设置行距

各文字行间的垂直间距称为 leading(行距)(与 sledding 押韵)。测量行距时,计算的是一行文本的基线到上一行文本基线的距离。基线是大多数字母排于其上的一条不可见直线。

默认自动行距选项按字体大小的 120% 设置行距(例如,10 点文字的行距为 12 点)。使用自动行距时,“字符”面板的“行距”菜单将在圆括号内显示行距值。可以使用以下方式来更改此默认自动行距:从“段落”面板菜单中选择“字距调整”,然后指定介于 0 和 500 之间的百分比。

默认情况下,行距是一种字符属性,这表示您可以在同一段落中应用多种行距。一行文字中的最大行距将决定该行的行距。

注意:

处理横排亚洲文字时,您可以指定测量行距的方式,可从基线到基线测量,也可从一行的顶部到下一行的顶部测量。

  1. 选择要更改的字符或文字对象。如果未选择任何文本,行距便会应用于您所创建的新文本。
  2. 在“字符”面板中,设置“行距”选项 适用于直排文本)。

基线偏移

可以使用"基线偏移"相对于周围文本的基线上下移动所选字符。以手动方式设置分数字或调整图片字体位置时,基线偏移尤其有用。

  1. 选择要更改的字符或文字对象。如果未选择任何文本,偏移便会应用于您所创建的新文本。
  2. 在"字符"面板中,设置"基线偏移"选项。输入正值会将字符的基线移到文字行基线的上方;输入负值则会将基线移到文字基线的下方。
    具有不同"基线偏移"值的文字
    具有不同“基线偏移”值的文字

调整字距微调和字距调整

字距微调 是增加或减少特定字符对之间的间距的过程。字距调整是放宽或收紧所选文本或整个文本块中字符之间的间距的过程。

注意:

字距微调和字距调整值会影响日文文本,但这些选项通常会被用来调整罗马字符之间的空格。

可以使用度量标准字距微调或视觉字距微调来自动微调文字的字距。度量标准字距微调(也称作自动字距微调)采用大多数字体中都包括的字距微调对。字距微调对包含有关特定字母对的间距的信息。其中包括:LA、P.、To、Try、Ta、Tu、Te、Ty、Wa、WA、We、Wo、Ya 和 Yo。将度量标准字距微调设置为默认值,以便在导入或键入文本时自动调整特定对的字距。

某些字体包括完善的字距微调对规范。但是,如果某种字体只包括少量的内置字距微调或根本没有,或者在一行上的一个或多个字中使用两种不同的字形或大小,则可能需要使用视觉字距微调 选项。视觉字距微调可根据邻近字符的形状来调整它们之间的间距。

字距微调和字距调整选项
字距微调和字距调整选项

A. 原始文本 B. 使用视觉字距微调的文本 C. 手动微调 W 和 a 间距的文本 D. 使用字距调整的文本 E. 字距微调和字距调整的叠加效果 

您也可以使用手动字距微调,此功能非常适合用于调整两个字母之间的间距。字距调整和手动字距微调是累积的,因此,您可以首先调整个别字母对,然后收紧或放宽文本块,而不会影响字母对的相对字距微调。

当您单击以在两个字母之间放置插入点时,将在"字符"调板中显示字距微调值。括号中将显示度量标准字距微调和视觉字距微调值(或定义的字距微调对)。同样,如果您选择一个单词或一个文本范围,将在"字符"调板中显示字距调整值。

字距调整和字距微调的度量单位都是 1/1000 em,这是一种相对于当前字体大小的度量单位。在 6 点大小的字体中,1 em(即 1 个全角字宽)等于 6 点;在 10 点的字体中,1 em 等于 10 点。字距微调和字距调整与当前字体大小严格成比例。

注意:

字距微调和字距调整值会影响日文文本,但这些选项通常会被用来调整罗马字符之间的空格。

调整字距微调

  1. 请执行下列任一操作:
    • 要将字体的内置字距微调信息用于所选字符,请在"字符"面板中为"字距微调"选项选择"自动"或"度量标准"。

    • 若要根据字符形状自动调整所选字符间的间距,请在"字符"调板中为"字距微调"选项选择"视觉"。

    • 若要手动调整字距微调,请在两个字符间放置一个插入点,并在"字符"调板中为"字距微调"选项设置所需的数值。(请注意,如果选择了一定范围的文本,则无法手动对文本进行字距微调, 而要使用字距调整。)

      提示:按 Alt+左/右箭头 (Windows) 或 Option+左/右箭头 (Mac OS),可以减小或增大两个字符之间的字距微调。

    • 若要为所选字符关闭字距微调功能,请将“字符”面板中的“字距微调”选项设置为 0(零)。

      其他:若要查看简单省时的文字处理技巧列表,请在帮助中搜索“键盘快捷键”。

调整字距调整

  1. 选择要调整的字符范围或文字对象。
  2. 在"字符"调板中,设置"字距调整"选项。

关闭或打开分数字符宽度

默认情况下,软件在字符之间使用分数字符宽度。这意味着字符之间的间距会发生变化,且有时只会使用整数像素中的一部分。

大多数情况下,分数字符宽度为文字外观及可读性提供最佳间距。但是,对于联机显示的小尺寸文字(小于 20 点),分数字符宽度可能会造成文字过于紧凑或间距过大,从而使文字难于阅读。

如果要使文字间距保持为完整像素增量,并防止小尺寸文字过于紧凑,请禁用分数宽度。分数字符宽度设置应用于文字图层上的所有字符,因此不能为所选字符设置该选项。

  1. 请执行下列任一操作:
    • 要以完整像素增量设置整个文档的文字间距,请从"字符"面板菜单中选取"系统版面"。

    • 要重新启用分数字符宽度,请从"字符"面板菜单中选取"分数宽度"。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Set the leading

The vertical space between lines of type is called leading (rhymes with sledding). Leading is measured from the baseline of one line of text to the baseline of the line above it. Baseline is the invisible line on which most letters sit.

The default auto-leading option sets the leading at 120% of the typeface size (for example, 12‑point leading for 10‑point type). When auto-leading is in use, the leading value appears in parentheses in the Leading menu of the Character panel. You can change this default auto-leading by choosing Justification from the Paragraph panel menu and specifying a percentage from 0 to 500.

By default, leading is a character attribute, which means that you can apply more than one leading value within the same paragraph. The largest leading value in a line of type determines the leading for that line.

Note:

When working with horizontal Asian type, you can specify how leading is measured, either from baseline to baseline or from the top of one line to the top of the next.

  1. Select the characters or type objects you want to change. If you don’t select any text, the leading applies to new text you create.
  2. In the Character panel, set the Leading option  ( for vertical text).

Shift the baseline

Use Baseline Shift to move selected characters up or down relative to the baseline of the surrounding text. Shifting the baseline is especially useful when you’re hand-setting fractions or adjusting the position of a picture font.

  1. Select the characters or type objects you want to change. If you don’t select any text, the shift applies to new text you create.
  2. In the Character panel, set the Baseline Shift option. Positive values move the character’s baseline above the baseline of the rest of the line; negative values move it below the baseline.
    Type with different Baseline Shift values
    Type with different Baseline Shift values

Adjust kerning and tracking

Kerning is the process of adding or subtracting space between specific pairs of characters. Tracking is the process of loosening or tightening the spacing between the characters in selected text or an entire block of text.

Note:

Values for kerning and tracking affect Japanese text but normally these options are used to adjust the aki between Roman characters.

You can automatically kern type using metrics kerning or optical kerning. Metrics kerning (also called Auto kerning) uses kern pairs, which are included with most fonts. Kern pairs contain information about the spacing of specific pairs of letters. Some of these are: LA, P., To, Try, Ta, Tu, Te, Ty, Wa, WA, We, Wo, Ya, and Yo. Metrics kerning is set as the default so that specific pairs are automatically kerned when you import or type text.

Some fonts include robust kern-pair specifications. However, when a font includes only minimal built‑in kerning or none at all, or if you use two different typefaces or sizes in one or more words on a line, you may want to use the optical kerning option. Optical kerning adjusts the spacing between adjacent characters based on their shapes.

Kerning and tracking options
Kerning and tracking options

A. Original text B. Text with optical kerning C. Text with manual kerning between W and a D. Text with tracking E. Cumulative kerning and tracking 

You can also use manual kerning, which is ideal for adjusting the space between two letters. Tracking and manual kerning are cumulative, so you can first adjust individual pairs of letters, and then tighten or loosen a block of text without affecting the relative kerning of the letter pairs.

When you click to place the insertion point between two letters, kerning values appear in the Character panel. Metrics and optical kerning values (or defined kern pairs) appear in parentheses. Similarly, if you select a word or a range of text, the tracking values appear in the Character panel.

Tracking and kerning are both measured in 1/1000 em, a unit of measure that is relative to the current typeface size. In a 6‑point font, 1 em equals 6 points; in a 10‑point font, 1 em equals 10 points. Kerning and tracking are strictly proportional to the current typeface size.

Note:

Values for kerning and tracking affect Japanese text, but normally these options are used to adjust the aki between roman characters.

Adjust kerning

  • Do any of the following:
    • To use a font’s built‑in kerning information for selected characters, select Auto or Metrics for the Kerning option in the Character panel.

    • To automatically adjust the spacing between selected characters based on their shapes, select Optical for the Kerning option in the Character panel.

    • To adjust kerning manually, place an insertion point between two characters, and set the desired value for the Kerning option in the Character panel. (Note that if a range of text is selected, you can’t manually kern the text. Instead, use tracking.)

      Tip: Press Alt+Left/Right Arrow (Windows) or Option+Left/Right Arrow (Mac OS) to decrease or increase the kerning between two characters.

    • To turn off kerning for selected characters, set the Kerning option in the Character panel to 0 (zero).

      other: To see a list of time-saving techniques for working with type, search for “keyboard shortcuts” in Help.

Adjust tracking

  1. Select the range of characters or the type object that you want to adjust.
  2. In the Character panel, set the Tracking option.

Turn fractional character widths off or on

By default, the software uses fractional character widths between characters. This means that the spacing between characters varies, and will sometimes use only fractions of whole pixels.

In most situations, fractional character widths provide the best spacing for type appearance and readability. However, for type in small sizes (less than 20 points) displayed online, fractional character widths could cause type to run together or have too much extra space, making it difficult to read.

Turn off fractional widths when you want to fix type spacing in whole-pixel increments and prevent small type from running together. The fractional character width setting applies to all characters on a type layer—you cannot set the option for selected characters.

  • Do any of the following:
    • To set type spacing for the entire document in whole-pixel increments, choose System Layout from the Character panel menu.

    • To re-enable fractional character widths, choose Fractional Widths from the Character panel menu.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy