时间效果

注意:

After Effects 附带的此类第三方效果包括:CC Force Motion Blur、CC Time Blend、CC Time Blend FX 和 CC Wide Time 效果。请参阅 After Effects 中附带的第三方增效工具

残影效果

残影效果可合并来自图层中不同时间的帧。残影效果有各种用途,包括从简单的视觉残影到条纹和污迹效果。

残影效果
残影效果

仅当图层随时间发生变化时(例如基于视频素材项目的图层中的运动),此效果的结果才会显现出来。此效果不创建通过在合成内移动图层本身而创建的运动的残影。要创建通过在合成内移动图层而创建的运动的残影,请预合成图层,将所有属性移动到新合成中,然后向预合成图层应用残影效果。

此效果适用于 8-bpc、16-bpc 和 32-bpc 颜色。

David Van Brink 在其 omino 网站上提供了演示如何使用残影效果、粒子运动场效果和 loopOut 表达式对一群程式化的游动细菌设置动画的博客文章和示例项目。

残影时间(秒)

残影之间以秒为单位的时间。负值将从之前的帧创建残影;正值将从即将到来的帧创建残影。

残影数量

残影的数目。例如,如果值为 2,则结果为三个帧的组合:当前时间,当前时间 + 残影时间,以及当前时间 +(2 * 残影时间)。

起始强度

残影序列中第一个图像的不透明度。

衰减

残影的不透明度与残影序列中位于它前面的残影的不透明度的比率。例如,如果衰减为 0.5,那么第一个残影的不透明度为起始强度的一半;第二个残影是第一个的一半,即起始强度的四分之一。

残影运算符

用于合并残影的混合运算。

  • 相加:通过将残影的像素值相加来合并残影。如果起始强度太高,此模式可能会快速过载并生成白色的线条。
  • 最大值:通过获取所有残影的最大像素值来合并残影。
  • 最小值:通过获取所有残影的最小像素值来合并残影。
  • 滤色:通过在视觉上将残影夹在中间来模仿合并残影的效果。此模式与相加类似,但不会那么快过载。
  • 从后至前组合:使当前时间的图像置后,从而使每个残影在合成中依次置前。
  • 从前至后组合:使当前时间的图像置前,从而使每个残影在合成中依次置后。
  • 混合:残影的平均值。

像素运动模糊 | CC

计算机生成的运动或加速素材通常看起来很虚假,这是因为没有应用运动模糊。像素运动模糊效果会分析视频素材,并根据运动矢量人工合成运动模糊。添加运动模糊可使运动更加真实,因为其中包含了通常由摄像机在拍摄时引入的模糊。

快门控制

选择手动可单独设置快门角度快门采样值。选择自动可选择为图层或合成指定的值。

快门角度

快门角度的单位是度,模拟旋转快门所允许的曝光。快门角度使用素材帧速率确定影响像素运动模糊量的模拟曝光。例如,为 24-fps 的素材输入 90°(360°的 25%)将创建 1/96 秒(1/24 秒的 25%)的有效曝光。输入 1°时几乎不应用任何像素运动模糊,而输入 720°则会应用大量模糊效果。

快门采样

控制像素运动模糊的质量。值越高,运动模糊越平滑,但渲染时间越长。

矢量详细信息

确定多少运动矢量用于计算模糊。值为 100 表示对每个像素使用一个矢量。增大此值可能不一定产生更好的结果,但是将需要更多时间渲染。

色调分离时间效果

色调分离时间效果
色调分离时间效果

抽帧时间效果可将剪辑锁定到特定的帧速率。它可以作为特殊效果独立使用,但它还有其他更微妙的用途。例如,每秒 60 场的视频素材可以锁定到每秒 24 帧(然后场将以每秒 60 场的速度渲染)以呈现电影效果。此外,嵌套的合成也可以锁定到给定的帧速率。此效果在硬件设备中有时称为闪光

使用帧速率滑块的值制作动画可能会产生不可预知的结果。鉴于此,唯一可用于帧速率的插值法是定格

此效果适用于 8-bpc、16-bpc 和 32-bpc 颜色。

注意:

能够实现与向图层应用色调分离时间效果差不多相同结果的另一种方法是:预合成图层,在合成设置对话框中更改预合成的帧速率,然后在高级选项卡上为预合成设置在嵌套时或在渲染队列中,保留帧速率。此方法导致预合成保留自己的帧速率,而不是从包含它的合成那里继承那些设置。

时差效果

时差效果
时差效果

时差效果计算两个图层之间的色差,有助于进行颜色校正;在将干净的背景图版与前景素材进行匹配时,可使用它来提取色差。该效果还适合用于创建遮罩,然后利用遮罩来应用烟、火或残影效果。在应用时差效果以查找素材中的色差之后,您可以使用颜色校正效果来应用颜色校正。

此效果适用于 8-bpc 颜色。

注意:

时差粒子运动场结合使用可以仅从移动部分散发粒子。

目标

指定要与效果图层进行比较的图层。比较图层的视频开关无需处于打开状态(除非您选择源图层作为目标)。

时间偏移

比较图层中的相对时间,将在此时间对图层进行比较,以秒为单位。如果此控件设置为 0.00,将在当前时间进行比较。例如,要在比较图层中的 3 秒处对效果图层进行比较,请将时间偏移值更改为 3。在选择带下划线的位移值时,您可以采用/速率帧格式输入特定帧偏移值。After Effects 会自动计算该值。例如,输入 3/30 可在 30-fps 合成中向前偏移三个帧。计算出的值是 0.1,即总时间的 10%。

对比度

调整比较结果。此控件可能特别有助于微调颜色校正。

绝对差值

将比较结果显示为绝对值。比较图层中任何与效果图层相同的区域由黑色表示,任何差异值由比黑色更明亮的颜色表示。如果取消选择此选项,没有差异的比较区域将表示为灰色。

Alpha 通道

指定计算 Alpha 通道的方式。

  • 原始:使用效果图层的 Alpha 通道。
  • 目标:使用目标图层的 Alpha 通道。
  • 混合:混合目标图层和效果图层的 Alpha 通道。
  • 最大值:使用更加不透明的 Alpha 通道。
  • 完全打开:将 Alpha 通道设置为不透明。
  • 结果亮度:使用 RGB 差值的亮度作为 Alpha。
  • 结果最大值:使用 RGB 差值的最高值作为 Alpha。
  • Alpha 差值:采用与计算 RGB 差值相同的方式计算效果图层和目标图层的 Alpha 通道的差值。
  • 仅 Alpha 差值:仅计算 Alpha 通道中的差值。RGB 被设置为白色。

时间置换效果

时间置换效果
时间置换效果

置换图层
置换图层

时间置换效果通过使像素跨时间偏移来扭曲图像,从而生成各种各样的效果。例如,可以使用时间置换效果模拟跨时间捕获移动图像的不同阶段的传统栅缝扫描技术。

此效果适用于 8-bpc 和 16-bpc 颜色。

置换图效果一样,时间置换效果也使用置换图,但是它将图层中像素的移动基于置换图中的明亮度值。图层中与置换图中的明亮区域对应的像素将被相同位置、但时间上早指定秒数的像素替换。同样,图层中与置换图中的暗区域对应的像素将被相同位置、但时间上晚指定秒数的像素替换。您可以使用任何图层作为置换图,不过使用灰度图像可以让您更容易看见亮度级别并预测像素的置换方式。

时间置换效果跨时间自动替换像素,而不使用关键帧或表达式。不过,您可以为其他属性设置动画,以便使效果随时间的推移发生变化。

为了更好地理解像素随时间被置换的方式,可考虑逐步发生的置换。

  1. After Effects 覆盖效果图层(您正在扭曲的图层)上的置换图图层。如果置换图的大小不同于效果图层的大小,您可以指定置换图是居中还是拉伸以适合效果图层。

  2. 以秒为单位,指定最大位移量。

  3. After Effect 使用置换图中每个像素的明亮度值计算效果图层中相应像素的移位,以最大位移量为基础。

    在灰度图像中,明亮度值的范围是 0 到 255,它将转换为从 -1 到 1 的缩放比例。明亮度值 0 将生成最大向后移位,这意味着当前时间的像素将被之前某一时间的像素替换。明亮度值 255 将生成最大向前移位,这意味着当前时间的像素将被将来某一时间的像素替换。明亮度值为 128 时不生成移位。对于灰度置换图中的其他值,您可以使用以下公式计算移位量,以秒为单位:

    以秒为单位的移位量 = 最大移位时间 * (2 * (明亮度值 - 128)/256)

  4. After Effects 通过将图像中当前时间处的像素替换为相同位置中另一时间处的像素,来置换图像中的每个像素。另一个时间是以秒为单位的像素移位量,在第 3 步中计算。

假设您指定 2 秒作为最长时间移位。After Effects 查找置换图中每个像素的明亮度值,然后基于 2 秒的最长时间,将当前时间的相应像素替换为另一时间的像素。置换图中的明亮度值 255 会将该像素替换为同一位置提前 2 秒处的像素。明亮度值 42 会将该像素替换为同一位置延后 1.34 秒处的像素。

时间置换图层

指定要用作置换图的图层。

最大移位时间 [秒]

以秒为单位,设置当前时间之前或之后的最长时间,从该时间开始替换像素。只有明亮度值 0 或 255(最大暗度和最大亮度)会生成最长时间移位。所有其他明亮度值均生成小于最长时间的时间移位。

时间分辨率 (fps)

设置替换像素的速度,以每秒帧数为单位。通常,此值不应当大于受影响图层的帧速率。增加时间分辨率可能会大大增加渲染时间。

伸缩对应图以适合

调整时间置换图层的大小以匹配您正在扭曲的图层的大小。如果不选择此选项,时间置换图层将在合成中居中。

应用时间置换效果

  1. 合成面板中,同时显示您想扭曲的图层和置换图层。

  2. 通过单击时间轴面板中的视频开关,来隐藏置换图层。

  3. 合成面板中,选择要扭曲的图层。

  4. 选择效果 > 时间 > 时间置换

  5. 从列出合成中的所有图层的时间置换图层菜单中选择置换图。建议选择灰度地图。

    注意:

    After Effects 使用您在其原始形状中选择的图层,而不包含您可能应用的任何蒙版、效果或变换。如果您要将该图层与置换图中包含的那些变化结合使用,请使用将所有属性移动到新合成选项预合成该图层。(请参阅预合成图层。)

  6. 调整时间置换控件。

时间扭曲效果

时间扭曲效果
时间扭曲效果

时间扭曲效果使您能够在更改图层的回放速度时精确控制各种参数,包括插值方法、运动模糊和源裁剪,以消除不需要的人为标记。您可以使用时间扭曲效果来创建简单的慢运动或快运动结果或者更复杂的重定时。时间扭曲效果在时间轴面板中独立于帧混合开关。

注意:

时间扭曲效果对隔行素材的场不起作用。要对以隔行素材项目作为源的图层使用时间扭曲效果,请将合成设置中的帧速率增加一倍。当您渲染到最终输出时,请在渲染队列面板中修改渲染设置,以设置适合输出类型的帧速率。

时间扭曲效果基于 Kronos,后者是 The Foundry 提供的 Furnace 软件包的一个组件。有关运动矢量和运动评估参数的详细文档,请参阅 Foundry 网站上的 Furnace 文档(PDF 格式)。

此效果适用于 8-bpc 和 16-bpc 颜色。在 After Effects CS6 中,此效果在 32 位颜色中有效。

注意:

您可以使用时间扭曲效果在视频图层内添加运动模糊,而不会更改图层的速度。应用时间扭曲效果,将速度设置为 100,在效果内启用运动模糊,并使用手动快门控制功能调整运动模糊。

方法

在更改帧速率时,必须为位于图像的原始帧之间的帧创建(插补)图像信息。方法设置确定如何生成插补帧。

  • 所有帧:复制显示的最后一帧。
  • 帧混合:通过混合现有帧来创建新的帧。
  • 像素运动:通过分析附近帧的像素运动以及创建运动矢量来创建新的帧。运动矢量表示一个或一组像素从一个帧到下一个帧的运动。帧之间的图像使用这些矢量进行插补。

“调整时间方式”控件

选择速度以按百分比指定时间调整。选择源帧通过标识在什么时间播放哪个源帧来指定时间调整。如果您为调整时间方式选择源帧,则必须对源帧属性设置动画,以便执行除冻结某个帧之外的任何操作。您还可以对速度属性设置动画,以便随时间的推移更改时间重映射因数。

默认情况下,速度设置为 50,以便将速度降低 50%。此设置以原始帧的四分之一和四分之三间隔创建新帧,而不是使用一个原始帧和一个新生成的帧。原始帧将故意排除在帧的时间重映射系列之外,从而避免速度减半后每隔一帧上可能出现的脉冲。

“像素运动”插值的“调节”控件

  • 矢量详细信息:确定在插值期间使用的运动矢量数目。使用的矢量越多,渲染时间就越长。值 100 将为每个像素生成一个矢量。如果图层具有快速移动运动,则使用较低的矢量详细信息设置可能会使该图层效果更好。

平滑

这些控制会影响图像的锐度:

  • 从一个图像开始构建:从距离最近的单个帧而不是距离最近的两个帧生成最终输出。结果是图像更清晰,但是运动更不平稳。
  • 适当明亮度更改:在计算运动之前,平衡帧之间的明亮度。
  • 过滤:用于构建插补图像的过滤的品质。“极端”会大大增加渲染时间。“过滤”选项只影响最终图像的锐度;除非您已准备好进行最终渲染,否则请使用“正常”。

错误阈值

确定从一个帧到下一个帧的像素匹配的精度。值越高,产生的运动矢量越少,混合程度越高。

注意:

果您在图像中看到边缘撕裂,请尝试增大错误阈值以实现更多混合。如果图像有明显的颗粒,请尝试减小“错误阈值”,以便忽略颗粒的低级别运动。

块大小

调整用于计算矢量的块的大小。

权重

控制用于分析图像的计算中红色、绿色和蓝色通道的权重。例如,将红色权重绿色权重设置为零意味着只会为运动分析蓝色通道。

“运动模糊”控件

  • 快门角度:确定运动模糊的强度。快门角度的单位是度,模拟旋转快门所产生的曝光。模拟的曝光时间计算方式如下:快门角度/(帧速率 * 360°)。例如,90° 的快门角度将引起每帧每秒 1/96 的曝光:90°/(360° * 24 fps)。
  • 快门采样:控制运动模糊的质量。值越高,运动模糊越平滑。

遮罩图层

该图层将用作定义图像的前景和背景区域的遮罩。遮罩中的白色区域表示前景,黑色区域表示背景,灰色在前景和背景之间减弱。

遮罩通道

用作遮罩的通道。

变形图层

允许您通过应用所选图层中的运动矢量,使应用效果的图层变形。

显示

控制要进行时间重映射的图层的部分。

源裁剪

如果图像边缘包含不需要的像素或人为标记,请使用“源裁剪”控件来指定图像边界。将重复边界中的像素以填充图层边缘以外的区域。

Adobe 徽标

登录到您的帐户

Third-party effects in this category included with After Effects:

  • CC Force Motion Blur effect

  • CC Time Blend effect

  • CC Time Blend FX effect

  • CC Wide Time effect

Echo effect

The Echo effect combines frames from different times in a layer. The Echo effect has a variety of uses, from a simple visual echo to streaking and smearing effects.

The results of this effect are visible only if the layer contains change across time, such as motion in a layer based on a video footage item. This effect does not create echoes of motion created by moving the layer itself within the composition. To create echoes of motion created by moving the layer within the composition, precompose the layer, move all attributes into the new composition, and apply the Echo effect to the precomposition layer.

This effect works with 8-bpc, 16-bpc, and 32-bpc color.

Echo effect
Echo effect

David Van Brink provides a blog post and sample project on his omino website that show how to use the Echo effect, the Particle Playground effect, and the loopOut expression to animate a swarm of stylized swimming bacteria.

Echo Time (seconds)

The time, in seconds, between echoes. Negative values create echoes from previous frames; positive values create echoes from upcoming frames.

Number of Echoes

The number of echoes. For example, if the value is 2, the result is a combination of three frames: the current time, the current time + Echo Time, and the current time + (2 * Echo Time).

Starting Intensity

The opacity of the first image in the echo sequence.

Decay

The ratio of the opacity of an echo to the opacity of the echo preceding it in the echo sequence. For example, if Decay is 0.5, then the opacity of the first echo is half of the Starting Intensity; the second echo is half of that, or one quarter of the Starting Intensity.

Echo Operator

The blending operation used to combine the echoes.

Add

Combines the echoes by adding their pixel values. If the starting intensity is too high, this mode can quickly overload and produce streaks of white.

Maximum

Combines the echoes by taking the maximum pixel values from all of the echoes.

Minimum

Combines the echoes by taking the minimum pixel values from all of the echoes.

Screen

Emulates combining the echoes by sandwiching them optically. This mode is similar to Add, but it doesn’t overload as quickly.

Composite In Back

Causes the image from the current time to appear in back, with each echo appearing successively farther forward in the composite.

Composite In Front

Causes the image from the current time to appear in front, with each echo appearing successively farther back in the composite.

Blend

Averages the echoes.

Pixel Motion Blur | CC

Computer generated motion, or sped up footage often looks artificial, because the motion blur is missing. The Pixel Motion Blur effect analyzes the video footage and synthesizes a motion blur based on motion vectors. Adding a motion blur makes the motion more realistic, as it includes the blur, normally introduced by the camera while shooting.

Shutter Control

Choose Manual to set Shutter Angle  and Shutter Samples values independently. Choose Automatic, to choose values specified for the layer or composition.

Shutter Angle

The shutter angle is measured in degrees, simulating the exposure allowed by a rotating shutter. The shutter angle uses the footage frame rate to determine the simulated exposure, which affects the amount of pixel motion blur. For example, entering 90° (25% of 360°) for 24-fps footage creates an effective exposure of 1/96 of a second (25% of 1/24 of a second). Entering 1° applies almost no pixel motion blur, and entering 720° applies a large amount of blur.

Shutter Samples

Controls the quality of the pixel motion blur. A higher value results in a smoother motion blur, but a longer rendering time.

Vector Detail

Determines how many motion vectors are used to calculate the blur. A value of 100 uses one vector for each pixel. Increasing this value may not necessarily produce better results, but will take more time to render.

Posterize Time effect

The Posterize Time effect locks a layer to a specific frame rate. It’s useful on its own as a special effect, but it also has more subtle uses. For example, 60-field-per-second video footage can be locked to 24 frames per second (and then field rendered at 60 fields per second) to give a filmlike look. Also, nested compositions can be locked to a given frame rate. This effect is sometimes called Strobe in hardware devices.

Animating the value of the Frame Rate slider can give unpredictable results. For this reason, the only interpolation method allowed for the frame rate is Hold.

This effect works with 8-bpc, 16-bpc, and 32-bpc color.

Posterize Time effect
Posterize Time effect

Note:

Another way to accomplish much the same result as applying the Posterize Time effect to a layer is to precompose the layer, change the frame rate for the precomposition in the Composition Settings dialog box, and set Preserve Frame Rate When Nested Or In Render Queue for the precomposition on the Advanced tab. This method causes the precomposition to retain its own frame rate, and not inherit those settings from the containing composition.

Time Difference effect

The Time Difference effect calculates the color difference between two layers and is a useful aid in color correction; use it to extract color differences when matching a clean background plate with foreground footage. It’s also good for creating mattes to be used to apply trails of smoke, fire, or echoing effects. After you apply the Time Difference effect to locate color differences in footage, you can use Color Correction effects to apply the color corrections.

This effect works with 8-bpc color.

Time Difference effect
Time Difference effect

Note:

Use Time Difference with Particle Playground to shed particles only from moving sections.

Target

Specifies the layer to be compared to the effect layer. The Video switch for the comparison layer doesn’t need to be on (unless you select the source layer as the Target).

Time Offset

The relative time in the comparison layer, in seconds, where the layers are compared. If this control is set to 0.00, the comparison occurs at the current time. To compare the effect layer to a point 3 seconds into the comparison layer, for example, change the Time Offset value to 3. When you select the underlined offset value, you can enter the specific frame offset value in the format frames/frame rate. After Effects automatically calculates the value. For example, enter 3/30 to offset three frames forward in a 30-fps composition. The calculated value is 0.1, or 10% of the total time.

Contrast

Adjusts the comparison result. This control can be especially helpful in fine-tuning color corrections.

Absolute Difference

Displays the result of the comparison as an absolute value. Any area of the comparison layer that isn’t different from the effect layer is represented by black, and any amount of difference is represented as brighter than black. If this option is unselected, compared areas with no difference are represented as gray.

Alpha Channel

Specifies how the alpha channel is calculated.

Original

Uses the alpha channel of the effect layer.

Target

Uses the alpha channel of the target layer.

Blend

Blends the alpha channels of the target layer and the effect layer.

Max

Uses the more opaque of the alpha channels.

Full On

Sets the alpha channel to completely opaque.

Lightness Of Result

Uses the lightness of the RGB difference as alpha.

Max Of Result

Uses the highest values of the RGB difference as alpha.

Alpha Difference

Calculates differences in the alpha channels of the effect layer and target layer in the same way in which RGB difference is calculated.

Alpha Difference Only

Calculates only the differences in the alpha channels. RGB is set to white.

Time Displacement effect

The Time Displacement effect distorts the image by shifting pixels across time, producing a wide variety of effects. For example, the traditional slit-scan technique, which captures different stages of a moving image across time, can be simulated using the Time Displacement effect.

This effect works with 8-bpc and 16-bpc color.

Time Displacement effect
Time Displacement effect

Displacement map layer
Displacement map layer

Like the Displacement Map effect, the Time Displacement effect uses a displacement map, but it bases the movement of pixels in the layer on luminance values in the map. Pixels in the layer that correspond to bright areas in the displacement map are replaced by pixels in the same position but at a specified number of seconds forward in time. Likewise, pixels in the layer that correspond to dark areas in the displacement map are replaced by pixels at a specified number of seconds backward in time. You can use any layer as a displacement map, though using a grayscale image lets you more easily see brightness levels and predict how pixels will be displaced.

The Time Displacement effect automatically replaces pixels across time without keyframes or expressions. However, you can animate other properties to vary the effect over time.

To better understand how pixels are displaced in time, think of the displacement occurring in steps, as follows:

  1. After Effects overlays the displacement map layer on top of the effect layer (the layer you’re distorting). If the dimensions of the displacement map are different from the dimensions of the effect layer, you can specify whether the map is centered or stretched to fit.

  2. You specify a maximum displacement amount, in seconds.

  3. After Effect uses the luminance value of each pixel in the displacement map to calculate the displacement of the corresponding pixel in the effect layer, based on the maximum displacement amount.

    In grayscale images, the luminance value range extends from 0 to 255, and it’s converted to a scale ranging from -1 to 1. A luminance value of 0 produces maximum backward displacement, meaning that pixels at the current time are replaced by pixels from a previous time. A luminance value of 255 produces maximum positive displacement, meaning that pixels at the current time are replaced by pixels at a future time. A luminance value of 128 produces no displacement. For other values in grayscale displacement maps, you can calculate the displacement amount, in seconds, using the following equation:

    Displacement amount in seconds = maximum_displacement_time * (2 * (luminance_value – 128) / 256)

  4. After Effects displaces each pixel in the image by replacing a pixel in the image at the current time with the pixel in the same position at another time. The other time is the displacement amount in seconds for the pixel, calculated in step 3.

Suppose you specified 2 seconds as the maximum time displacement. After Effects finds the luminance value of each pixel in the displacement map, and then it replaces the corresponding pixels at the current time with pixels from another time based on the maximum time of 2 seconds. A luminance value of 255 in the displacement map replaces that pixel with the pixel 2 seconds ahead in the same position. A luminance value of 42 replaces that pixel with the pixel 1.34 seconds behind in the same position.

Time Displacement Layer

Specifies the layer to use as the displacement map.

Max Displacement Time (sec)

Sets the maximum time, in seconds, from which pixels are replaced, before or after the current time. Only luminance values of 0 or 255 (maximum darkness and maximum brightness) produce the maximum time displacement. All other luminance values produce time displacements of less than the maximum time.

Time Resolution (fps)

Sets the number of frames per second in which to replace pixels. Typically, this value shouldn’t be greater than the frame rate of the affected layer. Increasing Time Resolution can greatly increase rendering time.

Stretch Map To Fit

Resizes the Time Displacement Layer to match the dimensions of the layer you’re distorting. If this option isn’t selected, the time displacement layer is centered in the composition.

Apply the Time Displacement effect

  1. In the Composition panel, display both the layer you want to distort and the displacement map layer.
  2. Hide the displacement map layer by clicking the Video switch in the Timeline panel.
  3. In the Composition panel, select the layer you want to distort.
  4. Choose Effect > Time > Time Displacement.
  5. Choose a displacement map from the Time Displacement Layer menu, which lists all layers in the composition. Grayscale maps are recommended.

    Note:

    After Effects uses the layer you select in its original form, without any masking, effects, or transformations you may have applied. If you want to use the layer with those alterations included in the displacement map, precompose that layer using the Move All Attributes into the New Composition option. (See Precompose layers.)

  6. Adjust the Time Displacement controls.

Timewarp effect

The Timewarp effect gives you precise control over a wide range of parameters when changing the playback speed of a layer, including interpolation methods, motion blur, and source cropping to eliminate unwanted artifacts. You can use the Timewarp effect to create simple slow-motion or fast-motion results or more complex retiming. The Timewarp effect works independently of the Frame Blending switch in the Timeline panel.

note: The Timewarp effect does not work on fields for interlaced footage. To use the Timewarp effect on a layer with an interlaced footage item as its source, double the frame rate in the composition settings. When you render to final output, modify your render settings in the Render Queue panel to set the frame rate appropriate for the output type.

The Timewarp effect is based on Kronos, a component of the Furnace software package from The Foundry. For detailed documentation on motion vectors and motion estimation parameters, see the Furnace documentation (in PDF) on the Foundry website.

This effect works with 8-bpc and 16-bpc color. In After Effects CS6, this effect works in 32-bit color.

Timewarp effect
Timewarp effect

Note:

You can use the Timewarp effect to add motion blur within a video layer without changing the layer’s speed. Apply the Timewarp effect, set Speed to 100, enable motion blur within the effect, and use the manual shutter control features to adjust the motion blur.

Method options

When changing frame rates, image information must be created (interpolated) for the frames that lie between the original frames of an image. The Method setting determines how interpolated frames are generated:

Whole Frames

Duplicates the last frame shown.

Frame Mix

Creates a new frame by blending existing frames.

Pixel Motion

Creates a new frame by analyzing the pixel movement in nearby frames and creating motion vectors. Motion vectors represent the movement of a pixel or block of pixels from one frame to the next. Images between frames are interpolated using these vectors.

Adjust Time By controls

Choose Speed to specify a time adjustment as a percentage. Choose Source Frame to specify a time adjustment by identifying which source frame is to play at which time. If you choose Source Frame for Adjust Time By, then you must animate the Source Frame property to do anything other than freeze on one frame. You can animate the Speed property, too, to change the time-remapping factor over time.

By default, Speed is set to 50, for a reduction in speed to 50%. This setting creates new frames one quarter of a frame interval and three quarters of a frame interval from an original frame, rather than using one original frame and one newly generated frame. Original frames are deliberately excluded from the time-remapped series of frames in order to avoid the pulsing that would otherwise be seen on every other frame for a half-speed slowdown.

Tuning controls for Pixel Motion interpolation

Vector Details

Determines how many motion vectors are used during interpolation. The more vectors used, the longer the rendering time. A value of 100 produces one vector per pixel. If the layer has fast-moving motion, it may look better with a lower Vector Details setting.

Smoothing

These controls affect the sharpness of the image:

Build From One Image

Generates the final output from the closest single frame, as opposed to the closest two frames. The result is a sharper image, but jerkier motion.

Correct Luminance Changes

Equalizes the luminance between frames before calculating motion.

Filtering

The quality of the filtering used to build the interpolated image. Extreme greatly increases rendering time. The Filtering option affects only the sharpness of the final image; use Normal until you’re ready for final rendering.

Error Threshold

Determines the precision of pixel matching from one frame to the next. A higher value results in fewer motion vectors and more blending.

note: If you see edge tearing in the image, try increasing the Error Threshold for more blending. If the image has heavy grain, try decreasing the Error Threshold so the low-level motion of the grain is ignored.

Block Size

Adjusts the size of the blocks used to calculate the vectors.

Weighting

Controls the weighting of the red, green, and blue channels in calculations used to analyze the image. For example, setting Red Weight and Green Weight to zero means that only the blue channel is analyzed for motion.

Motion Blur controls

Shutter Angle

Determines the intensity of motion blur. The shutter angle is measured in degrees, simulating the exposure caused by a rotating shutter. Simulated exposure time is determined by dividing the shutter angle by the frame rate times 360°. For example, a shutter angle of 90° causes an exposure of 1/96 of a second per frame: 90° / (360° * 24 fps).

Shutter Samples

Controls the quality of the motion blur. A higher value results in a smoother motion blur.

Matte, warp, and crop controls

Matte Layer

The layer to use as a matte for defining the foreground and background areas of the image. White areas in the matte represent the foreground, black areas represent the background, and gray attenuates between foreground and background.

Matte Channel

The channel to use as a matte.

Warp Layer

Allows you to warp the layer to which the effect is applied by applying the motion vectors from the layer that you choose.

Show

Controls the portion of the layer to be time-remapped.

Source Crops

If the image contains unwanted pixels or artifacts at the edges, use Source Crops controls to specify image boundaries. Pixels from the boundaries are repeated to fill the area beyond the boundaries to the edges of the layer.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy