借助 Bridge,您可以可靠地管理高速缓存,并能够在协作环境中生成共享高速缓存。使用共享驱动器时,Bridge 中的共享高速缓存机制允许您导入已生成的共享高速缓存并重用它。

注意:

在 Bridge CC 2018 及之前的版本中,高速缓存主要面向在自己的文件夹中工作的个人用户。系统会为每个用户单独生成和维护高速缓存,因此,当您在协作环境(跨网络的共享驱动器、外部硬盘驱动器)中工作时,在每个用户的计算机上生成和维护高速缓存常常会花费大量时间。

为何以及何时需要共享高速缓存?

在协作环境中工作时,可以为其他 Bridge 用户构建共享高速缓存。此共享高速缓存可提供以下好处:

  • 通过更快地浏览、搜索和过滤高速缓存项目,提高了性能
  • 免除了再次构建高速缓存的需求,为其他用户节省了创建高速缓存所占用的时间

注意:

只有在多用户协作环境中工作时,共享高速缓存管理功能才有用。如果您是唯一的用户,则共享高速缓存没有任何用处,且可能会导致空间问题。

如果您是唯一的用户,不建议您使用共享高速缓存功能。在这种情况下,高速缓存的生成和管理方式与在 Bridge CC 2018 中相同。

为了更好地理解,假定有一个组织,这个组织中的设计师、插画师和摄影师经常会处理一些图像。这些图像存储在图像存储库中,他们使用 Bridge 来浏览、添加、查看、编辑或搜索图像。

如果您使用的是 Bridge CC 2018 及之前的版本,则系统会在每个人的计算机上为所有图像生成单独的高速缓存,这个过程十分耗时。 

在 Bridge CC 2019 中,您可以使用共享高速缓存管理功能导出共享高速缓存,然后其他用户可以将共享高速缓存的副本导入其本地系统。考虑到各个系统均处于同步状态,这种在一个集中的位置管理高速缓存的方式,可允许大家重复使用已导出的高速缓存,而无需在各自的计算机上再次构建高速缓存。

在协作环境中共享高速缓存
在协作环境中共享高速缓存 | 用户 A 导出高速缓存并创建共享高速缓存文件夹 | 用户 B 和 C 将共享高速缓存文件夹中的高速缓存导入其本地系统

注意:

以下是您应该了解的两个重要的高速缓存文件夹:

  • 共享高速缓存文件夹 (.BridgeSharedCache):共享网络位置中的文件夹,该文件夹中包含导出的可供其他 Bridge 用户重用的高速缓存。构建和导出共享高速缓存时,将会创建此文件夹。
  • 导入的高速缓存文件夹:本地计算机上的文件夹,该文件夹中包含导入的共享高速缓存。导入共享高速缓存时,将会自动创建此文件夹。

我何时对共享高速缓存执行导出、导入和清除任务?

在多用户环境中使用 Bridge 的共享高速缓存时,您可以执行以下操作:
  • 导出:您可以执行导出操作以手动为所选文件夹及其子文件夹生成高速缓存。导出时,Bridge 会在内部生成缩览图、预览和索引,并将它们存储在所选文件夹中的共享高速缓存文件夹中。此文件夹中包含可供其他用户重用的共享高速缓存。在多用户环境中,建议只由一个拥有写入访问权限的用户执行导出操作以生成共享高速缓存,并且任何用户都不应修改共享高速缓存文件夹
  • 导入:导出共享高速缓存以供重用后,您可以执行导入操作以在系统上获取此共享高速缓存的本地副本。可以通过以下两种方式完成导入:
    • 显式导入(使用“管理高速缓存”对话框):一次性从所有文件夹导入(复制)已导出的高速缓存。
    • 自动高速缓存导入(通过首选项控制):每次通过 Bridge 浏览文件夹时,均导入(复制)高速缓存。

使用以上任意方式执行导入时,Bridge 都会将共享高速缓存文件夹的内容复制到您计算机上的文件夹(导入的高速缓存文件夹)。  

  • 清除:您可以执行以下类型的高速缓存清除操作:
    • 清除已导出的(共享)高速缓存:已导出的高速缓存放置在共享高速缓存文件夹中。您可以清除此文件夹以删除共享高速缓存,方法是选择“管理高速缓存”对话框中的清除特定位置,或右键单击高速缓存并选择为所选项清空缓存
    • 清除某个文件夹的已导入高速缓存:您可以清除某个文件夹的已导入高速缓存,方法是选择“管理高速缓存”对话框中的清除特定位置,或右键单击该文件夹并选择为所选项清空缓存
    • 清除所有已导入的高速缓存:您可以清除导入的高速缓存文件夹中的所有已导入高速缓存,方法是选择“管理高速缓存”对话框中的清除所有本地高速缓存文件

注意:

Bridge CC 2019 SDK 提供了 ManageCache 对象,该对象包含导出、导入和清除共享高速缓存的功能。您也可以使用此对象来自动执行这些操作。有关更多详细信息,请参阅 https://www.adobe.io/apis/creativecloud/bridge.html

如何导出、导入和清除共享高速缓存?

如果您要在一个与多位用户共享的文件夹中,创建并管理高速缓存,请选择工具 > 管理高速缓存。将显示“管理高速缓存”对话框。

ManageCache_1
“管理高速缓存”对话框

管理高速缓存对话框中,执行以下操作:

  1. 若要为选定的文件夹及其子文件夹创建高速缓存,请选中为文件夹“选定的文件夹名称”及其包含的所有文件夹创建并导出高速缓存。默认情况下,该选项处于选中状态。

    注意创建高速缓存时,需考虑每个文件夹的访问级别。导出操作会在内部创建索引、缩览图和预览,并将导出版本信息存储在共享高速缓存文件夹中。Bridge 还会导出文件的元数据信息。

    • 选中构建 100% 预览,可在高速缓存中创建图像的完整预览。默认情况下,该选项处于禁用状态。

    提示如果您需要经常处理放大的图像,建议您选中“构建 100% 预览”选项。不过,该选项会占用更多的磁盘空间并会明显增加初始的处理时间。

    • 单击“确定”。
  2. 要通过特定的共享文件夹导入高速缓存,请选中导入高速缓存。单击下一步,然后选择要从中导入高速缓存的共享文件夹。

    在导入期间,Bridge 会在内部将共享高速缓存文件夹中的缩览图、预览、元数据信息和索引复制到本地计算机。此复制操作比重新生成高速缓存缩览图和预览更快,因此,您能够更快地查看和搜索图像。高速缓存被导入且同时包含在共享高速缓存文件夹中后,如果对文件进行任何进一步的更新,则也会更新共享高速缓存文件夹中存在的已导入高速缓存副本。

    当您浏览的文件夹包含共享的高速缓存时,默认情况下,Bridge 会自动将该高速缓存下载到您的计算机上。要禁用这项自动导入功能,请选择编辑 > 首选项 > 高速缓存,然后取消选择若有可能,自动从文件夹导入高速缓存选项。

    CCM_Preferences1
    用于自动导入高速缓存的首选项

    有关如何设置高速缓存首选项的信息,请参阅使用 Adobe Bridge 高速缓存

  3. 若要删除高速缓存,请选中清理高速缓存。如果您怀疑某个文件夹的高速缓存是旧的并且必须重新生成(例如,缩览图和元数据未更新),则可以使用此选项。

    • 若要删除计算机中的所有高速缓存文件,请选中清除所有本地高速缓存文件。默认情况下,该选项处于选中状态。单击下一步时,会显示一则警告消息,让您确认这项操作。
    ManageCache_purge
    警告消息
    • 若要有选择性地删除特定文件夹中的高速缓存文件,请选中清除特定位置的高速缓存。单击下一步,然后选择要从中删除文件的文件夹。如果您选择的要从中删除高速缓存文件的文件夹是一个包含已导出高速缓存的文件夹,则会显示一个警告对话框。在此对话框中,可以选择以下选项之一:
      • 仅清除我的高速缓存:只删除高速缓存文件的本地副本。共享高速缓存文件将不受影响。
      • 清除所有用户的高速缓存:同时删除共享高速缓存文件和高速缓存文件的本地副本。
    • 选择包含子文件夹,可删除子文件夹中的高速缓存。
    • 单击继续
    Purge_cache
    警告消息
    • 如果您选择的要从中删除高速缓存文件的文件夹不存在已导出的高速缓存,则会显示一个警告对话框。
      • 选择包含子文件夹,可删除子文件夹中的高速缓存。
      • 单击取消可关闭此对话框。
      • 单击继续可删除本地高速缓存。
    ManageCache_warning
    警告消息

我需要拥有哪些权限才能导出和导入共享高速缓存?

如果要导出高速缓存,您必须拥有整个存储库的读写访问权限。在导出期间,Bridge 会尝试创建共享高速缓存文件夹,其中包含可供其他用户导入的高速缓存(缩览图、预览和索引)。如果您没有写入访问权限,则无法创建共享高速缓存文件夹。

同样,导入和自动导入操作仅会导入您拥有读取访问权限的文件夹的高速缓存。如果您没有该文件夹的读取访问权限,则 Bridge 将无法读取共享高速缓存文件夹和访问共享高速缓存。

限制

在 Bridge CC 2019 中,您需要启动导出操作以更新存储库的共享高速缓存,或者也可以使用 Bridge SDK 来计划导出。

但是,如果以较高的速率在存储库中添加或删除文件,则会导致磁盘空间变动很大,进而可能造成导出过程比较漫长。 

错误情景

在以下情况下,Bridge 会停止导出操作,并显示错误消息:

  • 磁盘已满:如果在生成高速缓存期间,光盘或网络位置已满。
  • 没有读取或写入访问权限:如果您无权访问要导出的文件夹。
  • 网络问题:如果正在从网络位置导出,但网络中断。

常见问题解答 (FAQ)

何时不应使用 Bridge 的共享高速缓存功能?

如果本地计算机上存有文件,并且您是使用这些文件的唯一用户,则创建和导出共享高速缓存没有用处。您可以在 Bridge 中浏览这些文件,现有的 Bridge 高速缓存机制可以为文件生成高速缓存。

仅当资源处于协作环境中,且有多个用户使用它时,共享高速缓存才有用。 

如何自动导入共享高速缓存?

当您浏览包含共享高速缓存的文件夹时,Bridge 会自动检测是否存在共享高速缓存文件夹,并将索引、缩览图和预览复制到导入的高速缓存文件夹中。默认情况下,自动导入功能处于启用状态。要禁用自动导入,请取消选择首选项 > 高速缓存对话框中的若有可能,自动从文件夹导入高速缓存

共享高速缓存位于何处?

共享高速缓存是在文件所在的同一文件夹中生成的。导出共享文件夹的高速缓存时,Bridge 会在父文件夹及其所有子文件夹中创建共享高速缓存文件夹 (.BridgeSharedCache)。系统会为各个文件夹生成相应的高速缓存文件(1024 像素的 256 色缩览图、全尺寸预览和索引信息),并将这些文件存储在共享高速缓存文件夹中。

导入的高速缓存位于何处?

高速缓存在导入后位于本地计算机上的以下位置:
macOS:~/资源库/Caches/Adobe/Bridge/SharedCache
Windows:%appdata%\Adobe\Bridge\SharedCache

无法更改此导入的高速缓存文件夹位置。

在网络上更新实际文件后,高速缓存是否会变得陈旧?

是,导出的高速缓存(存在于文件夹中)会变得陈旧,建议再次导出高速缓存。

如果导入陈旧的高速缓存,是否会丢失所做的更新?

如果导入陈旧的共享高速缓存,Bridge 会智能检测到文件已更新,并会自动更新本地计算机上的已导入高速缓存。

Bridge 检测和更新共享高速缓存
用户 B 从共享高速缓存文件夹(由用户 A 导出)导入高速缓存 | 用户 C 在共享高速缓存所在的网络中更新原始文件 | 用户 B 系统上的 Bridge 检测到陈旧的高速缓存并自动更新本地副本

我何时重新导出共享高速缓存?

导出共享高速缓存后,如果您添加新文件或修改现有文件,则需要重新导出同一文件夹。在重新导出期间,系统仅会导出新文件或已修改文件的高速缓存。 

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Bridge CC 2019 lets you manage the cache in a robust way and provides ability to generate the shared cache in a collaborative environment. When you work on shared drives, the shared cache mechanism in Bridge lets you import the already generated shared cache and reuse it.

Note:

In Bridge CC 2018 and the previous versions, the cache was primarily focused toward individual users working on their own folders. The cache was generated and maintained separately for each user, therefore, when you worked in collaborative environment (shared drives across networks, external hard disk drives) cache generation and maintainence on each user's machine used to take a considerable time.

Why and when do I need a shared cache?

When you work in a collaborative environment, you can build a shared cache for other Bridge users. This shared cache brings the following benefits:

  • Improves performance by faster browsing, searching, and filtering of cached items 
  • Prevents the need to build the cache again and saves the cache generation effort for other users

Note:

The shared cache management feature is useful only when you work in a multi-user collaborative environment. If you are a sole user, shared cache is of no use and may lead to space issues.

It's recommended that you do not use the shared cache feature if you are a sole user. In this case, the cache generation and management work in the same way as it used to be in Bridge CC 2018.

For better understanding, consider an organization that has designers, illustrators, and photographers who frequently work with images. These images are available in an image repository for which they use Bridge to browse, add, view, edit, or search images.

If you use Bridge CC 2018 and previous releases, a separate cache is generated for all the images on each individual's machine, which is a time-taking process. 

With Bridge CC 2019, you can use the shared cache management feature to export the shared cache and other users can import a copy of the shared cache to their local systems. Given that the systems are in synchronization, managing the cache at a centralized location lets you reuse the exported cache, without the need to rebuild the cache on different user machines.

Sharing of cache in a collaborative environment
Sharing of cache in a collaborative environment | User A exporting the cache and creating a shared cache folder | User B and C importing the cache from the shared cache folder to their local systems

Note:

Following are the two important cache folders that you should know:

  • Shared cache folder (.BridgeSharedCache): Folder on the shared network location in which the exported cache is present that can be reused by other Bridge users. This folder is created when you build and export the shared cache.
  • Imported cache folder: Folder on your local machine in which the imported shared cache is present. This folder is automatically created once you import the shared cache.

When do I perform export, import, and purge tasks on a shared cache?

When working on Bridge shared cache in a multi-user environment, you can perform the following operations:
  • Export: You can perform the export operation to manually generate a cache for the selected folder and its subfolders. While exporting, Bridge internally generates thumbnails, previews, and indexes and stores them in the shared cache folder within the selected folder. This folder includes the shared cache that can be reused by other users. In a multi-user environment, it is recommended that only one user, who has the write access, performs the export operation to generate the shared cache and no user should modify the shared cache folder.
  • Import: Once the shared cache is exported for reuse, you can perform the import operation to get a local copy of this shared cache onto your systems. Import can be done in two ways:
    • Explicit import (using the Manage Cache dialog box): Imports (copies) the exported cache from all folders in one go. 
    • Automatic cache import (controlled through a preference option): Imports (copies) the cache every time when you browse the folder via Bridge. 

When the import is performed using any of these ways, Bridge copies the contents of the shared cache folders to a folder (imported cache folder) on your machine.  

  • Purge: You can perform the following types of cache purge operations:
    • Purge exported (shared) cache: The exported cache is placed in the shared cache folder. You can purge this folder to delete the shared cache by choosing Purge a specific location on the Manage Cache dialog or right-click the cache and choose Purge cache for selection
    • Purge the imported cache for a folder: You can purge the imported cache for a folder by choosing Purge a specific location on the Manage Cache dialog or right-clicking the folder and choosing Purge cache for selection
    • Purge all the imported cache: You can purge all of the imported cache in the imported cache folder by choosing Purge all local cache files on the Manage Cache dialog.

Note:

The Bridge CC 2019 SDK provides the ManageCache object that includes the functionality to export, import, and purge a shared cache. You can also use this object to automate these operations. For more details, see https://www.adobe.io/apis/creativecloud/bridge.html.

How do I export, import, and purge a shared cache?

To create and manage the cache for a folder that you want to share across multiple users, choose Tools Manage Cache. The Manage Cache dialog box is displayed. 

ManageCache_1
Manage Cache dialog

In the Manage Cache dialog box, do the following: 

  1. To create the cache for the selected folder and its subfolders, select Build and export cache for folder “selected folder name” and all enclosed folders. This option is selected by default.

    NoteThe access level of each folder is considered while creating the cache. The export operation internally creates indexes, thumbnails, previews, and store export version info. in the shared cache folder. Bridge also exports metadata information of the files.

    • Select Build 100% Previews to create the full preview of images in the cache. This option is disabled by default.

    TipIf you need to frequently work on magnified and zoomed images, it is recommended that you select the Build 100% Previews option. However, it consumes more disk space and increases the initial processing time significantly.

    • Click OK.
  2. To import the cache from a specific shared folder, select Import Cache. Click Next and choose a shared folder from which you want to import the cache. 

    During import, Bridge internally copies the thumbnails, previews, metadata information, indexes onto your local machine in a shared cache folder. This copy operation is faster than regenerating cache thumbnails and previews, therefore, you are able to view and search the images faster. Once the cache is imported and available in the shared cache folder, all further updates to the file also update the imported cache copy present in the shared cache folder.

    When you browse a folder that includes a shared cache, by default Bridge automatically downloads the cache on your computer. To disable this auto-import feature, deselect the Automatically import Cache From Folders When Possible option by choosing Edit Preferences Cache.

    CCM_Preferences1
    Preference to import cache automatically

    For information about how to set cache preferences, see Work with the Adobe Bridge Cache.

  3. To delete the cache, select Clean Up Cache. You can use this option if you suspect that the cache for a folder is old and must be regenerated (for example, thumbnails and metadata are not updated).

    • To delete all the cache files on your computer, select Purge all local cache files. This option is selected by default. When you click Next, a warning message is displayed to confirm the action.
    ManageCache_purge
    Warning message
    • To selectively delete the cache files from a specific folder, select Purge cache for a specific location. Click Next and choose a folder from where you want to delete the files. If the folder you choose for deleting cache files is a folder with exported cache, a warning dialog box is displayed. In this box, select one of the following options:
      • Only purge my cache: Deletes only the local copy of cache files. The shared cache files remain unaffected. 
      • Purge cache for all users: Deletes both the shared cache files and local copies of cache files.
    • Select Include subfolders to delete the cache for the subfolders.
    • Click Continue.
    Purge_cache
    Warning message
    • If the folder you choose for deleting cache files does not have the exported cache, a warning dialog box is displayed.
      • Select Include subfolders to delete the cache for the subfolders.
      • Click Cancel to close this dialog box. 
      • Click Continue to delete the local cache.
    ManageCache_warning
    Warning message

Which permissions do I need for exporting and importing a shared cache?

If you are exporting the cache, then you must have read and write access on the entire repository. During export, Bridge tries to create the shared cache folder that contains the cache (thumbnails, previews, and indexes) for other users to import. If you do not have write access, then you are not able to create the shared cache folder.

Similarly, import and automatic import only import cache for folders for which you have read access. If you do not have read access to the folder, then Bridge is not able to read the shared cache folder and access the shared cache.

Limitation

With Bridge CC 2019, you need to initiate an export to update the shared cache for a repository or you can also use Bridge SDK to schedule exports.

However, if the rate of addition or deletion of files to a repository is high, which causes a lot of churn on the disk, then the export process might become tedious. 

Error scenarios

Bridge stops the export operation and shows an error message in the following cases:

  • Disk full: If the disc or the network location is full during the generation of cache.
  • No read or write access: If you do not have access to the folder you are trying to export.
  • Network issue: If the network is down and export is in progress from a network location.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

When should I not use the shared cache feature of Bridge?

When you have files on the local machine and you are the sole user working on these files, then creating and exporting the shared cache is not useful. You can browse the files in Bridge and the existing Bridge cache mechanism can generate the cache for the files.

A shared cache is useful only when the assets are in a collaborative environment and multiple users are working on it. 

How do I automatically import a shared cache?

When you browse a folder containing a shared cache, Bridge automatically detects the presence of the shared cache folder and copies the indexes, thumbnails, and previews into the imported cache folder. By default, the auto-import feature is enabled. To disable auto-import, deselect Automatically Import Cache From Folders When Possible in the Preferences > Cache dialog.

Where does a shared cache reside?

The shared cache is generated in the same folder in which your files are present. When you export the cache for a shared folder, Bridge creates a shared cache folder (.BridgeSharedCache) within the parent folder and all its subfolders. The cache files (thumbnails for 256, 1024, full-size preview, and indexing information) for respective folders are generated and saved in the shared cache folder.

Where does an imported cache reside?

The imported cache resides at the following location on a local machine after import: 
macOS: ~/Library/Caches/Adobe/Bridge/SharedCache
Windows: %appdata%\Adobe\Bridge\SharedCache

This imported cache folder location cannot be changed.

Does the cache become stale when actual files are updated on the network?

Yes, the exported cache (present in the folder) becomes stale and it is recommended to export the cache again.

Do I lose my updates if I import a stale cache?

If you import the stale shared cache, Bridge intelligently detects that the file has been updated and automatically updates the imported cache on your local machine.

Bridge detecting and updating a shared cache
User B importing the cache from the shared cache folder (exported by user A) | User C updating the original files on the network for which the shared cache exists | Bridge on user B's system detecting a stale cache and automatically updating the local copy

When do I re-export a shared cache?

After exporting a shared cache, if you add new files or modify existing files, then you need to export the same folder again. During re-export, the cache for only new or modified files is exported. 

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy