了解如何将一个文档、一本书籍或书籍中选定的多个文档作为单个 PDF 文件导出。

关于 Adobe PDF

便携文档格式 (PDF) 是一种通用的文件格式,这种文件格式保留在各种应用程序和平台上创建的字体、图像和版面。Adobe PDF 是对全球使用的电子文档和表单进行安全可靠的分发和交换的标准。Adobe PDF 文件小而完整,任何使用免费 Adobe Reader® 软件的人都可以对其进行共享、查看和打印。

Adobe PDF 在印刷出版工作流程中非常高效。通过将您的复合图稿存储在 Adobe PDF 中,可以创建一个您或您的服务提供商可以查看、编辑、组织和校样的小且可靠的文件。然后,在工作流程的适合时间,您的服务提供商可以或直接输出 Adobe PDF 文件,或使用各个来源的工具处理它,用于后处理任务,例如准备检查、陷印、拼版和分色。

当您以 Adobe PDF 格式存储时,可选择创建一个符合 PDF/X 规范的文件。PDF/X(便携文档格式交换)是 Adobe PDF 的子集,消除导致打印问题的许多颜色、字体和陷印变量。PDF/X 可随时用于 PDF 文件作为印刷制作的“Digital Master”进行交换,无论是工作流程中的创作还是输出阶段,只要应用程序和输出设备支持 PDF/X。

Adobe PDF 可以解决与电子文档相关的下列问题:

常见问题

Adobe PDF 解决方案

接收者无法打开文件,因为没有用于创建此文件的应用程序。

任何用户可以在任何地方打开 PDF。所需要的只是免费的 Adobe Reader 软件。

合并的纸质和电子文档难以搜索,占用空间,并且需要用来创建文档的应用程序。

PDF 文件是压缩且完全可搜索的,并且可以使用 Adobe Reader 随时进行访问。链接使得 PDF 易于导览。

文档在手持设备上显示错误。

带标签的 PDF 允许重排文本,以在诸如 Palm OS®、Symbian™ 和 Pocket PC® 设备的移动平台上显示。

视力不佳者无法访问格式复杂的文档。

带标签的 PDF 文件包含有关内容和结构的信息,使这类读者可以在屏幕上访问这些文件。

导出为 PDF 以备打印

将文档或书籍导出为 Adobe PDF 非常简单,就像使用默认的“高品质打印”设置一样,或者可以根据需要对其进行自定以适合您的任务。指定的 PDF 导出设置存储在应用程序中,并将应用于导出为 PDF 的每个新 InDesign 文档或书籍,直至再次更改这些设置。要将自定设置快速应用到 PDF 文件,可以使用预设。

可以将文档、书籍或书籍中的选定文档导出为单个 PDF 文件。也可以将内容从 InDesign 版面复制到剪贴板,并自动创建此内容的 Adobe PDF 文件。(对于将 PDF 文件粘贴到另一个应用程序,如 Adobe Illustrator,这将非常有用。)

将 InDesign 文件导出为 PDF 时,可以保留导航元素(如目录和索引条目)和交互功能(如超级链接、书签、媒体剪辑和按钮)。还可以选择将隐藏图层、非打印图层和非打印对象导出为 PDF。如果要导出书籍,可以使用“书籍”面板合并具有相同名称的图层。

有关创建可访问 PDF 文档的信息,请参阅 Adobe InDesign 可访问性

将打开的文档导出为用于打印的 PDF

  1. 选择文件 > 导出

  2. 指定文件的名称和位置。

  3. 如果您希望导出的 PDF 的名称与执行下一次导出的文档的名称相同,请选择使用 InDesign 文档名称作为输出文件名

  4. 对于存储类型 (Windows) 或存储格式 (Mac OS),请选择 Adobe PDF (打印),然后单击存储

    选择“Adobe PDF(打印)”选项时,无法在 PDF 中包含交互式元素。要将交互式文档导出为 PDF,请参阅动态 PDF 文档

  5. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 要使用预定义的一组作业选项,请从“Adobe PDF 预设”菜单中选择预设。
    • 要创建 PDF/X 文件,可以从“Adobe PDF 预设”菜单中选择 PDF/X 预设,或者从“标准”菜单中选择预定义的 PDF/X 格式。
    • 要自定选项,请从左侧列表中选择一个类别,然后设置选项。
  6. 对于“兼容性”,请选择打开创建的文件所需的最低 PDF 版本。
  7. 如果需要,可以在高级选项卡下指定下列辅助工具选项

    显示标题

    选择当打开 PDF 时要在 Acrobat 标题栏中显示的内容。可用的选项包括“文档标题”和“文件名”。

    语言

    选择 PDF 的文档语言。这将确定导出的 PDF 的默认语言。如果所需语言不在列表中,您还可以键入标准语言 ISO 代码。

  8. 单击“导出”(Windows) 或“存储”(Mac OS)。

注意:

要将选项重置为默认值,请在“导出 Adobe PDF”对话框中,按住 Alt (Windows) 或 Option (Mac OS) 并单击“重置”。(“取消”按钮将变为“重置”。)

在将书籍导出为 PDF 之前准备图层

将书籍导出为 PDF 时,可以在 PDF 文档中显示和隐藏 InDesign 图层。为避免 PDF 中出现图层名称重复,可以在导出时合并图层。

如果选中“导出时合并具有相同名称的图层”选项,图层名称将在 Acrobat 或 Reader 中显示在同一书籍名称下。如果未选中此选项,图层名称将分别显示在每个文档名称下。

  1. 如果不希望合并特定图层,请在每个书籍文档中为其赋予唯一名称。

    图层名称区分大小写,因此“Art”和“art”图层不会合并。

  2. 在“书籍”面板菜单中,选择“导出时合并具有相同名称的图层”。

    注意:

    将书籍导出为 PDF 时,请确保选中“创建 Acrobat 图层”。要选择此选项,必须使用 Acrobat 6 (PDF 1.5) 或更高兼容版本。

将书籍导出为 PDF

  1. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 要创建整部书籍的 PDF,请单击“书籍”面板中的空白区域以取消选择任何选定文档,然后选择“书籍”面板菜单中的“将书籍导出为 PDF”。
    • 要创建书籍中的文档的 PDF,请在“书籍”面板中选择一个或多个文档,然后选择“书籍”面板菜单中的“将选定的文档导出为 PDF”。
  2. 为 PDF 文件指定名称和位置,然后单击“保存”。
  3. 从“Adobe PDF 预设”菜单中选择预设,或者从“导出 Adobe PDF”对话框左侧的列表中选择一个类别,然后自定选项。
  4. 单击“导出”(Windows) 或“存储”(Mac OS)。

减小 PDF 大小

对于仅为进行查看而发布的 PDF 文件,从 InDesign 导出时,您可能想要减小 PDF 文件的大小。下面是一些可在“导出 Adobe PDF”对话框中使用的减小文件大小的方法:

  • 从“Adobe PDF 预设”菜单中选择 [最小文件大小]。

  • 在“压缩”区域中,将图像像素采样缩减为 72 像素/英寸,选择自动压缩,并为彩色和灰度图像选择低或中等图像品质。处理照相图像时,请使用“自动 (JPEG)”压缩;处理大部分为纯色的图像(如图表和图形)时,请使用 ZIP 压缩。

  • 在“输出”区域中,使用“油墨管理器”将专色转换为印刷色。

注意:

若要减小 PDF 的大小,只需在 Acrobat 8.0 或更高版本中打开 PDF,选择“文档”>“减小文件大小”,然后指定兼容性级别。若要更精确地控制,请选择“高级”>“PDF Optimizer”。

有关减小 PDF 文件大小的更多信息,请参阅 Acrobat 帮助和 Adobe 网站。

Adobe PDF 预设

PDF 预设是一组影响创建 PDF 处理的设置。这些设置旨在平衡文件大小和品质,具体取决于如何使用 PDF 文件。可以在 Adobe Creative Suite 组件间共享预定义的大多数预设,其中包括 InDesign、Illustrator、Photoshop 和 Acrobat。也可以针对您特有的输出要求创建和共享自定预设。

直到您根据需要将下面列出的几个预设从 Extras 文件夹(默认安装位置)移到 Settings 文件夹后,才能使用这些预设。通常,Extras 和 Settings 文件夹位于(Windows Vista 和 Windows 7)ProgramData\Adobe\AdobePDF、(Windows XP) Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Adobe PDF 或 (Mac OS) Library/Application Support/Adobe PDF 中。有一些预设在某些 Creative Suite 组件中不可用。

自定设置可以在 (Windows XP) Documents and Settings/[用户名]/Application Data/Adobe/Adobe PDF/Settings、(Windows Vista 和 Windows 7)Users/[用户名]/AppData/Roaming/Adobe/Adobe PDF/Settings,或 (Mac OS) Users/[用户名]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Adobe PDF/Settings 中找到。

注意:

定期查看您的 PDF 设置。这些设置不会自动恢复到默认设置。创建 PDF 的应用程序和实用程序使用最后一次定义或所选的一组 PDF 设置。

高质量打印

为在桌面打印机和打样设备质量打印创建 PDF。本预设使用 PDF 1.4,将彩色和灰度图像缩减像素到 300 ppi 和将单色图像缩减像素采样到 1200 ppi,嵌入所有字体子集,保持颜色不变和不拼合透明度(对于有透明度功能文件的类型)。这些 PDF 文件可以在 Acrobat 5.0 和 Acrobat Reader 5.0 及更高版本中打开。在 InDesign 中,此预设还会创建加标签的 PDF。

Illustrator 默认(仅 Illustrator )

创建保留所有 Illustrator 数据的 PDF 文件。可以在 Illustrator 中重新打开使用此预设创建的 PDF 文件,而不丢失任何数据。

超大尺寸页面(仅 Acrobat)

创建适合查看和打印大于 200 x 200 英寸的工程制图的 PDF。这些 PDF 文件可以在 Acrobat 和 Reader 7.0 及更高版本中打开。

PDF/A-1b: 2005(CMYK 和 RGB)(仅 Acrobat)

用于电子文档长期保存(归档)。PDF/A‑1b 使用 PDF 1.4 并根据您选择的标准,将所有的颜色转换到 CMYK 或 RGB。可以在 Acrobat 和 Reader 5.0 及更高版本中打开这些 PDF。

PDF/X-1a(2001 和 2003)

PDF/X‑1a 要求嵌入所有字体、指定适当的标记和出血,并且颜色显示为 CMYK 和/或专色。符合规范的文件必须包含描述所准备印刷条件的信息。可以在 Acrobat 4.0 和 Acrobat Reader 4.0 及更高版本中打开按照 PDF/X-1a 规范创建的 PDF 文件。

PDF/X‑1a 使用 PDF 1.3,将彩色和灰度图像缩减像素采样到 300 ppi 并将单色图像缩减像素采样到 1200 ppi,嵌入所有字体子集,创建无标记的 PDF 并使用高分辨率设置拼合透明度。

注意:在安装过程中,会将 PDF/X1‑a:2003 和 PDF/X‑3 (2003) 预设放置在您的计算机上,但直到将它们从 Extras 文件夹移到 Settings 文件夹后才能进行使用。

PDF/X-3

此预设基于 ISO 标准 PDF/X-3:2002 创建 PDF。可以在 Acrobat 4.0 和 Acrobat Reader 4.0 及更高版本中打开使用此设置创建的 PDF。

PDF/X‑4 (2008)

此预设创建 ISO PDF/X-4:2008 文件,支持实时透明度(不拼合透明度)和 ICC 色彩管理。对于 CS5,使用此预设导出的 PDF 文件为 PDF 1.4 格式,对于 CS5.5 及更高版本,其格式为 PDF 1.6。图像将进行缩减像素采样和压缩,并使用与 PDF/X-1a 和 PDF/X-3 设置相同的方式嵌入字体。可以使用 Creative Suite 4 和 5 组件(包括 Illustrator、InDesign 和 Photoshop)直接创建符合 PDF/X-4:2008 的 PDF 文件。Acrobat 9 Pro 提供了用于验证和印前检查 PDF 文件是否符合 PDF/X-4:2008 的工具,以及将非 PDF/X 文件转换为 PDF/X-4:2008(如果可能)的工具。

Adobe 建议将 PDF/X-4:2008 作为最佳 PDF 文件格式,以实现可靠的 PDF 印刷出版工作流程。

印刷品质

创建用于高质量印刷制作(例如,用于数码印刷或分色到照排机或直接制版机)的文件,但不会创建符合 PDF/X 的文件。在这种情况下,内容的质量是最重要的考虑因素。目标是保持印刷商或印前服务提供商为了正确印刷文档所需的 PDF 文件中的所有信息。本组选项使用 PDF 1.4,将颜色转换为 CMYK,将彩色和灰度图像缩减像素采样至 300 ppi,缩减像素采样单色图像至 1200 ppi,嵌入所有字体的子集并保留透明度(对于有透明度功能的文件类型)。

可以在 Acrobat 5.0 和 Acrobat Reader 5.0 及更高版本中打开这些 PDF 文件。

注意:创建发送给商业印刷商或印前服务提供商的 Adobe PDF 文件之前,请了解所需的输出分辨率和其它设置,或要求提供具有推荐设置的 .joboptions 文件。您可能需要为特殊提供商自定 Adobe PDF 设置,并提供您自己的 .joboptions 文件。

最小文件大小

创建 PDF 文件,以在 Web 或 Intranet 上显示或者通过电子邮件分发。这一组选项使用压缩、缩减像素采样和相对较低的图像分辨率。它将所有颜色转换为 sRGB,并嵌入字体。它还会针对字节服务功能优化文件。为获得最佳效果,打印 PDF 文件时,请避免使用此预设。

可以在 Acrobat 5.0 和 Acrobat Reader 5.0 及更高版本中打开这些 PDF 文件。

杂志广告 2006(日本)

此预设基于数字数据传送委员会设计的创建规则来创建 PDF。

标准(仅 Acrobat)

创建要打印到桌面打印机或数字复制机、在 CD 上出版或作为出版校样发送给客户的 PDF 文件。该组选项使用压缩和缩减像素采样以保持较小的文件大小,但也会嵌入文件中使用的所有(允许的)字体的子集,将所有颜色转换为 sRGB 并按介质分辨率进行打印。注意,默认情况下,Windows 字体子集不被嵌入。可以在 Acrobat 6.0 和 Acrobat Reader 6.0 及更高版本中打开使用此设置文件创建的 PDF 文件。

自定 Adobe PDF 预设

尽管默认 PDF 预设基于最佳做法,您可能会发现您的工作流程,或者您的印刷商的工作流程需要专门 PDF 设置,而这些设置无法通过任何内置预设获得。如果是这样,则您或您的服务提供商可以创建自定预设。Adobe PDF 预设存储为 .joboptions 文件。

  1. 选择“文件”>“Adobe PDF 预设”>“定义”。
  2. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 要创建新的预设,请单击“新建”。如果您希望新的预设基于现有预设,请先选择该预设。设置 PDF 选项,然后单击“确定”。(请参阅 Adobe PDF 预设。)
    • 要编辑现有的自定预设,请选择该预设并单击“编辑”。(您不能编辑默认预设。)设置 PDF 选项,然后单击“确定”。
    • 要删除预设,请选择该预设并单击“删除”。
    • 要将预设存储到除 Adobe PDF 文件夹中的默认 Settings 文件夹以外的位置,请选择该预设并单击“存储为”。指定位置并单击“存储”。

或者,可以在存储 PDF 文件时创建自定预设,方法是:单击“导出 Adobe PDF”对话框底部的“存储预设”。输入预设名称,然后单击“确定”。

载入 Adobe PDF 预设

创建的新 PDF 预设(.joboptions 文件)存储在下列位置的 Settings 文件夹中:

Windows XP

Documents and Settings\[用户名]\Application Data\Adobe\Adobe PDF

Windows Vista 和 Windows 7

Users\[用户名]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Adobe PDF

Mac OS

User/[用户名]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Adobe PDF

这些预设自动显示在“Adobe PDF 预设”菜单中。

增补 InDesign PDF 预设安装在系统的 Adobe PDF\Extras 文件夹中。请使用系统搜索实用程序查找其他 .joboptions 文件。也可以从服务提供商和同事那里获得自定 PDF 预设。对于要在“Adobe PDF 预设”菜单中列出的这些预设,必须手动或使用“载入”命令将其移到 Settings 文件夹中。

载入 PDF 预设

如果要载入某人发送给您的 PDF 预设,或者载入来自 InDesign CS2 的 PDF 预设,则“载入”命令非常有用。

  1. 选择“文件”>“Adobe PDF 预设”>“定义”。
  2. 单击“载入”,并选择要载入的 .joboptions 文件。

.joboptions 文件将复制到存储新 PDF 预设的 Settings 文件夹。

注意:

要使某个 .joboptions 文件在“Adobe PDF 预设”菜单中可用,还可以将其拖到存储 PDF 预设的 Settings 文件夹。

转换来自 InDesign CS 的 PDF 预设

InDesign CS 及早期版本使用 .pdfs 扩展名导出 PDF 预设,而 InDesign CS2 及更高版本使用 .joboptions 扩展名导出 PDF 预设。导入 PDFS 文件会将其转换为 .joboptions 文件,并根据需要覆盖设置。例如,如果在 InDesign CS 的“输出”区域中选择“显示器 RGB”作为目标配置文件,则它会自动在 InDesign CS4 中更改为“文档 RGB”。

  1. 选择“文件”>“Adobe PDF 预设”>“定义”。
  2. 单击“载入”。
  3. 从“文件类型”菜单中选择“旧版本的 PDF 设置文件 (.pdfs)”(Windows),或者从“启用”菜单中选择“所有文件”(Macintosh)。
  4. 双击要转换的文件。

此文件在 Adobe PDF 预设的列表中被选定。

“后台任务”面板

利用后台导出 PDF 文件的功能,无需等待 InDesign 执行导出就可以继续处理您的文档。您也可以让多个 PDF 导出任务在后台排队进行。使用“后台任务”面板可以查看导出过程的进度。

  1. 将一个或多个文档导出为 Adobe PDF。

  2. 要查看该过程,请选择“窗口”>“实用程序”>“后台任务”。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

About Adobe PDF

Portable Document Format (PDF) is a universal file format that preserves the fonts, images, and layout of source documents created on a wide range of applications and platforms. Adobe PDF is the standard for the secure, reliable distribution and exchange of electronic documents and forms around the world. Adobe PDF files are compact and complete, and can be shared, viewed, and printed by anyone with free Adobe Reader® software.

Adobe PDF is highly effective in print publishing workflows. By saving a composite of your artwork in Adobe PDF, you create a compact, reliable file that you or your service provider can view, edit, organize, and proof. Then, at the appropriate time in the workflow, your service provider can either output the Adobe PDF file directly, or process it using tools from various sources for such post-processing tasks as preflight checks, trapping, imposition, and color separation.

When you save in Adobe PDF, you can choose to create a PDF/X-compliant file. PDF/X (Portable Document Format Exchange) is a subset of Adobe PDF that eliminates many of the color, font, and trapping variables that lead to printing problems. PDF/X may be used wherever PDFs are exchanged as digital masters for print production—whether at the creation or output stage of the workflow, as long as the applications and output devices support PDF/X.

Adobe PDFs can solve the following problems associated with electronic documents:

Common problem

Adobe PDF solution

Recipients can't open files because they don't have the applications used to create the files.

Anyone, anywhere can open a PDF. All you need is the free Adobe Reader software.

Combined paper and electronic archives are difficult to search, take up space, and require the application in which a document was created.

PDFs are compact and fully searchable, and can be accessed at any time using Reader. Links make PDFs easy to navigate.

Documents appear incorrectly on handheld devices.

Tagged PDFs allow text to reflow for display on Mobile Platforms such as Palm OS®, Symbian™, and Pocket PC® devices.

Documents with complex formatting are not accessible to visually impaired readers.

Tagged PDFs contain information on content and structure, which makes them accessible onscreen readers.

Export to PDF for printing

Exporting a document or book to Adobe PDF is as simple as using the default High Quality Print settings, or as customized as you need it to be to suit your task. The PDF export settings you specify are saved with the application, and applies to every new InDesign document or book you export to PDF until you change them again. To quickly apply custom settings to PDF files, you can use presets.

You can export a document, a book, or selected documents in a book as a single PDF file. You can also copy content from your InDesign layout to the Clipboard, and automatically create an Adobe PDF file of that content. (This is useful for pasting a PDF file into another application, such as Adobe Illustrator.)

When you export an InDesign file to PDF, you can preserve navigation elements such as table of contents and index entries, and interactivity features such as hyperlinks, bookmarks, media clips, and buttons. You also have the option of exporting hidden layers, nonprinting layers, and nonprinting objects to PDF. If you’re exporting a book, you can merge identically named layers by using the Book panel.

For information on creating accessible PDF documents, see Adobe InDesign accessibility.

Export an open document to PDF for printing

  1. Choose File > Export.
  2. Specify a name and location for the file.
  3. For Save As Type (Windows) or Format (Mac OS), choose Adobe PDF (Print), and then click Save.

    When you select the Adobe PDF (Print) option, you cannot include interactive elements in the PDF. To export an interactive document to PDF, see Create interactive documents for PDF.

  4. Do one of the following:
    • To use a predefined set of job options, choose a preset from the Adobe PDF Preset menu.
    • To create a PDF/X file, either choose a PDF/X preset from the Adobe PDF Preset menu, or choose a predefined PDF/X format from the Standard menu.
    • To customize options, select a category from the list on the left and then set the options.
  5. For Compatibility, choose the lowest PDF version necessary to open the files you create.
  6. Specify the following Accessibility Options under the Advanced tab, if necessary:

    Display Title

    Choose what to display in the title bar of Acrobat when it opens your PDF. Available options are Document Title and File Name.

    Language

    Choose the document language for the PDF. This determines the default language for the exported PDF. If the required language is not in the list, you can also type the standard language ISO code.

  7. Click Export (Windows) or Save (Mac OS).

Note:

To reset options to the default, in the Export Adobe PDF dialog box, hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) and click Reset. (The Cancel button changes to Reset.)

Prepare layers before exporting a book to PDF

When you export a book to PDF, you can show and hide InDesign layers in the PDF document. To avoid duplication of layer names in the PDF, you can merge the layers on export.

If the Merge Identically Named Layers On Export option is selected, layer names appear under the same book name in Acrobat or Reader. If this option is not selected, layer names appear separately under each document name.

  1. If you don’t want certain layers to be merged, give them unique names in each book document.

    Layer names are case-sensitive, so “Art” and “art” layers are not merged.

  2. In the Book panel menu, select Merge Identically Named Layers On Export.

    Note:

    When you export the book to PDF, make sure that Create Acrobat Layers is selected. To select this option, you must use Acrobat 6 (PDF 1.5) or later compatibility.

Export a book to PDF

  1. Do one of the following:
    • To create a PDF of the entire book, click in a blank area of the Book panel to deselect any selected documents, and choose Export Book To PDF in the Book panel menu.
    • To create a PDF of documents within a book, select the document or documents in the Book panel, and choose Export Selected Documents To PDF in the Book panel menu.
  2. Specify a name and location for the PDF file, and then click Save.
  3. Either choose a preset from the Adobe PDF Preset menu, or select a category from the list on the left of the Export Adobe PDF dialog box, and then customize the options.
  4. Click Export (Windows) or Save (Mac OS).

Reduce the size of PDFs

For PDF files that are intended to be distributed for viewing purposes only, you may want to reduce the size of PDF files when you export from InDesign. Here are some of the size reduction techniques you can use in the Export Adobe PDF dialog box:

  • Choose [Smallest File Size] from the Adobe PDF Preset menu.

  • In the Compression area, downsample images to 72 pixels per inch, select automatic compression, and select either low- or medium-image quality for color and grayscale images. When you work with photographic images, use Automatic (JPEG) compression; when you work with images that are mostly solid color, such as charts and graphs, use ZIP compression.

  • In the Output area, use the Ink Manager to convert spot colors to process colors.

Note:

To reduce the size of PDFs, simply open the PDF in Acrobat 8.0 or later, choose Document > Reduce File Size, and then specify the compatibility level. For greater control, choose Advanced > PDF Optimizer.

For more information on reducing the size of PDF files, see Acrobat Help and the Adobe website.

Adobe PDF presets

A PDF preset is a group of settings that affect the process of creating a PDF. These settings are designed to balance file size with quality, depending on how the PDF is used. Most predefined presets are shared across Adobe Creative Suite components, including InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop, and Acrobat. You can also create and share custom presets for your unique output requirements.

A few of the presets listed below are not available until you move them—as needed—from the Extras folder (where they are installed by default) to the Settings folder. Typically, the Extras and Settings folders are found in (Windows Vista and Windows 7) ProgramData\Adobe\AdobePDF, (Windows XP) Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Adobe PDF, or (Mac OS) Library/Application Support/Adobe PDF. Some presets are not available in some Creative Suite components.

The custom settings are found in (Windows XP) Documents and Settings/[username]/Application Data/Adobe/Adobe PDF/Settings, (Windows Vista and Windows 7) Users/[username]/AppData/Roaming/Adobe/Adobe PDF/Settings, or (Mac OS) Users/[username]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Adobe PDF/Settings.

Note:

Review your PDF settings periodically. The settings do not automatically revert to the default settings. Applications and utilities that create PDFs use the last set of PDF settings defined or selected.

High Quality Print

Creates PDFs for quality printing on desktop printers and proofing devices. This preset uses PDF 1.4, downsamples color and grayscale images to 300 ppi and monochrome images to 1200 ppi, embeds subsets of all fonts, leaves color unchanged, and does not flatten transparency (for file types capable of transparency). These PDFs can be opened in Acrobat 5.0 and Acrobat Reader 5.0 and later. In InDesign, this preset also creates tagged PDFs.

Illustrator Default (Illustrator only)

Creates a PDF in which all Illustrator data is preserved. PDFs created with this preset can be reopened in Illustrator without any loss of data.

Oversized Pages (Acrobat only)

Creates PDFs suitable for viewing and printing of engineering drawings larger than 200 x 200 inches. These PDFs can be opened in Acrobat and Reader 7.0 and later.

PDF/A-1b: 2005 (CMYK and RGB) (Acrobat only)

Used for long-term preservation (archival) of electronic documents. PDF/A‑1b uses PDF 1.4 and converts all colors to either CMYK or RGB, depending on which standard you choose. These PDFs can be opened in Acrobat and Reader versions 5.0 and later.

PDF/X‑1a (2001 and 2003)

PDF/X‑1a requires all fonts to be embedded, the appropriate marks and bleeds to be specified, and color to appear as CMYK, spot colors, or both. Compliant files must contain information describing the printing condition for which they are prepared. PDF files created with PDF/X‑1a compliance can be opened in Acrobat 4.0 and Acrobat Reader 4.0 and later.

PDF/X‑1a uses PDF 1.3, downsamples color and grayscale images to 300 ppi and monochrome images to 1200 ppi, embeds subsets of all fonts, creates untagged PDFs, and flattens transparency using the High Resolution setting.

Note: The PDF/X1‑a:2003 and PDF/X‑3 (2003) presets are placed on your computer during installation but are not available until you move them from the Extras folder to the Settings folder.

PDF/X-3

This preset creates a PDF based on the ISO standard PDF/X-3:2002. The PDF created in this setting can be opened in Acrobat 4.0 and Acrobat Reader 4.0 or later.

PDF/X‑4 (2008)

This preset creating ISO PDF/X-4:2008 files supports live transparency (transparency is not flattened) and ICC color management. PDF files exported with this preset are in PDF 1.4 format for CS5 and PDF 1.6 format for CS5.5 and later. Images are downsampled and compressed and fonts are embedded in the same manner as with the PDF/X-1a and PDF/X-3 settings. You can create PDF/X-4:2008 compliant PDF files directly from Creative Suite 4 and 5 components including Illustrator, InDesign, and Photoshop. Acrobat 9 Pro provides facilities to validate and preflight PDF files for PDF/X-4:2008 compliance and convert non-PDF/X files to PDF/X-4:2008 if possible.

Adobe recommends PDF/X-4:2008 as the optimal PDF file format for reliable PDF print publishing workflows.

Press Quality

Creates PDF files for high-quality print production (for example, for digital printing or for separations to an imagesetter or platesetter), but does not create files that are PDF/X-compliant. In this case, the quality of the content is the highest consideration. The objective is to maintain all the information in a PDF file that a commercial printer or print service provider needs to print the document correctly. This set of options uses PDF 1.4, converts colors to CMYK, downsamples color and grayscale images to 300 ppi and monochrome images to 1200 ppi, embeds subsets of all fonts, and preserves transparency (for file types capable of transparency).

These PDF files can be opened in Acrobat 5.0 and Acrobat Reader 5.0 and later.

Note: Before creating an Adobe PDF file to send to a commercial printer or print service provider, find out what the output resolution and other settings should be, or ask for a .joboptions file with the recommended settings. You might need to customize the Adobe PDF settings for a particular provider and then provide a .joboptions file of your own.

Smallest File Size

Creates PDF files for displaying on the web, an intranet, or for email distribution. This set of options uses compression, downsampling, and a relatively low image resolution. It converts all colors to sRGB and embeds fonts. It also optimizes files for byte serving. For best results, avoid using this preset if you intend to print the PDF file.

These PDF files can be opened in Acrobat 5.0 and Acrobat Reader 5.0 and later.

Magazine Ads 2006 (Japan)

This preset creates a PDF based on the creation rules designed by Digital Data Delivery committee.

Standard (Acrobat only)

Creates PDF files to be printed to desktop printers or digital copiers, published on a CD, or sent to a client as a publishing proof. This set of options uses compression and downsampling to keep the file size down, but also embeds subsets of all (allowed) fonts used in the file, converts all colors to sRGB, and prints to a medium resolution. Note that Windows font subsets are not embedded by default. PDF files created with this settings file can be opened in Acrobat 6.0 and Acrobat Reader 6.0 and later.

Customize Adobe PDF presets

Although the default PDF presets are based on best practices, you may discover that your workflow, or perhaps your printer’s workflow, requires specialized PDF settings that aren’t available via any of the built‑in presets. If so, you or your service provider can create custom presets. Adobe PDF presets are saved as .joboptions files.

  1. Choose File > Adobe PDF Presets > Define.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • To create a new preset, click New. If you want to base the new preset on an existing preset, select the preset first. Set PDF options, and click OK. (See Adobe PDF presets.)
    • To edit an existing custom preset, select the preset and click Edit. (You cannot edit the default presets.) Set PDF options, and click OK.
    • To delete a preset, select it and click Delete.
    • To save a preset in a location other than the default Settings folder in the Adobe PDF folder, select it and click Save As. Specify a location and click Save.

Alternatively, you can create a custom preset when you save a PDF file by clicking Save Preset at the bottom of the Export Adobe PDF dialog box. Enter a name for the preset and click OK.

Load Adobe PDF presets

New PDF presets (.joboptions files) that you create are stored in the Settings folder in the following locations:

Windows XP

Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Adobe\Adobe PDF

Windows Vista and Windows 7

Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Adobe PDF

Mac OS

User/[username]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Adobe PDF

These presets automatically appear in the Adobe PDF Presets menu.

Supplementary InDesign PDF presets are installed in the system’s Adobe PDF\Extras folder. Use your system search utility to locate additional .joboptions files. You may also receive custom PDF presets from service providers and colleagues. For these presets to be listed in the Adobe PDF Presets menu, they must be moved to the Settings folder either manually or by using the Load command.

Load PDF presets

The Load command is useful if you want to load PDF presets that someone sent you, or to load PDF presets from InDesign CS2.

  1. Choose File > Adobe PDF Presets > Define.
  2. Click Load and select the .joboptions file you want to load.

The .joboptions file is copied to the Settings folder where new PDF presets are stored.

Note:

To make a .joboptions file available in the Adobe PDF Presets menu, you can also drag it to the Settings folder where your PDF presets are stored.

Convert PDF presets from InDesign CS

InDesign CS and earlier export PDF presets with .pdfs extensions, while InDesign CS2 and later export PDF presets with .joboptions extensions. Importing a PDFS file converts it to a .joboptions file, and overrides settings as necessary. For example, if Monitor RGB was selected as the destination profile in the Output area in InDesign CS, it is automatically changed to Document RGB in InDesign CS4.

  1. Choose File > Adobe PDF Presets > Define.
  2. Click Load.
  3. Choose Previous-version PDF Settings Files (.pdfs) from the Files Of Type menu (Windows) or All Files from the Enable menu (Macintosh).
  4. Double-click the file you want to convert.

The file becomes selected in the list of Adobe PDF presets.

Background Tasks panel

With the ability to export PDF files in the background, you can continue working on your document instead of waiting until InDesign is done exporting. You can also queue up multiple PDF exports in the background. Use the Background Tasks panel to view the progress of the export processes.

  1. Export one or more documents to Adobe PDF.

  2. To view the progress, choose Window > Utilities > Background Tasks.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy