The default nature of Adobe Acrobat Sign is to secure a user’s content from all other users not explicitly invited to view or interact with that content.
Agreements implicitly include all the recipients. Library documents are explicitly shared in the template properties.
However, there are roles in most organizations that require oversight of transactions without the observer being directly involved or groups of agents that need to have a general awareness of all transactions within their group.
User content sharing allows one user or group to share their content with any other user or group.
Two types of user content sharing are available:
Once an account is converted to advanced sharing, it may not be reverted to basic sharing. This is a one-way process.
Users under the basic sharing model can establish, review, and cancel their shares in their Personal Preferences section. All users (admins included) have the same experience.
There are two discrete pages, one for the inbound shares (View Other Accounts), and one for the outbound shares (Share my Account):
Users request shares by clicking the plus icon and entering an email for the user they want to establish the share with.
After the share is requested, it exists in a “Pending” state until the requested user either accepts or declines the invitation.
Advanced account sharing is available to the enterprise tier of service only, and must be enabled by submitting a ticket to the support team.
When an account is converted to advanced sharing, the user interface changes from two discrete pages to one, tabbed page called Sharing Status:
The two tabs align to the two pages used under basic sharing rules:
Users establish shares by clicking the plus icon, which opens a pop-up that allows the user to either enter an email address or select users or groups from a list of the current account user and group objects.
Account administrators have the authority to fully establish a share between their user and any other user within their Acrobat Sign account without approval.
Group administrators have the authority to fully establish a share between their user and any user within their group without approval.
Group admins that attempt to establish a share with a user or group outside of their group will create a “Pending” share. The other user must explicitly approve (accept) the share request for the share to be established.
Non-admin users can request a share (based on the configured controls) that remains “Pending” until the other party accepts or declines the share request.
Administrators (under advanced sharing rules) have the ability to share the group they are the admin of, and to manage the shares that are tied to the group (vs. their user).
Group sharing works mechanically the same as user shares, except the group is a larger container, and by sharing with a group, the user gains access to all content from all users in that group.
If a user is removed from the group, that user’s content is no longer in the group, so is no longer visible.
To access the Group level sharing as a group admin:
A group can be shared with itself, causing all users in the group to have a full view of all other users in the group without having to define individual shares.
Account admins can manage the shares for all groups in the account and can fully establish shares between groups without requiring acceptance by another user.
To access group sharing as an account admin:
When the Group menu loads, click on Sharing Status
The originator of a “Pending” share can resend the share request to the target user by:
When a user requests a share, the target user (or group admin in the case of Groups) receives an email with a link to approve the share:
Alternatively, a user can accept or decline a request in the application by:
Both sharing models allow either party to cancel a share at any time:
The permissions for an established share between users/groups can be modified by:
There is a 30-minute delay between modifying share permissions and seeing the effect of those changes.
The content shared to your user is displayed on the Manage tab.
At the top-left of the manage page, you can see a drop-down arrow next to Your Agreements
The page refreshes to show the Manage page content of the selected user/group:
The filters in the left rail (In Progress, Completed, Web Forms) filter the content just as they do when you are viewing your content.
Advanced sharing allows a user to modify the documents and fields on the agreements of a shared account (as long as the agreement is still eligible).
To modify an agreement:
Advanced sharing allows a user to send an agreement on behalf of a shared user.
This agreement is owned by the shared account as if the owner of the account sent it.
Only the history and audit log will indicate that the agreement was sent through the shared account by another user.
To send an agreement from a shared account:
The page refreshes to show a limited interface.
A banner at the top of the page indicates that you are in a shared account and identifies the user of that account.
On the right side of the banner is a link that returns you to your account.
The Activity log of the agreement clearly states that the agreement was sent on behalf of the user:
The administrative controls for user sharing can be found in Account Settings > Security Settings > Account Sharing
Basic sharing controls define if sharing is allowed, and the method by which sharing is initiated:
Advanced sharing enables an additional set of permissions: