在中东和北非版本的此软件中,可通过阿拉伯语和希伯来语使用新的功能和改进功能。

Adobe World-Ready Composer

借助 Adobe World-Ready Composer,您可使用中东语言创建内容。您可以键入或混合键入阿拉伯语、希伯来语、英语、法语、德语、俄语和其他拉丁语。

可以在“段落”面板菜单中可用的书写器之间进行选择(“窗口”>“段落”>“面板菜单”)。例如,在 InDesign 中,您可以使用 Adobe World-Ready Paragraph Composer。或者,在 Illustrator 中使用中东语言单行书写器。

Adobe World-Ready Composer
Adobe World-Ready Composer

您也可以使用阿拉伯语和希伯来语名称来保存文件。

文本方向

要创建阿拉伯语和希伯来语内容,您可以将默认文本方向设置为自右向左 (RTL) 方向。并且,对于包含自左向右 (LTR) 文本的文档,您现在可以在两个方向之间无缝切换。

从“段落”面板中选择段落方向。

段落方向选择
段落方向选择

同一段落中包含多种语言时,您可以指定字符级的文本方向。此外,要在插入日期或数子,请在字符级指定文本方向。

从“字符”面板菜单中,选择“字符方向”,然后选择一种方向。

字符方向
字符方向

文章方向

如果使用阿拉伯语和希伯来语,文章的排版通常是从右到左。第一列必须位于框架的右侧,而后续列添加到左侧。如果您的版面包含混合内容,那么不同文章需要不同的方向。

“文章”面板(“窗口”>“文字和表”>“文章”)中,单击一个文章方向。

文章方向
文章方向

自动 Kashida 插入

在阿拉伯语中,通过添加 Kashidas 来对齐文本。Kashidas 会被添加到阿拉伯语字符中以延长字符串。空白处没有被修改。使用自动 Kashida 插入来对齐阿拉伯语文本的段落。

选择段落,并从“段落”面板(“窗口”>“文字和表”>“段落”)中的“插入 Kashida”下拉列表中选择一种设置。可用的选项包括:无、短、中等、长或文体。如果段落已对齐,将只会插入 Kashidas。此设置不适用于具有对齐设置的段落。

要向一组字符应用 Kashidas,请选择字符并从“字符”面板菜单中选择“Kashidas”。

自动 Kashidas
自动 Kashidas

连字

在阿拉伯语和希伯来语中,您可以向字符对自动应用连字。如果在给定的 Open Type 字体中有连字,则这些连字是特定字母对的印刷替代字符。

从“字符”面板菜单或“控制”面板菜单选择“连字”时,会产生该字体中定义的标准连字。

  1. 选择文本。
  2. 在“字符”面板菜单或“控制”面板菜单中选择“连字”。

不过,某些 Open Type 字体包含更多花饰和可选连字(选择“自由连字”后即可生成)。这些连字可在“字符面板”>“OpenType”>“自由连字”中找到。

启用连字
启用自动连字

变音符

在阿拉伯语中,音符或变音符是用来表示辅音长度或短元音的字形。变音符位于文字之上或之下。为获得更好的文本样式,或提高特定字体的可读性,您可以控制变音符的垂直或水平位置:

  1. 选择带有变音符的文本
  2. “字符”面板中,修改与文字关联的变音符的位置。您可以更改的值包括:“调整水平音符的位置”和“调整垂直音符的位置”。
更改变音符的位置
更改变音符的位置

从 Microsoft Word 中复制粘贴

您可以从 Microsoft Word 复制文本,并且将其粘贴至文档中。粘贴文本的对齐方式和方向将自动地设置为阿拉伯语或希伯来语文本的对齐方式和方向。

默认字体

安装中东或北非语言版本时,默认情况下,默认的键入字体将被设置为具体的安装语言。例如,如果您已经安装了启用英语/阿拉伯语的版本,默认字体将被设置为 Adobe Arabic。同样,如果您已经安装启用英语/希伯来语的版本,默认字体将被设置为 Adobe Hebrew(或在 Photoshop 中为 Myriad Hebrew)。

旧版字体支持情况

过去使用的字体(例如,AXT 字体),可以继续在此版本软件中使用。但是,建议在基于文本的元素中使用最新的 Open Type 字体。

默认情况下启用“丢失字形保护”(“编辑”>“首选项”>“高级文字”)。您所使用字体的字形不可用时,将自动处理文本。

数字类型

使用阿拉伯语或希伯来语时,您可以选择想要使用的数字类型。您可以在阿拉伯语、印度语和波斯语版本之间进行选择。

默认情况下,使用阿拉伯语时,自动选定印度语版本,使用希伯来语时,选择阿拉伯语文字数字。但是,您可以根据需要切换为阿拉伯数字:

  1. 在键入的文本中选择数字。
  2. 在“字符”面板中 (Ctrl + T),使用“数字”列表来选择数字必须显示的字体。

通过启用“键入阿拉伯文字时使用本地数字”选项,可以确保使用阿拉伯数字。要使用此选项,请选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“高级文字”。

数字类型选择
数字类型选择

连字

句子词语过多,在文本的一行内无法显示时,将自动换行至下一行。换行时,文本对齐类型有时会导致不必要的空格出现在该行,影响美观或语言正确性。连字符连接使您可以使用连字符在行的末尾拆分词。这种拆分方式可更好的给句子换行。

混合文本:Kashida 插入功能会影响混合文本中连字符连接的方式。启用 Kashida 插入时,会在适当位置插入 Kashida,并且不会用连字号连接非阿拉伯语文本。禁用 Kashida 功能时,只考虑对非阿拉伯语文本使用连字符连接。

希伯来语文本:允许使用连字符连接。要启用用连字符连接并自定义设置,请选择“段落面板”>“面板菜单”>“连字符连接设置”。

“连字符连接”选项
“连字符连接”选项

查找和替换

阿拉伯语和希伯来语用户可以执行全文搜索和替换。除了搜索和替换简单文本之外,您还可以搜索和替换具有特定特性的文本。这些特性可以包括变音符、Kashidas、特殊字符(例如,Alef)、不同语言的数字(例如,北印度语的数字)等等。

执行文本查找和替换:

  • InDesign“编辑”>“查找/更改”

在 InDesign 中,您可以使用“全角半角转换”选项卡(“编辑”>“查找/更改”)在阿拉伯语、北印度语和波斯语之间查找和替换数字。例如,您可以查找使用北印度语键入的数字,并将其转换为阿拉伯语。

字形

阿拉伯语和希伯来语用户可以应用默认字符集中的字形。但是,要从默认字符集或不同语言集浏览、选择和应用字形,请使用“字形”面板:

  • InDesign:“窗口”>“文字和表”>“字形”
  • Illustrator:“窗口”>“文字”>“字形”
浏览、选择和应用字形
浏览、选择和应用字形

对齐替代字

一种字体可以具有字母表中某些字母的替代形状。一些字母的字面变化一般可用于文体或书法目的。少数情况下,出于特殊需求会使用对齐替代字来对齐段落。

使用替代字时,可在段落级别启用对齐替代字。您也可以启用或禁用字符级的对齐替代字功能。只有集成有此功能的字体中,才可使用对齐替代字。因此,只有受支持的字体中才具有启用或禁用此功能的选项。

包含对齐替代字的阿拉伯语字体:Adobe Arabic、Myriad Arabic 和 Adobe Naskh。包含对齐替代字的希伯来语字体:Adobe Hebrew 和 Myriad Hebrew。

  • InDesign

段落级:“窗口”>“段落”面板> 面板菜单 >“字距调整”,然后从“字距调整”列表中选择一个选项。

字符级:“窗口”>“字符”面板 > 面板菜单>“对齐替代字”选项。

  • Photoshop

字符级:“窗口”>“字符”面板>“对齐替代字”复选框。

特殊中东字符的插入

阿拉伯语和希伯来语中的一些字符很难在文本中插入。此外,阿拉伯语和希伯来语键盘布局使得难以键入或包括这些字符。要插入像希伯来语省略号 (Geresh) 或 Maqaf 一样的字符,请从“字符”面板 > 面板菜单 >“插入特殊中东字符”中选择字符。

插入特殊的中东字符
插入特殊的中东字符

表方向

阿拉伯语和希伯来语用户可以设置插入文档中的表的方向。单元格和列顺序、默认语言和文本对齐方式会进行相应的设置。对于阿拉伯语用户,最右边的列是第一列,任何附加列都添加到表的最左列的左边。文章编辑器中也支持表方向 (Ctrl + Y)。

设置新表的方向:

  1. 单击“表”>“插入表”
  2. “插入表”对话框中,从“方向”列表中选择表方向。

更改现有表的方向:

  1. 将光标放置在表内
  2. 打开“表”面板 (Shift + F9),并单击“从左到右表”“从右到左表”图标以设置表的方向。

对于从右到左表,阿拉伯语和北非版本默认为阿拉伯语。希伯来语版本设置为希伯来语。对于从左到右表,阿拉伯语和希伯来语版本默认为英语。北非版本默认为法语。

装订方向

装订方向确定书籍沿其装订的边。使用从左到右语言编写的书籍在左侧装订。使用从右到左语言编写的文档则沿着书籍的最右侧边装订。

右侧装订书籍的页面布局
右侧装订书籍的页面布局

从右到左排版首选项

中性字符

阿拉伯语和希伯来语的一些字符的方向可能看起来含糊不清。字符方向不明晰可能会在字符串的方向和顺序上引起混乱。要确保此类字符的方向清楚、明确,请执行以下操作:

  1. 单击“编辑”>“首选项”>“从右到左”
  2. 选中“根据键盘输入强制中性字符方向”框。

光标控制

在使用键盘上的箭头键时,阿拉伯语和希伯来语用户可以控制光标移动的方向。此光标移动列表(“编辑”>“首选项”>“从右到左”)提供两个选项供您选择:

  • 可视:光标按照箭头键的方向移动。按下向右箭头时,屏幕上的光标向右移动。
  • 逻辑:光标按照键入语言的方向移动。在阿拉伯语和希伯来语中,当按下向右箭头时,光标向左移动(到从右到左语言中的下一个字符)。

页面和章节编号

阿拉伯语和希伯来语用户使用所在地区最常用的首选编号系统。最流行的编号系统有:

  • 阿拉伯语:阿拉伯字母和 Alef-Ba-Tah
  • 法语:希伯来语圣经标准和希伯来语非标准十进制

要选择或更改编号系统,请前往“版面”>“页码和章节选项”,然后从“样式”列表中选择。

对页面和章节进行编号
对页面和章节进行编号

画廊视图和文章编辑器中的排版方向

采用阿拉伯语或希伯来语时,您可以指示排版的方向。转到“编辑”>“首选项”>“文章编辑器显示”,并选中“指示排版方向”框,以启用此功能。启用此功能后,光标具有一个指示排版方向的箭头。

变音符着色

在阿拉伯语文本中,可以针对样式或其他目的对变音符进行不同的着色。例如,变音符可以在词或句子的特定方面进行强调。您可以使用“更改阿拉伯语变音符颜色”查询查找和更改变音符的颜色。

  1. 单击“编辑”>“查找/更改”
  2. “查询”列表中,选择“更改阿拉伯语变音符颜色”
  3. 使用“更改”“全部更改”“更改/查找”按钮,将旧的变音符替代为新颜色的变音符。

您可以根据需要修改和存储查询。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

New and improved features for working in Arabic and Hebrew are available in the Middle East and North African edition of this software.

Adobe World-Ready Composers

Adobe World-Ready composers enable you to create content in middle-eastern languages. You can type in, and mix between, Arabic, Hebrew, English, French, German, Russian, and other Latin languages.

You can choose between available composers from the Paragraph panel menu (Windows > Paragraph > panel menu). For example, in InDesign, you can use the Adobe World-Ready Paragraph Composer. Or in Illustrator, you can use the Middle Eastern Single-line Composer.

Adobe World-Ready Composers
Adobe World-Ready Composers

You can also save your files with Arabic and Hebrew names.

Text direction

To create content in Arabic and Hebrew, you can make the right-to-left (RTL) direction the default text direction. However, for documents that include left-to-right (LTR) text, you can now seamlessly switch between the two directions.

Select the paragraph direction from the Paragraph panel.

Paragraph direction selection
Paragraph direction selection

If you have a mix of languages in the same paragraph, you can specify the direction of text at a character level. Also, to insert dates or numbers, specify the direction of text at the character level.

From the Character panel menu, choose Character Direction and then select a direction.

Character direction
Character direction

Story direction

When you're working with Arabic and Hebrew languages, the story generally flows from the right to the left. The first column must be on right side of the frame, and subsequent columns are added to the left. If your layout contains mixed content, then different stories need a different direction.

From the Story panel (Window > Type & Tables > Story), click a story direction.

Story direction
Story direction

Automatic Kashida insertion

In Arabic, text is justified by adding Kashidas. Kashidas are added to arabic characters to lengthen them. Whitespace is not modified. Use automatic Kashida insertion to justify paragraphs of arabic text.

Select the paragraph and from the Paragraph panel (Window > Type & Tables > Paragraph), choose a setting from the Insert Kashida drop-down list. The options available are: None, Short, Medium, Long, or Stylistic. Kashidas are only inserted if the paragraph is justified. This setting is not applicable for paragraphs that have alignment settings.

To apply Kashidas to a group of characters, select the characters and choose Kashidas from the Character panel menu.

Automatic Kashidas
Automatic Kashidas

Ligatures

You can automatically apply ligatures to character pairs in Arabic and Hebrew. Ligatures are typographic replacement characters for certain letter pairs if they are available in a given Open Type font.

When you choose Ligatures from the Character panel menu or Control panel menu, a standard ligature defined in the font is produced.

  1. Select text.
  2. Choose Ligatures from the Character panel menu or the Control panel menu.

However, some Open Type fonts include more ornate, optional ligatures, which can be produced when you choose Discretionary Ligatures. These ligatures are found at Character panel > OpenType > Discretionary Ligatures.

Enable ligatures
Enable automatic ligatures

Diacritical marks

In the Arabic script, a diacritic or a diacritical mark is a glyph used to indicate consonant length or short vowels. A diacritical mark is placed above or below the script. For better styling of text, or improved readability of certain fonts, you can control the vertical or horizontal position of diacritical marks:

  1. Select text that has diacritical marks
  2. In the Character panel, modify the position of the diacritic marks relative to the script. Values you can change are, Adjust Horizontal Diacritic Position, and the Adjust Vertical Diacritic Position.
Change the position of diacritical marks
Change the position of diacritical marks

Copy-paste from Microsoft Word

You can copy text from Microsoft Word, and paste it directly into a document. The pasted text's alignment and direction is automatically set to that of the arabic or hebrew text.

Default fonts

When you install a Middle Eastern or North African version, the default typing font is set to the installation-specific language, by default. For example, if you have installed the English/Arabic-enabled version, the default typing font is set to Adobe Arabic. Similarly, if you have installed the English/Hebrew-enabled version, the default typing font is set to Adobe Hebrew (or Myriad Hebrew in Photoshop).

Legacy font support

Fonts that have been traditionally used (for example, AXT fonts) can continue to be used in this release of the software. However, it is recommended that newer Open Type fonts be used for text-based elements.

Missing Glyph Protection (Edit > Preferences > Advanced Type) is enabled by default. Text is handled automatically, where glyphs are not available in the font you are using.

Digit Types

When you are working in Arabic or Hebrew, you can select the type of digits you want to use. You can choose between Arabic, Hindi, and Farsi.

By default, in Arabic, the Hindi version is auto-selected, and in case of Hebrew, the Arabic type digits are selected. However, you can switch to Arabic digits, if necessary:

  1. Select the digits in the text typed.
  2. In the Character panel (Ctrl + T), use the Digits list to select the font that the digits must appear in.

You can ensure that Arabic digits are used by enabling the Use Native Digits when typing in Arabic Scripts option. To use this option, choose Edit > Preferences > Advanced Type.

Digits type selection
Digit type selection

Hyphenation

Sentences that have more words that can fit into one line of text automatically wrap into the next line. The type of text justification when wrapping occurs sometimes causes unnecessary spaces to appear in the line that are not aesthetically pleasing or linguistically correct. Hyphenation enables you to split the word at the end of a line, using a hyphen. This fragmentation causes the sentence to wrap into the next line in a better way.

Mixed text: The Kashida insertion feature affects how hyphenation occurs in mixed text. When enabled, Kashidas are inserted where applicable, and non-Arabic text is not hyphenated. When the Kashida feature is disabled, only non-Arabic text is considered for hyphenation.

Hebrew text: Hyphenation is allowed. To enable hyphenation and customize settings, choose Paragraph panel > Panel menu > Hyphenation Settings.

Hyphenation options
Hyphenation options

Find and replace

Arabic and Hebrew users can perform full text search and replace. In addition to searching and replacing simple text, you can also search and replace text with specific characteristics. These characteristics can include diacritical marks, Kashidas, special characters (for example, Alef), digits in different languages (for example, digits in Hindi), and more.

To perform text find-and-replace:

  • InDesign: Edit > Find/Change

In InDesign, you can use the Transliterate tab (Edit > Find/Change) to find and replace digits between Arabic, Hindi, and Farsi. For example, you can find digits typed in Hindi and convert them to Arabic.

Glyphs

Arabic and Hebrew users can apply glyphs from the default character set. However, to browse, select, and apply a glyph from the default character set or a different language set, use the Glyphs panel:

  • InDesign: Window > Type & Tables > Glyphs
  • Illustrator: Window > Type > Glyphs
Browse, select, and apply glyphs
Browse, select, and apply glyphs

Justification Alternates

A font can have alternative shapes of certain letters of the alphabet. These variations of the font face for some letters are generally available for stylistic or calligraphy purposes. In rare cases, justification alternates are used to justify and align paragraphs for specific needs.

Justification alternates can be turned on at a paragraph level, where alternates are used wherever possible. You can also turn on or off this feature at a character level. Justification alternates are available only in those fonts that have this feature integrated. Therefore, the option to turn them on or off is available only for supported fonts.

Arabic fonts that contain justification alternates: Adobe Arabic, Myriad Arabic, and Adobe Naskh. Hebrew fonts that contain justification alternates: Adobe Hebrew and Myriad Hebrew.

  • InDesign

Paragraph-level: Window > Paragraph panel > panel menu > Justification, and then choose an option from the Justification list.

Character-level: Window > Character panel > panel menu > Justification Alternate option.

  • Photoshop

Character-level: Window > Character panel > Justification Alternates checkbox.

Special Middle East characters insertion

Some characters in Arabic and Hebrew are difficult to insert in text. Also, Arabic and Hebrew keyboard layouts make it difficult to type or include these characters. To insert characters like a Hebrew apostrophe (Geresh) or Maqaf, select a character from Character panel > panel menu > Insert Special ME Character.

Insert a special ME character
Insert a special ME character

Table direction

Arabic and Hebrew users can set the direction of a table inserted in a document. Accordingly the order of cells and columns, default language, and the alignment of text is set. For an Arabic user, the rightmost column is the first column, and any additional columns are added beyond the leftmost column of the table. Table direction is also supported in the Story Editor (Ctrl + Y).

To set the direction of a new table:

  1. Click Table > Insert Table
  2. In the Insert Table dialog box, choose from the Direction list to select the table direction.

To change the direction of an existing table:

  1. Place the cursor inside a table
  2. Open the Table panel (Shift + F9), and click the Left-to-Right Table or Right-to-Left Table icons to set the direction of the table.

For Right-to-Left tables, the Arabic and North African versions default to Arabic language. The Hebrew version is set to Hebrew language. For Left-to-Right tables, the Arabic and Hebrew versions default to English language. The North African version defaults to French.

Binding directions

Binding direction determines the edge along which a book is bound. Books written in a left-to-right language are left-bound. Documents written in right-to-left language are bound along the rightmost edge of the book.

Page layout of a right-bound book
Page layout of a right-bound book

Right to Left writing preferences

Neutral characters

The direction of some characters in Arabic and Hebrew can appear ambiguous. Lack of clarity about the direction of characters can cause confusion in the direction and order of strings. To ensure that the direction of such characters is clear and unambiguous:

  1. Click Edit > Preferences > Right to Left
  2. Select the Force Neutral Character Direction According to the Keyboard Input box.

Cursor Control

Arabic and Hebrew users can control the direction that the cursor moves, when they use the arrow keys on the keyboard. This Cursor Movement list (Edit > Preferences > Right to Left) has two options that you can choose from:

  • Visual: The cursor moves in the direction of the arrow key. When the right arrow is pressed, the cursor on the screen moves to the right.
  • Logical: The cursor moves according to the direction of the language typed. In Arabic and Hebrew, when the right arrow is pressed, the cursor moves left (to the next character in a right to left language).

Page and chapter numbering

Arabic and Hebrew users use the most commonly preferred numbering systems in the region. The most popular numbering systems are:

  • Arabic: Arabic Abjad and Alef-Ba-Tah
  • French: Hebrew Biblical Standard and Hebrew Non-Standard Decimal

To select or change the numbering system, go to Layout > Numbering & Section Options, and then select from the Style list.

Numbering pages, sections, and chapters
Numbering pages, sections, and chapters

Writing direction in Gallery view and Story Editor

While in Arabic or Hebrew, you can indicate the direction in which you are writing. Go to Edit > Preferences > Story Editor Display, and select the Indicate Writing Direction box, to enable this feature. When this feature is enabled, the cursor has an arrow that indicates the direction of writing.

Diacritical coloring

In Arabic text, diacritical marks can be colored differently for stylistic or other purposes. For example, diacritical marks can be lay emphasis on a particular aspect of a word or sentence. You can find and change the color of diacritical marks using the Change Arabic Diacritic Color query.

  1. Click Edit > Find/Change
  2. From the Query list, select Change Arabic Diacritic Color
  3. Use the Change, Change All, or Change/Find buttons to replace older diacritical marks with the new colored diacritical marks.

You can modify and save the query as per your requirements.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy