将结构添加到 PDF

在选择“导出 Adobe PDF”对话框“常规”区域中的“创建带标签的 PDF”选项导出为 Adobe PDF 时,会使用一组可描述内容的结构标签自动为导出的页面添加标签,以标识诸如大标题、文章和图形等页面项目。要在导出之前添加其他标签或微调现有的标签,可以使用 InDesign 中的“标签”面板。“结构”窗格(“视图”>“结构”>“显示结构”)反映了这些更改。

在导出之前将标签添加到 InDesign 文档,可以提高 Adobe PDF 文档的可访问性和重复使用功能。如果 PDF 文档不包含标签,则用户在读取或重排此文档时,Adobe Reader 或 Acrobat 会尝试自动为此文档添加标签,但效果可能不好。如果在导出的 PDF 文件中没有获得所需效果,可以使用 Acrobat 6.0 Professional 及更高版本中的工具,编辑带标签的 PDF 文档的结构。要获得最新的工具,请使用 Acrobat 9 Professional。

在将标签应用到 PDF 导出文档时,这些标签不会控制导出为 PDF 的内容,这与使用 XML 导出类似。相反,标签会向 Acrobat 提供有关文档结构化内容的更多信息。

使用标签的优点

在导出为 PDF 之前将标签应用到文档,可以执行下列操作:

  • 将 InDesign 段落样式名称映射到 Acrobat 标记的 Adobe PDF 段落样式,可以创建可重排的 PDF 文件以便在手持设备和其他媒体上查看。

  • 标记并隐藏打印人工效果、文本和图像,以便它们不会在 Acrobat 中重排时显示。例如,如果为页面项目添加“人工效果”标签,则在手持设备上、小型显示器或大显示器上重排带标签的 Adobe PDF 文档的内容时,将不会显示此页面项目。

  • 向图形添加替换文本,以便可以使用屏幕阅读软件为视力不佳者朗读文本。

  • 使用可读字母替换图形字母,例如,花饰首字下沉。

  • 为一组文章提供标题,或者将文章和图形编组到文章中。

  • 排序文章和图形以确定读取顺序。

  • 识别表、设置了格式的列表和目录。识别属于不同文章的内容块。

  • 包含文本格式信息,例如字符的 Unicode 值、单词间距以及软连字符和硬连字符的识别。

标签如何影响重复使用和可访问性

Adobe PDF 文档的内容可重复用于其他用途。例如,您可以创建一个包含文本、表和图像的 Adobe PDF 报告文件,然后使用各种格式发布此文件:在显示器上全尺寸打印或读取、在手持设备上查看、通过屏幕阅读器朗读,以及作为 HTML 页面通过 Web 浏览器直接访问。能否方便、可靠地重复使用内容取决于文档的基本逻辑结构。

要确保可靠地重复使用和访问 Adobe PDF 文档,必须向其中添加标签。添加标签会将基本组织结构(即逻辑结构树)添加到文档。逻辑结构树是指文档内容的组织,例如标题页面、章、节和小节。它可以指出精确的读取顺序并改进导航功能(特别适合于较长、较复杂的文档),而不会更改 PDF 文档的外观。

对于无法查看或解码文档可视外观的用户,可通过使用逻辑结构树的辅助技术可靠地访问文档内容。多数辅助技术依靠此结构并以替换格式(如声音)传送内容和图像的含义。在未添加标签的文档中,不存在此类结构,Acrobat 必须根据首选项中的读取顺序选择推断结构。这种方法并不可靠,并且经常导致以错误的顺序读取页面项目或根本无法读取。

在 Acrobat 6.0 和更高版本中,标签显示在“标签”选项卡上,这些标签根据所标记元素的关系定义嵌套在此处。不能在 Acrobat Standard 中编辑标签。如果工作中需要直接处理标签,应升级到 Acrobat 9 Professional。有关更多信息,请参阅 Acrobat 帮助。

Acrobat 9 中“标签”选项卡上的逻辑结构树
Acrobat 9 中“标签”选项卡上的逻辑结构树

注意:

可以将 Adobe PDF 文件中所用的标签与 HTML 和 XML 文件中的标签进行比较。要进一步学习基本标签概念,请参阅可以在书店、图书馆以及 Internet 上获得的任何参考资料和书籍。

了解并优化重排

可以重排 PDF 文档以便在手持设备、小型显示器或大显示器上读取此文档,而无需在读取每行时水平滚动。

重排 Adobe PDF 文档时,某些内容可以载入重排的文档,某些内容则不可以。多数情况下,只能将可读的文本重排到重排的文档。可读文本包括文章、段落、表、图像和设置了格式的列表。不可以重排的文本包括表单、注释、数字签名字段和页面人工效果,例如页码、表头和表尾。同时包含可读文本和表单或数字签名字段的页面不会被重排。垂直文本水平重排。

作为作者,您可以通过为 PDF 文档添加标签来优化这些文档,以进行重排。添加标签可确保文本块重排并且其内容遵循适当的顺序,这样读者便可以浏览跨不同页面和不同栏的文章,而其他文章也不会中断此流程。读取顺序由结构树定义,您可以在“结构”窗格中对其进行更改。

标题和栏按照逻辑读取顺序重排。
标题和栏(顶部)按照逻辑读取顺序(底部)重排。

为页面项目添加标签

可以自动或手动为文本框架和图形添加标签。为页面项目添加标签后,可以使用“结构”窗格,通过将元素拖到层次结构中的新位置更改页面的顺序。如果在“结构”窗格中更改元素的顺序,这些更改将传递到 Adobe PDF 文件。在 Acrobat 中将 PDF 文件存储为 HTML 或 XML 文件时,元素的顺序会非常有用。将 InDesign 文档以 Dreamweaver (XHTML) 或 Digital Editions (EPUB) 格式导出时,此顺序也非常有用。

为页面项目自动添加标签

选择“添加未标记的项目”命令时,InDesign 会将标签添加到“标签”面板,并将“文章”和“图形”标签应用到某些未添加标签的页面项目。“文章”标签适用于所有未添加标签的文本框架,“图形”标签适用于所有未添加标签的图形。然后,可以将其他标签手动应用到文本的各个部分。但是,自动为页面项目添加标签不会保证这些项目在导出的 PDF 文件中相应地结构化。

  1. 选择“窗口”>“实用程序”>“标签”以显示“标签”面板。
  2. 选择“视图”>“结构”>“显示结构”以在“文档”窗口左侧显示“结构”窗格。
  3. 从“结构”窗格菜单中选择“添加未标记的项目”。
    “结构”窗格和“标签”面板中的标签
    “结构”窗格和“标签”面板中的标签

为页面项目手动添加标签

  1. 选择“窗口”>“实用程序”>“标签”以显示“标签”面板。
  2. 选择“视图”>“结构”>“显示结构”以在“文档”窗口左侧显示“结构”窗格。
  3. 从“结构”窗格菜单中选择“添加未标记的项目”。
  4. 选择文档中的页面项目。
  5. 在“标签”面板中选择一个标签。请注意针对某些导入标签的下列建议使用方法:

    伪像

    当在“重排”视图(仅显示带标签的项目)中查看导出的 PDF 文件时,可通过“人工效果”标签隐藏页面项目(例如,页码或不重要的对象);请参阅 Adobe Acrobat 文档。这对于在手持设备上或其他 PDF 阅读器中查看 PDF 文件尤其有用。

    单元格

    将此标签用于表单元格。

    图形

    将此标签用于置入的图形。选择“添加未标记的项目”时,“图形”标签将应用到文档中所有未添加标签的置入图形。

    段落标签(P、H、H1-H6)

    在“重排”视图中查看导出的 PDF 文本时,这些标签不会影响导出的 PDF 文本。但是,在某些情况下将 PDF 文件导出为 HTML 格式时,这些标签可能非常有用。

    文章结构标签 (PDF)文章

    将此标签用于文章。当选择“添加未标记的项目”时,“文章”标签将应用到所有未添加标签的文本框架。例如,假设有一个设置了三种段落样式格式的 InDesign 文档:标题 1、标题 2 和正文。首先,分别将这些段落样式映射到 H1、H2 和 P 标签。下一步,导出为 PDF。最后,在 Acrobat 中将 PDF 文档导出为 HTML 或 XML 时,标签为 H1、H2 和 P 的段落会相应地显示在 Web 浏览器中(例如,在 H1 中使用大号的粗体字母)。有关将 PDF 文档导出为 HTML 或 XML 的信息,请参阅 Adobe Acrobat 文档。

标记图形以用于屏幕阅读器软件

如果希望屏幕阅读器能够说明文档中解释重要概念的图形元素,则必须提供此说明。屏幕阅读器不会识别或读取图形和多媒体,除非将替换文本添加到标签属性中。

通过 Alt 文本属性可以在查看插图的位置创建可读取的替换文本。ActualText 与 Alt 文本相似,因为它显示在图像的位置。通过 ActualText 属性可以替换单词中的图像部分,例如,当别致的图像用于显示首字下沉效果时。在本例中,ActualText 属性允许将首字下沉字母作为单词的一部分进行读取。

导出为 Adobe PDF 时,Alt 文本和 ActualText 属性值存储在 PDF 文件中,并可以在 Acrobat 6.0 和更高版本中查看。然后,在 Acrobat 中将 PDF 文件存储为 HTML 或 XML 文件时,便可以使用此替换文本信息。有关更多信息,请参阅 Adobe Acrobat 文档。

  1. 如果需要,请选择“视图”>“结构”>“显示结构”以显示“结构”窗格,然后选择“窗口”>“实用程序”>“标签”以显示“标签”面板。
  2. 从“结构”窗格菜单中选择“添加未标记的项目”。
  3. 要确保图像被标记为“图形”,请选择此图像,然后在“标签”面板中选择“图形”。
  4. 选择“结构”窗格中的“图形”元素,然后从“结构”窗格菜单中选择“新建属性”。
  5. 对于“名称”,请键入 AltActualText(此功能区分大小写)。
  6. 对于“值”,请键入将替代图像显示的文本。

将页面项目编组为文章元素

使用“结构”窗格,将页面项目逻辑编组为“文章”元素。例如,如果一组文章跨多个页面,则可以创建将这些文章包含在一个组中的伞形元素。这些伞形元素称为结构化元素。也可以命名编组的文章。

注意:

但无法为编组的页面项目添加标签。

  • 要将页面项目编组,请从“结构”窗格菜单中选择“新建元素”,在“标签”面板中选择“文章”元素,然后在“结构”窗格中将页面元素拖到它的下面。
  • 要命名编组的项目,请在“结构”窗格中右键单击“文章”元素,并选择“新建属性”。对于“名称”,请键入 Title。对于“值”,请键入要使用的文章的名称。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Add structure to PDFs

When you export to Adobe PDF with the Create Tagged PDF option selected in the General area of the Export Adobe PDF dialog box, the exported pages are automatically tagged with a set of structure tags that describe the content, identifying page items such as headlines, stories, and figures. To add additional tags or to fine-tune existing ones before you export, you can use the Tags panel in InDesign. The Structure pane (View > Structure > Show Structure) reflects the changes.

You can improve the accessibility and reuse of Adobe PDF documents by adding tags to the InDesign document before you export. If your PDF documents don’t contain tags, Adobe Reader or Acrobat may attempt to automatically tag the document when the user reads or reflows it, but the results may be disappointing. If you do not get the results you want in the exported PDF file, you can use tools in Acrobat 6.0 Professional and later to edit the structure of tagged PDF documents. For the most advanced tools, use Acrobat 9 Professional.

When you apply tags to a document for PDF export, the tags do not control which content is exported to PDF, as is the case with XML export. Instead, the tags give Acrobat more information about the document’s structural contents.

Advantages of using tags

By applying tags to your document before exporting to PDF, you can do the following:

  • Map InDesign paragraph style names to Acrobat tagged Adobe PDF paragraph styles to create a reflowable PDF file for viewing on handheld devices and other media.

  • Mark and hide printing artifacts, text, and images so that they won’t appear when reflowed in Acrobat. For example, if you tag a page item as Artifact, the page item will not be displayed when you reflow the contents of a tagged Adobe PDF document on a handheld device, a small display, or a monitor at a large magnification.

  • Add alternative text to figures so that the text can be read aloud to the visually impaired with screen-reading software.

  • Replace graphic letters, such as ornate drop-caps, with readable letters.

  • Provide a title for a set of articles, or group stories and figures into articles.

  • Order stories and figures to establish a reading order.

  • Recognize tables, formatted lists, and tables of contents. Recognize which content blocks belong to the different stories.

  • Include text formatting information such as Unicode values of characters, spacing between words, and the recognition of soft and hard hyphens.

How tags affect reuse and accessibility

The content of an Adobe PDF document can be reused for other purposes. For example, you might create an Adobe PDF file of a report with text, tables, and images, and then use various formats to distribute it: for printing or reading on a full-sized monitor, for viewing on a handheld device, for reading out loud by a screen reader, and for direct access through a web browser as HTML pages. The ease and reliability with which you can reuse the content depends on the underlying logical structure of the document.

To make sure that your Adobe PDF documents can be reused and accessed reliably, you must add tags to them. Tagging adds an underlying organizational structure, or logical structure tree, to the document. The logical structure tree refers to the organization of the document’s content, such as title page, chapters, sections, and subsection. It can indicate the precise reading order and improve navigation—particularly for longer, more complex documents—without changing the appearance of the PDF document.

For people who are not able to see or decode the visual appearance of documents, assistive technology can access the content of the document reliably by using the logical structure tree. Most assistive technology depends on this structure to convey the meaning of content and images in an alternative format, such as sound. In an untagged document, no such structure exists, and Acrobat must infer a structure based on the reading order choices in the preferences. This method is unreliable and often results in page items read in the wrong order or not read at all.

The tags appear on the Tags tab in Acrobat 6.0 and later, where they are nested according to the relationship definitions for the tagged elements. You cannot edit tags in Acrobat Standard. If your work requires you to work directly with tags, you should upgrade to Acrobat 9 Professional. For more information, see Acrobat Help.

Logical structure tree on the Tags tab in Acrobat 9
Logical structure tree on the Tags tab in Acrobat 9

Note:

Tags used in Adobe PDF files can be compared to tags in HTML and XML files. To learn more about basic tagging concepts, see any of the many references and text books available in bookstores, in libraries, and on the Internet.

Understand and optimize reflow

You can reflow a PDF document to read it on handheld devices, smaller displays, or standard monitors at large magnifications, without having to scroll horizontally to read each line.

When you reflow an Adobe PDF document, some content carries into the reflowed document and some doesn’t. In most cases, only readable text reflows into the reflowed document. Readable text includes articles, paragraphs, tables, images, and formatted lists. Text that doesn’t reflow includes forms, comments, digital signature fields, and page artifacts, such as page numbers, headers, and footers. Pages that contain both readable text and form or digital signature fields don’t reflow. Vertical text reflows horizontally.

As an author, you can optimize your PDF documents for reflow by tagging them. Tagging ensures that text blocks reflow and that content follows the appropriate sequences, so readers can follow a story that spans different pages and columns without other stories interrupting the flow. The reading order is defined by the structure tree, which you can change in the Structure pane.

Headings and columns reflow in a logical reading order
Headings and columns (top) reflow in a logical reading order (bottom).

Tag page items

You can tag text frames and graphics automatically or manually. After you tag page items, you can use the Structure pane to change the order of your page by dragging elements to a new location within the hierarchy. If you change the order of the elements in the Structure pane, these changes are passed on to the Adobe PDF file. The order of the elements becomes useful when the PDF file is saved from Acrobat as an HTML or XML file. The order is also useful when you export an InDesign document for Dreamweaver (XHTML) or Digital Editions (EPUB) format.

Tag page items automatically

When you choose the Add Untagged Items command, InDesign adds tags to the Tags panel, and applies the Story and Figure tags to certain untagged page items. The Story tag is applied to any untagged text frames, and the Figure tag is applied to any untagged graphics. You can then manually apply other tags to sections of text. However, automatically tagging page items does not guarantee that the items will be structured accordingly in the exported PDF file.

  1. Choose Window > Utilities > Tags to display the Tags panel.
  2. Choose View > Structure > Show Structure to display the Structure pane, to the left of the Document window.
  3. Choose Add Untagged Items from the Structure pane menu.
    Tags in the Structure pane and Tags panel
    Tags in the Structure pane and Tags panel

Tag page items manually

  1. Choose Window > Utilities > Tags to display the Tags panel.
  2. Choose View > Structure > Show Structure to display the Structure pane, to the left of the Document window.
  3. Choose Add Untagged Items from the Structure pane menu.
  4. Select a page item in the document.
  5. Select a tag in the Tags panel. Note the following suggested uses for certain imported tags:

    Artifact

    The Artifact tag lets you hide page items, such as page numbers or unimportant objects, when viewing the exported PDF file in Reflow view, which displays only tagged items; see your Adobe Acrobat documentation. This is especially useful for viewing PDF files on a handheld device or in other PDF readers.

    Cell

    Use this tag for table cells.

    Figure

    Use this tag for placed graphics. The Figure tag is applied to all untagged graphics placed in your document when you choose Add Untagged Items.

    Paragraph tags (P, H, H1–H6)

    These tags have no effect on the exported PDF text when viewed in Reflow view. However, they can be useful in some situations when exporting a PDF file to HTML format.

    Story structure tag (PDF)Story

    Use this tag for stories. The Story tag is applied to all untagged text frames when you choose Add Untagged Items. For example, suppose you have an InDesign document formatted with three paragraph styles: Head1, Head2, and Body. First, map these paragraph styles to the H1, H2, and P tags, respectively. Next, export to PDF. Finally, when you export the PDF document to HTML or XML in Acrobat, the paragraphs tagged as H1, H2, and P will display appropriately (such as with large bold letters in H1) in a web browser. For information on exporting the PDF document to HTML or XML, see your Adobe Acrobat documentation.

Label graphics for use with screen-reader software

If you want screen readers to describe graphical elements that illustrate important concepts in the document, you must provide the description. Figures and multimedia aren’t recognized or read by a screen reader unless you add alternate text to the tag properties.

The Alt text attribute lets you create alternate text that can be read in lieu of viewing an illustration. ActualText is similar to Alt text in that it appears in lieu of an image. The ActualText attribute lets you substitute an image that is part of a word, such as when a fancy image is used for a drop cap. In this example, the ActualText attribute allows the drop cap letter to be read as part of the word.

When you export to Adobe PDF, the Alt text and Actual Text attribute values are stored in the PDF file and can be viewed in Acrobat 6.0 and later. This alternate text information can then be used when the PDF file is saved from Acrobat as an HTML or XML file. For more information, see your Adobe Acrobat documentation.

  1. If necessary, choose View > Structure > Show Structure to display the Structure pane, and choose Window > Utilities > Tags to display the Tags panel.
  2. Choose Add Untagged Items from the Structure pane menu.
  3. To make sure the image is tagged as Figure, select the image, and then select Figure in the Tags panel.
  4. Select the Figure element in the Structure pane, and then choose New Attribute from the Structure pane menu.
  5. For Name, type either Alt or ActualText (this feature is case-sensitive).
  6. For Value, type the text that will appear instead of the image.

Group page items into an Article element

Use the Structure pane to logically group page items into an Article element. For example, if a set of stories spans multiple pages, you can create an umbrella element that will contain these stories in a single group. These umbrella elements are called structural elements. You can also name your grouped articles.

Note:

You cannot tag grouped page items.

  • To group page items, select New Element from the Structure pane menu, select the Article element in the Tags panel, and then drag page elements underneath it in the Structure pane.
  • To name grouped items, right-click the Article element in the Structure pane and choose New Attribute. For Name, type Title. For Value, type the name of the article you want to use.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy