串接文本框架

框架中的文本可独立于其他框架,也可在多个框架之间连续排文。要在多个框架(也称为文本框)之间连续排文,必须先连接这些框架。连接的框架可位于同一页或跨页,也可位于文档的其他页。在框架之间连接文本的过程称为串接文本。此过程也称为链接文本框架链接文本框

每个文本框架都包含一个入口和一个出口,这些端口用来与其他文本框架进行连接。空的入口或出口分别表示文章的开头或结尾。端口中的箭头表示该框架链接到另一框架。出口中的红色加号 (+) 表示该文章中有更多要置入的文本,但没有更多的文本框架可放置文本。这些剩余的不可见文本称为溢流文本

串接的框架
串接的框架

A. 文章开头的入口 B. 指示与下一个框架串接关系的出口 C. 文本串接 D. 指示与上一个框架串接关系的入口 E. 指示溢流文本的出口 

选择“视图”>“其他”>“显示文本串接”以查看串接框架的可视化表示。无论文本框架是否包含文本,都可进行串接。

向串接中添加新框架

  1. 使用“选择工具”,选择一个文本框架,然后单击入口或出口以载入文本图标。

    单击入口可在所选框架之前添加一个框架;单击出口可在所选框架之后添加一个框架。

  2. 将载入的文本图标 放置到希望显示新文本框架的位置,然后单击或拖动以创建一个新文本框架。

注意:

当载入的文本图标处于活动状态时,可以执行许多操作,包括翻页、创建新页面,以及放大和缩小。如果开始串接两个框架后又不想串接,则可单击“工具箱”中的任一工具取消串接。这样不会丢失文本。

向串接中添加现有框架

  1. 使用“选择工具”,选择一个文本框架,然后单击入口或出口以载入文本图标。
  2. 将载入的文本图标放到要连接到的框架上面。载入的文本图标将更改为串接图标。
    向串接中添加现有框架
    向串接中添加现有框架

  3. 在第二个框架内部单击以将其串接到第一个框架。
串接的框架

如果将某个框架网格与纯文本框架或具有不同网格设置的其他框架网格串接,将会重新定义被串接的文本框架,以便与串接操作的源框架网格的设置匹配。

注意:

可以添加自动的“下转...”或“上接...”跳转行,当串接的文章从一个框架跳转到另一框架时,这些跳转行将对其进行跟踪。(请参阅为文章跳转添加自动页码。)

在串接框架序列中添加框架

  1. 使用“选择工具”,单击要将框架添加到的文章的出口。释放鼠标按钮时,将显示一个载入文本图标。
  2. 拖移以创建一个新框架,或单击另一个已创建的文本框架。InDesign 将框架串接到包含该文章的链接框架序列中。
在串接内添加框架(上)及结果(下)
在串接内添加框架(上)及结果(下)

取消串接文本框架

取消串接文本框架时,将断开该框架与串接中的所有后续框架之间的连接。以前显示在这些框架中的任何文本将成为溢流文本(不会删除文本)。所有的后续框架都为空。

  1. 通过使用“选择工具”,执行下列操作之一:
    • 双击入口或出口以断开两个框架之间的连接。
    • 单击表示与另一框架存在串接关系的入口或出口。例如,在一个由两个框架组成的串接中,单击第一个框架的出口或第二个框架的入口。将载入的文本图标放置到上一个框架或下一个框架之上,以显示取消串接图标 。在要从串接删除的框架中单击。
    从串接中删除框架
    从串接中删除框架

注意:

要将一篇文章拆分为两篇文章,请剪切要作为第二篇文章的文本,断开框架之间的连接,然后将该文本粘贴到第二篇文章的第一个框架中。

剪切或删除串接文本框架

在剪切或删除文本框架时不会删除文本;文本仍包含在串接中。

从串接中剪切框架

可以从串接中剪切框架,然后将其粘贴到其他位置。剪切的框架将使用文本的副本,不会从原文章中移去任何文本。在一次剪切和粘贴一系列串接文本框架时,粘贴的框架将保持彼此之间的连接,但将失去与原文章中任何其他框架的连接。

  1. 使用“选择工具”,选择一个或多个框架(按住 Shift 键并单击可选择多个对象)。
  2. 选择“编辑”>“剪切”。选中的框架消失,其中包含的所有文本都排列到该文章内的下一框架中。剪切文章的最后一个框架时,其中的文本存储为上一个框架的溢流文本。
  3. 如果要在文档的其他位置使用断开连接的框架,请转到希望断开连接的文本出现的页面,然后选择“编辑”>“粘贴”。

从串接中删除框架

当删除串接中的文本框架时,不会删除任何文本:文本将成为溢流文本,或排列到连续的下一框架中。如果文本框架未连接到其他任何框架,则会删除框架和文本。

  1. 要选择文本框架,执行以下操作之一:
    • 使用“选择工具”单击框架。
    • 使用“文字工具”,按住 Ctrl 键 (Windows) 或 Command 键 (Mac OS),然后单击框架。
  2. 按 Backspace 键或 Delete 键。

手动或自动排文

置入文本或者单击入口或出口后,指针将成为载入的文本图标 。使用载入的文本图标可将文本排列到您的页面上。按住 Shift 或 Alt 键,可确定文本排列的方式。载入文本图标将根据置入的位置改变外观。

将载入的文本图标置于文本框架之上时,该图标 将括在圆括号中。将载入的文本图标置于参考线或网格靠齐点旁边时,黑色指针将变为白色

可以使用下列四种方法排文文本:

方法

功能

手动文本排文 

一次一个框架地添加文本。必须重新载入文本图标才能继续排文文本。

单击时按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS),进行半自动排文

工作方式与手动文本排文相似,区别在于每次到达框架末尾时,指针将变为载入的文本图标,直到所有文本都排列到文档中为止。

单击时按住 Shift 键,进行自动排文

自动添加页面和框架,直到所有文本都排列到文档中为止。

单击时按住 Shift+Alt (Windows) 或 Shift+Option (Mac OS),进行固定页面自动排文

将所有文本都排列到文档中,根据需要添加框架但不添加页面。任何剩余的文本都将成为溢流文本。

要在框架中排文文本,InDesign 会检测是横排类型还是直排类型。使用半自动或自动排文排列文本时,将采用“文章”面板中设置的框架类型和方向。用户可以使用图标获得文本排文方向的视觉反馈。

手动排文

  1. 使用“置入”命令选择一个文件,或单击选定文本框架的出口
  2. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 将载入的文本图标置于现有框架或路径内的任何位置,然后单击。文本将排列到该框架及其他任何与此框架串接的框架中。请注意,文本总是从最左侧的栏的上部开始填充框架,即使单击其他栏时也是如此。
    • 将载入文本图标置于某栏中,以创建一个与该栏的宽度相符的文本框架。该框架的顶部将是您单击的地方。
    • 拖动载入的文本图标,以您所定义区域的宽度和高度创建文本框架。
  3. 如果要置入多个文本,请单击出口并重复步骤 1 和 2,直到置入所有文本。

注意:

如果将文本置入与其他框架串接的框架中,则不论选择哪种文本排文方法,文本都将自动排文到串接的框架中。

半自动排文

  1. 载入的文本图标后,按住 Alt 键单击 (Windows) 或按住 Option 键单击 (Mac OS) 页面或框架。

与手动排文一样,文本每次排文一栏,但是在置入每栏后,载入的文本图标将自动重新载入。

自动排文

  1. 显示载入文本图标时,执行下列操作之一时按住 Shift 键:
    • 单击栏中载入的文本图标,以创建一个与该栏的宽度相等的框架。InDesign 将创建新文本框架和新文档页面,直到将所有文本都添加到文档中为止。
    • 在基于主页文本框架的文本框架内单击。文本将自动排列到文档页面框架中,并会根据需要使用主页框架的属性生成新页面。(请参阅关于主页、堆叠顺序和图层。)

自动排文但不添加页面

  1. 载入的文本图标后,按住 Shift+Alt (Windows) 或 Shift+Option (Mac OS)。

使用智能文本重排

在键入或编辑文本时,可以使用“智能文本重排”功能来添加或删除页面。如果使用 InDesign 作为文本编辑器,则当键入的文本超出当前页面的容纳能力,需要添加新页面时,便会用到此功能。在由于编辑文本、显示或隐藏条件文本,或对文本排列进行其他更改,导致文本排列发生变化的情况下,也可以使用此功能来避免出现溢流文本或空白页面。

默认情况下,“智能文本重排”仅限用于主页文本框架,即主页上的文本框架。如果文档包括对页,则左右两个主页上必须都包含主页文本框架,且主页文本框架必须串接,这样“智能文本重排”才能生效。

您可以更改相关设置,允许在使用非基于主页的文本框架时添加或删除页面。不过,该文本框架至少必须串接到其他页面上的其他一个文本框架,这样“智能文本重排”才能有效。

“智能文本重排”设置显示在“文字”首选项中。这些设置应用于当前文档。若要更改所有新文档的默认设置,请关闭全部文档,然后指定设置。

  1. 选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“文字”(Windows) 或“InDesign”>“首选项”>“文字”(Mac OS)。

  2. 选择“智能文本重排”。

  3. 选择以下任意选项,然后单击“确定”。

将页面添加到

使用此选项可以确定在何处创建新页面。例如,假设文档包含三个页面,前两个页面上有文本框架,第三个页面上有一个占据全页的图形。如果在第二页的末尾键入文字,则您可以决定是在第三页的全页图形之前还是之后添加新页面。如果选择“文章末尾”,将在第二页之后添加新页面。如果选择“文档末尾”,将在具有全页图形的页面之后添加新页面。

在多个章节的文档中,如果选择“章节末尾”,将在章节末尾添加新页面。

限制在主页文本框架内

如果关闭此选项,您还可以在编辑非基于主页的文本框架时添加或删除页面。为避免发生不需要的文本重排,仅当正在编辑的文本框架至少串接到其他页面上的其他一个文本框架时,“智能文本重排”才生效。

注意:在非基于主页的文本框架内使用“智能文本重排”时,无论新框架串接的目标文本框架具有何种属性,添加的页面均具有全页单栏文本框架。

保留对页跨页

此选项确定当文本在文档中间重排时,是否保留对页跨页。如果在文档中间重排文本时,选择了此选项,将添加一个两页的新跨页。如果未选择此选项,将添加单个新页面,且后续页面将“随机排布”。

如果版面中包括跨页左侧或右侧专用的设计元素,请打开此选项。如果左页面和右页面可以互换,则可以关闭此选项。如果文档没有对页,此选项将呈灰显状态。

删除空白页面

选择此选项后,可在编辑文本或隐藏条件时删除页面。仅当空白文本框架是页面上唯一的对象时,才会删除页面。

注意:

若要了解“智能文本重排”可将 InDesign 作为文本编辑器的原因,请创建一个文档,关闭其中的“对页”并选中“主页文本框架”。在“文字”首选项中,确保选中了“智能文本重排”和“删除空白页面”。在首页上,按住 Ctrl+Shift (Windows) 或 Command+Shift (Mac OS),然后单击主页文本框架以将其覆盖。在键入足够多的文本来填充此文本框架后,将自动添加新的页面和文本框架。如果删除足够多的文本,将删除页面。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Thread text frames

The text in a frame can be independent of other frames, or it can flow between connected frames. To flow text between connected frames (also called text boxes), you must first connect the frames. Connected frames can be on the same page or spread, or on another page in the document. The process of connecting text among frames is called threading text. It is also referred to as linking text frames or linking text boxes.

Each text frame contains an in port and an out port, which are used to make connections to other text frames. An empty in port or out port indicates the beginning or end of a story, respectively. An arrow in a port indicates that the frame is linked to another frame. A red plus sign (+) in an out port indicates that there is more text in the story to be placed but no more text frames in which to place it. This remaining unseen text is called overset text.

Threaded frames
Threaded frames

A. In port at beginning of story B. Out port indicating thread to next frame C. Text thread D. In port indicating thread from previous frame E. Out port indicating overset text 

Choose View > Extras > Show Text Threads to see visual representatives of threaded frames. You can thread text frames whether or not they contain text.

Add a new frame to the thread

  1. Using the Selection tool , select a text frame, and then click the in port or out port to load a text icon.

    Clicking the in port lets you add a frame before the selected frame; clicking the out port lets you add a frame after the selected frame.

  2. Position the loaded text icon  where you want a new text frame to appear, and then click or drag to create a new text frame.


When the loaded text icon is active, you can perform many actions, including turning pages, creating new pages, and zooming in and out. If you start to thread two frames and change your mind, you can cancel the thread by clicking any tool in the Toolbox. No text will be lost.

Add an existing frame to the thread

  1. Using the Selection tool, select a text frame, and then click the in port or the out port to load a text icon.
  2. Position the loaded text icon over the frame you want to connect to. The loaded text icon changes to the thread icon.
    Adding existing frame to thread
    Adding existing frame to thread

  3. Click inside the second frame to thread it to the first.
Threaded frames

When you thread a frame grid to a plain text frame or to another frame grid with different grid settings, the text frame of the threaded frame is redefined to match the settings of the frame grid threaded from


You can add automatic “continued on” or “continued from” jump lines that track threaded stories as they jump from frame to frame. (See Add automatic page numbers for story jumps.)

Add a frame inside a sequence of threaded frames

  1. Using the Selection tool, click the out port at the point in the story where you want to add a frame. When you release the mouse button, a loaded text icon appears.
  2. Drag to create a new frame, or select a different text frame. InDesign threads the frame into the series of linked frames containing the story.
Adding frame inside a thread (top) and result (bottom)
Adding frame inside a thread (top) and result (bottom)

Unthread text frames

When you unthread a text frame, you break the connection between the frame and all subsequent frames in the thread. Any text that previously appeared in the frames becomes overset text (no text is deleted). All subsequent frames are empty.

  • Using the Selection tool, do one of the following:
    • Double-click an in port or out port to break the connection between frames.
    • Click an in port or an out port that represents a thread to another frame. For example, in a two-framed thread, click either the out port of the first frame or the in port of the second frame. Position the loaded text icon over the previous or next frame to display the unthread icon . Click in the frame you want to remove from the thread.
    Removing frame from thread
    Removing frame from thread


To break one story into two stories, cut the text that needs to go in the second story, break the connection between the frames, and then paste the text into the first frame of the second story.

Cut or delete threaded text frames

Whenever you cut or delete text frames, no text is deleted; the text remains in the thread.

Cut a frame from a thread

You can cut a frame from a thread and paste the frame elsewhere. The frame is removed with a copy of the text, but no text is removed from the original story. When you cut and paste a series of threaded text frames at once, the pasted frames maintain their connection to each other, but lose connection to any other frames in the original story.

  1. Using the Selection tool, select one or more frames (Shift-click to select multiple objects).
  2. Choose Edit > Cut. The frame disappears, and any text contained in it flows to the next frame in the story. When you cut the last frame in a story, the text is stored as overset text in the previous frame.
  3. If you want to use the disconnected frame elsewhere in your document, go to the page where you want the disconnected text to appear and choose Edit > Paste.

Delete a frame from a thread

When you delete a text frame that is part of a thread, no text is deleted: it is overset or it flows into the next frame in succession. If the text frame isn’t connected to any other frame, the frame and text are deleted.

  1. To select the text frame, do one of the following:
    • Using a selection tool, click the frame.
    • Using the Type tool, hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS), and then click the frame.
  2. Press Backspace or Delete.

Flow text manually or automatically

Your pointer becomes a loaded text icon  after you place text or click an in port or out port. The loaded text icon lets you flow text onto your pages. By holding down a modifier key, you can determine how the text is flowed. The loaded text icon changes appearance, depending on where it is placed.

When you position the loaded text icon over a text frame, parentheses enclose the icon . When you position the loaded text icon next to a guide or grid snapping point, the black pointer becomes white .

You can flow text using four methods:


What it does

Manual text flow 

Adds text one frame at a time. You must reload the text icon to continue flowing text.

Semi-autoflow  by holding down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) when you click.

Works like manual text flow, except that the pointer becomes a loaded text icon each time the end of a frame is reached, until all text is flowed into your document.

Autoflow  by Shift-clicking.

Adds pages and frames until all text is flowed into your document.

Fixed-page autoflow  by holding down Shift+Alt (Windows) or Shift+Option (Mac OS) when you click.

Flows all text into the document, adding frames as necessary without adding pages. Any remaining text is overset.

To flow text in frames, InDesign detects horizontal or vertical type. When text is flowed with semi-automatic or automatic flow, it is flowed according to the frame type and direction set in the Story panel. The icon gives users visual feedback of which direction the text will flow.

Flow text manually

  1. Use the Place command to select a file, or click the out port  of a selected text frame.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • Position the loaded text icon anywhere within an existing frame or path, and then click. The text flows into the frame and any other frames linked to it. Note that text always starts filling the frame at the top of the leftmost column, even when you click in a different column.
    • Position the loaded text icon in a column to create a text frame the width of that column. The top of the frame appears where you click.
    • Drag the loaded text icon to create a text frame the width and height of the area you define.
  3. If there is more text to be placed, click the out port and repeat steps 1 and 2 until all text has been placed.


When you place text in a frame that is threaded to other frames, text autoflows through the threaded frames, regardless of the text flow method you choose.

Flow text semi-automatically

  • With a loaded text icon, Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) a page or frame.

The text flows one column at a time, as in manual flow, but the loaded text icon automatically reloads after each column is placed.

Flow text automatically

  • With the loaded text icon displayed, hold down Shift as you do one of the following:
    • Click the loaded text icon in a column to create a frame the width of that column. InDesign creates new text frames and new document pages until all text is added to the document.
    • Click inside a text frame that is based on a master text frame. The text autoflows into the document page frame and generates new pages as needed, using the master frame’s attributes. (See About masters, stacking order, and layers.)

Flow text automatically without adding pages

  • With a loaded text icon, hold down Shift+Alt (Windows) or Shift+Option (Mac OS).

Use Smart Text Reflow

You can use the Smart Text Reflow feature to add or remove pages when you’re typing or editing text. This feature is useful when you’re using InDesign as a text editor and you want a new page to be added whenever you type more text than can fit on the current page. It’s also useful in avoiding overset text or empty pages for situations in which the text flow changes due to editing text, showing or hiding conditional text, or making other changes to the text flow.

By default, Smart Text Reflow is limited to master text frames — text frames that are on a master page. If the document includes facing pages, master text frames must appear on both left and right master pages, and the master text frames must be threaded for Smart Text Reflow to work.

You can change settings to allow pages to be added or removed when working in text frames that aren’t based on master pages. However, a text frame must be threaded to at least one other text frame on a different page for Smart Text Reflow to work.

Smart Text Reflow settings appear in Type preferences. These settings apply to the current document. To change default settings for all new documents, close all documents and specify the settings.

  1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Type (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Type (Mac OS).

  2. Select Smart Text Reflow.

  3. Select any of the following options and then click OK.

Add Pages To

Use this option to determine where the new page is created. For example, suppose you have a three-page document with text frames on the first two pages and a full-page graphic on the third page. If you’re typing to the end of page two, you can determine whether the new page is added before or after the full-page graphic on the third page. Choose End Of Story to add a new page after the second page. Choose End Of Document to add a new page after the page with the full-page graphic.

In a document with multiple sections, you can choose End Of Section to add the page at the end of the section.

Limit To Master Text Frames

If this option is turned off, you can also add or remove pages when editing text frames that aren’t based on master pages. To prevent unwanted text reflow from occurring, Smart Text Reflow takes effect only if the text frame you’re editing is threaded to at least one other text frame on a different page.

note: When using Smart Text Reflow in text frames that aren’t based on master pages, pages are added with full-page, single-column text frames, regardless of the attributes of the text frame to which the new frame is threaded.

Preserve Facing-Page Spreads

This option determines whether facing-page spreads are preserved when text is reflowed in the middle of a document. If this option is selected when text reflows in the middle of the document, a new two-page spread is added. If this option is not selected, a single new page is added, and subsequent pages are “shuffled.”

If your layout includes design elements specific to the right or left side of the spread, turn on this option. If your left and right pages are interchangeable, you can turn off this option. This option is dimmed if the document does not have facing pages.

Delete Empty Pages

Select this option to delete pages when you edit text or hide conditions. Pages are deleted only if the emptied text frame is the only object on the page.


To see how Smart Text Reflow can let you use InDesign as a text editor, create a document with Facing Pages turned off and Master Text Frame selected. In Type preferences, make sure that Smart Text Reflow and Delete Empty Pages are selected. On the first page, hold down Ctrl+Shift (Windows) or Command+Shift (Mac OS), and click the master text frame to override it. When you type enough text to fill this text frame, a new page and text frame is added automatically. If you delete enough text, a page is removed.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy