将文档用于小册子打印

使用“打印小册子”功能,可以创建打印机跨页以用于专业打印。例如,如果正在编辑一本 8 页的小册子,则页面按连续顺序显示在版面窗口中。但是,在打印机跨页中,页面 2 与页面 7 相邻,这样将两个页面打印在同一张纸上、并对其折叠和拼版时,页面将以正确的顺序排列。

将文档用于小册子打印
页面按顺序显示在版面窗口中但以不同的顺序打印,以便页面可在折叠和装订后正确显示。

从版面跨页创建打印机跨页的过程称为拼版。拼版页面时,您可以更改设置以调整页面、边距、出血和爬出之间的间距。InDesign 文档的版面不会受到影响,因为拼版完全在打印流程中处理。未随机排布或旋转文档中的任何页面。

来自 Infiniteskills.com 的 Jeff Witchel 演示了通过桌面打印机打印小册子

注意:

您不能基于拼版的页面创建新文档。此外,如果您的文档包含多种页面大小,则无法使用“打印小册子”功能装订文档。

  1. 选择“文件”>“打印小册子”。
  2. 如果打印机预设具有所要的设置,请在“打印预设”菜单中选择此设置。

    要使用当前文档的打印设置(显示在“打印”对话框中),请从“打印预设”菜单中选择“当前文档设置”。

  3. 如果不想拼版整个文档,请选择“设置”区域中的“范围”并指定拼版中要包括的页面。

    使用连字符分开连续的页码,使用逗号分开不相邻的页码。例如,键入 3-7, 16 将拼版第 3 页至第 7 页和第 16 页。

    注意:

    如果文档包含多个章节,则应当在“范围”栏中输入章节页码(例如,Sec2:11)。

  4. 要更改设置(例如,印刷标记和颜色输出),请单击“打印设置”。使用左侧的选项,根据需要更改设置,然后单击“确定”。
  5. 在“打印小册子”对话框中,根据需要指定其他小册子设置选项,然后单击“打印”。

注意:

小册子中的页面数量始终是四的倍数。如果您正在打印到 PDF 打印机,则会在 PDF 中插入空白页面以创建小册子。

Adobe 推荐

Adobe 推荐
<a href="http://goo.gl/S6UUj">将小册子打印为 PDF</a>
SHSUWatkins

小册子类型

您可以选择三种拼版类型:双联骑马订、双联无线胶订和平订。

双联骑马订

创建双页、逐页面的计算机跨页。这些计算机跨页适合于双面打印、逐份打印、折叠和装订。InDesign 根据需要将空白页面添加到完成文档的末尾。选中“双联骑马订”时,“页面之间间距”、“页面之间出血”和“签名大小”选项将变灰。

“打印小册子”根据“装订”设置使用页面。如果文档具有“从右到左装订”设置,“打印小册子”将相应地使用页面。选择“文件”>“文档设置”以查看文档的“装订”设置。

小册子类型
使用“双联骑马订”样式为 24 页黑白新闻快讯创建打印机跨页,可生成 12 个跨页。

双联无线胶订

创建双页、逐页面的打印机跨页,它们适合指定签名大小。这些打印机跨页适合于双面打印、裁切和装订至具有粘合剂的封面。如果要拼版的页面的数量不能被签名大小整除,InDesign 则根据需要将空白页面添加到完成文档的后面。

分成四个签名的双联无线胶订
分成四个签名的双联无线胶订

如果小册子的封面是彩色的而里面的内容是黑白的,则可以从同一文档创建两个单独的拼版文件:一个用于封面、封二、封三和封底;一个用于小册子里面的 24 页。要生成彩色签名,请单击“设置”区域的“页面”区域中的“范围”,并键入 1‑227-28(或其他任何章节页码)。要生成黑白内容,请在“范围”文本框中键入 3-26

具有彩色封面的 28 页小册子
具有彩色封面的 28 页小册子

A. 封面的彩色签名 B. 黑白内容页面 

平订

创建适合于折叠的小册子或小册子的两页、三页或四页面板。选中“平订”选项时,“页面之间出血”、“爬出”和“签名大小”将变灰。

例如,如果要为传统的六面三折页小册子创建打印机跨页,请选择“三联平订”。在以前只能将三折设置为具有三栏的单个页面。而使用 InDesign 拼版,可以简单地创建每个面板大小的页面。

三联平订
三联平订

用于小册子打印的间距、出血和边距选项

您可以更改“打印小册子”对话框的“设置”区域中的下列选项。

页面之间间距

指定页面之间的间隙(左侧页面的右边和右侧页面的左边)。您可以为除“骑马钉”外的所有小册子类型指定“页面之间间距”值。

对于无线胶订文档,如果进行爬移(使用负值),则最小的“页面之间间距值”是“爬出”值的宽度。如果手动创建签名(例如,当同一文档中具有不同的材料时),则可以输入“页面之间间距”值,为属于不同签名的跨页指定开始爬出值。

页面之间出血

指定用于允许页面元素占用“无线胶订”打印机跨页样式之间间隙的间距大小。(此选项有时称为内出血。) 此栏接受 0 至“页面之间间距”值的一半之间的值。只有选中“双联无线胶订”时,才可以指定此选项。

爬出

指定为适应纸张厚度和折叠每个签名所需的间距大小。大多数情况下,您将要指定负值来创建推入效果。可以为“双联骑马订”和“双联无线胶订”类型指定“爬出”。(请参阅了解爬出。)

签名大小

指定双联无线胶订文档的每个前面页面的数量。如果要拼版的页面的数量不能被“签名大小”值整除,将根据需要将空白页面添加到文档的末尾。

自动调整以适合标记和出血

允许 InDesign 计算边距以容纳出血和当前设置的其他印刷标记选项。选中此选项时,“边距”下的栏将变灰,但它们反映将用于适合标记和出血的实际值。如果取消选择此选项,则可以手动调整边距值。

边距

指定裁切后实际打印机跨页四周间距大小。要为“上”、“下”、“左”和“右”指定单个值,请取消选择“自动调整以适合标记和出血”,并增大这些值以在超出默认标记和出血范围之外插入额外空间。(减小这些值可能导致剪切标记和出血。)可以为所有小册子打印类型指定边距值。

打印空白打印机跨页

如果要拼版的页面的数量不能被“签名大小”值整除,则将空白页面或跨页添加到文档的末尾。使用此选项可确定是否打印文档末尾的这些空白跨页。请注意,打印文档中的其他空白页面由“打印”对话框中的“打印空白页面”选项控制。

了解爬出

爬出指定页面从书脊移动以适应纸张厚度与骑马订和无线胶订文档中的纸张折叠的距离。InDesign 将最后一页的“封面”视为最外面的打印机跨页,而将“中插”视为最里面的打印机跨页。术语折手 表示两个打印机跨页:折手的正面和折手的背面。爬出增量 等于指定的爬出值除以总的折手数减去一。

在您提供正爬出值时,不会调整中插,但是外表单中的页面会远离书脊。当您提供负爬出值时,不会调整封面,但是内表单中的页面会靠近书脊。

例如,16 页的 InDesign 文档可以生成八个打印机跨页或四个折手。第一折手的正面将包含第一个打印机跨页(页面 16 和 1),而第一折手的背面将包含第二个打印机跨页(页面 2 和 15)。

如果此示例中的爬出值为 24 磅(为了说清楚问题而有些夸大),则爬出增量将为每折手 8 磅(24 除以 3)。应用到最里折手的爬出值是 24 磅,应用到第三折手的爬出值是 16 磅,应用到第二折手的爬出值是 8 磅。不会对最外的第一折手应用爬出。

每个连续折手的爬出大小按爬出增量减小。总之,最外面折手上的每个页面从书脊移动 12 磅(此页面的 24 磅爬出值的一半),第三折手上每个页面从书脊移动 8 磅(此页面的 16 磅爬出值的一半),第二折手上每个页面从书脊移动 4 磅(此页面的 8 磅爬出值的一半)。

预览或查看小册子打印小结

“打印小册子”对话框的“预览”区域允许查看由选择拼版样式创建的打印机跨页的彩色缩览图。也可以查看在“打印”对话框中指定的印刷标记。

  1. 选择“文件”>“打印小册子”。
  2. 执行以下操作之一:
    • 单击对话框左侧的“预览”。要翻转打印机跨页,请单击滚动箭头。单击向左滚动箭头可逐个跨页后退。也可以拖动滚动框更改打印机跨页。

    • 单击“打印小册子”对话框左侧的“小结”以查看当前小册子设置的小结。检查任何冲突设置的“小结”区域的底部。

注意:

如果单击“打印设置”并更改“打印”对话框中的设置,则可以在“预览”区域中观察已修改设置的效果。

对小册子打印进行疑难解答

打印小册子时要注意解决下列问题。

无法创建新文档

很遗憾,您无法使用拼版的页面创建新 InDesign 文档。您可以打印拼版的文档或创建 PDF。

不包括空白页面

您可以在文档中添加空白页面,以确保每个打印机跨页拥有足够的页面。但是,如果这些页面不包含任何文本或对象,则系统可能无法识别它们,并且附加的空白页面将会添加到文档的末尾。要确保您添加的空白页面包含在拼版的文档中,请单击“打印小册子”对话框中的“打印设置”,然后选中“打印空白页面”并单击“确定”。

打印双面页(不使用双面打印机)

使用 Adobe Acrobat 或 InDesign 中的“仅奇数页”和“仅偶数页”选项。完成一组打印后,将这些页面翻过来,载入打印机,然后打印其余的页面。为了获得最佳的打印结果,请先打印一个测试文档以了解应向打印机添加哪种页面方向和顺序。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Impose a document for booklet printing

The Print Booklet feature lets you create printer spreads for professional printing. For example, if you’re editing an 8-page booklet, the pages appear in sequential order in the layout window. However, in printer spreads, page 2 is positioned next to page 7, so that when the two pages are printed on the same sheet, folded, and collated, the pages end up in the appropriate order.

Impose a document for booklet printing
Pages appear in sequence in the layout window, but are printed in a different order so that they appear correct when folded and bound.

The process of creating printer spreads from layout spreads is called imposition. While imposing pages, you can change settings to adjust spacing between pages, margins, bleed, and creep. The layout of your InDesign document is not affected, because the imposition is all handled in the print stream. No pages are shuffled or rotated in the document.

Jeff Witchel from Infiniteskills.com demonstrates Printing booklets from your desktop printer.

Note:

You cannot create a new document based on the imposed pages. In addition, if your document includes multiple page sizes, you cannot use Print Booklet to impose a document.

  1. Choose File > Print Booklet.
  2. If a printer preset has the settings you want, choose it in the Print Preset menu.

    To use the print settings (as they appear in the Print dialog box) of the current document, choose Current Document Settings from the Print Preset menu.

  3. If you don’t want the entire document to be imposed, select Range in the Setup area and specify which pages to include in the imposition.

    Use hyphens to separate consecutive page numbers, and commas for nonadjacent page numbers. For example, typing 3-7, 16 imposes pages 3 through 7 and 16.

    Note:

    If you have divided the document into sections of page numbers, you should enter section page numbers (such as Sec2:11) in the Range field.

  4. To change settings such as printer’s marks and color output, click Print Settings. Using the options on the left, change settings as needed, and then click OK.
  5. In the Print Booklet dialog box, specify other booklet setup options as appropriate, and then click Print.

Note:

The number of pages in a booklet is always a multiple of four. If you are printing to a PDF printer, blank pages are inserted in the PDF to create the booklet.

Adobe recommends

Adobe recommends
<a href="http://goo.gl/S6UUj">Print Booklet to PDF</a>
SHSUWatkins

Booklet types

You can choose three types of imposition: 2-up Saddle Stitch, 2-up Perfect Bound, and Consecutive.

2-up Saddle Stitch

Creates two-page, side-by-side printer spreads. These printer spreads are appropriate for printing on both sides, collating, folding, and stapling. InDesign adds blank pages as needed to the end of the finished document. The Space Between Pages, Bleed Between Pages, and Signature Size options are dimmed when 2‑up Saddle Stitch is selected.

Print Booklet imposes pages based on the Binding setting. If the document has a Right to Left Binding setting, Print Booklet will impose pages accordingly. Choose File > Document Setup to view the document’s Binding setting.

Booklet types
Creating printer spreads for a 24‑page black-and-white newsletter using the 2‑up Saddle Stitch style yields 12 spreads.

2-up Perfect Bound

Creates two-page, side-by-side printer spreads that fit within the specified signature size. These printer spreads are appropriate for printing on both sides, cutting, and binding to a cover with adhesive. If the number of pages to be imposed is not evenly divisible by the signature size, InDesign adds blank pages as needed to the back of the finished document.

2-up Perfect Bound divided in four signatures
2-up Perfect Bound divided in four signatures

If a booklet has a color cover and black-and-white insides, you can create two separate impositions from the same document: one for the front cover, inside front cover, inside back cover, and back cover; and one for the 24 pages inside the booklet. To produce the color signature, click Range in the Pages area of the Setup area, and type 1‑2, 27-28 (or whatever the section page numbers are). To produce the black-and-white insides, type 3‑26 in the Range text box.

28-page booklet with a color cover
28-page booklet with a color cover

A. Color signature for cover B. Black-and-white inside page 

Consecutive

Creates a two-, three-, or four-page panel appropriate for a foldout booklet or brochure. The Bleed Between Pages, Creep, and Signature Size are dimmed when a Consecutive option is selected.

For example, if you want to create printer spreads for a traditional six-panel, trifold brochure, choose 3-up Consecutive. You may be accustomed to setting up trifolds as one page with three different columns. With InDesign imposition, you can simply create pages that are the size of each panel.

3-Up Consecutive
3-Up Consecutive

Spacing, bleed, and margin options for booklet printing

You can change the following options in the Setup area of the Print Booklet dialog box.

Space Between Pages

Specifies the gap between pages (the right side of the left page and the left side of the right page). You can specify a Space Between Pages value for all the booklet types except Saddle Stitch.

For Perfect Bound documents, if you are creeping in (with a negative value), the minimum Space Between Pages value is the width of the Creep value. If you’re manually creating signatures (for example, if there are different stocks in the same document), you can enter a Space Between Pages value to specify a starting creep for spreads that belong to different signatures.

Bleed Between Pages

Specifies the amount of space used to allow page elements to encroach the gap in Perfect Bound printer spread styles. This option is sometimes referred to as crossover.) The field accepts values between 0 and half the Space Between Pages value. You can specify this option only when 2-up Perfect Bound is selected.

Creep

Specifies the amount of space necessary to accommodate paper thickness and folding on each signature. In most cases, you’ll want to specify a negative value to create a push-in effect. You can specify Creep for 2-up Saddle Stitch and 2-up Perfect Bound booklet types. (See Understanding creep.)

Signature Size

Specifies the number of pages in each signature for 2-up Perfect Bound documents. If the number of pages to be imposed is not evenly divisible by the Signature Size value, blank pages are added to the end of the document as necessary.

Automatically Adjust To Fit Marks And Bleeds

Lets InDesign calculate the margins to accommodate the bleeds and the other printer mark options currently set. The fields under Margins are dimmed when this option is selected, but they reflect the actual values that will be used to fit marks and bleeds. If you deselect this option, you can adjust the margin values manually.

Margins

Specifies the amount of space that surrounds the actual printer spread after trimming. To specify individual values for Top, Bottom, Left, and Right, deselect Automatically Adjust To Fit Marks And Bleeds, and increase the values to insert extra space beyond the default marks and bleeds. (Decreasing the values may result in clipping the marks and bleeds.) You can specify margin values for all booklet printing types.

Print Blank Printer Spreads

If the number of pages to be imposed is not evenly divisible by the Signature Size value, blank pages or spreads are added to the end of the document. Use this option to determine whether those blank spreads at the end of the document are printed. Note that printing other blank pages in the document is controlled by the Print Blank Pages option in the Print dialog box.

Understanding creep

Creep specifies the distance pages move from the spine to accommodate paper thickness and folding in Saddle Stitch and Perfect Bound documents. InDesign considers the “cover” of the final piece to be the outermost printer spread, while the “centerfold” is considered to be the innermost printer spread. The term sheet represents two printer spreads: the front of the sheet and the back of the sheet. The creep increment is calculated by dividing the specified creep value by the total number of sheets minus one.

When you provide a positive creep value, the centerfold is not adjusted, but the pages on the outer sheets move away from the spine. When you provide a negative creep, the cover is not adjusted, but the pages on the inner sheets move toward the spine.

For example, a 16-page InDesign document could yield eight printer spreads, or four sheets. The front of the first sheet will consist of the first printer spread (pages 16 and 1) while the back of the first sheet will consist of the second printer spread (pages 2 and 15).

If the creep value in this example is 24 points (an exaggerated amount for the sake of clarity), the creep increment is 8 points per sheet (24 divided by 3). The amount of creep applied to the innermost sheet is 24 points, the amount of creep applied to the third sheet is 16 points, and the amount of creep applied to the second sheet is 8 points. No creep will be applied to the first outermost sheet.

The amount of creep for each successive sheet is decreased by the creep increment. In summary, each page on the innermost sheet is moved 12 points (half of the 24-point creep value for this sheet) away from the spine, each page on the third sheet is moved 8 points (half of the 16-point creep value for this sheet) away from the spine, and each page on the second sheet is moved 4 points (half of the 8-point creep value for this sheet) away from the spine.

Preview or view a summary of booklet printing

The Preview area of the Print Booklet dialog box lets you review color thumbnails of the printer spreads created by your selected imposition style. You can also see the printer’s marks you’ve specified in the Print dialog box.

  1. Choose File > Print Booklet.
  2. Do any of the following:
    • Click Preview on the left side of the dialog box. To flip through the printer spreads, click the scroll arrows. Click the left scroll arrow to go backwards from spread to spread. You can also drag the scroll box to change printer spreads.

    • Click Summary on the left side of the Print Booklet dialog box to view a summary of current booklet settings. Check the bottom of the Summary area for any conflicting settings.

Note:

If you click Print Settings and change the settings in the Print dialog box, you can observe the effect of the modified settings in the Preview area.

Troubleshoot booklet printing

Note these issues to address when printing booklets.

Can’t create new document

Unfortunately, you can’t create a new InDesign document with the imposed pages. You can print the imposed document or create a PDF.

Blank pages not included

You may add blank pages in the middle of a document to make sure that there are enough pages for each printer spread. However, if these pages contain no text or objects, they may not be recognized, and additional blank pages are added at the end of the document. To make sure that the blank pages you added are included in the imposed document, click Print Settings in the Print Booklet dialog box, and then select Print Blank Pages and click OK.

Printing double-sided pages without a duplex printer

Use the Odd Pages Only and Even Pages Only options in either Adobe Acrobat or InDesign. After one set is printed, flip over the pages, load it in the printer, and print the rest of the pages. For best results, print a test document to see which direction and order the pages should be added to the printer.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy