转码可能会占用整个编辑过程 10% 的时间。本最佳实践指南介绍了如何使用 Adobe Premiere Pro 的原生格式工作流程节省时间,包括适合于几乎所有情况下确保性能的各种选项。

IBC2019_BestPractices_NativeFormats

视频编辑始终以(摄像机拍摄的)一类文件格式开始,以专为消费设计的不同类型格式结束。拍摄的格式,以保留质量为优先。而交付成果,则以压缩为优先 - 其次才是尽可能高的质量。编辑人员需要在这两个选择之间挣扎求存。了解通过何种方式从摄像机源媒体导航到最终输出可以轻松节省大量时间。在此最佳实践指南中,我们将探索原生格式工作流程、如何(以及何时)优化媒体,以及如何高效地从 A 转到 B。

导入与收录

将素材引入 Premiere Pro 的基本方法有有两种:导入和收录。

当您“导入”媒体时,就相当于您告知 Premiere Pro,这些文件是您项目的一部分。Premiere Pro 会从原始位置播放您的文件,而且您可以在序列中使用它们。您的所有编辑和效果均会(非破坏地)应用到时间轴中:整个过程不会接触原始文件(也称为源媒体)。当您准备好导出时,Premiere Pro 会引用原始文件,应用您的编辑、效果、图形和音频调整来生成新的文件:最终输出。

当您“收录”媒体时,Premiere Pro 会创建该文件的副本。它可能是直接复制的副本、中间媒体文件(使用适合后期制作的编解码器)或代理文件。

了解您的选项

对于任意视频文件,编辑人员都至少要使用它的两个版本:源文件(“原生”媒体)和输出。这两个版本之间,还可以使用中间编解码器、代理或预渲染的预览。有关更多详细信息,请单击以下术语。

有时您可能会遇到只能编辑原生格式的情况。您的工作流程很简单:导入素材、查看镜头、构建自己的序列、编辑直到满意为止,最后导出结果。即使大多数情况下都可以使用原生格式,了解可用的选项也有助于您大部分时间一直保持高效。

转码指的是创建文件副本的过程,通常是为了更好地进行回放。转码结果使用相同的帧速率和帧大小,但使用的格式在您的系统上可以更好地回放。例如,手机素材(H264 或 HEVC)可能会占用大量处理器资源,因此您可以选择转码为某种编解码器(例如 ProRes 或 DNx),而对于时间较短的某些项目,进行转码可能是浪费时间。

代理是源文件的轻量型副本。例如,ProRes 4K 素材的一分钟很可能就是几 GB 数据。而该素材的代理副本可能只有几百 MB。Premiere Pro 允许您在收录期间创建代理,这意味着,当您开始使用源媒体进行编辑时,Premiere 会在后台生成代理。代理完成后,Premiere 会自动将源文件替换为代理。您可以在源文件和代理之间来回切换,但没有必要:您添加到素材的所有编辑和效果都将应用于源文件以供您导出。

渲染指的是在编辑期间将效果与素材合并。如果系统速度开始降低,您可以执行此操作以保持实时回放。您可通过使用 Premiere Pro 创建剪辑或部分序列的预览,“开始渲染”。

预览是一种“一次性”的渲染文件,可加快编辑期间的回放速度。如果时间轴的某个部分在其上方有一条红线(而不是黄线),则意味着 Premiere Pro 使用 CPU 来处理该部分或剪辑。如果回放断断续续,您可以通过创建预览(选择“序列”菜单 >“渲染入点到出点的效果”)来修复此问题。您也可以选择“渲染入点到出点”以渲染该部分中的所有内容(而不仅仅是效果)。这需要一些时间,因此最好在休息时间进行此操作,但它可以带来巨大的隐藏好处:预览可以显著加快项目结束时的编码过程,因为 Premiere Pro 已经为时间轴的该部分完成了所有数学计算。

有关详细信息,请参阅最佳实践:加快导出速度

编码与最终输出的压缩有关。开始项目时,您可能拥有数百 Gb 素材。您编辑的项目可能仅包含这些内容的一部分,但仍有太多用于分发的数据,且并未针对回放进行优化。编码会提取在时间轴上的所有媒体(包括所有效果、图形和音频),并进行压缩以实现文件大小和媒体质量的最佳平衡。 

有关详细信息,请参阅最佳实践:加快导出速度

中间编解码器指的是后期制作格式,例如 Apple ProRes、Avid DNxHD/R 和 GoPro Cineform 编解码器系列。这些编解码器旨在保留来自源素材的图像质量和详细信息,并针对更好的回放进行优化。广播公司和后期制作公司通常会使用标准化中间格式,以简化其工作流程,但这也意味着需要在开始工作之前对素材进行转码。

转码需要多长时间?

转码的时间通常为 1:1:这意味着对一小时的源素材进行转码,就需要大约一个小时的时间。如果您需要在一个工作日的 8 小时工作时间内处理一个一小时的素材,那么利用 Premiere Pro 的原生格式支持,可为您节约大概 10% 的时间。无论您使用原生文件还是使用后台转码,情况都是如此。

确保性能以实现高效编辑

提前做好准备是成功的关键。其中包括准备适用于后期处理的硬件(请参阅 Premiere Pro 新系统要求)、正确的驱动程序(请参见 Premiere Pro 的 GPU 和 GPU 驱动程序要求)以及为项目规划适当的工作流程。

如前所述,原生格式工作流程是最简单的。对于很多项目,例如内容较短、媒体类型较少的项目,在 Premiere Pro 中使用原生工作流程速度最快。

但如果不是这种项目的话,应该怎么办?部分格式(例如高分辨率媒体或手机素材)更适合在您的编辑系统中回放。如果您拥有媒体来自不同类型摄像机的混合时间轴,则您会要求 Premiere Pro 执行多种不同类型的处理。实际情况是,在系统硬件、存储速度和可用的工作时间受限的情况下,总是存在一个“浮动效率指标”。在某些情况下,值得使用转码。

在以下两种典型情况下,转码就可能有意义:

  1. 如果您的系统硬件很难在不掉帧的情况下,迅速解码媒体。这会根据特定的编解码器、格式和整体系统性能而有所不同。
  2. 如果您的组织使用中间编解码器/格式,这通常是为了回放和后期制作的性能。文件大小通常大于 Long GOP(压缩率更高)媒体。将其与摄像机录制编解码器相比,该编解码器可最大限度地利用有限的存储空间,而代价则是会降低回放性能。

Long GOP、高度压缩的媒体(例如,大多数 DSLR 拍摄的媒体种类)通常需要更高的处理能力,而这会导致总体性能降低。

如果要对媒体进行转码,则最有效的方法是在 Premiere Pro 使用支持“智能渲染”的编解码器。有关详细信息,请参阅最佳实践:加快导出速度

转码的好处

在与大量协作者一起合作时,转码为单一编解码器和格式可以带来很多帮助。要用到多种创意应用程序时,转码可简化工作流程(在处理原生格式方面,并非所有这些应用程序都可以像 Premiere Pro 一样灵活)。转码为用于后期制作的编解码器时,性能通常会提高。

在处理较长的项目时,如果团队使用共享存储空间来进行后期制作不同部分的工作,则转码通常需要更多时间。实际上,有些制作会设置一位专门的数字成像技术人员在现场负责媒体文件转码和整理,然后再交给编辑人员。

转码方式

有两种常用的转码工作流程:

  1. 在后台中转码
  2. 使用 Adobe Media Encoder 监视文件夹转码

在本文档中,“转码”指的是在保持原始帧大小和帧速率的同时,更改用于存储视频和音频信息的编解码器。在工作流程的其余部分,转码后的素材将成为媒体的主版本。作为主版本的此素材现在将由 Premiere Pro 当作源媒体进行处理,并用于输出。

正如前文所述,(同样强健的)代理工作流程使用了媒体的临时版本,以仅降低编辑的硬件要求。在导出最终输出时,系统不会引用这些文件。

后台转码

可对 Premiere Pro 项目收录设置进行配置,以在导入时将所有媒体转码。设置过程有一点复杂,但如果您需要转码,这就是值得的。因为 Premiere Pro 支持此类广泛使用的原生格式,您通常能够使用原始的原生源媒体开始编辑,而无需等待转码过程完成。显而易见,这可以节省大量的时间!

转码完成后,剪辑会自动重新链接到新版本的媒体。重新链接会在后台进行,除非您想切换回去查看源媒体,否则您不必在编辑时更改任何内容。

Adobe Media Encoder 会自动启动以在后台执行转码。可以在 Adobe Media Encoder 中查看进度。因为这是一个独立的应用程序,所以它对 Premiere Pro 中的工作影响很小。

项目设置
项目设置
媒体浏览器切换
媒体浏览器切换

编解码器选项

最常见的中间/后期编解码器选项是 Apple 的 ProRes、Avid 的 DNxHD/HR 和 GoPro 的 Cineform 编解码器。Premiere 的默认安装程序还包括其他常见工作流程编解码器,例如 AVC Intraframe、XAVC 等等。

项目设置
项目设置

进度面板 + Adobe Media Encoder

如果启用了“收录”选项,当导入新媒体时,Adobe Media Encoder 会在后台启动。您也可以通过 Premiere Pro 中的“进度”面板查看进度。

在默认情况下,Premiere Pro 中进行视频回放期间,会暂停转码以提升性能。您可在 Premiere Pro 的用户首选项中更改此选项。

Adobe Media Encoder 的进度面板
Adobe Media Encoder 的进度面板
进度
进度

Adobe Media Encoder 监视文件夹

Adobe Media Encoder 可以安装在不同的计算机系统上。

使用监视文件夹,可自动将新媒体文件转码并放置到目标目录中。

随后,编辑人员或其助理可将该媒体添加到 Adobe Premiere Pro。

添加监视文件夹
添加监视文件夹

注意:

现有预设是构建带两个音轨的目标剪辑,但通过在 Adobe Media Encoder 中创建预设(可导入 Premiere Pro),可以设置其他音频配置。 

总结

Premiere Pro 的原生文件支持可以使用很晚才到手的媒体,并且很多项目可以全程使用原生格式完成。了解您的选项,可让您高效地管理媒体并完成编辑。

本文的姊妹篇,其重点放在了“导出”上。有关详细信息,请参阅最佳实践:加快导出速度

关于这些最佳做法指南

Adobe 可帮助您更快地到达终点。请参阅我们关于视频编辑和制作的最佳实践指南:

贡献者

  • Alex Macleod 是一名专业制作人兼广播顾问,同时还是英国 Media City Training 公司的老板。
  • Jeff Greenberg 是一名顾问兼主讲师,而且是《Adobe Premiere Pro Studio Techniques》的作者
  • Maxim Jago 是一名居住在巴黎的电影制作人兼主讲师,而且是《Premiere Pro Classroom in a Book》的作者。
  • Jarle Leirpoll 是一名居住在挪威的电影制作人、编辑人员兼主讲师。他也是《The Cool Stuff in Premiere Pro》的作者。
  • Joe Newcombe 在一家位列支持合作伙伴名单中的、面向广播公司和后期制作公司的系统集成企业担任销售和市场主管。他现居住在英国。
  • Ian Robinson 是一名广播动画设计人员兼正规 Adobe MAX 培训师。Ian 居住在科罗拉多州的西尔弗索恩。

Transcoding can take up around 10% of your time in the edit. This Best Practice guide explains how to save time with Adobe Premiere Pro using native format workflows, including your options for ensuring performance in almost all situations.

IBC2019_BestPractices_NativeFormats

Video editing always starts with one class of file formats (camera capture) and ends with a different type of formats, designed for consumption. With capture formats, the priority is to preserve quality. With deliverables, the priority is compression – with as much quality as possible. The editor lives between these two worlds. Knowing how to navigate from camera source media to final output can save an incredible amount of time and stress. In this Best Practices guide, we explore the native format workflows, how (and when) to optimize your media, and how to get from A to B efficiently.

Importing vs Ingesting

There are two basic approaches for bringing footage into Premiere Pro: Import and Ingest.

When you import media, you are telling Premiere Pro that these files are part of your project. Premiere Pro plays your files from their original locations and you can use them in your Sequence. All of your edits and effects are applied (non-destructively) in the Timeline: The original files (aka source media) are not touched. When you are ready to export, Premiere Pro references the original files, applying your edits, effects, graphics and audio adjustments to generate a new file: the finished output.

When you ingest media, Premiere Pro creates a copy of that file. It could be a straight copy, a mezzanine media file (using a post-production friendly codec), or a proxy file.

Understanding your options

An editor works with at least two versions of any video file: the source files (the “native” media) and the output. In between, you many also work with a mezzanine codec, proxies, or pre-rendered Previews. Click on the terms below for more details.

If you could only edit native formats, you probably would. Your workflow is simple: import your footage review the shots, build your sequence, edit until satisfied, and export the results. Even if you are able to work with native formats most of the time, understanding your options means you can stay efficient with almost any content.

Transcoding refers to the process of creating a copy of your file, generally for better playback. Transcodes are the same frame rates and frame sizes but use a format which plays back better on your system. For example, mobile phone footage (H264 or HEVC) can be quite processor intensive so you may elect to transcode to a codec, such as ProRes or DNx, for shorter projects, it may not be worth the time to transcode.

Proxies are lightweight copies of your source files. For example, one minute of ProRes 4-K footage could easily be several GB of data. A proxy copy of that footage might only be a few 100 MB. Premiere Pro allows you to create proxies during ingest, which means you can start editing right away using the source media while Premiere generates the proxies in the background. Once the proxies are complete, Premiere automatically replaces the source files with the proxies. You can toggle back and forth between the source files and the proxies, but that’s not necessary: all the edits and effects you add to your footage are applied to the source files for your export.

Rendering is when you combine Effects with your footage during editing. You do this to maintain real-time playback if your system starts slowing down. You can “render as you go” with Premiere Pro by creating Previews of a clip, or a part of your Sequence.

Previews are “disposable” render files that speed up playback during your edit. If a section of your Timeline has a red line above it (instead of yellow), it means that Premiere Pro is using the CPU to process that section or clip. If playback is choppy, you can fix this by creating a Preview (choose Sequence menu > Render Effects In to Out). You can also choose Render In to Out to render everything in the section (not just the Effects). This takes a moment, so it’s great to do during coffee breaks, but it has a huge hidden benefit: Previews dramatically speed up encoding process at the end of your project because Premiere Pro has already done all the math for that section of your Timeline. 

For more information, see Best Practices: Export faster.

Encoding is about compression for your final output. You may start a project with hundreds of Gigabytes of footage. Your edited project probably only has a fraction of that content, but it’s still too much data for distribution and it’s not optimized for playback. Encoding takes all the media on your Timeline, including all the Effects, graphics, and audio and compresses it for and optimal balance of file size and media quality. 

For more information, see Best Practices: Export faster.

Mezzanine codecs are post-production formats, such as the Apple ProRes, Avid DNxHD/R, and GoPro Cineform codec families. These codecs are designed to retain the image quality and details from your source footage but optimized for better playback. Broadcasters and postproduction facilities generally standardize on mezzanine formats to streamline their workflows, but it does mean transcoding their footage before they can start.

How long does transcoding take?

Transcoding time is typically 1:1: meaning one hour of source footage takes about one hour to transcode. If you have one hour of footage to work with in an 8-hour day, using Premiere Pro’s support for native formats saves around 10% of your time. This is true whether you work with the native files, or use background transcoding.

Ensuring performance for efficient editing

Preparing ahead is the key to success. That includes having the right hardware for post (See Premiere Pro System Requirements), the correct drivers (see the GPU and GPU Driver Requirements for Premiere Pro) and planning the right workflow for your projects.

As we’ve discussed, native format workflows are the simplest. For many projects, such as shorter content with fewer different types of media, native workflows in Premiere Pro are the quickest way to work.

But what if they’re not? Some formats, such as high-resolution media or mobile phone footage, are more work for your editing system to play back. If you have a mixed timeline with media from different types of cameras, you’re asking Premiere Pro to do numerous different types of processing. The reality is, when working with limited system hardware, storage speed, and available work time, there is always a “sliding scale of efficiency.” At a certain point, it becomes worthwhile to transcode.

There are two typical scenarios where transcoding may make sense:

  1. If your system hardware struggles to decode your media responsively, without dropping frames. This varies, depending upon the particular codec, format, and overall system performance.
  2. If your organization uses a mezzanine codec/format, it is chosen for playback and post-production performance. The file size is often larger than long-GOP (more compressed) media. Contrast this with camera recording codecs, which maximize the use of limited storage at the expense of playback performance.

Long GOP, heavily compressed media (the kind captured by most DSLRs, for example) usually requires higher processing power, and this results in slower performance overall.

If you do transcode your media, the most efficient approach is to use a codec that supports Smart Rendering in Premiere Pro. For more information, see Best Practices: Export faster.

The benefits of transcoding

Transcoding to a single unified codec and format can be helpful when working with a large group of collaborators. It simplifies the workflow when incorporating multiple creative applications (not all of which may be as flexible as Premiere Pro in native formats). When transcoding to a codec intended for post-production, performance generally improves.

When working on long form projects, with teams working on different parts of post-production using shared storage, there is often more time for transcoding. In fact, some productions have a dedicated digital imaging technician on-location performing transcodes and organizing media files before they reach the editor.

How to transcode

There are two primary workflows for transcoding:

  1. Transcoding in the background
  2. Use Adobe Media Encoder Watch folder to transcode

For the purposes of this document, “transcoding” means changing the codec used to store the video and audio information while keeping the original frame size and frame rate. The transcoded footage becomes the Master version of the media throughout the rest of the workflow. As masters, this footage is now treated as source media by Premiere Pro and used for output.

As mentioned earlier, proxy workflows (which are also robust) use a temporary version of the media to lessen the hardware demands purely for editorial. While exporting the final output, the system does not reference these files.

Background transcoding

The Premiere Pro Project Ingest settings can be configured to transcode all media when it is imported. The setup process is a little involved, but if you need to transcode, it’s worth it. Because Premiere Pro supports such a wide range of native formats, you usually are able to begin editing using the original native source media, without waiting for the transcoding process to complete. It goes without saying this is a huge time-saver!

As the transcodes are completed, the clips are automatically relinked to the new versions of the media. The relinking happens behind the scenes and you don’t have to change anything while you’re editing, unless you want to toggle back to see your source media.

Adobe Media Encoder launches automatically to perform transcodes in the background. Progress can be viewed in Adobe Media Encoder. Because it’s a separate application, it has little impact on your work in Premiere Pro.

Project settings
Project settings
Media browser switch
Media browser switch

Codec choice

The most common mezzanine/post codec choices are Apple’s ProRes, Avid’s DNxHD/HR and GoPro’s Cineform codecs. Premiere’s default installation also includes other common workflow codecs as AVC-Intraframe, XAVC, and others.

Project settings
Project settings

Progress panel + Adobe Media Encoder

If the Ingest options are enabled, when new media is imported, Adobe Media Encoder launches in the background. You can also view progress via the Progress panel in Premiere Pro.

By default, transcoding is paused when during video playback in Premiere Pro to improve performance. You can change this option in the Premiere Pro user preferences.

Adobe Media Encoder progress panel
Adobe Media Encoder progress panel
Progress
Progress

Adobe Media Encoder Watch folders

Adobe Media Encoder can be set up on a difference computer system.

Using Watch folders, new media files can automatically be transcoded and placed in a target directory.

The editor or assistant editor can then add that media to Adobe Premiere Pro.

Add watch folder
Add watch folder

Note:

The existing presets are built targeting clips with two audio tracks but other audio configurations can be set by creating a preset in Adobe Media Encoder, which can be imported into Premiere Pro. 

Summing up

Premiere Pro’s native file support can be a life-saver for late-arriving media and many projects can be completed all-native. Understanding your options means that you can manage your media and complete your edit efficiently.

The companion piece to this article is focused on Exports. For more information, see Best Practices: Export faster.

About these Best Practice guides

Adobe helps you get to the finish line faster. See our Best Practice guides for video editing and production:

Contributors

  • Alex Macleod is a production professional, broadcasting consultant, and owner of Media City Training in the UK.
  • Jeff Greenberg is a consultant, master trainer, and author of Adobe Premiere Pro Studio Techniques.
  • Maxim Jago is a Paris-based filmmaker, master trainer, and author of Premiere Pro Classroom in a Book.
  • Jarle Leirpoll is a filmmaker, editor, and Master trainer based in Norway. He is also the author of The Cool Stuff in Premiere Pro.
  • Joe Newcombe is head of sales and marketing at Support Partners, a system integrator for broadcasters and post-production facilities. He is based in the UK.
  • Ian Robinson is a broadcast motion designer, and regular Adobe MAX trainer. Ian is based in Silverthorne, Colorado.