使用包含两个步骤的操作过程(备份,然后恢复),将 Elements Organizer 目录移到其他计算机。

关于移动目录

您可能会因为下面的原因而需要将 Elements Organizer 目录移到一台新的计算机,例如,升级计算机或者升级 Photoshop Elements 或 Premiere Elements 的版本。

将目录移到其他计算机是一个包含两个步骤的操作过程。首先,在一台计算机上备份目录,然后在另一台计算机上恢复该目录。Elements Organizer 具有“备份”和“恢复”功能,可完成这两个步骤。 

可以将目录备份到外部硬盘或者 CD 或 DVD 中(仅限 Windows)。如果目录较大,则可能需要多张 CD 或 DVD。有关备份目录的更多信息,请参阅备份目录。有关移动目录的信息,请参阅将目录移到(恢复到)其他计算机

重要信息:如果目录中包含已断开连接的项目,则系统会提示您重新连接这些项目。Adobe 强烈建议您在备份目录之前重新连接项目。

注意:

其中某些步骤要求您查找隐藏的文件、隐藏的文件夹,或者要求您按照完整的文件名(包括扩展名,例如,example_filename.ini)查找文件。默认情况下,Windows 资源管理器不显示隐藏的文件和文件夹及其识别的文件扩展名。有关在 Windows 中显示隐藏的文件和文件夹的信息,请参阅显示隐藏的文件、文件夹和文件扩展名

备份目录

将目录备份到外部硬盘驱动器中

在移动目录之前,请首先对其进行备份。您可以备份到外部硬盘驱动器中,或者如果您使用的是 Windows,则还可以备份到 CD 或 DVD 中。请按照下面的说明,将目录备份到外部硬盘驱动器中。 

如果您要从 Windows 计算机备份到 Mac,请参阅将目录从 Windows 移到 Mac

  1. 将外部硬盘驱动器插入到计算机中。使用 Windows 资源管理器或 Mac Finder 查看驱动器内容,以确保操作系统可以完全识别该驱动器。

  2. 打开 Elements Organizer。

    Organizer 元素
  3. 如果尚未打开要移到新计算机的目录,请选择“文件”>“目录”以打开该目录。

  4. 选择“文件”>“备份目录到 CD、DVD 或硬盘驱动器”(Windows) 或“文件”>“备份目录到硬盘驱动器”(Mac OS)。

  5. 在“备份选项”窗口中,选择完整备份,然后单击下一步

    备份选项
  6. 在“目标设置”窗口的“目标驱动器”框中,选择您的外部硬盘驱动器。

  7. 单击“备份路径”字段旁边的浏览按钮。在“浏览文件夹”对话框中,单击新建文件夹按钮,然后单击确定

    新建文件夹

    注意:

    记下存放备份目录的文件夹的名称。在恢复目录时,需要使用该名称。备份文件 Backup.tly 将存储在该文件夹中。

  8. 单击完成

  9. 完成备份后,按照制造商的说明,断开外部硬盘连接。

将目录备份到 CD 或 DVD 中(仅限 Windows)

如果您使用的是 Windows 计算机,请按照下面的说明,将目录备份到 CD 或 DVD 中。 

  1. 打开 Elements Organizer。

  2. 如果未打开要移到新计算机的目录,请选择“文件”>“目录”以打开所需的目录。

  3. 选择“文件”>“备份目录”。

  4. 在“备份选项”窗口中,选择完整备份,然后单击下一步

    完整备份
  5. 将一张空白 CD 或 DVD 光盘插入到 CD 或 DVD 驱动器中。

  6. 在“目标设置”窗口中,选择 CD 或 DVD 驱动器的驱动器号。

  7. 单击完成。如果您的目录较大,则可能需要在刻录过程中插入多张空白光盘。

  8. 从驱动器中取出 CD 或 DVD。

将目录移到(恢复到)其他计算机

Elements Organizer 提供了三种不同的方法以恢复目录文件:

  • 原始位置将目录和照片文件复制到新计算机上与旧计算机相同的位置中。确保您使用与旧计算机相同的用户名登录到新计算机上。此外,还要确保具有相同数量的磁盘,并且它们使用相同的驱动器号(仅限 Windows)。
  • 新位置将目录和照片文件复制到您指定的新位置中。照片文件的文件夹结构是扁平的。与旧计算机不同,不会在其他文件夹中创建包含照片的文件夹。下表显示了文件夹结构如何发生变化(以及“恢复原始文件夹结构”选项如何影响操作过程)的示例。在旧计算机上,照片存储在 C:\Photos\Vacations\2015\Hawaii 文件夹中。目录将恢复到新计算机上的 C:\My Picture Album 文件夹中。在恢复目录时,照片将放在 C:\My Picture Album\Hawaii 中。
  • 新位置并选择“恢复原始文件夹结构”将目录和照片文件复制到您指定的新位置中。将在新位置中保留照片文件的文件夹结构。下表显示了文件夹结构如何发生变化(以及“恢复原始文件夹结构”选项如何影响操作过程)的示例。在旧计算机上,照片存储在 C:\Photos\Vacations\2015\Hawaii 文件夹中。目录将恢复到新计算机上的 C:\My Picture Album 文件夹中。在恢复目录时,照片将放在 C:\My Picture Album\Photos\Vacations\2015\Hawaii 中。
文件恢复方法 旧计算机上的文件路径示例 新计算机上的文件路径(目录将恢复到 C:\My Picture Album 中)
新位置 C:\Photos\Vacations\2015\Hawaii C:\My Picture Album\Hawaii
新位置并选择“恢复原始文件夹结构”选项 C:\Photos\Vacations\2015\Hawaii C:\My Picture Album\Photos\Vacations\2015\Hawaii

注意:

如果将目录备份到外部硬盘驱动器,则 Adobe 建议您将目录恢复到其他驱动器中。请将目录恢复到内部硬盘驱动器或不同的外部驱动器中。这样,当某个驱动器出现故障时,您将仍留有目录的副本。

将目录恢复到新计算机中

  1.  CD 或 DVD 中恢复:打开新计算机。使用 Windows 资源管理器查看 CD 或 DVD 的内容,确保 Windows 可以完全识别 CD 或 DVD 驱动器。

    从外部硬盘驱动器中恢复:将外部硬盘连接到新计算机。打开新计算机。使用 Windows 资源管理器或 Mac Finder 查看驱动器内容,确保操作系统可以完全识别该驱动器。

    注意:

    外部硬盘在新计算机上的驱动器号 (Windows) 可能与其在旧计算机上的驱动器号不同。

  2. 在新计算机上安装 Photoshop Elements,然后打开 Elements Organizer。Organizer 将显示一个空目录。

    空目录
  3. 选择“文件”>“从 CD、DVD 或硬盘驱动器恢复目录”(Windows) 或“文件”>“从硬盘驱动器恢复目录”(Mac OS)。

  4. (仅限 Windows)在“恢复目录”对话框中,选择目录备份是位于 CD/DVD 上还是位于外部硬盘驱动器上。

    恢复目录
  5. (仅限 Windows)

    • 对于 CD 或 DVD,插入在备份过程中刻录的最后一张光盘。然后,从弹出菜单中选择 CD 或 DVD 驱动器的驱动器号。 
    • 对于外部硬盘驱动器,单击浏览。导航至硬盘驱动器上备份目录的文件夹,然后选择其中的 Backup.tly 文件。
  6. 选择是要将目录和文件恢复到原始位置,还是恢复到新位置。对于新位置,如果要保留原始文件夹结构,请选择恢复原始文件夹结构(如上所述)。

    恢复原始文件夹结构
  7. 如果选择“新位置”,请单击浏览按钮,然后导航至要将目录和文件恢复到的文件夹。如果要为恢复的目录创建其他文件夹,请单击“浏览”对话框中的新建文件夹

    注意:

    恢复的目录名称是您选择将目录恢复到的文件夹的名称。如果要保留目录的原始名称,请创建一个具有该名称的文件夹,然后将目录恢复到该文件夹中。

  8. 单击恢复按钮。

    恢复

    在完成时清理目录,以确保没有断开连接或脱机的文件。有关这些最后步骤等的说明,请参阅下一部分。

清理恢复的目录

重新连接断开的文件

完成恢复过程后,请确认您的目录不包含任何已断开连接或脱机的项目。如有必要,请选择“文件”>“重新连接”>“所有丢失文件”以重新连接这些文件。还要验证照片的“属性”面板中显示的位置是否与将目录恢复到的位置相匹配。如果看不见“属性”面板,请选择“窗口”>“属性”。接下来,在目录中随机选择几张照片,然后验证“属性”窗口的“常规”选项卡中显示的位置是否正确。有关重新连接文件的更多信息,请参阅在目录中重新连接缺失的文件

处理脱机文件

如果原始目录包含存储在默认位置中的脱机代理,这些文件将位于恢复到的文件夹内的一个或多个文件夹中。如果这些文件作为脱机文件导入到目录中,则代理文件位于具有脱机磁盘名称的文件夹中。(例如,这些文件可能位于 C:\My Picture Album\<磁盘名称> 中。)如果在导入后脱机移动这些文件,则代理文件位于具有目录名称的文件夹中。有关脱机照片的更多信息,请参阅处理脱机文件

移动目录文件

目录文件 (catalog.psedb) 位于您选择将目录恢复到的文件夹中。如果要在恢复后将目录文件移到不同的位置,请选择“文件”>“目录”。选择目录的名称,然后单击“移动”。

注意:在对新位置中的目录使用“增量备份”选项之前,先从该位置中备份目录。请使用“完整备份”选项。在完成新的完整备份后,您可以删除外部硬盘驱动器上的旧备份。或者,您可以丢弃或擦除用于存储旧备份的旧 CD 或 DVD 光盘。

重要信息:在新计算机上,执行 Photoshop Elements 或 Premiere Elements 的默认安装,会在默认位置中创建 Catalogs 文件夹:

  • Windows XP:C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\Catalogs
  • Windows Vista/7/8:C:\Program Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\Catalogs
  • Macintosh:/Users/[用户名]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Elements Organizer/Catalogs

在 Catalogs 文件夹中,每个目录文件 (catalog.psedb) 都位于一个文件夹中。该文件夹还包含重要的相关文件,例如,缩览图缓存和脱机项目文件夹。请勿删除该文件夹或其中的任何内容。如果要更改这些项目的位置,请选择“文件”>“目录”,选择目录的名称,然后单击“移动”。有关管理目录文件的更多信息,请参阅常见目录升级问题

从 Photoshop Elements 5 或更早版本中恢复

如果从 Photoshop Elements 的较早版本升级至 Photoshop Elements 6 或更高版本,请切记以下重要说明:

  • 备份目录的步骤可能与上述步骤略有不同。有关备份目录的具体说明,请参阅 Photoshop Elements 早期版本中的帮助文件(在 Organizer 中,选择“帮助”>“Photoshop Elements 帮助”)。
  • Photoshop Elements 6 和更高版本使用不同的目录文件格式。在恢复后,目录将自动转换为 Photoshop Elements 6 目录。
  • 在转换目录时,catalog.psedb 文件将放在新文件夹中,与将目录恢复到的文件夹位于相同的级别。(例如,如果选择将目录恢复到 C:\My Picture Album 中,转换的目录的文件夹将放在 C: 驱动器中。)只有目录文件会移到该文件夹中;照片文件仍保留在您选择的文件夹中。
  • 不会自动删除恢复的原始目录(例如,My Catalog.psa)。您可以删除该文件。
  • Photoshop Elements 6 不支持在早期版本的 Photoshop Elements 中创建的某些照片作品。转换的目录中可能缺少某些照片作品。

有关转换和管理目录文件的更多信息,请参阅常见目录升级问题

将目录从 Windows XP 移到 Windows Vista/7/8

如果将目录从 Windows XP 计算机移到 Windows Vista、7 或 8 计算机,请切记下面这些重要说明:

注意:

此部分中的某些文件路径包含隐藏的文件夹。有关在 Windows 中显示隐藏的文件和文件夹的信息,请参阅显示隐藏的文件、文件夹和文件扩展名

默认文件夹和文件位置

  • 在 Windows XP 和 Windows Vista/7 上,Photoshop Elements 6 及更高版本会将目录文件存储在不同的默认位置:
    • Windows XP:C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Elements Organizer\Catalogs
    • Windows Vista/7/8:C:\Program Data\Adobe\Elements Organizer\Catalogs
  • Windows Vista/7/8 和 Windows XP 使用不同的默认位置来存储照片和其他文件。 
    • Windows XP:默认的照片位置是 C:\Documents and Settings\My Documents\My Photos。
    • Windows Vista:默认的文件夹是 Photos 和 Documents,它们分别位于 C:\Users\<用户名>\Documents 或 C:\Users\<用户名>\Photos。

用户帐户

  • 如果在恢复期间选择“原始位置”选项,请使用与 Windows XP 相同的用户帐户名登录到 Windows Vista/7/8。 
  • 如果目录包含来自其他用户帐户的照片,请确保在 Windows Vista/7/8 上存在相同名称的用户帐户。如果用户帐户不存在,Photoshop Elements 将在 C:\Users 文件夹中创建一个具有该帐户名称的文件夹。不过,该文件夹并不表示真正的用户帐户;如果您稍后决定创建一个具有该名称的帐户,可能会出现问题。请将复制到该文件夹的文件移到您自己的用户帐户中(例如,“文档\图片”文件夹)。然后,删除 Photoshop Elements 在 C:\Users 中创建的额外文件夹。
  • 如果原始目录存储在某个用户帐户下面(例如,在桌面上),而不是存储在 Windows XP 上的默认“All Users”文件夹中,并且您选择恢复到原始位置,则您会收到一条错误。(错误:“恢复目录时遇到错误。建议您联系光盘驱动器制造商,将特定光盘驱动器的固件升级到最新可用版本,然后重试。”)如果出现该错误,请确保使用与 Windows XP 相同的用户帐户名登录到 Windows Vista。如果您选择将目录恢复到新位置中,也可以避免该错误。

将目录从 Windows 移到 Mac

如果在 Windows 上使用 Photoshop Album 或以前版本的 Elements Organizer,您可以将媒体传输到 Mac OS 上的 Elements 9 或更高版本的 Organizer。

在开始此过程之前,请执行所有以下操作:

  • 确保您可以访问具有目录和照片的 Windows 计算机。
  • 确认 Windows 上仍安装 Photoshop Album 或早期版本的 Elements Organizer。
  • 在 Windows 计算机上,安装与 Mac 相同的 Photoshop Elements 或 Premiere Elements 版本。您可以从 Adobe.com/cn/downloads 下载适用于 Windows 的最新版 Photoshop Elements 的 30 天免费试用版。
  • 在 Mac 上安装 Photoshop 或 Premiere Elements。
  • 确保您具有一个外部硬盘驱动器。该驱动器必须具有足够的可用空间,以存储现有目录中的所有照片和其他媒体。还要确保其文件系统与 Windows 和 Mac OS 兼容(例如,FAT/FAT32)。

准备就绪后,按照下面的步骤将照片和视频从 Windows 计算机传输到 Mac 中:

  1. 在 Windows 计算机上,打开 Elements Organizer。

  2. 执行以下操作之一:

    • 在出现“转换以前版本的目录”提示时,单击
    • 如果在出现提示时您希望转换其他目录,请单击。在打开 Elements Organizer 时,选择“文件”>“目录”,然后单击转换。在“转换目录”窗口中,找到并选择要转换的目录,然后单击转换
    转换目录
  3. 完成目录转换过程后,单击确定

  4. 将目录备份到外部硬盘驱动器中。有关具体说明,请参阅将目录备份到外部硬盘驱动器中

    注意:

    在 Windows 上,您可以将目录备份到 CD 或 DVD 中。不过,您无法在 Mac 上直接从 CD/DVD 中恢复目录。

  5. 在备份完成后,从 Windows 计算机中安全地取出外部硬盘驱动器。

  6. 将外部驱动器连接到 Mac 上。

  7. 在 Mac 上,打开 Elements Organizer。

  8. 从外部硬盘驱动器中恢复目录。有关具体说明,请参阅恢复目录

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

What's covered
Move your Elements Organizer catalog to another computer using a two-step process: back up, then restore.
On this page

    You may want to move your Elements Organizer catalog to a new computer for several reasons, such as upgrading your computer or your version of Photoshop Elements or Premiere Elements. Moving a catalog to another computer is a two-step process. First, back up the catalog on one computer and then restore it to another. The Organizer in Photoshop Elements and Adobe Premiere Elements has Backup and Restore features that accomplish both of these steps. (For basic info about catalogs, see Creating and editing catalogs.)

    You can back up the catalog to either an external hard disk or a CD or DVD (Windows only). If your catalog is large, it could require multiple CDs or DVDs. 

    Important: If your catalog contains disconnected items, you are prompted to reconnect them. Adobe strongly recommends that you reconnect items before you back up the catalog.

    Note:

    Some of these procedures require that you locate hidden files, hidden folders, or files by their full filenames, which include extensions (for example, example_filename.ini). By default, Windows Explorer doesn't show hidden files, hidden folders, and filename extensions that it recognizes. For information on showing hidden files and folders in Windows, see Show hidden files, folders, and filename extensions.


    Back up catalog to external hard drive

    Before moving your catalog, first back it up. You can back up to an external hard drive or, if you're on Windows, to CDs or DVDs. Follow the instructions below to back up your catalog to an external hard drive. 

    If you're backing up from a Windows machine to a Mac, see Move catalog from Windows to Mac.

    1. Plug in your external hard drive to your computer. Make sure that the OS fully recognizes the drive by viewing its contents with Windows Explorer or Mac Finder.

    2. Open Elements Organizer.

      Organizer Elements
    3. If the catalog you want to move to a new computer is not already open, choose File > Catalog to open it.

    4. Choose File > Backup Catalog to CD, DVD, or Hard Drive (Windows) or File > Backup Catalog to Hard Drive (Mac OS).

    5. In the Backup Options window, select Full Backup and click Next.

      Backup options
    6. In the Destination Settings window, select your external hard drive in the Destination Drive box.

    7. Click the Browse button next to the Backup Path field. In the Browse for Folder dialog box, click the Make New Folder button, and click OK.

      Make New Folder
      Note:

      Write down the name of the folder to which you back up the catalog. The name is required when you restore the catalog.

    8. Click Done.

    9. When the backup is complete, disconnect your external hard disk according to the manufacturer's directions.

    Back up catalog to CD or DVD (Windows only)

    If you're on a Windows machine, follow the instructions below to back up your catalog to a CD or DVD. 

    1. Open Elements Organizer.

    2. If the catalog you want to move to a new computer is not open, choose File > Catalog to open the desired catalog.

    3. Choose File > Backup Catalog.

    4. In the Backup Options window, select Full Backup, then click Next.

      Full Backup
    5. Insert a blank CD or DVD disc into your CD or DVD drive.

    6. In the Destination Settings window, select the drive letter of your CD or DVD drive.

    7. Click Done. If your catalog is large, you could be required to insert multiple blank discs during the burn process.

    8. Remove the CDs or DVDs from the drive.


    Elements Organizer provides three different methods to restore your catalog files:

    • Original Location copies the catalog and photo files to the same location on the new computer as they were on the old computer. Make sure that you are logged in to the new computer using the same user name as the old computer. Also make sure that the same number of disks are available and that they use the same drive letters (Windows only).
    • New Location copies the catalog and photo files to a new location that you specify. The folder structure for photo files is flattened. The folders containing the photos aren't created within other folders like they were on the old computer. The table below shows an example of how the folder structure changes (and how the Restore Original Folder Structure option impacts the process). On the old computer, the photos were stored in the C:\Photos\Vacations\2015\Hawaii folder. The catalog is restored to the C:\My Picture Album folder on the new computer. When the catalog is restored, the photos are placed in C:\My Picture Album\Hawaii.
    • New Location with the Restore Original Folder Structure copies the catalog and photo files to a new location that you specify. The folder structure for the photo files is preserved within the new location. The table below shows an example of how the folder structure changes (and how the Restore Original Folder Structure option impacts the process). On the old computer, the photos were stored in the C:\Photos\Vacations\2015\Hawaii folder. The catalog is restored to the C:\My Picture Album folder on the new computer. When the catalog is restored, the photos are placed in C:\My Picture Album\Photos\Vacations\2015\Hawaii.
    File restore method Sample file path on old computer File path on new computer (catalog restored to C:\My Picture Album)
    New Location C:\Photos\Vacations\2015\Hawaii C:\My Picture Album\Hawaii
    New Location with the Restore Original Folder Structure option selected C:\Photos\Vacations\2015\Hawaii C:\My Picture Album\Photos\Vacations\2015\Hawaii
    Note:

    If you backed up your catalog to an external hard drive, Adobe recommends restoring your catalog to a different drive. Restore your catalog to an internal hard drive or a different external drive. That way, if one drive fails, you'll still have a copy of your catalog.

    Restore your catalog to a new computer

    1. Restoring from CDs or DVDs: Turn on the new computer. Make sure Windows fully recognizes the CD or DVD drive by viewing the contents of a CD or DVD with Windows Explorer.

      Restoring from external hard drive: Connect the external hard disk to your new computer. Turn on the new computer. Make sure the OS fully recognizes the drive by viewing its contents with Windows Explorer or Mac Finder.

      Note:

      The external hard disk's drive letter (Windows) on your new computer could be different from the drive letter on your old computer.

    2. Install Photoshop Elements on your new computer, then open Elements Organizer. The Organizer shows an empty catalog.

      Empty catalog
    3. Choose File > Restore Catalog from CD, DVD, or Hard Drive (Windows) or File > Restore Catalog from Hard Drive (Mac OS).

    4. (Windows only) In the Restore Catalog dialog box, select whether your catalog backup is on CD/DVD or on an external hard drive.

      Restore catalog
    5. (Windows only) For CD or DVD, insert the last disc burned during the backup process. Then select the drive letter of your CD or DVD drive from the pop-up menu. For an external hard drive, click the Browse button. Navigate to the folder on the hard drive where you backed up the catalog and select the Backup.tly file located there.

    6. Select whether you want to restore the catalog and files to the Original Location or a New Location. For New Location, select the Restore Original Folder Structure if you want to retain the original folder structure as described above.

      Restore Original Folder Structure
    7. If you selected New Location, click the Browse button and navigate to the folder where you want the catalog and files restored to. If you want to create a different folder for the catalog you're restoring, click Make New Folder in the Browse dialog box.

      Note:

      The name of the restored catalog is the name of the folder you choose to restore to. If you want to keep the catalog's original name, create a folder with that name and restore the catalog to that folder.

    8. Click the Restore button.

      Restore

      To finish, clean up the catalog to make sure there are no disconnected or offline files. For instructions on these finishing steps and more, see the next section.


    Reconnect disconnected files

    After completing the restore process, verify that your catalog does not contain any disconnected or offline items. If necessary, choose File > Reconnect > All Missing Files to reconnect the files. Also verify that the location shown in the Properties panel for the photos matches the location to which you restored the catalog. If the Properties panel is not visible, choose Window > Properties. Then select a few photos at random in the catalog and verify that the correct location is displayed in the General tab of the Properties window. For more information about reconnecting files, see Reconnecting missing files in a catalog.

    Work with offline files

    If your original catalog contained offline proxies stored in the default location, those files are in one or more folders inside the folder to which you restored. If the files were imported to the catalog as offline files, the proxy files are located in a folder with the name of the offline disk. (For example, the files could be in C:\My Picture Album\<Disk Name>). If the files were moved offline after being imported, the proxy files are located in a folder with the name of the catalog. For more information about offline photos, see Handle offline files.

    Move the catalog file

    The catalog file (catalog.psedb) is located in the folder to which you chose to restore the catalog. If you want to move the catalog file to a different location after you restore it, choose File > Catalog. Select the name of your catalog, then click Move.

    Note: Before you can use the Incremental Backup option on the catalog in a new location, first back up the catalog from that location. Use the Full Backup option. After a new full backup, you can delete the old backup on your external hard drive. Or, you can discard or erase the old CD or DVD discs used for the old backup.

    Important: On your new computer, a default installation of Photoshop Elements or Premiere Elements creates the Catalogs folder in the default location:

    • Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\Catalogs
    • Windows Vista/7/8: C:\Program Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\Catalogs
    • Macintosh: /Users/[User Name]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Elements Organizer/Catalogs

    Inside the Catalogs folder, each individual catalog file (catalog.psedb) is located inside a folder. The folder also contains important related files, such as the thumbnail cache and the offline items folder. Do not delete this folder or any of the contents. If you want to change the location for these items, choose File > Catalog, select the name of your catalog, then click Move. For more information about managing your catalog files, see Common catalog upgrade issues.


    If you're upgrading from an earlier version of Photoshop Elements to Photoshop Elements 6 or later, remember these important notes:

    • The steps to back up your catalog can be slightly different than described above. See the Help files in the previous version of Photoshop Elements for specific instructions to back up the catalog (in the Organizer, choose Help > Photoshop Elements Help).
    • Photoshop Elements 6 and later uses a different catalog file format. After the catalog is restored, it automatically converts it to a Photoshop Elements 6 catalog.
    • When the catalog is converted, the catalog.psedb file is placed in a new folder at the same level as the folder to which you restored. (For example, if you chose to restore the catalog to C:\My Picture Album, the folder for the converted catalog is placed on the C: drive). Only the catalog files are moved to this folder; the photo files remain in the folder you chose.
    • The original catalog that was restored (for example, My Catalog.psa) is not automatically deleted. You can delete the file.
    • Photoshop Elements 6 does not support all photo creations that were available in earlier versions of Photoshop Elements. Some of your photo creations could be missing in the converted catalog.

    For more information about converting and managing your catalog files, see Common catalog upgrade issues.


    If you're moving your catalog from a Windows XP computer to a Windows Vista, 7, or 8 computer, here are some important notes to remember.

    Note:

    Some of file paths in this section contain hidden folders. For information on showing hidden files and folders in Windows, see Show hidden files, folders, and filename extensions.

    Default folder and file locations

    • Photoshop Elements 6 and later store catalog files in a different default location on Windows XP and Windows Vista/7:
      • Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Elements Organizer\Catalogs
      • Windows Vista/7/8: C:\Program Data\Adobe\Elements Organizer\Catalogs
    • Windows Vista/7/8 and Windows XP use different default locations for photos and other files. 
      • Windows XP: The default photo location is at C:\Documents and Settings\My Documents\My Photos.
      • Windows Vista: The default folders are Photos and Documents, which are at C:\Users\<username>\Documents or C:\Users\<username>\Photos.

    User accounts

    • If you choose the Original Location option during restore, log in to Windows Vista/7/8 using the same user account name that you used on Windows XP. 
    • If your catalog contains photos from other user accounts, make sure that user accounts with the same names are present on Windows Vista/7/8. If the user account is not present, Photoshop Elements creates a folder with the account name in the C:\Users folder. However, this folder does not represent a true user account and could cause problems if you later decide to create an account by that name. Move the files that were copied to this folder to your own user account (for example, your Documents\Pictures folder). Then delete the extra folders in C:\Users that Photoshop Elements created.
    • You can receive an error if your original catalog was stored under a user account (for example, on the desktop) instead of the default. All Users folder on Windows XP, and you choose to restore to Original Location. (Error: "Error encountered while restoring catalog. It is recommended that you contact your disc drive manufacturer and upgrade to the latest available firmware for your specific disc drive before trying again.") If this error occurs, make sure you're logged in on Windows Vista with the same user account name that you used on Windows XP. You can also avoid the error if you choose to restore the catalog to a new location.

    If you used Photoshop Album or a previous version of Elements Organizer on Windows, you can transfer media to Elements 9 or later Organizer on Mac OS.

    Before you begin this process, do all of the following:

    • Ensure that you have access to the Windows computer that has your catalog and photos.
    • Verify that you still have Photoshop Album or your earlier version of Elements Organizer installed on Windows.
    • Install the same version of Photoshop Elements or Premiere Elements on your Windows computer that you use on your Mac. You can download a free 30-day trial of the latest version of Photoshop Elements for Windows from Adobe.com/downloads.
    • Install Photoshop or Premiere Elements on your Mac.
    • Ensure that you have an external hard drive available. The drive must have sufficient free space for all of the photos and other media in your existing catalog. Also, make sure that its file system is compatible with both Windows and Mac OS (for example, FAT/FAT32).

    Once you're ready, follow these steps to transfer your photos and videos from your Windows computer to your Mac:

    1. On your Windows computer, open the Elements Organizer.

    2. Do one of the following:

      • When the Convert a catalog from previous version prompt appears, click Yes.
      • If you'd like to convert a different catalog, click No when the prompt appears. When Elements Organizer opens, choose File > Catalog, then click Convert. In the Convert Catalog window, locate and select the catalog that you want to convert, and click Convert.
      Convert catalog
    3. When the catalog conversion process finishes, click OK.

    4. Back up your catalog to your external hard drive. For specific instructions, see Back up catalog to external hard drive

      Note:

      You can back up a catalog to a CD or DVD on Windows. However, you can't restore the catalog directly from the CD/DVD on your Mac.

    5. When the backup completes, safely remove the external hard drive from your Windows computer.

    6. Connect your external drive to your Mac.

    7. On your Mac, open Elements Organizer.

    8. Restore your catalog from the external hard drive. For specific instructions, see Restore a catalog.


     
    Back to top