Note:

We’re currently rolling out a new and improved Creative Cloud Assets website experience. If your Assets experience is different from what’s described on this page, see this Help page for the new experience.

Collaboration is a new enhancement to the Creative Cloud Assets service that allows you to share groups of assets from your Creative Cloud account with other Creative Cloud users and allows them to work cooperatively with those shared assets.

For information on using Collaboration see, Collaborate with others.

Frequently Asked Questions

What’s the difference between a Collaboration and a Send Link?

Send Link is used to share an individual asset, folders, mobile creations, libraries or library elements with others. Collaborations are used to share an entire folder of assets or library to be available to your designated collaborators.

When you Send a Link for an asset to others, they can perform limited actions: view a shared asset, and optionally download it or add comments to it. With collaborations, your collaborators have the ability to do everything that can be done with a shared asset, but they can also make changes to assets within a collaboration. Collaborators can rename, move, add, and delete assets in a collaboration, among other tasks.

How do I create a Collaboration?

Log in to your Creative Cloud account and navigate to the folder or library on which you want to collaborate. Click the menu on the lower-right corner and click Collaborate.

Enter the email address of the person you want to include in the collaboration and click the Invite button. To invite multiple collaborators, enter a list of email addresses separated by a comma or semicolon. Add more collaborators, and/or click the close button (X) to exit the dialog.

 

How do I add or remove someone from an existing Collaboration?

To add more collaborators, follow the steps suggested above. To remove collaborators, in the Collaborators dialog, click the X next to a collaborator’s name.

What happens if I add or remove someone from an existing Collaboration?

When you add new collaborators, they receive an invitation to join the collaboration. Once they accept, they have access to all assets in the collaboration. Once removed from a collaboration, former collaborators no longer have any access to any assets in the collaboration.

Joining a collaboration uses up your personal storage quota.

What happens if I add or remove an asset from an existing Collaboration that I own?

When you add assets to a collaboration, all designated collaborators have access to all assets in the collaboration.

Once removed from a collaboration, assets are moved to your Archive folder and no longer be available to any collaborators.

What happens if a collaborator adds an asset to an existing Collaboration?

When you add assets to a collaboration, all designated collaborators have access to all assets in the collaboration.

What happens if a collaborator removes an asset from an existing Collaboration?

Once removed from a collaboration, assets are moved to the owner's Archive folder, and are no longer available to any collaborators. Only owners can restore such assets. 

Locally, assets are deleted and moved to the Trash/Recycle Bin folder.

How does collaboration impact the storage quota?

The contents of a collaboration consumes space from each collaborator’s storage quota.

What happens if the folder or a subfolder is renamed?

If a collaborator renames the collaboration’s top-level folder, it only changes locally and doesn’t affect the name of the folder for other collaborators. However, if a subfolder within a collaboration is renamed, the change is reflected for all collaborators. 

If the owner renames the collaboration’s top-level folder, it does not affect the name of the folder for any of the existing collaborators. But, if any new collaborators are added after this point, they will see the folder with the new name.

Are there different rights or permissions?

Yes. There are three levels of collaboration permissions: Owner, Edit-level Collaborator, and View-level Collaborator. Only the owner can delete the collaboration folder or library. Edit-level collborators can edit, rename, move, and delete contents of the folder or library. View-level collaborators can view and use the contents of the folder/library, and comment on them.

Can collaborators invite other collaborators?

Collaborators with Edit-level permissions can extend the invitation to anyone who was not originally invited to the collaboration. Collaborators with View-level permissions cannot do so.

Can collaborators remove other collaborators?

Only collaborators with Edit-level permissions can remove other collaborators from the collaboration (except for the Owner). Collaborators with View-level permissions cannot do so.

What files can I include in a collaboration?

Practically anything. Any file that can be uploaded to your Creative Cloud account can be included in a collaboration.

Do the people I collaborate with need to be Creative Cloud members?

Yes, all collaborators must be either free or paid Creative Cloud members.

If an invitation is sent to an email address that is already mapped to an Adobe ID, then only that Adobe ID can accept it.

However, if an invitation is sent to an email address that is not yet an Adobe ID, the account the user signs in while accepting the invitation is used instead. It can be a new account, or an existing Adobe ID.

 

How can I tell who is part of a collaboration?

Click the options menu on the lower-right corner of a folder or library containing your collaboration assets, then click Collaborate. The list of collaborators displays. You can add or remove collaborators any time.

If you're viewing the contents of a folder, choose Share > Collaborate.

How can I end a collaboration?

Simply remove all collaborators and close the Collaborators dialog to end a collaboration. Only an owner can end a collaboration and retain access to the assets. Collaborators lose access to the assets when they are removed (or when they remove themselves).

What exactly can a collaborator do?

While adding collaborators to a library or a folder, you can choose whether you want to give them Edit-level permissions or View-level permissions.

Collaborators with Edit-level permissions can edit, rename, move, and delete the contents of the folder or library.

Collaborators with View-level permissions can only view the contents of the library/folder and comment on them.

Does the collaborator need to do anything to participate?

Yes. They need to have a Creative Cloud account/Adobe ID (a free account is OK), they must sign in to their Creative Cloud account, and they must accept the invitation to each collaboration to which they are invited.

Can I include subfolders in a collaboration?

Yes.

Is there a cost for using Creative Cloud collaboration?

No. Collaboration is an enhancement to Creative Cloud and is available to all users at no additional cost.

Are there any limits?

You can have up to 32 active collaborations. Each collaboration can have up to 100 collaborators.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy