PostScript 打印机使用 PPD 文件(PostScript Printer Description 文件)来为您的特定 PostScript 打印机自定驱动程序的行为。PPD 文件包含有关输出设备的信息,其中包括打印机驻留字体、可用介质大小及方向、优化的网频、网角、分辨率以及色彩输出功能。打印之前设置正确的 PPD 非常重要。通过选择与 PostScript 打印机或照排机相应的 PPD,可以使用可用的输出设备设置填充“打印”对话框。

关于 PPD 文件

PPD 文件(PostScript Printer Description 文件)自定您的特定 PostScript 打印机驱动程序的行为。这个文件包含有关输出设备的信息,其中包括打印机驻留字体、可用介质大小及方向、优化的网频、网角、分辨率以及色彩输出功能。打印之前设置正确的 PPD 非常重要。通过选择与 PostScript 打印机或照排机相应的 PPD,可以使用可用的输出设备设置填充“打印”对话框。您可以根据需要切换到其他 PPD。应用程序使用 PPD 文件中的信息来确定在打印文档时向打印机发送哪些 PostScript 信息。

为达到最佳打印效果,Adobe 建议从制造商处获得您的输出设备的最新版 PPD 文件。许多印前服务提供商和印刷商都拥有针对其所用照排机的 PPD 文件。请确保把 PPD 存储在操作系统指定的位置。有关详细信息,请查阅所用操作系统的说明文档。

更改 PPD 文件

打印到 PostScript 打印机、PostScript 文件或 PDF 时,Illustrator 自动使用该设备的默认 PPD (PostScript Printer Description)。您可以根据需要切换到其他 PPD。

  1. 选择“文件”>“打印”。
  2. 从 PPD 菜单中,选择以下内容之一:
    • 与当前输出设备相对应的 PPD。

    • 其他。可供选择一个自定 PPD,如服务商提供的用于指定打印机的 PPD。PPD 的文件名对应于打印机或照排机的名称和型号,并且可能会显示 .ppd 文件扩展名(取决于系统的设置)。找到所需的 PPD,选择该文件,然后单击“打开”。

      :在照排机的 PPD 中常见的某些 PPD 功能不能从 Illustrator 的“打印”对话框访问。要设置这些特定于打印机的功能,请在“打印”对话框中单击“设置”(Windows) 或“打印机”(Mac OS)。

添加 PPD 文件

为达到最佳打印效果,Adobe 建议从制造商处获得您的输出设备的最新版 PPD 文件。许多印前服务提供商和印刷商都拥有针对其所用照排机的 PPD 文件。请确保把 PPD 存储在操作系统指定的位置。有关详细信息,请查阅所用操作系统的说明文档。

  1. 在 Windows 和 Mac OS 中,选择 PPD 文件的方式与添加打印机的方式相同。对于每个平台,选择 PPD 文件的步骤是不同的。有关详细信息,请参见操作系统文档。

打印复杂的长路径

要打印的 Adobe Illustrator 文件如果含有过长或过于复杂的路径,可能无法打印,打印机可能会发出极限检验报错消息。为简化复杂的长路径,可将其分割成两条或多条单独的路径。还可以更改用于模拟曲线的线段数,并调整打印机分辨率。

更改用于打印矢量对象的线段数

PostScript 解译器将图稿中的曲线定义为小的直线段;线段越小,曲线就越精确。随着线段数的增加,曲线的复杂程度也随之增加。根据打印机及其所含内存量不同,一条曲线可能会过于复杂而使 PostScript 解译器无法栅格化。在这种情况下,就会导致极限检验错误,从而使曲线不能打印。

  1. 选择“文件”>“打印”。
  2. 对于“打印机”,请选择一种 PostScript 打印机、“Adobe PostScript® 文件”或“Adobe PDF”。
  3. 选择“打印”对话框左侧的“图形”。
  4. 取消选择“自动”,使用“平滑度”滑块设置曲线的精度。

    较低的设置(朝向“品质”一端)可创建较多且较短的直线段,从而更接近于曲线。较高的设置(朝向“速度”一端)则会产生较长且较少的直线段,从而创建的曲线精度较低,但却提高了性能。

分割打印路径

Illustrator 将图稿中的分割路径视为不同对象。若要在分割路径之后更改图稿,必须分别处理各分立形状,或者把路径重新连接起来然后把图像作为单一形状来处理。

所以,最好在分割路径之前存储原图稿的一个副本。这样,如有必要,仍可找出未经分割的原稿。

  1. 请执行下列任一操作:
    • 要分割一条描边路径,请用“剪刀”工具 

    • 要分割复合路径,请选择“对象”>“复合路径”>“释放”以删除该复合路径。然后用“剪刀”工具将路径剪成若干段,再将这些段重新定义为复合路径。

    • 要分割一个蒙版,请选择“对象”>“剪切蒙版”>“释放”以删除蒙版。然后用“剪刀”工具将路径剪成若干段,再将这些段重新定义为蒙版。

      提示:要在分割路径后重新连接,请选择组成原对象的所有已分割路径,然后单击“路径查找器”面板中的“添加到形状区域”按钮。将重新连接路径,并将一个锚点放在分割路径重新连接的各接合处。

控制如何将字体下载到打印机

打印机驻留字体是存储在打印机内存中或与打印机相连的硬盘上的字体。Type 1 字体和 TrueType 字体既可以存储在打印机上,也可以存储在计算机上;而点阵字体则只能存储在计算机上。只要字体安装在计算机的硬盘上,Illustrator 就会根据需要下载字体。

  1. 选择“文件”>“打印”。
  2. 对于“打印机”,请选择一种 PostScript 打印机、“Adobe PostScript® 文件”或“Adobe PDF”。
  3. 选择“打印”对话框左侧的“图形”,然后选择一个“下载”选项:

    在 PostScript 文件中加入一个字体引用,PostScript 文件会告诉 RIP 或后处理器应把该字体放到哪里。此选项适合字体驻留打印机的情况。TrueType 字体按照字体中的 PostScript 名称命名;不过,并非所有的应用程序都能解译这些名称。要确保 TrueType 字体解译正确,请使用其他字体下载选项之一。

    子集

    只下载文档中用到的字符(字形)。每页下载一次字形。此选项通常可在用于单页文档或文本不多的短文档时获得较快较小的 PostScript 文件。

    完整

    在打印作业开始便下载文档所需的所有字体。此选项通常可在用于多页文档时获得较快较小的 PostScript 文件。

    :部分字体制造商会限制嵌入字体文件。这些限制适用于字体软件的复制。作为用户,需要遵守适用的版权法和许可协议条款。对于 Adobe 授权的字体软件,许可协议规定您可以把特定文档所用字体的副本携带到印刷商或其他服务提供商处,而该服务提供商可以使用该字体处理您的文件 — 前提是该服务提供商已告知您其有权使用该特定软件。对于其他字体软件,请征得供应商的许可。

更改打印的 PostScript 级别

当打印到 PostScript 或 PDF 文件时,Illustrator 自动选择输出设备的 PostScript 级别。如果要更改 Postscript 级别或 PostScript 文件的数据格式,请执行下列操作:

  1. 选择“文件”>“打印”。
  2. 对于“打印机”,请选择“Adobe PostScript® 文件”或“Adobe PDF”。
  3. 选择“打印”对话框左侧的“图形”。
  4. 对于 PostScript,请选择对 PostScript 输出设备中解译器的兼容级别。

    对于在 PostScript 级别 2 或更高级别输出设备上打印图形,级别 2 可提高打印速度和输出质量。级别 3 在 PostScript 3 设备上可提供最高速度和输出质量。

  5. (可选)如果选择“Adobe PostScript® 文件”作为打印机,请选择一个“数据格式”选项来指定 Illustrator 从计算机向打印机传送图像数据的方式。

    “二进制”把图像数据导出为二进制代码,这要比 ASCII 代码更为紧凑但却不一定与所有系统都兼容。ASCII 把图像数据导出为 ASCII 文本,这与较老式的网络和并行打印机兼容,对于在多平台上使用的图形来说往往是最佳选择。这对于仅在 Mac OS 系统上使用的文档来说往往也是如此。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

PostScript printers use a PPD file (PostScript Printer Description file) to customize the behavior of the driver for your specific PostScript printer. A PPD file contains information about the output device, including printer-resident fonts, available media sizes and orientation, optimized screen frequencies, screen angles, resolution, and color output capabilities. It’s important to set up the correct PPD before you print. Selecting the PPD that corresponds to your PostScript printer or imagesetter populates the Print dialog box with the available settings for the output device.

About PPD files

A PPD file (PostScript Printer Description file) customizes the behavior of the driver for your specific PostScript printer. It contains information about the output device, including printer-resident fonts, available media sizes and orientation, optimized screen frequencies, screen angles, resolution, and color output capabilities. It’s important to set up the correct PPD before you print. Selecting the PPD that corresponds to your PostScript printer or imagesetter populates the Print dialog box with the available settings for the output device. You can switch to a different one to suit your needs. Applications use the information in the PPD file to determine which PostScript information to send to the printer when printing a document.

For best printing results, Adobe recommends that you obtain the latest version of the PPD file for your output device from the manufacturer. Many print service providers and commercial printers have PPDs for the imagesetters they use. Be sure to store PPDs in the location specified by the operating system. For details, consult the documentation for your operating system.

Change the PPD file

When you print to a PostScript printer, PostScript file, or PDF, Illustrator automatically uses the default PPD (PostScript Printer Description) for that device. You can switch to a different one to suit your needs.

  1. Choose File > Print.
  2. From the PPD menu, select one of the following:
    • A PPD that corresponds to the current output device.

    • Other. Lets you select a custom PPD, such as one provided by your service bureau for use with the specified printer. The PPD’s filename corresponds to the printer’s or imagesetter’s name and model, and may display a .ppd file extension (depending on how your system is set up.) Navigate to the PPD you want, select it, and click Open.

      note: Certain PPD features commonly found in imagesetter PPDs aren’t accessible from the Illustrator Print dialog box. To set those printer-specific features, click Setup (Windows) or Printer (Mac OS) in the Print dialog box.

Add a PPD file

For best printing results, Adobe recommends that you obtain the latest version of the PPD file for your output device from the manufacturer. Many print service providers and commercial printers have PPDs for the imagesetters they use. Be sure to store PPDs in the location specified by the operating system. For details, consult the documentation for your operating system.

  • In Windows and in Mac OS, you select a PPD file in the same way you add a printer. The steps for selecting a PPD file are different for each platform. See your operating system documentation for details.

Printing long, complex paths

If you are printing Adobe Illustrator files containing overly long or complicated paths, the file may not print and you may receive limit-check error messages from your printer. To simplify long, complex paths, you can split them into two or more separate paths. You can also change the number of line segments used to approximate curves and adjust the printer resolution.

Change the number of line segments used to print vector objects

Curves in artwork are defined by the PostScript interpreter as small straight line segments; the smaller the line segments, the more accurate the curve. As the number of line segments increases, so does the complexity of the curve. Depending on your printer and the amount of memory it has, a curve may be too complex for a PostScript interpreter to rasterize. In this case, a PostScript limit-check error can result, and the curve won’t print.

  1. Choose File > Print.
  2. For Printer, select a PostScript printer, Adobe PostScript® File, or Adobe PDF.
  3. Select Graphics on the left side of the Print dialog box.
  4. Deselect Automatic, and use the Flatness slider to set the accuracy of curves.

    A lower setting (toward Quality) creates more, smaller straight line segments, more closely approximating the curve. A higher setting (toward Speed) results in longer and fewer line segments, creating a less accurate curve, but improving performance.

Split paths for printing

Illustrator treats split paths in the artwork as separate objects. To change your artwork once paths are split, you must either work with the separate shapes or rejoin the paths to work with the image as a single shape.

It’s a good idea to save a copy of your original artwork before splitting paths. That way, you still have the original, unsplit file to work with if needed.

  • Do any of the following:
    • To split a stroked path, use the Scissors tool .

    • To split a compound path, choose Object > Compound Paths > Release to remove the compound path. Then break the path into pieces using the Scissors tool, and redefine the pieces as compound paths.

    • To split a mask, choose Object > Clipping Mask > Release to remove the mask. Then break the path into pieces using the Scissors tool, and redefine the pieces as masks.

      Tip: To rejoin a path after you split it, select all of the split paths that made up the original object, and click the Add To Shape Area button in the Pathfinder panel. The path is rejoined, with an anchor point placed at each intersection where a split path was reconnected.

Control how fonts are downloaded to a printer

Printer-resident fonts are fonts stored in a printer’s memory or on a hard drive connected to the printer. Type 1 and TrueType fonts can be stored either on the printer or on your computer; bitmap fonts are stored only on your computer. Illustrator downloads fonts as needed, provided they are installed on your computer’s hard disk.

  1. Choose File > Print.
  2. For Printer, select a PostScript printer, Adobe PostScript® File, or Adobe PDF.
  3. Select Graphics on the left side of the Print dialog box, and select a Download option:

    None

    Includes a reference to the font in the PostScript file which tells the RIP or a post-processor where the font should be included. This option is appropriate if the fonts reside in the printer. TrueType fonts are named according to the PostScript name in the font; however, not all applications can interpret these names. To ensure that TrueType fonts are interpreted correctly, use one of the other font downloading options.

    Subset

    Downloads only the characters (glyphs) used in the document. Glyphs are downloaded once per page. This option typically results in faster and smaller PostScript files when used with single-page documents, or with short documents without much text.

    Complete

    Downloads all fonts required for the document at the beginning of the print job. This option typically results in faster and smaller PostScript files when used with multipage documents.

    note: Some font manufacturers restrict the embedding of font files. Restrictions apply to copying font software. You are required to comply with applicable copyright law and the terms of your license agreement. For font software licensed from Adobe, your license agreement provides that you may take a copy of the font(s) you have used for a particular file to a commercial printer or other service provider, and the service provider may use the font(s) to process your file, provided the service provider has informed you that it has the right to use that particular software. For other font software, please obtain permission from your vendor.

Change the PostScript level for printing

When you print to a PostScript or PDF file, Illustrator automatically selects the PostScript level of your output device. If you want to change the Postscript level or data format for PostScript files, do the following:

  1. Choose File > Print.
  2. For Printer, select Adobe PostScript® File or Adobe PDF.
  3. Select Graphics on the left side of the Print dialog box.
  4. For PostScript, select the level of compatibility with the interpreters in PostScript output devices.

    Level 2 improves the printing speed and output quality of graphics printed on a PostScript Level 2 or greater output device. Level 3 provides the best speed and output quality on a PostScript 3 device.

  5. (Optional) If you chose Adobe PostScript® File as the printer, select a Data Format option to specify how Illustrator sends the image data from your computer to a printer.

    Binary exports the image data as binary code, which is more compact than ASCII but may not be compatible with all systems. ASCII exports the image data as ASCII text, which is compatible with older networks and parallel printers and is usually the best choice for graphics used on multiple platforms. It is also usually the best choice for documents used only on Mac OS.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy