作品集包括一篇或多篇幅数字出版文章。作品集在 Adobe Content Viewer 或自定义多期刊查看器的库中显示为某个期刊。如果创建自定义单期刊查看器,则该作品集包括该查看器应用程序的内容。

Adobe 推荐

Adobe 推荐
<a href="http://goo.gl/qgbfz">构建作品集</a>
Colin Fleming

Folio Builder 面板概述

使用 Folio Builder 面板创建作品集和添加文章。要打开面板,请选择“窗口”>“Folio Builder”。Folio Builder 面板显示可访问的作品集。Folio Builder 面板包括三个视图:作品集视图、文章视图和版面视图。要进行导航,请执行以下任意操作:

  • 双击作品集或单击作品集右侧箭头以显示作品集的文章。

  • 双击文章或单击文章右侧箭头以显示文章的布局。

  • 单击该面板左上角的箭头图标以上移一个级别。

Folio Builder 面板
Folio Builder 面板

A. 作品集视图 B. 文章视图 C. 布局视图 

过滤所显示的作品集

要确定显示哪些作品集,请从“作品集”视图的下拉菜单中,选择“全部”、“所有本地”、“在云中”(隐藏本地作品集)、“私有”(隐藏共享的作品集)或“共享”。

对作品集进行排序

从作品集视图的“排序”下拉菜单中选择一个选项,以确定 Folio Builder 面板中作品集的排序顺序。选择“颠倒列表”可颠倒所选任何作品集的顺序。

登录 Folio Builder面板

登录到 Folio Builder 面板是可选的。 登录到该面板能让您将作品集上传到 Folio Producer 服务进行测试。然后,可以将作品集下载到移动设备上的 Adobe Content Viewer 并与其他用户共享作品集。如果您不登录到该面板,您仍可以创建和预览本地作品集,而且可以生成 Single Edition 应用程序。 使用经过验证的 Adobe ID 登录到 Folio Builder 面板。

  1. 确保计算机连接到 Internet。

  2. 在 Folio Builder 面板中,单击“登录”,然后使用经过验证的 Adobe ID 登录。

  3. 如果您没有经过验证的 Adobe ID,请执行下列操作之一:

    • 如果有 DPS 的 Enterprise 或 Professional 订阅,请使用“帐户管理”工具创建具有应用程序角色的 Adobe ID。使用适当的 Adobe ID 登录到 Folio Builder 面板。请参阅帐户管理工具

    • 要验证 Adobe ID 是否适用于 DPS,请转到 https://digitalpublishing.acrobat.com/,然后单击“创建帐户”。使用有效的电子邮件地址注册一个帐户。Adobe 将向您发送一封验证邮件。打开该邮件并进行验证。然后,使用该 Adobe ID 登录 Folio Builder 面板。请参阅使用 Adobe ID 进行数字出版

创建作品集

作品集是文章的集合。任何具有 InDesign CS5 或更高版本的人都可以创建作品集。但是,DPS v32 版本(2014 年 8 月发行)不再支持 InDesign CS5 和 InDesign CS5.5。

登录并创建作品集时,在 acrobat.com Web 服务器上会创建一个工作区。添加到该作品集的任何文章的内容都将上传到该工作区。

  1. 要打开 Folio Builder 面板,请选择“窗口”>“Folio Builder”。

  2. 如果尚未登录,则单击“登录”,然后使用经过验证的 Adobe ID 登录。

    如果您不登录到 Folio Builder 面板,则可以创建脱机作品集。然后,可以在登录后上传脱机作品集。

  3. 单击“新建”,创建新作品集。

    还可以在 InDesign CS6 中选择“文件”>“新建”>“作品集”以创建作品集。

  4. 指定以下设置,然后单击“确定”。

    单击“确定”
    创建新作品集。

    作品集名称

    指定作品集名称。作品集名称与查看器中显示的出版物名称不同。作品集名称仅供 navto:// 链接和设置再现内部使用,因此,请确保名称简洁,避免使用扩展字符。作品集名称最多可为 60 个字符。

    查看器版本

    指定目标查看器版本。如果 Adobe Content Viewer 的最新版正在等待审批,或正在为还未更新的较早的查看器应用程序创建作品集,则此选项尤为有用。创建作品集后,即可编辑作品集属性以提高版本号,但无法回滚到较早版本。而是要创建新作品集。不能指定版本早于 v20 的查看器。

    注意:

    在大多数 DPS 版本中,查看器本身已改变,但“查看器版本”规定的作品集格式并没有改变。例如,虽然 v26 和 v30 查看器应用程序之间存在差异,但 v26 和 v30 作品集格式之间却没有差异。为获得最佳效果,请使用 v26 的默认“查看器版本”设置。

    目标设备

    选择目标设备或指定目标设备的自定义尺寸,如 iPad 为 1024x768。

    请参阅创建适用于多种设备的文档

    方向

    指出作品集是仅纵向、仅横向还是双向。要预览或发布作品集,则所有文章都必须与作品集方向匹配。例如,如果双向作品集包含仅纵向版面的文章,则该作品集无法在 Adobe Content Viewer 库中下载。

    默认格式

    为作品集选择默认选项。各篇文章可有不同的“文章格式”设置。

    如果要让 InDesign 确定将页面导出为 JPEG 还是 PNG,则选择“自动”。选择 PDF 可让用户进行手指开合缩放、保留矢量以及减小文件大小。指定默认格式对于导入多篇文章尤为重要。多文章导入过程中的文章使用默认图像格式。请参阅 JPG、PNG 和 PDF 图像格式之间的不同(英文)。

    默认 JPEG 质量

    如果对“默认图像格式”选择了“自动”或“JPEG”,则要指定“JPEG 质量”。提高质量会增大文件大小。

    封面预览

    预览图像表示添加到查看器库中的查看器的每个作品集。指定纵向和横向封面图像。使用与目标设备相同的像素尺寸(如 1024 x 768),以 72-dpi JPG 或 PNG 文件的形式创建封面图像。

    创建脱机作品集

    如果此时不想将作品集内容上传到服务器,请选择此选项。您可以以后从面板菜单中选择“上传到 Folio Producer”来上传作品集内容。

有关 Folio Builder 故障排除的信息,请参阅 Folio Builder 故障排除(英文)故障排除:在 Folio Builder 面板中上传文章失败(英文)。

更改作品集属性

创建作品集后,可使用“作品集属性”对话框指定出版物名称、更改查看器版本和选择封面预览图像。无法在“作品集属性”对话框中编辑某些作品集属性,如方向、图像格式和作品集大小。如有必要,请创建具有相应设置的新作品集。

准备好发布作品集时,使用 Folio Producer 管理器指定作品集的发布属性。

  1. 在 Folio Builder 面板中,选择要编辑的作品集。

  2. 从 Folio Builder 面板菜单中选择“作品集属性”。

    选择作品集属性
    编辑作品集属性

  3. 指定以下设置,然后单击“确定”。

    出版物名称

    查看器库中将显示指定的“出版物名称”。但是,如果对应用程序中出现的所有作品集都使用同一“出版物名称”值,并且该值与为 DPS App Builder 中“标题(库视图)”指定的值相同,则将有意地从 iPad 库中忽略该出版物名称。仅适用于 iPad。

    出版物名称最多可为 60 个字符。

    注意:

    要避免出现问题,请在“出版物名称”中仅使用字母或数字字符。不要使用诸如省略号 (‘) 的特殊字符,否则可能发生意外结果(如“[svr.InvalidParameter]”错误消息)。

    查看器版本

    如果要为作品集指定其他查看器版本,则选择相应的版本。可选择较新版本,而不能选择较早版本。要以某个较早版本为目标,请创建一个新作品集。

    更新作品集的查看器版本不会自动更新该作品集中的文章。如果要利用较高查看器版本中的新功能,则还要更新文章。

    注意:

    在大多数 DPS 版本中,查看器本身已改变,但“查看器版本”规定的作品集格式并没有改变。例如,虽然 v26 和 v30 应用程序之间存在差别,但 v26 和 v30 作品集格式之间却没有差异。为获得最佳效果,请使用 v26 的默认“查看器版本”设置。

    右边缘装订

    选择此选项可在查看器中从右向左而非从左向右显示文章。此选项对亚洲语言尤为重要。

    封面预览

    预览图像表示添加到查看器库中的查看器的每个作品集。指定纵向和横向封面图像。使用与目标设备相同的像素尺寸(如 1024 x 768),以 72-dpi JPG 或 PNG 文件的形式创建封面图像。

  4. 要更改有关发布作品集的其他作品集属性,请从 Folio Builder 面板菜单中选择“Folio Producer”,然后在 Folio Producer 管理器中指定设置。请参阅 Folio Producer 管理器

    作品集名称

    Folio Producer 中和 Folio Builder 面板中显示作品集名称,但查看器中不显示。如果要为不同设备创建再现,请确保作品集名称设置在再现中相同。

    出版物名称

    查看器库中和查看器导航栏中显示出版物名称。但是,如果将同一“出版物名称”用于应用程序中的所有作品集,则库中并不特意显示该出版物名称。

    出版物名称最多可为 60 个字符。

    作品集编号

    作品集编号可以是数字或说明,如“2013 年 5 月”。作品集编号最多可为 60 个字符。

    DPS Folio Producer
    查看器中显示出版物名称和作品集编号。

    出版日期

    “出版日期”设置决定作品集在库中的顺序。最新的作品集显示在顶部。“出版日期”设置对订阅查看器尤为重要,其中客户在“出版日期”设置所确定的特定时间段内对作品集拥有权利。为获得最佳效果,请手动选择“出版日期”设置。

    产品 ID

    在发布作品集时指定的产品 ID 会显示出来。不能直接编辑此字段。产品 ID 对零售作品集尤为重要。它将作品集与 App Store 中的应用程序内购买产品 ID 联系在一起。为每个作品集使用不同的产品 ID(例如“com.pubhouse.myapp.2014january”)。仅当再现组中包含不同的作品集时,为这些作品集指定相同的产品 ID。

    产品 ID 最多可为 60 个字符。

    已发布

    如果已发布作品集,则将在“已发布”列中显示一个复选标记。

    已锁定

    选择此选项可防止任何人上传文章的新版本或更改文章元数据。有权访问作品集的任何人在 Folio Builder 面板中的文章旁都会显示一个锁定图标。

    封面预览

    指定查看器库中显示的图像的 .png 或 .jpg 文件。

    说明

    查看器库中和查看器导航条中显示说明。

    库过滤器

    在您的应用程序中键入每个作品集的过滤器名称。库过滤器最多可为 60 个字符。请参阅创建库过滤器

    右边缘装订

    在“作品集详细信息”区域中选择此选项后,查看器中将从右向左而非从左向右显示文章。此选项对亚洲语言尤为重要。

    封面日期

    “封面日期”是一个附加的元数据控件,某些 Enterprise 出版商通过它可加强对直接权利的控制。

创建脱机作品集

脱机作品集(或称本地作品集)不上传到 Web 上的 acrobat.com 服务。创建脱机作品集特别适用于以下情况:未连接 Internet,或者 acrobat.com 服务暂时不可用。

Adobe 推荐

Adobe 推荐
<a href="http://goo.gl/RUv2b">脱机工作</a>
Colin Fleming

已上传的作品集不能转换为脱机作品集。

显示脱机作品集的图标
会有一个图标指示作品集是脱机作品集。

  1. 要创建脱机作品集,请执行以下操作之一:

    • 在不登录的情况下单击 Folio Builder 面板中的“新建作品集”。

    • 在 Folio Builder 面板中单击“新建作品集”,然后选择“创建脱机作品集”。

  2. 添加文章并编辑作品集。

    可以在桌面上或使用“在设备上预览”来预览脱机作品集。请参阅预览作品集和文章

    预览或上传脱机作品集时,作品集将会自动更新以反映源 InDesign 文档的更改。不必选择“更新”来更新脱机作品集。

  3. 要上传作品集,请登录 Folio Builder 面板,选择该作品集,然后从面板菜单中选择“上传到 Folio Producer”。

    只有在源文件可用的情况下,才能上传脱机作品集。

    上载作品集后,即无法将其恢复为本地作品集。

共享作品集

如果要让其他人可查看您创作的作品集或向其提供该作品集,则共享此作品集。例如,如果要为出版商创建广告,则可与出版商共享包含广告的作品集。或者,如果您是出版商,则可与不同设计者共享作品集,以使其可上传文章。

如果您更新共享作品集中的文章,收件人会在 Adobe Content Viewer 中打开库时被通知有更新可用。如果您不希望收件人查看更新,请取消共享作品集。

视频教程

视频教程
<a href="http://tv.adobe.com/watch/learn-digital-publishing-suite/sharing-folios/">共享作品集</a>
Colin Fleming

  1. 在 Folio Builder 面板中,选择一个作品集。

  2. 从 Folio Builder 面板菜单中选择“共享”。

  3. 在“共享”对话框中,键入要与其共享作品集的人员的电子邮件地址。使用逗号或分号分隔多个电子邮件地址。按 Tab 移至下一字段。

  4. 键入主题和邮件正文,然后单击“共享”。

当收件人在移动设备上打开 Adobe Content Viewer 时,会有一个共享作品集可供下载。

如果收件人在 Folio Builder 面板中打开作品集,Folio Builder 中作品集名称旁会显示一个共享图标 。收件人可打开作品集和添加文章。但是,他们无法编辑现有文章。

取消共享作品集

要取消共享与其他人共享的作品集,请在“Folio Builder”面板中选择该作品集,然后从面板菜单中选择“取消共享”。选择要取消与之进行共享的收件人,然后单击“确定”。取消共享将使该作品集不可供下载,并将从共享收件人的“Folio Builder”面板中删除该作品集,但不会删除已下载到设备的作品集。删除共享的作品集也会使该作品集不可供下载。

删除与您共享的作品集

如果某人与您共享一个作品集,而您不再需要访问该作品集,则请在“Folio Builder”面板中选择该作品集,然后单击垃圾桶图标。删除共享的作品集将从所有者的共享收件人列表中删除您的信息。

复制作品集

可从您的帐户复制作品集,也可从其它帐户复制与您共享的作品集。复制已发布或取消发布的作品集将在 Folio Producer 服务器 (acrobat.com) 而非 Distribution Service 上创建一个新作品集。然后,可编辑和发布所复制的作品集。

有关复制作品集的视频,请参阅复制作品集以简化制作流程

  1. 在 Folio Producer 管理器中,选择一个作品集,然后单击“复制”。

  2. 指定所复制作品集的名称,然后单击“复制”。

复制作品集时,作品集之间不存在任何连接。要想通过更改源文件来编辑文章,需要访问源文件。如果从其它计算机与您共享作品集,则可获得源文件,并重新链接文章以编辑作品集内容。

如需在原计算机上维护源文件,则所有者应对父作品集中的源文件进行更改并更新文章。这些更改会反映到收件人的共享作品集中,而不会反映到复制的作品集中。随后收件人便可以再次复制作品集(如果复制的作品集为“公开”发布,则不推荐)或使用“复制到”或“添加”功能将更新的文章添加到复制的作品集中并删除文章之前的版本。如果已发布复制的作品集,则建议复制更新的文章(而不是取消发布或重新发布),这样您就可以更新作品集。

无法复制锁定的作品集。

删除作品集

删除作品集时,将从服务器删除工作区,并删除该作品集中的所有文章,但不删除源文档。如果已将作品集发布到 Distribution Service,则先使用 Folio Producer Organizer 取消发布该作品集,然后再将其删除。请勿取消发布和删除零售作品集。

  1. 如果作品集已发布,请使用 Folio Producer 管理器中的“取消发布”按钮从 Distribution Service 中移去作品集。

  2. 在 Folio Builder 面板中选择一个作品集,然后单击垃圾桶按钮。

如果先在查看器中下载了作品集,然后删除该作品集,则该作品集会保留在查看器库中,直到删除该作品集。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

A folio includes one or more digital publishing articles. A folio appears as an issue in the library of either the Adobe Content Viewer or a custom multi-issue viewer. If you create a custom single-issue viewer, the folio includes the contents of that viewer app.

Adobe recommends

Adobe recommends
<a href="http://goo.gl/qgbfz">Building Folios</a>
Colin Fleming

Folio Builder panel overview

Use the Folio Builder panel to create folios and add articles. To open the panel, choose Window > Folio Builder. The Folio Builder panel displays the folios to which you have access. The Folio Builder panel includes three views: folio view, article view, and layout view. To navigate, do any of the following actions:

  • Double-click a folio or click the arrow to the right of the folio to display the folio’s articles.

  • Double-click an article or click the arrow to the right of the article to display the article’s layouts.

  • Click the arrow icon in the upper left corner of the panel to move up a level.

Folio Builder Panel
Folio Builder panel

A. Folio view B. Articles view C. Layout view 

Filter displayed folios

To determine which folios are displayed, choose All, All Local, In the Cloud (to hide local folios), Private (to hide shared folios), or Shared from the drop-down menu in Folio view.

Sort folios

Choose an option from the Sort drop-down menu in Folio view to determine the sort order of folios in the Folio Builder panel. Select Reverse List to reverse the order for any folio selected.

Sign in to Folio Builder panel

Signing in to the Folio Builder panel is optional. Signing in to the panel lets you upload folios to the Folio Producer Service for testing. You can then download folios to the Adobe Content Viewer on a mobile device and share folios with other users. If you don’t sign in to the panel, you can still create and preview local folios, and you can build a Single Edition app. Use a verified Adobe ID to sign in to the Folio Builder panel.

  1. Make sure that your computer is connected to the internet.

  2. In the Folio Builder panel, click Sign In, and then sign in using a verified Adobe ID.

  3. If you do not have a verified Adobe ID, do one of the following:

    • If you have an Enterprise or Professional subscription to DPS, use the Account Administration tool to create an Adobe ID with an Application role. Use the appropriate Adobe ID to sign in to the Folio Builder panel. See Account Administration tool.

    • To verify an Adobe ID to work with DPS, go to https://digitalpublishing.acrobat.com/ and click Create Account. Sign up for an account using a valid email address. Adobe will send you a verification message. Open that message and verify it. Then use that Adobe ID to sign in to the Folio Builder panel. See Using Adobe IDs for digital publishing.

Create a folio

A folio is a collection of articles. Anyone with InDesign CS5 or later can create folios. However, DPS will no longer support InDesign CS5 and InDesign CS5.5 with the v32 release scheduled for August 2014.

When you sign in and create a folio, a workspace is created on the acrobat.com web server. The content of any article you add to the folio is uploaded to that workspace.

  1. To open the Folio Builder panel, choose Window > Folio Builder.

  2. If you have not already signed in, click Sign In, and sign in using a verified Adobe ID.

    If you do not sign in to the Folio Builder panel, you can create an offline folio. You can then upload that offline folio after you sign in.

  3. Click New to create a new folio.

    You can also choose File > New > Folio in InDesign CS6 to create a folio.

  4. Specify the following settings, and click OK.

    Click OK
    Creating a new folio.

    Folio Name

    Specify the folio name. The folio name is different from the Publication Name that appears in the viewer. The folio name is used only internally for navto:// links and for setting up renditions, so keep the name simple and avoid using extended characters. The maximum number of characters for Folio Name is 60.

    Viewer Version

    Specify the target viewer version. This option is especially useful if either the newest version of the Adobe Content Viewer is awaiting approval or if you’re creating folios for an earlier viewer app that has not yet been updated. Once you create a folio, you can edit folio properties to increase the version number, but you cannot roll back to an earlier version. Instead, create a new folio. You cannot specify a viewer version earlier than v20.

    Note:

    With most DPS releases, the viewer itself changes, but not the folio format specified for "Viewer Version." For example, while there are differences between v26 and v30 viewer apps, there is no difference between v26 and v30 folio formats. For best results, use the default "Viewer Version" setting of v26.

    Target Device

    Select the target device or specify custom dimensions of the target device, such as 1024x768 for an iPad.

    See Creating documents for multiple devices.

    Orientation

    Indicate whether the folio is portrait-only, landscape-only, or dual orientation. To preview or publish the folio, all articles must match the folio orientation. For example, if a dual-orientation folio includes an article with only a portrait layout, the folio cannot be downloaded in the Adobe Content Viewer library.

    Default Format

    Choose a default option for the folio. Individual articles can have different Article Format settings.

    Choose Automatic if you want to let InDesign determine whether to export the pages as JPEG or PNG. Choosing PDF lets users pinch to zoom in and out, preserves vectors, and reduces file size. Specifying the default format is especially important for importing multiple articles. Articles in a multi-article import use the default image format. See Differences Between JPG, PNG, and PDF Image Formats.

    Default JPEG Quality

    If Automatic or JPEG is selected for Default Image Format, specify the JPEG Quality. Increased quality increases the file size.

    Cover Preview

    A preview image represents each folio added to the viewer in the viewer library. Specify the portrait and landscape cover images. Create cover images as 72-dpi JPG or PNG files using the same pixel dimensions as the target device, such as 1024x768.

    Create Offline Folio

    Select this option if you do not want to upload the folio content to the server at this time. You can later choose Upload To Folio Producer from the panel menu to upload folio contents.

For information about troubleshooting the Folio Builder, see Troubleshoot Folio Builder and Troubleshoot article upload failures in Folio Builder panel .

Change folio properties

After you create a folio, you can use the Folio Properties dialog box to specify a publication name, change the viewer version, and choose cover preview images. Some folio properties such as orientation, image format, and folio size cannot be edited in the Folio Properties dialog box. If necessary, create a new folio with the appropriate settings.

When you’re ready to publish your folio, use the Folio Producer Organizer to specify folio properties for publishing.

  1. In the Folio Builder panel, select the folio you want to edit.

  2. Choose Folio Properties from the Folio Builder panel menu.

    Choose Folio Properties
    Editing folio properties

  3. Specify the following settings, and then click OK.

    Publication Name

    The Publication Name you specify appears in the viewer library. However, if you use the same Publication Name value for all the folios that appear in your app—and if you use the same value specified for "Title (Library View)" in DPS App Builder—the Publication Name is omitted from the iPad library by design. This applies only to the iPad.

    The maximum number of characters for Publication Name is 60.

    Note:

    To avoid problems, use only alphanumeric or numeric characters in the the Publication Name. Do not use special characters such as apostrophes (‘), or unexpected results such as an “[svr.InvalidParameter]” error message might occur.

    Viewer Version

    If you want to specify a different viewer version for the folio, select the appropriate version. You can select a newer version, but not an earlier version. To target an earlier version, create a new folio.

    Updating the viewer version of a folio does not automatically update the articles in that folio. If you want to take advantage of a new feature that works in the higher viewer version, update the articles as well.

    Note:

    With most DPS releases, the viewer itself changes, but not the folio format specified for "Viewer Version." For example, while there are differences between v26 and v30 apps, there is no difference between v26 and v30 folio formats. For best results, use the default "Viewer Version" setting of v26.

    Right Edge Binding

    Select this option to display articles from right to left rather than left to right in the viewer. This option is especially important for Asian languages.

    Cover Preview

    A preview image represents each folio added to the viewer in the viewer library. Specify the portrait and landscape cover images. Create cover images as 72-dpi JPG or PNG files using the same pixel dimensions as the target device, such as 1024x768.

  4. To change additional folio properties for publishing a folio, choose Folio Producer from the Folio Builder panel menu, and specify settings in the Folio Producer Organizer. See Folio Producer Organizer

    Folio Name

    The Folio Name appears in the Folio Producer and in the Folio Builder panel, but it does not appear in the viewer. If you are creating renditions for different devices, make sure that the Folio Name settings are the same among renditions.

    Publication Name

    The Publication Name appears in the viewer library and in the viewer navigation bar. However, if the same Publication Name is used for all folios in an app, the Publication Name is not displayed in the library by design.

    The maximum number of characters for Publication Name is 60.

    Folio Number

    The Folio Number can be a number or a description, such as “May 2013.” The maximum number of characters for Folio Number is 60.

    DPS Folio Producer
    Publication Name and Folio Number appear in the viewer.

    Publication Date

    The Publication Date setting determines the order of folios in the library. The newest folios appear at the top. The Publication Date setting is especially important for subscription viewers in which customers are entitled to folios within a specific duration as determined by the Publication Date settings. For best results, manually select a Publication Date setting.

    Product ID

    The Product ID specified when you published the folio is displayed. You cannot edit this field directly. The Product ID is especially important for retail folios. It ties the folio to the in-app purchase Product ID in the app store. Use a different Product ID (such as "com.pubhouse.myapp.2014january") for each folio. Use the same Product ID for different folios only if they're part of a rendition set.

    The maximum number of characters for Product ID is 60.

    Published

    A check mark appears in the Published column if the folio is published.

    Locked

    Select this option to prevent anyone from uploading a new version of the article or changing article metadata. A locked icon appears next to the article in the Folio Builder panel of anyone who has access to the folio.

    Cover Previews

    Specify .png or .jpg files for the images that appear in the viewer library.

    Description

    The Description appears in the viewer library and in the viewer navigation bar.

    Library Filter

    Type the filter name for each folio in your app. The maximum number of characters for Library Filter is 60. See Create library filters.

    Right Edge Binding

    Selecting this option in the Folio Details area displays articles from right to left rather than left to right in the viewer. This option is especially important for Asian languages.

    Cover Date

    Cover Date is an additional metadata control that gives certain Enterprise publishers more control over direct entitlement.

Create offline folios

An offline folio, or local folio, is not uploaded to the acrobat.com service on the web. Creating an offline folio is especially useful when you’re not connected to the Internet, or if the acrobat.com service is temporarily out of service.

Adobe recommends

Adobe recommends
<a href="http://goo.gl/RUv2b">Working Offline</a>
Colin Fleming

You cannot convert an uploaded folio to an offline folio.

Icon showing offline Folio
An icon indicates that a folio is offline.

  1. To create an offline folio, do either of the following:

    • Click Create New Folio in the Folio Builder panel when you are not signed in.

    • Click Create New Folio in the Folio Builder panel, and then select Create Offline Folio.

  2. Add articles and edit the folio.

    You can preview offline folios on your desktop or using Preview on Device. See Preview folios and articles.

    When you preview or upload an offline folio, the folio is updated automatically to account for changes to the source InDesign documents. Choosing Update to update an offline folio is not necessary.

  3. To upload the folio, sign in to the Folio Builder panel, select the folio, and choose Upload To Folio Producer from the panel menu.

    You can upload an offline folio only if the source files are available.

    Once you upload a folio, you cannot make the folio local.

Share folios

Share a folio if you want to let other people review the folio you’re working on or to make it available to them. For example, if you’re creating an ad for a publisher, you can share the folio that contains your ad with the publisher. Or, if you’re a publisher, you can share a folio with different designers to let them upload articles.

Whenever you update an article in the shared folio, recipients are notified that an update is available when they open the library in the Adobe Content Viewer. If you don’t want recipients to view updates, unshare the folio.

Video Tutorial

Video Tutorial
<a href="http://tv.adobe.com/watch/learn-digital-publishing-suite/sharing-folios/">Sharing Folios</a>
Colin Fleming

  1. In the Folio Builder panel, select a folio.

  2. Choose Share from the Folio Builder panel menu.

  3. In the Share dialog box, type the email addresses of the people with whom you want to share your folio. Use a comma or semi-colon to separate the email addresses. Press Tab to move to the next field.

  4. Type the subject and message, and then click Share.

When recipients open the Adobe Content Viewer on a mobile device, the shared folio is available for downloading.

If recipients open the folio in the Folio Builder panel, a share icon appears next to the folio name in the Folio Builder. Recipients can open the folio and add articles. However, they cannot edit existing articles.

Unshare folios

To unshare a folio that you shared with others, select the folio in the Folio Builder panel, and choose Unshare from the panel menu. Select the recipients with whom you want to unshare, and click OK. Unsharing makes the folio unavailable for downloading and removes it from shared recipients’ Folio Builder panel, but it does not remove folios that have been downloaded to devices. Deleting a shared folio also makes it unavailable for downloading.

Remove a folio shared with you

If someone has shared a folio with you and you no longer want access to it, select the folio in the Folio Builder panel and click the trash icon. Deleting the shared folio removes your information from the owner’s shared recipients list.

Copy folios

You can copy a folio from your account or you can copy a folio shared with you from a different account. Copying either a published or unpublished folio creates a new folio on the Folio Producer server (acrobat.com), not the Distribution Service. You can then edit and publish the copied folio.

For a video about copying folios, see Copying folios to streamline production.

  1. In Folio Producer Organizer, select a folio and click Copy.

  2. Specify the name of the copied folio and click Copy.

When you copy a folio, no connection between the folios exists. To edit articles by changing the source files, you need access to the source files. If the folio was shared with you from a different computer, you can obtain the source files and relink the articles in order to edit the folio content.

If the source files need to be maintained on the original computer, the owner should make the changes to the source files in the parent folio and update the article. These changes are reflected in the recipient's shared folio but not in the copied folio. The recipient can then either copy the folio again (not recommended if the copied folio is published as Public) or use the Copy To or Add feature to add the updated article to the copied folio and remove the previous version of the article. Copying the updated article is recommended if the copied folio is published so that you can update the folio instead of unpublishing and re-publishing it.

Locked folios cannot be copied.

Delete a folio

When you delete a folio, you remove the workspace from the server, and you delete all articles in that folio, but not the source documents. If you published a folio to the Distribution Service, use the Folio Producer Organizer to unpublish that folio before deleting it. Avoid unpublishing and deleting retail folios.

  1. If the folio is published, use the Unpublish button in the Folio Producer Organizer to remove the folio from the Distribution Service.

  2. Select a folio in the Folio Builder panel, and then click the Trash button.

If a folio was downloaded in a viewer before it was deleted, it remains in the viewer library until it’s removed.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy