After Effects 附带的这一类别的第三方效果:

  • EXtractoR 效果

  • IDentifier 效果

  • ID 遮罩

关于 3D 通道效果(包括 ProEXR 效果)

3D 通道效果可用于 2D 图层,特别是在辅助通道中包含 3D 信息的 2D 图层。这些 2D 图层源自特定图像序列,后者代表已从 3D 应用程序渲染的 3D 场景。

使用 3D 通道效果可将 3D 场景合并到 2D 合成中,并可修改这些 3D 场景。您可以导入以 RLA、RPF、Softimage PIC/ZPIC 以及 Electric Image EI/EIZ 格式保存的 3D 图像文件。对于 PIC 和 EI 文件,3D 通道信息分别位于 ZPIC 和 EIZ 文件中。虽然不能导入 ZPIC 和 EIZ 文件,但只要它们与 PIC 和 EI 文件位于同一文件夹中,就可以使用 3D 通道效果访问其 3D 通道。3D 通道效果不影响其他类型的文件。

3D 通道效果可读取和操作其他通道的信息,包括 Z 深度、曲面法线、对象 ID、纹理坐标、背景颜色、非固定 RGB 以及材质 ID。您可以沿 z 轴分层放置 3D 元素、将其他元素插入 3D 场景、使 3D 场景区域变模糊、隔离 3D 元素、根据深度应用多雾效果,以及提取 3D 通道信息以用作其他效果中的参数。

如果将带有 3D 通道效果的图层转换为 3D 图层,并从正面和中央以外的任何位置查看该图层,它不会按预期显示。

注意:

要在“信息”面板中显示像素深度以及其他通道值,请应用 3D 通道效果,然后(选择效果后)使用选择工具单击“合成”面板或“图层”面板中的相应像素。

Lutz Albrecht 在 Adobe 网站上提供了一个有关将 3D 应用程序与 After Effects 集成的两部分文档。这些文章介绍了如何通过各种 3D 应用程序(包括 Maxon Cinema 4D、NewTek Lightwave 和 Luxology modo)创建 UV 图、遮罩和通道。然后演示了如何使用 RE:Vision Effects RE:Map 和 fnord ProEXR 增效工具在 After Effects 中使用此类数据。

Dave Scotland 在 CG Swot 网站上提供了两个教程,用于演示如何在 3D 应用程序中创建 RPF 文件,以及如何在 After Effects 中使用 RPF 文件。第一部分介绍了 RPF 格式,以及如何在 3DS Max 中创建 RPF 文件。第二部分介绍了如何利用 ID 遮罩、景深、深度遮罩和雾化 3D 效果,在 After Effects 中使用 RPF 文件中的对象 ID 和 Z 深度信息。

使用 OpenEXR 文件中的通道

如果已标记 OpenEXR 文件中的通道(如深度通道),则 3D 通道效果可以使用这些通道。与某些其他格式(如 RPF)不同,OpenEXR 格式是没有内在意义的任意通道集合,而在 RPF 格式中,需定义一组特定的通道来始终代表场景的特定属性。虽然已保留 R、G、B 和 A 通道来代表红色、绿色、蓝色和 Alpha 值,但可将其他通道用于任何其他特性。要将通道名称映射至供其他效果使用的特定类型的值,可以使用名称为 OpenEXR_channel_map.txt 的文件。如果此文件与 OpenEXR 格式增效工具位于同一文件夹中,则 OpenEXR 增效工具在导入 OpenEXR 文件时会使用此文件中的信息来标记通道。

After Effects 不包括 OpenEXR_channel_map.txt 文件,但您可将其作为 ProEXR 包的一部分从 fnord 软件网站下载。fnord 软件网站中提供的示例 OpenEXR_channel_map.txt 文件包括描述其使用方式的文档。

fnord 软件网站中的 ProEXR 包还包括 ProEXR Comp Creator 增效工具。此增效工具可以根据 OpenEXR 文件的每个通道创建图层。例如,这些图层可代表 3D 应用程序中一组渲染通道的输出。

ProEXR 增效工具 - IDentifier 和 EXtractoR

After Effects 内含来自 fnord 软件的 EXtractoR 和 IDentifier 增效工具,用于访问 OpenEXR 文件的多个图层和通道。

有关 fnord ProEXR 增效工具的文档可在 fnord 软件网站上的一个 PDF 文档中找到,其中包括指向多通道 EXR 示例文件和使用该文件的 After Effects 项目的链接。fnord 文档中有关移除 OpenEXR 增效工具的说明不适用于 After Effects CS5。

3D 通道提取效果

3D 通道提取效果使辅助通道可显示为灰度或多通道颜色图像。您随后可以使用生成的图层作为其他效果的控件图层。例如,在 3D 通道图像文件中提取深度信息,然后在粒子运动场效果中将其用作影响图,或从非固定 RGB 通道提取值来生成遮罩,用以生成夺目的高光。

注意:

要在“信息”面板中显示像素的 3D 通道值,请应用“3D 通道提取”效果,从“效果控件”面板的“3D 通道”菜单中选择通道,然后使用选择工具单击“合成”面板或“图层”面板中的相应像素。

此效果适用于 8-bpc 和 32-bpc 颜色。

3D 通道提取效果:原始图像、使用纹理 UV 应用 3D 通道提取效果后的图像
原始图像(左图)、使用纹理 UV 应用 3D 通道提取效果的图像(右图)

白场、黑场

映射至白色或黑色的值。

3D 通道

要从 3D 图像提取的通道:

Z-深度

表示给定阴影像素距离摄像机的距离。白色像素代表最大距离;黑色像素代表与摄像机最近的距离。诸如镜头模糊效果等效果可使用此信息生成景深效果。直接将此通道作为亮度遮罩应用时,可获得雾化效果。

注意:

为获得最佳效果,请在生成 3D 图像的 3D 应用程序中将效果的白场和黑场设置与摄像机的远近设置匹配。

适用于消除锯齿参数

利用消除锯齿参数,可选择输出的效果是否应用了消除锯齿。应用了消除锯齿的深度通道,适合用于深度合成或颜色校正所用遮罩的边缘平滑化。

使用“景深”效果或需要让对象之间距离和对象边缘之间距离相等的其他效果时,请禁用此选项。应用了消除锯齿的边缘,会影响边缘像素的灰度值,继而影响边缘的视深,从而导致使用遮罩的效果中出现伪影。

固定输出 仅适用于 32-bpc 颜色模式,将效果的灰度输出固定在 0 和 1.0 之间。默认开启。

反转深度映射 将效果的灰度输出反转。

对象 ID

在 3D 应用程序中,每个对象均可分配有单独的 ID 值。您可以使用通过此通道生成的图,选择性地将效果应用到 3D 场景中的特定对象,例如,应用可选颜色调整。此通道未消除锯齿。

纹理 UV

此通道包含映射至红色和绿色通道的对象的纹理映射坐标。此通道未消除锯齿。

此通道可用于检查 UV 图,或用作置换图效果的输入。

曲面法线

此通道可将对象表面各点的方向矢量映射至 RGB 通道。这些矢量与摄像机有关。第三方增效工具可使用此通道作为动态重新照明和起伏渲染的基础。此通道已消除锯齿。

覆盖

此通道的特性根据 3D 应用程序的不同有所不同。它可用于标记对象边缘和等高线附近的区域,以便提供有关其消除锯齿和重叠行为的信息。

背景 RGB

此通道包含没有任何前景对象的背景的所有 RGB 像素值。它通常用于存储 3D 程序独有的动态环境效果,如根据程序纹理生成的天空或背景。此通道已消除锯齿。

非固定 RGB

此通道包含 3D 应用程序中的颜色,因为在应用曝光度和灰度系数调整之前,这些颜色会呈现在 3D 应用程序的渲染器中。此通道已消除锯齿。

材质 ID

在 3D 应用程序中,每个材质均可分配有单独的 ID 值。您可以使用通过此通道生成的图,选择性地将效果应用到 3D 场景中的特定材质。此通道未消除锯齿。

深度遮罩效果

深度遮罩效果可读取 3D 图像中的深度信息,并可沿 z 轴在任意位置对图像切片。例如,您可以移除 3D 场景中的背景,也可以将对象插入 3D 场景中。 

注意:

要将图层插入 3D 场景,请将深度遮罩效果应用到包含 3D 场景的图层,将“深度”属性设置为插入新图层要使用的深度,复制此 3D 场景图层,对顶部的 3D 场景图层选择“反转”,并将新图层按图层堆积顺序放在“时间轴”面板中的两个 3D 场景图层之间。

此效果适用于 8-bpc、16-bpc 和 32-bpc 颜色。

深度遮罩效果:原始图像、应用效果后的图像、应用效果并选中“反转 Alpha”的图像
原始图像(左上图)、应用效果的图像(左下图)、应用效果并选择“反转 Alpha”的图像(右下图)

深度

对图像切片所在位置的 z 轴值。深度值小于此“深度”值的所有内容都将进行遮罩处理。

注意:

要确定对象的深度,请在选择效果后,使用选择工具单击“合成”面板或“图层”面板中的相应对象。

羽化

沿遮罩边缘的羽化量。

反转

选择此选项可对深度大于“深度”值的所有内容进行遮罩处理。取消选择此选项可对深度小于“深度”值的所有内容进行遮罩处理。

景深效果

景深效果可模拟在 3D 场景中以一个深度聚焦(焦平面),以其他深度使对象变模糊的摄像机。此效果使用导入文件(代表 3D 场景)的辅助通道的深度信息。要使用 After Effects 为摄像机图层计算的深度信息,请参阅创建摄像机图层和更改摄像机设置

此效果适用于 8-bpc、16-bpc 和 32-bpc 颜色。

景深效果:原始图像、使用不同焦平面值应用景深效果后的图像
原始图像(左上图)、使用不同焦平面值应用景深效果的图像(左下图和右下图)

焦平面

焦平面沿 z 轴到摄像机的距离。

注意:

要在“信息”面板中显示对象的深度,请在选择效果后,使用选择工具单击“合成”面板或“图层”面板中的相应对象。

最大半径

对焦平面以外的对象应用模糊的程度。

焦平面厚度

确定焦点对准焦平面任一侧的深度。

焦点偏移

值越高,元素离开焦点的速度越快,且距焦平面的距离越远。

Dave Scotland 在 CG Swot 网站上提供了一个视频教程,其中演示了如何对甚至未使用最优深度设置渲染的 3D 文件使用景深效果。

雾化 3D 效果

雾 3D 效果通过模拟穿过空气中的散射介质行为(对象的 z 轴距离越远,弥散效果越强)来模拟雾效。

此效果适用于 8-bpc、16-bpc 和 32-bpc 颜色。

注意:

与 3D 通道效果类别中的所有效果一样,雾化 3D 效果取决于从 3D 应用程序渲染的图像序列文件的深度信息。有关 3D 通道效果的常规信息,请参阅关于 3D 通道效果(包括 ProEXR 效果)。有关在 After Effects 中模拟雾效的信息,请参阅雾、烟和云的合成

雾化 3D 效果:原始图像、渐变图层、应用雾化 3D 效果后的图像
原始图像(左上图)、渐变图层(左下图)、应用雾化 3D 效果的图像(右下图)

雾开始深度

沿 z 轴开始漫散射的位置。

注意:

要确定对象的深度,请在选择效果后,使用选择工具单击“合成”面板或“图层”面板中的相应对象。

雾结束深度

沿 z 轴弥散达到最大程度的位置。

散布浓度

确定散布的速度。值越高,雾从起始点出现得越浓。

多雾背景

创建多雾背景(默认)。取消选择此选项,则在 3D 场景后面创建透明度,以便在其他图层上面进行合成。

渐变图层

(可选)用作控件图层的灰度图层,其亮度值适用于雾密度。例如,使用湍流杂色效果可为大气层烟雾创建迷离的控件图层。确保渐变图层的尺寸至少与 3D 场景图层的尺寸一样大。

图层贡献

渐变图层对雾浓度的影响。

3D 合成的深度通道

深度通道是与距离有关的黑白信息。例如,如果某个场景由黑雾和白色物体组成,那么距离摄像机越远的白色物体,其色调就越暗,反之亦然。

您还可从 3D 通道效果(来自包含 3D 图层的嵌套合成)提取 Z 深度。您可使用此参数,将 3D 深度效果应用到合成图层(例如景深模糊),还可用于生成深度合成或颜色校正的遮罩。

深度通道可用于 Classic 3D 或 CINEMA 4D 合成渲染器。

以下 3D 通道效果可从嵌套的 3D 合成提取 Z 深度:

  • 3D 通道提取
  • 深度遮罩
  • 景深
  • 雾 3D

提取深度通道

要提取深度通道,请在“效果”面板中,为嵌套的合成图层应用“3D 通道提取”效果。

请注意以下事项:

  • “3D 通道提取”应用至嵌套合成图层后,“3D 通道”参数将被禁用。
  • 使用“黑场”滑块和“白场”属性设置深度范围的开头和结尾。开头和结尾的值,等于它们与摄像机位置之间的距离(以像素为单位)。
  • 默认“黑场”“白场”值分别为 5000.0 和 0.0。如果您的 3D 场景延伸至距离摄像机 5000 像素以外的范围,那么您需要增大“黑场”值。
  • 当项目设置为 32-bpc 时,深度输出范围将被固定为 0-1(与 8-bpc 或 16-bpc 相同的固定范围)。

使用 EXtractoR 效果提取深度通道

您可使用 EXtractoR 效果从嵌套的合成提取深度通道,但对透明背景上的边缘应用消除锯齿可能会导致使用条纹渲染。

要查看边缘,请执行以下步骤:

  1. “效果”面板中,对嵌套合成应用“转换通道”效果,并将“从 获取 Alpha”参数设置为“完全打开”

  2. 或者,将“合成”面板底部的“通道视图”选项更改为“直通 RGB”

ID 遮罩效果

许多 3D 程序都使用唯一的对象 ID 标记场景中的各个元素。ID 遮罩效果使用此信息创建遮罩,以此排除场景中所需元素之外的所有内容。

此效果适用于 8-bpc、16-bpc 和 32-bpc 颜色。

ID 遮罩效果:原始图像、使用较近的异形作为 ID 选择并应用 ID 遮罩效果的图像、在新背景上合成的图像
原始图像(左上图)、使用较近的异形作为 ID 选择并应用 ID 遮罩效果的图像(左下图)、在新背景上合成的图像(右下图)

辅助通道

根据对象 ID 或材质 ID 隔离元素。

ID 选择

对象的 ID 值。

注意:

要确定对象的 ID,请在选择效果后,从“效果控件”面板的“辅助通道”菜单中选择 ID 类型,然后使用选择工具在“合成”面板或“图层”面板中单击此对象。如果选择“对象 ID”作为“辅助通道”,则“ID 选择”会自动更新为所单击对象的对象 ID。 

羽化

沿遮罩边缘的羽化量。

反转

反转选择。选择此选项可对“ID 选择”指定的对象进行遮罩处理。取消选择此选项可对除该对象以外的所有内容进行遮罩处理(默认)。

使用范围

从沿遮罩边缘的像素中移除对象后存储的颜色,以此创建更纯净的遮罩。仅当 3D 图像包含存储对象后颜色的相关信息的覆盖范围通道时,此选项才起作用。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Third-party effects in this category included with After Effects:

  • EXtractoR effect

  • IDentifier effect

  • ID Matte

About 3D Channel effects, including ProEXR effects

The 3D Channel effects work on 2D layers—specifically, 2D layers with 3D information in auxiliary channels. The sources of these 2D layers are image sequences that represent 3D scenes that have been rendered out of a 3D application.

Use 3D Channel effects to integrate 3D scenes into 2D composites and to modify those 3D scenes. You can import 3D image files saved in RLA, RPF, Softimage PIC/ZPIC, and Electric Image EI/EIZ formats. For PIC and EI files, the 3D channel information is in the ZPIC and EIZ files, respectively. You don’t import ZPIC and EIZ files, but as long as they’re in the same folder with the PIC and EI files, you have access to their 3D channels using the 3D Channel effects. The 3D Channel effects don’t affect other types of files.

3D Channel effects read and manipulate the additional channels of information, including z-depth, surface normals, object ID, texture coordinates, background color, unclamped RGB, and material ID. You can layer 3D elements along the z-axis, insert other elements in a 3D scene, blur areas in a 3D scene, isolate 3D elements, apply a foggy effect with depth, and extract 3D channel information for use as parameters in other effects.

If you convert a layer with a 3D Channel effect to 3D and view the layer from anywhere but the front and center, it doesn’t appear as expected.

Note:

To display depth and other channel values for a pixel in the Info panel, apply a 3D Channel effect, and then—with the effect selected—click the pixel in the Composition panel or Layer panel using the Selection tool.

Lutz Albrecht provides a two-part document on the Adobe website about integrating 3D applications with After Effects. These articles cover the creation of UV maps, mattes, and channels from various 3D applications, including Maxon Cinema 4D, NewTek Lightwave, and Luxology modo. The articles then show you how to use RE:Vision Effects RE:Map and fnord ProEXR plug-ins to use that data in After Effects.

Dave Scotland provides a pair of tutorials on the CG Swot website in which he demonstrates how to create RPF files in a 3D application and how to use RPF files in After Effects. The first part explains the RPF format and how to create RPF files in 3DS Max. The second part shows how to use the Object ID and Z depth information in an RPF file within After Effects, using the ID Matte, Depth of Field, Depth Matte, and Fog 3D effects.

Using channels in OpenEXR files

3D Channel effects can use the channels in OpenEXR files—such as a depth channel—if the channels have been tagged. Unlike some other formats, like RPF, in which a specific set of channels is defined to always represent specific properties of a scene, the OpenEXR format is an arbitrary collection of channels with no inherent meaning. The R, G, B, and A channels are reserved to represent red, green, blue, and alpha values, but other channels can be used for any other characteristics. To map channel names to the values of a specific type for use by other effects, you can use a file with the name OpenEXR_channel_map.txt. If this file is in the same folder as the OpenEXR format plug-in, the OpenEXR plug-in will use the information in this file to tag channels when it imports an OpenEXR file.

An OpenEXR_channel_map.txt file is not included with After Effects, but you can download one as part of the ProEXR package from the fnord software website. The sample OpenEXR_channel_map.txt file available from the fnord software website includes documentation describing its use.

The ProEXR package from the fnord software website also includes the ProEXR Comp Creator plug-in. This plug-in can create a layer from each of the channels of an OpenEXR file. For example, the layers can represent the output from a set of render passes from a 3D application.

ProEXR plug-ins, IDentifier, and EXtractoR

The EXtractoR and IDentifier plug-ins from fnord software are included with After Effects to provide access to multiple layers and channels of OpenEXR files.

Documentation for fnord ProEXR plug-ins is available in a PDF document on the fnord software website, which includes links to a sample multi-channel EXR file and an After Effects project that uses it. The instructions in the fnord document regarding the removal of the OpenEXR plug-ins don’t apply to After Effects CS5.

3D Channel Extract effect

The 3D Channel Extract effect makes auxiliary channels visible as either grayscale or multichannel color images. You can then use the resulting layer as a control layer for other effects. For example, extract the depth information in a 3D channel image file and then use it as an influence map in the Particle Playground effect, or extract values from the unclamped RGB channel to produce a matte that generates glowing highlights.

Note:

To display 3D channel values for a pixel in the Info panel, apply the 3D Channel Extract effect, choose the channel from the 3D Channel menu in the Effect Controls panel, and then click the pixel in the Composition panel or Layer panel using the Selection tool.

This effect works with 8-bpc color.

3D Channel Extract effect: Original, with 3D Channel Extract applied using Texture UV
Original (left), with 3D Channel Extract applied using Texture UV (right)

White Point, Black Point

The value that is mapped to white or black.

3D Channel

The channel to extract from the 3D image:

Z-Depth

Represents the distance of a given shaded pixel from the camera. White represents the greatest distance; black pixels are closest to the camera. Effects such as the Lens Blur effect can use this information to generate depth-of-field effects. When you apply the channel directly as a luma matte, you get fog. This channel is anti-aliased.

Note:

For best results, match the White Point and Black Point settings of the effect with the near and far settings of your camera in the 3D application that generated the 3D image.

Object ID

Each object can be assigned a separate ID value in the 3D application. You can use a map generated using this channel to selectively apply effects to certain objects in a 3D scene—for example, to apply selective color adjustments. This channel is not anti-aliased.

Texture UV

This channel contains the mapping coordinates of the textures of your object, mapped to the red and green channels. This channel is not anti-aliased.

This channel can be used to check your UV maps or as input for the Displacement Map effect.

Surface Normals

This channel maps the direction vector of each point on the surface of an object to the RGB channels. The vectors are relative to the camera. Third-party plug-ins can use this channel as the basis for dynamic relighting and relief rendering. This channel is anti-aliased.

Coverage

The behavior for this channel varies for various 3D applications. It is used to mark areas near the edges and contours of objects to provide information about their anti-aliasing and overlap behavior.

Background RGB

This channel contains all RGB pixel values of the background without any foreground objects. It is mostly used to store dynamic environmental effects unique to 3D programs such as skies or backgrounds generated from procedural textures. This channel is anti-aliased.

Unclamped RGB

This channel contains the colors from the 3D application as they were presented to the 3D application’s renderer before it applied exposure and gamma adjustments. This channel is anti-aliased.

Material ID

Each material can be assigned a separate ID value in the 3D application. You can use a map generated using this channel to selectively apply effects to certain materials in a 3D scene. This channel is not anti-aliased.

Depth Matte effect

The Depth Matte effect reads the depth information in a 3D image and slices the image anywhere along the z-axis. For example, you can remove a background in a 3D scene, or you can insert objects into a 3D scene.  

Note:

To insert a layer into a 3D scene, apply the Depth Matte effect to the layer containing the 3D scene, set the Depth property to the depth at which you want to insert the new layer, duplicate the 3D scene layer, select Invert for the 3D scene layer on top, and place the new layer between the two 3D scene layers in the layer stacking order in the Timeline panel.  

This effect works with 8-bpc, 16-bpc, and 32-bpc color.

Depth Matte effect: Original, with effect applied, and with effect applied and Invert Alpha selected
Original (upper-left), with effect applied (lower-left), and with effect applied and Invert Alpha selected (lower-right)

Depth

The z-axis value at which to slice the image. Everything with a depth value less than this Depth value is matted out.

Note:

To determine the depth of an object, click it in the Composition panel or Layer panel using the Selection tool while the effect is selected.

Feather

The amount of feather along the edges of the matte.

Invert

Select to matte out everything with a depth greater than the Depth value. Deselect to matte out everything with a depth less than the Depth value.

Depth Of Field effect

The Depth Of Field effect simulates a camera that’s focusing at one depth (focal plane) in a 3D scene, blurring objects at other depths. This effect uses the depth information from the auxiliary channel of an imported file representing a 3D scene. To use the depth information that After Effects calculates for a camera layer, see Create a camera layer and change camera settings.

This effect works with 8-bpc, 16-bpc, and 32-bpc color.

Depth of Field effect: Original, and with Depth Of Field applied using different Focal Plane values
Original (upper-left), and with Depth Of Field applied using different Focal Plane values (lower-left and lower-right)

Focal Plane

The distance along the z-axis of the focal plane from the camera.

Note:

To show the depth of an object in the Info panel, click the object in the Composition panel or Layer panel using the Selection tool while the effect is selected.

Maximum Radius

How much blur is applied to objects outside the focal plane.

Focal Plane Thickness

Determines what depths are in focus on either side of the focal plane.

Focal Bias

The higher the value, the more quickly elements drop out of focus with increasing distance from the focal plane.

Dave Scotland provides a video tutorial on the CG Swot website in which he shows how to use the Depth Of Field effect, even with a 3D file that has been rendered without optimal depth settings.

Fog 3D effect

The Fog 3D effect simulates fog by behaving as though a scattering medium is in the air that makes objects look more diffuse as they get more distant along the z-axis.

This effect works with 8-bpc, 16-bpc, and 32-bpc color.

Note:

As with all effects in the 3D Channel effects category, the Fog 3D effect depends on depth information from image sequence files of the kind rendered out of a 3D application. For general information on 3D Channel effects, see About 3D Channel effects, including ProEXR effects. For information about simulating fog in After Effects, see Compositing fog, smoke, and clouds.

Fog 3D effect: Original, Gradient Layer, and with Fog 3D applied
Original (upper-left), Gradient Layer (lower-left), and with Fog 3D applied (lower-right)

Fog Start Depth

Where along the z-axis the diffuse scattering begins.

Note:

To determine the depth of an object, click it in the Composition panel or Layer panel using the Selection tool while the effect is selected.

Fog End Depth

Where along the z-axis the diffusion reaches its maximum.

Scattering Density

Determines how quickly the scattering occurs. The higher the value, the more dense the fog appears from its starting point.

Foggy Background

Creates a foggy background (default). Deselect to create transparency at the back of the 3D scene for compositing on top of another layer.

Gradient Layer

(Optional) A grayscale layer to use as a control layer, the luminance values of which apply to fog density. For example, use the Turbulent Noise effect to create a swirling control layer for atmospheric fog. Make sure that the dimensions of the gradient layer are at least as great as the dimensions of the 3D scene layer.

Layer Contribution

How much the gradient layer affects the fog density.

ID Matte effect

Many 3D programs tag each element in a scene with a unique Object ID. The ID Matte effect uses this information to create a matte that excludes everything in the scene except the element you want.

This effect works with 8-bpc, 16-bpc, and 32-bpc color.

ID Matte effect: Original, with ID Matte applied using the near alien as the ID Selection, and composited over a new background
Original (upper-left), with ID Matte applied using the near alien as the ID Selection (lower-left), and composited over a new background (lower-right)

Aux. Channel

Isolate elements based on Object ID or Material ID.

ID Selection

The ID value for an object.

Note:

To determine the ID of an object, select the ID type from the Aux. Channel menu in the Effect Controls panel, and click the object in the Composition panel or Layer panel using the Selection tool while the effect is selected. If Object ID is selected for Aux. Channel, ID Selection automatically updates to the Object ID for the object you click.  

Feather

The amount of feather along the edges of the matte.

Invert

Inverts the selection. Select to matte out the object specified by ID Selection. Deselect to matte out everything but the object (default).

Use Coverage

Creates a cleaner matte by removing the colors stored behind the object from the pixels along the edge of the matte. This option works only if the 3D image contains a coverage channel that stores information about the colors behind objects.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy