关于 Adobe PDF

便携文档格式 (PDF) 是一种通用的文件格式,这种文件格式保留在各种应用程序和平台上创建的字体、图像和版面。Adobe PDF 是对全球使用的电子文档和表单进行安全可靠的分发和交换的标准。Adobe PDF 文件小而完整,任何使用免费 Adobe Reader® 软件的人都可以对其进行共享、查看和打印。

Adobe PDF 在印刷出版工作流程中非常高效。通过将您的复合图稿存储在 Adobe PDF 中,可以创建一个您或您的服务提供商可以查看、编辑、组织和校样的小且可靠的文件。然后,在工作流程的适合时间,您的服务提供商可以或直接输出 Adobe PDF 文件,或使用各个来源的工具处理它,用于后处理任务,例如准备检查、陷印、拼版和分色。

当您以 Adobe PDF 格式存储时,可选择创建一个符合 PDF/X 规范的文件。PDF/X(便携文档格式交换)是 Adobe PDF 的子集,消除导致打印问题的许多颜色、字体和陷印变量。PDF/X 可随时用于 PDF 文件作为印刷制作的"Digital Master"进行交换,无论是工作流程中的创作还是输出阶段,只要应用程序和输出设备支持 PDF/X。

Adobe PDF 可以解决与电子文档相关的下列问题:

常见问题

Adobe PDF 解决方案

接收者无法打开文件,因为没有用于创建此文件的应用程序。

任何用户可以在任何地方打开 PDF。所需要的只是免费的 Adobe Reader 软件。

合并的纸质和电子文档难以搜索,占用空间,并且需要用来创建文档的应用程序。

PDF 文件是压缩且完全可搜索的,并且可以使用 Adobe Reader 随时进行访问。链接使得 PDF 易于导览。

文档在手持设备上显示错误。

带标签的 PDF 允许重排文本,以在诸如 Palm OS®、Symbian™ 和 Pocket PC ® 设备的移动平台上显示。

视力不佳者无法访问格式复杂的文档。

带标签的 PDF 文件包含有关内容和结构的信息,使这类读者可以在屏幕上访问这些文件。

创建 Adobe PDF 文件

可以从 Illustrator 中创建不同类型的 PDF 文件。可以创建多页 PDF、包含图层的 PDF 和 PDF/x 兼容的文件。包含图层的 PDF 可让您存储一个包含可在不同上下文中使用的图层的 PDF。PDF/X 兼容的文件可减少颜色、字体和陷印问题的出现。

创建 Adobe PDF

  1. 选择“文件”>“存储为”或“文件”>“存储副本”。

  2. 键入文件名,并选择存储文件的位置。

  3. 选择 Adobe PDF (*.PDF) 作为文件格式,然后单击“存储”。

  4. 从“Adobe PDF 预设”菜单选择一个预设,或从对话框左侧列表选择一个类别,然后自定选项。

  5. 单击“存储 PDF”。

    注意:

    要将选项重置为默认值,请按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS),并单击“重置”。

创建多页 Adobe PDF

  1. 在一个文档中创建多个画板。

  2. 选择“文件”>“存储为”,并将“存储为类型”选择为“Adobe PDF”。

  3. 执行下列操作之一:

    • 要将所有画板存储到一个 PDF 中,请选择“全部”。

    • 要将部分画板存储到一个 PDF 中,请选择“范围”,并键入画板的范围。

  4. 单击“存储”,并在“存储 Adobe PDF”对话框中设置其他 PDF 选项。

  5. 单击“存储 PDF”。

创建一个分层的 Adobe PDF

Adobe InDesign 和 Adobe Acrobat 都提供更改 Adobe PDF 文件中图层可视性的功能。通过在 Illustrator 中存储图层式 PDF 文件,您可以将插图用于不同上下文。例如,要进行多语言发布,不必再为同一插图创建多个版本,而是可以创建一个包含所有语言文本的 PDF 文件。

  1. 设置您的插图使可调整元素(希望显示和隐藏的元素)位于不同顶层图层中,而不是嵌套在子图层中。

    例如,如果您正在创建重新用于多个语言的插图,请将每种语言的文本放入不同顶层图层。

  2. 以 Adobe PDF 格式存储文件。

  3. 在“存储 Adobe PDF”对话框中,对于“兼容性”选项选择“Acrobat 8 (1.7)”或“Acrobat 7 (1.6)”。

  4. 选择“从顶层图层创建 Acrobat 图层”,设置其他 PDF 选项,然后单击“存储 PDF”。

创建 Adobe PDF/X 兼容的文件

PDF/X(便携文档格式交换)是图形内容交换的 ISO 标准,消除导致印刷问题的许多颜色、字体和陷印变化。Illustrator 支持 PDF/X‑1a(用于 CMYK 工作流程)、PDF/X‑3(用于颜色管理工作流程)和 PDF/X-4(用于增加了对以自然方式而不是拼合方式保存透明度的支持的颜色管理工作流程)。

在存储 PDF 文件的过程中,您可以创建一个 PDF/X 兼容的文件。

  1. 在“存储 Adobe PDF”对话框中,选择一个 PDF/X 预设,或从“标准”菜单中选择一个 PDF/X 格式。

  2. 单击“存储 Adobe PDF”对话框左侧的“输出”,然后设置 PDF/X 选项。

创建简洁的 PDF 文档

Illustrator 可提供以最小的文件大小保存文档的选项。若要从 Illustrator 生成简洁的 PDF,请执行下列操作:

  1. 单击“文件”>“存储为”,然后选择 PDF。

  2. 在“保存 Adobe PDF”对话框中,从“Adobe PDF 预设”中选择“最小文件大小”选项。

    确保已取消选中“保留 Illustrator 编辑功能”复选框,以避免在保存文档时同时保存 Illustrator 资源。

Adobe PDF 预设

PDF 预设是一组影响创建 PDF 处理的设置。这些设置旨在平衡文件大小和品质,具体取决于如何使用 PDF 文件。可以在 Adobe Creative Suite 组件间共享预定义的大多数预设,其中包括 InDesign、Illustrator、Photoshop 和 Acrobat。也可以针对您特有的输出要求创建和共享自定义预设。

直到您根据需要将下面列出的几个预设从 Extras 文件夹(默认安装位置)移到 Settings 文件夹后,才能使用这些预设。通常,“Extras”文件夹和“Settings”文件夹位于 (Windows) ProgramData\Adobe\AdobePDF 或 (Mac OS) 资源库/Application Support/Adobe PDF。有一些预设在某些 Creative Suite 组件中不可用。

自定义设置位于 (Windows) 用户/[用户名]/AppData/Roaming/Adobe/Adobe PDF/Settings 或 (Mac OS) 用户/[用户名]/资源库/Application Support/Adobe/Adobe PDF/Settings。

注意:

定期查看您的 PDF 设置。这些设置不会自动恢复到默认设置。创建 PDF 所用的应用程序和实用程序使用最后一组已定义或选定的 PDF 设置。

高质量打印

为在桌面打印机和打样设备上进行高质量打印创建 PDF。本预设使用 PDF 1.4,将彩色和灰度图像缩减像素到 300 ppi 和将单色图像缩减像素采样到 1200 ppi,嵌入所有字体子集,保持颜色不变和不拼合透明度(对于有透明度功能文件的类型)。这些 PDF 文件可以在 Acrobat 5.0 和 Acrobat Reader 5.0 及更高版本中打开。在 InDesign 中,此预设还会创建加标签的 PDF。

Illustrator 默认(仅 Illustrator )

创建保留所有 Illustrator 数据的 PDF 文件。可以在 Illustrator 中重新打开使用此预设创建的 PDF 文件,而不丢失任何数据。

过大的页面(仅 Acrobat)

创建适合查看和打印大于 200 x 200 英寸的工程制图的 PDF。这些 PDF 文件可以在 Acrobat 和 Reader 7.0 及更高版本中打开。

PDF/A-1b: 2005(CMYK 和 RGB)(仅 Acrobat)

用于电子文档的长期保存(归档)。PDF/A‑1b 使用 PDF 1.4,并根据您选择的标准将所有的颜色转换到 CMYK 或 RGB。这些 PDF 可以在 Acrobat 和 Reader 5.0 以及更高版本中打开。

PDF/X-1a(2001 和 2003)

PDF/X‑1a 要求嵌入所有字体、指定适当的标记和出血,并且颜色显示为 CMYK 和/或专色。符合规范的文件必须包含其适用的打印条件的相关信息。可以在 Acrobat 4.0 和 Acrobat Reader 4.0 及更高版本中打开按照 PDF/X-1a 规范创建的 PDF 文件。

PDF/X‑1a 使用 PDF 1.3,将彩色和灰度图像缩减像素采样到 300 ppi 并将单色图像缩减像素采样到 1200 ppi,嵌入所有字体子集,创建无标记的 PDF 并使用高分辨率设置拼合透明度。

注意:在安装过程中,会将 PDF/X1‑a:2003 和 PDF/X‑3 (2003) 预设放置在您的计算机上,但直到将它们从 Extras 文件夹移到 Settings 文件夹后才能进行使用。

PDF/X-3

此预设基于 ISO 标准 PDF/X-3:2002 创建 PDF。可以在 Acrobat 4.0 和 Acrobat Reader 4.0 及更高版本中打开使用此设置创建的 PDF。

PDF/X‑4 (2008)

此预设创建 ISO PDF/X-4:2008 文件,支持实时透明度(不拼合透明度)和 ICC 色彩管理。使用此预设导出的 PDF 文件为 PDF 1.4 格式。图像将进行缩减像素采样和压缩,并使用与 PDF/X-1a 和 PDF/X-3 设置相同的方式嵌入字体。可以使用 Creative Suite 4 和 5 组件(包括 Illustrator、InDesign 和 Photoshop)直接创建符合 PDF/X-4:2008 的 PDF 文件。Acrobat 9 Pro 提供了用于验证和印前检查 PDF 文件是否符合 PDF/X-4:2008 的工具,以及将非 PDF/X 文件转换为 PDF/X-4:2008(如果可能)的工具。

Adobe 建议将 PDF/X-4:2008 作为最佳 PDF 文件格式,以实现可靠的 PDF 印刷出版工作流程。

印刷质量

创建用于高质量印刷制作(例如,用于数码印刷或分色到照排机或直接制版机)的文件,但不会创建符合 PDF/X 的文件。在这种情况下,内容的质量是最重要的考虑因素。目标是保持印刷商或印前服务提供商为了正确印刷文档所需的 PDF 文件中的所有信息。本组选项使用 PDF 1.4,将颜色转换为 CMYK,将彩色和灰度图像缩减像素采样至 300 ppi,缩减像素采样单色图像至 1200 ppi,嵌入所有字体的子集并保留透明度(对于有透明度功能的文件类型)。

可以在 Acrobat 5.0 和 Acrobat Reader 5.0 及更高版本中打开这些 PDF 文件。

注意:创建发送给商业印刷商或印前服务提供商的 Adobe PDF 文件之前,请了解所需的输出分辨率和其它设置,或要求提供具有推荐设置的 .joboptions 文件。您可能需要为特殊提供商自定 Adobe PDF 设置,并提供您自己的 .joboptions 文件。

内容丰富的 PDF

创建具有辅助功能的 PDF 文件,其中包含标签、超链接、书签、交互元素和图层。本组选项使用 PDF 1.5,并嵌入所有字体的子集。它还为字节级服务优化文件。这些 PDF 文件可在 Acrobat 6.0 和 Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0 和更高版本中打开。(内容丰富的 PDF 预设位于 Extras 文件夹中。)

注意:本预设在某些应用程序的早期版本被称为 eBook。

最小文件大小

创建 PDF 文件,以在 Web 或 Intranet 上显示或者通过电子邮件分发。这组选项使用压缩、缩减像素采样以及较低的图像分辨率。它将所有颜色转换为 sRGB,并嵌入字体。它还为字节级服务优化文件。为获得最佳效果,打印 PDF 文件时,请避免使用此预设。

可以在 Acrobat 5.0 和 Acrobat Reader 5.0 及更高版本中打开这些 PDF 文件。

杂志广告 2006(日本)

此预设基于数字数据传送委员会设计的创建规则来创建 PDF。

标准(仅 Acrobat)

创建要打印到桌面打印机或数字复制机、在 CD 上出版或作为出版校样发送给客户的 PDF 文件。该组选项使用压缩和缩减像素采样以保持较小的文件大小,但也会嵌入文件中使用的所有(允许的)字体的子集,将所有颜色转换为 sRGB 并按介质分辨率进行打印。注意,默认情况下,Windows 字体子集不被嵌入。可以在 Acrobat 5.0 和 Acrobat Reader 5.0 及更高版本中打开使用此设置文件创建的 PDF 文件。

注意:

有关 Creative Suite 组件的共享 PDF 设置的详细信息,请参阅 Creative Suite DVD 上的《PDF 集成指南》。

自定 PDF 预设

尽管默认 PDF 预设基于最佳做法,您可能会发现您的工作流程,或者您的印刷商的工作流程需要专门 PDF 设置,而这些设置无法通过任何内置预设获得。如果是这种情况,您或您的服务提供商可创建自定预设。

  1. 选择“编辑”>“Adobe PDF 预设”。

  2. 执行下列操作之一:

    • 要创建新的预设,请单击“新建”。如果您希望新的预设基于现有预设,请先选择该预设。

    • 要编辑现有自定预设,请选择预设,然后单击“编辑”。(您不能编辑默认预设。)

    • 要删除预设,请选择该预设并单击“删除”。

    • 要将预设存储到非 Adobe PDF 文件夹中的默认 Settings 文件夹的位置,请选择该预设并单击“存储为”。指定位置并单击“存储”。

  3. 设置 PDF 选项,然后单击“确定”。

或者,您可以在存储 PDF 文件时通过单击“存储 Adobe PDF”对话框底部的“存储预设”创建自定预设。

注意:

如果您希望与同事共享您的预设,请选择一个或多个预设,然后单击“导出”。这些预设将存储到单独的 .joboptions 文件中,然后您可以通过电子邮件或计算机网络将该文件传输给您的同事。

载入 PDF 预设

Illustrator 附带有 PDF 预设文件 (.joboptions)。您也可以从服务提供商和同事那里获得自定 PDF 预设文件。

  1. 要将 PDF 预设载入到所有 Creative Suite 应用程序中,请执行以下操作之一:

    • 双击 .joboptions 文件。

    • 选择“编辑”>“Adobe PDF 预设”。单击“导入”,然后选择要载入的 .joboptions 文件。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

About Adobe PDF

Portable Document Format (PDF) is a universal file format that preserves the fonts, images, and layout of source documents created on a wide range of applications and platforms. Adobe PDF is the standard for the secure, reliable distribution and exchange of electronic documents and forms around the world. Adobe PDF files are compact and complete, and can be shared, viewed, and printed by anyone with free Adobe Reader® software.

Adobe PDF is highly effective in print publishing workflows. By saving a composite of your artwork in Adobe PDF, you create a compact, reliable file that you or your service provider can view, edit, organize, and proof. Then, at the appropriate time in the workflow, your service provider can either output the Adobe PDF file directly, or process it using tools from various sources for such post-processing tasks as preflight checks, trapping, imposition, and color separation.

When you save in Adobe PDF, you can choose to create a PDF/X-compliant file. PDF/X (Portable Document Format Exchange) is a subset of Adobe PDF that eliminates many of the color, font, and trapping variables that lead to printing problems. PDF/X may be used wherever PDFs are exchanged as digital masters for print production—whether at the creation or output stage of the workflow, as long as the applications and output devices support PDF/X.

Adobe PDFs can solve the following problems associated with electronic documents:

Common problem

Adobe PDF solution

Recipients can't open files because they don't have the applications used to create the files.

Anyone, anywhere can open a PDF. All you need is the free Adobe Reader software.

Combined paper and electronic archives are difficult to search, take up space, and require the application in which a document was created.

PDFs are compact and fully searchable, and can be accessed at any time using Reader. Links make PDFs easy to navigate.

Documents appear incorrectly on handheld devices.

Tagged PDFs allow text to reflow for display on mobile platforms such as Palm OS®, Symbian™, and Pocket PC® devices.

Documents with complex formatting are not accessible to visually impaired readers.

Tagged PDFs contain information on content and structure, which makes them accessible on-screen readers.

Create Adobe PDF files

You can create different types of PDF files from within Illustrator. You can create multipage PDFs, layered PDFs, and PDF/x‑compliant files. Layered PDFs allow you to save one PDF with layers that can be used in different contexts. PDF/X‑compliant files ease the burden of color, font, and trapping issues.

For a video on creating PDFs from Creative Suite applications, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0209. For a video on exporting to PDF 1.7 for review or prepress purposes, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0210. For a video on creating interactive PDFs, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0211.

Create an Adobe PDF

  1. Choose File > Save As or File > Save A Copy.

  2. Type a filename, and choose a location for the file.

  3. Choose Adobe PDF (*.PDF) as the file format, and click Save.

  4. Either choose a preset from the Adobe PDF Preset menu, or select a category from the list on the left of the dialog box and then customize the options.

  5. Click Save PDF.

    Note:

    To reset options to the default, hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) and click Reset.

Create a multiple-page Adobe PDF

  1. Create multiple artboards in a document.

  2. Choose File > Save As, and select Adobe PDF forSave As Type.

  3. Do one of the following:

    • To save all of the artboards to one PDF, select All.

    • To save a subset of the artboards to one PDF, select Range, and type the range of artboards.

  4. Click Save, and set additional PDF options in the Save Adobe PDF dialog box.

  5. Click Save PDF.

Create a layered Adobe PDF

Adobe InDesign and Adobe Acrobat both provide features for changing the visibility of layers in an Adobe PDF file. By saving a layered PDF file in Illustrator, you allow your illustration to be used in different contexts. For example, rather than creating multiple versions of the same illustration for a multilanguage publication, you can create one PDF file that contains text for all languages.

  1. Set up your illustration so that the adjustable elements (those you want to show and hide) are in separate top-level layers, not nested within sublayers.

    For example, if you’re creating an illustration to be repurposed for multiple languages, put the text for each language in a different top-level layer.

  2. Save the file in Adobe PDF format.

  3. In the Save Adobe PDF dialog box, choose Acrobat 8 (1.7) or Acrobat 7 (1.6) for Compatibility.

  4. Select Create Acrobat Layers from Top-Level Layers, set additional PDF options, and click Save PDF.

Create an Adobe PDF/X-compliant file

PDF/X (Portable Document Format Exchange) is an ISO standard for graphic content exchange that eliminates many of the color, font, and trapping variables that lead to printing problems. Illustrator supports PDF/X‑1a (for a CMYK workflow), PDF/X‑3 (for a color-managed workflow), and PDF/X-4 (for a color-managed workflow with added support for preserving transparency as live rather than flattened).

You can create a PDF/X‑compliant file during the process of saving a PDF file.

  1. In the Save Adobe PDF dialog box, choose a PDF/X preset, or choose a PDF/X format from the Standard menu.

  2. Click Output on the left side of the Save Adobe PDF dialog box, and set PDF/X options.

Create compact PDF documents

Illustrator CS5 provides the option to save a document in the smallest file size. To generate a compact PDF from Illustrator, do the following:

  1. Click File > Save As and select PDF.

  2. In the Save Adobe PDF dialog box, select the Smallest File Size option from Adobe PDF Preset.

    Make sure that you deselect the Preserve Illustrator Editing Capabilities check box to avoid saving the Illustrator resources along with the document.

Adobe PDF presets

A PDF preset is a group of settings that affect the process of creating a PDF. These settings are designed to balance file size with quality, depending on how the PDF will be used. Most predefined presets are shared across Adobe Creative Suite components, including InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop, and Acrobat. You can also create and share custom presets for your unique output requirements.

A few of the presets listed below are not available until you move them—as needed—from the Extras folder (where they are installed by default) to the Settings folder. Typically, the Extras and Settings folders are found in (Windows Vista and Windows 7) ProgramData\Adobe\AdobePDF, (Windows XP) Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Adobe PDF, or (Mac OS) Library/Application Support/Adobe PDF. Some presets are not available in some Creative Suite components.

The custom settings are found in (Windows XP) Documents and Settings/[username]/Application Data/Adobe/Adobe PDF/Settings, (Windows Vista and Windows 7) Users/[username]/AppData/Roaming/Adobe/Adobe PDF/Settings, or (Mac OS) Users/[username]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Adobe PDF/Settings.

Note:

Review your PDF settings periodically. The settings do not automatically revert to the default settings. Applications and utilities that create PDFs use the last set of PDF settings defined or selected.

High Quality Print

Creates PDFs for quality printing on desktop printers and proofing devices. This preset uses PDF 1.4, downsamples color and grayscale images to 300 ppi and monochrome images to 1200 ppi, embeds subsets of all fonts, leaves color unchanged, and does not flatten transparency (for file types capable of transparency). These PDFs can be opened in Acrobat 5.0 and Acrobat Reader 5.0 and later. In InDesign, this preset also creates tagged PDFs.

Illustrator Default (Illustrator only)

Creates a PDF in which all Illustrator data is preserved. PDFs created with this preset can be reopened in Illustrator without any loss of data.

Oversized Pages (Acrobat only)

Creates PDFs suitable for viewing and printing of engineering drawings larger than 200 x 200 inches. These PDFs can be opened in Acrobat and Reader 7.0 and later.

PDF/A-1b: 2005 (CMYK and RGB) (Acrobat only)

Used for long-term preservation (archival) of electronic documents. PDF/A‑1b uses PDF 1.4 and converts all colors to either CMYK or RGB, depending on which standard you choose. These PDFs can be opened in Acrobat and Reader versions 5.0 and later.

PDF/X‑1a (2001 and 2003)

PDF/X‑1a requires all fonts to be embedded, the appropriate marks and bleeds to be specified, and color to appear as CMYK, spot colors, or both. Compliant files must contain information describing the printing condition for which they are prepared. PDF files created with PDF/X‑1a compliance can be opened in Acrobat 4.0 and Acrobat Reader 4.0 and later.

PDF/X‑1a uses PDF 1.3, downsamples color and grayscale images to 300 ppi and monochrome images to 1200 ppi, embeds subsets of all fonts, creates untagged PDFs, and flattens transparency using the High Resolution setting.

note: The PDF/X1‑a:2003 and PDF/X‑3 (2003) presets are placed on your computer during installation but are not available until you move them from the Extras folder to the Settings folder.

PDF/X-3

This preset creates a PDF based on the ISO standard PDF/X-3:2002. The PDF created in this setting can be opened in Acrobat 4.0 and Acrobat Reader 4.0 or later.

PDF/X‑4 (2008)

This preset creating ISO PDF/X-4:2008 files supports live transparency (transparency is not flattened) and ICC color management. PDF files exported with this preset are in PDF 1.4 format. Images are downsampled and compressed and fonts are embedded in the same manner as with the PDF/X-1a and PDF/X-3 settings. You can create PDF/X-4:2008 compliant PDF files directly from Creative Suite 4 and 5 components including Illustrator, InDesign, and Photoshop. Acrobat 9 Pro provides facilities to validate and preflight PDF files for PDF/X-4:2008 compliance as well as convert non-PDF/X files to PDF/X-4:2008 if possible.

Adobe recommends PDF/X-4:2008 as the optimal PDF file format for reliable PDF print publishing workflows.

Press Quality

Creates PDF files for high-quality print production (for example, for digital printing or for separations to an imagesetter or platesetter), but does not create files that are PDF/X-compliant. In this case, the quality of the content is the highest consideration. The objective is to maintain all the information in a PDF file that a commercial printer or print service provider needs in order to print the document correctly. This set of options uses PDF 1.4, converts colors to CMYK, downsamples color and grayscale images to 300 ppi and monochrome images to 1200 ppi, embeds subsets of all fonts, and preserves transparency (for file types capable of transparency).

These PDF files can be opened in Acrobat 5.0 and Acrobat Reader 5.0 and later.

Note: Before creating an Adobe PDF file to send to a commercial printer or print service provider, find out what the output resolution and other settings should be, or ask for a .joboptions file with the recommended settings. You might need to customize the Adobe PDF settings for a particular provider and then provide a .joboptions file of your own.

Rich Content PDF

Creates accessible PDF files that include tags, hyperlinks, bookmarks, interactive elements, and layers. This set of options uses PDF 1.5 and embeds subsets of all fonts. It also optimizes files for byte serving. These PDF files can be opened in Acrobat 6.0 and Adobe Reader 6.0 and later. (The Rich Content PDF preset is in the Extras folder.)

note: This preset was called eBook in earlier versions of some applications.

Smallest File Size

Creates PDF files for displaying on the web, an intranet, or for email distribution. This set of options uses compression, downsampling, and a relatively low image resolution. It converts all colors to sRGB and embeds fonts. It also optimizes files for byte serving. For best results, avoid using this preset if you intend to print the PDF file.

These PDF files can be opened in Acrobat 5.0 and Acrobat Reader 5.0 and later.

Magazine Ads 2006 (Japan)

This preset creates a PDF based on the creation rules designed by Digital Data Delivery committee.

Standard (Acrobat only)

Creates PDF files to be printed to desktop printers or digital copiers, published on a CD, or sent to a client as a publishing proof. This set of options uses compression and downsampling to keep the file size down, but also embeds subsets of all (allowed) fonts used in the file, converts all colors to sRGB, and prints to a medium resolution. Note that Windows font subsets are not embedded by default. PDF files created with this settings file can be opened in Acrobat 5.0 and Acrobat Reader 5.0 and later.

Note:

For more information about shared PDF settings for Creative Suite components, see the PDF Integration Guide on the Creative Suite DVD.

Customize PDF presets

Although the default PDF presets are based on best practices, you may discover that your workflow, or perhaps your printer’s workflow, requires specialized PDF settings that aren’t available via any of the built‑in presets. If this is the case, you or your service provider can create custom presets.

  1. Choose Edit > Adobe PDF Presets.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • To create a new preset, click New. If you want to base the new preset on an existing preset, select the preset first.

    • To edit an existing custom preset, select the preset and click Edit. (You cannot edit the default presets.)

    • To delete a preset, select it and click Delete.

    • To save a preset in a location other than the default Settings folder in the Adobe PDF folder, select it and click Save As. Specify a location and click Save.

  3. Set the PDF options, and click OK.

Alternatively, you can create a custom preset when you save a PDF file by clicking Save Preset at the bottom of the Save Adobe PDF dialog box.

Note:

If you want to share your presets with a colleague, select one or more presets and click Export. The presets are saved to a separate .joboptions file, which you can then transfer to your colleague via e‑mail or over your computer network.

Load PDF presets

Illustrator comes with supplementary PDF presets (.joboptions) files. You may also receive custom PDF presets files from service providers and colleagues.

  • To load PDF presets into all of your Creative Suite applications, do one of the following:

    • Double-click the .joboptions file.

    • Choose Edit > Adobe PDF Presets. Click Import, and select the .joboptions file you want to load.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy