有关的详细信息和说明,请单击以下链接。

关于主页、堆叠顺序和图层

主页类似于一个可以快速应用到多个页面的背景。主页上的对象将显示在应用该主页的所有页面上。那些显示在文档页面中的主页项目,其周围将带有点线边框。对主页进行的更改将自动应用到关联的页面。主页通常包含重复的徽标、页码、页眉和页脚。主页还可以包含空的文本框架或图形框架,以作为文档页面上的占位符。无法在文档页面上选定主页项目,除非该主页项目被覆盖。

主页可以具有多个图层,就像文档中的页面一样。单个图层上的对象在该图层内有自己的排列顺序。主页图层上的对象将显示在文档页面中同一图层的对象之后。

如果要将主页项目显示在文档页面上的对象之前,请为主页上的对象指定一个更高的图层。较高图层上的主页项目会显示在较低图层的所有对象之前。合并所有图层会将主页项目移动到文档页面对象之后。

主页、堆叠顺序和图层
主页项目(左上)显示在同一图层的页面对象之后(左下);如果将主页项目移动到较高图层(右上),则会将其移动到较低图层上的所有对象之前(右下)。

有关主页的提示和原则

  • 可以创建多个主页并将其依次应用到包含典型内容的示例页面,从而可以对不同的设计观点进行对比。

  • 要快速对新文档进行排版,您可以将一组主页存储到文档模板中,同时存储段落和字符样式、颜色库以及其他样式和预设。

  • 如果您更改了主页上的分栏或边距设置,或应用了具有不同的分栏和边距设置的新主页,则可以强制页面上的对象自动调整为新版面。(请参阅关于自动版面调整。)

  • 在主页上插入的自动页码将显示应用该主页的文档中每一章节的正确页码。(请参阅添加基本页码。)

创建主页

默认情况下,创建的任何文档都具有一个主页。您可以从零开始创建其他主页,也可以利用现有主页或文档页面进行创建。当您将主页应用于其他页面后,对源主页所做的任何更改都会自动反映到所有基于它的主页和文档页面中。如果有仔细的规划,这可以提供一种对文档中的多个页面进行版面更改的简便方法。

从零开始创建主页

  1. 在“页面”面板菜单中选择“新建主页”。
  2. 指定下列选项,然后单击“确定”:
    • 在“前缀”中,键入一个前缀以标识“页面”面板中各个页面所应用的主页。最多可以键入四个字符。

    • 在“名称”中,键入主页跨页的名称。

    • 在“基于主页”中,选择一个要以其作为此主页跨页基础的现有主页跨页,或选择“无”。

    • 在“页数”中,键入一个值,作为主页跨页中要包含的页数(最多为十)。

从现有页面或跨页创建主页

  • 将整个跨页从“页面”面板的“页面”部分拖动到“主页”部分。
  • 在“页面”面板中选择某一跨页,然后从“页面”面板菜单中选择“存储为主页”

原页面或跨页上的任何对象都将成为新主页的一部分。如果原页面使用了主页,则新主页将基于原页面的主页。

基于另一页面或跨页创建新的主页跨页
基于另一页面或跨页创建新的主页跨页

创建基于其他主页的主页

您可以创建基于同一个文档中的其他主页(称为父级主页)并随该主页进行更新的主页变体。基于父级主页的主页跨页称为子级主页。例如,如果您的文档包含十个章节,而且它们使用只有少量变化的主页跨页,则可以将它们基于一个包含所有十章共有的版面和对象的主页跨页。这样,如果要更改基本设计,则只需编辑父级主页而无需对所有十章分别进行编辑。改变子级主页上的格式。您可以在子级主页上覆盖父级主页项目,以便在主页上创建变化,就像您可以在文档页面上覆盖主页项目一样。这是一种非常有效的方法,可以在设计上保持一致且不断变化和更新。

父级和子级主页
原始父级和子级主页(左);修改父级主页时,子级主页自动更新(右)

  1. 要使一个主页基于另一个主页,请在“页面”面板的“主页”部分,执行以下某项操作:
    • 选择一个主页跨页,然后在“页面”面板菜单中选择“[主页跨页名称] 的主页选项”。在“基于主页”中,选择一个不同的主页,然后单击“确定”。

    • 选择要用作基础的主页跨页的名称,然后将其拖动到要应用该主页的另一个主页的名称上。

    基于主页 A 的主页 B
    基于主页 A 的主页 B

编辑主页的版面

您可以随时编辑主页的版面;所做的更改会自动反映到应用该主页的所有页面中。例如,添加到主页的任何文本或图形都将出现在应用此主页的文档页面上。

注意:

当您覆盖或分离特定页面上的主页对象时,对于主页,该对象并不进行更新,不反映所做的更改。

  1. 在“页面”面板中,双击要编辑的主页的图标,或者从文档窗口底部的文本框列表中选择主页。主页跨页将显示在文档窗口中。
  2. 对主页进行更改。

InDesign 会自动更新任何使用该主页的页面。

要更改主页的大小,请使用“页面”工具将其选中,然后使用“控制”面板中的选项更改其尺寸。请参阅使用多种页面大小

注意:

使用多种视图查看主页编辑的结果。选择“窗口”>“排列”>“新建窗口”,然后选择“窗口”>“排列”>“平铺”。将一种视图设置为一个页面,并将另一种视图设置为应用到该页面的主页。然后编辑该主页并观察页面如何更新。

更改主页选项

您可以编辑主页选项以更改主页的名称或前缀、将主页基于其他主页或更改主页跨页中的页数。

  1. 在“页面”面板中,单击主页跨页的名称以选择主页跨页。
  2. 在“页面”面板菜单中,选择“[主页名称]的主页选项”。
  3. 更改任何选项,然后单击“确定”。

应用主页

如果您的文档包含自定跨页(如杂志中共 3 页或共 4 页的折页),则您应用的任何主页都应当包含相同的页数。

如果主页的页面大小与布局页面不同,则应用主页会更改布局页面的大小。如果布局页面有自定的页面大小,则可以指定是保持自定的布局页面大小,还是应用主页的大小。

注意:

文档页面中的主页项目带有点线外框。如果无法查看文档页面上的主页项目,可能是因为主页项目在较低图层上被隐藏,或是因为这些主页项目已被隐藏。从“页面”面板菜单中选择“显示主页项目”。

将主页应用于文档页面或跨页

  • 要将主页应用于一个页面,请在“页面”面板中将主页图标拖动到页面图标。当黑色矩形围绕所需页面时,请释放鼠标按钮。
  • 要将主页应用于跨页,请在“页面”面板中将主页图标拖动到跨页的角点上。当黑色矩形围绕所需跨页中的所有页面时,请释放鼠标按钮。


    将主页应用于页面(左)和将主页应用于跨页(右)

将主页应用于多个页面

  1. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 在“页面”面板中,选择要应用新主页的页面。然后按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS) 并单击某一主页。

    • 从“页面”面板菜单中选择“将主页应用于页面”,为“应用主页”选择一个主页,确保“于页面”选项中的页面范围是所需的页面,然后单击“确定”。您可以一次将主页应用于多个页面。例如,您可以键入 5, 7-9, 13-16,以将同一个主页应用于第 5、7-9 和 13-16 页。(请参阅在“页面”面板中显示绝对页码或章节页码。)

将主页应用于不连续的页面范围
将主页应用于不连续的页面范围

从文档页面中取消指定的主页

  1. 从“页面”面板的“主页”部分应用“无”主页。

    从页面取消指定主页时,主页的版面和项目将不再应用于该页面。如果主页包含您所需的大部分元素,但是您需要自定一些页面的外观,则可以在这些文档页面上覆盖主页项目并对它们进行编辑或修改,而无需取消指定主页。

复制主页

可以在同一文档内复制主页,也可以将主页从一个文档复制到另一个文档以作为新主页的基础。当您同步书籍中的文档或从其他文档中导入主页时,也可以将主页复制到其他文档。

在文档内复制主页

  1. 在“页面”面板中,执行以下操作之一:
    • 将主页跨页的页面名称拖动到面板底部的“新建页面”按钮。

    • 选择主页跨页的页面名称,并从面板菜单中选择“复制主页跨页[跨页名称]”。

当您复制主页时,被复制主页的页面前缀将变为字母表中的下一个字母。

将主页复制或移动到另一个文档

  1. 打开要在其中添加主页的文档。然后打开包含要复制的主页的文档。
  2. 在源文档的“页面”面板中,执行以下操作之一:
    • 单击并拖动主页跨页至目标文档的窗口,以便对其进行复制。

    • 选择要移动或复制的主页。选择“版面”>“页面”>“移动主页”,并从“移至”菜单中选择目标文档名称。如果要从源文档中删除一个或多个页面,请选中“移动后删除页面”,然后单击“确定”。

如果目标文档的主页已具有相同的前缀,则为移动后的主页分配字母表中的下一个可用字母。

从文档中删除主页

  1. 在“页面”面板中,选择一个或多个主页图标。

    注意:

    要选择所有未使用的主页,请在“页面”面板菜单中选择“选择未使用的主页”。

  2. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 将选定的主页或跨页图标拖动到面板底部的“删除”图标。

    • 单击面板底部的“删除”图标。

    • 选择面板菜单中的“删除主页跨页[跨页名称]”。

删除主页时,[无] 主页将应用于已删除的主页所应用的任何文档页面。

覆盖或分离主页项目

将主页应用于文档页面时,主页上的所有对象(称为主页项目)都将显示在文档页面上。有时,您可能需要让某个特定的页面与主页略微不同。此时,无需在该页面上重新创建主页版面或者创建新的主页。可以覆盖或分离主页项目,而文档页面上的其他主页项目将继续随主页更新。

请注意在文档页面上覆盖和分离主页项目之间的区别:

覆盖主页项目属性

覆盖某一主页项目会将它的一个副本放到文档页面上,而不会断开它与主页的关联。在项目本身被覆盖后,可以有选择地覆盖项目的一个或多个属性,以对其进行自定。例如,您可以更改本地副本的填色颜色。此后,对于主页自身填充颜色的更改将不会更新到本地副本中。但是,诸如大小等其他属性将继续更新,因为没有在本地副本上覆盖它们。以后可以移去覆盖,以便保持对象与主页匹配。

可以覆盖的主页对象属性包括描边、填色、框架的内容和任何变换(如旋转、缩放、切变或调整大小)、角点选项、文本框架选项、锁定状态、透明度和对象效果。

从项目的主页中分离项目

在文档页面上,可以将主页项目从其主页中分离(取消关联)。将其分离之前,必须已在文档页面中覆盖该项目,并创建一个本地副本。分离后的项目不会随主页更新,因为其与主页的关联已经被断开。

覆盖主页项目

  1. 确保主页项目可以覆盖。

    只有在“页面”面板菜单中为主页项目选中了“在选区上允许覆盖主页项目”,此项目才可以被覆盖。

  2. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 要覆盖文档页面上的特定主页项目,请按下 Ctrl+Shift 键 (Windows) 或 Command+Shift 键 (Mac OS) 然后单击该项目(或拖动以选择多个项目)。根据需要更改选定的主页项目。现在,可以像选择任何其他页面项目一样选择该项目,但该项目仍将保留与主页的关联。

    • 要覆盖文档跨页中所有主页项目,请选择一个跨页作为目标,然后选择“页面”面板菜单中的“覆盖所有主页项目”。现在您就可以根据需要来选择和修改任何或所有主页项目。

    在覆盖任何主页项目之后,其点线定界框会变成一条实线,表明已创建本地副本。

    注意:

    如果覆盖的是串接的文本框架,将覆盖该串接中的所有可见框架,即使这些框架位于跨页中的不同页面上。

分离主页项目

  • 要将单个主页项目从其主页中分离,请首先按下 Ctrl+Shift 键 (Windows) 或 Command+Shift 键 (Mac OS) 并单击文档页面上的该项目以将其覆盖。然后在“页面”面板菜单中选择“分离来自主页的选区”。
  • 要分离跨页上所有被覆盖的主页项目,请覆盖要分离的这些主页项目,并将文档中的该跨页作为目标。(请勿转至原主页。)从“页面”面板菜单中选择“分离所有来自主页的对象”。如果该命令不可用,说明该跨页上没有任何已覆盖的对象。

防止主页项目被覆盖

在某些情况下,您不希望覆盖某些主页项目。例如,您可能想要覆盖文档页面上诸如背景图像这样的主页项目,但不想覆盖页码标题。通过阻止覆盖此标题,可以选择“覆盖所有主页项目”选项,来覆盖除此标题之外的所有主页项目。

  1. 在主页上,选择此项目。
  2. 取消选择“页面”面板菜单上的“在选区上允许覆盖主页项目”。

对于不允许覆盖的主页项目来说,它在文档页面上显示时将不带有框架边缘。如果您禁止覆盖一个串接的文本框架,则该串接中的所有文本框架都会应用相同的设置。

重新应用主页项目

如果已经覆盖了主页项目,可以对其进行恢复以与主页匹配。执行此操作时,对象的属性会恢复为它们在对应主页上的状态,而且当您编辑主页时,这些对象将再次更新。对象的本地副本将被删除,并且正如其点线边框所指示的,将无法选中该主页项目。可以移去跨页上的选定对象或全部对象的覆盖,但是不能一次为整个文档执行此操作。

  1. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 要从一个或多个对象删除主页优先选项,请选择原本是主页项目的对象。在“页面”面板中,选择一个跨页作为目标,然后选择“页面”面板菜单中的“删除选定的页面优先选项”。

    • 要从跨页删除所有主页优先选项,请在“页面”面板中,选择要从中删除所有主页优先选项的跨页(或主页跨页)并以其作为目标。选择“编辑”>“全部取消选择”以确保没有对象被选定。在“页面”面板中,选择“页面”面板菜单中的“删除所有页面优先选项”。

如果分离了主页对象,则无法将它们恢复到主页;但是,可以删除分离的对象,然后将主页重新应用到该页面。

如果将主页重新应用到包含已覆盖主页对象的页面,那么具有覆盖的对象将被分离,并会重新应用所有的主页对象。这可能会导致页面上出现某些对象的两个副本。您需要删除已分离的对象才能够完全匹配主页的外观。

隐藏主页项目

利用“隐藏主页项目”,您可在文档中的一个或多个页面上隐藏主页项目。打印或输出时,将不包含隐藏的主页项目。

  1. 在“页面”面板中,选择要在其上隐藏主页项目的页面和跨页。
  2. 从“页面”面板菜单中,选择“隐藏主页项目”。

要重新显示主页项目,请在“页面”面板中选择所需跨页,然后从“页面”面板菜单中选择“显示主页项目”。

从其他文档中导入主页

您可以从其他 InDesign 文档(任意版本)中将主页导入到现用文档中。如果目标文档所包含主页的名称与源文档中的任何主页名称不相同,这些页面和它们的文档页面覆盖将保持不变。

  1. 在“页面”面板菜单中,选择“载入主页”。
  2. 查找并双击包含您要导入的主页的 InDesign 文档。
  3. 如果被载入的主页具有与当前文档中的主页相同的名称,则应确定要执行的操作。
    • 如果希望用来自源文档中的主页优先选项目标文档中具有相同名称的主页,请选择“替换主页”。如果您的目标文档不含有任何被覆盖项目,那么在导入时选择“替换主页”是安全的。

    • 选择“重命名主页”,可将页面前缀更改为字母表中的下一个可用字母。

一旦您从源文档中导入主页,在源文档和目标文档间就会建立一个链接。当您随后从相同的源文档中载入主页时,将保持被覆盖项目与重新载入的主页中它们的父级项目之间的关联。这种关联使您可以保持主页在不同文档中的一致性,而无需将那些文档放入书籍中。

如果想用这种方法来保持主页的一致性,那么在覆盖主页中的任何对象之前,应从源文档中载入主页。如果您的文档中包含被覆盖项目并且您未曾从任何源文档中导入主页,那么当您第一次从源文档载入并替换与被覆盖项目的父级主页具有相同名称的主页时,那些被覆盖项目将被分离。

但是,如果您随后从不同的源文档导入主页并且选择“替换主页”,则被覆盖项目也可能会被分离。任何来自新源文档的同名主页将会被应用到包含被覆盖项目的文档页面中,并创建两组对象。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

For detailed information and instructions, click the links below.

About masters, stacking order, and layers

A master is like a background that you can quickly apply to many pages. Objects on a master appear on all pages with that master applied. Master items that appear on document pages are surrounded by a dotted border. Changes you make to a master are automatically applied to associated pages. Masters commonly contain repeating logos, page numbers, headers, and footers. They can also contain empty text or graphic frames that serve as placeholders on document pages. A master item cannot be selected on a document page unless the master item is overridden.

Masters can have multiple layers, just like pages in your document. Objects on a single layer have their own stacking order within that layer. Objects on a master page layer appear behind objects assigned to the same layer in the document page.

If you want a master item to appear in front of objects on the document page, assign a higher layer to the object on the master. A master item on a higher layer appears in front of all objects on lower layers. Merging all layers will move master items behind document page objects.

Masters, stacking order and layers
Master items (top left) appear behind page objects on the same layer (bottom left); moving a master item to a higher layer (top right) moves it in front of all objects on lower layers (bottom right).

Tips and guidelines for masters

  • You can compare alternative design ideas by creating a variety of masters and applying them in turn to sample pages containing typical content.

  • To quickly lay out new documents, you can save a set of masters in a document template, along with paragraph and character styles, color libraries, and other styles and presets.

  • If you change column or margin settings on a master, or apply a new master with different column and margin settings, you can force objects on the page to adjust to the new layout automatically. (See About automatic layout adjustment.)

  • Automatic page numbers inserted on a master display the correct page number for each section of the document to which the master is applied. (See Add basic page numbering.)

Create masters

By default, any document you create has a master page. You can create additional masters from scratch or from an existing master page or document page. After you apply master pages to other pages, any changes made to the source master carry forward to the masters and document pages that are based on it. With careful planning, this provides an easy way to make layout changes to multiple pages across your document.

Create a master from scratch

  1. Choose New Master in the Pages panel menu.
  2. Specify the following options, and click OK:
    • For Prefix, type a prefix that identifies the applied master for each page in the Pages panel. You can type as many as four characters.

    • For Name, type a name for the master spread.

    • For Based On Master, choose an existing master spread on which you’ll base this master spread, or choose None.

    • For Number Of Pages, type a value for the number of pages you want in the master spread (as many as ten).

Create a master from an existing page or spread

  • Drag an entire spread from the Pages section of the Pages panel to the Masters section.
  • Select a spread in the Pages panel and choose Save As Master from the Pages panel menu.

Any objects on the original page or spread become part of the new master. If the original page used a master, the new master is based on the original page’s master.

Creating a new master spread based on another page or spread
Creating a new master spread based on another page or spread

Base one master on another

You can create a master variation that is based on and updates with another master (called the parent master) within the same document. The master spreads based on the parent master are called child masters. For example, if your document has ten chapters that use master spreads that vary only slightly, base all of them on a master spread that contains the layout and objects common to all ten. This way, a change to the basic design requires editing just the parent master instead of editing all ten separately. Vary the formatting on your child masters. You can override parent master items on a child master to create variations on a master, just as you can override master items on document pages. This is a powerful way to keep a consistent yet varied design up to date.

Parent and child masters
Original parent and child masters (left); when the parent master is modified, the child masters are automatically updated (right)

  • To base one master on another, in the Masters section of the Pages panel, do either of the following:
    • Select a master spread, and choose Master Options for [master spread name] in the Pages panel menu. For Based On Master, choose a different master, and click OK.

    • Select the name of the master spread you want to use as the base and drag it onto the name of another master to apply it.

    B-Master based on A-Master
    B-Master based on A-Master

Edit the layout of a master

You can edit the layout of master pages at any time; changes you make are automatically reflected on all pages with that master applied. For example, any text or graphic you add to a master will appear on document pages to which the master is applied.


When you override or detach a master page object on a particular page, that object may not update to reflect changes made on the master page.

  1. In the Pages panel, double-click the icon for the master you want to edit, or select the master page from the text box list at the bottom of the document window. The master spread appears in the document window.
  2. Make changes to the master.

InDesign automatically updates any pages using that master.

To change the size of the master page, select it using the Page tool, and then use the options in the Control panel to change the dimension. See Use multiple page sizes.


Use multiple views to see the results of master edits. Choose Window > Arrange > New Window, and then choose Window > Arrange > Tile. Set one view to a page and the other view to the master applied to that page. Then edit the master and watch the page update.

Change master page options

You can edit master page options to change the name or prefix of the master, base the master on another master, or change the number of pages in the master spread.

  1. In the Pages panel, click the name of a master spread to select the master spread.
  2. Choose Master Options For [master name] in the Pages panel menu.
  3. Change any option, and then click OK.

Apply master pages

If your document contains custom spreads (such as a 3- or 4‑page foldout in a magazine), any master you apply should contain the same number of pages.

If your master page has a different page size than the layout page, applying the master page changes the size of the layout page. If the layout page has a custom page size, you can specify whether to keep the custom layout page size or apply the size of the master page.


Master items on a document page have a dotted border. If you cannot view master items on a document page, the master item may be hidden on a lower layer or the master items may be hidden. Choose Show Master Items from the Pages panel menu.

Apply a master to a document page or spread

  • To apply a master to one page, drag the master page icon to a page icon in the Pages panel. When a black rectangle surrounds the desired page, release the mouse button.
  • To apply a master to a spread, drag the master page icon to a corner of the spread in the Pages panel. When a black rectangle surrounds all pages in the desired spread, release the mouse button.

    Applying a master to a page (left) and applying a master to a spread (right)

Apply a master to multiple pages

  • Do one of the following:
    • In the Pages panel, select the pages to which you want to apply a new master. Then press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) as you click a master.

    • Choose Apply Master To Pages from the Pages panel menu, select a master for Apply Master, make sure that the page ranges in the To Pages option are the ones you want, and click OK. You can apply a master to multiple pages at once. For example, you can type 5, 7‑9, 13‑16 to apply the same master to pages 5, 7‑9, and 13‑16. (See Display absolute or section numbering in the Pages panel.)

Applying a master to a discontiguous range of pages
Applying a master to a discontiguous range of pages

Unassign masters from document pages

  • Apply the None master from the Masters section of the Pages panel.

    When you unassign a master from a page, its layout and items no longer apply to the page. If a master contains most of the elements you want, but you need to customize the appearance of a few pages, you can override master items and edit or modify them on those document pages instead of unassigning the master.

Copy masters

You can copy masters within the same document or from one document to another to use as the starting point for a new master. You can also copy masters to other documents when you synchronize documents in a book or import master pages from another document.

Copy a master within a document

  • In the Pages panel, do one of the following:
    • Drag the page name of a master spread to the New Page button at the bottom of the panel.

    • Select the page name of a master spread, and choose Duplicate Master Spread [spread name] in the panel menu.

When you copy a master, the page prefix of the copied master becomes the next letter in the alphabet.

Copy or move a master to another document

  1. Open the document you want to add the master to. Then open the document with the master you want to copy.
  2. In the Pages panel of the source document, do either of the following:
    • Click and drag the master spread to the destination document’s window to copy it.

    • Select the master you want to move or copy. Choose Layout > Pages > Move Master, and choose the destination document name from the Move To menu. If you want to remove the page or pages from the source document, select Delete Pages After Moving, and then click OK.

If the target document already has a master with the same prefix, the moved master is assigned the next available letter in the alphabet.

Delete a master from a document

  1. In the Pages panel, select one or more master page icons.


    To select all unused master pages, choose Select Unused Masters in the Page panel menu.

  2. Do one of the following:
    • Drag a selected master page or spread icon to the Delete icon at the bottom of the panel.

    • Click the Delete icon at the bottom of the panel.

    • Choose Delete Master Spread [spread name] in the panel menu.

When you delete a master, the [None] master is applied to any document page to which the deleted master was applied.

Override or detach master items

When you apply a master page to a document page, all objects on the master, called master items, appear on the document page. Sometimes you want a specific page to be only slightly different from a master. In this situation you don’t need to re-create the master layout on the page or create a new master. You can override or detach the master item, and other master items on the document page will continue to update with the master.

Note the difference between overriding and detaching master items on a document page:

Override master item attributes

Overriding a master item puts a copy of it on the document page without breaking its association with the master page. Once the item itself is overridden, you can selectively override one or more attributes of the item to customize it. For example, you can change the fill color of the local copy. After that, changes to the fill color on the master page itself will not update to the local copy. However, other attributes, such as size, will continue to update because they have not been overridden on the local copy. Overrides can be removed later to make the object match the master.

Attributes you can override for a master page object include strokes, fills, contents of a frame, and any transformations (such as rotating, scaling, shearing, or resizing), corner options, text frame options, lock state, transparency, and object effects.

Detach items from their master

On a document page, you can detach (disassociate) a master item from its master. The item must be overridden on the document page, creating a local copy, before you can detach it. A detached item does not update with the master because its association with the master page is broken.

Override a master item

  1. Make sure the master item can be overridden.

    You can override a master item only if Allow Master Item Overrides On Selection is selected in the Pages panel menu for that item.

  2. Do either of the following:
    • To override specific master items on a document page, press Ctrl+Shift (Windows) or Command+Shift (Mac OS) and click the item (or drag to select multiple items). Change the selected master items as desired. The item can now be selected like any other page item, but retains its association with the master page.

    • To override all master page items on a document spread, target the spread, and then choose Override All Master Page Items in the Pages panel menu. You can now select and modify any and all master items as you wish.

    Once you override any master item, its dotted bounding box becomes a solid line to show that a local copy has been created.


    If you override a threaded text frame, all visible frames in that thread are overridden, even if they are on a different page in a spread.

Detach a master item

  • To detach a single master item from its master, first override it by pressing Ctrl+Shift (Windows) or Command+Shift (Mac OS) and clicking the item on a document page. Then choose Detach Selection From Master in the Pages panel menu.
  • To detach all overridden master items on a spread, override the master page items you want to detach, and target that spread in the document. (Don’t go to the original master page.) Choose Detach All Objects From Master from the Pages panel menu. If the command isn’t available, there aren’t any overridden objects on that spread.

Prevent a master item from being overridden

In some instances, you want to override all but a few master items. For example, you may want to override master items such as background images on a document page, but you want to prevent a page-numbering header from being overridden. By preventing the header from being overridden, you can choose the Override All Master Items option to override all master items except for the header.

  1. On the master page, select the item.
  2. Deselect Allow Master Item Overrides On Selection on the Pages panel menu.

Master items that do not allow overrides have no frame edge when displayed on the document page. If you prevent a threaded text frame from being overridden, all text frames in that thread have the same setting applied.

Reapply master items

If you’ve overridden master items, you can restore them to match the master page. When you do this, the object’s attributes revert to their state on the corresponding master, and will once again update when you edit the master. The local copy of the object is removed, and the master item cannot be selected, as indicated by its dotted border. You can remove overrides for selected objects or all objects on a spread, but not across an entire document at once.

  • Do one of the following:
    • To remove master overrides from one or more objects, select objects that were originally master items. In the Pages panel, target a spread and choose Remove Selected Local Overrides in the Pages panel menu.

    • To remove all master overrides from a spread, in the Pages panel, target the spread (or master spread) from which you want to remove all master overrides. Choose Edit >Deselect All to make sure that no objects are selected. In the Pages panel, choose Remove All Local Overrides in the Pages panel menu.

If you’ve detached master page objects, you cannot restore them to the master page; however, you can delete the detached objects and reapply the master to the page.

If you reapply a master to a page that contains overridden master page objects, the objects with overrides are detached and all master page objects reapplied. This may result in two copies of some objects on the page. You’ll need to delete the detached objects to exactly match the look of the master.

Hide master items

Use the Hide Master Items to hide master page items on one or more pages in your document. Hidden master items are not printed or output.

  1. In the Pages panel, select the pages and spreads on which you’d like the master items to be hidden.
  2. From the Pages panel menu, choose Hide Master Items.

To display master items again, select the spreads in the Pages panel and choose Show Master Items from the Pages panel menu.

Import a master from another document

You can import masters from another InDesign document (any version) into the active document. If your destination document contains master pages that have different names from any master page in the source document, those pages and their document page overrides will be unchanged.

  1. In the Pages panel menu, choose Load Master Pages.
  2. Locate and double-click the InDesign document containing the master pages you want to import.
  3. Determine what should occur if a loaded master has the same name as a master in the current document.
    • Choose Replace Master Pages if you want the masters from the source to override the destination document’s masters with the same names. If your destination document does not have any overridden items, it is safe to Replace Master Pages on import.

    • Choose Rename Master Pages to change the page prefixes to the next available letter in the alphabet.

Once you have imported masters from a source document, a link is set up between the source document and the destination document. When you subsequently load masters from the same source document, the association between overridden items and their parent items on reloaded master pages is maintained. This association lets you keep master pages in different documents consistent without putting those documents into a book.

If you want to use this method of keeping master pages consistent, you should load the master pages from the source document before overriding any objects on the master. If your document has overridden items and you have never imported masters from any source, those overridden items become detached the first time you load from a source document and replace master pages with the same name as the parent master of the overridden items.

If you subsequently import masters from a different source document, however, and choose Replace Master Pages, the overridden items may become detached. Any same-named masters from the new source document will be applied to the document page containing overridden items, creating two sets of objects.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy