组织、查看、管理和修剪素材项目

“项目”面板中列出了合成和素材项目。与“时间轴”面板和“效果控件”面板中的项目不同,“项目”面板中的项目顺序对您所创建的影片的外观无影响。但是,如果您愿意,您可以组织素材项目和合成,包括使用文件夹组织它们。纯色素材项目将自动放在“纯色”文件夹中。

您在“项目”面板中创建的文件夹只位于“项目”面板中。可以展开一个文件夹来显示其中的内容,也可以将一个文件夹放在其他文件夹内。要将一个文件或文件夹移至“项目”面板的顶层,请将其拖动到面板顶端的灰色信息区域。

可以使用“项目”面板中的搜索字段来查找符合各种条件的素材项目,如缺少源文件的素材项目。请参阅在“时间轴”、“项目”以及“效果和预设”面板中搜索和过滤

如需关于在“项目”面板中组织资源的有用视频教程,请参阅由 Jeff Sengstack 和 Infinite Skills 提供的此视频教程

用于管理素材项目的脚本

Jeff Almasol 在他的 redefinery 网站上提供了一个脚本,该脚本可以将有关素材项目或图层的指定信息自动写入“项目”面板或“时间轴”面板中各个项的“注释”字段。

Christopher Green 在他的网站上提供了一个脚本 (Project_Items_Renamer.jsx),您可以使用该脚本重命名在“项目”面板中选择的合成和素材项目。您可以搜索和替换名称中的文本,在名称的开头或结尾附加字符,或者从名称的开头或结尾修剪掉指定的字符数。

Lloyd Alvarez 在 After Effects Scripts 网站上提供了一个脚本,您可以使用该脚本搜索 After Effects 项目以及替换素材项目源的文件路径。这便于交换出源文件,在移动源后更新项目,或者在将项目移至不同的计算机系统后更新项目。

显示项目信息

  • 要显示某个素材项目或合成的信息,请在“项目”面板中选择它。“项目”面板顶端缩略图的旁边将显示相关信息。
  • 要显示某个素材项目的文件创建者 ID,请在“项目”面板中按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或按住 Option 键 (Mac OS) 并单击该项目。

创建文件夹

  1. 选择“文件”>“新建”>“新建文件夹”,或单击“项目”面板底部的“新建文件夹”图标

重命名和排序项目

  • 要重命名合成、素材项目或文件夹,请执行以下操作之一:
    • 在“项目”面板中选择该项目,按 Enter 键 (Windows) 或 Return 键 (Mac OS),输入新名称。

    • 右键单击 (Windows) 或按住 Control 键并单击 (Mac OS) 该项目,选择“重命名”,输入新名称。

  • 要重命名“注释”列,请右键单击 (Windows) 或按住 Control 键并单击 (Mac OS) 列标题,然后选择“重命名此项”。

注意:

可以使用“注释”列创建自定义排序选项。重命名该列,针对每个项目(例如,摄像机编号)输入相应信息,然后依照该列排序。

  • 要按照任何列中的条目排序各个项目,请在“项目”面板中单击列名称。

复制项目

  • 要重复或复制“项目”面板中的某个项目,请选择该项目,选择“编辑”>“重复”或“编辑”>“复制”。
  • 要将某个素材项目复制到 Windows 资源管理器 (Windows) 或 Finder (Mac OS) 中,请从“项目”面板将该素材项目拖动到桌面。

显示素材项目

  • 要显示某个素材项目在合成中的使用位置,请在“项目”面板中右键单击 (Windows) 或按住 Control 键并单击 (Mac OS) 该项目,选择“在合成中显示”;然后选择您希望显示的特定实例(合成名称图层名称)。
  • 要在“项目”面板中显示某个图层的源素材项目,请在“时间轴”面板中右键单击 (Windows) 或按住 Control 键并单击 (Mac OS) 该图层,然后选择“在项目中显示图层源”。
  • 要在 Adobe Bridge、Windows 资源管理器或 Finder 中显示某个素材项目的位置,请在“项目”面板中右键单击 (Windows) 或按住 Control 键并单击 (Mac OS) 该素材项目,选择“在 Bridge 中显示”、“在 Windows 资源管理器中显示”或“在 Finder 中显示”。

刷新素材项目

  1. 要刷新在“项目”面板中选择的素材项目以使用源素材文件的当前版本,请选择“文件”>“重新加载素材”。

在“素材”面板中查看素材项目或操作系统分配的媒体播放器

在“素材”面板中预览项目时,这些项目将显示素材解释操作的结果。(请参阅解释素材项目。)

  • 要在“素材”面板中打开一个素材项目,请在“项目”面板中双击该素材项目。
  • 要在“素材”面板中打开选定的素材项目,请在“项目”面板处于活动状态时按数字键盘上的 Enter 键。

注意:

要使用与该文件类型关联的播放器应用程序打开素材项目的源,请在“项目”面板中按住 Alt 键并双击 (Windows) 或按住 Option 键并双击 (Mac OS) 该素材项目。请参阅您的操作系统文档,了解有关更改应用程序与文件类型之间的关联的说明。

在“素材”面板中修剪素材项目

您可以在“素材”面板中使用“设置入点” 、“设置出点” 、“波纹插入编辑” 和“叠加编辑” 控件修剪素材项目并将其插入合成中。与在合成中添加素材项目,然后在“时间轴”面板中修剪其图层相比,在“素材”面板中进行修剪更容易。

增强的纯色文件夹组织

您可以通过增强的纯色文件夹组织来更好地组织纯色、调整图层和空值。您可以执行以下任务:

  • 重命名纯色文件夹:您可以重命名现有纯色文件夹,所有新纯色都在重命名的文件夹(而非名为“纯色”的单独文件夹)内创建。
    要重命名文件夹,请执行以下任一选项:

选项 1:

  1. 选择文件夹并按 Enter (Win) 或 Return (Mac)。

  2. 在名称字段内输入新名称。

选项 2:

  1. 右键单击并选择“重命名”。例如,将文件夹重命名为“色彩方块”。

  2. 重命名文件夹之后,当您尝试创建一种纯色时,会显示一条警告消息。

  3. 单击“是”并使用“色彩方块”来继续使用重命名的文件夹。

  4. 如果想在新的纯色文件夹内创建纯色,请单击“否”并使用“纯色”。

  • 为纯色文件夹设置默认名称:您可以为新项目中创建的纯色文件夹更改默认名称。
    要更改名称,请执行以下步骤:
  1. 要打开“首选项”窗口,请选择“首选项”>“新建项目”

  2. “首选项”窗口的“新建项目纯色文件夹”文本框中输入新名称,然后单击“确定”

注意:

这些设置会应用于您创建的新文件夹。不会影响您的当前项目。

  • 将纯色文件夹嵌套在其他文件夹中:您可以将纯色文件夹嵌套在其他文件夹中。将纯色文件夹拖到当前项目中的其他文件夹内,以进行嵌套。嵌套文件夹之后,将继续在嵌套文件夹内创建新的纯色。

注意:

您不能在团队项目中嵌套文件夹。

  • 将任意文件夹设置为纯色文件夹:您可以将文件夹设置为纯色文件夹。要将文件夹设置为纯色文件夹,请执行以下步骤:
  1. “项目”面板中右键单击首选文件夹。

  2. 从菜单中选择文件夹,将它设置为纯色文件夹。

注意:

一次只能将一个文件夹设置为纯色文件夹。

有关更多信息,请参阅纯色图层和纯色素材项目

在素材的原应用程序中编辑素材

您可以直接从 After Effects 项目中用创建素材项目的应用程序打开和编辑该素材项目。您所使用的计算机上必须安装该原始应用程序,而且必须具有足够的可用 RAM 以便其运行。在该原始应用程序中编辑并保存对素材的更改后,这些更改将在 After Effects 成为活动应用程序时应用于素材的所有实例。

注意:

如果您正在编辑具有 Alpha 通道的素材,请确保可在其他应用程序中查看和编辑所有通道(包括该 Alpha 通道)。否则,您所做的更改或许不能应用于该 Alpha 通道,而它可能变得与其他颜色通道不一致。

编辑在“时间轴”或“合成”面板中选定的静止图像序列时,将打开目前显示的单个图像。编辑在“项目”面板中选定的静止图像序列时,将打开序列中的第一个图像。

  1. 在“项目”面板、“合成”面板或“时间轴”面板中,选择将该素材项目用作源的素材项目或图层。如果从“合成”或“时间轴”面板中选择静止图像序列,请将当前时间指示器移到显示您要编辑的静止图像的帧处。
  2. 选择“编辑”>“编辑原稿”。
  3. 在素材的原应用程序中编辑素材并保存更改。

从项目中移除项

在精简项目、移除未使用的素材或整合素材前,应考虑先通过递增和保存项目来制作备份。(请参阅在 After Effects 中保存和备份项目。)

Carl Larsen 在 Creative COW 网站(该网站演示如何组织、整合和存档项目文件和素材)的一个视频教程中演示了“收集文件”命令和“整合所有素材”命令的用法。

  • 要从项目中移除某项,请在“项目”面板中选择该项并按 Delete 键。
  • 要从项目中移除所有未使用的素材项目,请选择“文件”>“删除未用过的素材”。
  • 要从项目中移除所有重复的素材项目,请选择“文件”>“整合所有素材”。仅当素材项目使用相同的“解释素材”设置时,After Effects 才将其视为重复项。

    在移除重复项时,引用该重复项的图层将更新为引用其余的副本。

  • 要在“项目”面板中移除未选择的合成以及选定合成中未使用的素材项目,请选择“文件”>“减少项目”。仅当“项目”面板处于活动状态时,此命令才可用。

    此命令既移除未使用的素材项目,也移除不作为嵌套(下级)合成包括在某个选定合成中的其他所有合成。

    如果选定合成包括已关闭的项目(即在“时间轴”面板上取消选择了视频或音频开关),则“减少项目”命令不移除这些项目。

    如果选定合成中的表达式引用非下级合成中的元素,“减少项目”将移除该非下级合成和应用的表达式。当您选择“减少项目”后会出现一条消息,提醒您这一可能性,以便您可以根据需要撤消此命令。要避免从非下级合成中移除表达式,可将非下级合成拖至引用它的合成上。然后,对添加的合成取消选择音频和视频开关。

占位符和代理

如果您希望临时使用某内容代替素材项目,可使用占位符代理

占位符

一个静止的彩条图像,用来临时代替缺失的素材项目。当您构建合成并且想检验一下尚不可用的素材项目的相关想法时,可以使用占位符。After Effects 自动生成占位符,所以您无需提供占位符素材项目。

代理

用来临时代替素材项目的任何文件,但通常用现有素材项目的低分辨率或静止版本来代替原始素材项目。通常使用故事板图像作为代理。您可以在选择最终素材前使用代理,也可以在选择实际素材项目,但希望加快测试影片的预览或渲染速度时使用代理。您必须具有可用作代理的文件。

用最终素材项目替换图层的占位符或代理时,将保留应用到图层的任何蒙版、属性、表达式、效果和关键帧。

在“项目”面板中,After Effects 通过标记素材名称来指出目前使用的是实际素材项目,还是其代理。

  • 实心框表示整个项目目前在使用代理项目。当选定素材项目后,将在“项目”面板的顶端用粗体显示代理的名称。

  • 空心框表示虽然已分配了代理,但整个项目目前在使用素材项目。

  • 无框表示未向素材项目分配代理。

处理占位符和缺失的素材项目

为获得最佳效果,应将占位符设置为与实际素材具有相同的大小、持续时间和帧速率。

如果在您打开项目时,After Effects 找不到源素材,则素材项目在“项目”面板中标记为“缺失”,缺失的素材的名称用斜体显示。使用该项目的任何合成将用一个占位符来取代它。您仍然可以处理项目中的缺失项目,而您应用于原始素材的任何效果将保持不变。当您用源素材替换占位符时,After Effects 会将该素材置于使用它的所有合成中的正确位置。

注意:

要查找哪些素材项目的源项目缺失,请在“项目”面板的搜索字段中键入 missing。请参阅在“时间轴”、“项目”以及“效果和预设”面板中搜索和过滤

  • 要使用占位符,请选择“文件”>“导入”>“占位符”。
  • 要用占位符替换选定的素材项目,请选择“文件”>“替换素材”>“占位符”。
  • 要用实际的素材项目替换占位符,请在“项目”面板中选择要替换的占位符,选择“文件”>“替换素材”>“文件”,并且找到实际的素材。

处理素材项目代理

当您使用代理时,After Effects 会在使用实际素材项目的所有合成中用代理替换实际素材。完成工作后,您可以转回到项目列表中的实际素材项目。After Effects 然后在所有合成中将代理替换成实际素材项目。

在将合成渲染为影片时,您可以选择使用所有实际的高分辨率素材项目或其代理。例如,如果您只想用快速渲染的粗糙影片测试运动,则可以对渲染的影片使用代理。

为获得最佳效果,可将代理设置为与实际素材项目具有相同的帧长宽比。例如,如果实际素材项目是 640x480 像素影片,则创建并使用 160x120 像素代理。当导入代理项目时,After Effects 会缩放该项目,直到它与实际素材具有相同的大小和持续时间。如果使用与实际素材项目不同的帧长宽比来创建代理,则缩放时间会更长。

  1. 在“项目”面板中,执行以下任一操作:
    • 要找到并使用代理,请选择素材项目,选择“文件”>“设置代理”>“文件”,找到并选择要用作代理的文件,单击“打开”。

    • 要在使用原始素材还是其代理之间进行切换,请单击素材名称左侧的代理指示器。

    • 要停止使用代理,请选择原始素材项目,选择“文件”>“设置代理”>“无”。

创建代理

使用“创建代理”命令可从在“项目”面板或“时间轴”面板中选择的素材或合成创建代理。此命令将选定的素材添加到“渲染队列”面板中,并将“渲染后动作”选项设置为“设置代理”。

  1. 在“项目”或“时间轴”面板中打开一个素材项目或合成。
  2. 在“素材”面板中将当前时间指示器移到要用作代理静止项目的帧上,对于影片素材项目,则移到标识帧上。
  3. 执行下列命令之一:
    • 要创建静止图像代理,请单击“文件”>“创建代理”>“静止图像”。

    • 要创建活动图像代理,请单击“文件”>“创建代理”>“影片”。

  4. 指定代理的名称和输出目标。
  5. 在“渲染队列”面板中,指定渲染设置,单击“渲染”。

创建输出占位符

您可以创建能在不同合成中使用的占位符文件。例如,可以为渲染队列中将创建 24 fps 影片的项目创建一个占位符,然后将该占位符拖入 30 fps 合成中。然后,当您渲染 30 fps 合成时,After Effects 首先会按 24 fps 渲染占位符,然后在渲染 30 fps 合成时使用该渲染版本。

  1. 将排队项目的“输出模块”标题从“渲染队列”面板拖至“项目”面板。After Effects 在“项目”面板中为输出创建一个占位符,并将项目的“渲染后动作”选项设置为“导入和替换用法”。

其他有关处理占位符和代理的资源

Andrew Kramer 在 Video Copilot 网站上提供了一个视频教程,其中包含有关处理代理、输出模块和输出模块模板的提示。

Jeff Almasol 在他的 redefinery 网站上提供了一个脚本,您可以使用该脚本创建、设置和取消设置代理和占位符。

Charles Bordenave (nab) 在 After Effects Scripts 网站上提供了一个脚本,您可以使用该脚本为多个选定项创建代理。

请参阅 Video2Brain 网站上的此视频教程(由 Todd Kopriv 提供),了解有关在 After Effects 中通过预渲染和使用代理来节省时间的信息。

循环素材项目

如果您准备在项目中连续循环某个可视素材项目,只需在 After Effects 中为该素材项目创建循环。

  1. 在“项目”面板中,选择要循环的素材项目。
  2. 选择“文件”>“解释素材”>“主要”。
  3. 为“循环”键入一个整数值,单击“确定”。

Lloyd Alvarez 在 After Effects Scripts 网站上提供了一个脚本,可用来自动循环素材项目、合成或图层。

在最后一帧上冻结

您现在可以冻结图层的最后一帧,直到合成末尾。After Effects 设置图层中的时间重映射关键帧,将图层持续时间延长到合成末尾。

要将合成冻结在素材的最后一帧上,请选择“图层”>“时间”>“在最后一帧上冻结”

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Organize, view, manage, and trim footage items

Compositions and footage items are listed in the Project panel. Unlike items in the Timeline panel and Effect Controls panel, the order of items in the Project panel has no influence on the appearance of the movies that you create. You can organize footage items and compositions however you like, including organizing them using folders. Solid-color footage items are automatically placed in the Solids folder.

Folders that you create in the Project panel exist only in the Project panel. You can expand a folder to reveal its contents, and put folders inside other folders. To move a file or folder to the top level of the Project panel, drag it to the gray information area at the top of the panel.

You can use the search field in the Project panel to find footage items that meet various criteria, such as those with missing source files. See Search and filter in the Timeline, Project, and Effects & Presets panels.

For a helpful video tutorial about organizing assets in the Project panel, see this video tutorial by Jeff Sengstack and Infinite Skills.

Scripts for managing footage items

Jeff Almasol provides a script on his redefinery website that automatically writes specified information about footage items or layers to the Comment fields for the respective items in the Project panel or Timeline panel.

Christopher Green provides a script (Project_Items_Renamer.jsx) on his website with which you can rename compositions and footage items selected in the Project panel. You can search and replace text in the names, append characters to the beginning or end of the names, or trim a specified number of characters from the beginning or end of the names.

Lloyd Alvarez provides a script on the After Effects Scripts website with which you can search an After Effects project and replace the file paths for the sources of footage items. This is convenient for swapping out source files, updating a project after moving sources, or updating a project after moving it to a different computer system.

Show information for items

  • To show information about a footage item or composition, select it in the Project panel. Information is displayed at the top of the Project panel next to the thumbnail image.
  • To show the file creator ID for a footage item, Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) it in the Project panel.

Create a folder

  • Choose File > New > New Folder, or click the Create A New Folder icon  at the bottom of the Project panel.

Rename and sort items

  • To rename a composition, footage item, or folder, do one of the following:
    • Select the item in the Project panel, press Enter (Windows) or Return (Mac OS), and enter the new name.

    • Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the item, choose Rename, and enter the new name.

  • To rename the Comment column, right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the column heading and choose Rename This.

Note:

You can use the Comment column to create a custom sorting option. Rename the column, enter corresponding information for each item (for example, camera number), and then sort by that column.

  • To sort items by entries in any column, click the column name in the Project panel.

Copy items

  • To duplicate or copy an item in the Project panel, select it and choose Edit > Duplicate or Edit > Copy.
  • To copy a footage item to Windows Explorer (Windows) or the Finder (Mac OS), drag the footage item from the Project panel to the desktop.

Reveal footage items

  • To reveal where a footage item is used in a composition, right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the footage item in the Project panel and choose Reveal In Composition; then select the specific instance you want to reveal (composition name, layer name).
  • To reveal the source footage item for a layer in the Project panel, right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the layer in the Timeline panel, and then choose Reveal Layer Source In Project.
  • To reveal the location of a footage item in Adobe Bridge, Windows Explorer, or the Finder, right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the footage item in the Project panel and choose Reveal In Bridge, Reveal In Windows Explorer, or Reveal In Finder.

Refresh footage items

  • To refresh footage items selected in the Project panel to use the current versions of the source footage files, choose File > Reload Footage.

View footage item in the Footage panel or media player assigned by operating system

When items are previewed in the Footage panel, they show the results of the footage interpretation operations. (See Interpret footage items.)

  • To open a footage item in a Footage panel, double-click the footage item in the Project panel.
  • To open selected footage items in the Footage panel, press Enter on the numeric keypad when the Project panel is active.

Note:

To open the source for a footage item using the player application associated with that file type, Alt-double-click (Windows) or Option-double-click (Mac OS) the footage item in the Project panel. See the documentation for your operating system for instructions for changing the associations between applications and file types.

Trim footage items in the Footage panel

You can use the Set In Point , Set Out Point , Ripple Insert Edit , and Overlay Edit controls in the Footage panel to trim a footage item and insert it into a composition. Trimming in the Footage panel can be more convenient than adding the footage item to a composition and then trimming its layer in the Timeline panel.

Edit footage in its original application

You can open and edit a footage item in the application in which it was created, directly from an After Effects project. The original application must be installed on the computer that you are using, which must have enough available RAM for it to run. When you edit and save changes to the footage in the original application, the changes are applied to all instances of the footage when After Effects becomes the active application.

Note:

If you’re editing footage that has an alpha channel, make sure that you’re viewing and editing all of the channels, including the alpha channel, in the other application. Otherwise, changes you make may not be applied to the alpha channel, and it may become misaligned with the color channels.

When you edit a still-image sequence selected in the Timeline or Composition panel, the individual image that is currently displayed opens. When you edit a still-image sequence selected in the Project panel, the first image in the sequence opens.

  1. In the Project panel, Composition panel, or Timeline panel, select the footage item or a layer that uses the footage item as its source. If you selected a still-image sequence from the Composition or Timeline panel, move the current-time indicator to the frame displaying the still image you want to edit.
  2. Choose Edit > Edit Original.
  3. Edit the footage in its original application, and save the changes.

Remove items from a project

Before reducing your project, removing unused footage, or consolidating footage, consider making a backup by incrementing and saving your project first. (See Save and back up projects in After Effects.)

Carl Larsen demonstrates the use of the Collect Files command and the Consolidate All Footage command in a video tutorial on the Creative COW website that shows how to organize, consolidate, and archive project files and footage.

  • To remove an item from a project, select the item in the Project panel and press Delete.
  • To remove all unused footage items from a project, choose File > Remove Unused Footage.
  • To remove all duplicate footage items from a project, Choose File > Consolidate All Footage. After Effects considers footage items to be duplicates only if they use the same Interpret Footage settings.

    When a duplicate item is removed, layers that refer to the duplicate item are updated to refer to the remaining copy.

  • To remove unselected compositions and unused footage items from selected compositions in the Project panel, choose File > Reduce Project. This command is available only when the Project panel is active.

    This command removes both unused footage items and all other compositions that are not included within a selected composition as nested (subordinate) compositions.

    If the selected composition includes items that are turned off (that is, the Video or Audio switch is deselected in the Timeline panel), the Reduce Project command does not remove those items.

    If an expression in a selected composition refers to an element in a nonsubordinate composition, Reduce Project removes the nonsubordinate composition and the applied expression. A message appears after you choose Reduce Project to remind you of this possibility, so you can undo the command if needed. To avoid removing the expressions from a nonsubordinate composition, drag the nonsubordinate composition into the composition that refers to it. Then deselect the Audio and Video switches for the composition that you added.

The SaveCompAsProject script from Sebastian Perier on the AEScripts website saves selected compositions as individual projects.

Placeholders and proxies

When you want to temporarily use a substitute for a footage item, use either a placeholder or a proxy.

Placeholder

A still image of color bars used to temporarily take the place of a missing footage item. Use a placeholder when you are building a composition and want to try out ideas for a footage item that is not yet available. After Effects generates placeholders automatically, so you do not have to provide a placeholder footage item.

Proxy

Any file used to temporarily replace a footage item, but most often a lower-resolution or still version of an existing footage item used to replace the original. Often, storyboard images are used as proxies. You can use a proxy either before you have the final footage or when you have the actual footage item but you want to speed up previewing or rendering of test movies. You must have a file available to use as a proxy.

Any masks, attributes, expressions, effects, and keyframes that you apply to the layer are retained when you replace its placeholder or proxy with the final footage item.

In the Project panel, After Effects marks the footage name to indicate whether the actual footage item or its proxy is currently in use:

  • A filled box indicates that a proxy item is currently in use throughout the project. The name of the proxy appears in bold type at the top of the Project panel when the footage item is selected.

  • An empty box indicates that the footage item is in use throughout the project, though a proxy has been assigned.

  • No box indicates that no proxy is assigned to the footage item.

Work with placeholders and missing footage items

For best results, set the placeholder to the same size, duration, and frame rate as the actual footage.

If After Effects cannot find source footage when you open a project, the footage item appears in the Project panel labeled Missing, and the name of the missing footage appears in italics. Any composition using that item replaces it with a placeholder. You can still work with the missing item in the project, and any effects you applied to the original footage remain intact. When you replace the placeholder with the source footage, After Effects places the footage in its correct location in all the compositions that use it.

Note:

You can find footage items for which the source items are missing by typing missing in the search field in the Project panel. See Search and filter in the Timeline, Project, and Effects & Presets panels.

  • To use a placeholder, choose File > Import > Placeholder.
  • To replace the selected footage item with a placeholder, choose File > Replace Footage > Placeholder.
  • To replace a placeholder with the actual footage item, select the placeholder you want to replace in the Project panel, choose File > Replace Footage > File, and locate the actual footage.

Work with proxies for footage items

When you use a proxy, After Effects replaces the actual footage with the proxy in all compositions that use the actual footage item. When you finish working, you can switch back to the actual footage item in the project list. After Effects then replaces the proxy with the actual footage item in any composition.

When you render your composition as a movie, you may choose to use either all the actual high-resolution footage items or their proxies. You may want to use the proxies for a rendered movie if, for example, you simply want to test motion using a rough movie that renders quickly.

For best results, set a proxy so that it has the same frame aspect ratio as the actual footage item. For example, if the actual footage item is a 640x480-pixel movie, create and use a 160x120-pixel proxy. When a proxy item is imported, After Effects scales the item to the same size and duration as the actual footage. If you create a proxy with a frame aspect ratio that is different from the frame aspect ratio of the actual footage item, scaling takes longer.

  • In the Project panel, do any of the following:
    • To locate and use a proxy, select a footage item, choose File > Set Proxy > File, locate, and select the file you want to use as a proxy, and click Open.

    • To toggle between using the original footage and its proxy, click the proxy indicator to the left of the footage name.

    • To stop using a proxy, select the original footage item, and choose File > Set Proxy > None.

Create a proxy

Use the Create Proxy command to create a proxy from footage or compositions selected in the Project panel or the Timeline panel. This command adds the selected footage to the Render Queue panel and sets the Post-Render Action option to Set Proxy.

  1. Open a footage item or composition in the Project or Timeline panel.
  2. Move the current-time indicator in the Footage panel to the frame that you want to use as the proxy still item, or for the poster frame for the movie footage item.
  3. Choose one of the following commands:
    • File > Create Proxy > Still to create a still image proxy.

    • File > Create Proxy > Movie to create a moving image proxy.

  4. Specify a name and output destination for the proxy.
  5. In the Render Queue panel, specify render settings, and click Render.

Create placeholders for output

You can create placeholder files that can be used in different compositions. For example, you can create a placeholder for an item in the render queue that will create a 24-fps movie and then drag that placeholder into a 30-fps composition. Then, when you render the 30-fps composition, After Effects first renders the placeholder at 24 fps and uses this rendered version as it renders the 30-fps composition.

  • Drag the Output Module heading for a queued item from the Render Queue panel to the Project panel. After Effects creates a placeholder for output in the Project panel and sets the Post-Render Action option for the item to Import & Replace Usage.

Additional resources for working with placeholders and proxies

Andrew Kramer provides a video tutorial with tips for working with proxies, output modules, and output module templates on the Video Copilot website.

Jeff Almasol provides a script on his redefinery website that creates, sets, and unsets proxies and placeholders.

Charles Bordenave (nab) provides a script on the After Effects Scripts website with which you can create proxies for multiple selected items.

See this video tutorial on the Video2Brain website by Todd Kopriva for information about saving time by pre-rendering and using proxies in After Effects.

Loop a footage item

If you intend to loop a visual footage item continuously in your project, you only need to create one cycle of the footage item in After Effects.

  1. In the Project panel, select the footage item to loop.
  2. Choose File > Interpret Footage > Main.
  3. Type an integer value for Loop and click OK.

Lloyd Alvarez provides a script on the After Effects Scripts website that automatically loops a footage item, composition, or layer.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy