Asset settings give an organization control over how its employees share its assets outside the organization. The IT administrator can select a restrictive setting that limits employees from using specific sharing features within Creative Cloud and Document Cloud. Asset settings are used along with other organizational policy enforcement systems (not provided by Adobe) to ensure that assets are only shared with appropriate external individuals and organizations.
Asset settings only apply to users with Enterprise IDs or Federated IDs in your organization.
- No restrictions
- You can keep this default setting whereby users are allowed to share public links and collaborate on shared folders with anyone inside or outside the organization.
- Recommended for enterprises who trust their employees to have freedom, control, and access to every Creative Cloud and Document Cloud feature.
- No public link sharing
- You can restrict public link sharing and any other public publish option (For example, Publish to Behance, Facebook).
- Recommended for enterprises who want to prevent accidental public sharing outside the organization but still want access to some collaboration features.
- Sharing only to domain users
- You can restrict invitation-based sharing to recipients in the claimed domains, trusted domains, and whitelisted domains. After you set this policy, the users are prevented from sharing organization-owned assets with external users who are not in the list of allowed domains.
- Recommended for enterprises who need tight control over which external domains exactly can access organization assets.
Restricting sharing with Asset Settings starts a process that takes time proportional to the number of users in the organization and the number of sharing relationships that have been established. For some Adobe products and services, it also involves invalidating cached entries in CDNs and removing preview images from slack. It can take up to 24 hours for the Asset Settings to fully take effect.
Asset Settings are not a digital rights management system (DRM) or a complete asset protection system. Employees with access to certain assets can still copy those assets and provide them to others outside the organization using systems not controlled or managed by Adobe.
Before you turn on sharing restrictions, consider the impact it has on your end users. In addition to reduced functionality in certain applications, end users experience error messages when using this functionality. Also, users must be on the latest version of InDesign, XD, and Acrobat to encounter informative error messages when they attempt to use the reduced functionality. Otherwise, the users see inaccurate error messages.
After you choose a setting, you cannot stop or reverse the consequent deletion process. If you choose No public link sharing, all existing public links are removed and users with these links can no longer access the linked content. If you choose Sharing only to domain users, all existing folder or document collaborations are revoked.
Below are the publishing functionalities within Creative Cloud and Document Cloud applications that are impacted when you select No public link sharing or Sharing only to domain users described above. The exception is that collaboration on shared folders and documents cannot be disabled for users in the claimed domains, trusted domains, and whitelisted domains of an organization.
- If you choose No restrictions or No public link sharing, collaborative features (such as send private invites in Adobe XD) are not impacted.
- If you choose Sharing only to domain users, users can collaborate only with users in the list of allowed domains.
Creative Cloud applications
|Creative Cloud Assets||Collaborate, Share to Slack, Send Link
|Creative Cloud Libraries||Collaborate, Share to Slack, Send Link
|Adobe XD||Publish Services, Invitation Services|
|Adobe Color||Publish theme|
|Creative Cloud mobile app||Create link, Collaborate|
You can choose from three levels of restrictions. Once you choose a more restrictive setting, you cannot stop or undo the loss of existing public links or shared folder or document collaborations.
If you select Sharing only to domain users, ensure that you define your whitelisted domains to avoid losing all existing collaborations.
Sharing Options Restrictions Impact on existing links and collaborations No restrictions Users are allowed to create public links and collaborate on shared folders and documents with anyone.
No impact. No public link sharing Prevents users from creating public links. Deletes all existing public links. Once this process starts, you cannot stop or undo it. Sharing only to domain users Prevents users from creating public links and restricts collaboration on shared documents and folders only to users in trusted, claimed, or whitelisted domains. Deletes all existing public links and deletes all existing collaborations on shared documents and folders with users who are not in an allowed domain. Once this process starts, you cannot stop or undo it.
If you want your users to continue sharing organization-owned assets with specific external organizations or individuals, do the following.
- For an external organization such as an agency: Add the agency’s domain to the whitelist of domains under Asset Settings in the Adobe Admin Console.
- For a freelancer: Issue the individual an Adobe Enterprise ID or Federated ID from your organization.
Whitelisted Domains are the domains that are safe to collaborate with. If you have selected Sharing Only to Domain Users, you can add domains to the Whitelisted Domains.
To remove domains from the list, select the check box to the left of the domain names, and click Remove Domains. Click Remove in the confirmation dialog box that follows.
The domain name is removed from the Whitelisted Domains. If you have Sharing Only to Domain Users as the selected sharing option, any shares to the removed domain are revoked.
Removing domains from the whitelist deletes all existing collaborations on shared documents and folders between users in that domain and the users in your organization. Once this process starts, you cannot stop or undo it.
Although Adobe strongly recommends that each user must be a member in only one organization, it is possible for users to be members of multiple organizations. For users in multiple organizations, there can be an ambiguity around which Asset Setting options apply. This ambiguity can be avoided by ensuring each user is a member of a claimed domain associated with one of the organizations.
If a user is a member of multiple organizations and not in a claimed domain, no sharing restrictions are applied to that user.