当您存储或导出图稿时,Illustrator 将图稿数据写入到文件。数据的结构取决于选择的文件格式。

可将图稿存储为五种基本文件格式 - AI、PDF、EPS、FXG 和 SVG。这些格式称为本机格式,因为它们可保留所有 Illustrator 数据,包括多个画板。(对于 PDF 和 SVG 格式,您必须选择“保留 Illustrator 编辑功能”选项以保留所有 Illustrator 数据。)EPS 和 FXG 可以将各个画板存储为单独的文件。SVG 只存储现用画板;但是,所有画板的内容都会显示。

您还可以以多种文件格式导出图稿,供在 Illustrator 以外使用。这些格式称为非本机格式,因为如果您在 Illustrator 中重新打开文件,Illustrator 将无法检索所有数据。出于这个原因,建议您以 AI 格式存储图稿,直到创建完,然后将图稿导出为所需格式。

注意:

存储包含链接的 EPS 文件的图稿时,如果这些文件以二进制格式存储(例如,Photoshop 的默认 EPS 格式),您可能收到错误消息。在这种情况下,请以 ASCII 格式重新存储 EPS 文件,将链接文件嵌入到 Illustrator 图稿中,或将图稿以 AI 或 PDF 格式存储,而不是 EPS 格式。

有关存储为 Web 所用格式的视频,请观看将图稿存储为 Web 所用格式

用 Illustrator 格式存储

如果您的文档包含多个画板并且您希望存储到以前的 Illustrator 版本中,可以选择将每个画板存储为一个单独的文件,或者将所有画板中的内容合并到一个文件中。

  1. 选择“文件”>“存储为”或“文件”>“存储副本”。

  2. 键入文件名,并选择存储文件的位置。

  3. 选择 Illustrator (*.AI) 作为文件格式,然后单击“存储”。

  4. 在“Illustrator 选项”对话框中设置所需选项,然后单击“确定”。

    版本

    指定希望文件兼容的 Illustrator 版本。旧版格式不支持当前版本 Illustrator 中的所有功能。因此,当您选择当前版本以外的版本时,某些存储选项不可用,并且一些数据将更改。务必阅读对话框底部的警告,这样您可以知道数据将如何更改。

    子集化嵌入的字体,若被使用的字符百分比低于

    指定何时根据文档中使用的字体的字符数量嵌入完整字体(相对于文档中使用的字符)。例如,如果字体包含 1,000 个字符但文档仅使用其中 10 个字符,则您可以确定不值得为了嵌入该字体而额外增加文件大小。

    创建 PDF 兼容文件

    在 Illustrator 文件中存储文档的 PDF 演示。如果希望 Illustrator 文件与其他 Adobe 应用程序兼容,请选择此选项。

    包括链接文件

    嵌入与图稿链接的文件。

    嵌入 ICC 配置文件

    创建色彩受管理的文档。

    使用压缩

    在 Illustrator 文件中压缩 PDF 数据。使用压缩将增加存储文档的时间,因此如果您现在的存储时间很长(8 至 15 分钟)请取消选择此选项。

    将每个画板存储到单独的文件

    将每个画板存储为单独的文件同时还会单独创建一个包含所有画板的主文件。触及某个画板的所有内容都会包括在与该画板对应的文件中。如果需要移动画稿以便可以容纳到一个画板中,则会显示一条警告消息来通知您。如果不选择此选项,则画板会合并到一个文档中,并转换为对象参考线和(在 Illustrator CS3 中)裁剪区域。用于存储的文件的画板基于默认文档启动配置文件的大小。

    透明度选项

    确定当您选择早于 9.0 版本的 Illustrator 格式时,如何处理透明对象。选择“保留路径”可放弃透明度效果并将透明图稿重置为 100% 不透明度和“正常”混合模式。选择“保留外观和叠印”可保留与透明对象不相互影响的叠印。与透明对象相互影响的叠印将拼合。

    注意:如果您的图稿包含复杂重叠区域并且您需要高分辨率输出,请单击“取消”并指定栅格化设置,然后再继续。

用 EPS 格式存储

几乎所有页面版式、文字处理和图形应用程序都接受导入或置入的封装 PostScript (EPS) 文件。EPS 格式保留许多使用 Adobe Illustrator 创建的图形元素,这意味着可以重新打开 EPS 文件并作为 Illustrator 文件编辑。因为 EPS 文件基于 PostScript 语言,所以它们可以包含矢量和位图图形。如果您的图稿包含多个画板,则将其存储为 EPS 格式时,会保留这些画板。

  1. 如果图稿包含透明度(包括叠印)并要求高分辨率输出,请选择“窗口”>“拼合器预览”以预览拼合效果。

  2. 选择“文件”>“存储为”或“文件”>“存储副本”。

  3. 键入文件名,并选择存储文件的位置。

  4. 选择 Illustrator EPS (*.EPS) 作为文件格式,然后单击“存储”。

  5. 要为每个画板创建单独的文件,请单击“使用画板”,并选择“全部”或指定范围。单独的文件存储成一个含全部画板的主 EPS 文件。如果取消选择此选项,则会创建一个保留所有画板的 EPS 文件。

  6. 在“EPS 选项”对话框中设置所需选项,然后单击“确定”。

    版本

    指定希望文件兼容的 Illustrator 版本。旧版格式不支持当前版本 Illustrator 中的所有功能。因此,当您选择当前版本以外的版本时,某些存储选项不可用,并且一些数据将更改。务必阅读对话框底部的警告,这样您可以知道数据将如何更改。

    格式

    确定文件中存储的预览图像的特性。预览图像在不能直接显示 EPS 图稿的应用程序中显示。如果您不希望创建预览图像,请从“格式”菜单中选择“无”。否则,请选择黑白或颜色格式。

    如果您选择 TIFF(8 位颜色)格式,请为预览图像选择背景选项:

    透明

    生成透明背景。

    不透明

    生成实色背景。(如果 EPS 文档将在 Microsoft Office 应用程序中使用,请选择“不透明”。)

    透明度选项

    确定如何处理透明对象和叠印。可用选项根据您在对话框顶部选择的格式版本更改。

    如果您选择 CS 格式,请指定如何存储设置为叠印的重叠颜色,并选择拼合透明度的预设值(或选项集)。单击“自定”以自定拼合器设置。

    如果您选择早于 8.0 的旧版格式,请选择“保留路径”放弃透明效果,并将透明图稿重置为 100% 不透明度和“正常”混合模式。选择“保留外观和叠印”可保留与透明对象不相互影响的叠印。与透明对象相互影响的叠印将拼合。

    嵌入字体(对于其他应用程序)

    嵌入所有从字体供应商获得相应许可的字体。嵌入字体确保如果文件置入到另一个应用程序(例如 Adobe InDesign),将显示和打印原始字体。但是,如果在没有安装相应字体的计算机上的 Illustrator 中打开该文件,将仿造或替换该字体。这样是为防止非法使用嵌入字体。

    注意:选择“嵌入字体”选项会增加存储文件的大小。

    包括链接文件

    嵌入与图稿链接的文件。

    包括文档缩览图

    创建图稿的缩览图图像。缩览图显示在 Illustrator“打开”和“置入”对话框中。

    在 RGB 文件中包括 CMYK PostScript

    允许从不支持 RGB 输出的应用程序打印 RGB 颜色文档。在 Illustrator 中重新打开 EPS 文件时,将保留 RGB 颜色。

    兼容渐变和渐变网格打印

    使旧的打印机和 PostScript 设备可以通过将渐变对象转换为 JPEG 格式来打印渐变和渐变网格。选择此选项可使不存在渐变打印问题的打印机上的打印变慢。

    Adobe PostScript®

    确定用于存储图稿的 PostScript 级别。PostScript 语言级别 2 表示彩色以及灰度矢量和位图图像,并支持用于矢量和位图图形的 RGB、CMYK 和基于 CIE 的颜色模型。PostScript 语言级别 3 提供语言级别 2 没有的功能,包括打印到 PostScript® 3™ 打印机时打印网格对象的功能。由于打印到 PostScript 语言级别 2 设备将渐变网格对象转换为位图图像,因此建议将包含渐变网格对象的图稿打印到 PostScript 3 打印机。

以 SVG 格式存储

SVG 是一种可产生高质量交互式 Web 图形的矢量格式。SVG 格式有两种版本:SVG 和压缩 SVG (SVGZ)。SVGZ 可将文件大小减小 50% 至 80%;但是您不能使用文本编辑器编辑 SVGZ 文件。

当您将图稿存储为 SVG 格式时,网格对象将栅格化。此外,没有 Alpha 通道的图像将转换为 JPEG 格式。具有 Alpha 通道的图像将转换为 PNG 格式。如果文档包含多个画板并且存储为 SVG,则现用画板会被保留。不能将每个画板各存储为一个单独的 SVG 文件。

  1. 如果图稿包含任何 SVG 效果,请选择已经应用 SVG 效果的每一个项目,然后将效果移动到“外观”面板的底部(正好位于“不透明度”条目的上方)。如果 SVG 效果后面还有其他效果,SVG 输出将由栅格对象组成。此外,如果图稿包含多个画板,请选择要导出的画板。

  2. 选择“文件”>“存储为”或“文件”>“存储副本”。

  3. 键入文件名,并选择存储文件的位置。

  4. 选择 SVG (*.SVG) 或 SVG 压缩 (*.SVGZ) 作为文件格式,然后单击“存储”。

  5. 在“SVG 选项”对话框中,设置所需选项,然后单击“确定”:

    SVG 配置文件

    为导出的文件指定 SVG XML 文档类型定义

    SVG 1.0 和 SVG 1.1

    适合将在台式计算机上查看的 SVG 文件。SVG 1.1 是 SVG 规范的完整版本,其中 SVG Tiny 1.1、SVG Tiny 1.1 Plus 和 SVG Basic 1.1 是子集。

    SVG Basic 1.1

    适合将在中型设备(例如手持设备)上查看的 SVG 文件。切记,并非所有手持设备都支持 SVG Basic 配置文件。因此,选择此选项不保证 SVG 文件可在所有手持设备上查看。SVG Basic 不支持非矩形剪切和一些 SVG 滤镜效果。

    SVG Tiny 1.1 和 SVG Tiny 1.1+

    适合要在小型设备(例如手机)上查看的 SVG 文件。切记,并非所有手机都支持 SVG TinySVG Tiny Plus 配置文件。因此,选择这两个选项之一不保证 SVG 文件可在所有小型设备上查看。

    SVG Tiny 1.2

    适合于将在多种设备(从 PDA 和手机到便携式计算机和台式机)上查看的 SVG 文件。

    SVG Tiny 不支持渐变、透明度、剪贴、蒙版、符号、图案、下划线文本、删除线文本、垂直文本或 SVG 滤镜效果。SVG Tiny Plus 包括显示渐变和透明度的功能,但不支持剪贴、蒙版、符号或 SVG 滤镜效果。

    提示:有关 SVG 配置文件的其他信息,请参阅万维网联盟 (WC) 网站 (www.w3.org) 上的 SVG 规范。

    字体类型

    指定如何导出字体:

    Adobe CEF

    使用字体提示以更好渲染小字体。Adobe SVG 查看器支持此字体类型,但其他 SVG 查看器可能不支持。

    SVG

    不使用字体提示。所有 SVG 查看器均支持此字体类型。

    转换为轮廓

    将文字转换为矢量路径。使用此选项可保留文字在所有 SVG 查看器中的视觉外观。

    字体子集

    控制在导出的 SVG 文件中嵌入哪些字形(特定字体的字符)。如果您可以依赖安装在最终用户系统上的必需字体,请从“子集”菜单选择“无”。选择“仅使用的字形”仅包括当前图稿中存在的文本的字形。其他值(通用英文、通用英文使用的字形通用罗马字通用罗马字使用的字形所有字形)在 SVG 文件的文本内容为动态(例如服务器生成的文本或用户交互文本)时有用。

    图像位置

    确定栅格图像直接嵌入到文件或链接到从原始 Illustrator 文件导出的 JPEG 或 PNG 图像。嵌入图像将增大文件大小,但可以确保栅格化图像将始终可用。

    保留 Illustrator 编辑功能

    通过在 SVG 文件中嵌入 AI 文件(产生更大的文件大小)保留特定于 Illustrator 的数据。如果您计划在 Illustrator 中重新打开和编辑 SVG 文件,请选择此选项。请注意,如果您手动更改 SVG 数据,当您重新打开文件时更改不会反映出来。这是因为 Illustrator 读取文件的 AI 部分,而不是 SVG 部分。

    CSS 属性

    确定如何在 SVG 代码中存储样式属性。默认的方法(“演示文稿属性”)在层次的最高点应用属性,可使特定编辑和转换具有最大的灵活性。“样式属性”方法可创建最具可读性的文件,但是可能会增加文件的大小。如果 SVG 代码将用于变换,例如使用可扩展样式表语言变换 (XSLT) 的变换,请选择此方法。“样式属性”<Entity References>方法实现更快速的渲染并减小 SVG 文件大小。与 HTML 文档共享文件时使用“样式元素”方法。通过选择“样式元素”,您可以修改 SVG 文件以便将样式元素移动到同时由 HTML 文件引用的外部样式表文件中;不过,“样式元素”选项同时会降低渲染速度。

    小数位数

    指定 SVG 文件中矢量数据的精度。可以设置 1 到 7 之间的值作为小数位数。更高的值将导致更大的文件大小和更好的图像品质。

    编码

    确定 SVG 文件中的字符编码方式。所有 XML 处理程序都支持 UTF(Unicode 变换格式)编码。(UTF-8 编码是 8 位格式;UTF-16 编码是 16 位格式。) ISO 8859-1 和 UTF-16 编码不保留文件元数据。

    为 Adobe SVG 查看器优化

    保持 Illustrator 数据的最高水平,同时允许手动编辑 SVG 文件。选择此选项可使用更快速的渲染功能,例如 SVG 滤镜效果。

    包含 Adobe Graphics Server 数据

    包括在 SVG 文件中进行变量替代所需的所有信息。

    包含切片数据

    包含切片位置和优化设置。

    包含 XMP

    在 SVG 文件中包含 XMP 元数据。选择“文件”>“信息”或使用 Bridge 浏览器输入元数据。

    输出较少<tspan>元素

    允许 Illustrator 在导出时忽略自动字偶间距调整设置,产生具有较少<tspan>元素的文件。设置此选项创建可编辑性更强且更紧密的 SVG 文件。如果保持自动字偶间距调整文本的外观很重要,请取消选择此选项。

    在路径文本对象上使用<textPath>元素

    导出路径上的文本作为<textPath>元素。但是,请注意,文本在 SVG 查看器中的显示可能与在 Illustrator 中不同,因为这一导出模式不始终保持视觉上的对等。尤其是,溢流文本将在 SVG 查看器中可见。

    显示 SVG 代码

    在浏览器窗口中显示 SVG 文件的代码。

    Web 预览

    在浏览器窗口中显示 SVG 文件。

    Device Central

    在 Device Central 中打开文件以便在特定的移动电话或设备上进行预览。

将图稿存储为 Microsoft Office 所用格式

“存储为 Microsoft Office 所用格式”命令使您可创建一个能在 Microsoft Office 应用程序中使用的 PNG 文件。

  1. 选择“文件”>“存储为 Microsoft Office 所用格式”。

  2. 在“存储为 Microsoft Office 所用格式”对话框中,选择文件的位置,输入文件名,然后单击“保存”。

    注意:

    如果您要自定 PNG 设置,例如分辨率、透明度和背景颜色,请使用“导出”命令而不是“存储为 Microsoft Office 所用格式”命令。您也可以使用“存储为 Web 和设备所用格式”命令将图稿存储为 PNG 格式。

将矢量图形转换为位图图像

关于栅格化

栅格化是将矢量图形转换为位图图像的过程。在栅格化过程中,Illustrator 会将图形路径转换为像素。您所设置的栅格化选项将决定结果像素的大小及特征。

您可以使用“对象”>“栅格化”命令或“栅格化”效果栅格化单独的矢量对象。也可以通过将文档导入为位图格式(例如 JPEG、GIF 或 TIFF)的方式来栅格化整个文档。

栅格化矢量对象

  1. 选择一个或多个对象。

  2. 执行下列操作之一:

    • 若要永久栅格化对象,请选择“对象”> “栅格化”。

    • 若要创建栅格化外观,而不更改对象的底层结构,请选择“效果”>“栅格化”。

  3. 设置栅格化选项,然后单击“确定”。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

When you save or export artwork, Illustrator writes the artwork data to a file. The structure of the data depends on the file format that you select.

There are five basic file formats—AI, PDF, EPS, FXG, and SVG—to which you can save artwork. These formats are called native formats because they can preserve all Illustrator data, including multiple artboards. (For PDF and SVG formats, you must select the Preserve Illustrator Editing Capabilities options to preserve all Illustrator data.) EPS and FXG can save individual artboards as separate files. SVG saves the active artboard only; however, the content from all artboards is displayed.

You can also export artwork in a variety of file formats for use outside of Illustrator. These formats are called non-native formats because Illustrator will not be able to retrieve all of the data if you reopen the file in Illustrator. For this reason, it is recommended that you save artwork in AI format until you are finished creating it, and then export the artwork to the desired format.

Note:

You may receive an error message when saving artwork that includes linked EPS files, if those files were saved in binary format (for example, in Photoshop's default EPS format). In this case, resave the EPS files in ASCII format, embed the linked files into the Illustrator artwork, or save the artwork in AI or PDF format instead of EPS format.

For a video on saving for the web, see Save artwork for the web

Save in Illustrator format

If your document contains more than one artboard and you want to save to a previous version of Illustrator, you can choose to save each artboard as a separate file or combine the content from all artboards into a single file.

  1. Choose File > Save As or File > Save A Copy.

  2. Type a filename, and choose a location for the file.

  3. Choose Illustrator (*.AI) as the file format, and click Save.

  4. In the Illustrator Options dialog box, set the desired options and click OK:

    Version

    Specifies the version of Illustrator with which you want your file to be compatible. Legacy formats don’t support all the features in the current version of Illustrator. Therefore, when you select a version other than the current version, some options for saving aren’t available, and certain kinds of data will be changed. Be sure to read the warnings at the bottom of the dialog box so that you are aware of how the data will be changed.

    Subset Embedded Fonts When Percent Of Characters Used Is Less Than

    Specifies when to embed the entire font (as opposed to just the characters used in the document) based on how many of the font’s characters are used in the document. For instance, if a font contains 1,000 characters but the document only uses 10 of those characters, you may decide that embedding the font is not worth the extra file size.

    Create PDF Compatible File

    Saves a PDF representation of the document in the Illustrator file. Select this option if you want the Illustrator file to be compatible with other Adobe applications.

    Include Linked Files

    Embeds files that are linked to the artwork.

    Embed ICC Profiles

    Creates a color-managed document.

    Use Compression

    Compresses PDF data in the Illustrator file. Using compression increases the time required to save the document, so deselect this option if you’re experiencing very slow (8 to 15 minute) save times.

    Save Each Artboard To A Separate File

    Saves each artboard as a separate file. A separate master file that includes all of the artboards is also created. All of the content that touches an artboard is included with the file for that artboard. If artwork needs to be shifted to fit it onto a single artboard, a warning appears to let you know. If you don’t select this option, the artboards are combined into a single document and are converted to object guides and (in Illustrator CS3) crop areas. The artboard used for the saved file is based on the size of the default document startup profile.

    Transparency options

    Determines what happens to transparent objects when you choose a version of Illustrator format earlier than 9.0. Select Preserve Paths to discard transparency effects and reset transparent artwork to 100% opacity and Normal blending mode. Select Preserve Appearance And Overprints to preserve overprints that don’t interact with transparent objects. Overprints that interact with transparent objects are flattened.

    Note: If your artwork contains complex, overlapping areas and you require high-resolution output, click Cancel and specify rasterization settings before continuing.

Save in EPS format

Virtually all page layout, word-processing, and graphic applications accept imported or placed encapsulated PostScript (EPS) files. The EPS format preserves many of the graphic elements you can create with Adobe Illustrator, which means that EPS files can be reopened and edited as Illustrator files. Because EPS files are based on the PostScript language, they can contain both vector and bitmap graphics. If your artwork contains multiple artboards, these artboards are preserved when you save to EPS format.

  1. If your artwork contains transparency (including overprints) and you require high-resolution output, choose Window > Flattener Preview to preview the effects of flattening.

  2. Choose File > Save As or File > Save A Copy.

  3. Type a filename, and choose a location for the file.

  4. Choose Illustrator EPS (*.EPS) as the file format, and click Save.

  5. If you want create separate files for each artboard, click Use Artboards, and select All or specify a range. Separate files are saved with a master EPS file containing all artboards. If you deselect this option, a single EPS file is created with all artboards preserved.

  6. In the EPS Options dialog box, set the desired options and click OK:

    Version

    Specifies the version of Illustrator with which you want your file to be compatible. Legacy formats don’t support all the features in the current version of Illustrator. Therefore, when you select a version other than the current version, some options for saving aren’t available, and certain kinds of data will be changed. Be sure to read the warnings at the bottom of the dialog box so that you are aware of how the data will be changed.

    Format

    Determines the characteristics of the preview image that is saved in the file. The preview image is displayed in applications that cannot display EPS artwork directly. If you don’t want to create a preview image, choose None from the Format menu. Otherwise, select a black-and-white or color format.

    If you select TIFF (8‑bit Color) format, select a background option for the preview image:

    Transparent

    Produces a transparent background.

    Opaque

    Produces a solid background. (Select Opaque if the EPS document will be used in a Microsoft Office application.)

    Transparency options

    Determines what happens to transparent objects and overprints. The available options change depending on the format version you select at the top of the dialog box.

    If you choose a CS format, specify how to save overlapping colors that are set to overprint, and select a preset (or set of options) for flattening transparency. Click Custom to customize the flattener settings.

    If you choose a Legacy format earlier than 8.0, select Preserve Paths to discard transparency effects and reset transparent artwork to 100% opacity and Normal blending mode. Select Preserve Appearance and Overprints to preserve overprints that don’t interact with transparent objects. Overprints that interact with transparent objects are flattened.

    Embed Fonts (For Other Applications)

    Embeds all fonts that contain appropriate permissions from the font vendor. Embedding fonts ensures that the original font is displayed and printed if the file is placed into another application, such as Adobe InDesign. However, if the file is opened in Illustrator on a computer that does not have the font installed, the font will be faux or substituted. This is to prevent illegal use of the embedded font.

    note: Selecting the Embed Fonts option increases the size of the saved file.

    Include Linked Files

    Embeds files that are linked to the artwork.

    Include Document Thumbnails

    Creates a thumbnail image of the artwork. The thumbnail is displayed in the Illustrator Open and Place dialog boxes.

    Include CMYK PostScript In RGB Files

    Allows RGB color documents to be printed from applications that do not support RGB output. When the EPS file is reopened in Illustrator, the RGB colors are preserved.

    Compatible Gradient And Gradient Mesh Printing

    Enables older printers and PostScript devices to print gradients and gradient meshes by converting gradient objects to JPEG format. Selecting this option can slow printing on printers that don’t have problems with gradients.

    Adobe PostScript®

    Determines what level of PostScript is used to save the artwork. PostScript Language Level 2 represents color as well as grayscale vector and bitmap images, and supports RGB, CMYK, and CIE‑based color models for both vector and bitmap graphics. PostScript Language Level 3 provides additional functionality to Language Level 2, including the ability to print mesh objects when printing to a PostScript® 3™ printer. Because printing to PostScript Language Level 2 devices converts gradient mesh objects to bitmap images, it is preferable to print artwork that contains gradient mesh objects to a PostScript 3 printer.

Save in SVG format

SVG is a vector format that produces high-quality, interactive web graphics. There are two versions of the SVG formats: SVG and Compressed SVG (SVGZ). SVGZ can reduce file sizes by 50% to 80%; however, you cannot edit SVGZ files using a text editor.

When you save artwork in an SVG format, mesh objects are rasterized. In addition, images that have no alpha channel are converted to the JPEG format. Images with an alpha channel are converted to the PNG format. If your document contains multiple artboards and you save to SVG, the active artboard is preserved. You cannot save individual artboards as separate SVG files.

  1. If the artwork contains any SVG effects, select each item to which an SVG effect has been applied, and move the effect to the bottom of the Appearance panel (just above the Opacity entry). If other effects follow an SVG effect, the SVG output will consist of a raster object. In addition, if the artwork contains multiple artboards, select the artboard you want to export.

  2. Choose File > Save As or File > Save A Copy.

  3. Type a filename, and choose a location for the file.

  4. Choose SVG (*.SVG) or SVG Compressed (*.SVGZ) as the file format, and click Save.

  5. In the SVG Options dialog box, set the desired options and click OK:

    SVG Profiles

    Specifies the SVG XML Document Type Definition for the exported file.

    SVG 1.0 and SVG 1.1

    Suitable for SVG files that will be viewed on a desktop computer. SVG 1.1 is the full version of the SVG specification, of which SVG Tiny 1.1, SVG Tiny 1.1 Plus, and SVG Basic 1.1 are subsets.

    SVG Basic 1.1

    Suitable for SVG files that will be viewed on medium powered devices, such as handheld devices. Keep in mind that not all handhelds support the SVG Basic profile. As a result, selecting this option does not guarantee that the SVG file will be viewable on all handhelds. SVG Basic does not support nonrectangular clipping and some SVG filter effects.

    SVG Tiny 1.1 and SVG Tiny 1.1+

    Suitable for SVG files that will be viewed on small devices, such as mobile phones. Keep in mind that not all mobile phones support the SVG Tiny and SVG Tiny Plus profiles. As a result, selecting either of these options does not guarantee that the SVG file will be viewable on all small devices.

    SVG Tiny 1.2

    Suitable for SVG files that will be viewed on a variety of devices ranging from PDAs and mobile phones to laptops and desktop computers.

    SVG Tiny does not support gradients, transparency, clipping, masks, symbols, patterns, underline text, strike through text, vertical text, or SVG filter effects. SVG Tiny Plus includes the ability to display gradients and transparency, but does not support clipping, masks, symbols, or SVG filter effects.

    Tip: For additional information on SVG profiles, see the SVG specification on the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) website (www.w3.org).

    Font Type

    Specifies how fonts are exported:

    Adobe CEF

    Uses font hinting for better rendering of small fonts. This font type is supported by the Adobe SVG Viewer but may not be supported by other SVG viewers.

    SVG

    Does not use font hinting. This font type is supported by all SVG viewers.

    Convert To Outlines

    Converts type to vector paths. Use this option to preserve the visual appearance of type in all SVG Viewers.

    Font Subsetting

    Controls which glyphs (characters of a particular font) are embedded in the exported SVG file. Choose None from the Subsetting menu if you can rely on the necessary fonts being installed on end-user systems. Choose Only Glyphs Used to include only glyphs for text that exists in the current artwork. The other values (Common English, Common English + Glyphs Used, Common Roman, Common Roman+ Glyphs Used, All Glyphs) are useful when the textual content of the SVG file is dynamic (such as server-generated text or user-interactive text).

    Image Location

    Determines whether raster images are embedded directly in the file or linked to the exported JPEG or PNG images from the original Illustrator file. Embedding images increases file size but ensures that rasterized images will always be available.

    Preserve Illustrator Editing Capabilities

    Preserves Illustrator-specific data by embedding an AI file in the SVG file (resulting in a larger file size). Select this option if you plan to reopen and edit the SVG file in Illustrator. Note that if you make manual changes to the SVG data, the changes are not reflected when you reopen the file. This is because Illustrator reads the AI portion of the file, not the SVG portion.

    CSS Properties

    Determines how style attributes are saved in the SVG code. The default method, Presentation Attributes, applies properties at the highest point in the hierarchy, which allows the most flexibility for specific edits and transformations. The Style Attributes method creates the most readable files but may increase the file size. Choose this method if the SVG code will be used in transformations, for example, transformations using Extensible Stylesheet Language Transformation (XSLT). The Style Attributes <Entity References> method results in faster rendering times and reduced SVG file size. The Style Elements method is used when sharing files with HTML documents. By selecting Style Elements, you can then modify the SVG file to move a style element into an external style sheet file that is also referenced by the HTML file; however, the Style Elements option also results in slower rendering speeds.

    Decimal Places

    Specifies the precision of vector data in the SVG file. You can set a value of 1–7 decimal places. A higher value results in a larger file size and increased image quality.

    Encoding

    Determines how characters are encoded in the SVG file. UTF (UnicodeTransformation Format) encoding is supported by all XML processors. (UTF‑8 is an 8‑bit format; UTF‑16 is a 16‑bit format.) ISO 8859‑1 and UTF‑16 encoding do not preserve file metadata.

    Optimize For Adobe SVG Viewer

    Maintains the highest level of Illustrator data while still allowing the SVG file to be manually edited. Select this option to take advantage of faster rendering for features such as SVG filter effects.

    Include Adobe Graphics Server Data

    Includes all information needed for variable substitution in the SVG file.

    Include Slicing Data

    Includes slice locations and optimization settings.

    Include XMP

    Includes XMP metadata in the SVG file. Choose File > Info or use the Bridge Browser to enter metadata.

    Output Fewer <tspan> Elements

    Allows Illustrator to ignore auto-kerning settings during export, which results in a file with fewer <tspan> elements. Select this option to create an SVG file that is more editable and compact. Deselect this option if maintaining the appearance of auto-kerned text is critical.

    Use <textPath> Element For Text On Path

    Exports text on a path as a <textPath> element. However, note that the text may appear differently in the SVG Viewer than it does in Illustrator since this export mode will not always be able to maintain visual parity. In particular, overflow text will be visible in the SVG Viewer.

    Show SVG Code

    Displays the code for the SVG file in a browser window.

    Web Preview

    Displays the SVG file in a browser window.

    Device Central

    Opens the file in Device Central for previewing on a particular mobile phone or device.

Save artwork for Microsoft Office

The Save For Microsoft Office command lets you create a PNG file that you can use in Microsoft Office applications.

  1. Choose File > Save For Microsoft Office.

  2. In the Save For Office dialog box, select a location for the file, enter a filename, and click Save.

    Note:

    If you want to customize PNG settings, such as for resolution, transparency, and background color, use the Export command instead of the Save For Microsoft Office command. You can also save artwork in PNG format using the Save For Web & Devices command.

Change vector graphics to bitmap images

About rasterization

Rasterization is the process of changing a vector graphic to a bitmap image. During rasterization, Illustrator converts the graphic’s paths into pixels. The rasterization options you set determine the size and other characteristics of the resulting pixels.

You can rasterize individual vector objects using the Object > Rasterize command or the Rasterize effect. You can also rasterize an entire document by exporting it to a bitmap format, such as JPEG, GIF, or TIFF.

Rasterize a vector object

  1. Select one or more objects.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • To permanently rasterize the objects, choose Object > Rasterize.

    • To create the appearance of rasterization without changing the objects’ underlying structure, choose Effect > Rasterize.

  3. Set rasterization options and click OK.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy