To update a photo to PV2012, do any of the following in the Develop module:
Process versions
The process version is the Camera Raw technology that Lightroom Classic uses to adjust and render photos in the Develop module. Depending on which process version you use, different options and settings are available to you in the Develop module.
If you’re not sure which process version your image uses, do one of the following:
- Click Settings > Process. A check symbol appears next to the process version used.
- Open the Camera Calibration panel and look at the Process menu.
Process Version 6
Process version 6 reduces banding when using the Color Mixer and B&W Mixer adjustments.
Process Version 5
Process version 5 offers improved negative dehaze and improvements to image quality for high-quality ISO raw files. You'll see less noise when you move the Dehaze slider to the left of zero (negative dehaze ), and less of a purple/magenta color cast in your low-light shots with improved shadow details.
Process Version 2012
Images edited for the first time in Lightroom 4 and later use process version 2012. PV2012 offers new tone controls and new tone-mapping algorithms for high-contrast images. With PV2012, you can adjust Highlights, Shadows, Whites, Blacks, Exposure, and Contrast in the Basic panel. You can also apply local corrections for white balance (Temp and Tint), Highlights, Shadows, Noise, and Moiré.
Process Version 2010
Images edited in Lightroom 3 used PV2010 by default. PV2010 offers improved sharpening and noise-reduction from the previous process version, PV2003.
Process Version 2003
The original processing engine, used by Lightroom 1 and 2.
- Click the Update To Current Process 2012 button
in the lower-right corner of the histogram (Ctrl/Cmd + 0). - Click the Update To Current Process 2012 button
in the lower-right corner of the photo.
Choose Settings > Process > 2012 (Current).
In the Camera Calibration panel, choose Process > 2012 (Current).
If the Update Process Version dialog box appears, select any of the following
Review Changes Via Before/After
Opens the updated photo in a Before/After view so you can inspect the changes. See View Before and After photos.
Update
Updates the one selected photo.
Update All Selected Photos
Updates all photos currently selected in the Filmstrip, not just the active photo.
Update All Filmstrip Photos
Updates all photos in the Filmstrip, not just the one that is selected.
Updating to Process Version 2012 may incur significant visual changes to your photos. It’s a good idea to update images one at a time until you are familiar with the new processing technology.
Soft-proof images
Soft-proofing is the capability to preview in how onscreen photos appear when printed, and optimize them for a particular output device. Soft-proofing in the Lightroom Classic lets you evaluate how images appear when printed, and adjust them so that you can reduce surprising tone and color shifts.
With an image open in the Develop module, select the Soft Proofing box in the toolbar.
The preview background turns white, a Proof Preview label appears in the upper-right corner of the preview area, and the Soft Proofing panel opens.
Use the options in the Soft Proofing panel to see if your colors are in gamut, or range, for your display or output device.
Show/Hide Monitor Gamut Warning
![]()
Colors that are outside your display’s color capabilities appear blue in the image preview area.
Show/Hide Destination Gamut Warning
![]()
Colors that are outside your printer’s rendering capabilities appear red in the image preview area.
Colors that are outside the gamut of both the monitor and destination device appear pink in the image preview area.
Profile
A profile is a mathematical description of a device’s color space. By default, the Lightroom Classic Develop module displays images using your monitor profile. You can simulate a different output color space by choosing it from the Profile menu.
Intent
The rendering intent determines how colors are converted from one color space to another.
Perceptual aims to preserve the visual relationship between colors so they are perceived as natural to the human eye, even though the color values may change. Perceptual is suitable for images with lots of saturated, out-of-gamut colors.
Relative compares the extreme highlight of the source color space to that of the destination color space and shifts all colors accordingly. Out-of-gamut colors shift to the closest reproducible colors in the destination space. Relative preserves more of the original colors in an image than Perceptual.
Simulate Paper & Ink
Simulates the dingy white of real paper and the dark gray of real black ink. Not available for all profiles.
To edit your photo to bring it within a desired color space, click Create Proof Copy. Lightroom Classic creates a virtual copy that you can adjust to print as you desire. Then, make your adjustments.
If you start adjusting photos and forget to click Create Proof Copy, Lightroom Classic asks if you want to create a virtual copy for soft proofing. Click Create Proof Copy to preserve your original image and work on a copy. Click Make This A Proof to edit the original image. Remember that all editing in Lightroom Classic is non-destructive. If you choose to edit the original image, you can still change your mind or undo your changes later.
Apply Develop adjustments to other photos
As you make adjustments to a photo in the Develop module or in the Quick Develop panel of the Library module, Lightroom Classic keeps a record of the settings. You can copy these settings and apply them to different versions of the photo and to other photos selected in the Filmstrip.
In the Develop module, you can copy and paste individual Develop settings from the current photo to another photo.
Open an image in the Develop module. Right-click on the photo, and then select Settings > Copy Settings.
(Mac OS) The Edit > Copy command in the Library module copies text and metadata. The Edit > Copy command in the Develop module copies selected text in a panel or the Develop settings of a selected photo. The Edit > Paste command in the Library module pastes copied text and metadata.
To paste the copied Develop settings to another photo, right-click on a photo and select Settings > Paste Settings.
To paste settings on multiple photos:
- In the Develop module, select the photos in the Filmstrip and choose Photo > Develop Settings > Paste Settings.
- In the Library module, select the photos in the Grid view or the Filmstrip and choose Photo > Develop Settings > Paste Settings.
(Mac OS) The Edit > Paste command in the Library module pastes copied text and metadata.
To copy and paste edits on a batch of photos, select all the photos on the filmstrip to which you wish to apply the settings and toggle the Sync switch to activate the Auto Sync button. Select Paste to apply edit settings.
Edit settings are pasted on a single image when Sync is active. Auto Sync applies settings to multiple images together.
Apply Develop presets using the Painter tool
If the Painter tool does not appear in the toolbar, choose Painter from the toolbar menu.
Make exposure values consistent in a photo series
The Match Total Exposures command in the Library and Develop modules allows you to easily make a series of photos with varying exposure values appear more consistently exposed. This command automatically adjusts and matches the overall exposure of a selection of photos to that of your Active photo - as computed from the combined aperture, shutter speed, and ISO camera settings.
Ensure that you've applied the necessary adjustments to your Active photo and it is properly exposed.
Hold the Cmd (Mac)/Ctrl (Win) key and select all the photos from the Grid or the Filmstrip whose exposures you want to match.
Do any of the following:
- In the Develop module, choose Settings > Match Total Exposures.
- In the Library module, choose Photo > Develop Settings > Match Total Exposures.
Synchronize settings across multiple photos
The Synchronize command in the Library and Develop modules allows you to apply selected Develop settings of the current photo to other photos in the Filmstrip. (The current photo is indicated by a brighter white border in the Filmstrip thumbnail.)
When only one photo is selected in the Filmstrip, the Sync Settings command is not available. In the Develop module, the Sync button becomes the Previous button; in the Library module, the Sync Settings button is inactive.
- Shift-click or Ctrl-click (Windows) or Command-click (Mac OS) to select other photos in the Filmstrip to synchronize with the current photo, and then do one of the following:
In the Develop module, click the Sync button or choose Settings > Sync Settings. Select the settings to copy and click Synchronize.
In the Develop module, click the Enable Auto Sync switch on the left side of the Sync button to enable Auto Sync mode. Then, drag sliders or make adjustments, and the adjustments are applied to all selected photos.
In the Library module, click the Sync Settings button or choose Photo > Develop Settings > Sync Settings. Select the settings to copy and click Synchronize.
Any settings that you may have previously selected or deselected in the Copy Settings dialog box are also set by default in the Synchronize Settings dialog box.
Apply develop adjustments across multiple photos in Reference View
While working in Reference View in the Develop module, you can apply selected Develop settings of the current Active photo to other photos in the Filmstrip.
In Reference View, choose a Reference photo. For details, see Reference View.
Select all the photos in the Filmstrip on which you want to apply the develop adjustments.
Lightroom Classic automatically sets the most selected photo from your Filmstrip selection as the Active photo.
At the lower-right corner of the screen, click the Enable Auto Sync switch on the left side of the Sync button to enable Auto Sync mode. For details, see Synchronize settings across multiple photos.
Now make adjustments in the Active photo to visually match the characteristics of the Reference photo. The adjustments are applied to all selected photos.
Apply settings of a previously selected photo
You can copy all the settings of the photo you last selected in the Filmstrip (even if you didn’t make any adjustments to it) and apply them to the currently selected photo. Do one of the following:
- In the Develop module, click the Previous button to the right of the toolbar, or choose Settings > Paste Settings From Previous.
- In the Library module, choose Photo > Develop Settings > Paste Settings From Previous.
When multiple photos are selected in the Filmstrip, the Previous button in the Develop module turns into the Sync button.
Manage image snapshots
Create snapshots
During the editing process, you can name and save any state of a photo as a snapshot. Each snapshot you create is listed alphabetically in the Snapshots panel.
Roll the pointer over the list of snapshots to preview each one in the Navigator.
Add a snapshot
All the settings for the selected history state are recorded in the snapshot.
Delete a snapshot
Do not press the Delete key on your keyboard; this will delete the currently selected photo.
The History panel in Adobe Lightroom Classic records the date and time a photo was imported, including any presets applied during import. Each subsequent adjustment is saved as a history step and listed chronologically. You can preview, reapply, rename, or clear history steps, but you can't change their order.
You can manage history steps using the following options:
- Preview a history step: Hover over the list in the History panel and view the effects in the Navigator panel.
- Apply a history step to the photo: Select a history step in the History panel to apply its adjustments to the photo in Detail view. If you make further edits, Lightroom Classic removes all subsequent history steps and creates new steps for the adjustments.
- Save a history step as a snapshot: Right-click the history step, and then select Create Snapshot.
- Copy a history step to the Before view: Right-click the history step, and then select Copy History Step Settings To Before.
To remove individual history steps, right-click a step in the History panel and select one of the following options:
- Clear History Above This Step: Removes all history steps above the selected step.
- Clear History Below This Step: Removes all history steps below the selected step, retaining the selected step and all subsequent steps.
- Clear Step: Removes only the selected history step.
Clear history steps manually
You can clear history steps for individual photos, multiple photos, folders, or collections without changing their current appearance.
Select one or more photos in the Grid view or filmstrip.
Right-click the selection and select Clear History Steps.
Right-click the selection, go to Clear History Steps, and then select one of the following options:
- Clear Develop History Steps Except Last: Removes Develop edit history steps while retaining the latest step and milestone steps, such as Import, Export, Print, and Publish.
- Clear All History Steps Except Last: Removes all history steps, including milestone steps, except the most recent one.
You can also access these options from Photo > Clear History Steps in the Library module or Develop > Clear History Steps in the Develop module.
In the confirmation dialog box, review the number of selected photos and then select Clear History.
To clear history steps for an entire folder, right-click the folder in the Folders panel and select Clear History Steps. This includes photos in its subfolders.
To clear history steps for a collection, smart collection, or collection set, right-click it in the Collections panel and select Clear History Steps. This option isn't available for published collections.
To remove all history steps except the most recent one, select the Clear All icon on the History panel header. This removes the list of steps without affecting the current image settings.
To undo manual history cleanup, select Edit > Undo or press Command + Z (macOS) or Ctrl + Z (Windows) to restore the deleted history steps immediately after the action.
To reduce catalog size after clearing history steps, select File > Optimize Catalog. However, Lightroom Classic automatically optimizes the catalog when you quit the application after clearing 100 or more history steps.
Clear history steps automatically
You can schedule automatic history cleanup to help manage catalog size without manually removing older history steps.
Select Lightroom Classic > Catalog Settings (macOS) or Edit > Catalog Settings (Windows).
Select the Metadata tab.
In the History Step Cleanup section, select one of the following from the Automatically clear history steps dropdown menu:
- Never: Turns off automatic cleanup. This is the default setting.
- When Lightroom next relaunches: Runs cleanup once when you open or restart Lightroom Classic, then restores the previous schedule.
- Once a week: Runs cleanup weekly.
- Once a month: Runs cleanup monthly.
If you turned on automatic cleanup, select one of the following rules:
- Older than: Removes history steps older than the selected period while retaining the most recent history steps selected per photo.
- Beyond the last: Retains only the most recent steps selected for a photo.
The most recent history step and milestone steps, such as Import, Tethered Capture, Export, Publish, Render to DNG, Print, and more are always preserved.
To stop recording new Develop history steps of your edits, deselect Record Develop History Steps. The new Develop edits aren't added to the History panel.
Edit Smart Previews instead of Originals to improve performance
To increase Lightroom's performance while editing your photos in the Develop module, Lightroom Classic provides you a preference option to edit Smart Previews of your photos even when Originals are available. Although this may display a decreased quality of your photo while editing, however, the final output remains full size/quality.
To set this preference:
Choose Edit > Preferences.
In the Preferences dialog, select the Performance tab.
In the Develop section, select Use Smart Previews Instead Of Originals For Image Editing.
Select OK and then restart Lightroom Classic.
When you zoom to 100% (1:1 mode) in the Develop module, Lightroom Classic switches to Originals even if the Use Smart Previews Instead Of Originals For Image Editing preference is enabled.
More like this
- Adjust overall image tonal scale
- Apply local adjustments
- Sharpening and noise reduction
- Adjust the tonal scale using the histogram
- Set print color management
- Undo image adjustments
- Copy settings to the Before or After version of a photo
- Video tutorial - Understanding the Develop module
- Video tutorial - Develop basics
جرّب أحدث ما في Adobe Lightroom Classic
حرّر ونظّم وشارك صورك باستخدام Lightroom Classic.