重要说明:本文档提供背景信息。有关如何调整照片大小的说明,请参阅图像大小和分辨率。有关如何裁剪照片的说明,请参阅裁剪并修齐照片

您可以使用 Adobe Photoshop 以多种方式调整图像大小。要在调整图像大小时获得最佳效果,您需要了解每种大小调整方法背后的概念以及每种方法的效果。这些概念也影响裁剪工具选项的操作方式。如果您调整图像大小和裁剪图像而不知道所涉及的概念,可能会看到意外的结果。

屏幕上和打印时的图像大小

在屏幕上查看的图像大小与打印时的图像大小不同。如果您明白这些区别,就能更好地了解在调整图像大小时要更改哪些设置。

屏幕大小

显示器的屏幕分辨率是指它可以显示的像素数。例如,屏幕分辨率为 640 x 480 像素的显示器显示 640 像素的宽度和 480 像素的高度。您可以使用多种不同的屏幕分辨率,显示器屏幕的实际尺寸通常决定了可用的分辨率。例如,大型显示器显示的分辨率一般比小型显示器要高,因为它们的像素较多。

要查明屏幕分辨率是多大,请选择“开始”>“控制面板”>“显示器”>“设置”并查看屏幕分辨率 (Windows),或者选择“系统首选项”>“显示器”并在“分辨率”列表中查看 (Mac OS)。

屏幕上的图像大小

在显示器上显示时,图像的像素大小是固定的。屏幕分辨率决定了图像在屏幕上显示有多大。设置为 640 x 480 像素的显示器显示的像素比 1024 x 768 像素的显示器要少。因此,640 x 480 像素显示器上的每个像素比 1024 x 768 像素显示器上显示的每个像素要大。

100 x 100 像素的图像占 640 x 480 像素屏幕的大约六分之一,但仅占 1024 x 768 像素屏幕的大约十分之一。因此,图像在 1024 x 768 像素下比在 640 x 480 像素下看起来要小。

打印时的图像大小

调整图像大小时使用的其他值包括打印时图像的实际尺寸和分辨率,直到打印图像时才会使用这些值。图像的实际尺寸、分辨率和像素大小决定了图像中的数据量及其打印质量。一般来说,分辨率较高的图像打印质量较高。有关分辨率和实际尺寸的更多信息,请参阅下面几部分。

“图像大小”对话框

当您使用“图像大小”对话框调整图像大小时(选择“图像”>“图像大小”),可以更改图像的四个方面:

  • 像素大小:图像的宽度和高度。
  • 在 Photoshop 中打开时的图像大小:此值显示在对话框顶部。
  • 文档大小:打印时图像的实际尺寸,包括宽度和高度。
  • 打印时的图像分辨率:此值显示为像素/英寸或像素/厘米。

Photoshop 按如下方式计算图像的实际尺寸、分辨率和像素大小:

  • 实际尺寸 = 分辨率 x 像素大小
  • 分辨率 = 实际尺寸 / 像素大小
  • 像素大小 = 实际尺寸 / 分辨率

在“图像大小”对话框中,您可以采用两种方式调整图像大小。您可以增加或减少图像中的数据量(重新采样)。或者,您也可以使图像中的数据量保持不变(调整大小而不重新采样)。当您重新采样时,图像质量可能会在一定程度上下降。您可能必须执行一些额外的工作,例如使用 USM 锐化滤镜来锐化图像,以弥补重新采样。

提示:要将“图像大小”对话框复位为原始状态,请按 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS)。按这些键可以将“取消”按钮更改为“复位”按钮。

对图像进行大小调整和重新采样

当您对图像进行大小调整和重新采样时,会更改该文件中的数据量。要对图像进行重新采样,确保在“图像大小”对话框底部选择“重新采样”。默认情况下,重新采样处于启用状态。

重新采样会更改图像的像素总数,也就是“图像大小”对话框中显示的宽度和高度的像素数。在对话框的这一部分中增加像素数时(上采样),应用程序会向图像中添加数据。减少像素数时(下采样),应用程序会删除数据。每当在图像中添加或删除数据,图像质量都会在一定程度上下降。从图像中删除数据一般比添加数据更可取。这是因为,上采样要求 Photoshop 猜测要添加哪些像素。此过程比下采样时猜测要删除哪些像素更加复杂。在 Photoshop 中处理图像得到最佳效果,以适当的分辨率获得所需的输出。您可以通过调整图像大小而不重新采样来获得所需的效果。但是,如果对图像进行重新采样,只能这样做一次。

启用“重新采样”后,您可以更改“图像大小”对话框中的任何值:像素大小、实际尺寸或分辨率。如果更改一个值,会影响其他值。像素大小总是受到影响。

  • 更改像素大小影响实际尺寸,但是不影响分辨率。
  • 更改分辨率影响像素大小,但是不影响实际尺寸。
  • 更改实际尺寸影响像素大小,但是不影响分辨率。

您不能设置文件大小,当您更改图像中的总数据量(像素大小)时,文件大小就会发生变化。在更改对话框中的其他值之前,要记下文件大小值。然后,您可以使用文件大小信息来了解重新采样时在图像中删除或添加了多少数据。例如,如果文件大小从 250 KB 更改为 500 KB,图像中增加了一倍的数据,这样会使图像质量下降。质量下降的图像可能会看起来模糊不清、参差不齐或浓淡不匀。

调整图像大小而不重新采样

当您调整图像大小而不重新采样时,会更改图像的大小而不更改该图像中的数据量。调整大小而不重新采样会更改图像的实际尺寸,而不更改图像的像素大小。不会在图像中添加或删除任何数据。当您取消选择或禁用“重新采样”时,像素大小字段不可用。您只能更改两个值,即实际尺寸(文档大小中的宽度和高度)或分辨率(像素/英寸)。当您调整大小而不重新采样时,您可以设置图像的实际尺寸或分辨率。为使图像中的像素总数保持不变,Photoshop 通过增大或减小另一个值来弥补您设置的值。例如,如果您设置实际尺寸,Photoshop 会更改分辨率。

当像素大小保持不变而您减小图像的实际尺寸时,分辨率会相应地提高。如果将图像的实际尺寸减小一半,分辨率会提高一倍。相同的空间可以容纳两倍的像素。如果将图像的尺寸增大一倍,分辨率会下降一半,因为实际尺寸内容纳的像素之间的距离增大了一倍。

例如,假设有一个 400 x 400 像素的图像,实际尺寸为 4 x 4 英寸,分辨率为 100 像素/英寸 (ppi)。要将图像的实际尺寸减小一半而不重新采样,您将实际尺寸设置为 2 x 2 英寸。Photoshop 会将分辨率提高到 200 ppi。这样调整图像大小可使像素总数保持不变(200 ppi x 2 x 2 英寸 = 400 x 400 像素)。如果将实际尺寸增大一倍(增大到 8 x 8 英寸),分辨率会下降到 50 ppi。增大图像的尺寸意味着每英寸只能有一半的像素。如果更改图像分辨率,实际尺寸也会更改。

重要说明:像素大小控制数据量,分辨率和实际尺寸仅用于打印。

注意:像素/英寸 (ppi) 是指图像中每英寸包含的像素数。点/英寸 (dpi) 只与打印机相关,因打印机不同而异。通常,每像素有 2.5 到 3 个墨点。例如,600-dpi 的打印机只需图像达到 150-ppi 到 300-ppi 就能实现最高的打印质量。

有关“图像大小”对话框中选项的更多信息,请参阅 Photoshop“帮助”中的关于像素大小和打印的图像分辨率

使用裁剪工具

当您使用裁剪工具调整图像大小时,像素大小和文件大小会发生变化,但是图像不会重新采样。当您使用裁剪工具时,根据裁剪区域的大小,像素大小和分辨率会使每英寸包含更多像素。但是,Photoshop 并不专门地在图像中添加或删除数据。

当您裁剪图像时,您在原始图像中删除或添加数据来创建一个不同的图像。由于您是相对于原始图像删除或添加数据,因此重新采样的概念失去了大部分意义。这是因为,每英寸像素数可能会因裁剪选区内像素数的不同而发生变化。当裁剪区域内的像素数允许时,Photoshop 会设法使原始图像的分辨率保持不变。将这种方法视为裁剪而不重新采样。但是,当您不确定选择的像素数时,新图像的像素大小和文件大小就会发生变化。

裁剪工具选项

在您画出选区后,裁剪工具选项栏中的选项会发生变化。当您首次选择裁剪工具时,您可以指定宽度、高度和分辨率。宽度和高度的测量单位可以是英寸、厘米、毫米、点和派卡。在值字段中的数字后面键入单位或单位缩写。例如,100 px、1 in、1 英寸、10 cm、200 mm、100 pt 或 100 派卡。如果未在裁剪选项栏中的“宽度”和“高度”字段中指定测量单位,则默认单位是英寸。

您也可以在“分辨率”字段中设置所裁剪图像的分辨率值。从弹出式菜单中选择“像素/英寸”或“像素/厘米”。

有关裁剪工具选项的更多信息,请参阅裁剪并修齐图像

仅更改英寸大小

当您在裁剪工具选项中设置图像的实际尺寸(英寸)而未更改分辨率时,像素大小会发生变化。像素大小根据您所画裁剪选区内的像素数与原始图像的像素大小之比而发生变化。分辨率会根据图像的原始大小而发生变化,以使图像的每英寸容纳额外的像素。

注意:以下示例中使用的原始图像尺寸为 4 x 4 英寸,分辨率为 100 ppi,像素大小为 400 x 400 像素,文件大小为 468.8 KB。

英寸大小
(由您设置)
分辨率
(由 Photoshop 更改)
像素大小
(您所画裁剪选区的大小)
文件大小
2 x 2 in 104 ppi
(原始分辨率 = 100 ppi)
208 x 208 px
(原始 = 400 x 400 px)
125.8 KB
(原始 468.8 KB)

在本例中,Photoshop 将图像的实际尺寸减小了一半(从 4 x 4 英寸减小到 2 x 2 英寸)。Photoshop 还将像素大小减小了 50%。原始分辨率 (100 ppi) 保持不变,但是分辨率有所提高,以弥补添加到裁剪矩形中的额外像素(8 像素/英寸)。

更改英寸大小和分辨率

当您在裁剪工具选项中设置图像的实际尺寸(英寸)并更改每英寸像素数时,像素大小会发生变化。生成的图像在整个文档中的像素会增加或减少。您设置英寸数和每英寸像素数。Photoshop 将删除或添加数据,以适合您指定的每英寸像素数。

注意:以下示例中使用的原始图像尺寸为 4 x 4 英寸,分辨率为 100 ppi,像素大小为 400 x 400 像素,文件大小为 468.8 KB。

英寸大小

(由您设置)
分辨率

(由您设置)
像素大小

(发生更改)
文件大小
2 x 2 in 200 ppi 400 x 400 px 468.8 KB
2 x 2 in 300 ppi 600 x 600 px 1.03 MB
2 x 2 in 50 ppi 100 x 100 px 29.3 KB

在第一个示例中,您将实际尺寸减小了一半,但是通过将分辨率提高一倍达到了平衡。因此,像素大小和文件大小保持不变。

在第二个示例中,您将实际尺寸减小了一半,并提高了分辨率。因此,像素大小有所增大,每英寸容纳了更多像素。文件大小也有所增大。

在第三个示例中,您将实际尺寸减小了一半,并降低了分辨率 (ppi)。因此,像素大小有所减小,因为现在图像中的像素变少。文件大小也有所减小。

仅更改像素大小

当您设置像素大小但不设置分辨率时,分辨率保持不变,与原始图像的分辨率相同。将会生成新的实际尺寸,在图像中每英寸容纳指定的像素数。文件大小会发生变化,因为您更改了像素大小,而让 Photoshop 使每英寸像素数保持不变。

注意:以下示例中使用的原始图像尺寸为 4 x 4 英寸,分辨率为 100 ppi,像素大小为 400 x 400 像素,文件大小为 468.8 KB。

英寸大小

(发生更改)
分辨率

(发生更改)
像素大小

(由您设置)
文件大小
2 x 2 in 100 ppi 200 x 200 px 117.2 KB
3 x 3 in 100 ppi 300 x 300 px 263.7 KB
6 x 6 in 100 ppi 600 x 600 px 1.03 MB

在这些示例中,分辨率保持不变,但是像素大小已更改。实际尺寸发生了变化,以适合您指定的每英寸像素数(像素大小)。

更改像素大小和分辨率

当您设置像素大小和分辨率时,Photoshop 会生成不同的实际尺寸。图像要容纳图像中的像素数以及您指定的每英寸像素数。文件大小会发生变化,因为您更改了图像中的像素总数以及每英寸像素数。

注意:以下示例中使用的原始图像尺寸为 4 x 4 英寸,分辨率为 100 ppi,像素大小为 400 x 400 像素,文件大小为 468.8 KB。

英寸大小

(发生更改)
分辨率

(由您设置)
像素大小

(由您设置)
文件大小
1 x 1 in 600 ppi 600 x 600 px 1.03 MB
2 x 2 in 300 ppi 600 x 600 px 1.03 MB
0.667 x 0.667 in 300 ppi 200 x 200 px 117.2 KB

在这些示例中,像素大小和分辨率都发生了变化。实际尺寸发生了变化,以适合像素总数以及每英寸像素数(像素大小和分辨率)。

仅更改分辨率

当您在裁剪工具选项中仅更改分辨率时,图像大小取决于裁剪区域内的像素数。

提示:看一下“信息”面板,看看裁剪区域内包含多少像素。

注意:以下示例中使用的原始图像尺寸为 4 x 4 英寸,分辨率为 100 ppi,像素大小为 400 x 400 像素,文件大小为 468.8 KB。

英寸大小

(结果)

分辨率

(由您设置)
像素大小

(结果)
裁剪大小

(由您画出)
文件大小
0.767 x 0.767 in 300 ppi 230 x 230 px 2.3 x 2.3 in 115 KB
1 x 1 in 300 ppi 300 x 300 px 3 x 3 in 263.7 KB
75 x 0.75 in 400 ppi 300 x 300 px 3 x 3 in 263.7 KB
1 x 1 in 200 ppi 200 x 200 px 2 x 2 in 117.2 KB
0.5 x 0.5 in 200 ppi 100 x 100 px 1 x 1 in 29.3 KB
1.5 x 1.5 in 200 ppi 300 x 300 px 3 x 3 in 263.7 KB

在这些示例中,Photoshop 使用裁剪选区的大小和您指定的分辨率来调整图像大小。新图像的实际尺寸和像素大小适合您所画裁剪选区内的像素数和您设置的新分辨率。

视频:了解图像分辨率

视频:了解图像分辨率
Train Simple

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Important: This document provides background information. For instructions on how to resize photos, see Image size and resolution. For instructions on how to crop photos, see Crop and straighten photos.

You can resize images in several ways using Adobe Photoshop. To get the best result when you resize images, you need to understand the concepts behind and the results of each resizing method. These concepts affect how the Crop tool options operate as well. If you resize and crop images without being aware of the concepts involved, you can see unexpected results.

Image sizes onscreen and in print

The size of an image when you view it onscreen is different from its size when you print it. If you understand these differences, you can develop a better understanding of which settings to change when you resize an image.

Screen size

The screen resolution of your monitor is the number of pixels it can display. For example, a monitor with a screen resolution of 640 x 480 pixels displays 640 pixels for the width and 480 pixels for the height. There are several different screen resolutions you can use, and the physical size of the monitor screen usually determines the resolutions available. For example, large monitors typically display higher resolutions than small monitors because they have more pixels.

To find out what your screen resolution is, choose Start > Control Panel > Display > Settings and look at the screen resolution (Windows), or choose System Preferences > Displays and look in the Resolution list (Mac OS).

Image size onscreen

Images are of a fixed pixel size when they appear on your monitor. Your screen resolution determines how large the image appears onscreen. A monitor set to 640 x 480 pixels displays fewer pixels than a monitor displaying 1024 x 768 pixels. Therefore, each of the pixel on the 640 x 480 pixel monitor is larger than each pixel displayed on the 1024 x 768 pixel monitor.

A 100 x 100-pixel image uses about one-sixth of the screen at 640 x 480, but it takes up only about one-tenth of the screen at 1024 x 768. Therefore, the image looks smaller at 1024 x 768 pixels than at 640 x 480 pixels.

Image size in print

The other values used in resizing images—the physical size of the image when printed, and the resolution—aren't used until the image is printed. Then, the physical size of the image, the resolution, and the pixel dimensions determine the amount of data in the image and its print quality. In general, higher resolution images print at a higher quality. See the sections that follow for more information on resolution and physical size.

Image Size dialog box

When you use the Image Size dialog box to resize your images (choose Image > Image Size), four aspects of your image can change:

  • Pixel dimensions: The width and height of the image.
  • Image size when it's open in Photoshop: This value appears at the top of the dialog box.
  • Document size: Physical size of the image when printed, including a width and height.
  • Image resolution when printed: This value appears in pixels per inch or pixels per centimeter.

Photoshop calculates the physical size, resolution, and pixel dimensions of an image as follows:

  • Physical size = resolution x pixel dimensions
  • Resolution = physical size / pixel dimensions
  • Pixel dimensions = physical size / resolution

The Image Size dialog box allows you to resize your images in two ways. You can increase or decrease the amount of data in the image (resampling). Or, you can maintain the same amount of data in the image (resizing without resampling). When you resample, the image quality can degrade to some extent. You may have to do some extra work, such as using the Unsharp Mask filter to sharpen your image, to compensate for the resampling.

Tip: To reset the Image Size dialog box to its original state, press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS). Pressing these keys changes the Cancel button to a Reset button.

Resizing and resampling images

When you resize and resample an image, you change the amount of data in that file. To resample your image, ensure that Resample is selected at the bottom of the Image Size dialog box. Resample is on by default.

Resampling changes the total number of pixels in the image, which are displayed as Width and Height in pixels in the Image Size dialog box. When you increase the number of pixels in this part of the dialog box (upsampling), the application adds data to the image. When you decrease the number of pixels (downsampling), the application removes data. Whenever data is removed from or added to the image, the image quality degrades to some extent. Removal of data from an image is typically preferable to the addition of data. That's because upsampling requires that Photoshop guess which pixels to add. This procedure is more complex than guessing which pixels to remove when you downsample. You get the best results working with images you bring into Photoshop in the proper resolution for the output you want. You could get the results you need by resizing your image without resampling. However, if you resample your images, do so only once.

When you turn on Resample, you can change any of the values in the Image Size dialog box: pixel dimensions, physical size, or resolution. If you change one value, you affect the others. The pixel dimensions are always affected.

  • Changing the pixel dimensions affects the physical size but not the resolution.
  • Changing the resolution affects the pixel dimensions but not the physical size.
  • Changing the physical size affects the pixel dimensions but not the resolution.

You cannot set the file size; it changes when you change the total amount of data in the image (the pixel dimensions). Note the file size value before you change the other values in the dialog box. Then, you can use the file size information to understand how much data is removed or added to your image when you resample it. For example, if the file size changes from 250 KB to 500 KB, you add twice as much data to the image, which can degrade it. Degraded images can look blurry, jagged, or blocky.

Resizing images without resampling

When you resize an image and do not resample it, you change the image's size without changing the amount of data in that image. Resizing without resampling changes the image's physical size without changing the pixel dimensions in the image. No data is added to or removed from the image. When you deselect, or turn off, Resample, the pixel dimension fields are not available. The only two values you can change are the physical size (Width and Height in Document Size) or the resolution (pixels/inch). When you resize without resampling, you can set either the physical size or the resolution of the image. To keep the total amount of pixels in the image the same, Photoshop compensates for the value you set by increasing or decreasing the other value. For example, if you set the physical size, Photoshop changes the resolution.

When the pixel dimensions are constant and you decrease the physical size of an image, the resolution increases correspondingly. If you decrease the physical size of an image by half, the resolution doubles. Twice as many pixels can fit into the same space. If you double the size of an image, the resolution decreases by half, because the pixels are twice as far apart to fit the physical size.

For example, a 400 x 400-pixel image, has a physical size of 4 x 4 inches and has a resolution of 100 pixels per inch (ppi). To reduce the image's physical size by half without resampling, you set the physical size to 2 x 2 inches. Photoshop increases the resolution to 200 ppi. Resizing the image this way keeps the total number of pixels constant (200 ppi x 2 x 2 inches = 400 x 400 pixels). If you double the physical size (to 8 x 8 inches), the resolution decreases to 50 ppi. Adding more inches to the image size means that there can only be half as many pixels per inch. If you change the image resolution, the physical size changes as well.

Important: The pixel dimensions control the amount of data, and the resolution and the physical size are used only for printing.

Note: Pixels per inch (ppi) is the number of pixels in each inch of the image. Dots per inch (dpi) relates only to printers, and varies from printer to printer. Generally, there are 2.5 to 3 dots of ink per pixel. For example, a 600-dpi printer only requires a 150- to 300-ppi image for best quality printing.

For more information about the options in the Image Size dialog box, see About pixel dimensions and printed image resolution in Photoshop Help.

Using the Crop tool

When you use the Crop tool to resize an image, the pixel dimensions and the file size change but the image isn't resampled. When you use the Crop tool, the pixel dimensions and resolution incorporate more pixels per inch based on the size of the crop region. However, Photoshop isn't specifically adding or removing data from the image.

When you crop an image, you remove data from or add data to the original image size to create a different image. Because you are removing or adding data relative to the original image, the concept of resampling loses much of its meaning. That's because the number of pixels per inch can vary based on the number of pixels in the crop selection area. When the number of pixels in the crop area allows, Photoshop tries to keep the same resolution of the original image. This method is considered cropping without resampling. However, when you are not exact about the number of pixels you select, the pixel dimensions and file size changes in the new image.

Crop tool options

The options in the Crop tool options bar change after you draw the selection area. When you first select the Crop tool, you can specify a width, height, and resolution. You can measure the width and height in inches, centimeters, millimeters, points, and picas. Type the unit or the unit abbreviation after the number in the value field. For example, 100 px, 1 in, 1 inch, 10 cm, 200 mm, 100 pt, or 100 pica. If you do not specify a unit of measure in the Width and Height fields in the Crop options bar, the default unit is inches.

You can also set a value for the resolution of the cropped image in the Resolution field. Choose pixels/inch or pixels/cm from the pop-up menu.

For more information on Crop tool options, see Crop and straighten images.

Changing inch size only

When you set the physical size of the image in inches in the Crop tool options and you don't change the resolution, the pixel dimensions change. The dimensions change based on the ratio of the number of pixels you drew in the crop selection to the pixel dimensions of the original image. The resolution changes to fit the extra pixels into each inch of the image based on the image's original size.

Note: The original image used in the examples below is 4 x 4 inches, 100 ppi, 400 x 400 pixels at 468.8 KB.

Inch size
(you set)
Resolution
(changed by Photoshop)
Pixel dimensions
(size of the crop selection you drew)
File size
2 x 2 in 104 ppi
(original res = 100 ppi)
208 x 208 px
(original = 400 x 400 px)
125.8 KB
(original 468.8 KB)

In this example, Photoshop reduces the image by half of the physical size (from 4 inches square to 2 inches). Photoshop also reduces the pixel dimensions by 50%. The original resolution (100 ppi) is maintained, but it increases to compensate for the extra pixels (8 pixels/inch) added to the crop rectangle.

Changing inch size and resolution

When you set the physical size of the image in inches in the Crop tool options, and change the number of pixels per inch, the pixel dimensions change. The resulting image has more or fewer pixels in the document as a whole. You set the inches and the number of pixels in each of those inches. Photoshop removes or adds data to fit the number of pixels in each of the inches you specified.

Note: The original image used in the examples below is 4 x 4 inches, 100 ppi, 400 x 400 pixels at 468.8 KB.

Inch size
(you set)
Resolution
(you set)
Pixel dimensions
(changed)
File size
2 x 2 in 200 ppi 400 x 400 px 468.8 KB
2 x 2 in 300 ppi 600 x 600 px 1.03 MB
2 x 2 in 50 ppi 100 x 100 px 29.3 KB

In the first example, you reduced the physical size by half but balanced that by doubling the resolution. Therefore, the pixel dimensions and file size remained the same.

In the second example, you reduced the physical size by half and increased the resolution. Therefore, the pixel dimensions increased to hold the extra number of pixels per inch. The file size also increased.

In the third example, you reduced the physical size by half and reduced the resolution (the ppi). Therefore, the pixel dimensions decreased because there are fewer pixels now in the image. The file size also decreased.

Changing the pixel dimension only

When you set the pixel dimensions but you do not set the resolution, the resolution stabilizes at the same resolution as the original image. The new physical size is produced to hold the number of pixels specified in the image and per inch. The file size changes because you are changing the pixel dimensions while letting Photoshop stabilize the number of pixels per inch.

Note: The original image used in the examples below is 4 x 4 inches, 100 ppi, 400 x 400 pixels at 468.8 KB.

Inch size
(changed)
Resolution
(changed)
Pixel dimensions
(you set)
File size
2 x 2 in 100 ppi 200 x 200 px 117.2 KB
3 x 3 in 100 ppi 300 x 300 px 263.7 KB
6 x 6 in 100 ppi 600 x 600 px 1.03 MB

In these examples, the resolution is unchanged but the pixel dimensions have changed. The physical size changes to fit the number of pixels per inch you specified (pixel dimensions).

Changing the pixel dimension and the resolution

When you set the pixel dimensions and the resolution, Photoshop creates a different physical size. The image holds the number of pixels in the image and number of pixels per inch you specified. The files size changes because you are changing the total number of pixels in the image and the number of pixels in each inch.

Note: The original image used in the examples below is 4 x 4 inches, 100 ppi, 400 x 400 pixels at 468.8 KB.

Inch size
(changed)
Resolution
(changed)
Pixel dimensions
(you set)
File size
1 x 1 in 600 ppi 600 x 600 px 1.03 MB
2 x 2 in 300 ppi 600 x 600 px 1.03 MB
.667 x  .667 in 300 ppi 200 x 200 px 117.2 KB

In these examples, both the pixel dimensions and resolution are changed. The physical size changes to fit the total number of pixels and the number of pixels in each inch (pixel dimensions and resolution).

Changing the resolution only

When you change only the resolution in the Crop tool options, the image size depends on the number of pixels in the crop area.

Tip: Look at the Info panel to see how many pixels are included in your crop area.

Note: The original image used in the examples below is 4 x 4 inches, 100 ppi, 400 x 400 pixels at 468.8 KB.

Inch size
(result)
Resolution
(you set)
Pixel dimensions
(result)
Your crop size
(you drew)
File size
.767 x .767 in 300 ppi 230 x 230 px 2.3 x 2.3 in 115 KB
1 x 1 in 300 ppi 300 x 300 px 3 x 3 in 263.7 KB
75 x .75 in 400 ppi 300 x 300 px 3 x 3 in 263.7 KB
1 x 1 in 200 ppi 200 x 200 px 2 x 2 in 117.2 KB
.5 x .5 in 200 ppi 100 x 100 px 1 x 1 in 29.3 KB
1.5 x 1.5 in 200 ppi 300 x 300 px 3 x 3 in 263.7 KB

In these examples, Photoshop uses the size of your crop selection and the resolution you specify to resize the image. The new image's physical size and pixel dimensions fit the number of pixels in the crop selection you drew and the new resolution you set.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy