概述

Character Animator 是一款角色动画应用程序,允许您使用自己的图稿创造富有表现力的角色。

借助 Adobe Character Animator,您可以从 Adobe Photoshop 或 Adobe Illustrator 导入图稿,为它们注入生命。为此,先使用摄像机和麦克风捕捉您的表演。当您表演时,Character Animator 会再现您的面部表情,将您的口型与语音同步,并让您完全控制某个角色动作的方方面面。

您可以为从他人那里获得的角色制作动画,也可以根据用 Photoshop 或 Illustrator 设计的图稿组合自己的角色。您甚至可以编写自己的行为或使用别处的现有行为。

Adobe

安装 Adobe Character Animator

Adobe Character Animator 随 After Effects CC 2015 一起安装。但是,它是一个独立的应用程序,也可在 After Effects 之外单独启动。

有关 After Effects 的最新版本的信息,请参阅新增功能概述

为您的角色创建多图层图稿

使用 Photoshop 或 Illustrator,创建一个代表角色的各部分结构(头、眼、嘴、臂、腿等)的多图层文档。如果您已经创建了一个角色,请跳到下一节,了解如何将您的图稿导入 Character Animator。

创建人偶

在 Character Animator 中,选择“文件”>“导入”浏览到您的图稿文件,然后将其选中。

导入所选图稿,人偶表示形式(从它的图层中创建)即显示在“项目”面板中。Photoshop 或 Illustrator 文档中的图稿结构决定人偶在 Character Animator 中的结构。人偶的某些特征可在不同变体或更换件之间互换(例如,一个角色的不同嘴部表情可以是文档中的单独图层)。您可以在 Character Animator 中创建一个自定义人偶组合结构,包括更换件。无需修改原始图稿。

将人偶放入场景

在“项目”面板中选中人偶,单击“添加到新场景”按钮将其放入新场景。该场景将在“场景”面板中自动打开,您刚刚添加的人偶将在“时间轴”面板中选中。

场景包含人偶。当一个场景在“场景”面板中打开后,您可以设置人偶在场景中的最初位置,并制作它们随时间推移的动画。

控制人偶

在“场景”面板中看着您的角色,将脸放在离网络摄像机较合适的距离(但要在“摄像机和麦克风”面板所示的圈圈中足够大),做一个中性面部表情,然后单击“设置静止姿势”。红色跟踪点将显示在脸上。

如果人偶具有专门命名的图层(例如,头、左眼、嘴等),则可以在您的网络摄像机前做不同的面部表情,从而对其进行控制。如果人偶的脚部具有专门命名的导线,则可以用鼠标拖动它们。

人偶具有行为和能力,可让您控制其移动、变形、外观和其他属性。某些行为使用外部控件(如网络摄像机、音频或鼠标输入)。正是行为允许以富有表现力的方式控制您的静态图稿。

调整行为参数

如果您不希望角色的头部缩放或旋转,请在“属性”面板中为“面部”行为减小“头部位置强度”“头部缩放强度”参数的值。通过为“变换”行为增加“位置 X”参数的值,尝试将角色移近场景中心。按住 Shift 键拖动该值,实现较大的变化。

大部分行为具有可用于自定义结果的参数。源人偶(人偶的母版定义)显示在“项目”面板中,场景中含有人偶的多个实例。源人偶的参数值为所有实例的默认值,但您可以为每个实例覆盖这些值。

录制性能

  1. 在“属性”面板中,单击鼠标跟踪器和键盘触发器行为名称旁边的“备录以进行录制”按钮(红色小圆圈),从而解除备录状态。
  2. 让“面部和嘴同步”行为处于备录状态,以便在录制期间捕捉对这些行为的更改。
  3. 单击“场景”面板底部的红色“录制”按钮,然后开始您的表演(移动头部、环视、眨眼、说话等)。
  4. 单击“停止”完成录制。

备录行为用红色小圆圈和红色文本标识。所选人偶的轨道也处于备录状态以进行录制(在“时间轴”面板左侧的轨道头中,人偶名称的背景为红色),表示该所选人偶的备录行为将被捕捉。通过选择人偶,从而使其在轨道级别备录,即可在场景中捕捉表演。

表演作为“面部和嘴同步”行为的一个场次进行捕捉。默认情况下,人偶轨道处于折叠状态,但您可以通过人偶轨道项目条底部的浅色条,确定何时已捕捉表演。如果您单击显示三角形展开人偶轨道,将看到针对备录行为录制的各个场次。由于在录制过程中同时启用了“麦克风输入”,任何检测到的音频也将捕捉为 WAV 文件,并在时间轴中显示为音频轨道。

预览以供查看!

  1. 单击“播放”或按空格键预览您的录制内容。
  2. 单击“停止”(或再次按下空格键),然后在完成时单击“转到开头”。

在回放期间,您可以查看录制的场次。在回放过程中,当前时间指示器随时间移动,但此时您无法手动移动它。在第二次录制后,“鼠标跟踪器”场次条出现(如果人偶轨道处于展开状态),但是不会显示任何其他的音频轨道项目。如果您现在播放该场景的时间轴,将会看到两段录制内容的组合。

导出人偶表演的录制内容

  1. 在“项目”面板中选择该场景,然后在“属性”面板中,将该场景的持续时间调整为 10 秒(或者您录制两个场次的时长)。
  2. 选择“文件”>“导出”>“场景”,然后在磁盘上为该表演指定位置和名称。

场景的持续时间(在“时间轴”面板中显示为高光部分)控制导出的帧数。您录制的场次导出为 PNG 序列(使用 Alpha 进行合成)和 WAV 文件(用于录制的音频)。导出内容的持续时间取决于“属性”面板中该场景的“持续时间”参数。

将录制内容导入 After Effects

动作
  1. 在 After Effects 中,选择“文件”>“脚本”
  2. 选择“文件”>“脚本”,然后选择 New Comp from Character Animator Recording.jsx。
  3. 在导出录制内容的文件夹中,选择第一个 PNG 文件。
  4. 预览合成以查看结果。

如果您需要对人偶做出更改,可以在 Character Animator 中将其编辑回去,并且在 Photoshop 或 Illustrator 中将图稿的任何更改编辑回去。您所做的更改可以向下流回 After Effects。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Overview

Character Animator is a character animation application that allows you to bring expressive characters to life using your own artwork.

Adobe Character Animator allows you to import artwork from Adobe Photoshop or Adobe Illustrator, and breathe life into them. You can do so by first capturing your performance using a camera and microphone. While you're performing, Character Animator reproduces your facial expressions, synchronizes mouth movements to your speech, and provides complete control over all aspects of a character’s movement.

You can animate a character that you’ve acquired from someone else, or you can rig your own characters based on your own artwork from Photoshop or Illustrator. You can even write your own behaviors or use existing behaviors from elsewhere.

Adobe

Install Adobe Character Animator

Adobe Character Animator is installed along with After Effects CC 2015. However, it is a stand-alone application, and can be launched separately outside After Effects, too.

For information about the latest version of After Effects, see New Features Summary.

Create multi-layered artwork for your character

Using Photoshop or Illustrator, create a multi-layered document representing the structural pieces (head, eyes, mouth, arms, legs, and more) of a character. If you have created a character already, skip to the next section to learn how to import your artwork into Character Animator.

Create a puppet

In Character Animator, choose File > Import to browse to and select your artwork file.

The selected artwork is imported and a puppet representation, created from its layers, appears in the Project panel. The structure of the artwork in a Photoshop or Illustrator document determines the structure of the puppet within Character Animator. Some features of the puppet can be swapped between different variations or replacements (for example, different mouth expressions for a character can be separate layers in the document). You can create a custom puppet rig structure, including replacements, within Character Animator. Your original artwork need not be modified.

Place the puppet in a scene

With the puppet selected in the Project panel, click the Add to New Scene button to place it in a new scene. The scene is automatically opened in the Scene panel, and the puppet you just added is selected in the Timeline panel. 

A scene contains puppets. When a scene is opened in the Scene panel, you can set the initial placement of puppets in the scene, and animate them over time.

Control the puppet

Look at your character in the Scene panel, place your face at a comfortable distance from the webcam (but big enough within the circle shown in the Camera & Microphone panel), make a neutral facial expression, then click Set Rest Pose. Red tracking dots will appear on your face.

If your puppet had specially named layers (for example, Head, Left Eye, Mouth, and so on), you can control it by making different facial expressions in front of your webcam. If your puppet’s feet had specially named guides, they could be dragged with the mouse.

A puppet has behaviors, capabilities that let you control its movement, deformation, appearance, and other attributes. Some behaviors use external controls, such as the webcam or audio or mouse input. It is behaviors that allow for expressive control of your static artwork.

Adjust behavior parameters

If you don’t want the character’s head to scale or rotate, then decrease the Head Position Strength and Head Scale Strength parameter values for the Face behavior in the Properties panel. Try shifting the character closer to the center of the scene by increasing the Position X parameter value for the Transform behavior. Hold down the Shift key while scrubbing the value for larger changes.

Most behaviors have parameters that let you customize the results. The source (master definition of a) puppet appears in the Project panel, with instances of the puppet in a scene. The parameter values for the source puppet are the defaults for all instances, but you can override those values for each instance.

Record a performance

  1. In the Properties panel, click the Arm for Record button (small red circle) next to both of the Mouse Tracker and Keyboard Triggers behavior’s names to disarm them.
  2. Leave the Face and Lip Sync behaviors armed so that changes to those behaviors during recording will be captured.
  3. Click the red Record button at the bottom of the Scene panel, and begin your performance (move your head, look around, blink, talk, and more).
  4. Click Stop to finish recording.

Armed behaviors are identified with a small red circle and in red text. The selected puppet’s track is also armed for record (the background of the puppet’s name in the track header on the left side of the Timeline panel is red), meaning the armed behaviors on that selected puppet will be captured. By selecting a puppet, and thereby arming it at the track level, you can capture a performance of it in the scene.

The performance is captured as a take for the Face and Lip Sync behaviors. By default, a puppet’s track is collapsed, but you can identify when in time a performance has been captured by the light-colored bar along the bottom of the puppet track item’s bar. If you click the disclosure triangle to expand the puppet track, you will see the individual recorded takes for the armed behaviors. Because the Microphone Input was also enabled during recording, any detected audio is also captured as a WAV file, and appears as an audio track in the timeline.

Preview to review!

  1. Click Play or press the spacebar to preview your recording. 
  2. Click Stop (or press the spacebar again), then Go to Start when done.

You can view recorded takes during playback. The current-time indicator moves across time during playback, but you cannot move it manually at this time. After the second recording, a Mouse Tracker take bar appears (if the puppet track was expanded), but no additional audio track item appeared. If you played the scene’s timeline now, you would see the combination of both recordings.

Export the recording of your puppet performance

  1. Select the scene in the Project panel, then adjust the scene’s Duration to 10 seconds (or as long as you recorded your two takes) in the Properties panel.
  2. Choose File > Export > Scene, then specify a location and name on disk for the performance.

The duration of the scene, appearing as a highlighted section of the Timeline panel, controls the number of frames to export. The takes you recorded are exported as a PNG sequence (with alpha for compositing) and WAV file for recorded audio. The duration of the exported content is determined by the Duration parameter of the scene in the Properties panel.

Import the recording into After Effects

Action
  1. In After Effects, choose File > Scripts
  2. Choose File > Scripts, then select New Comp from Character Animator Recording.jsx.
  3. Select the first PNG file in the exported recording’s folder.
  4. Preview the composition to see the results.

If you need to make a change to the puppet, you can edit it back in Character Animator and any artwork changes back in Photoshop or Illustrator. Your changes can flow back down to After Effects.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy