比较模拟和数字音频

在模拟和数字音频中,声音的传送和储存方式非常不同。

模拟音频:正负电压

麦克风将声音压力波转换成电线中的电压变化:高压成为正电压,低压成为负电压。当这些电压变化通过麦克风电线传输时,可以在磁带上记录成磁场强度的变化或在黑胶唱片上记录成沟槽大小的变化。扬声器的工作方式与麦克风相反,即通过音频录音和振动中的电压信号重新产生压力波。

数字音频:零和一

与磁带或黑胶唱片等模拟存储介质不同,计算机以数字方式将音频信息存储成一系列零和一。在数字存储中,原始波形被分成各个称为采样的快照。此过程通常称为数字化采样音频,但有时称为模数转换

从麦克风录制到计算机时,例如,模数转换器将模拟信号转换为计算机能够存储和处理的数字样本。

了解采样率

采样率表示音频信号每秒的数字快照数。该速率决定了音频文件的频率范围。采样率越高,数字波形的形状越接近原始模拟波形。低采样率会限制可录制的频率范围,这可导致录音表现原始声音的效果不佳。

两个采样率

A. 使原始声波扭曲的低采样率。 B. 完全重现原始声波的高采样率。 

为了重现给定频率,采样率必须至少是该频率的两倍。例如,CD 的采样率为每秒 44,100 个采样,因此可重现最高为 22,050 Hz 的频率,此频率刚好超过人类的听力极限 20,000 Hz。

以下是数字音频最常用的采样率:

采样率

品质级别

频率范围

11,025 Hz

较差的 AM 电台(低端多媒体)

0–5,512 Hz

22,050 Hz

接近 FM 电台(高端多媒体)

0–11,025 Hz

32,000 Hz

好于 FM 电台(标准广播采样率)

0–16,000 Hz

44,100 Hz

CD

0–22,050 Hz

48,000 Hz

标准 DVD

0–24,000 Hz

96,000 Hz

蓝光 DVD

0–48,000 Hz

了解位深度

位深度决定动态范围。采样声波时,为每个采样指定最接近原始声波振幅的振幅值。较高的位深度可提供更多可能的振幅值,产生更大的动态范围、更低的噪声基准和更高的保真度。

注意:

为获得最佳音质,Audition 在 32 位模式下变换所有音频,然后在保存文件时转换为指定的位深度。

位深度

品质级别

振幅值

动态范围

8 位

电话

256

48 dB

16 位

音频 CD

65,536

96 dB

24 位

音频 DVD

16,777,216

144 dB

32 位

最佳

4,294,967,296

192 dB

位深度越高,提供的动态范围越大。

以 dBFS 为单位测量振幅

在数字音频中,幅度以满量程的分贝数或 dBFS 为单位测量。最大可能的振幅为 0 dBFS;所有低于该值的振幅均表示为负数。

注意:

给定的 dBFS 值不直接对应于以声学 dB 为单位测量的原始声音压力级别。

音频文件的内容和大小

硬盘中的音频文件(如 WAV 文件),包含一个表示采样率和位深度的小标头,然后是一长列数字,每个采样一个数字。这些文件可能非常大。例如,在每秒 44,100 个采样和每采样 16 位下,一个单声道文件每秒需要 86 KB,每分钟大约 5 MB。对于具有两个声道的立体声文件,该数字将翻倍到每分钟 10 MB。

Adobe Audition 数字化音频的方式

在 Adobe Audition 中录制音频时,声卡启动录制过程,并指定使用的采样率和位深度。通过“线路输入”或“麦克风”端口,声卡接收模拟音频并以指定的采样率进行数字采样。Adobe Audition 按顺序存储每个采样,直到录制停止。

在 Adobe Audition 中播放文件时,进行相反的过程。Adobe Audition 将一系列数字采样发送到声卡。声卡重建原始波形并以模拟信号的方式通过“线路输出”端口发送到扬声器。

总之,数字化音频的过程始于空气中的压力波。麦克风将此压力波转换为电压变化。声卡将这些电压变化转换为数字采样。在模拟声音变成数字音频之后,Adobe Audition 可以录制、编辑、处理和混合音频,可能性仅受限于您的想象力。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Comparing analog and digital audio

In analog and digital audio, sound is transmitted and stored very differently.

Analog audio: positive and negative voltage

A microphone converts the pressure waves of sound into voltage changes in a wire: high pressure becomes positive voltage, and low pressure becomes negative voltage. When these voltage changes travel down a microphone wire, they can be recorded onto tape as changes in magnetic strength or onto vinyl records as changes in groove size. A speaker works like a microphone in reverse, taking the voltage signals from an audio recording and vibrating to re-create the pressure wave.

Digital audio: zeroes and ones

Unlike analog storage media such as magnetic tape or vinyl records, computers store audio information digitally as a series of zeroes and ones. In digital storage, the original waveform is broken up into individual snapshots called samples. This process is typically known as digitizing or sampling the audio, but it is sometimes called analog-to-digital conversion.

When you record from a microphone into a computer, for example, analog-to-digital converters transform the analog signal into digital samples that computers can store and process.

Understanding sample rate

Sample rate indicates the number of digital snapshots taken of an audio signal each second. This rate determines the frequency range of an audio file. The higher the sample rate, the closer the shape of the digital waveform is to that of the original analog waveform. Low sample rates limit the range of frequencies that can be recorded, which can result in a recording that poorly represents the original sound.

Two sample rates

A. Low sample rate that distorts the original sound wave. B. High sample rate that perfectly reproduces the original sound wave. 

To reproduce a given frequency, the sample rate must be at least twice that frequency. For example, CDs have a sample rate of 44,100 samples per second, so they can reproduce frequencies up to 22,050 Hz, which is just beyond the limit of human hearing, 20,000 Hz.

Here are the most common sample rates for digital audio:

Sample rate

Quality level

Frequency range

11,025 Hz

Poor AM radio (low‑end multimedia)

0–5,512 Hz

22,050 Hz

Near FM radio (high‑end multimedia)

0–11,025 Hz

32,000 Hz

Better than FM radio (standard broadcast rate)

0–16,000 Hz

44,100 Hz

CD

0–22,050 Hz

48,000 Hz

Standard DVD

0–24,000 Hz

96,000 Hz

Blu-ray DVD

0–48,000 Hz

Understanding bit depth

Bit depth determines dynamic range. When a sound wave is sampled, each sample is assigned the amplitude value closest to the original wave’s amplitude. Higher bit depth provides more possible amplitude values, producing greater dynamic range, a lower noise floor, and higher fidelity.

Note:

For the best audio quality, Audition transforms all audio in 32‑bit mode and then converts to a specified bit depth when saving files.

Bit depth

Quality level

Amplitude values

Dynamic range

8‑bit

Telephony

256

48 dB

16‑bit

Audio CD

65,536

96 dB

24‑bit

Audio DVD

16,777,216

144 dB

32‑bit

Best

4,294,967,296

192 dB

Higher bit depths provide greater dynamic range.

Measuring amplitude in dBFS

In digital audio, amplitude is measured in decibels below full scale, or dBFS. The maximum possible amplitude is 0 dBFS; all amplitudes below that are expressed as negative numbers.

Note:

A given dBFS value does not directly correspond to the original sound pressure level measured in acoustic dB.

Audio file contents and size

An audio file on your hard drive, such as a WAV file, consists of a small header indicating sample rate and bit depth, and then a long series of numbers, one for each sample. These files can be very large. For example, at 44,100 samples per second and 16 bits per sample, a mono file requires 86 KB per second—about 5 MB per minute. That figure doubles to 10 MB per minute for a stereo file, which has two channels.

How Adobe Audition digitizes audio

When you record audio in Adobe Audition, the sound card starts the recording process and specifies what sample rate and bit depth to use. Through Line In or Microphone In ports, the sound card receives analog audio and digitally samples it at the specified rate. Adobe Audition stores each sample in sequence until you stop recording.

When you play a file in Adobe Audition, the process happens in reverse. Adobe Audition sends a series of digital samples to the sound card. The card reconstructs the original waveform and sends it as an analog signal through Line Out ports to your speakers.

To sum up, the process of digitizing audio starts with a pressure wave in the air. A microphone converts this pressure wave into voltage changes. A sound card converts these voltage changes into digital samples. After analog sound becomes digital audio, Adobe Audition can record, edit, process, and mix it—the possibilities are limited only by your imagination.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy