Jeff Almasol 在其 redefinery 网站上提供了分别渲染并导出每个所选图层的脚本。例如,如果图层呈现不同版本的效果,或者呈现您要渲染为单独通道以灵活合成它们的效果的不同部分,请使用该脚本。

查看和更改图层信息

  • 要重命名图层或属性组,请执行以下操作之一:
    • 在“时间轴”面板中选择项目,按 Enter 键 (Windows) 或 Return 键 (Mac OS),然后输入新名称。

    • 在“时间轴”面板中右键单击 (Windows) 或按住 Control 键并单击 (Mac OS) 项目,选择“重命名”,然后输入新名称。

  • 要在“时间轴”面板中在查看源素材项目的名称和图层的名称之间交替,请在“时间轴”面板中单击“图层名称/源名称”列标题。

注意:

当图层名称和源素材名称相同时,在图层名称视图中,图层名称周围会出现方括号,如下所示:[图层名称]

  • 要在“信息”面板中显示所选图层的源素材文件的名称,请按 Ctrl+Alt+E (Windows) 或 Command+Option+E (Mac OS)。
  • 要查看哪个素材项目是图层的源,请在“时间轴”面板中右键单击 (Windows) 或按住 Control 键并单击 (Mac OS) 图层,然后选择“在项目中显示图层源”。

源素材项目在“项目”面板中处于选中状态。

您可以在“时间轴”面板中筛选图层,以便仅显示其属性与搜索字符串或某些其他特性匹配的图层。请参阅在时间轴、项目和效果与预设面板中搜索并筛选在时间轴面板中显示属性和组(键盘快捷键)

Jeff Almasol 在他的 redefinery 网站上提供了一个脚本,该脚本可以将有关素材项目或图层的指定信息自动写入“项目”面板或“时间轴”面板中各个项的“注释”字段。

Christopher Green 在他的网站上提供了一个脚本 (Selected_Layers_Renamer.jsx),您可以使用该脚本重命名在“时间轴”面板中选择的多个图层。您可以搜索并替换名称中的文本、将字符附加到名称的开头或末尾、从名称的开头或末尾修剪指定数量的字符或使用一系列数字替换名称。

“时间轴”面板中的图层开关和列

图层的许多特性由其图层开关决定,这些开关排列在“时间轴”面板中的各列中。默认情况下,“A/V 功能”列显示在图层名称左侧,而“开关”和“模式”(“转换控制”)列显示在右侧,但您可以按其他顺序排列这些列。(请参阅。)

要在“时间轴”面板中显示或隐藏列,请单击“时间轴”面板左下角的“图层开关”、“转换控制” 或“入点/出点/持续时间/伸缩” 按钮。按 Shift+F4 可显示或隐藏“父级”列。按 F4 可切换“开关”和“模式”列。

一些图层开关设置的结果取决于合成开关的设置,它们位于“时间轴”面板中图层轮廓的右上角。

注意:

通过单击某个图层的开关并为相邻图层向上或向下拖动该列,可快速更改多个图层的开关状态。

Jeff Almasol 在其 redefinery 网站上提供了一个脚本,该脚本创建一个面板,您可以使用该面板保存和恢复合成中所有图层的图层开关设置。

“A/V 功能”列中的开关

视频 

启用或禁用图层视觉效果。(请参阅图层或性质组的可见性切换或影响)。

音频 

启用或禁用图层声音。

独奏 

在预览和渲染中包括当前图层,忽略没有设置此开关的图层。(请参阅独奏图层。)

锁定 

锁定图层内容,从而防止所有更改。(请参阅锁定或解锁图层。)

“开关”列中的开关

隐蔽 

在选择“隐藏隐蔽图层”合成开关 后,将隐藏当前图层。(请参阅在时间轴面板中显示和隐藏图层。)

折叠变换/连续栅格化

如果图层是预合成,则折叠变换;如果图层是形状图层、文本图层或以矢量图形文件(如 Adobe Illustrator 文件)作为源素材的图层,则连续栅格化。为矢量图层选择此开关会导致 After Effects 重新栅格化图层的每个帧,这会提高图像品质,但也会增加预览和渲染所需的时间。(请参阅渲染顺序和折叠变换持续将包含矢量图形的图层光栅化。)

品质 

在图层渲染品质的“最佳”和“草稿”选项之间切换,包括渲染到屏幕以进行预览。(请参阅图层图像质量和子像素定位。)

效果 

选择以使用效果渲染图层。此开关不影响图层上各种效果的设置。(请参阅删除或禁用效果与动画预设。)

帧混合

可将帧混合设置为三种状态之一:“帧混合”、“像素运动”或“关闭”。如果没有选择“启用帧混合”合成开关 ,则不考虑图层的帧混合设置。(请参阅帧混合。)

运动模糊 

为图层启用或禁用运动模糊。如果没有选择“启用运动模糊” 合成开关,则不考虑图层的运动模糊设置。(请参阅运动模糊。)

调整图层 

将图层标识为调整图层。(请参阅调整图层。)

3D 图层 

将图层标识为 3D 图层。如果图层是具有 3D 子图层的 3D 图层(例如,具有逐字符 3D 化属性的文本图层),则此开关使用该图标:。(请参阅3D 图层概览与资源。)

切换图层或属性组的可视性或影响

图层的“视频”(眼球)开关控制是否为预览或最终输出渲染图层的视觉信息。如果图层是调整图层,则“视频”开关控制是否将该图层上的效果应用于它下面的图层合成。如果是摄像机或光照图层,则“视频”开关控制是打开还是关闭该图层。

图层的多个组件(例如画笔、形状图层中的路径操作和文本图层中的文本动画器)均具有自己的“视频”开关。您可以使用“视频”开关来逐个切换这些项目的可视性和影响。

  • 要关闭图层的可视性,请取消选择图层的“视频”开关。
  • 要为所有图层选择“视频”开关,请选择“图层”>“开关”>“显示所有视频”。
  • 要为所选图层之外的其他所有图层取消选择“视频”开关,请选择“图层”>“开关”>“隐藏其他视频”。

独奏图层

您可以通过独奏为制作动画、预览或最终输出隔离一个或多个图层。独奏可将相同类型的所有其他图层排除在渲染之外,这同时适用于“合成”面板中的预览和最终输出。例如,如果您独奏视频图层,则任何光照和音频图层将不受影响,它们将在您预览或渲染合成时显示。不过,不会显示其他视频图层。

  • 要独奏一个或多个图层,请在“时间轴”面板中选择相应图层,然后单击图层名称左侧的“独奏”图标
  • 要独奏一个图层并取消独奏所有其他图层,请按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS) 并单击图层名称左侧的“独奏”图标

在独奏图层时,其他图层的“视频”开关 将变暗,指示其他图层不可见。

Lloyd Alvarez 在其 After Effects Scripts 网站上提供了一个脚本,您可以使用该脚本标记图层,然后根据它们的标记选择、隐蔽和独奏图层。这些标记将附加到“时间轴”面板中“注释”列中的注释中。

锁定或解锁图层

“锁定”开关可防止意外编辑图层。在图层已锁定时,您无法在“合成”或“时间轴”面板中选择它。如果您尝试选择或修改已锁定图层,则该图层会在“时间轴”面板中闪光。

在图层已锁定时,“锁定”图标 会显示在“A/V 功能”列中,它默认显示在“时间轴”面板中图层名称的左侧。

  • 要锁定或解锁图层,请在“时间轴”面板中单击该图层的“锁定”开关。
  • 要解锁活动合成中的所有图层,请选择“图层”>“开关”>“解锁所有图层”。

图层、合成和素材项目的颜色标签

您可以在“项目”面板和“时间轴”面板中使用标签(“标签”列中的彩色框)来组织和管理合成、素材项目和图层。默认情况下,不同的标签颜色指示不同种类的素材项目,但您可以分配标签颜色以指示您选择的类别。

注意:

重命名标签组可帮助您组织和分类图层和素材项目。要在“标签”列中查看标签名称,请加宽列,使其大于默认宽度。

  • 要选择具有相同标签颜色的所有图层,请选择一个具有该标签颜色的图层,然后选择“编辑”>“标签”>“选择标签组”。
  • 要更改某个图层的标签的颜色,请在“时间轴”面板中单击该标签,然后选择颜色。
  • 要更改具有该标签颜色的所有图层的标签颜色,请选择属于该标签组的图层之一,选择“编辑”>“标签”>“选择标签组”,然后选择“编辑”>“标签”>“[颜色名称]”。
  • 要更改标签的名称和默认颜色,请选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“标签”(Windows) 或“After Effects”>“首选项”>“标签”(Mac OS)。
  • 要更改标签颜色与源类型的默认关联,请选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“标签”(Windows) 或“After Effects”>“首选项”>“标签”(Mac OS)。
  • 要对图层手柄和运动路径禁用图层的标签颜色,请选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“外观”(Windows) 或“After Effects”>“首选项”>“外观”(Mac OS),然后取消选择“对图层手柄和路径使用标签颜色”。
  • 要在相应面板的选项卡中禁用图层、素材项目或合成的标签颜色,请选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“外观”(Windows) 或“After Effects”>“首选项”>“外观”(Mac OS),然后取消选择“对相关选项卡使用标签颜色”。

注意:

默认情况下,“外观”首选项中的“亮度”控件不能影响面板标签颜色。要使“亮度”控件影响面板标签颜色,请在“外观”首选项中选择“影响标签颜色”选项。

在“时间轴”面板中显示和隐藏图层

您可以将图层标记为隐蔽,然后使用“时间轴”面板顶端的“隐藏隐蔽图层” 合成开关来隐藏“时间轴”面板图层轮廓中的所有隐蔽图层。隐蔽图层有助于腾出“时间轴”面板中的空间来显示要调整的图层和图层属性。

“开关”列中的图标指示图层是隐蔽的 还是非隐蔽的

仍为预览和最终输出渲染隐蔽图层。要在预览或最终输出中排除图层,请使用“视频”开关或使图层成为引导图层。

  • 要在隐蔽和非隐蔽之间切换图层,请单击图层的“隐蔽”开关,或在“时间轴”面板中选择图层,然后选择“图层”>“开关”>“隐蔽”。
  • 要在隐藏和显示所有隐蔽图层之间切换,请单击以选择或取消选择“时间轴”面板顶端的“隐藏隐蔽图层”合成开关,或从“时间轴”面板菜单中选择“隐藏隐蔽图层”。

您还可以在“时间轴”面板中筛选图层,以便仅显示其属性与搜索字符串或某些其他特性匹配的图层。请参阅在时间轴、项目和效果与预设面板中搜索并筛选在时间轴面板中显示属性和组(键盘快捷键)

Lloyd Alvarez 在其 After Effects Scripts 网站上提供了一个脚本,您可以使用该脚本标记图层,然后根据它们的标记选择、隐蔽和独奏图层。标记将附加到“时间轴”面板中“注释”字段的注释中。

图层图像品质和子像素定位

图层的品质设置决定它的渲染精度并影响涉及该图层的其他计算的精度,例如运动跟踪和使用图层作为复合效果的控制图层。

复制或拆分的图层保留原始图层的“品质”设置。

您可以在三种品质之间进行选择:最佳、草图或线框。当您选择“最佳”选项时,可以在双线性和双立方采样之间进行选择,如下一部分所述。

要在所选图层的“最佳(双线性采样)”、“草图”和“最佳(双立方采样)”品质之间切换,请在“时间轴”面板中单击“品质”开关。要从所有这些选项和“线框”选项中进行选择,请选择“图层”>“品质”:

最佳

使用子像素定位、消除锯齿、3D 阴影以及任何应用效果的完整计算来显示和渲染图层。为进行预览和最终输出,“最佳”品质需要最多的渲染时间。

草图

显示图层以便您可以查看它,但仅是粗糙品质。“草稿”品质在没有使用消除锯齿和子像素定位的情况下显示并渲染图层,并且一些效果的计算不精确。

线框

将图层显示为框,不包含图层内容。图层线框的显示和渲染速度比使用“最佳”或“草稿”设置渲染的图层快。

双线性和双立方采样

对于品质设置为“最佳”的图层,您可以在双立方和双线性采样之间进行选择。这种逐图层的设置确定如何为变换(例如缩放)执行像素采样。

为所选图层设置采样方法的默认键盘快捷键是 Alt+B (Windows) 与 Option+B (Mac OS)(用于最佳/双线性),以及 Alt+Shift+B (Windows) 与 Option+Shift+B (Mac OS)(用于最佳/双立方)。

与双线性采样相比,双立方采样会占用更多的处理器资源,双立方采样在所有情况下都不是品质最高的选择。在某些环境中,双立方采样相当容易看到伪影,例如从一种颜色到另一种颜色的硬过渡产生的振荡和过冲。若要从一种颜色更平缓地过渡到另一种颜色,双立方采样可能是最好的选项,因为几乎所有的真实摄影图像都是这样,而边缘分明的图形却未必如此。与缩小相比,双立方采样更有利于放大。

注意:

光线追踪 3D 渲染器中的纹理不使用双立方采样,而始终使用双线性采样。效果内的变换仍使用双线性采样,除非此效果专门执行另一种方法(比如专用缩放增效工具效果或变形效果)。

子像素定位

After Effects 中的属性值(例如“位置”和“锚点”)不局限于整数值;它们也可以具有小数值。在将值从一个关键帧插到另一个关键帧中时,这将允许平滑动画。例如,在每秒 25 帧的合成中,如果“位置”值从时间为 0 的关键帧处的 [0,0,0] 转到时间为 1 秒的值 [0,0,80],则第 1 帧处的值是 [0,0,3.2]。

After Effects 计算所有空间值(例如“位置”和效果控制点),精度为像素的 1/65,536。这称为子像素精度

如果在合成的像素边界上没有直接定位图层的像素,则会出现少量模糊,这非常类似于消除锯齿。此模糊不是运动中的对象的问题,因为运动中的对象具有运动模糊,但它可以柔化静止图像中的细节。此外,如果图像移动缓慢或移动速度错误,则图像可能看起来一会清晰,一会模糊。

因为图层的默认锚点是对象的中心,所以奇数大小的对象具有非整数锚点,并且在以整数值定位时将显得较柔和。要尽可能降低焦点结果的模糊度和不确定性,请遵循以下指南:

  • 根据合成的尺寸,创建奇数或偶数尺寸的图形。例如,如果合成是 640x480 像素,则创建偶数尺寸的图形(例如 100x100 像素);如果合成是 99x99 像素,则创建奇数尺寸的图形(例如 75x53 像素)。

  • 将图形的位置信息(包括定格位置和最终位置关键帧)设置为整数,而非小数。

连续栅格化包含矢量图形的图层

在您导入矢量图形时,After Effects 会自动栅格化它们。不过,如果您要将包含矢量图形的图层缩放到 100% 之上,则需要连续栅格化该图层以保证图像品质。您可以连续栅格化图层中基于 Illustrator、SWF、EPS 和 PDF 文件的矢量图形。连续栅格化将导致 After Effects 基于每个帧的变换按需栅格化文件。连续栅格化的图层通常可生成较高品质的结果,但它的渲染速度可能较慢。

总是连续栅格化形状图层和文本图层。

在您将效果应用于连续栅格化的图层时,结果可能不同于将效果应用于没有连续栅格化的图层的结果。结果中的此差异是因为图层的默认渲染顺序会发生变化。没有连续栅格化的图层的默认渲染顺序依次是蒙版、效果和变换;而连续栅格化的图层的默认渲染顺序依次是蒙版、变换和效果。

无论您是否连续栅格化,只要您使用“最佳品质”查看和渲染合成,After Effects 就会为矢量图形消除锯齿(平滑)。

您无法在“图层”面板中打开连续栅格化的图层或与之交互。此限制的结果是您无法直接在连续栅格化的图层上绘画。不过,您可以从其他图层复制并粘贴画笔。

导入的 Illustrator 文件(含栅格化图层)中的图像
导入的 Illustrator 文件中的图像

A. 原始 B. 关闭“连续栅格化”开关时的放大图像 C. 打开“连续栅格化”开关时的放大图像 
  1. 在“时间轴”面板中,单击图层的“连续栅格化”开关 ,它与预合成图层的“折叠变换”开关相同。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Jeff Almasol provides a script on his redefinery website that renders and exports each of the selected layers separately. For example, use this script if layers represent different versions of an effect or different parts of an effect that you want to render as separate passes for flexibility in how they get composited.

View and change layer information

  • To rename a layer or property group, do one of the following:
    • Select the item in the Timeline panel, press Enter (Windows) or Return (Mac OS), and enter the new name.

    • Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the item in the Timeline panel, choose Rename, and enter the new name.

  • To alternate between viewing the names of source footage items and the names of layers in the Timeline panel, click the Layer Name/Source Name column heading in the Timeline panel.

Note:

When the layer name and the source footage name are the same, square brackets appear around the layer name in the layer name view, like this: [layer name]

  • To show the name of the source footage file for a selected layer in the Info panel, press Ctrl+Alt+E (Windows) or Command+Option+E (Mac OS).
  • To see what footage item is the source for a layer, right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the layer in the Timeline panel and choose Reveal Layer Source In Project.

The source footage item is selected in the Project panel.

You can filter layers in the Timeline panel to show only layers with properties that match a search string or certain other characteristics. See Search and filter in the Timeline, Project, and Effects & Presets panels and Showing properties and groups in the Timeline panel (keyboard shortcuts).

Jeff Almasol provides a script on his redefinery website that automatically writes specified information about footage items or layers to the Comment fields for the respective items in the Project panel or Timeline panel.

Christopher Green provides a script (Selected_Layers_Renamer.jsx) on his website with which you can rename multiple layers selected in the Timeline panel. You can search and replace text in the names, append characters to the beginning or end of the names, trim a specified number of characters from the beginning or end of the names, or replace the names with numbers in a series.

Layer switches and columns in the Timeline panel

Many of characteristics of a layer are determined by its layer switches, which are arranged in the Timeline panel in columns. By default, the A/V Features column appears to the left of the layer name, and the Switches and Modes (Transfer Controls) columns appear to the right, but you can arrange columns in a different order. (See Columns.)

To show or hide columns in the Timeline panel, click the Layer Switches , Transfer Controls , or In/Out/Duration/Stretch button in the lower-left corner of the Timeline panel. Press Shift+F4 to show or hide the Parent column. Press F4 to toggle the Switches and Modes columns.

The results of some layer switch settings depend on the settings of composition switches, which are in the upper right of the layer outline in the Timeline panel.

Note:

Quickly change the state of a switch for multiple layers by clicking the switch for one layer and dragging up or down that column for the adjacent layers.

Jeff Almasol provides a script on his redefinery website that creates a panel with which you can save and restore the layer switch settings for all layers in a composition.

Switches in the A/V Features column

Video 

Toggles layer visuals on or off. (See Toggle visibility or influence of a layer or property group.)

Audio 

Toggles layer sounds on or off.

Solo 

Includes the current layer in previews and renders, ignoring layers without this switch set. (See Solo a layer.)

Lock 

Locks layer contents, preventing all changes. (See Lock or unlock a layer.)

Switches in the Switches column

Shy 

Hides the current layer when the Hide Shy Layers composition switch is selected. (See Show and hide layers in the Timeline panel.)

Collapse Transformations/Continuously Rasterize

Collapses transformations if the layer is a precomposition; continuously rasterizes if the layer is a shape layer, text layer, or layer with a vector graphics file (such as an Adobe Illustrator file) as the source footage. Selecting this switch for a vector layer causes After Effects to rerasterize the layer for each frame, which improves image quality, but also increases the time required for previewing and rendering. (See Render order and collapsing transformations and Continuously rasterize a layer containing vector graphics.)

Quality 

Toggles between Best and Draft options for layer quality for rendering, including rendering to the screen for previews. (See Layer image quality and subpixel positioning.)

Effect 

Select to render the layer with effects. The switch does not affect the setting for individual effects on the layer. (See Delete or disable effects and animation presets.)

Frame Blend 

Sets frame blending to one of three states: Frame Mix , Pixel Motion , or off. If the Enable Frame Blending composition switch is not selected, the frame blending setting of the layer is irrelevant. (See Frame blending.)

Motion Blur 

Toggles motion blur on or off for the layer. If the Enable Motion Blur composition switch is not selected, the motion blur setting of the layer is irrelevant. (See Motion blur.)

Adjustment Layer 

Identifies the layer as an adjustment layer. (See Adjustment layers.)

3D Layer 

Identifies the layer as a 3D layer. If the layer is a 3D layer with 3D sublayers—as is the case for a text layer with per-character 3D properties—the switch uses this icon: . (See 3D layers overview and resources.)

Toggle visibility or influence of a layer or property group

The Video (eyeball) switch for a layer controls whether the visual information for a layer is rendered for previews or final output. If the layer is an adjustment layer, the Video switch controls whether the effects on the layer are applied to the composite of the layers below it. If the layer is a camera or light, the Video switch controls whether the layer is on or off.

Several components of layers—such as paint strokes, path operations in shape layers, and text animators in text layers—each have their own Video switches. You can use the Video switch to toggle the visibility and influence of these items individually.

  • To turn off the visibility of a layer deselect the Video switch for the layer.
  • To select the Video switch for all layers, choose Layer > Switches > Show All Video.
  • To deselect the Video switch for all layers except the selected layers, choose Layer > Switches > Hide Other Video.

Solo a layer

You can isolate one or more layers for animating, previewing, or final output by soloing. Soloing excludes all other layers of the same type from being rendered—both for previews in the Composition panel and for final output. For example, if you solo a video layer, any lights and audio layers are unaffected, so they appear when you preview or render the composition. However, the other video layers do not appear.

  • To solo one or more layers, select the layers in the Timeline panel, and click the Solo icon to the left of the layer names.
  • To solo one layer and unsolo all other layers, Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) the Solo icon to the left of the layer name.

The Video switch is dimmed for other layers when a layer is soloed, indicating that the other layers are not visible.

Lloyd Alvarez provides a script on his After Effects Scripts website with which you can tag layers and then select, shy, and solo layers according to their tags. The tags are appended to comments in the Comments column in the Timeline panel.

Lock or unlock a layer

The Lock switch prevents layers from being edited accidentally. When a layer is locked, you cannot select it in either the Composition or Timeline panels. If you try to select or modify a locked layer, the layer flashes in the Timeline panel.

When a layer is locked, the Lock icon appears in the A/V Features column, which appears by default to the left of the layer name in the Timeline panel.

  • To lock or unlock a layer, click the Lock switch for the layer in the Timeline panel.
  • To unlock all layers in the active composition, choose Layer > Switches > Unlock All Layers.

Color labels for layers, compositions, and footage items

You can use labels (colored boxes in the Label column) in the Project panel and Timeline panel to organize and manage compositions, footage items, and layers. By default, different label colors indicate different kinds of footage items, but you can assign label colors to indicate whatever categories you choose.

Note:

Rename label groups to help you to organize and categorize layers and footage items. To see label names in the Label column, widen the column to greater than the default width.

  • To select all layers with the same label color, select a layer with that label color and choose Edit > Label > Select Label Group.
  • To change the color of a label for one layer, click the label in the Timeline panel and choose a color.
  • To change the color of a label for all layers with that label color, select one of the layers belonging to the label group, choose Edit > Label > Select Label Group, and choose Edit > Label > [color name].
  • To change the names and default colors for labels, choose Edit > Preferences > Labels (Windows) or After Effects > Preferences > Labels (Mac OS).
  • To change the default associations of label colors with source types, choose Edit > Preferences > Labels (Windows) or After Effects > Preferences > Labels (Mac OS).
  • To disable the use of a layer’s label color for layer handles and motion paths, choose Edit > Preferences > Appearance (Windows) or After Effects > Preferences > Appearance (Mac OS), and deselect Use Label Colors For Layer Handles And Paths.
  • To disable the use of a layer, footage item, or composition’s label color in the tabs of corresponding panels, choose Edit > Preferences > Appearance (Windows) or After Effects > Preferences > Appearance (Mac OS), and deselect Use Label Colors For Related Tabs.

Note:

By default, the panel label colors do not respond to the Brightness control in the Appearance preferences. To make the Brightness control affect panel label colors, select the Affects Label Colors option in the Appearance preferences.

Show and hide layers in the Timeline panel

You can mark a layer as shy and then use the Hide Shy Layers composition switch at the top of the Timeline panel to hide all shy layers in the Timeline panel layer outline. Making layers shy is useful for making room in the Timeline panel to show the layers and layer properties that you want to adjust.

The icon in the Switches column indicates whether a layer is shy or not shy .

Shy layers are still rendered, both for previews and for final output. To exclude layers from previews or final output, use the Video switch or make the layer a guide layer.

  • To toggle a layer between shy and not shy, click the Shy switch for the layer, or select the layer in the Timeline panel and choose Layer > Switches > Shy.
  • To toggle between hiding and showing all shy layers, click to select or deselect the Hide Shy Layers composition switch at the top of the Timeline panel, or choose Hide Shy Layers from the Timeline panel menu.

You can also filter layers in the Timeline panel to show only layers with properties that match a search string or certain other characteristics. See Search and filter in the Timeline, Project, and Effects & Presets panels and Showing properties and groups in the Timeline panel (keyboard shortcuts).

Lloyd Alvarez provides a script on his After Effects Scripts website with which you can tag layers and then select, shy, and solo layers according to their tags. The tags are appended to comments in the Comments field in the Timeline panel.

Layer image quality and subpixel positioning

The quality setting of a layer determines how precisely it is rendered, as well as influencing the precision of other calculations involving the layer, such as motion tracking and the use of the layer as a control layer for a compound effect.

Duplicated or split layers retain the Quality setting of the original layer.

You can choose between three options for quality: Best, Draft, and Wireframe. When you select the Best option, you can choose between bilinear and bicubic sampling, which are described in the next section. 

To toggle between Best (bilinear sampling), Draft, and Best (bicubic sampling) quality of selected layers, click the Quality switch in the Timeline panel. To choose from all these options plus the Wireframe option, choose Layer > Quality:

Best

Displays and renders a layer using subpixel positioning, anti-aliasing, 3D shading, and complete calculation of any applied effects. Best requires the most time for rendering—both for previews and for final output.

Draft

Displays a layer so that you can see it, but only at rough quality. Draft quality displays and renders a layer without anti-aliasing and subpixel positioning, and some effects are not precisely calculated.

Wireframe

Displays a layer as a box, without layer contents. Layer wireframes are displayed and rendered faster than layers rendered with Best or Draft settings.

Bilinear and bicubic sampling

For layers with quality set to Best, you can choose between bicubic and bilinear sampling. This per-layer setting determines how pixels are sampled for transformations such as scaling.

The default keyboard shortcuts for setting the sampling method for selected layers are Alt+B (Windows) and Option+B (Mac OS) for Best/Bilinear and Alt+Shift+B (Windows) and Option+Shift+B (Mac OS) for Best/Bicubic.

Bicubic sampling is somewhat more processor-intensive than bilinear sampling, and bicubic sampling is not the highest-quality choice in all cases. It’s rather easy to see artifacts with bicubic sampling in some circumstances, such as ringing and overshoots at a hard transition from one color to another. Bicubic sampling tends to be the best option in cases where transitions from one color to another are more gradual, as is the case with nearly all real-world photographic images, but not necessarily for sharp-edged graphics. Bicubic sampling helps more for scaling up than it does for scaling down.

Note:

Textures in the ray-traced 3D renderer do not use bicubic sampling; they always use bilinear sampling. Transformations within effects also still use bilinear sampling, unless the effect specifically implements another method (as with a dedicated scaling plug-in effect or distortion effect).

Subpixel positioning

Property values (like Position and Anchor Point) in After Effects are not restricted to integer values; they can have fractional values, too. This allows for smooth animation, as a value is interpolated from one keyframe to another. For example, if a Position value goes from [0,0,0] at a keyframe at time 0 to a value of [0,0,80] at time 1 second in a 25-frames-per-second composition, then the value at frame 1 is [0,0,3.2].

After Effects calculates all spatial values, like Position and effect control points, to a precision of 1/65,536 of a pixel. This is called subpixel precision.

If the pixels of a layer aren't positioned directly on the pixel boundaries of the composition, a small amount of blur occurs—very similar to anti-aliasing. This blur is not a problem for an object in motion, because objects in motion have motion blur, but it can soften fine details in a static image. Also, if an image is moving slowly or at just the wrong speed, the image can appear to oscillate between sharpness and blurriness.

Because the default anchor point for a layer is the center of an object, odd-sized objects have non-integer anchor points and appear soft when positioned at integer values. To minimize blurriness and in-and-out of focus result, follow these guidelines:

  • Create graphics with odd or even dimensions, based on the dimensions of the composition. For example, if the composition is 640x480 pixels, create graphics with even dimensions (such as 100x100 pixels); if the composition is 99x99 pixels, create graphics with odd dimensions (such as 75x53 pixels).

  • Set the position information for graphics (including the hold position and final position keyframes) to integers and not fractional numbers.

Continuously rasterize a layer containing vector graphics

When you import vector graphics, After Effects automatically rasterizes them. However, if you want to scale a layer that contains vector graphics above 100%, then you need to continuously rasterize the layer to maintain image quality. You can continuously rasterize vector graphics in layers based on Illustrator, SWF, EPS, and PDF files. Continuously rasterizing causes After Effects to rasterize the file as needed based on the transformation for each frame. A continuously rasterized layer generally produces higher-quality results, but it may render more slowly.

Shape layers and text layers are always continuously rasterized.

When you apply an effect to a continuously rasterized layer, the results may differ from the results of applying the effect to a layer without continuous rasterization. This difference in results is because the default rendering order for the layer changes. The default rendering order for a layer without continuous rasterization is masks, followed by effects, and then transformations; whereas the default rendering order for a continuously rasterized layer is masks, followed by transformations, and then effects.

Whether or not you continuously rasterize, if you view and render a composition using Best Quality, After Effects anti-aliases (smooths) the vector graphics.

You cannot open or interact with a continuously rasterized layer in a Layer panel. A result of this limitation is that you can’t paint directly on a continuously rasterized layer. However, you can copy and paste paint strokes from other layers.

Image from imported Illustrator file with rasterized layer
Image from imported Illustrator file

A. Original B. Enlarged with Continuously Rasterize switch turned off C. Enlarged with Continuously Rasterize switch turned on 
  • In the Timeline panel, click the layer’s Continuously Rasterize switch  , which is the same as the Collapse Transformations switch for precomposition layers.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy