问题

下面是系统错误的一些症状:

  • 空白或闪烁的对话框
  • 冻结的光标或屏幕
  • 蓝屏
  • 意外重新启动
  • 显示错误消息

要纠正这些问题,请执行下面的编号任务。为获得最佳效果,请按列出的顺序执行这些任务。记录所执行的任务以及每项任务的结果,包括错误和其他问题。如果您随后与 Adobe 技术支持部门联系,此信息可以帮助支持人员解决问题。 

重要说明:故障排除任务假定采用 Windows 的默认界面。如果您的界面是自定义的,则会出现少许差异(例如,您的界面可能是“开始”>“设置”>“控制面板”,而不是“开始”>“控制面板”)。此外,这些任务还假定采用控制面板的“经典视图”。

要以经典视图查看控制面板,请单击“切换到经典视图”(Windows XP) 或“经典视图”(Windows Vista 和 Windows 7)。这些按钮位于窗口左侧的控制面板导航栏上。

如果您遇到 Photoshop Elements Editor 问题,请参阅系统错误和冻结故障排除 | Windows | Adobe 软件以及系统错误和冻结故障排除 | Mac OS 10.x | Adobe 软件

备份文件

在执行其中的任何任务之前,请备份所有个人文件(例如,您创建的 Photoshop 或 InDesign 文件)。在出现系统错误后,务必重新启动计算机以刷新内存。如果在不重新启动计算机的情况下继续工作,则可能会使问题变得更糟。如果您找不到问题的解决方案,请尝试使用产品特定的解决方案。

注意:下面某些步骤需要您查找隐藏的文件或文件夹。某些步骤需要您通过完整的文件名来查找文件,其中包括扩展名(例如 some_filename.ini)。默认情况下,Windows 资源管理器不显示隐藏的文件和文件夹及其识别的文件扩展名。请参阅显示隐藏的文件、文件夹和文件扩展名 | Windows XP、Windows Vista、Windows 7 以及访问隐藏的用户资源库文件 | Mac OS 10.7 Lion

检查系统要求

确保系统符合软件的最低要求。有关最新的系统要求信息,请在知识库中搜索“系统要求”和产品名称。

要查看基本系统信息(例如处理器速度和安装的 RAM 大小),可在大多数 Adobe 应用程序中选择“帮助”>“系统信息”。如果您的应用程序不包含此选项,则选择“开始”>“控制面板”>“系统”。

初级故障排除

1. 安装最新版本的 Photoshop Elements。

最新版本的 Adobe 软件可能与操作系统和驱动程序更兼容。在安装更新或升级之前,请确保系统满足要求。有关最新的产品更新和升级,请访问 Adobe - 下载。与免费更新相比,升级可以解决更为广泛的问题。在尝试本文中的其余任务之前,请安装所有免费的更新。在考虑购买升级之前,请完成此处列出的任务。

2. 安装最新的操作系统 Service Pack 和其他更新。

请参阅安装最新的 Windows Service Pack 和其他更新

在 Macintosh 上,从 Apple 菜单中选择“软件更新”。

3. 重新创建 Elements Organizer 首选项文件。

重新创建 Adobe 应用程序首选项文件可消除损坏的首选项文件可能导致的问题。 

  1. 导航到 Elements Organizer 设置文件夹:

    • Windows XP:C:\Documents and Settings\[用户名]\Application Data\Adobe\Elements Organizer\[版本]\Organizer\
    • Win Vista/7/8:C:\用户\[用户名]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Elements Organizer\[版本]\Organizer\
    • Macintosh OS://用户/[用户名]/资源库/Application Support/Adobe/Elements Organizer/[版本]/Organizer/

    注意:这些路径中的某些文件夹可能处于隐藏状态。要显示它们,请参阅:

  2. 将 psa.prf 重命名为 psa.old。

  3. 重新尝试启动 Elements Organizer。

4. 在后台没有运行其他应用程序时运行 Elements Organizer。

启动项和服务可能会在与 Elements Organizer 同时运行时导致系统错误或冻结。(启动项会自动随 Windows 一起启动,而服务是支持其他程序的专用程序。)要确定启动项或服务是否与 Organizer 冲突,请在启动 Organizer 之前禁用所有启动项和非必需服务。

要禁用启动项和非必需服务,请参阅禁用启动项和服务 | Windows 以及在安全启动模式下启动 | Mac OS X

5. 更改系统默认打印机。

不兼容的打印机驱动程序可能会导致系统错误。要确定当前默认打印机的驱动程序是否会导致 Elements Organizer 出现问题,请更改默认打印机。

请参阅更改系统默认打印机

更改默认打印机后,请尝试重现 Organizer 中的问题。然后,执行以下操作之一:

  • 如果问题仍然出现,则打印机驱动程序不是导致问题的原因。请恢复之前的默认打印机并继续执行第 6 步。
  • 如果问题不再出现,则安装或重新安装之前默认打印机驱动程序的最新版本。(可转到打印机制造商的网站下载最新的驱动程序。)安装最新的驱动程序后,在“控制面板”中打开“打印机和传真”,然后将该打印机恢复为默认打印机。之后,再次尝试重现 Elements Organizer 中的问题。如果问题再次出现,则将默认打印机设置回其他打印机或您在上述步骤中选择的虚拟 PostScript 打印机。以后,如果您要从 Elements Organizer 打印到实际的首选打印机,请在“打印照片”对话框中选择该打印机。

6. 解决第三方增效工具问题。

关闭 Elements Organizer,从增效工具文件夹(默认情况下位于 C:/Program Files/Adobe/Photoshop Elements 7.0/Plug-Ins)中删除第三方增效工具,然后重新启动 Organizer。如果问题再次出现,请将增效工具移回到 Elements Organizer 增效工具文件夹中,然后继续执行中级故障排除。如果问题不再出现,则找出并处理发生冲突的增效工具。

要找出并处理发生冲突的增效工具,请执行以下步骤:

  1. 将某一第三方增效工具移回到 Elements Organizer 增效工具文件夹中。重新启动 Elements Organizer,然后尝试重现问题。
  2. 如果问题不再出现,则重复执行上一步骤。如果问题再次出现,则联系您上次移动的增效工具的开发商,并查询是否有更新。

中级故障排除

如果上一部分中的任务不能解决问题,请尝试完成下面的中级故障排除任务。

7. 对目录文件进行故障排除。

Elements Organizer 会将有关照片和其他媒体文件的信息存储在目录文件中。当前目录文件或其某个支持文件受损会导致一些系统错误和冻结。

有关对目录文件进行故障排除的说明,请参阅解决目录问题 | Organizer | Elements 6 及更高版本

8. 禁用“自动分析”。

  1. 转到“编辑”(Windows) 或“Elements Organizer”(Mac) >“首选项”>“媒体分析”。

    注意:Photoshop Elements 8 中包含自动分析选项。

  2. 取消选择所有选项。
  3. 单击“确定”。

9. 优化 Windows 的临时文件处理。

Windows 和应用程序会在它们于硬盘上创建的临时 (.tmp) 文件中存储工作数据。临时文件过多或过时会影响 Windows 或应用程序的性能。

请参阅:

10. 更新或重新安装 QuickTime。

过时的 Apple QuickTime 版本或损坏的 QuickTime 文件可能会阻止 Elements Organizer 正常启动或运行。

要更新 QuickTime,请从 Apple 网站安装当前可用版本。

要替换损坏的 QuickTime 文件,请删除 QuickTime 并删除保存在系统上的任何 QuickTime 文件或文件夹,然后重新安装 QuickTime。有关删除 QuickTime 的帮助,请参阅 Apple 支持站点上的“删除适用于 Windows XP 的 iTunes、QuickTime 和其他软件组件”(文章 HT1925)。

11. 禁用 FastCore、MMXCore 和多处理器支持增效工具。

借助 FastCore、MMXCore 和多处理器支持增效工具,Elements Organizer 可以使用多个处理器和增强型处理器技术,如 MMX。禁用这些增效工具可找出与计算机处理器相关的问题。

要禁用 FastCore、MMXCore 和多处理器支持增效工具,请执行以下操作:

  1. 关闭 Photoshop Elements。
  2. 在 Windows 资源管理器中,导航到 C:/Program Files/Adobe/Photoshop Elements 7.0/Locales/zh_CN/Plug-Ins/Extensions。(如果您将 Photoshop Elements 安装在默认位置 C:/Program Files/Adobe/Photoshop Elements 7.0 以外的位置,请将此文件路径修改为您的自定义位置。)
  3. 重命名 FastCore、MMXCore 和多处理器支持增效工具文件的扩展名(例如,将 MMXCore.8BX 更改为 MMXCore.old)。

禁用这些增效工具后,启动 Elements 7 Organizer 并尝试重现问题。然后,执行以下操作之一:

  • 如果问题不再出现,则将这些增效工具保持禁用状态。尽管 Elements Organizer 可以在不使用 FastCore、MMXCore 和多处理器支持增效工具的情况下运行,但其某些功能可能会运行较慢。请联系您的计算机制造商,以帮助找出可能与您的计算机处理器相关的问题。
  • 如果问题再次出现,则您的计算机处理器不是导致问题的原因。请关闭 Organizer,并通过将文件的扩展名重命名回 .8BX 来重新启用这些增效工具。

12. 在禁用启动项和服务的情况下,从桌面重新安装 Photoshop Elements。

Photoshop Elements 安装损坏或不完整可能会导致系统错误。可删除该应用程序,然后在禁用启动项和非必需服务的情况下从桌面重新进行安装。

删除 Photoshop Elements:

  1. 选择“开始”>“控制面板”>“添加或删除程序”。
  2. 选择“Adobe Photoshop Elements <版本>”。
  3. 单击“更改/删除”。
  4. 按照屏幕上的说明删除 Photoshop Elements。
  5. 安装程序完成后,在 Windows 资源管理器中导航到 C:/Program Files/Adobe/Photoshop Elements(或您的自定义安装位置)。
  6. 删除保留在 Photoshop Elements 文件夹内的任何文件和文件夹。

要禁用启动项和非必需服务,请参阅本文档任务 4 中的说明。

要重新安装 Photoshop Elements,请执行以下操作之一:

  • 如果您是以可下载软件的形式购买的 Photoshop Elements,请双击您下载的安装程序文件并按照屏幕上的说明安装该应用程序。
  • 如果您是以盒装软件的形式购买的 Photoshop Elements,请将 Adobe Photoshop Elements 文件夹从 Photoshop Elements 安装光盘复制到桌面。打开桌面上的 Adobe Photoshop Elements 文件夹。双击 Setup.exe 文件,然后按照屏幕上的说明重新安装该应用程序。

13. 更新视频卡驱动程序。

许多视频卡制造商会频繁地更新其软件驱动程序。如果您最近未更新过视频卡驱动程序,请与视频卡制造商联系,以获取更新的驱动程序。或者,从制造商的网站上下载。(要确定视频卡的制造商,请在“设备管理器”中查看视频卡的属性。)

14. 更新显卡驱动程序。

许多显卡制造商会频繁地更新其软件驱动程序。如果您最近未更新过显卡驱动程序,请与显卡制造商联系,以获取更新的驱动程序。或者,从制造商的网站上下载。(要确定显卡的制造商,请在“设备管理器”中查看显卡的属性。)

15. 使用新用户帐户运行 Elements Organizer。

创建一个与出现问题时使用的帐户具有相同权限的用户帐户,或创建一个本地管理员帐户。当您登录到新帐户时,请尝试重现问题。

有关设置用户帐户的信息,请参阅 Windows 帮助和支持中的“创建新用户帐户”,或联系您的网络管理员。

如果登录新帐户后问题没有再次出现,则表明原来的用户帐户可能已损坏。

如果使用本地管理员帐户时问题没有再次出现,请执行以下操作之一:

  • 如果您之前是以标准用户身份登录的,请更新用户对计算机上的文件或文件夹的权限。请联系 Microsoft 或您的系统管理员以获取相关说明。
  • 如果您之前是以网络域中的用户帐户身份登录的,请联系您的 IT 部门或网络管理员。

16. 检查 Elements Organizer 日志。

Elements Organizer 在启动时会生成一个有关其处理的步骤的日志。通过检查此日志,您可以发现应用程序启动失败的原因。该日志文件名为 Log.txt,可以在 Elements Organizer 设置文件夹中找到:

  • Windows XP:C:\Documents and Settings\[用户名]\Application Data\Adobe\Elements Organizer\[版本]\Organizer\
  • Win Vista/7/8:C:\用户\[用户名]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Elements Organizer\[版本]\Organizer\
  • Macintosh OS://用户/[用户名]/资源库/Application Support/Adobe/Elements Organizer/[版本]/Organizer/

高级故障排除

如果上一部分中的任务不能解决问题,您有时可以通过修复 Windows XP 并重新安装 Photoshop Elements 来解决问题。此外,也可以尝试重新格式化硬盘并重新安装 Windows XP 和 Photoshop Elements。最后,还可以尝试确定硬件是否与 Photoshop Elements 存在冲突。

免责声明:Adobe 不提供硬件支持,仅出于帮助客户的目的而提供这些任务。要获得进一步的帮助,请与硬件制造商或授权的经销商联系。如果您自行对硬件问题进行故障排除,则可能会失去计算机的保修资格。

注意:在拆卸或重新组装硬件之前,请关闭计算机和任何外围设备并断开其电源。

17. 验证其他设备驱动程序是否与 Windows XP 兼容。

18. 对编解码器进行故障排除。

与您的操作系统或应用程序不兼容的编解码器会导致启动和播放问题。通过删除最近安装的编解码器,或暂时每次禁用一个编解码器并尝试重现问题,可以对编解码器问题进行故障排除。

注意:删除编解码器可能会导致某些视频或音频文件无法读取,或者造成某些应用程序停止工作。请谨慎删除编解码器。如果不确定在系统上保留哪些编解码器,请联系 Adobe 技术支持以获取更多帮助。

要暂时禁用视频或音频编解码器,请参阅暂时禁用编解码器 (Windows XP)

19. 检查字体问题。

20. 将虚拟内存分页文件设置为默认大小。

21. 对硬盘进行修复和碎片整理。

22. 对系统进行病毒扫描。

使用当前的防病毒软件(例如,Symantec Norton AntiVirus 或 McAfee VirusScan)来检查系统中有无病毒。病毒感染可能会损坏软件,并引起系统错误。有关更多信息,请参见防病毒软件的文档。

23. 修复 Windows XP 并重新安装 Photoshop Elements。

删除 Photoshop Elements,修复 Windows XP,然后从原始安装介质安装 Photoshop Elements。如果您是从早期版本的 Windows 升级到 Windows XP 的,请执行此过程。

删除 Photoshop Elements:

  1. 选择“开始”>“控制面板”>“添加或删除程序”。
  2. 选择“Adobe Photoshop Elements”。
  3. 单击“更改/删除”。
  4. 按照屏幕上的说明删除 Photoshop Elements。
  5. 安装程序完成后,在 Windows 资源管理器中导航到 C:/Program Files/Adobe/Photoshop Elements 7.0(或您的自定义安装位置)。
  6. 删除保留在 Photoshop Elements 7.0 文件夹内的任何文件和文件夹。

要修复 Windows XP,请参阅 Microsoft 帮助和支持站点上的“如何执行 Windows XP 的就地升级(重新安装)”(文章 315341)。

修复 Windows XP 并重新安装 Photoshop Elements 后,请尝试重现问题。然后,执行以下操作之一:

  • 如果问题不再出现,则每次安装一个其他的应用程序,然后在每次安装后尝试重现问题。如果问题在安装应用程序后出现,则最近安装的应用程序可能是导致问题的原因。
  • 如果问题仅在安装了 Windows XP 和 Photoshop Elements 后出现,则继续执行任务 24。

24. 检查 SCSI 问题。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Symptoms

The following are some symptoms of system errors:

  • A blank or flickering dialog box
  • A frozen cursor or screen
  • A blue screen
  • An unexpected restart
  • An error message

To correct these problems, perform the numbered tasks that follow. For best results, perform the tasks in the order listed. Record the tasks you perform and the results of each, including errors and other problems. If you later contact Adobe Technical Support, this information can help the support staff resolve the problem. 

Important: The troubleshooting tasks reflect the default interface of Windows. If your interface is customized, you can encounter slight variations (for example, Start > Settings > Control Panel instead of Start > Control Panel). Additionally, the tasks reflect the Classic View of the Control Panel.

To view the Control Panel in the Classic View, click Switch To Classic View (Windows XP), Classic View (Windows Vista and Windows 7). These buttons are on the Control Panel navigation bar on the left side of the window.

If you are encountering issues with Photoshop Elements Editor, see Troubleshoot system errors, freezes | Windows | Adobe software and Troubleshoot system errors, freezes | Mac OS 10.x | Adobe software.

Back up your files

Before performing any of these tasks, back up all personal files (for example, Photoshop or InDesign files you created). Always restart the computer after a system error occurs to refresh its memory. Continuing to work without restarting the computer can make the problem worse. If you do not find a solution to your problem, try the product-specific solutions.

Note: Some of these procedures require you to locate hidden files or hidden folders. Some procedures require you to locate files by their full filenames, which include extensions (for example, some_filename.ini). By default, Windows Explorer doesn't show hidden files, hidden folders, and filename extensions that it recognizes. See Show hidden files, folders, and filename extensions | Windows XP, Vista, Windows 7 and Access hidden user library files | Mac OS 10.7 Lion.

Check system requirements

Make sure that the system meets the minimum requirements for the software. For the most up-to-date system requirement information, search the knowledgebase for "system requirements" and the product name.

To check basic system information, such as processor speed and how much RAM is installed, choose Help > System Info in most Adobe applications. If your application does not include this option, choose Start > Control Panel > System.

Beginning troubleshooting

1. Install the latest version of Photoshop Elements.

The latest version of the Adobe software could be more compatible with the operating system and drivers. Before you install an update or upgrade, make sure that the system meets the requirements. For the latest product updates and upgrades, visit Adobe - Downloads. An upgrade can solve a wider range of problems than a free update. Install any free updates before trying the rest of the tasks in this document. Complete the tasks listed here before you consider purchasing an upgrade.

2. Install current OS service packs and other updates.

See Install current Windows service packs and other updates.

On Macintosh, select Software Updates from the Apple menu.

3. Re-create the Elements Organizer preferences file.

Re-create the Adobe application preferences file to eliminate problems that a damaged preferences file can cause. 

  1. Navigate to the Elements Organizer settings folder: 

    • Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\[User Name]\Application Data\Adobe\Elements Organizer\[Version]\Organizer\
    • Win Vista/7/8: C:\Users\[User Name]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Elements Organizer\[Version]\Organizer\
    • Macintosh OS: //Users/[User Name]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Elements Organizer/[Version]/Organizer/

    Note: Some of the folders in these paths could be hidden. To reveal them, see:

  2. Rename psa.prf to psa.old.

  3. Retry launching Elements Organizer

4. Run the Elements Organizer while no other applications run in the background.

Startup items and services can cause system errors or freezes when running concurrently with the Elements Organizer. (Startup items start automatically with Windows and  services are specialized programs that support other programs.) To determine whether a startup item or service is conflicting with the Organizer, disable all startup items and non-essential services before you start the Organizer.

To disable startup items and non-essential services, see Disable startup items and services | Windows and Start in Safe Boot mode | Mac OS X

5. Change the system default printer.

An incompatible printer driver can cause system errors. To determine if the driver for the current default printer is causing the problem in the Elements Organizer, change the default printer.

See Change the system default printer

Once you have changed the default printer, try to re-create the problem in the Organizer. Then do one of the following:

  • If the problem still occurs, then a printer driver is not the cause of the problem. Restore the previous default printer and proceed to Step 6.
  • If the problem no longer occurs, then install or reinstall the latest version of the driver for the previous default printer. (Go to the printer manufacturer's website to download the latest driver.) Once you have installed the latest driver, open Printers And Faxes in the Control Panel and restore that printer as the default printer. Then try again to re-create the problem in the Elements Organizer. If the problem returns, then set the default printer back to the different printer or virtual PostScript printer that you chose in the steps above. Then, when you want to print to your actual preferred printer from the Elements Organizer, choose that printer in the Print Photos dialog.

6. Troubleshoot third-party plug-ins.

Close the Elements Organizer, remove third-party plug-ins from the plug-ins folder--which is located by default at C:/Program Files/Adobe/Photoshop Elements 7.0/Plug-Ins--and then restart the Organizer. If the problem recurs, then move the plug-ins back into the Elements Organizer plug-ins folder and proceed to Intermediate Troubleshooting. If the problem doesn't recur, then identify and address conflicting plug-ins.

To identify and address conflicting plug-ins:

  1. Move one third-party plug-in back to the Elements Organizer plug-ins folder. Restart the Elements Organizer, and try to re-create the problem.
  2. If the problem doesn't recur, then repeat the previous step. If the problem does recur, then contact the developer of the plug-in that you last moved, and inquire about an update.

Intermediate troubleshooting

If the tasks in the previous section don't solve the problem, then do the following intermediate troubleshooting tasks.

7. Troubleshoot catalog files.

The Elements Organizer stores information about your photos and other media files in catalog files. Damage in the current catalog file or one of its support files causes some system errors and freezes.

For instructions on troubleshooting catalog files, see Troubleshoot catalog issues | Organizer | Elements 6 and later.

8. Disable Auto-Analysis.

  1. Go to Edit (Windows) or Elements Organizer (Mac) > Preferences > Media-Analysis

    NOTE: Auto-Analysis Options in Photoshop Elements 8

  2. Deselect all options.
  3. Click OK.

9. Optimize handling of temporary files by Windows

Windows and applications store working data in temporary (.tmp) files that they create on the hard disk. Excessive or outdated temporary files can interfere with performance of Windows or applications.

See:

10. Update or reinstall QuickTime.

An outdated version of Apple QuickTime or a damaged QuickTime file can prevent the Elements Organizer from starting or operating correctly.

To update QuickTime, install the current version available from the Apple website.

To replace damaged QuickTime files, remove QuickTime and delete any QuickTime files or folders remaining on the system, and then reinstall QuickTime. For assistance with removing QuickTime, see "Removing iTunes, QuickTime, and other software components for Windows XP" (Article HT1925) on the Apple Support site.

11. Disable the FastCore, MMXCore, and MultiProcessor Support plug-ins.

The FastCore, MMXCore, and MultiProcessor Support plug-ins enable the Elements Organizer to use multiple processors and enhanced processor technologies such as MMX. Disable these plug-ins to identify problems related to your computer's processor.

To disable the FastCore, MMXCore, and MultiProcessor Support plug-ins:

  1. Close Photoshop Elements.
  2. In Windows Explorer, navigate to C:/Program Files/Adobe/Photoshop Elements 7.0/Locales/en_US/Plug-Ins/Extensions. (If you installed Photoshop Elements in a location other than the default of C:/Program Files/Adobe/Photoshop Elements 7.0, then modify this file path for your custom location.)
  3. Rename the filename extensions on the FastCore, MMXCore, and MultiProcessor Support plug-in files (for example, change MMXCore.8BX to MMXCore.old).

Once you have disabled the plug-ins, start the Elements 7 Organizer and try to re-create the problem. Then do one of the following:

  • If the problem no longer occurs, then leave these plug-ins disabled. Although the Elements Organizer can run without the FastCore, MMXCore, and MultiProcessor Support plug-ins, some of its functions could be slower. Contact the manufacturer of your computer for assistance with identifying possible problems with your computer's processor.
  • If the problem recurs, then your computer's processor is not the cause. Close the Organizer and reenable the plug-ins by renaming the files' extensions back to .8BX.

12. Reinstall Photoshop Elements from the Desktop while start-up items and services are disabled.

Damaged or incomplete installation of Photoshop Elements can cause system errors. Remove the application and then reinstall it from the Desktop while start-up items and nonessential services are disabled.

Remove Photoshop Elements:

  1. Choose Start > Control Panel > Add Or Remove Programs.
  2. Select Adobe Photoshop Elements <version>.
  3. Click Change/Remove.
  4. Follow the onscreen instructions to remove Photoshop Elements.
  5. When the installer has finished, navigate in Windows Explorer to C:/Program Files/Adobe/Photoshop Elements (or your custom installation location).
  6. Delete any files and folders that remain inside the Photoshop Elements folder.

To disable startup items and nonessential services, see the instructions in Task 4 of this document.

To reinstall Photoshop Elements, do one of the following:

  • If you purchased Photoshop Elements as downloadable software, then double-click the installer file that you downloaded and follow the onscreen instructions to install the application.
  • If you purchased Photoshop Elements as boxed software, then copy the Adobe Photoshop Elements folder from the Photoshop Elements installation CD-ROM to the Desktop. Open the Adobe Photoshop Elements folder on the Desktop. Double-click the Setup.exe file, and follow the onscreen instructions to reinstall the application.

13. Update the video card driver.

Many video card manufacturers frequently update their software drivers. If you haven't recently updated the video card driver, then contact the video card manufacturer for an updated driver. Or, download one from the manufacturer's website. (To determine the manufacturer of a video card, view the card's properties in Device Manager.)

14. Run the Elements Organizer in a new user account.

Create a user account that has the same permissions as the account you use when the problem occurs, or create a local administrator account. Try to re-create the problem while you are logged in to the new account.

For information on setting up a user account, see "To create a new user account" in Windows Help And Support, or contact your network administrator.

If the problem does not recur when you are logged on to the new account, then the original user account could be damaged.

If the problem does not recur in a local administrator account, then do one of the following:

  • If you were previously logged in as a standard user, update user privileges to files or folders on your computer. Contact Microsoft or your system administrator for instructions.
  • If you were previously logged in as a user account that is part of a network domain, contact your IT department or your network administrator.

15. Review the Elements Organizer Log

The Elements Organizer generates a log of the steps it processes when launching. By examining this log, you could discover the cause of the application failing to launch. The log file is called Log.txt and can be found in the Elements Organizer settings folder: 

  • Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\[User Name]\Application Data\Adobe\Elements Organizer\[Version]\Organizer\
  • Win Vista/7/8: C:\Users\[User Name]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Elements Organizer\[Version]\Organizer\
  • Macintosh OS: //Users/[User Name]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Elements Organizer/[Version]/Organizer/

Advanced troubleshooting

If the tasks in the previous section don't resolve the problem, then you can sometimes resolve the problem by repairing Windows XP and reinstalling Photoshop Elements. Also try reformatting your hard disk and reinstalling Windows XP and Photoshop Elements. Finally, try determining if hardware is conflicting with Photoshop Elements.

Disclaimer: Adobe doesn't support hardware and provides these tasks as a courtesy only. For further assistance, contact the hardware manufacturer or an authorized reseller. If you troubleshoot hardware problems yourself, then you can void the warranty for your computer.

Note: Before you remove or rearrange hardware, turn off and disconnect the power to the computer and any peripheral devices.

16. Verify that other device drivers are compatible with Windows XP.

17. Troubleshoot codecs.

Codecs that are incompatible with your operating system or applications can cause startup and playback issues. Troubleshoot codec problems by removing recently installed codecs or by temporarily disabling one codec at a time and attempting to re-create the problem.

Note: Removing a codec can cause some video or audio files to become unreadable, or can cause some applications to stop working. Use caution when removing codecs. If you are not certain which codecs to keep on your system, then contact Adobe Technical Support for additional assistance.

To temporarily disable a video or audio codec, see Temporarily disable a codec (Windows XP).

18. Check for font problems.

19. Set the virtual memory paging file to the default size.

20. Repair and defragment hard disks.

21. Scan the system for viruses.

Use current anti-virus software (for example, Symantec Norton AntiVirus or McAfee VirusScan) to check the system for viruses. Virus infections can damage software and cause system errors. For more information, see the documentation for the anti-virus software.

22. Repair Windows XP and reinstall Photoshop Elements.

Remove Photoshop Elements, repair Windows XP, and then install Photoshop Elements from the original installation media. Perform this procedure particularly if you upgraded to Windows XP from an earlier edition of Windows.

Remove Photoshop Elements:

  1. Choose Start > Control Panel > Add Or Remove Programs.
  2. Select Adobe Photoshop Elements.
  3. Click Change/Remove.
  4. Follow the onscreen instructions to remove Photoshop Elements.
  5. When the installer has finished, navigate in Windows Explorer to C:/Program Files/Adobe/Photoshop Elements 7.0 (or your custom installation location).
  6. Delete any files and folders that remain inside the Photoshop Elements 7.0 folder.

To repair Windows XP, see "How to perform an in-place upgrade (reinstallation) of Windows XP" (Article 315341) on the Microsoft Help and Support site.

After you have repaired Windows XP and reinstalled Photoshop Elements, try to re-create the problem. Then do one of the following:

  • If the problem no longer occurs, then install other applications one at a time and try to re-create the problem after each installation. If the problem occurs after an installation, then the recently installed application could be the cause.
  • If the problem occurs when only Windows XP and Photoshop Elements are installed, then proceed to Task 24.

23. Check for SCSI problems.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy