通过建立一套完善的用于 Adobe InDesign 的工作流程,可以提高性能并避免发生多种问题。

维护干净的计算机系统

一段时间之后,对软件和硬件进行的更改会导致性能下降并出现系统问题。通过整理硬盘的磁盘碎片、删除软件的旧版本、更新设备驱动程序、优化内存、运行防病毒实用程序并执行其他维护任务,可以防止应用程序和文件被损坏。定期执行这些任务有助于确保 InDesign 按预期打开、显示和打印文档。

创建项目文件夹

在开始项目之前,应确定将需要哪些文件以及如何存储这些文件。如果遇到缺失链接问题,请考虑将链接的文件与文档存储在同一文件夹。InDesign 维护您在文档中置入的文件链接,但如果链接被破坏,InDesign 会在该文档所在文件夹中查找该文件。将文档及其链接的文件存储在同一文件夹中,即可在计算机之间轻松移动它们。将文件存储在一个文件夹中还可以确保 InDesign 在打印文档时能够找到原始图形。如果 InDesign 找不到链接的图形,它将不会反映您对原始图形所做的更改,打印图形的质量可能较差或根本不打印。

如果项目包含多个文档(例如,一本书的多个章节),可以创建一个项目文件夹,并在其中为每个文档及其链接的文件创建一个文件夹。

考虑使用模板

如果频繁创建相似项目,可以使用模板。可以使用模板更快速地创建一致的文档,同时保护原始文件。例如,如果创建每月发行的新闻稿,模板可包括标尺参考线、页码、新闻稿刊头以及希望每期使用的样式。(请参阅使用文档模板。)

在本地打开文档

打开存储在网络卷或可移动介质上的文档前,将该文档及链接的所有图形复制到本地硬盘上。如果网络卷或可移动介质的访问速度和数据传输速率较低,会导致数据丢失或受损,进而可能会损坏文档。但是,如果将本地文件复制到网络服务器上,可能会覆盖他人的工作成果。

在转换文件之前解决问题

在 InDesign 中打开已损坏的 Adobe PageMaker 或 QuarkXPress® 文件时,这些文件通常仍然处于已损坏状态。如果已转换文件出现错误或其他意外行为,打开源应用程序中的原始文件,然后排除造成损坏的故障。

如果转换后的文件有问题,请将其导出为 IDML 格式,然后打开该 IDML 文件并将其存储为 InDesign 文档。

存储文档

经常存储文档,并为重要文件创建备份副本。使用存储为命令清除文档中的不必要数据。在使用“存储”命令时,InDesign 将新信息附加到文档中,但不会删除过时数据(如已删除图形的相关信息)。但在使用存储为命令时,InDesign 会完全重写文档,使其仅包含文档中当前对象和页面的相关信息。仅包含必需数据的文档在硬盘驱动器中占用的空间较少,而且重绘、打印速度更快。

养成良好设计习惯

  • 在文档中创建样式。如果不打开文档即创建样式,会导致创建新文档时出现重复样式。若要在文档之间共享样式,存储并载入这些样式。

  • 使用适当字体。选择文档字体时,应考虑如何设置文本格式以及如何打印文本。OpenType®、Type 1(也称为 PostScript)和 TrueType 字体都很适合 InDesign。损坏或构建不合理的字体会损坏 InDesign 文档,或导致打印该文档时出现意外结果,因此请使用由声誉良好的字体提供商创建的可靠字体。如果与某服务机构合作,请明确其字体要求。

  • 避免过多地使用文本框架。尽可能减少使用文本框架,以减小文档的文件大小,并使版面更易于处理。

合理处理图片

  • 使用适当的图形文件格式。为项目创建图形时,应考虑到该如何计划打印文档。如果计划由某个服务机构打印文档,请向其询问哪种图形格式最适用于其使用的输出设备。该服务机构可能还会就图像的最佳分辨率提供建议。

  • 在外部存储图形。导入图形文件时,InDesign 在默认情况下会创建指向该图形的链接。链接可帮助最大限度地缩小文档的文件大小,并提高 InDesign 的性能。打印该文档时,原始图形文件必须可用并保持链接。如果 InDesign 找不到原始图形文件,可能会按照低分辨率预览打印图形或仅将其打印为一个灰框。

在打印之前验证链接和字体

若要确保正确打印文档,请验证所有链接是否完整、所有字体是否可用。删除、移动或重命名原始图形会破坏链接。在将文件提交给服务机构前,应使用预检和打包功能。

打开 InDesign 文档

通常,您可以像在其他程序中那样打开文档和模板文件。当打开一个 InDesign 模板时,默认情况下,它将作为一个新建的未命名文档打开。文档文件使用 .indd 扩展名,模板文件使用 .indt 扩展名,片段文件使用 .idms 扩展名,库文件使用 .indl 扩展名,交换文件使用 .inx 扩展名,标记文件使用 .idml 扩展名,书籍文件使用 .indb 扩展名。

也可以使用“文件”>“打开”命令,打开早期版本的 InDesign 文件、InDesign 交换文件 (.inx)、InDesign Markup (.idml) 文件、Adobe PageMaker 6.0 及更高版本文件、QuarkXPress 3.3 和 4.1 文件,以及 QuarkXPress Passport 4.1 文件。此外,其他软件供应商可能会开发增效工具软件,供打开其他文件格式。

注意:

要查看有关 InDesign 文档的其他信息,请按住 Ctrl 并选择“帮助”>“关于 InDesign”(Windows) 或按住 Command 并选择“InDesign”>“关于 InDesign”(Mac OS)。

使用“打开”命令

  1. 选择“文件”>“打开”,然后选择一个或多个文档。

  2. 请执行下列操作之一,然后单击“打开”:

    • 选择“正常”(Windows) 或“打开正常”(Mac OS) 以打开原始文档或模板副本。

    • 选择“原稿”(Windows) 或“打开原稿”(Mac OS) 以打开原始文档或模板。

    • 选择“副本”(Windows) 或“打开副本”(Mac OS) 以打开文档或模板的副本。

当打开 InDesign 文档时,可能会遇到以下信息之一:

指示较新版本 InDesign 的消息

在 InDesign CS6 和 CC 中,可以将文档直接发送给使用较旧版本 InDesign 的任何用户,而无需执行任何额外步骤,如手动导出为 IDML。系统中已经内置兼容性,从而可以确保始终能够按照您的预期打开文档。

如果打开在较新版本 InDesign 中创建的文档,将显示一条指示不同版本的消息。要将文档转换为当前版本的 InDesign,请执行以下操作:

  1. 要将文档转换为当前版本的 InDesign,请单击“转换”。

    文档会被上载到 Adobe Creative Cloud,然后被转换为当前版本的 InDesign。

    注意:

    您需要连接到 Internet 才能执行转换。

  2. 在将文档成功转换为当前版本之后,将显示“存储为”对话框,提示您存储文档。

指示文档的颜色设置不同于应用程序的消息

如果出现警告消息,指出文档中的颜色设置与应用程序中的颜色设置不同,请选择一个选项,然后单击“确定”。

注意:

默认情况下,颜色警告消息是关闭的,但如果在颜色设置对话框(“编辑”> 颜色设置)中更改了默认设置,则可以显示警告消息。

如果出现警告消息,指出文档包含缺失或经过修改的链接,请使用“链接”面板修复这些链接。请参阅更新、还原和替换链接

指示缺少字体的消息

如果出现一条警告消息,告诉文档包含缺失字体,请执行以下操作之一:

  • 单击“确定”。InDesign 将使用替代字体自动设置文本格式。

  • 单击“查找字体”,搜索并列出整个文档所使用的全部字体。

    有关查找缺失字体的更多信息,请参阅查找和更改字体

打开最近使用的文档

  1. 选择“文件”>“最近打开文件”,然后选择一个最近存储的文档。

要指定显示多少个最近的文档,请选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“文件处理”(Windows),或“InDesign”>“首选项”>“文件处理”,然后为“要显示的最近使用的项目数”指定一个数字。最大值为 30。

打开文档时选择单词列表

打开文档时,可能会看到一条警告信息,询问是使用文档中的单词列表还是使用用户词典中的例外单词列表。例外单词列表包括处理文档时添加到用户词典的单词。如果知道使用哪个例外单词列表,则单击其按钮。如果不确定,请单击任一按钮,选择“编辑”>“拼写检查”>“词典”来检查单词列表,然后在必要时选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“词典”(Windows) 或“InDesign”>“首选项”>“词典”(Mac OS) 来重置用于排版的单词列表。请参阅连字和拼写词典

转换早期版本的 InDesign 文档

  1. 若要将早期版本的 InDesign 文档转换为当前版本,选择“文件”>“打开”,然后打开文件。

    请牢记以下要点:

    • 如果您在创建文档的早期版本时,使用了第三方增效工具,则应在转换文档之前向该软件制造商核实,确保这些增效工具可以正确地针对 InDesign CS5 安装且与之兼容。

    • 转换文档时可能会看到一条警告信息,询问是使用用户词典中的例外单词列表还是使用文档中的例外单词列表。有关此警告信息的信息,请参阅打开文档时选择单词列表

    • 即使已锁定库,也可以在 InDesign CS5 中打开并转换 InDesign 早期版本中创建的库文件。必须为转换后的库文件指定名称和位置;默认命名约定是“文件名-X.indl”。

    • InDesign 的早期版本无法直接打开最新的 InDesign 文档。例如,要在 InDesign CS4 中打开 InDesign CS5 文档,必须执行以下两项操作。首先,在 InDesign CS5 中选择“文件”>“导出”,将文档存储为 IDML 格式。然后,用可以打开 IDML 文件的特殊增效工具更新 InDesign CS4。(请参阅存储为早期 InDesign 版本。)

注意:

如果在使用 InDesign 早期版本创建的文档时遇到问题,请在 InDesign CS5 中使用“导出”对话框将文档存储为 InDesign Markup (IDML) 格式。然后打开 IDML 文件并存储为 InDesign 文档。

将 Adobe Bridge 与 InDesign 结合使用

Adobe Bridge 是 Adobe Creative Suite 组件中包含的一个跨平台应用程序,它可帮助您查找、组织以及浏览创建打印、Web、视频以及音频内容所需的资源。您可以从任何 Creative Suite 组件(Adobe Acrobat® 除外)中启动 Adobe Bridge,并使用它来访问 Adobe 和非 Adobe 资源类型。

从 Adobe Bridge 中,您可以执行以下操作:

  • 管理图像、素材和音频文件:在 Adobe Bridge 中预览、搜索、排序和处理文件,而无需打开各个应用程序。也可以编辑文件元数据,并使用 Adobe Bridge 将文件置入文档、项目或排版中。

  • 可以在 Adobe Bridge 中以缩览图的形式查看 InDesign 文档内的链接,而无需实际在 InDesign 中打开该文档。

  • 将资源从 Adobe Bridge 拖到 InDesign 文档窗口中,或将资源从文档窗口拖到 Adobe Bridge 中以创建片段。请参阅使用片段

  • 执行自动任务,如批处理命令。

  • 在 Creative Suite 颜色管理组件之间同步颜色设置。

  • 启动实时网络会议以共享桌面和检查文档。

使用文档模板

模板是标准文档的有用起点,因为可以使用版面、图形和文本对模板进行预设。例如,如果在准备月刊杂志,则可以创建一个模板,其中包含典型版面,即标尺参考线、网格、主页、自定样式和色板、占位符框、图层以及任何标准图形或文本。这样,每月只要打开模板并导入新的内容即可。

创建模板的方法与创建常规文档一样,只是存储文档时有所不同。如果准备的模板供他人使用,最好添加一个包含该模板说明的图层;在打印文档之前,隐藏或删除该图层即可。请参阅图层

注意:

对于 InDesign 中文版本,可以打开包含自定标点挤压集的专项设计模板。

将文档存储为模板

  1. 选择“文件”>“存储为”,然后指定位置和文件名。
  2. 对于“存储类型”(Windows) 或“存储格式”(Mac OS),请选择“InDesign CS5 模板”,然后单击“存储”。

从模板创建新文档

  1. 选取“文件”>“打开”。
  2. 找到并选择一个模板。
  3. 选择“正常”(Windows) 或“打开正常”(Mac OS),然后单击“打开”。
  4. 使用其自己的名称存储新文档。

编辑现有模板

  1. 选取“文件”>“打开”。
  2. 找到并选择一个模板。
  3. 选择“原稿”(Windows) 或“打开原稿”(Mac OS),然后单击“打开”。

查看 InDesign 文档

Adobe 提供了多种查看 InDesign 文档的方法。

对编辑的内容进行修订

当您或其他人员对文本进行编辑时,如果启用了“修订”功能,则 InDesign 会突出显示所添加的文本并对删除的文本标记删除线。使用“文章编辑器”可以查看这些更改。文档的所有者可以在此基础上进行编辑,接受或拒绝这些更改。请参阅修订和检查更改

利用 Acrobat 对 PDF 文件进行审阅

您可以将 InDesign 文档导出为 PDF,然后使用 Adobe Acrobat 设置电子邮件审阅,或者在 Acrobat.com 或其他服务器上设置共享审阅。审阅人可以使用“粘滞便笺”工具或其他标记方法来添加注释。此后,文档的拥有者便可以检查这些 PDF 审阅注释,并编辑原始的 InDesign 文档。有关更多信息,请参阅 Acrobat 帮助。

使用 CS Review

CS Review 是一种在线订阅服务,可用于在 Web 上共享您的设计,以使其他人能够提供即时反馈。在使用 CS Review 面板创建审阅时,可以将文件的一个或多个快照上载到 Acrobat.com 工作区。然后,审阅人便可以添加注释。

在创建审阅时,可以将审阅内容拆分为几个部分,以便提供单独的区域用以分别添加审阅注释。一个审阅的组成部分可以来自不同的文件和应用程序。审阅时,作为动态审阅过程的一部分,您可以添加或删除审阅的内容。

通过模板设计日历和名片

可以使用模板来创建日历、名片、简历以及其他专项文档。

Adobe 在 Adobe Marketplace 和 Exchange 站点提供了许多模板:

www.adobe.com/go/exchange_cn

使用搜索来查找有关专项文档的其他资源。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

You can improve performance and prevent many problems by establishing a good workflow to use with Adobe InDesign.

Maintain a clean computer system

Over time, changes occur to software and hardware that can lead to performance loss and system problems. Defragmenting the hard disk, removing older versions of software, updating device drivers, optimizing memory, running virus protection utilities, and performing other maintenance tasks can prevent applications and files from becoming damaged. Performing these tasks regularly helps ensure that InDesign opens, displays, and prints documents as expected.

Create a project folder

Before you begin a project, determine which files you’ll need and how you’ll store them. If you’ve experienced problems with broken links, consider storing your linked files in the same folder as your document. InDesign maintains links to files you place in a document, but if a link is broken, InDesign looks for the file in the document’s folder. Storing a document and its linked files in the same folder makes it easy to move them from one computer to another. Storing files in one folder also ensures that InDesign finds the original graphics when printing a document. If InDesign cannot locate a linked graphic, it won’t reflect changes you make to the original graphic, and it may print the graphic poorly or not at all.

If your project consists of multiple documents (for example, chapters in a book), you may find it useful to create a project folder that contains a folder for each document and its linked files.

Consider using a template

Use a template if you frequently create similar projects. Templates let you create consistent documents more quickly while protecting the original file. For example, if you create a monthly newsletter, your template might include ruler guides, page numbers, the newsletter masthead, and styles you want to use in each issue. (See Use document templates.)

Open documents locally

Before you open a document stored on a network volume or on removable media, copy the document and any linked graphics to your local hard disk. The slower access time and data transfer rate of a network volume or removable media can cause data to become lost or corrupted, possibly damaging the document. However, be aware of overriding someone else’s work if you copy the local files back to a network server.

Solve problems before converting a file

Damaged Adobe PageMaker or QuarkXPress® files usually remain damaged when opened in InDesign. If an error or other unexpected behavior occurs with a converted file, open the original file in the source application and troubleshoot it for damage.

If the converted file has problems, export it to IDML format, and then open the IDML file and save it as an InDesign document.

Save documents

Save documents frequently, and create backup copies of important files. You can clear unnecessary data from a document by using the Save As command. When you use the Save command, InDesign appends new information to the document but doesn’t remove outdated data, such as information about a deleted graphic. When you use the Save As command, however, InDesign completely rewrites the document, including only information about objects and pages currently in the document. A document that contains only necessary data occupies less hard drive space and redraws and prints more quickly.

Practice good design habits

  • Create styles in a document. Creating styles with no documents open can cause duplicate styles to appear when you create a new document. To share styles in documents, save the styles and load them.

  • Use appropriate fonts. When choosing fonts for a document, consider how you intend to format and print the text. InDesign works well with OpenType®, Type 1 (also called PostScript), and TrueType fonts. Damaged or poorly constructed fonts can damage an InDesign document or cause it to print with unexpected results, so use reliable fonts created by established font vendors. If you work with a service bureau, find out its font requirements.

  • Avoid using too many text frames. Use as few text frames as possible to keep the document file size smaller and the layout easier to manipulate.

Be smart with art

  • Use the appropriate graphics file format. When you create graphics for a project, consider how you plan to print the document. If you intend to print the document at a service bureau, ask the service bureau which graphic formats work best with the output device it uses. The service bureau can also advise you on the optimal resolution for images.

  • Store graphics externally. When you import a graphic file, InDesign creates a link to the graphic by default. Linking helps minimize the file size of the document and improves the performance of InDesign. When you print the document, the original graphic file must be available and linked. If InDesign can’t find the original, the graphic may print as a low resolution preview or as a gray box.

Verify links and fonts before you print

To ensure that a document prints correctly, verify that all links are intact and all fonts are available. A link becomes broken if you delete, move, or rename the original graphic. Use the Preflight and Package features before handing off files to a service bureau.

Open InDesign documents

In general, you open document and template files the same way you do in other programs. When you open an InDesign template, it opens as a new, untitled document by default. Document files use the extension .indd, template files use the extension .indt, snippet files use the extension .idms, library files use the extension .indl, interchange files use the extension .inx, markup files use the extension .idml, and book files use the extension .indb.

You can also use the File > Open command to open files from earlier versions of InDesign, InDesign Interchange (.inx) files, InDesign Markup (.idml) files, Adobe PageMaker 6.0 and later, QuarkXPress 3.3 and 4.1, and QuarkXPress Passport 4.1 files. In addition, other software vendors may make plug‑in software that lets you open other file formats.


To view additional information about an InDesign document, hold down Ctrl and choose Help > About InDesign (Windows) or hold down Command and choose InDesign > About InDesign (Mac OS).

Use the Open command

  1. Choose File > Open and select one or more documents.

  2. Do one of the following, and then click Open:

    • Select Normal (Windows) or Open Normal (Mac OS) to open the original document or a copy of a template.

    • Select Original (Windows) or Open Original (Mac OS) to open an original document or template.

    • Select Copy (Windows) or Open Copy (Mac OS) to open a copy of a document or template.

When you open an InDesign document, you may encounter any of the following messages:

Message indicating newer version of InDesign

In InDesign CS6 and CC, you can send documents to anyone using older versions of InDesign without extra steps like manually exporting to IDML. Compatibility is built right in, ensuring that your documents always open just as you would expect.

If you open a document created in a newer version of InDesign, a message is displayed indicating the different version. To convert the document to the current version of InDesign, do the following:

  1. To convert the document to the current version of InDesign, click Convert.

    The document is uploaded to the Adobe Creative Cloud and then converted to the current version of InDesign.


    You need to be connected to the Internet to perform the conversion.

  2. After the document is successfully converted to the current version, the Save As dialog box prompts you to save the document.

Message indicating document color settings different from application

If a warning message appears telling you that the color settings in the document are different from the color settings in the application, select an option, and click OK.


Color warning messages are off by default, but you can show warnings if you change the default settings in the Color Settings dialog box (Edit >Color Settings.)

If a warning message appears telling you that the document contains missing or modified links, use the Links panel to fix the links. See Update, restore, and replace links.

Message indicating missing fonts

If a warning message appears telling you that the document contains missing fonts, do one of the following:

  • Click OK. InDesign will automatically format the text with a substitute.

  • Click Find Font to search for and list fonts used throughout your document.

    For more information on finding missing fonts, see Find and change fonts.

Open recent document

  • Choose File > Open Recent, and select one of the documents you saved recently.

To specify how many recent documents are displayed, choose Edit > Preferences > File Handling (Windows), or InDesign > Preferences > File Handling, and then specify a number for Number Of Recent Items To Display. The maximum number is 30.

Choosing word lists when opening documents

When opening a document, you may see an alert message asking if you want to use the word list in the document or an exception word list in the user dictionary. An exception word list includes words that were added to the User Dictionary while the document was worked on. If you know which exception word list you use, click its button. If you’re not sure, click either button, choose Edit > Spelling > Dictionary to inspect the word lists, and then, if necessary, choose Edit > Preferences > Dictionary (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Dictionary (Mac OS) to reset the word list used for composition. See Hyphenation and spelling dictionaries.

Convert earlier versions of InDesign documents

  • To convert previous versions of InDesign documents to the current version, choose File > Open and open the file.

    Keep in mind the following points:

    • If you used third-party plug-ins to create an earlier version of a document, check with the manufacturer to make sure that they are installed correctly for and are compatible with InDesign CS5 before you convert the document.

    • When you convert a document, you may see an alert message asking if you want to use the exception word list in the user dictionary or the one in the document. For information about this alert message, see Choosing word lists when opening documents.

    • Library files created in earlier versions of InDesign will open and convert in InDesign CS5, even if the library is locked. You have to specify a name and location for the converted library files; the default naming convention is filename‑X.indl.

    • Previous versions of InDesign can’t open latest InDesign documents directly. For example, to open an InDesign CS5 document in InDesign CS4, you must do two things. First, choose File > Export in InDesign CS5 to save the document in IDML format. Second, update InDesign CS4 with special plug‑ins that let you open the IDML file. (See Save backwards to the previous InDesign version.)


If you’re experiencing problems with a document that was created in a previous version of InDesign, use the Export dialog box in InDesign CS5 to save the document in InDesign Markup (IDML) format. Then open the IDML file and save it as an InDesign document.

Use Adobe Bridge with InDesign

Adobe Bridge is a cross-platform application included with AdobeCreative Suite components that helps you locate, organize, and browse the assets you need to create print, web, video, and audio content. You can start Adobe Bridge from any Creative Suitecomponent (except Adobe Acrobat®), and use it to access both Adobe and non-Adobe asset types.

From Adobe Bridge, you can:

  • Manage image, footage, and audio files: Preview, search, sort, and process files in Adobe Bridge without opening individual applications. You can also edit metadata for files, and use Adobe Bridge to place files into your documents, projects, or compositions.

  • View the links inside an InDesign document as thumbnails while in Adobe Bridge, without actually having to open the InDesign document in InDesign.

  • Drag assets from Adobe Bridge into the InDesign document window, or drag assets from the document window into Adobe Bridge to create snippets. See Use snippets.

  • Perform automated tasks, such as batch commands.

  • Synchronize color settings across color-managed Creative Suite components.

  • Start a real-time web conference to share your desktop and review documents.

Adobe Version Cue

Adobe Version Cue® and Adobe Drive are not included in Adobe Creative Suite 5, nor any future version of the Creative Suite. Adobe continues to invest in asset management enablement through open industry standards and partnerships. For more information, see

Use document templates

Templates are useful starting points for standard documents because you can preset them with layout, graphics, and text. For example, if you prepare a monthly magazine, you can create a template that contains the layout of a typical issue, including ruler guides, grids, master pages, custom styles and swatches, placeholder frames, layers, and any standard graphics or text. That way you can simply open the template each month and import new content.

You create a template the same way you create a regular document; the only difference occurs when you save the document. When you prepare a template for others to use, you may want to add a layer containing instructions about the template; hide or delete the layer before printing the document. See Layers.


For Chinese versions of InDesign, you can open specially designed templates that include custom mojikumi sets.

Save a document as a template

  1. Choose File > Save As, and specify a location and filename.
  2. Choose InDesign CS5 Template for Save As Type (Windows) or Format (Mac OS), and then click Save.

Start a new document from a template

  1. Choose File > Open.
  2. Locate and select a template.
  3. Select Normal (Windows) or Open Normal (Mac OS), and then click Open.
  4. Save the new document with its own name.

Edit an existing template

  1. Choose File > Open.
  2. Locate and select a template.
  3. Select Original (Windows) or Open Original (Mac OS), and then click Open.

Review InDesign documents

Adobe offers several methods for reviewing InDesign documents.

Tracking editing changes

As you or another person edits text, InDesign highlights added text and strikes through deleted text when Track Changes is turned on. Use the Story Editor to view changes. The document owner can go through the edits and accept or reject changes. See Tracking and reviewing changes.

Using Acrobat to review a PDF file

You can export the InDesign document to PDF and use Adobe Acrobat to set up an e-mail review or a shared review on or another server. Reviewers can add comments using the Sticky Note tool and other markup methods. The document owner can then go through the PDF review comments and edit the original InDesign document. For more information, see Acrobat Help.

Using CS Review

CS Review is an online subscription service that lets you share your designs on the web so that others can provide immediate feedback. When you create a review using the CS Review panel, you upload one or more snapshots of the file to the workspace. Reviewers can then add comments.

When you create a review, you can divide the review into parts that offer separate areas for review commenting. A review can consist of parts from different files and applications. As the review progresses, you can add and remove review parts as part of a dynamic review process.

Design calendars and business cards from templates

One way to create a calendars, business cards, resumes or CVs, and other specialized documents is to use templates.

Adobe provides several templates at the Adobe Marketplace and Exchange site:

Use search to locate additional resources for specialty documents.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy