Adobe Animate 可将数字视频素材编入基于 Web 的演示中。FLV 和 F4V (H.264) 视频格式具有技术和创意优势,允许您将视频和数据、图形、声音和交互式控件融合在一起。通过 FLV 和 F4V 视频,您可轻松将视频以几乎任何人都可以查看的格式放到网页上。

您选择的视频部署方式决定了创建视频内容和将它与 Animate 实现集成的方式。可以用以下方式将视频编入 Animate 中:

使用 Adobe Media Server 流式加载视频

可以在 Adobe® Media Server(专门针对传送实时媒体而优化的服务器解决方案)上承载视频内容。Adobe Media Server 使用实时消息传递协议 (RTMP),该协议设计用于实时服务器应用(如视频流和音频流内容)。可以承载您自己的 Adobe Media Server 或使用承载的 Flash® Video® Streaming Service (FVSS)。Adobe 已经与一些内容传送网络 (CDN) 提供商建立了合作伙伴关系,可提供能够跨高性能、可靠的网络按需传送 FLV 或 F4V 文件视频的承载服务。FVSS 是使用 Adobe Media Server 构建的,而且已直接集成到 CDN 网络的传送、跟踪和报告基础结构中,因此,它可以提供一种最有效的方法,向尽可能多的观众传送 FLV 或 F4V 文件,而且还为您省去设置和维护自己的流服务器硬件和网络的麻烦。

要控制视频播放和为用户提供直观控件以实现与视频流的交互,可使用 FLVPlayback 组件、Adobe® ActionScript® 或 Open Source Media Framework (OSMF)。有关使用 OSMF 的详细信息,请参阅 OSMF 文档

从 Web 服务器渐进式下载视频

如果您无法访问 Adobe Media Server 或 FVSS,或者需要来自仅包含有限视频内容的低容量网站的视频,则可以考虑渐进式下载。从 Web 服务器渐进式下载视频剪辑提供的效果比实时效果差(Adobe Media Server 可以提供实时效果);但是,您可以使用相对较大的视频剪辑,同时将所发布的 SWF 文件大小保持为最小。

若要控制视频播放并提供直观的控件方便用户与视频进行交互,请使用 FLVPlayback 组件或 ActionScript。

在 Animate 文档中嵌入视频

可以将持续时间较短的小视频文件直接嵌入到 Animate 文档中,然后将其作为 SWF 文件的一部分发布。将视频内容直接嵌入 Animate SWF 文件中会显著增加发布文件的大小,因此仅适合于小视频文件(时长通常少于 10 秒)。此外,在使用 Animate 文档中嵌入的较长视频剪辑时,音频到视频的同步(也称作音频/视频同步)会变得不同步。将视频嵌入到 SWF 文件中的另一个缺点是,在未重新发布 SWF 文件的情况下无法更新视频。

注意:

如果想在非引导层或非隐藏层上发布具有 H264 视频内容的 FLA,系统会显示一条警告消息,说明您要发布到的目标平台不支持嵌入的 H.264 视频。

控制视频播放

在 Animate 中,利用 FLVPlayback 组件可以控制视频播放,方式是编写用于播放外部视频流的自定义 ActionScript,或编写用于在时间轴中控制嵌入视频的视频播放的自定义 ActionScript。

FLVPlayback 组件

使您可以向 Animate 文档快速添加全功能的 FLV 播放控制,并提供对渐进式下载和流式加载 FLV 或 F4V 文件的支持。使用 FLVPlayback,可以轻松地为用户创建直观的用于控制视频播放的视频控件,还可以应用预制的外观或将自定义外观应用到视频界面。有关详细信息,请参阅 FLVPlayback 组件

Open Source Media Framework (OSMF)

借助 OSMF,开发人员可以轻松地选择和合并可插入组件来创建高质量、功能齐全的播放体验。有关更多信息,请参阅 OSMF 文档

使用 ActionScript 控制外部视频

在运行时使用 NetConnectionNetStream ActionScript 对象在 Animate 文档中播放外部 FLV 或 F4V 文件。有关详细信息,请参阅使用 ActionScript 控制外部视频播放

可以使用视频行为(预先编写的 ActionScript 脚本)控制视频播放。

在时间轴中控制嵌入的视频

若要控制嵌入的视频文件的播放,必须编写用于控制包含视频的时间轴的 ActionScript。有关详细信息,请参阅使用时间轴控制视频播放

视频导入向导

视频导入向导简化了将视频导入到 Animate 文档中的操作,它可以指引您选择现有的视频文件,然后导入该文件,以用于三种不同视频播放方案中的其中一种。视频导入向导为所选的导入和播放方法提供了基本级别的配置,之后您可以进行修改以满足特定的要求。

“视频导入”对话框提供了以下这些视频导入选项:

使用播放组件加载外部视频

导入视频并创建 FLVPlayback 组件的实例以控制视频播放。在您准备将 Animate 文档作为 SWF 发布并将其上载到 Web 服务器时,您还必须将视频文件上载到 Web 服务器或 Adobe Media Server,并按照已上载视频文件的位置配置 FLVPlayback 组件。

在 SWF 中嵌入 FLV 并在时间轴中播放

将 FLV 嵌入 Animate 文档中。这样导入视频时,该视频放置于时间轴中可以看到时间轴帧所表示的各个视频帧的位置。嵌入的 FLV 视频文件会成为 Animate 文档的一部分。

注意:将视频内容直接嵌入到 Animate SWF 文件中会显著增加发布文件的大小,因此仅适合于小的视频文件。此外,在使用 Animate 文档中嵌入的较长视频剪辑时,音频到视频的同步(也称作音频/视频同步)会变得不同步。

在时间轴中嵌入 H.264 视频

将 H.264 视频嵌入 Animate 文档中。使用此选项导入视频时,视频会被放置在舞台上,以用作设计阶段您制作动画的参考。在您拖拽或播放时间轴时,视频中的帧将呈现在舞台上。相关帧的音频也将回放。

注意

  • 如果想在非引导层或非隐藏层上发布具有 H264 视频内容的 FLA,系统会显示一条警告消息,说明您要发布到的目标平台不支持嵌入的 H.264 视频。

视频格式和 Animate

若要将视频导入 Animate 中,必须使用以 FLV 或 H.264 格式编码的视频。视频导入向导(“文件”>“导入”>“导入视频”)会检查您选择导入的视频文件;如果视频不是 Animate 可以播放的格式,便会提醒您。如果视频不是 FLV 或 F4V 格式,则可以使用 Adobe® Media® Encoder 以适当的格式对视频进行编码。

Adobe Media Encoder

Adobe® Media® Encoder 是独立编码应用程序,诸如 Adobe® Premiere® Pro、Adobe® Soundbooth® 和 Animate 之类的程序使用该应用程序输出到某些媒体格式。根据程序的不同,Adobe Media Encoder 提供了一个专用的“导出设置”对话框,该对话框包含与某些导出格式(如 Adobe Flash Video 和 H.264)关联的许多设置。对于每种格式,“导出设置”对话框包含为特定传送媒体定制的许多预设。也可以保存自定义预设,这样就可以与他人共享或根据需要重新加载它。

有关使用 Adobe Media Encoder 以 H.264 或 F4V 格式对视频进行编码的信息,请参阅使用 Adobe Media Encoder

H.264、On2 VP6 和 Sorenson Spark 视频编解码器

在使用 Adobe Media Encoder 对视频进行编码时,可以从三种不同的视频编解码器中选择一种,用来对 Animate 中使用的视频内容进行编码:

H.264

Flash Player 从版本 9.0.r115 开始引入了对 H.264 视频编解码器的支持。使用此编解码器的 F4V 视频格式提供的品质比特率之比远远高于以前的 Flash 视频编解码器,但所需的计算量要大于随 Flash Player 7 和 8 发布的 Sorenson Spark 和 On2 VP6 视频编解码器。

注意:如果您需要使用带 alpha 通道支持的视频进行复合,必须使用 On2 VP6 视频编解码器;F4V 不支持 alpha 视频通道。

On2 VP6

On2 VP6 编解码器是创建在 Flash Player 8 和更高版本中使用的 FLV 文件时使用的首选视频编解码器。On2 VP6 编解码器提供:

  • 与以相同数据速率进行编码的 Sorenson Spark 编解码器相比,视频品质更高

  • 支持使用 8 位 Alpha 通道来复合视频

    为了在相同数据速率下实现更好的视频品质,On2 VP6 编解码器的编码速度会明显降低,而且要求客户端计算机上有更多的处理器资源参与解码和播放。因此,请仔细考虑观众访问您的 FLV 视频内容时所使用的计算机需要满足的最低配置要求。

Sorenson Spark

Sorenson Spark 视频编解码器是在 Flash Player 6 中引入的,如果您打算发布要求与 Flash Player 6 和 7 保持向后兼容的 Animate 文档,则应使用它。如果您预期会有大量用户使用较老的计算机,则您应考虑使用 Sorenson Spark 编解码器对 FLV 文件进行编码,原因是在执行播放操作时,Sorenson Spark 编解码器所需的计算量比 On2 VP6 或 H.264 编解码器所需的计算量要小得多。

如果 Animate 内容动态地加载 Flash Professional 视频(使用渐进式下载或 Adobe Media Server),则在用户使用 Flash Player 8 或更高版本查看内容时,您可以使用 On2 VP6 视频,而无需重新发布原来创建用于 Flash Player 6 或 7 的 SWF 文件。通过将 On2 VP6 视频流传送到或下载到 Animate SWF 6 或 7 版本中,然后使用 Flash Player 8 或更高版本播放该视频,无需重新创建 SWF 文件,即可使用 Flash Player 8 和更高版本播放。

注意:

只有 Flash Player 8 和 9 才能同时支持 On2 VP6 视频的发布和播放。

编解码器

SWF 版本(发布版本)

Flash Player 版本(播放所需的版本)

Sorenson Spark

6

6, 7, 8

7

7, 8, 9, 10

On2 VP6

6, 7, 8

8, 9, 10

H.264

第 9.2 版或更高版本

第 9.2 版或更高版本

有关创建 Adobe FLV 和 F4V 视频的提示

遵循下列准则可以提供品质尽可能好的 FLV 或 F4V 视频:

在最终输出之前,以项目的原有格式处理视频

如果将预压缩的数字视频格式转换为另一种格式(如 FLV 或 F4V),则以前的编码器可能会引入视频杂波。第一个压缩程序已将其编码算法应用于视频,从而降低了视频的品质并减小了帧大小和帧速率。该压缩可能还会引入数字人为干扰或杂波。这种额外的杂波会影响最终的编码过程,因此,可能需要使用较高的数据速率来编码高品质的文件。

力求简洁

避免使用复杂的过渡,这是因为它们的压缩效果并不好,并且可能使最终压缩的视频在画面过渡时显得“矮胖”。 硬切换(相对于溶解)通常具有最佳效果。尽管有一些视频序列的画面可能很吸引人(例如,一个物体从第一条轨道后面由小变大并呈现“页面剥落”效果,或一个物体围绕一个球转动并随后飞离屏幕),但其压缩效果欠佳,因此应少用。

了解观众的数据速率

当通过 Internet 传送视频时,请以较低数据速率来生成文件。 具有高速 Internet 连接的用户几乎不用等待载入即可查看该文件,但是拨号用户必须等待文件下载。缩短剪辑以使下载时间限制在拨号用户能够接受的范围内。

选择适当的帧频

帧频表明每秒钟播放的帧数 (fps)。 如果剪辑的数据速率较高,则较低的帧速率可以改善通过有限带宽进行播放的效果。例如,如果压缩几乎没有运动的剪辑,将帧速率降低一半可能只会节省 20% 的数据速率。但是,如果压缩高速运动的视频,降低帧频会对数据速率产生显著的影响。

由于视频在以原有的帧速率观看时效果会好得多,因此,如果传送通道和播放平台允许的话,应保留较高的帧速率。对于 Web 传送,可以从宿主服务获取此详细信息。对于移动设备,使用特定于设备的编码预设以及可通过 Adobe Premiere Pro 中的 Adobe Media Encoder 使用的设备模拟器。如果需要降低帧速率,则按整数倍降低帧速率可获得最佳结果。

选择适合于数据速率和帧长宽比的帧大小

对于给定的数据速率(连接速度),增大帧大小会降低视频品质。为编码设置选择帧大小时,应考虑帧速率、源资料和个人喜好。若要防止出现邮筒显示效果,一定要选择与源素材的长宽比相同的帧大小。例如,如果将 NTSC 素材编码为 PAL 帧大小,则会导致出现邮筒显示效果。

利用 Adobe Media Encoder,可以使用多项 Adobe FLV 或 F4V 视频预设。其中包括适用于不同的电视标准、具有不同的数据速率的预设帧大小和帧速率。可以使用下面列出的常用帧大小(以像素为单位)作为参考,或试验各种 Adobe Media Encoder 预设以找出适用于项目的最佳预设。

拨号调制解调器 NTSC 4 x 3

162 x 120

拨号调制解调器 PAL 4 x 3

160 x 120

T1/DSL/电缆 NTSC 4 x 3

648 x 480

T1/DSL/电缆 PAL 4 x 3

768 x 576

进行流处理以获得最佳性能

若要减少下载时间、提供深入的交互性和导航功能或监视服务质量,请使用 Adobe Media Server 流式传输 Adobe FLV 或 F4V 视频文件,或使用 Adobe 的一个 Flash Video Streaming Service 合作伙伴通过 Adobe 网站提供的承载服务。有关渐进式下载和使用 Adobe Media Server 进行流式传输之间差别的详细信息,请参阅 Flash 开发人员中心网站上的文章:Delivering Flash Video: Understanding the Difference Between Progressive Download and Streaming Video(传送 Flash 视频:了解渐进式下载和流式传输视频之间的差别)。

了解渐进式下载时间

了解渐进式下载方式下载足够的视频所需的时间,以便它能够播放完视频而不用暂停来完成下载。在下载视频剪辑的第一部分内容时,您可能希望显示其他内容来掩饰下载过程。对于较短的剪辑,请使用下面的公式:暂停 = 下载时间 - 播放时间 + 10% 的播放时间。 例如,如果剪辑的播放时间为 30 秒而下载时间为 1 分钟,则应为该剪辑提供 33 秒的缓冲时间(60 秒 - 30 秒 + 3 秒 = 33 秒)。

删除杂波和交错

为了获得最佳编码,可能需要删除杂波和交错。

原始视频的品质越高,最终的效果就越好。 虽然 Internet 视频的帧频和帧大小通常都小于在电视上看到的,但是计算机显示器比传统的电视机具有更好的颜色保真度、饱和度、清晰度和分辨率。 即使是显示在小窗口中,图像品质对于数字视频的重要性也比对于标准模拟电视的重要性高。 一些人为干扰和杂波在电视上很少会被注意到,但在计算机屏幕上却相当明显。

Adobe Animate 适用于计算机屏幕和其他设备上的渐进式显示,而不适用于交错显示(如电视)。在渐进式显示器上查看交错素材会显露出高速运动区域中的交替垂直线。这样,Adobe Media Encoder 会删除所处理的所有视频镜头中的交错。

对于音频遵守同样的准则

视频制作的注意事项也同样适用于音频制作。为了达到好的音频压缩效果,请使用清晰的原始音频。 如果编码的材料来自 CD,尝试使用直接数字传输记录文件,而不使用声卡模拟输入。 声卡会引入不必要的数字到模拟和模拟到数字的转换,从而在源音频中产生杂波。 可以找到用于 Windows 和 Macintosh 平台的直接数字传输工具。 若要从模拟源中进行录制,请使用可用的最高品质的声卡。

注意:

如果源音频文件是单声道的,建议您采用单声道编码以便在 Animate 中使用。如果使用 Adobe Media Encoder 进行编码,并使用了编码预设,请务必查看预设编码是立体声的还是单声道的,并在必要时选择单声道。

教程和示例

下列视频教程和文章提供了创建和准备在 Animate 中使用的视频的详细说明。虽然有些项目显示是关于 CS3 或 CS4 的,但仍适用于 CS5。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Adobe Animate can incorporate digital video footage into web-based presentations. The FLV and F4V (H.264) video formats offer technological and creative benefits that let you fuse video together with data, graphics, sound, and interactive control. FLV and F4V video let you easily put video on a web page in a format that almost anyone can view.

How you choose to deploy your video determines how you create your video content, and how you integrate it with Animate. You can incorporate video into Animate in the following ways:

Stream video with Adobe Media Server

You can host video content on Adobe® Media Server, a server solution optimized to deliver real-time media. Adobe Media Server uses the Real-Time Messaging Protocol (RTMP), a protocol designed for real-time server applications such as streaming video and audio content. You can host your own Adobe Media Server, or use a hosted Flash® Video® Streaming Service (FVSS). Adobe has partnered with several content delivery network (CDN) providers to offer hosted services for delivering on-demand FLV or F4V file video across high-performance, reliable networks. Built with Adobe Media Server and integrated directly into the delivery, tracking, and reporting infrastructure of the CDN network, FVSS provides the most effective way to deliver FLV or F4V files to the largest possible audience without the hassle of setting up and maintaining your own streaming server hardware and network.

To control video playback and provide intuitive controls for users to interact with the streaming video, use the FLVPlayback component, Adobe® ActionScript®, or the Open Source Media Framework (OSMF). For more information about using the OSMF, see the OSMF documentation.

Progressively download video from a web server

If you don’t have access to Adobe Media Server or FVSS, or your video needs are for a low-volume website with only limited amounts of video content, you can consider progressive downloading. Progressively downloading a video clip from a web server doesn’t provide the real-time performance that Adobe Media Server does; however, you can use relatively large video clips, and keep the size of your published SWF files to a minimum.

To control video playback and provide intuitive controls for users to interact with the video, use the FLVPlayback component or ActionScript.

Embed video in the Animate document

You can embed a small, short-duration video file directly into the Animate document, and publish it as part of the SWF file. Embedding video content directly into the Animate SWF file significantly increases the size of published file, and is only suitable for small video files (typically less then 10 seconds in length). In addition, the audio to video synchronization (also known as audio/video sync) can become mis-synchronized when using longer video clips embedded in the Animate document. Another disadvantage to embedding video within the SWF file is that you cannot update the video without republishing the SWF file.


When you try to publish your FLA with H264 video content on a layer that is neither a guide layer nor a hidden layer, a warning message appears that the platform you are publishing to does not support embedded H.264 videos.

Control video playback

You can control the playback of video in Animate using the FLVPlayback component, by writing custom ActionScript to play an external video stream, or by writing custom ActionScript to control the playback of video in the Timeline for embedded video.

FLVPlayback component

Lets you quickly add a full-featured FLV playback control to your Animate document and provides support for both progressive downloading and streaming FLV or F4V files. FLVPlayback lets you easily create intuitive video controls for users to control video playback and apply pre-made skins, or apply your own custom skins to the video interface. For more information see The FLVPlayback component.

Open Source Media Framework (OSMF)

The OSMF enables developers to easily choose and combine pluggable components to create high-quality, full-featured playback experiences. For more information, see the OSMF documentation

Control external video using ActionScript

Play back external FLV or F4V files in a Animate document at runtime using the NetConnection and NetStream ActionScript objects. For more information see Controlling external video playback with ActionScript.

You can use video behaviors (pre-written ActionScript scripts) to control video playback.

Control embedded video in the Timeline

To control playback of embedded video files, you must write ActionScript to control the Timeline containing the video. For more information see Control video playback using the Timeline.

The Video Import Wizard

The Video Import Wizard simplifies the importing of video into a Animate document by guiding you through the process of selecting an existing video file, and importing the file for use in one of three different video playback scenarios. The Video Import Wizard provides a basic level of configuration for the import and playback method you choose, which you can later modify for your specific requirements.

The Video Import dialog box provides these video import options:

Load external video with playback component

Imports the video and creates an instance of the FLVPlayback component to control video playback. When you are ready to publish the Animate document as a SWF and upload it to your web server, you must also upload the video file to either a web server or Adobe Media Server, and configure the FLVPlayback component with the location of the uploaded video file.

Embed FLV in SWF and play in timeline

Embeds the FLV into the Animate document. When you import video this way, the video is placed in the Timeline where you can see the individual video frames represented in the Timeline frames. An embedded FLV video file becomes part of the Animate document.

note: Embedding video content directly into the Animate SWF file significantly increases the size of published file, and is only suitable for small video files. In addition, the audio to video synchronization (also known as audio/video sync) can become mis-synchronized when using longer video clips embedded in the Animate document.

Embed H.264 video in timeline

Embeds H.264 videos into the Animate document.  When you import a video using this option, it can be placed on the stage to be used as a guide for your animation at design time. Frames from the video will rendered on the stage as you scrub through or play the timeline. The audio for the relevant frames will also be played back.


  •  When you try to publish your FLA with H264 video content on a layer that is neither a guide layer nor a hidden layer, a warning message appears that the platform you are publishing to does not support embedded H.264 videos.

Video formats and Animate

To import video into Animate you must use video encoded in the FLV or H.264 format. The Video Import Wizard (File > Import > Import Video) checks video files that you select for import, and alerts you if the video might not be in a format that Animate can play. In the event that the video is not in either the FLV or F4V format, you can use Adobe® Media® Encoder to encode the video in the appropriate format.

Adobe Media Encoder

Adobe® Media® Encoder is a stand-alone encoding application employed by programs such as Adobe® Premiere® Pro, Adobe® Soundbooth®, and Animate for output to certain media formats. Depending on the program, the Adobe Media Encoder provides a specialized Export Settings dialog box that accommodates the numerous settings associated with certain export formats, such as Adobe Flash Video and H.264. For each format, the Export Settings dialog box includes a number of presets that are tailored for particular delivery media. You can also save custom presets, which you can share with others or reload as needed.

For information on encoding video in the H.264 or F4V format using Adobe Media Encoder, see Using Adobe Media Encoder.

The H.264, On2 VP6, and Sorenson Spark video codecs

When encoding video using Adobe Media Encoder, you can choose from three different video codecs with which to encode your video content for use with Animate:


Support for the H.264 video codec was incorporated into Flash Player beginning with version 9.0.r115. The F4V video format which uses this codec provides a significantly better quality-to-bitrate ratio than previous Flash video codecs, however, it is more computationally demanding than the Sorenson Spark and On2 VP6 video codecs released with Flash Player 7 and 8.

note: If you need to use video with alpha channel support for compositing, you must use the On2 VP6 video codec; F4V does not support alpha video channels.

On2 VP6

The On2 VP6 codec is the preferred video codec to use when creating FLV files you intend to use with Flash Player 8 and higher. The On2 VP6 codec provides:

  • Higher quality video when compared to the Sorenson Spark codec encoded at the same data rate

  • Support for the use of an 8-bit alpha channel to composite video

    To support better quality video at the same data rate, the On2 VP6 codec is noticeably slower to encode and requires more processor power on the client computer to decode and play back. For this reason, carefully consider the lowest common denominator of computer you intend your viewing audience to use when accessing your FLV video content.

Sorenson Spark

Introduced in Flash Player 6, the Sorenson Spark video codec should be used if you intend to publish Animate documents requiring backwards compatibility to Flash Player 6 and 7. If you anticipate a large user base that uses older computers, you should consider FLV files encoded with the Sorenson Spark codec, as it is much less computationally demanding to play back than either the On2 VP6 or H.264 codecs.

If your Animate content dynamically loads Flash Professional video (using either progressive download or Adobe Media Server), you can use On2 VP6 video without having to republish a SWF file originally created for use with Flash Player 6 or 7, as long as users use Flash Player 8 or later to view your content. By streaming or downloading On2 VP6 video into Animate SWF versions 6 or 7, and playing the content using Flash Player 8 or later, you avoid having to recreate your SWF files for use with Flash Player 8 and later versions.


Only Flash Player 8 and 9 support both publish and playback of On2 VP6 video.


SWF version (publish version)

Flash Player version (required for playback)

Sorenson Spark


6, 7, 8


7, 8, 9, 10

On2 VP6

6, 7, 8

8, 9, 10


9.2 or later

9.2 or later

Tips for creating Adobe FLV and F4V video

Follow these guidelines to deliver the best possible FLV or F4V video:

Work with video in the native format of your project until your final output

If you convert a precompressed digital video format into another format such as FLV or F4V, the previous encoder can introduce video noise. The first compressor already applied its encoding algorithm to the video, reducing its quality, frame size, and rate. That compression may have also introduced digital artifacts or noise. This additional noise affects the final encoding process, and a higher data rate may be required to encode a good-quality file.

Strive for simplicity

Avoid elaborate transitions—they don’t compress well and can make your final compressed video look “chunky” during the change. Hard cuts (as opposed to dissolves) are usually best. Eye-catching video sequences—for instance showing an object zooming from behind the first track, doing a “page peel,” or wrapping around a ball and then flying off the screen—don’t compress well and should be used sparingly.

Know your audience data rate

When you deliver video over the Internet, produce files at lower data rates. Users with fast Internet connections can view the files with little or no delay for loading, but dial‑up users must wait for files to download. Make the clips short to keep the download times within acceptable limits for dial‑up users.

Select the proper frame rate

Frame rate indicates frames per second (fps). If you have a higher data rate clip, a lower frame rate can improve playback through limited bandwidth. For example, if you are compressing a clip with little motion, cutting the frame rate in half probably saves you only 20% of the data rate. However, if you are compressing high-motion video, reducing the frame rate has a much greater effect on the data rate.

Because video looks much better at native frame rates, leave the frame rate high if your delivery channels and playback platforms allow. For web delivery, get this detail from your hosting service. For mobile devices, use the device-specific encoding presets, and the device emulator available through Adobe Media Encoder in Adobe Premiere Pro. If you need to reduce the frame rate, the best results come from dividing the frame rate by whole numbers.

Select a frame size that fits your data rate and frame aspect ratio

At a given data rate (connection speed), increasing the frame size decreases video quality. When you select the frame size for your encoding settings, consider frame rate, source material, and personal preferences. To prevent pillarboxing, it’s important to choose a frame size of the same aspect ratio as that of your source footage. For example, you get pillarboxing if you encode NTSC footage to a PAL frame size.

Adobe Media Encoder makes several Adobe FLV or F4V video presets available. These include preset frame sizes and frame rates for the different television standards at different data rates. Use the following list of common frame sizes (in pixels) as a guide, or experiment with the various Adobe Media Encoder presets to find the best setting for your project.

Dial-up Modem NTSC 4 x 3

162 x 120

Dial-up Modem PAL 4 x 3

160 x 120

T1/DSL/cable NTSC 4 x 3

648 x 480

T1/DSL/cable PAL 4 x 3

768 x 576

Stream for best performance

To eliminate download time, provide deep interactivity and navigation capabilities, or monitor quality of service, stream Adobe FLV or F4V video files with the Adobe Media Server or use the hosted service from one of Adobe’s Flash Video Streaming Service partners available through the Adobe website. For more details on the difference between Progressive Download and Streaming with Adobe Media Server, see “Delivering Flash Video: Understanding the Difference Between Progressive Download and Streaming Video” on the Flash Developer Center website.

Know progressive download times

Know how long it will take to download enough of your video so that it can play to the end without pausing to finish downloading. While the first part of your video clip downloads, you may want to display other content that disguises the download. For short clips, use the following formula: Pause = download time – play time + 10% of play time. For example, if your clip is 30 seconds long and it takes one minute to download, give your clip a 33‑second buffer (60 seconds – 30 seconds + 3 seconds = 33 seconds).

Remove noise and interlacing

For the best encoding, you might need to remove noise and interlacing.

The higher the quality of the original, the better the final result. Although frame rates and sizes of Internet video are usually smaller than those of television, computer monitors have much better color fidelity, saturation, sharpness, and resolution than conventional televisions. Even with a small window, image quality can be more important for digital video than for standard analog television. Artifacts and noise that are barely noticeable on TV can be obvious on a computer screen.

Adobe Animate is intended for progressive display on computer screens and other devices, rather than on interlaced displays such as TVs. Interlaced footage viewed on a progressive display can exhibit alternating vertical lines in high-motion areas. Thus, Adobe Media Encoder removes interlacing from all video footage that it processes.

Follow the same guidelines for audio

The same considerations apply to audio production as to video production. To achieve good audio compression, begin with clean audio. If you are encoding material from a CD, try to record the file using direct digital transfer instead of through the analog input of your sound card. The sound card introduces an unnecessary digital-to-analog and analog-to-digital conversion that can create noise in your source audio. Direct digital transfer tools are available for Windows and Macintosh platforms. To record from an analog source, use the highest-quality sound card available.


If your source audio file is monaural (mono), it is recommended that you encode in mono for use with Animate. If you are encoding with Adobe Media Encoder, and using an encoding preset, be sure to check if the preset encodes in stereo or mono, and select mono if necessary.

Tutorials and examples

The following video tutorials and articles provide detailed explanations of creating and preparing video for use in Animate. Some items show CS3 or CS4, but still apply to CS5.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy