创建和编辑文本变量

文本变量是插入在文档中并且根据上下文发生变化的项目。例如,“最后页码”变量显示文档中最后一页的页码。如果添加或删除了页面,该变量会相应更新。

InDesign 包含几个可以插入在文档中的预设文本变量。可以编辑这些变量的格式,也可以创建自己的变量。某些变量(如“标题”和“章节编号”)对于添加到主页中以确保格式和编号的一致性非常有用。另一些变量(如“创建日期”和“文件名”)对于添加到辅助信息区以便于打印非常有用。

注意:

向一个变量中添加太多文本可能导致文本溢流或被压缩。变量文本只能位于同一行中。

创建或编辑文本变量

创建变量时可用的选项取决于您指定的变量类型。例如,如果您选择“章节编号”类型,则可以指定显示在此编号之前和之后的文本,还可以指定编号样式。可以基于同一变量类型创建多个不同的变量。例如,可以创建一个变量来显示“Chapter 1”,而创建另一个变量来显示“Ch. 1.”

同样,如果选择“标题”类型,则可以指定将哪一个样式用作页眉的基础,还可以选择用于删除句尾标点和更改大小写的选项。

  1. 如果您要创建用于所有新建文档的文本变量,请关闭所有文档。否则,您创建的文本变量将只在当前文档中显示。

  2. 选择“文字”>“文本变量”>“定义”。

  3. 单击“新建”,或选择某个现有变量并单击“编辑”。

  4. 为变量键入名称,例如“全部章节”或“文章标题”。

  5. 从“文字”菜单中选择一个变量类型,指定该类型的选项,然后单击“确定”。

    可用的选项取决于您选择的变量类型。

    此前放置文本/此后放置文本

    对于所有变量类型(“自定文本”除外),都可以指定将添加到变量前或变量后的文本。例如,您可以在“最后页码”变量前添加“/共”并且在该变量后添加“页”,以实现“/共 12 页”的效果。也可以将文本粘贴至框中,但将会删除制表符和自动页码等特殊字符。要插入特殊字符,请单击文本框右侧的三角形。

    样式

    对于所有编号变量类型,都可以指定编号样式。如果选择了 [当前编号样式],变量会使用在文档的“页码和章节选项”对话框中选定的相同编号样式。

变量类型

章节编号

用“章节编号”类型创建的变量会插入章节编号。您可以在章节编号之前或之后插入文本,并可以指定编号样式。

如果文档中的章节编号被设置为从书籍中上一个文档继续,您可能需要更新书籍编号以显示相应的章节编号。

创建日期、修改日期和输出日期

“创建日期”会插入文档首次存储时的日期或时间;“修改日期”会插入文档上次存储到磁盘时的日期或时间;“输出日期”会插入文档开始某一打印作业、导出为 PDF 或打包文档时的日期或时间。您可以在日期之前或之后插入文本,并且您可以修改所有日期变量的日期格式。

日期格式

可以直接将日期格式键入到“日期格式”框中,或者您可以通过单击框右侧的三角形来选择格式选项。例如,日期格式“MM/dd/yy”会显示为 12/22/07。通过将格式更改为“MMM. d, yyyy”,日期会显示为“Dec. 22, 2007”。

日期变量使用应用于文本的语言。例如,“创建日期”可能会以西班牙语显示为“01 diciembre 2007”或者以德语显示为“01 Dezember 2007”。

缩写

说明

示例

M

月份,前面不显示零

8

MM

月份,前面显示零

08

MMM

月份缩写

Aug

MMMM

月份全名

八月

d

日,前面不显示零

5

dd

日,前面显示零

05

E

星期天数名称,缩写

Fri

EEEE

星期天数全名

星期五

yy 或 YY

年份,最后两位

07

y (Y) 或 yyyy (YYYY)

年份全名

2007

G 或 GGGG

纪元,缩写或扩展

AD 或 Anno Domini

h

小时,前面不显示零

4

hh

小时,前面显示零

04

H

小时,前面不显示零,24 小时格式

16

HH

小时,前面显示零,24 小时格式

16

m

分钟,前面不显示零

7

mm

分钟,前面显示零

07

s

秒,前面不显示零

7

ss

秒,前面显示零

07

a

AM 或 PM,两个字符

PM

z 或 zzzz

时区,缩写或扩展

PST 或太平洋标准时间

文件名

此变量用于将当前文件的名称插入到文档中。它通常会被添加到文档的辅助信息区以便于打印,或用于页眉和页脚。除了“文本前”和“文本后”,您还可以选择以下选项。

包括完整文件夹路径

选择此选项可以包括带有文件名的完整文件夹路径。使用 Windows 或 Mac OS 的标准路径命名惯例。

包括文件扩展名

选择此选项可包括文件扩展名。

“文件名”变量会在您使用新名称存储文件或将文件存储到新位置时进行更新。路径和扩展名不会显示在文档中,直至其被存储。

图像名称

在从元数据生成自动题注时,“图像名称”变量非常有用。“图像名称”变量包含“元数据题注”变量类型。如果包含该变量的文本框架与某个图像相邻或成组,则该变量会显示该图像的元数据。您可以编辑“图像名称”变量以确定要使用哪个元数据字段。

请参阅定义题注变量

最后页码

“最后页码”类型用于使用常见的“第 3 页/共 12 页”格式将文档的总页数添加到页眉和页脚中。在这种情况下,数字 12 就是由“最后页码”生成的,它会在添加或删除页面时自动更新。可以在最后页码之前或之后插入文本,并可以指定页码样式。从“范围”菜单中,选择一个选项以确定章节或文档中的最后页码是否已被使用。

请注意,“最后页码”变量不会对文档中的页数进行计数。

标题(段落或字符样式)

“动态标题”变量会在应用了指定样式的文本的页面上插入第一个或最后一个匹配项。如果该页面上的文本未使用指定的样式,则使用上一页中的文本。

自定文本

此变量通常用于插入占位符文本或可能需要快速更改的文本字符串。例如,如果您正在工作的项目使用一个公司的代号,则可以为此代号创建一个自定文本变量。当真正的公司名称可用时,只需更改此变量即可更新所有代号。

要在文本变量中插入特殊字符,请单击文本框右侧的三角形。

插入文本变量

  1. 将插入点放在要显示变量的位置。

  2. 选择“文字”>“文本变量”>“插入变量”,然后选择要插入的变量。

变量将显示在页面上,就如您是在文档中键入它一样。例如,“创建日期”变量可能会显示为“December 22, 2007”。如果您选择“文字”>“显示隐藏的字符”,则变量实例会被一个具有当前图层颜色的框围绕。

注意:

文本变量只能位于同一行中,不能跨行出现。

删除、转换和导入文本变量

使用“文本变量”对话框可以删除、转换和导入文本变量。

删除文本变量

如果要删除文档中插入的文本变量的一个实例,只需要选择此变量并按 Backspace 或 Delete 键。也可以删除变量本身。执行此操作时,可以决定如何替换插入在文档中的变量。

  1. 选择“文字”>“文本变量”>“定义”。

  2. 选择变量,然后单击“删除”。

  3. 指定如何通过指定其他变量来替换此变量,将变量实例转换为文本或完全删除变量实例。

将文本变量转换为文本

  • 要转换单个实例,请在文档窗口中选择此文本变量,然后选择“文字”>“文本变量”>“将变量转换为文本”。

  • 要转换文档中文本变量的所有实例,请选择“文字”>“文本变量”>“定义”,选择此变量,然后单击“转换为文本”。

从其他文档导入文本变量

  1. 选择“文字”>“文本变量”>“定义”。

  2. 单击“载入”,然后双击包含要导入变量的文档。

  3. 在“载入文本变量”对话框中,确保选中要导入的变量。如果任何现有变量与其中一个导入的变量同名,请在“与现有文本变量冲突”下选择下列选项之一,然后单击“确定”:

    使用传入定义

    用载入的变量覆盖现有变量,并将它的新属性应用于当前文档中使用旧变量的所有文本。传入变量和现有变量的定义都显示在“载入文本变量”对话框的底部,以便您可以看到它们的区别。

    自动重命名

    重命名载入的变量。

  4. 选择“确定”,然后单击“完成”。

注意:

您还可以在同步书籍文件时将变量复制到其他文档中。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Create and edit text variables

A text variable is an item you insert in your document that varies according to the context. For example, the Last Page Number variable displays the page number of the last page of the document. If you add or remove pages, the variable is updated accordingly.

InDesign includes several preset text variables that you can insert in your document. You can edit the format of these variables, or you can create your own. Some variables, such as Running Header and Chapter Number, are especially useful for adding to master pages to ensure consistent formatting and numbering. Other variables, such as Creation Date and File Name, are useful for adding to the slug area for printing.

Note:

Adding too much text to a variable may cause overset or compressed text. Variable text does not break across lines.

Create or edit text variables

The options available for creating the variable depend on the type of variable you specify. For example, if you choose the Chapter Number type, you can specify text to appear both before and after the number, and you can specify the numbering style. You can create several different variables based on the same variable type. For example, you can create one variable that displays “Chapter 1” and another that displays “Ch. 1.”

Similarly, if you choose the Running Header type, you can specify which style is used as the basis for the header, and you can select options for deleting end punctuation and changing the case.

  1. If you want to create text variables for use in all new documents you create, close all documents. Otherwise, the text variables you create appear only in the current document.

  2. Choose Type > Text Variables > Define.

  3. Click New, or select an existing variable and click Edit.

  4. Type a name for the variable, such as “Full Chapter” or “Running Title.”

  5. From the Type menu, choose a variable type, specify the options for that type, and then click OK.

    Different options are available depending on the variable type you select.

    Text Before / Text After

    For all variable types (except Custom Text), you can specify text that will be added before or after the variable. For example, you can add the word “of” before the Last Page Number variable and the phrase “total pages” after the variable to create an “of 12 total pages” effect. You can also paste text into the boxes, but special characters such as tabs and auto page numbers are stripped out. To insert special characters, click the triangle to the right of the text box.

    Style

    For all numbered variable types, you can specify the numbering style. If [Current Numbering Style] is selected, the variable uses the same numbering style selected in the document’s Numbering & Section Options dialog box.

Variable types

Chapter Number

A variable created with the Chapter Number type inserts the chapter number. You can insert text before or after the chapter number, and you can specify a numbering style.

If the document’s chapter number is set to continue from the previous document in the book, you may need to update the book’s numbering in order for the appropriate chapter number to appear.

Creation Date, Modification Date, and Output Date

Creation Date inserts the date or time the document is first saved; Modification Date inserts the date or time the document was last saved to disk; Output Date inserts the date or time the document starts a print job, exports to PDF, or packages the document. You can insert text before and after the date, and you can modify the date format for all date variables.

Date Format

You can type date formats directly into the Date Format box, or you can choose format options by clicking the triangle to the right of the box. For example, the date format “MM/dd/yy” displays as 12/22/07. By changing the format to “MMM. d, yyyy” the date will display as Dec. 22, 2007.

Date variables use the language applied to text. For example, the creation date may appear in Spanish text as “01 diciembre 2007” and in German as “01 Dezember 2007.”

Abbreviation

Description

Example

M

Month number, no leading zero

8

MM

Month number, leading zero

08

MMM

Abbreviated month name

Aug

MMMM

Full month name

August

d

Day number, no leading zero

5

dd

Day number, leading zero

05

E

Weekday name, abbreviated

Fri

EEEE

Full weekday name

Friday

yy or YY

Year number, last two digits

07

y (Y) or yyyy (YYYY)

Full year number

2007

G or GGGG

Era, abbreviated or expanded

AD or Anno Domini

h

Hour, no leading zero

4

hh

Hour, leading zero

04

H

Hour, no leading zero, 24‑hour format

16

HH

Hour, leading zero, 24‑hour format

16

m

Minute, no leading zero

7

mm

Minute leading zero

07

s

Second, no leading zero

7

ss

Second, leading zero

07

a

AM or PM, two characters

PM

z or zzzz

Time zone, abbreviated or expanded

PST or Pacific Standard Time

File Name

This variable inserts the name of the current file into the document. It’s commonly added to the slug area of the document for printing or used in headers and footers. In addition to Text Before and Text After, you can choose the following options.

Include Entire Folder Path

Select to include the full folder path with the file name. The standard path conventions for either Windows or Mac OS are used.

Include File Extension

Select to include the file name extension.

The File Name variable is updated whenever you save the file with a new name or to a new location. The path or extension does not appear in the document until it’s saved.

Image Name

The Image Name variable is useful for generating automatic captions from metadata. The Image Name variable includes a Metadata Caption variable type. If a text frame containing this variable is adjacent to or grouped with an image, the variable displays the metadata of that image. You can edit the Image Name variable to determine which metadata field is used.

Last Page Number

The Last Page Number type is useful for adding the total number of pages in a document to headers and footers using the common “Page 3 of 12” format. In this case, the number 12 is generated by the Last Page Number, and it’s updated whenever pages are added or removed. You can insert text before or after the last page number, and you can specify a numbering style. From the Scope menu, choose an option to determine whether the last page number in the section or document is used.

Note that the Last Page Number variable does not count the pages in the document.

Running Header (Paragraph or Character Style)

The Running Header variables insert the first or last occurrence on the page of the text to which the specified style is applied. If no text on the page is formatted with the specified style, the text from a previous page is used.

Custom Text

This variable is commonly used for inserting placeholder text, or a text string that may need to be changed quickly. For example, if you’re working on a project that uses a code name for a company, you can create a custom text variable for the code name. When you are able to use the real company name, you can simply change the variable to update all the occurrences.

To insert special characters in a text variable, click the triangle to the right of the text box.

Insert text variables

  1. Place the insertion point where you want the variable to appear.

  2. Choose Type > Text Variables > Insert Variable, and then choose the variable you want to insert.

The variable appears on the page as if you’d typed it in the document. For example, the Creation Date variable might appear as December 22, 2007. If you choose Type > Show Hidden Characters, the variable instance is surrounded by a box using the current layer color.

Note:

Text variables do not break across lines.

Delete, convert, and import text variables

Use the Text Variables dialog box to delete, convert, and import text variables.

Delete text variables

If you want to delete an instance of a text variable inserted in a document, simply select the variable and press Backspace or Delete. You can also delete the variable itself. When you do so, you can decide how to replace the variables inserted in the document.

  1. Choose Type > Text Variables > Define.

  2. Select the variable, and then click Delete.

  3. Specify how the variable will be replaced by specifying a different variable, converting the variable instances to text, or deleting the variable instances altogether.

Convert text variables to text

  • To convert a single instance, select the text variable in the document window, and then choose Type > Text Variables > Convert Variable To Text.

  • To convert all instances of the text variable in the document, choose Type > Text Variables > Define, select the variable, and then click Convert To Text.

Import text variables from another document

  1. Choose Type > Text Variables > Define.

  2. Click Load, and then double-click the document that has the variables you want to import.

  3. In the Load Text Variables dialog box, make sure that a check mark appears next to the variables you want to import. If any existing variable has the same name as one of the imported variables, choose one of the following options under Conflict With Existing Text Variable, and then click OK:

    Use Incoming Definition

    Overwrites the existing variable with the loaded variable and applies its new attributes to all text in the current document that used the old variable. The definitions of the incoming and existing variables are displayed at the bottom of the Load Text Variables dialog box so that you can view a comparison.

    Auto-Rename

    Renames the loaded variable.

  4. Choose OK, and then click Done.

Note:

You can also copy variables to other documents when you synchronize a book file.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy