图像可能会永久丢失。由于 DNG 是公开发布的文件格式,相信不久之后,软件将能够读取存储为 DNG 文件的原始图像,因而使 DNG 成为一种更安全的归档存储选择。

如果将对图像所做调整的元数据存储为 DNG 文件,则可以将其嵌入在 DNG 文件本身中,而不是存储在附属 XMP 文件或 Camera Raw 数据库中。

可使用Adobe DNG Converter 或“Camera Raw”对话框将相机原始数据文件转换为 DNG 格式。有关 DNG 格式和 DNG Converter 的详细信息,请参阅数字负片 (DNG) 产品页面。要下载最新版本的 DNG 转换器,请访问 Adobe 下载页。

使用 Camera Raw 处理图像

将相机原始数据文件复制到硬盘驱动器上,对其进行组织,然后将其转换为 DNG(可选)。

在对相机原始数据文件所表示的图像进行任何处理之前,您需要将其从相机内存卡传输到计算机中,对其进行组织,为其指定有用的名称以及按其它方式对其进行使用准备。使用 Adobe Bridge 中的“从相机获取照片”命令可自动完成这些任务。

在 Camera Raw 中打开图像文件。

可以从 Adobe Bridge、After Effects 或 Photoshop 的 Camera Raw 中打开相机原始数据文件。也可以从 Adobe Bridge 的 Camera Raw 中打开 JPEG 和 TIFF 文件。

调整颜色。

颜色调整包括白平衡、色调以及饱和度。您可以在“基本”选项卡上进行大多数调整,然后使用其它选项卡上的控件对结果进行微调。如果希望 Camera Raw 分析图像并应用大致的色调调整,请单击“基本”选项卡中的“自动”。

要应用上一个图像使用的设置,或要应用相机型号、相机或 ISO 设置的默认设置,请从“Camera Raw 设置”菜单 中选择相应的命令。(请参阅应用存储的 Camera Raw 设置。)

有关在 Camera Raw 中进行非破坏性色彩(及其他)编辑的视频教程,请观看如何在 Camera Raw 中执行非破坏性编辑

进行其它调整和图像校正。

使用“Camera Raw”对话框中的其它工具和控件执行如下任务:对图像进行锐化处理、减少杂色、纠正镜头问题以及重新修饰。

(可选)将图像设置存储为预设或默认图像设置。

要随后将相同的调整应用于其它图像,请将这些设置存储为预设。要将调整存储为默认设置以应用于来自特定相机型号、特定相机或特定 ISO 设置的所有图像,请将图像设置存储为新的 Camera Raw 默认值。(请参见存储、复位和载入 Camera Raw 设置。)

为 Photoshop 设置工作流程选项。

设置选项以指定从 Camera Raw 中存储图像的方式以及指定 Photoshop 应该如何打开这些图像。可通过单击“Camera Raw”对话框中图像预览下方的链接,访问“工作流程选项”设置。

存储图像,或者在 Photoshop 或 After Effects 中打开它。

在 Camera Raw 中调整图像完毕后,可将调整应用于相机原始数据文件、在 Photoshop 或 After Effects 中打开经过调整的图像、将经过调整的图像存储为其它格式或者取消并放弃调整。如果从 After Effects 中打开“Camera Raw”对话框,则“存储图像”和“完成”按钮不可用。

  • 存储图像将 Camera Raw 设置应用于图像,并以 JPEG、PSD、TIFF 或 DNG 格式存储图像的副本。按 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS) 可禁止显示“Camera Raw 存储选项”对话框,并按最近的一组存储选项存储文件。(请参阅使用其它格式存储相机原始图像。)
  • 打开图像或确定 在 Photoshop 或“效果图”中打开 Camera Raw 图像文件(应用了 Camera Raw 设置)的副本。原有的相机原始图像文件保持不变。按住“Shift”的同时单击“打开图像”可在 Photoshop 中以智能对象的形式打开原始数据文件。您可以随时双击包含原始数据文件的智能对象图层来调整 Camera Raw 设置。
  • 完成关闭“Camera Raw”对话框,并在 Camera Raw 数据库文件、附属 XMP 文件或 DNG 文件中存储文件设置。
  • 取消取消在“Camera Raw”对话框中指定的调整。

Camera Raw 对话框概述

“Camera Raw”对话框
“Camera Raw”对话框

A. 相机名称或文件格式 B. 切换全屏模式 C. 直方图 D. 图像调整选项卡 E. “图像”和“Camera Raw 设置”菜单 F. “调整”滑块 G. 预览选项 H. 工作流程选项 I. 缩放级别 

注意:

  • 从 After Effects 中打开“Camera Raw”对话框时,从 Adobe Bridge 或 Photoshop 中打开“Camera Raw”对话框时可用的某些控件(如“工作流程选项”链接)不可用。
  • 您可以按住 Shift 键并在图像预览中双击以调用自动色温调整和自动色调调整功能。

  • 要打开“Camera Raw 设置”菜单,请单击任意图像调整选项卡右上角的按钮 。Adobe Bridge 的“编辑”>“显影设置”菜单中也有此菜单中的几个命令可用。

Camera Raw 缩放控件包括以下各项:

  • 缩放工具 

    单击预览图像时,将预览缩放设置为下一较高预设值。按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS) 并单击可使用下一较低缩放值。在预览图像中拖移缩放工具可以放大所选区域。要恢复到 100%,请点按两次缩放工具。

  • 抓手工具 

    将预览图像的缩放级别设置为大于 100% 时,用于在预览窗口中移动图像。在使用其它工具的同时,按住空格键可暂时激活抓手工具。点按两次抓手工具可将预览图像适合窗口大小。

  • 选择缩放级别

    从菜单中选择一个放大设置,或单击“选择缩放级别”按钮。

预览

显示在当前选项卡中所做的图像调整以及其它选项卡中的设置的预览。如果取消选择此选项,则使用当前选项卡中的原始设置以及其它选项卡中的设置来显示图像。

从 Photoshop CC 的 8.4 版本开始,Camera Raw 为您提供高级预览图像控制选项,帮助您快速比较图像的“原图/效果图”状态:

  • 将当前设置存储为图像的“原图”状态
    在当前设置和存储的“原图”状态。当前设置存储为“原图”状态,并且对图像应用先前存储为“原图”状态的设置
     选择显示预览图的模式
  • 仅查看应用到图像的“效果图”设置
  • 应用到图像左右半部的“原图/效果图”设置
  • 应用到整个图像并且并排显示的“原图/效果图”设置
  • 应用到图像上下半部的“原图/效果图”设置
  • 应用到整个图像并垂直显示以供比较的“原图/效果图”设置

RGB

在预览图像中的指针下面显示像素的红色、绿色和蓝色值。

阴影和高光

使用直方图最上方的按钮显示阴影和高光修剪。剪切的阴影以蓝色显示,剪切的高光以红色显示。剪切三个 RGB 通道中的任何一个时,将显示高光剪切(完全饱和,没有细节)。剪切所有三个 RGB 通道时,将显示阴影剪切(黑色,没有细节)。

 

Camera Raw 图像调整选项卡包括以下各项:

    基本 

    调整白平衡、颜色饱和度以及色调。

    色调曲线 

    使用“参数”曲线和“点”曲线对色调进行微调。

    细节 

    对图像进行锐化处理或减少杂色。

    HSL/灰度 

    使用“色相”、“饱和度”和“明亮度”调整对颜色进行微调。

    分离色调 

    为单色图像添加颜色,或者为彩色图像创建特殊效果。

    镜头校正 

    补偿相机镜头造成的色差、几何扭曲和晕影。

    效果 

    模拟胶片颗粒或应用裁切后晕影。

    相机校准 

    将相机配置文件应用于原始图像,用于校正色调和调整非中性色,以补偿相机图像传感器的行为。

    预设 

    将多组图像调整存储为预设并进行应用。

    快照 

    创建照片的多个版本,记录它在编辑过程中任意时间的状态。

预览图像

视频教程:比较应用效果之前/之后的 Camera Raw 调整

视频教程:比较应用效果之前/之后的 Camera Raw 调整
Infinite Skills

在 Adobe Bridge 中使用 Camera Raw 高速缓存

在 Adobe Bridge 中查看相机原始数据文件时,缩览图和预览使用的是默认设置或调整后的设置。Adobe Bridge 高速缓存存储文件缩览图数据、元数据和文件信息。通过对这些数据进行高速缓存,可以缩短返回上次在 Adobe Bridge 中查看的文件夹时的载入时间。Camera Raw 高速缓存缩短了在 Camera Raw 中打开图像所需的时间,并在 Camera Raw 中的图像设置更改时重新在 Adobe Bridge 中生成预览。

由于高速缓存会变得非常大,因此您可能需要清空 Camera Raw 高速缓存或限制它的大小。如果怀疑高速缓存损坏或包含的数据陈旧,还可以将其清空后再重新生成。

注意:

为“Camera Raw”高速缓存分配的每千兆字节磁盘存储空间可存放约 200 幅图像的数据。默认情况下,将 Camera Raw 高速缓存的最大大小设置为 1 GB。可以在 Camera Raw 首选项中增加它的限制。

  1. 在 Adobe Bridge 中,选择“编辑”>“Camera Raw 首选项”(Windows) 或者“Bridge”>“Camera Raw 首选项”(Mac OS)。或者在打开“Camera Raw”对话框的情况下单击“打开首选项对话框”按钮

  2. 请执行下列任一操作:
    • 要更改高速缓存大小,请输入一个“最大大小”值。
    • 要清空 Camera Raw 高速缓存,请单击“清空高速缓存”按钮。
    • 要更改 Camera Raw 高速缓存位置,请单击“选择位置”

使用 Camera Raw 和 Lightroom

Camera Raw 和 Lightroom 使用相同的图像处理技术,以确保在不同应用程序中获得一致且兼容的结果。要使 Camera Raw 能够查看在 Lightroom 的开发模块中进行的图像调整,必须在 Lightroom 中将元数据更改存储为 XMP。

在 Camera Raw 中进行的调整还会显示在 Adobe Bridge 的“内容”和“预览”面板中。

要在 Camera Raw 中查看 Lightroom 更改并确保可以在 Lightroom 和 Adobe Bridge 中查看 Camera Raw 调整,请执行以下操作:

  1. 在 Adobe Bridge 中,选择“编辑”>“Camera Raw 首选项”(Windows) 或者“Bridge”>“Camera Raw 首选项”(Mac OS)。或者在打开“Camera Raw”对话框的情况下单击“打开首选项对话框”按钮

  2. 选择“将图像设置存储在”>“附属‘.XMP’文件”,然后取消选择“忽略附属‘.XMP’文件”。
  3. 在 Camera Raw 中向照片应用调整后,单击“完成”或“打开图像”以存储这些调整。

注意:

Camera Raw 仅读取 Lightroom 目录中的主图像的当前设置。Camera Raw 中不显示或包含对虚拟副本进行的调整。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

About camera raw files

A camera raw file contains unprocessed, uncompressed grayscale picture data from a digital camera’s image sensor, along with information about how the image was captured (metadata). Photoshop® Camera Raw software interprets the camera raw file, using information about the camera and the image’s metadata to construct and process a color image.

Think of a camera raw file as your photo negative. You can reprocess the file at any time, achieving the results that you want by making adjustments for white balance, tonal range, contrast, color saturation, and sharpening. When you adjust a camera raw image, the original camera raw data is preserved. Adjustments are stored as metadata in an accompanying sidecar file, in a database, or in the file itself (in the case of DNG format).

When you shoot JPEG files with your camera, the camera automatically processes the JPEG file to enhance and compress the image. You generally have little control over how this processing occurs. Shooting camera raw images with your camera gives you greater control than shooting JPEG images, because camera raw does not lock you into processing done by your camera. You can still edit JPEG and TIFF images in Camera Raw, but you will be editing pixels that were already processed by the camera. Camera raw files always contain the original, unprocessed pixels from the camera.

To shoot camera raw images, you must set your camera to save files in its own camera raw file format.

Note:

The Photoshop Raw format (.raw) is a file format for transferring images between applications and computer platforms. Don’t confuse Photoshop raw with camera raw file formats. File extensions for camera raw files vary depending on the camera manufacturer.

Digital cameras capture and store camera raw data with a linear tone response curve (gamma 1.0). Both film and the human eye have a nonlinear, logarithmic response to light (gamma greater than 2). An unprocessed camera raw image viewed as a grayscale image would seem very dark, because what appears twice as bright to the photosensor and computer seems less than twice as bright to the human eye.

For a list of supported cameras and for more information about Camera Raw, see Digital camera raw file support.

To see a list of cameras and which version of Camera Raw each camera requires, see Camera Raw plug-in | Supported cameras.

About Adobe Camera Raw

Camera Raw software is included as a plug-in with Adobe After Effects® and Adobe Photoshop, and also adds functionality to Adobe Bridge. Camera Raw gives each of these applications the ability to import and work with camera raw files. You can also use Camera Raw to work with JPEG and TIFF files.

Note:

Camera Raw supports images up to 65,000 pixels long or wide and up to 512 megapixels. Camera Raw converts CMYK images to RGB upon opening. For a list of supported cameras, see Digital camera raw file support.

You must have Photoshop or After Effects installed to open files in the Camera Raw dialog box from Adobe Bridge. However, if Photoshop or After Effects is not installed, you can still preview the images and see their metadata in Adobe Bridge. If another application is associated with the image file type, it’s possible to open the file in that application from Adobe Bridge.

Using Adobe Bridge, you can apply, copy, and clear image settings, and you can see previews and metadata for camera raw files without opening them in the Camera Raw dialog box. The preview in Adobe Bridge is a JPEG image generated using the current image settings; the preview is not the raw camera data itself, which would appear as a very dark grayscale image.

Note: A caution icon  appears in the thumbnails and preview image in the Camera Raw dialog box while the preview is generated from the camera raw image.

You can modify the default settings that Camera Raw uses for a particular model of camera. For each camera model, you can also modify the defaults for a particular ISO setting or a particular camera (by serial number). You can modify and save image settings as presets for use with other images.

When you use Camera Raw to make adjustments (including straightening and cropping) to a camera raw image, the image’s original camera raw data is preserved. The adjustments are stored in either the Camera Raw database, as metadata embedded in the image file, or in a sidecar XMP file (a metadata file that accompanies a camera raw file). For more information, see Specify where Camera Raw settings are stored.

After you process and edit a camera raw file using the Camera Raw plug-in, an icon  appears in the image thumbnail in Adobe Bridge.

If you open a camera raw file in Photoshop, you can save the image in other image formats, such as PSD, JPEG, Large Document Format (PSB), TIFF, Cineon, Photoshop Raw, PNG, or PBM. From the Camera Raw dialog box in Photoshop, you can save the processed files in Digital Negative (DNG), JPEG, TIFF, or Photoshop (PSD) formats. Although Photoshop Camera Raw software can open and edit a camera raw image file, it cannot save an image in a camera raw format.

As new versions of Camera Raw become available, you can update this software by installing a new version of the plug-in. You can check for updates to Adobe software by choosing Help > Updates.

Different camera models save camera raw images in many different formats, and the data must be interpreted differently for these formats. Camera Raw includes support for many camera models, and it can interpret many camera raw formats.

Note:

If you have trouble opening Camera Raw files, see Why doesn't my version of Photoshop or Lightroom support my camera?

About the Digital Negative (DNG) format

The Digital Negative (DNG) format is a non-proprietary, publicly documented, and widely supported format for storing raw camera data. Hardware and software developers use DNG because it results in a flexible workflow for processing and archiving camera raw data. You may also use DNG as an intermediate format for storing images that were originally captured using a proprietary camera raw format.

Because DNG metadata is publicly documented, software readers such as Camera Raw do not need camera-specific knowledge to decode and process files created by a camera that supports DNG. If support for a proprietary format is discontinued, users may not be able to access images stored in that format, and the images may be lost forever. Because DNG is publicly documented, it is far more likely that raw images stored as DNG files will be readable by software in the distant future, making DNG a safer choice for archival storage.

Metadata for adjustments made to images stored as DNG files can be embedded in the DNG file itself instead of in a sidecar XMP file or in the Camera Raw database.

You can convert camera raw files to the DNG format by using the Adobe DNG Converter or the Camera Raw dialog box. For more information on the DNG format and DNG Converter, see the Digital Negative (DNG) product page. To download the latest DNG Converter, go to the Adobe downloads page.

Process images with Camera Raw

Copy camera raw files to your hard disk, organize them, and (optionally) convert them to DNG.

Before you do any work on the images that your camera raw files represent, transfer them from the camera’s memory card, organize them, give them useful names, and otherwise prepare them for use. Use the Get Photos From Camera command in Adobe Bridge to accomplish these tasks automatically.

Open the image files in Camera Raw.

You can open camera raw files in Camera Raw from Adobe Bridge, After Effects, or Photoshop. You can also open JPEG and TIFF files in Camera Raw from Adobe Bridge.

Adjust color.

Color adjustments include white balance, tone, and saturation. You can make most adjustments on the Basic tab, and then use controls on the other tabs to fine-tune the results. If you want Camera Raw to analyze your image and apply approximate tonal adjustments, click Auto on the Basic tab.

To apply the settings used for the previous image, or to apply the default settings for the camera model, camera, or ISO settings, choose the appropriate command from the Camera Raw Settings menu . (See Apply saved Camera Raw settings.)

For a video tutorial on making nondestructive color (and other) adjustments to photos in Camera Raw, watch How to make non-destructive edits in Camera Raw.

Make other adjustments and image corrections.

Use other tools and controls in the Camera Raw dialog box to perform such tasks as sharpening the image, reducing noise, correcting for lens defects, and retouching.

(Optional) Save image settings as a preset or as default image settings.

To apply the same adjustments to other images later, save the settings as a preset. To save the adjustments as the defaults to be applied to all images from a specific camera model, a specific camera, or a specific ISO setting, save the image settings as the new Camera Raw defaults. (See Save, reset, and load Camera Raw settings.)

Set workflow options for Photoshop.

Set options to specify how images are saved from Camera Raw and how Photoshop should open them. You can access the Workflow Options settings by clicking the link beneath the image preview in the Camera Raw dialog box.

Save the image, or open it in Photoshop or After Effects.

When you finish adjusting the image in Camera Raw, you can apply the adjustments to the camera raw file, open the adjusted image in Photoshop or After Effects, save the adjusted image to another format, or cancel and discard adjustments. If you open the Camera Raw dialog box from After Effects, the Save Image and Done buttons are unavailable.

  • Save Image Applies the Camera Raw settings to the images and saves copies of them in JPEG, PSD, TIFF, or DNG format. Press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) to suppress the Camera Raw Save Options dialog box and save the files using the last set of save options. (See Save a camera raw image in another format.)
  • Open Image or OK Opens copies of the camera raw image files (with the Camera Raw settings applied) in Photoshop or After Effects. The original camera raw image file remains unaltered. Press Shift while clicking Open Image to open the raw file in Photoshop as a Smart Object. At any time, you can double-click the Smart Object layer that contains the raw file to adjust the Camera Raw settings.
  • Done Closes the Camera Raw dialog box and stores file settings either in the camera raw database file, in the sidecar XMP file, or in the DNG file.
  • Cancel Cancels the adjustments specified in the Camera Raw dialog box.

Camera Raw dialog box overview

Camera Raw dialog box
(Adobe Camera Raw 8.4) Camera Raw dialog box

A. Camera name or file format B. Toggle full-screen mode C. Image adjustment tabs D. Histogram E. Camera Raw Settings menu F. Adjustment sliders G. Preview options H. Workflow options I. Zoom levels 

Note:

Some controls, such as the Workflow Options link, that are available when you open the Camera Raw dialog box from Adobe Bridge or Photoshop are not available when you open the Camera Raw dialog box from After Effects.

Note:

You can invoke the Auto Temperature and Auto Tint functionality by Shift-double-clicking within the image preview.

  • To open the Camera Raw Settings menu, click the button  in the upper-right corner of any of the image adjustment tabs. Several of the commands in this menu are also available from the Edit > Develop Settings menu in Adobe Bridge.

 

The Camera Raw zoom controls are:

  • Zoom tool 

    Sets the preview zoom to the next higher preset value when you click the preview image. Alt‑click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) to use the next lower zoom value. Drag the Zoom tool in the preview image to zoom in on a selected area. To return to 100%, double-click the Zoom tool.

  • Hand tool 

    Moves the image in the preview window if the preview image is set at a zoom level higher than 100%. Hold down the spacebar to temporarily activate the Hand tool while using another tool. Double-click the Hand tool to fit the preview image to the window.

  • Select Zoom Level

    Choose a magnification setting from the menu or click the Select Zoom Level buttons.

Preview

Displays a preview of the image adjustments made in the current tab, combined with the settings in the other tabs. Deselect to show the image with the original settings of the current tab combined with the settings in the other tabs.

Beginning with version 8.4 for Photoshop CC, Camera Raw provides advanced Preview controls that let you quickly compare the Before/After states of an image:

  •  Save the current settings as the Before state of the image
     Swap the current settings and the saved Before state settings. The current settings are saved as the Before state, and the settings previously saved as the Before state are applied to the image
     Select a mode for displaying the preview
  • See only the After settings applied to the image
  • Before/After settings applied to the left and right halves of the image
  • Before/After settings applied to the whole image and displayed side-by-side
  • Before/After settings applied to the top and bottom halves of the image
  • Before/After settings applied to the whole image and displayed vertically for quick comparison

RGB

Shows the red, green, and blue values of the pixel under the pointer in the preview image.

Shadows and Highlights

Displays shadow and highlight clipping using the buttons at the top of the Histogram. Clipped shadows appear in blue, and clipped highlights appear in red. Highlight clipping is shown if any one of the three RGB channels is clipped (fully saturated with no detail). Shadow clipping is shown if all three RGB channels are clipped (black with no detail).

 

The Camera Raw image adjustment tabs are:

    Basic 

    Adjust white balance, color saturation, and tonality.

    Tone Curve 

    Fine-tune tonality using a Parametric curve and a Point curve.

    Detail 

    Sharpen images or reduce noise.

    HSL / Grayscale 

    Fine-tune colors using Hue, Saturation, and Luminance adjustments.

    Split Toning 

    Color monochrome images or create special effects with color images.

    Lens Corrections 

    Compensate for chromatic aberration, geometric distortions, and vignetting caused by the camera lens.

    Effects 

    Simulate film grain or apply a postcrop vignette.

    Camera Calibration 

    Apply camera profiles to raw images to correct color casts and adjust non-neutral colors to compensate for the behavior of a camera’s image sensor.

    Presets 

    Save and apply sets of image adjustments as presets.

    Snapshots 

    Create versions of a photo that record its state at any point during the editing process.

Preview images

Video tutorial: Compare Camera Raw adjustments before and after

Video tutorial: Compare Camera Raw adjustments before and after
Infinite Skills

Work with the Camera Raw cache in Adobe Bridge

When you view camera raw files in Adobe Bridge, the thumbnails and previews use either the default settings or your adjusted settings. The Adobe Bridge cache stores data for the file thumbnails, metadata, and file information. Caching this data shortens the loading time when you return to a previously viewed folder in Adobe Bridge. The Camera Raw cache speeds the opening of images in Camera Raw and rebuilds of previews in Adobe Bridge when image settings change in Camera Raw.

Because caches can become very large, you may want to purge the Camera Raw cache or limit its size. You can also purge and regenerate the cache if you suspect that it is corrupted or old.

Note:

The Camera Raw cache holds data for about 200 images for each gigabyte of disk storage allocated to it. By default, the Camera Raw cache is set to a maximum size of 1 GB. You can increase its limit in the Camera Raw preferences.

  1. In Adobe Bridge, choose Edit > Camera Raw Preferences (Windows) or Bridge > Camera Raw Preferences (Mac OS). Or, with the Camera Raw dialog box open, click the Open Preferences Dialog button .

  2. Do any of the following:
    • To change the cache size, enter a Maximum Size value.
    • To purge the camera raw cache, click the Purge Cache button.
    • To change the location of the camera raw cache, click Select Location.

Work with Camera Raw and Lightroom

Camera Raw and Lightroom share the same image-processing technology to ensure consistent and compatible results across applications. For Camera Raw to view image adjustments made in the Develop module of Lightroom, metadata changes must be saved to XMP in Lightroom.

Adjustments made in Camera Raw are also displayed in the Adobe Bridge Content and Preview panels.

To view Lightroom changes in Camera Raw, and to ensure that Camera Raw adjustments can be viewed in Lightroom and Adobe Bridge, do the following:

  1. In Adobe Bridge, choose Edit > Camera Raw Preferences (Windows) or Bridge > Camera Raw Preferences (Mac OS). Or, with the Camera Raw dialog box open, click the Open Preferences Dialog button .

  2. Choose Save Image Settings In > Sidecar “.XMP” Files, and deselect Ignore Sidecar “.XMP” Files.
  3. After applying adjustments to a photo in Camera Raw, save them by clicking Done or Open Image.

Note:

Camera Raw reads only the current settings for the primary image in the Lightroom catalog. Adjustments made to virtual copies are not displayed or available in Camera Raw.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy