关于复合路径

可以将多个路径组合为单个对象,此对象称作复合路径。当要执行下列任一操作时,请创建复合路径:

  • 向路径中添加透明孔。

  • 使用“创建轮廓”命令将字符转换为可编辑的字体时,保留某些文本字符中的透明孔,如 oe。使用“创建轮廓”命令所创建的始终是复合路径。

  • 应用渐变或添加跨越多个路径的内容。尽管也可以使用“渐变”工具跨多个对象应用渐变,但向复合路径应用渐变通常是一个更好的方法,这是因为您以后可以通过选择任何子路径来编辑整个渐变。使用“渐变”工具在以后编辑时需要选择您最初选择的所有路径。

编辑复合路径的最佳做法

编辑复合路径时请注意下列准则:

  • 对路径属性(如描边和填色)的更改始终改变复合路径中的所有子路径 - 无论您使用哪个选择工具或选择多少个子路径。要保留想要组合的路径的个别描边和填色属性,请改用编组操作。

  • 在复合路径中,任何相对于路径的定界框定位的效果(如渐变或内部粘贴的图像)实际上是相对于整个复合路径(即包含所有子路径的路径)的定界框进行定位的。

  • 如果生成复合路径,然后更改它的属性并使用“释放”命令释放它,则释放的路径将继承复合路径的属性;它们并不会恢复它们的原始属性。

  • 如果文档包含具有许多平滑点的复合路径,则某些输出设备在打印它们时可能出现问题。如果出现问题,请简化或消除复合路径,或使用程序(如 Adobe Photoshop)将它们转换为位图图像。

  • 如果向复合路径应用填色,孔有时并不在您预期的位置显示。对于类似矩形这样的简单路径,很容易识别它的内部(即可以填色的区域),因为其为封闭路径中的区域。但对于复合路径,InDesign 必须确定由复合路径的子路径创建的交集是在内部(填色区域)还是在外部(孔)。每个子路径的方向(创建它的点的顺序)决定它定义的区域是在内部还是在外部。如果希望是孔的子路径已经填充(或反之),可以单击“路径查找器”面板中的“反转路径”,反转该子路径的方向。

包含两个子路径的复合路径
包含两个具有相同路径方向(左侧)和相反路径方向(右侧)的子路径的复合路径

创建复合路径

可以用两个或更多个开放或封闭路径创建复合路径。创建复合路径时,所有最初选定的路径将成为新复合路径的子路径。选定路径继承排列顺序中最底层的对象的描边和填色设置。

注意:

如果一个或多个选定对象包含内容(如文本或导入的图像),则复合路径的属性和内容由最底层对象的属性和内容决定。选定的不包含内容的较底层对象不会影响复合路径。

可以通过使用“直接选择”工具 选择某个子路径上的锚点来更改复合路径任何部分的形状。

  1. 使用“选择”工具 选择所有要包含在复合路径中的路径。
  2. 选择“对象”>“路径”>“建立复合路径”。选定路径的重叠之处,都将显示一个孔。

注意:

可以填充由子路径创建的孔或将子路径转换为孔。使用“直接选择”工具在要更改的子路径上选择一点。然后选择“对象”>“路径”>“反转路径”,或单击“路径查找器”面板中的“反转路径”。

在复合路径中将孔更改为填色

每个子路径的方向(创建它的点的顺序)决定它定义的区域是在内部(填色区域)还是在外部(空白)。如果复合路径中的孔有时不在您期望的位置显示,您可以反转该子路径的方向。

两个单独的封闭路径
两个单独的封闭路径(左侧)和同一复合路径的两个子路径(右侧);复合路径将中心圆用作孔

  1. 使用“直接选择”工具 ,选择复合路径中要反转的部分(或者该部分上的一点)。不要选择整个复合路径。
  2. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 选择“对象”>“路径”>“反转路径”。

    • 单击“路径查找器”面板中的“反转路径”。

分解复合路径

可以通过释放复合路径(将它的每个子路径转换为独立的路径)来分解复合路径。

  1. 使用“选择”工具 ,选择一个复合路径。
  2. 选择“对象”>“路径”>“释放复合路径”。

注意:

当选定的复合路径包含在框架内部,或该路径包含文本时,“释放”命令将不可用。

更改复合路径中的孔

可以通过反转子路径的方向消除由子路径创建的孔,或填充一个已创建孔的子路径。

  1. 使用“直接选择”工具 ,在要反转的子路径上选择一点。不要选择整个复合路径。
  2. 选择“对象”>“路径”>“反转路径”,或单击“路径查找器”面板中的“反转路径”。

创建复合形状

可以使用“路径查找器”面板(“窗口”>“对象和版面”>“路径查找器”)创建复合形状。复合形状可由简单路径或复合路径、文本框架、文本轮廓或其他形状组成。复合形状的外观取决于您所选择的路径查找器按钮。

路径查找器面板
路径查找器面板

A. 原始对象 B. 添加 C. 减去 D. 交叉 E. 排除重叠 F. 减去后方对象 

添加

跟踪所有对象的轮廓以创建单个形状。

减去

前面的对象在最底层的对象上“打孔”。

交叉

从重叠区域创建一个形状。

排除重叠

从不重叠的区域创建一个形状。

减去后方对象

后面的对象在最顶层的对象上“打孔”。

大多数情况下,生成的形状采用最顶层对象的属性(填色、描边、透明度、图层等)。但在减去形状时,将删除前面的对象。生成的形状改用最底层对象的属性。

将文本框架包含在复合形状中时,文本框架的形状将更改,但文本本身保持不变。要改变文本本身,请使用文本轮廓创建一个复合路径。

用作文本框架的复合形状
用作文本框架的复合形状(左侧)与从文本轮廓创建的复合形状(右侧)的对比

创建复合形状

可以将复合形状作为单个单元进行处理,也可以释放它的组件路径以单独处理每个路径。例如,可以将渐变填色应用于复合形状的某一部分,但不填充此形状的其余部分。

应用于形状的渐变
应用于复合形状的渐变(左侧)与应用于复合形状的某一部分的渐变(右侧)的对比

  1. 选择“窗口”>“对象和版面”>“路径查找器”以打开此面板。
  2. 选择要组合到复合形状中的对象。
  3. 在“路径查找器”面板的“路径查找器”部分中,单击按钮(如“添加”)。

也可以从“对象”>“路径查找器”子菜单中选择命令。

释放复合形状中的路径

  1. 选择复合形状。选择“对象”>“路径”>“释放复合路径”。复合形状随即分解为它的组件路径。

    注意:

    要重组组件路径而不丢失应用于各个路径的更改,请在“对象”菜单中选择“编组”,而不要选择“复合路径”>“建立”。

从文本轮廓创建路径

使用“创建轮廓”命令将选定文本字符转换为一组复合路径,您可以像编辑和处理任何其他路径那样编辑和处理这些复合路径。“创建轮廓”命令在为大号显示文字制作效果时使用,但很少用于正文文本或其他较小号的文字。

注意:

如果只希望将彩色描边或渐变填色或描边应用于文本字符,则不必将文本转换为轮廓。可以使用工具箱和“色板”、“颜色”或“渐变”面板将颜色和渐变直接应用于选定字符的描边或填色。

“创建轮廓”命令从实际的 Type 1、TrueType 或 OpenType 文件中获取字体轮廓信息。创建轮廓时,字符将在它们的当前位置进行转换,从而保留所有图形格式设置,如描边和填色。

注意:

一些字体制造商会阻止创建轮廓所需的信息。如果您选择这样的受保护字体并选择“文字”>“创建轮廓”,将显示一条消息,说明无法转换该字体。

将文字转换为轮廓时,文字将失去其提示 信息,此信息为轮廓字体中内置的说明,用于描述如何调整这些字体的形状,以便使系统在字号较小时也能使完美地显示或打印这些字体。因此,在字体较小或分辨率较低时,转换为轮廓的文字可能无法像未转换之前那样显示。

将文字转换为轮廓后,可以执行以下操作之一:

  • 通过使用“直接选择”工具 拖动各个锚点来改变字体。

  • 复制轮廓并使用“编辑”>“贴入内部”命令通过将图像粘贴到已转换的轮廓来给图像添加蒙版。

  • 将已转换的轮廓用作文本框,以便可以在其中键入或放置文本。

  • 更改字体的描边属性。

  • 使用文本轮廓创建复合形状。

处理文本轮廓
处理文本轮廓

A. 转换为文本轮廓前的文字字符 B. 其上粘贴了图像的文本轮廓 C. 用作文本框架的文本轮廓 

由于已转换的文本轮廓成为复合路径集,因此可以使用“直接选择”工具编辑已转换轮廓的各个子路径。还可以通过从复合路径中释放字符轮廓将它们分解为独立的路径。

将文本轮廓转换为路径

默认情况下,从文字创建轮廓将移去原始文本。但如果需要,可以在原始文本的副本上显示轮廓,这样将不会丢失任何文本。

选择文本框架中的文字字符并将其转换为轮廓时,生成的轮廓将成为与文本一起流动的(随文)定位对象。由于已转换的文本已不再是实际的文字,因此您将无法再使用“文字”工具突出显示和编辑字符。此外,与排版相关的控制将不再适用。确保您对转换为轮廓的文字的排版设置满意,并确保创建了原始文本的副本。

  1. 使用“选择”工具 选择文本框架,或使用“文字”工具选择一个或多个字符。
  2. 选择“文字”>“创建轮廓”。

将文本轮廓的副本转换为路径

  1. 使用“选择”工具 选择文本框架,或使用“文字”工具选择一个或多个字符。
  2. 在选择“文字”>“创建轮廓”时按住 Alt (Windows) 或 Option (Mac OS)。副本将不偏不倚地创建在原始轮廓上;如果需要,可使用“选择”工具将它拖开。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

About compound paths

You can combine several paths into a single object, called a compound path. Create a compound path when you want to do any of the following:

  • Add transparent holes to a path.

  • Preserve the transparent holes within some text characters, such as o and e, when you convert characters to editable letterforms using the Create Outlines command. Using the Create Outlines command always results in the creation of compound paths.

  • Apply a gradient, or add contents that span multiple paths. Although you can also apply a gradient across multiple objects using the Gradient tool, applying a gradient to a compound path is often a better method because you can later edit the entire gradient by selecting any of the subpaths. With the Gradient tool, later editing requires selecting all of the paths you originally selected.

Best practices for editing compound paths

Keep the following guidelines in mind as you edit compound paths:

  • Changes to path attributes (such as stroke and fill) always alter all subpaths in a composite path—it doesn’t matter which selection tool you use, or how many subpaths you select. To preserve the individual stroke and fill attributes of the paths you want to combine, group them instead.

  • In a compound path, any effect that is positioned relative to a path’s bounding box—such as a gradient, or an image pasted inside—is actually positioned relative to the bounding box of the entire compound path (that is, the path that encloses all of the subpaths).

  • If you make a compound path, then change its properties and release it, using the Release command, the released paths inherit the compound path’s properties; they don’t regain their original properties.

  • If your document contains compound paths with many smooth points, some output devices may have problems printing them. If so, simplify or eliminate the compound paths, or convert them to bitmap images using a program such as Adobe Photoshop.

  • If you apply a fill to a compound path, holes sometimes don’t appear where you expect them to. For a simple path like a rectangle, the inside, or the area you can fill, is easy to see—it’s the area within the enclosed path. However, with a compound path, InDesign must determine whether the intersections created by a compound path’s subpaths are inside (filled areas) or outside (holes). The direction of each subpath—the order in which its points were created—determines whether the area it defines is inside or outside. If a subpath is filled when you want it to be a hole, or vice versa, click Reverse Path in the Pathfinder panel to reverse the direction of that subpath.

Compound path containing two subpaths
Compound path containing two subpaths with same path directions (left) and opposite path directions (right)

Create a compound path

You can create a compound path from two or more open or closed paths. When you create a compound path, all of the originally selected paths become subpaths of the new compound path. The selected paths inherit the stroke and fill settings of the object farthest back in the stacking order.

Note:

If one or more selected objects have contents, such as text or imported images, the attributes and contents of a compound path are set by the attributes and contents of the object farthest back. Selected objects farther behind, without contents, won’t affect the compound path.

You can change the shape of any part of a compound path by using the Direct Selection tool to select an anchor point on one subpath.

  1. Use the Selection tool  to select all of the paths you want to include in the compound path.
  2. Choose Object > Paths > Make Compound Path. A hole appears wherever selected paths overlap.

Note:

You can fill a hole created by a subpath or turn a subpath into a hole. Using the Direct Selection tool, select a point on the subpath you want to change. Then select Object > Paths > Reverse Path or click Reverse Path in the Pathfinder panel.

Change holes to fills in a compound path

The direction of each subpath—the order in which its points were created—determines whether the area it defines is inside (filled areas) or outside (empty). If, in your compound path, holes sometimes don’t appear where you expect them to, you can reverse the direction of that subpath.

Two separate closed paths
Two separate closed paths (left) and two subpaths of the same compound path (right); the compound path uses the center circle as a hole

  1. With the Direct Selection tool , select the part of the compound path to reverse (or a point on that part). Do not select the entire compound path.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • Choose Object > Paths > Reverse Path.

    • Click Reverse Path in the Pathfinder panel.

Break up a compound path

You can break up a compound path by releasing it, which turns each of its subpaths into an independent path.

  1. Using the Selection tool , select a compound path.
  2. Choose Object > Paths > Release Compound Path.

Note:

The Release command is unavailable when the selected compound path is contained inside a frame, or when the path contains text.

Change the holes in a compound path

You can eliminate a hole created by a subpath or fill a subpath that has created a hole by reversing its direction.

  1. Using the Direct Selection tool , select a point on the subpath you want to reverse. Don’t select the entire compound path.
  2. Choose Object > Paths > Reverse Path, or click Reverse Path in the Pathfinder panel.

Create compound shapes

You create compound shapes using the Pathfinder panel (Window > Object & Layout > Pathfinder). Compound shapes can be made up of simple or compound paths, text frames, text outlines, or other shapes. The appearance of the compound shape depends on which Pathfinder button you choose.

Pathfinder panel
Pathfinder panel

A. Original objects B. Add C. Subtract D. Intersect E. Exclude Overlap F. Minus Back 

Add

Traces the outline of all objects to create a single shape.

Subtract

Objects in the front “punch holes” in the backmost object.

Intersect

Creates a shape from overlapping areas.

Exclude Overlap

Creates a shape from areas that do not overlap.

Minus Back

Objects in the back “punch holes” in the frontmost object.

In most cases, the resulting shape adopts the attributes (fill, stroke, transparency, layer, and so on) of the frontmost object. When you subtract shapes, however, objects in the front are deleted. The resulting shape takes on the attributes of the backmost object instead.

When you include a text frame in a compound shape, the shape of the text frame changes, but the text itself stays the same. To alter the text itself, create a compound path using text outlines.

Compound shape used as a text frame
Compound shape used as a text frame (left) compared to one created from a text outline (right)

Create a compound shape

You can work with a compound shape as a single unit or release its component paths to work with each separately. For example, you might apply a gradient fill to a part of the compound shape, but leave the rest of the shape unfilled.

Gradient applied to a shape
Gradient applied to a compound shape (left) compared to gradient applied to one part of the compound shape (right)

  1. Choose Window > Object & Layout > Pathfinder to open the panel.
  2. Select the objects you want to combine in a compound shape.
  3. Click a button (such as Add) in the Pathfinder section on the Pathfinder panel.

You can also choose a command from the Object > Pathfinder submenu.

Release paths in a compound shape

  • Select the compound shape. Choose Object > Paths > Release Compound Path. The compound shape is separated into its component paths.

    Note:

    To regroup component paths without losing changes you’ve applied to individual paths, choose Group in the Object menu, rather than Compound Paths > Make.

Create paths from text outlines

Use the Create Outlines command to convert selected text characters into a set of compound paths that you can edit and manipulate as you would any other path. The Create Outlines command is useful for creating effects in large display type, but it is rarely useful for body text or other smaller-size type.

Note:

If you simply want to apply a color stroke, or a gradient fill or stroke to text characters, you don’t need to convert the text to outlines. You can use the toolbox and the Swatches, Color, or Gradient panels to apply colors and gradients directly to the strokes or fills of selected characters.

The Create Outlines command gets its font outline information from the actual Type 1, TrueType, or OpenType files. When you create outlines, characters are converted in their current positions, retaining all graphics formatting, such as stroke and fill.

Note:

Some font manufacturers block the information needed to create outlines. If you select such a protected font and choose Type > Create Outlines, a message will explain that the font cannot be converted.

When you convert type to outlines, the type loses its hints—instructions built into outline fonts for adjusting their shapes, so that your system displays or prints them optimally at small sizes. Therefore, type converted to outlines may not display as well when rendered in small sizes or at low resolutions.

After converting type to outlines, you can do any of the following:

  • Alter the letterforms by dragging individual anchor points using the Direct Selection tool .

  • Copy the outlines and use the Edit > Paste Into command to mask an image by pasting it into the converted outlines.

  • Use the converted outlines as text frames, so that you can type or place text in them.

  • Change the stroke attributes of letterforms.

  • Use text outlines to create compound shapes.

Working with text outlines
Working with text outlines

A. Type character before conversion to text outline B. Text outline with image pasted into it C. Text outline used as a text frame 

Because converted text outlines become sets of compound paths, you can edit individual subpaths of converted outlines by using the Direct Selection tool. You can also break the character outlines into independent paths by releasing them from the compound path.

Convert text outlines to paths

By default, creating outlines from type removes the original text. However, if you prefer, you can make outlines appear over a copy of the original text, so that none of the text is lost.

When you select type characters in a text frame and convert them to outlines, the resulting outlines become anchored (inline) objects that flow with the text. Because the converted text is no longer true type, you will no longer be able to highlight and edit the characters using the Type tool. In addition, typographical controls will no longer apply. Make sure that you’re satisfied with the typographic settings of the type you convert to outlines, and be sure to create a copy of the original text.

  1. Use the Selection tool  to select a text frame, or use the Type tool to select one or more characters.
  2. Choose Type > Create Outlines.

Convert a copy of text outlines to paths

  1. Use the Selection tool  to select a text frame, or use the Type tool to select one or more characters.
  2. Hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) as you choose Type > Create Outlines. The copy is created exactly on top of the original; use the Selection tool to drag it away, if you like.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy