Learn how to share changes, receive changes, resolve editing conflicts when working on Team Projects.

Share your changes

The Team Projects service auto-saves every edit you make. However, your collaborators cannot see these edits until you choose to share your changes as a new version with them. Once you share your changes, an updated version is immediately made available to your collaborators. 

The Team Project service:

  • Examines your private view of the team project
  • Verifies that there are no conflicts with the work others have shared, and
  • Incorporates your changes into the current version of the shared team project. 

 

  1. Click the arrow  that points diagonally upwards.

    Share changes
    Share changes
    ss_share_1
  2. Alternately, in the File menu, select Edit > Team Project > Share My Changes.

  3. You can see a screen that prompts you to enter a comment about the changes you made. To make your changes available to your collaborators, click Share.

    ss_share_2
    ss_share_3a

    Note:

    You are reminded every two hours if you have not shared your changes. To change the frequency of this reminder or dismiss it, modify the settings in Preferences > Collaboration  within the Unshared Team projects Changes section.

    ss_share_3b

Use visual cues

New asset status badges in Premiere Pro alert you when team members edit the assets before they share those changes. These visual cues avoid editing conflicts:

  • A white up arrow indicates that you have added an asset and not shared, so your collaborators do not have access to that media in the team project.
ss_share_7
  • A white pencil indicates that you have edited an asset.
ss_share_8
  • An yellow pencil indicates that another collaborator has edited it.
ss_share_9
  • A red pencil warns that you and another editor have edited the asset and would lead to conflict when shared.
ss_share_10
  • A red trash can warns that a collaborator has deleted an asset.
ss_share_11

Get latest changes from collaborators

  • Select the Get Latest Changes arrow icon located in the lower-right corner of the Team Project panel or from the File menu, select Edit > Team Project > Get Latest Changes. Any changes made by your collaborators are synchronized and is available in a new version.

    Share changes
    Get Latest Changes

You are notified whenever collaborators share changes in several ways:   

  • OS-level notifications
ss_share_4
  • Creative Cloud desktop application activity stream.
ss_share_5

When another collaborator shares changes, a corresponding "shared" badge is added to the item in the Team Project Panel, the Timeline, and the Program Monitor or Source Monitor. 

Resolve conflicts

When multiple collaborators simultaneously work on a team project, it is possible that some of the edited media conflicts with the changes you recently shared. If there are conflicts after the latest changes, and  you attempt to share your work, Team Projects displays a conflict resolution dialog box with the following options:

  • You can retain your version.
  • You can retain the shared version.
  • You can copy and rename your version before accepting the shared version.

You can also decide to individually or collectively resolve all conflicts.

Note:

If you want to see the scope of changes in an asset or sequence before you resolve the conflict:

  • Select the Stop Resolving button in the Resolve conflicts dialog box
  • Navigate to the version history and open the conflicting asset as read-only in the source monitor, and 
  • Compare it with your version.

For more information, see Viewing Team Projects Versions.

 

11
Resolving editing conflicts

View versions of Team Projects

Each time a collaborator shares a change, the Team Projects service creates and stores a new version of the project. You can easily view or go back to a previously shared version. Versions are a permanent and easy way to maintain the shared history of a Team Project. 

  1. Select Edit >Team Project >Browse versions to open the current version of the project.

    ss_versions_1
  2. Right-click on the Team Project in the list within Creative Cloud in the Media Browser, and select Team Projects Versions to browse a list view with all the thumbnails of the media in the Versions Panel. You can also use the versions slider to visually scroll through the various versions of the Team Projects. 

    ss_versions_2
    ss_versions_3
    ss_versions_4
  3. Right-click Team Project in the list within the Creative Cloud in the Media Browser, and select New Team Project From Version to create a Team Project from a prior shared version. A dialog  box with the following characteristics opens up:

    • Pre-populate the name of the current team project and append a copy to it
    • Queue up the same list of collaborators as the original team project.

    Click Ok to create a Team Project.

    ss_versions_5
    ss_versions_6

View auto-saves

The Team Projects service automatically saves every edit you make. The new auto-saves feature allows you to check when your edits were auto-saved, easily revert to a previous auto-save, or create a new Team Project from an existing auto-saved edit.

  1. Select Edit >Team Project > Browse Auto-Saves to browse your personal auto-saves to display the latest version of the team project you are working on.

    ss_autosaves_1
  2. Select and browse to automatically open any auto-saved media in the Auto-Saves panel. You can also use the Team Projects Auto-Saves slider to scroll through auto-saves.

    ss_autosaves_2
    ss_autosaves_3
    ss_autosaves_4
  3. Select Make Auto-Save the Latest to undo a recent change and make a prior auto-save the current one.

    ss_autosaves_5_
  4. To create a team project from an auto-save, right-click on the team project within Creative Cloud in and select New Team Project From Auto-Save and click Ok.  A dialog opens and:

    • Pre-populates the name of the current team project
    • Appends an auto-saved copy to it
    • Queues up the same list of collaborators as the original team project.
    ss_autosaves_6
    ss_autosaves_7

    Note:

    You cannot view auto-saves within Prelude as it does not support media browser.

Use interrupted connection mode

Team projects includes an Interrupted Connection mode feature that allows you to continue working even if your Internet connection is temporarily interrupted.  During such interruptions, you cannot share your changes or get latest changes from other collaborators, but you can continue to work and save your edits locally.

0

When the Internet connection is interrupted and collaboration features are unavailable:

  • The collaborator icons and the sharing buttons disappear, and
  • The sync status icon changes to a yellow warning triangle.

This icon is located in the lower-left corner of the Premiere Pro interface, and in the upper right corner in After Effects. Mouse over the icon to view status of the connection mode disconnected (changes are saved locally)  and the time of the last sync before your connection was interrupted.


ss_interupted_1
1

When you are reconnected to the Internet, the collaborator icons, get latest changes and share changes buttons reappear. The sync status icon changes to gray arrows to indicate that your local changes are being synced to the cloud. A green check mark replaces the gray icon once sync is complete. Mouse over the icon to view information about the Connected (all local changes have been synced remotely)  status and the time of the last sync.


ss_interupted_2

Note:

The team projects service is not designed to support offline workflows. Working in a team project for an extended period when disconnected from the Internet is not recommended. The Interrupted Connection mode feature is meant to provide safety and security if there is intermittent Internet interruptions only.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy