本文档可以帮助您解决在 Adobe Audition CS5.5、CS6 或 CC 中录制、播放或监控时出现的问题。 

录制问题可能会以多种不同的方式表现出来,包括(但不限于)以下方式:

  • 录制的音频质量较差。 
  • 音频通过系统监控,但是录制的音频文件为空。 
  • 在监控音频输入或录制时播放延迟。 
  • 录制时跳过或漏字。

录制或播放问题可能是由不同的原因所致,包括设备驱动程序和软硬件之间的冲突,以及特定文件中的元素有所损坏。虽然某些问题只有在您使用 Adobe Audition 时才会出现,但未必是由 Adobe Audition 所致。有可能它是唯一一个占用的内存或处理器资源足够多以致暴露出问题的应用程序。 

若要最大限度地受益于此文档,请按照顺序执行任务。 记录您执行的任务以及每个任务的结果,包括错误或其他问题。如果致电 Adobe 技术支持部门,他们可以使用这些信息为您提供更好的帮助。 

注意:

如果您要查找有关 Audition 早期版本的信息,请单击此处

 

音频延迟

音频延迟是指音频信号从声卡输入传递到声卡输出所需的时间。音频信号将得到数字化处理、通过 Adobe Audition 进行传送,随后应用的所有音效都对其进行处理。然后,它转换回模拟形式,以便可以在声卡输出处听到(监控)。其中每个步骤都会造成音频延迟(以毫秒为单位)。现有音频(即多音轨中一个音轨上的音频文件)不会表现出相同时间长度的延迟,因为已经对音轨进行数字化处理。在 Adobe Audition 中,现有音轨与监控输入之间播放延迟的这种差异就是延迟最明显的地方。 

通常,如果延迟超过 10 毫秒,那么现有音轨与监控输入的播放之间就会产生听得见的延迟。缓冲区设置(请参见下方的第 6 步)可以帮助减少延迟。但是,硬件设备驱动程序的设计以及音效处理量可能会使监控非常困难(或无法进行监控)。如果声卡的设备驱动程序不允许足够低的延迟,则可能无法在录制的同时监控。请尝试使用设备驱动程序延迟较低的新声卡(例如 ASIO 声卡)。 

适用于延迟时间的一般准则。 

  • 小于 10 毫秒 - 允许实时监控传入音轨,包括音效。 
  • 等于 10 毫秒 - 可以检测到延迟,不过听起来还是比较自然,可以进行监控。 
  • 11-20 毫秒 - 开始变得无法进行监控,实际声源模糊,监控的输出很明显。 
  • 20-30 毫秒 - 延迟的声音开始听起来像是实际延迟而不是原始信号的一部分。 

注意:人耳习惯了延迟,因为这在我们周围总是自然地发生。声音的频率、与声源的距离以及人耳的物理性质全都对听觉起着一定的作用。录制和监控过程中发生的延迟是因为声卡、设备驱动程序以及计算机 CPU 处理能力的物理性质和限制。 

疑难解答 

1. 确保系统符合 Adobe Audition 的最低要求

Adobe Audition 在不符合以下要求的系统上无法正常运行:

Audition CC

Audition CS6

Audition CS5.5

2. 验证是否为 Adobe Audition 选择了正确的驱动程序

Adobe Audition CS5.5 及更高版本在 Windows 上使用 ASIO 和 MME/WDM 驱动程序,在 Mac OS 上使用 Core Audio。ASIO(音频流输入/输出)是一个多通道传输协议,允许兼容的软件直接访问 ASIO 声卡的多通道功能。通过直接访问声卡,能使延迟(输入和输出之间的延迟)比其他驱动程序类型(例如 WDM 或 MME)低得多。ASIO 对采样率或采样格式没有限制,并且不绑定到固定数量的输入和输出音频通道。利用 ASIO,您可以根据播放和录制的需要映射可用的声卡 I/O 端口,并同时录制两个以上音轨。ASIO 驱动程序可使音频硬件实现高效的音频处理、高数据吞吐量、同步、低信号延迟和可扩展性。

Core Audio(在 Mac OS 10.3 中引入)与 ASIO 类似。与 ASIO 一样,Core Audio 也允许软件在低级别直接访问音频硬件,从而减少开销和延迟。 

要验证是否为 Adobe Audition 选择了正确的驱动程序,请执行以下操作 (Windows):

  1. 选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“音频硬件”
  2. 在“设备类别”下选择与您的音频设备对应的设置。确保在“音频驱动程序”菜单中选择已安装的声卡驱动程序。 
  • 如果 ASIO 设备驱动程序可用,确保选择它。 
  • 如果 ASIO 设备驱动程序不可用,则在“设备类别”下选择“MME”

注意:Adobe 建议您选择随音频设备一起安装的 ASIO 驱动程序而非 MME 驱动程序。仅当系统音频设备没有自己的 ASIO 驱动程序时才使用 MME 驱动程序。

要验证是否为 Adobe Audition 选择了正确的驱动程序,请执行以下操作 (Mac OS):

  1. 选择“Audition”>“首选项”>“音频硬件”
  2. 从“默认输入”和“默认输出”弹出式菜单中选择您的音频设备。(在 Mac OS 上,在“设备类别”下自动选择了 Core Audio。)

注意:如果未列出您的设备,请检查 Mac OS 音频 MIDI 设置实用程序。确保该设备已安装并列在可用音频设备中。(选择“应用程序”>“实用程序”>“音频 MIDI 设置”以访问该实用程序。)

3. 更新声卡驱动程序

许多声卡制造商经常更新其软件驱动程序。如果您最近未更新过声卡驱动程序,请与声卡制造商联系,以获得更新的驱动程序。或者,从制造商的网站上下载。 

4. 将 Adobe Audition 临时文件夹放置在具有足够可用磁盘空间的高性能驱动器上

当您在编辑视图中录制时,Adobe Audition 会将临时文件存储在其主要临时目录中。确保将主要临时目录放置在可用空间最多且速度最快的驱动器(7200 rpm 及以上)上。专门为 Adobe Audition 临时文件创建一个文件夹。通过为临时文件创建文件夹,您可以在需要删除这些文件时轻松地找到它们。 

要创建主要临时目录并为其设置位置,请执行以下操作:

  1. 在希望主要临时目录所位于的硬盘驱动器的根目录处创建一个文件夹(例如 AuditionTemp)。
  2. 在 Adobe Audition 中,选择“首选项”>“介质与磁盘缓存”。
  3. 在“临时文件夹”部分中,输入您在第 1 步中创建的文件夹的路径(或浏览)。 

当您在多音轨视图中录制时,Adobe Audition 会直接将文件存储到当前会话的文件夹的子文件夹中。(例如,假设有一个名为 MySession.sesx 的会话,一个名为 MySession_Recorded 的文件夹包含为该会话录制的所有文件。)确保会话文件(以及这个关联的文件夹)存储在可用空间最多且速度最快的驱动器(7200 rpm 及以上)上。 

将 Adobe Audition 临时目录或会话文件夹放置在单独的硬盘驱动器上可以提高性能。如果您有多个硬盘驱动器,要将主要临时文件夹和会话文件夹放置在不包含 Adobe Audition 程序文件的硬盘驱动器上。 

5. 在未运行其他应用程序的情况下运行 Adobe Audition

与 Adobe Audition 并发运行时,某些应用程序可能会导致系统错误或冻结。在启动 Adobe Audition 之前,要停用其他应用程序,包括启动项(在您启动或登录时自动启动的项目)。 

要在 Windows 上停用启动项,请执行以下操作:

  1. 退出所有应用程序。 
  2. 选择“开始”>“运行”,然后在“打开”框中键入msconfig。单击“确定”。 

  3. 单击“启动”选项卡,然后单击“全部停用”。 
  4. 选择测试问题必需的所有启动项(例如,已安装音频设备的驱动程序控制面板)。如果不确定某个项目是否必需,则使其保持选中状态(启用)。 
  5. 单击“确定”,然后重新启动 Windows。 
  6. 右键单击“通知区域”(在以前版本的 Windows 中称为“系统任务栏”)中的图标,以关闭或停用仍处于活动状态的任何启动项。 

然后,尝试重现问题:

  • 如果问题没有出现,表明停用的启动项之一与 Adobe Audition 冲突。一次重新启用一个启动项,逐一进行测试,直到确定与 Adobe Audition 冲突的项目为止。然后,联系该项目的开发商获取更新(若可以获取)。 
  • 如果出现了问题,表明启动项不是起因,您可以重新启用它们。
    1. 选择“开始”>“运行”,然后在“打开”框中键入msconfig。单击“确定”。 
    2. 单击“启动”选项卡,然后单击“全部启用”。 
    3. 单击“确定”,然后重新启动 Windows。 

要在 Mac OS 上停用启动项,请执行以下操作:

  1. 选择“Apple 菜单”>“注销 [用户名]”。
  2. 在确认对话框中,单击“注销”。片刻之后,将会显示登录窗口。
  3. 在登录窗口中,选择正在为其解决问题的用户帐户的名称。
  4. 在“密码”字段中键入用户帐户的密码,但是先不要按回车键,也不要单击“登录”。
  5. 按住 Shift 键,同时单击“登录”。当显示 Dock 时,松开 Shift 键。直到您注销(或重新启动计算机)后,才会停用登录项。

然后,尝试重现问题:

  • 如果问题没有出现,表明停用的启动项之一与 Adobe Audition 冲突。一次重新启用一个启动项,逐一进行测试,直到确定与 Adobe Audition 冲突的项目为止。然后,联系该项目的开发商获取更新(若可以获取)。 
  • 如果出现了问题,表明启动项不是起因,您可以重新启用它们。 
    • 通过注销(通过“Apple 菜单”>“注销 [用户名]”)来重新启用登录项。然后,在不按住 Shift 键的情况下,再次登录到同一个帐户。

6. 更改缓冲区大小(Core Audio 或 ASIO)或延迟 (MME) 设置

减小缓冲区大小设置可以降低延迟,并帮助消除在录制或播放过程中可能会出现的点击声、弹出声、漏字及其他失真。在调整缓冲区设置之前,要记下当前的缓冲区设置,以便可以在必要时进行恢复。如果使用的是 MME 驱动程序,缓冲区大小通过调整 Adobe Audition 中的延迟设置来进行控制。 

要在 Windows 上更改 MME 延迟设置,请执行以下操作:

  1. 选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“音频硬件”。 
  2. 从“设备类别”弹出式菜单中选择“MME”。
  3. 从“延迟”弹出式菜单中选择适当的延迟。

注意:选择能使系统达到可接受的播放/录制性能的最低可用延迟设置。

如果使用的是 ASIO 声卡,那么请参阅制造商的文档,以了解有关设置缓冲区大小的详细信息。根据特定的 ASIO 驱动程序,有时可通过单击“音频硬件”首选项窗口中“设备”弹出式菜单旁边的“设置”按钮来进行缓冲区大小设置。

要在 Mac OS 上更改缓冲区大小,请执行以下操作:

  1. 选择“Audition”>“首选项”>“音频硬件”。
  2. 从“I/O 缓冲区大小”弹出式菜单中,选择适当的缓冲区大小。

注意以下缓冲区大小准则:

  • 要提高录制性能,应减小缓冲区大小(从 32 个到 256 个样本),该设置会降低延迟。 
  • 要提高播放和混音性能(带音效),应增大缓冲区大小(从 512 个到 2048 个样本),该设置会提高延迟。

7. 更新视频显示驱动程序

Adobe Audition CS5.5 及更高版本的图形密集程度比以前的版本更高,可以利用更多视频 RAM 以及最新的驱动程序更新。如果您最近未更新过显卡驱动程序,请与显卡制造商联系,以获得更新的驱动程序。或者,从制造商的网站上下载一个。 

8. 降低监控/测量开销

默认情况下,在多音轨中准备一个音轨进行录制时,Adobe Audition 会自动在准备的音轨上显示传入信号的输入级别。这种显示是一种视觉测量,不会将传入信号传递到输出。要监控(侦听)传入信号,请按音轨的录制准备按钮右侧的“I”按钮。此按钮可启用测量并监控该音轨的传入信号。

停用输入测量可以帮助减小开销,从而在包含延迟效果的会话中降低延迟。 

要停用输入测量,请执行以下操作:

  1. 在 Windows 上选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“多音轨”,在 Mac OS 上选择“Audition”>“首选项”>“多音轨”。

  2. 取消选择“在准备音轨录制时启用输入测量”。 

9. 取消准备音轨录制

如果为录制准备了音轨但未使用它们,会给系统增加额外的开销。这种额外的开销会导致在包含延迟效果的会话中出现播放问题。准备的音轨以红色显示准备录制 (R) 按钮。通过单击 R 按钮来取消准备这些音轨。

10. 以选定硬件的采样率录制

要确保录制达到最高的质量和最低的延迟,录制的采样率应与 Audition 首选项中选定硬件的采样率相同。

您可以通过转至“首选项”>“音频硬件”来确定设备的采样率。当在 Windows 上使用 MME 驱动程序或在 Mac 上使用 Core Audio 驱动程序时,可以为设备选择采样率。

如果您使用的是 ASIO 设备,可通过设备制造商提供的首选项控制台来设置采样率。

在 Audition 中创建新的音频文件或多音轨会话时,始终选择可获得最佳效果的设备采样率。

11. 停用 Adobe Graphics Manager (AGM)(Audition CS6 及更高版本)

AGM 是一项出色的功能,可以改进整个 Audition 应用程序中文本和字体的显示。它对于改进实时图形控制的响应能力、经常更新的用户界面繁重型面板(例如频繁分析)以及波形的滚动也很有用。同时,AGM 还会使用更多的资源,因而有时会增加漏字或对录制产生负面影响。Adobe 并不认为这是一个普遍问题。但是,在由于后台运行的其他进程造成过载的低端计算机或系统上可能会发生。

如果在录制过程中遇到漏字问题,您可以通过转至“首选项”>“外观”来停用 AGM。

取消选中“将 Adobe Graphics Manager 用于用户界面”选项,然后重新启动 Audition。

您会注意到用户界面中一些外观的变化(以及 Mac 和 Windows 上字体之间的区别)。但是,这一步可以减少显示图形所需的开销,并通过降低漏字几率来改进录制效果。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

This document can help you resolve problems that occur while you record, playback, or monitor in Adobe Audition CS5.5, CS6, or CC. 

Recording problems can manifest themselves in many different ways, including (but not limited to) the following: 

  • Quality of recorded audio is poor. 
  • Audio is monitored through the system but the recorded audio file is empty. 
  • Delay in playback while monitoring audio inputs or recording. 
  • Skips or drop-outs in the recording.

Different factors can cause recording or playback problems, including conflicts among device drivers, software, and hardware, and corrupt elements in specific files. Although some problems occur only when you work with Adobe Audition, Adobe Audition isn't necessarily the cause-. It's possible that it's the only application that is memory-intensive or processor-intensive enough to expose the problem. 

To benefit most from this document, perform the tasks in order. Record the tasks you perform and the results of each, including errors or other problems. Adobe Technical Support can use this information to better assist you, if you call. 

Audio latency 

Audio Latency is the time that an audio signal takes to pass from the sound card input to the sound cards output. The audio signal is digitized, routed through Adobe Audition then any effects applied processes it. Then, it's converted back to analog form so it can be heard (monitored) at the sound card outputs. Each of these steps contributes to the audio latency which is measured in milliseconds (ms). Existing audio (that is, audio files on a track in the Multitrack) doesn't exhibit the same amount of latency since the tracks are already digitized. In Adobe Audition, this discrepancy in playback delay, between existing tracks and monitoring inputs, is where latency is most noticeable. 

Generally, latency over 10 milliseconds can produce an audible delay between playback of existing tracks and monitoring. Buffer settings (see step 6 below) can help reduce latency. However, the design of the hardware device driver and the amount of effects processing can potentially make monitoring difficult (or unusable). If the device driver for your sound card doesn't allow a low enough latency, then it's possible you can't monitor while recording. Try a new sound card with low latency device drivers (for example, an ASIO sound card). 

General guidelines that apply to latency times. 

  • Less than 10 ms - allows real-time monitoring of incoming tracks including effects. 
  • At 10 ms - latency can be detected but can still sound natural and is usable for monitoring. 
  • 11-20 ms - monitoring starts to become unusable, smearing of the actual sound source, and the monitored output is apparent. 
  • 20-30 ms - delayed sound starts to sound like an actual delay rather than a component of the original signal. 

Note: The human ear is accustomed to latency because it occurs naturally in the world around us. The frequency of a sound, distance from the sound's source, and the physical properties of the human ear all play a part in hearing. The latency introduced in the recording and monitoring process is due to the physical properties and limitations of the sound card, device drivers, and processing power of the computer CPU. 

Troubleshooting 

1. Make sure that the system meets the minimum requirements for Adobe Audition

Adobe Audition can't run correctly on a system that doesn't meet the following requirements: 

Audition CC

Audition CS6

Audition CS5.5

2. Verify that the correct driver is selected for Adobe Audition

Adobe Audition CS5.5, and later use ASIO and MME/WDM drivers on Windows and Core Audio on Mac OS. ASIO (Audio Stream Input/Output) is a multichannel transfer protocol that allows compatible software to have direct access to the multichannel capabilities of ASIO sound cards. Direct access to the sound card allows for much lower latency (delay between the input and output) than other driver types (for example, WDM or MME). ASIO provides no limitation on the sample rate or sample format and isn't bound to a fixed number of input and output audio channels. With ASIO, you can map the available sound card I/O ports as needed for playback and recording, and record more than two tracks simultaneously. ASIO drivers address areas of efficient audio processing, high data throughput, synchronization, low signal latency, and extensibility of audio hardware.

Core Audio (introduced in Mac OS 10.3) is similar to ASIO. Like ASIO, it allows software to directly access the audio hardware at a low-level, reducing overhead and latency. 

To verify that the correct driver is selected for Adobe Audition (Windows): 

  1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Audio Hardware
  2. Choose the setting under Device Class that corresponds to your audio device. Make sure that the installed sound card driver is selected in the Audio Driver menu. 
  • If an ASIO device driver is available, then be sure to select it. 
  • If an ASIO device driver is NOT available, then select MME under Device Class

Note: Adobe recommends that you choose the ASIO driver that is installed with your sound device instead of the MME driver. Only use the MME driver  in a situation where the system audio device does not have its own ASIO driver. 

To verify that the correct driver is selected for Adobe Audition (Mac OS):

  1. Choose Audition > Preferences > Audio Hardware
  2. Choose your audio device from the Default Input and Default Output pop-up menus. (Core Audio is automatically selected under Device Class on Mac OS.)

Note: If your device is not listed, check the Mac OS Audio MIDI Setup utility. Make sure that the device is installed and listed among the available audio devices. (Choose Applications > Utilities > Audio MIDI Setup to access the utility.)

3. Update the sound card driver

Many sound card manufacturers frequently update their software drivers. If you haven't recently updated the sound card driver, contact the sound card manufacturer for an updated driver. Or, download one from the manufacturer's website. 

4. Set Adobe Audition temporary folders to high-performance drives that have adequate free disk space

When you record in Edit View, Adobe Audition stores temporary files in its Primary Temp Directory. Make sure that the Primary Temp Directory is set to the fastest drive (7200 rpm and above) and that has the most free space. Create a folder just for Adobe Audition temporary files. By creating a folder for the temporary files, you can find the files easily if it's necessary to delete them. 

To create and set the location of the Primary Temp Directory: 

  1. Create a folder at the root of the hard drive where you want the Primary Temp Directory (for example, AuditionTemp).
  2. In Adobe Audition, choose Preferences > Media & Disk Cache.
  3. In the Temporary Folders section, enter the path (or browse) to the folder you created in step 1. 

When you record in Multitrack View, Adobe Audition stores files directly into a subfolder within the folder of the current session. (For example, with a session called MySession.sesx a folder called MySession_Recorded contains all the files recorded for that session.) Make sure that the session files (and this associated folder) are stored on the fastest drive (7200 rpm and above) with the most free space. 

Putting the Adobe Audition temporary directories or session folders on separate hard drives can improve performance. If you have multiple hard drives, put the Primary Temp Folder and the session folders on the hard drive that doesn't contain the Adobe Audition program files. 

5. Run Adobe Audition while no other applications are running

Some applications can cause system errors or freezes when running concurrently with Adobe Audition. Before starting Adobe Audition, disable other applications, including startup items (items that start automatically when you start up or log in). 

To disable startup items on Windows, do the following: 

  1. Quit all applications. 
  2. Choose Start > Run, and type msconfig in the Open box. Click OK. 

  3. Click the Startup tab, and click Disable All. 
  4. Select any startup items that are essential for testing the problem (for example, a driver control panel for the installed sound device). If you are unsure whether an item is essential, leave it selected (enabled). 
  5. Click OK, and restart Windows. 
  6. Right-click icons in the Notification Area (called the System Tray in earlier versions of Windows) to close or disable any startup items that are still active. 

Then, try to re-create the problem: 

  • If the problem doesn't occur, then one of the disabled startup items conflicts with Adobe Audition. Re-enable startup items one at a time, testing each time until you determine which item conflicts with Adobe Audition. Then contact that item's developer for an update, if available. 
  • If the problem does occur, then startup items aren't the cause and you can re-enable them.
    1. Choose Start > Run, and type msconfig in the Open box. Click OK. 
    2. Click the Startup tab, and click Enable All. 
    3. Click OK, and restart Windows. 

To disable startup items on Mac OS, do the following:

  1. Choose Apple Menu > Log Out [User Name].
  2. In the confirmation dialog, click Log Out. After a few moments, the login window appears.
  3. In the login window, select the name of the user account that you are troubleshooting.
  4. Type the user account's password in the Password field; but do not press Return, and do not click Log In yet.
  5. Hold down the Shift key and click Log In. Release the Shift key when the Dock appears. Login items are disabled until you log out (or restart the computer).

Then, try to re-create the problem: 

  • If the problem doesn't occur, then one of the disabled startup items conflicts with Adobe Audition. Re-enable startup items one at a time, testing each time until you determine which item conflicts with Adobe Audition. Then contact that item's developer for an update, if available. 
  • If the problem does occur, then startup items aren't the cause and you can re-enable them. 
    • Reenable the login items by logging out (via Apple Menu > Log Out [User Name]). Then log back in to the same account without holding down the Shift key.

6. Change the buffer size (Core Audio or ASIO) or latency (MME) settings

Lowering the buffer size setting can lower latency, and help eliminate clicks, pops, dropouts, and other distortions that can occur in recording or playback. Before you adjust the buffer settings, note the current buffer settings so that you can restore them if necessary. If you use the MME driver, the buffer size is controlled by adjusting the Latency settings within Adobe Audition. 

To change the MME Latency settings on Windows, do the following: 

  1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Audio Hardware. 
  2. Select the MME from the Device Class pop-up menu.
  3. Choose the appropriate latency from the Latency pop-up menu.

Note: Choose the lowest available latency setting that gives acceptable playback/recording performance.

If you use an ASIO sound card, then see the manufacturer's documentation for details on setting the buffer size. Depending on your particular ASIO driver, buffer size settings are sometimes available by clicking the Settings button next to the Device pop-up menu in the Audio Hardware preferences window.

To change the buffer size on Mac OS, do the following:

  1. Choose Audition > Preferences > Audio Hardware.
  2. Select the appropriate buffer size from the I/O Buffer Size pop-up menu.

Note the following Buffer Size guidelines: 

  • To improve recording performance, lower the buffer size (from 32 through 256 Samples); this setting lowers the latency. 
  • To improve playback and mixing performance (with effects), increase the buffer size (from 512 through 2048 samples); this setting increases latency.

7. Update the Video Display driver

Adobe Audition CS5.5, and later, are more graphically intense than earlier versions and can take advantage of more video RAM as well as most recent driver updates. If you haven't recently updated the video card driver, contact the video card manufacturer for an updated driver. Or, download one from the manufacturer's website. 

8. Reduce Monitoring/Metering overhead

By default, when a track is armed for record in multitrack, Adobe Audition automatically shows the input levels for the incoming signal on the armed track. This display is a visual metering, and does not pass the incoming signal to the outputs. To monitor (listen to) the incoming signal, press the "I" button to the right of the record arm button for the track. This button enables metering AND monitors the incoming signal for that track.

Disabling input metering can help to reduce overhead and, therefore, reduce latency in sessions that contain latent effects. 

To disable input metering, do the following: 

  1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Multitrack on Windows, choose Audition > Preferences > Multitrack for Mac OS.

  2. Deselect "Enable input metering when arming tracks for record." 

9. Disarm tracks for recording

Having tracks armed for recording when they aren't in use adds additional overhead to the system. This additional overhead can contribute to play back problems in sessions with latent effects. Armed tracks display the Arm for Record (R) button in red. Disarm these tracks by clicking the R button.

10. Record at the sample rate of the selected hardware

To ensure the highest quality, lowest latency recordings, record at the same sample rate as the chosen hardware in the Audition Preferences.

You can determine the device sample rate by going to Preferences > Audio Hardware. The sample rate can be chosen for the device when using the MME driver on Windows or the Core Audio driver on Mac.

If you are using an ASIO device, set the sample rate through the preferences console that the device manufacturer provides.

When creating new audio files or multitrack sessions in Audition, always choose the sample rate of the device for the best results.

11. Disable the Adobe Graphics Manager (AGM) (Audition CS6, and later)

AGM is a great feature for improving the display of text and fonts throughout the Audition application.  It is also useful for improving the responsiveness of live graph controls, user interface-heavy panels that update often (like frequency analysis) and scrolling for the waveform. At the same time, AGM also uses more resources that can sometimes increase dropouts or negatively impact recordings. Adobe doesn't expect this issue to be common. However, it can occur on lower-end machines or systems that are overloaded by other processes running in the background.

If you are experiencing dropouts in your recordings, you can disable AGM by going to Preferences > Appearance.

Deselect the option for “Use Adobe Graphics Manager for user interface” and restart Audition.

You could notice some appearance changes in the user interface (and differences between the font on Mac and Windows). However, this step decreases the overhead needed for displaying graphics and improves recording results by decreasing the chance for dropouts.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy