Creative Cloud Libraries in After Effects

Last updated on Oct 7, 2026

Learn how to use Creative Cloud Libraries in Adobe After Effects to access, organize, sync, and share assets across projects, devices, and Adobe applications.

Creative Cloud Libraries make your assets available to you wherever you are. Create images, colors, text styles, color looks, and more in Photoshop, Illustrator, and mobile apps like Adobe Shape, and then easily access them across other desktop and mobile apps for a seamless creative workflow.

Using Creative Cloud Libraries

In After Effects, Creative Cloud Libraries are available from within the Libraries panel and the Start screen. The Libraries panel is visible in the Default, Standard, and All Panels workspaces. It's docked on the right side of the workspace.

To open the Libraries panel, you can select the following:

  • Window > Workspace > Libraries
  • File > Import  > From Libraries
  • Window > Libraries
Workspace submenu open under the Window menu, showing panel layout presets with Libraries checked as active.
Open the Libraries panel from the Workspace menu.

You can use the creative assets in After Effects in many different ways:

  • You can drag graphics assets from the Libraries panel to the Project panel to import them into your project.
  • Vector assets in your library created with mobile apps like Adobe Capture can be imported into After Effects and converted into shape layers for high-quality vector animations.
  • Text layer graphics added to your library from Photoshop can be imported into After Effects and converted to editable text layers with live layer styles.
Note

Asset types other than graphics in your library cannot be directly applied, but they can be viewed and managed in the Libraries panel. You can also use the Eyedropper              tool in After Effects to pick from your library colors, similar to the Adobe Color Themes panel.

Location of Library assets

Library assets imported into After Effects are copied to your user folder at the following locations: 

  • macOS: Users/<user_name>/Documents/Adobe/After Effects 2026/User Libraries/
  • Windows: C:\Users\<user_name>\Documents\Adobe\After Effects 2026\User Libraries\

Accessing Creative Cloud Libraries

Across projects

Whatever you save in the Libraries panel becomes available for use across After Effects projects that you're working on.

Across computers

Libraries are synced to Creative Cloud. Your library becomes available on any computer that you are signed into using your Creative Cloud with your Adobe ID.

Across apps

Whatever you save in the Libraries panel becomes automatically available across desktop and mobile apps that support Creative Cloud Libraries.

For example, you can access Libraries from desktop apps such as Adobe Premiere or Photoshop, and mobile apps such as Adobe Capture.

Add a Creative Cloud library

You can create any number of libraries to organize your assets. The libraries that you create are displayed in the Libraries panel in After Effects.  

Select the dropdown in the Libraries panel.

Select + Create new library and type a name for the library.

Libraries panel with the Create New Library button highlighted.
Create a new Creative Cloud library in After Effects to organize and store assets.

Add assets to a Creative Cloud Library

To add assets to a Creative Cloud Library, follow any of the options mentioned:

Drag your assets to the Library panel. The asset is added to your selected library, which syncs with your Creative Cloud account, allowing you to access it from anywhere.

Select File > Save As or File > Save and save the files in the Creative Cloud Files directory.

Open your Creative Cloud Libraries from the Creative Cloud desktop app by selecting Files > Local Storage > Browse to select a folder. 

You can also add assets directly to the Creative Cloud Assets page. To add assets:

Go to Your Creative Cloud files to view assets synced from your library.

Select Upload icon  to upload your files. 

Once uploaded, the files are synced with your Creative Cloud account, and you can access them from anywhere.

Graphic Assets

Graphics assets can be imported into your After Effects project, like any other asset you would import from your local disks. To import graphics assets into your project, do either of the following:

  • Right-click a graphic asset and select Import.
  • Select a graphic asset in the Libraries panel, and drag it to the Project panel.

Vector graphics in your library that were created with Illustrator can be imported into After Effects. After adding them to a composition, these graphics can then be converted into shape layers for high-quality vector animations.

Photoshop text layer graphics added to your library can be imported into After Effects and converted into editable text layers with live layer styles.

Changing the Drag Import Multiple Items As setting in Preferences > Import (Windows) or Settings > Import (macOS) affects how PSD and AI assets are imported from a library.

Looks

Looks are color presets created and added to the Creative Cloud library using Adobe Premiere. Looks combine color and light information from a live image captured by your mobile device camera or a photograph in your device.

Looks, stored in .look files, can then be applied to a layer in After Effects. Looks are an easy way to enhance your project by modifying the image's color or to apply color grading, usually done using another application like the color panel in Premiere.

Looks from the Libraries panel are read using the Apply Color LUT effect, the same as LUT files from other sources.

To apply a look from the Libraries panel, do any of the following:

  • Select a layer in the composition, right-click on a look in the Libraries panel, and select Apply Look.
  • Drag a look from the Libraries panel onto a layer in the Composition, Layer, Effect Controls, or Timeline panels.
  • Drag a look from the Libraries panel onto the title row of an existing Apply Color LUT effect on a layer in the Timeline or Effect Controls panels.

After Effects will add the Apply Color LUT effect to the target layer and apply the look.

If the Apply Color LUT effect is already present on a layer, applying a look from the Libraries panel reuses the existing instance of the effect. You can use this approach to try out different looks on the same layer.

Add assets from Adobe Stock

Adobe Stock is a service that sells millions of high-quality, royalty-free photos, illustrations, and videos (including HD and 4K videos).

You can start a search for Adobe Stock assets from within After Effects in the Libraries panel. In After Effects (beta), you can use the Adobe Stock panel.

Select Window > Libraries to open the Libraries panel in After Effects.

Open an existing library or create a new one. 

Select the dropdown arrow next to the search field, choose Adobe Stock, then enter your keyword.

Adding assets from Adobe Stock from the Library panel
Search and add assets from Adobe Stock from the Libraries panel.

Browse the search results, hover over a result, and select the plus icon to add it to your library.

The search results for video assets display the licensing status, duration, and format information. You can filter your search results and preview the assets. 

Once you locate an asset you want to use, you can purchase a license immediately and add the asset to your library, which will appear in the Libraries panel within After Effects. Or, you can add an unlicensed preview (watermarked) version of the asset to your library. To license a Stock asset from the Project panel, select a watermarked preview asset in the Project panel, and select File > License or select the shopping cart button to the left of an unlicensed footage item.

If you add a preview version of an asset to your library, you can license it later. To license the asset, click/right-click it, and from the context menu select "License this image".

Adobe Stock still image preview assets are automatically replaced with the full-resolution, non-watermarked version when you purchase a license.

Tip

You can also add 3D models to your Creative Cloud Libraries and import them into your projects. Learn about ways to add 3D models to your Creative Cloud Libraries.

Check for Creative Cloud updates

You can check for available updates in the Creative Cloud desktop app. 

You can check for updates manually by following these steps:

Select the Creative Cloud desktop icon  in the taskbar (Windows) or Apple menu bar (macOS) to open the Creative Cloud desktop app.

In your profile menu, select Sign out.

Sign in to your Adobe account.

If you aren’t using the latest version of the Creative Cloud desktop app, a prompt to update will appear. Select Update.

All the Motion Graphics templates are displayed as updates in the desktop app. 

Share libraries with Creative Cloud users

You can share your libraries with other Creative Cloud users to view, edit, or use the contents of a shared library. The users of your library assets are informed whenever a read-only asset is changed in the library. 

Tip

If a Creative Cloud subscriber has shared a library with you, you can further share it with other Creative Cloud users.

Share a library

There are two diiferent ways you can share your libraries with other users.

Use the Library panel

In the Libraries panel, select the pop-up menu on the panel tab, and select Invite people.

Libraries panel menu with Invite people highlighted, alongside Export, Get link, and Rename options.
Select Invite people to share Your Library and its contents with collaborators.

Use the Creative Cloud website

To share libraries using the Creative Cloud website, select Files > Your libraries > Share. Follow the onscreen instructions to invite collaborators to your library.

Join a shared library

Launch the Adobe Creative Cloud desktop app and log in with your Adobe ID credentials.

When a library is shared with you, you receive a notification. Select the bell icon to access your notifications.

Select Accept for each library collaboration invitation.