隔行视频和分离场

隔行是针对使用有限带宽传送电视信号而开发的一种技术。在隔行系统中,每次只传送每个视频帧的一半水平行数。由于传送速度、显示器余辉和视觉暂留方面的原因,查看器以完全分辨率感知每个帧。所有模拟电视标准都使用隔行技术。数字电视标准同时包括隔行非隔行模式。通常,从隔行扫描生成隔行信号,从逐行扫描生成非隔行信号。

每个隔行视频帧由两个组成。每个场包含帧中的一半水平行数,高场(或场 1)包含奇数行,而低场(或场 2)包含偶数行。隔行视频监视器先绘制一个场中的所有行,再绘制另一个场中的所有行,以此来显示每个帧。场序指定先绘制哪个场。在 NTSC 视频中,新场以近 60 次/秒的速度绘制到屏幕上,对应于接近 30 帧/秒的帧速率。

非隔行视频帧不分离为场。逐行扫描监视器通过自上向下绘制一遍所有水平行来显示非隔行视频帧。计算机显示器几乎都是逐行扫描监视器,而计算机显示器上显示的大多数视频都是非隔行的。

因此,术语逐行非隔行密切相关,且常常可交替使用。但是,逐行扫描指通过摄像机或监视器录制或绘制扫描行,而非隔行指视频数据本身不分离为场。

隔行视频场的隔行扫描与非隔行视频帧的逐行扫描之比较
隔行视频场的隔行扫描与非隔行视频帧的逐行扫描之比较。

A. 对于隔行视频,先自上向下在屏幕上绘制一遍整个高场(奇数行)。 B. 然后,自上向下在屏幕上绘制一遍整个低场(偶数行)。 C. 对于非隔行视频,自上向下在屏幕上绘制一遍整个帧(采用计数顺序的所有行)。 

分离视频场

如果要在 After Effects 项目中使用隔行或场渲染的素材(如 NTSC 视频),那么在导入素材时分离视频场可以获得最佳结果。After Effects 通过从每个场创建完整帧,并且保留原始素材中的所有图像数据,来分离视频场。

如果您准备对图像做出重要改动,分离场很关键。在对隔行视频进行缩放、旋转或应用效果时,常常会引入不需要的伪影(比如交叉场)。通过分离场,After Effects 能够准确地将视频中的两个隔行帧转化为非隔行帧,同时保持最高水平的图像品质。使用非隔行帧,After Effects 可以持续地以最高质量应用编辑和效果。

After Effects 通过将原来的单个隔行帧拆分成两个独立帧,来从该隔行帧创建场分离素材。每个新帧只包含原始帧的一半信息,所以在“草图”品质下查看时,一些帧看起来似乎比其他帧的分辨率低。当渲染最终合成时,After Effects 会重现高质量的隔行帧以供输出。在“最佳”品质下渲染影片时,After Effects 会在场的扫描行间插入值,以生成最高图像品质。

如果不进行隔行输出,则最好使用非隔行源素材,这样就不必分离场。但是,如果您的源素材的非隔行版本不可用,则适合用隔行素材。

始终对隔行素材分离场。永远不要对非隔行素材项目分离场。

分离场之后才能移除 Pulldown。

在渲染包含场分离素材的合成时,请将“场渲染”选项设置为与您的视频设备具有相同的场序。如果没有对合成进行场渲染,或者使用错误设置执行场渲染,则最终影片可能显得过于松散、抖动或变形。

注意:

要使视频素材快速具有类似影片的外观,可导入两遍素材,并使用不同的场序解释每个素材项目。然后,将二者添加到同一合成中并混合它们。被误解释的图层增添了一些类似影片的模糊效果。

After Effects 可为 D1 和 DV 视频素材项目自动分离场。您可以在“解释素材”对话框中为所有其他类型的视频素材手动分离场。

  1. 在“项目”面板中选择素材项目。

  2. 选择“文件”>“解释素材”>“主要”。

  3. 从“分离场”菜单中选择一个选项。

  4. 在“最佳”品质下渲染图像时,单击“保留边缘(仅最佳品质)”以提高非移动区域的图像品质。然后单击“确定”。

注意:

如果“解释素材”对话框中的场设置对于输入素材是正确的,并且“渲染设置”对话框中的场设置对于输出设备也是正确的,则可以将不同场序的素材项目混合在一个合成中。然而,如果其中某个设置不正确,则帧的顺序虽然正确,但场序可能反转,从而导致无法接受的抖动图像。

确定原始场序

隔行视频素材项目的场序决定按何种顺序显示两个视频场(高场和低场)。先绘制高场线后绘制低场线的系统称为高场优先,先绘制低场线后绘制高场线的系统称为低场优先。许多标清格式(如 DV NTSC)为低场优先,而许多高清格式(如 1080i DVCPRO HD)则为高场优先。

按何种顺序显示场很重要,尤其是当场中包含运动时。如果按错误的场序分离视频场,则运动看起来不平滑。

当渲染隔行视频文件时,一些程序(包括 After Effects)会为场序添加标签。当导入带标签的视频文件时,After Effects 自动接受场序标签。您可以通过应用不同的素材解释设置来覆盖此场序。

如果文件中不包含场序标签,您可以匹配素材的原始场序。如果您不确定使用了哪个场序来隔行扫描素材项目,可使用以下过程确定场序。

  1. 在“项目”面板中选择项。

  2. 选择“文件”>“解释素材”>“主要”。

  3. 在“解释素材”对话框中,从“分离场”菜单中选择“高场优先”,然后单击“确定”。

  4. 在“项目”面板中,按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS) 并双击素材以在“素材”面板中打开它。

  5. 如果看不到“预览”面板,请选择“窗口”>“预览”。

  6. 在“素材”面板中,查找包含一个或多个运动区域的片段。

  7. 使用“预览”面板中的“下一帧”按钮 ,在“素材”面板中以至少五帧的步长前进。运动区域应向一个方向不停地运动。如果运动区域每隔一个帧向后运动,则说明应用于素材的场分离选项错误。

关于场和隔行视频的在线资源

Chris Pirazzi 在他的 Lurker's Guide to Video 网站上提供了场和隔行的技术细节。

Trish 和 Chris Meyer 提供了有关隔行、场序、场控制、场渲染和分离场的各种材料:

从视频中移除 3:2 或 24Pa Pulldown

当您传送 24 fps 影片到 29.97 fps 视频时,可使用一个称为 3:2 Pulldown 的过程,在该过程中,影片帧以重复的 3:2 模式跨视频场分布。影片的第一个帧复制到视频的第一个帧的场 1 和场 2,同时也复制到第二个视频帧的场 1。影片的第二个帧随后在视频的下两个场(即第二个视频帧的场 2 和视频的第三个帧的场 1)中传播。一直重复这种 3:2 模式,直到影片的四个帧传播到视频的五个帧上,接着继续重复该模式。

3:2 Pulldown 过程将导致产生全帧(用 W 表示)和拆分场帧(用 S 表示)。这三个全视频帧包含来自相同影片帧的两个场。其余两个拆分场帧包含来自两个不同影片帧的一个视频帧。两个拆分场帧始终彼此相邻。所谓 3:2 Pulldown 相位是指两个拆分场帧位于素材前五个帧上的阶段。

相位是在 3:2 Pulldown 期间发生的两个转换的结果:24 fps 影片通过 30 fps 视频重新分布,于是 24 fps 影片的所有四个帧都传播到 30(29.97) fps 视频的五个帧上。首先,影片减速 0.1% 来匹配 29.97 fps 和 30 fps 之间的速度差。然后,每个影片帧以特定模式重复并与视频场匹配。

从视频中移除 3:2 或 24Pa Pulldown
在将 3:2 Pulldown 应用于素材时,影片 (A) 的一个帧分离成两个或三个隔行视频场 (B),视频场组成视频帧,每个视频帧包含两个场。

在导入最初来自影片的隔行视频时,可将传送期间(从影片到视频)为确保 After Effects 中应用的效果不致变形而分离场时所应用的 3:2 Pulldown 移除。

从最初为影片的视频素材中移除 3:2 Pulldown 很重要,这样可使您在 After Effects 中添加的效果与影片最初的帧速率完美同步。移除 3:2 Pulldown 可减少 1/5 帧速率,即从 30 降低到 24 fps,或者从 29.97 降低到 23.976 fps,同时还将减少您必须更改的帧数。要移除 3:2 Pulldown,还必须指出 3:2 Pulldown 的相位。

After Effects 也支持 Panasonic DVX100 24p DV 摄像机 Pulldown,称为 24P Advance (24Pa)。有些摄像机使用该格式来捕捉采用标准 DV 磁带的 23.976 逐行扫描图像。

在移除 3:2 Pulldown 之前,先将场分离为高场优先或低场优先。一旦分离了场,After Effects 就可以分析素材,并确定正确的 3:2 Pulldown 相位和场序。如果您已经知道相位和场序,请从“解释素材”对话框的“分离场”菜单和“移除”菜单中选择它们。

  1. 在“项目”面板中,选择要从中移除 3:2 Pulldown 的素材项目。
  2. 选择“文件”>“解释素材”>“主要”。
  3. 在“场和 Pulldown”部分,从“分离场”菜单中选择“高场优先”或“低场优先”。
  4. 执行以下任一操作并单击“确定”:
    • 如果您知道 3:2 或 24Pa Pulldown 的相位,则从“移除”菜单中选择它。

    • 要让 After Effects 来确定正确设置,请单击“猜测 3:2 Pulldown”或“猜测 24Pa Pulldown”。

    注意:

    如果您的素材文件包含来自不同源的帧,则相位可能不一致。如果相位不一致,请多次导入素材,为每个相位导入一次,并使用不同的设置解释每个素材项目。然后,将每个素材项目添加到合成中,修剪每个图层以便只使用适当的帧。换言之,如果您的资源具有多个 Pulldown 相位,则您需要将该资源剪切为块并为每个块分别移除 Pulldown。如果该资源是一个已在 NLE 中从多个源编辑在一起的影片,就会出现这种情况。

导入 Panasonic P2 格式的资源

P2 卡是插在 Panasonic P2 摄像机的 PCMCIA 插槽内的一种固态存储器。摄像机中的数字视频和音频数据采用一种称为 MXF(Media eXchange Format,媒体交换格式)的结构化的编解码器独立格式录制到该卡上。具体讲,Adobe Premiere Pro 和 After Effects 支持 Panasonic Op-Atom 型号的 MXF 格式,其视频为 AVC-Intra 50、AVC-Intra 100、DV、DVCPRO、DVCPRO50 和 DVCPRO HD 格式。如果某剪辑的音频和视频包含在 Panasonic Op-Atom MXF 文件中,并且这些文件位于一个特定文件夹结构内,则称该剪辑为 P2 格式文件。

P2 文件夹结构的根目录是 CONTENTS 文件夹。每个要素项目(视频或音频项目)包含在一个单独的 MXF 包装器文件内;视频 MXF 文件位于 VIDEO 子文件夹中,音频 MXF 文件位于 AUDIO 子文件夹中。由 CLIP 子文件夹中的 XML 文件负责跟踪要素文件和与其相关的元数据之间的关系。

注意:

Adobe Premiere Pro 和 After Effects 不支持 P2 卡 PROXY 文件夹中由 Panasonic P2 便携式摄像机录制的代理。

P2 卡上的视频和音频已经是数字格式,就好像 P2 卡是硬盘一样,因此从 P2 卡导入媒体时不涉及捕捉步骤。这种从卡中读取数据并将其转换为可在项目中使用的格式的过程有时也称为收录

为使您的计算机能够读取 P2 卡,您必须安装适当的驱动程序,可从 Panasonic 网站上下载该程序。Panasonic 还提供 P2 Viewer 应用程序,可利用该应用程序浏览和播放 P2 卡上存储的媒体。

因为 Panasonic P2 卡使用 FAT32 文件系统,所以每个文件的大小不超过 4 GB。当录制超过 4 GB 的镜头时,P2 摄像机会另外创建一个文件,而拍摄连续不断地录制到这一新文件中。此过程称为剪辑跨接,因为镜头跨越多个文件或剪辑。同样,一台摄像机可以跨不同 P2 卡上的文件连续拍摄一个镜头:如果该摄像机上装载了多个 P2 卡,它会一直录制,直到用完第一个 P2 卡上的空间,然后在下一个包含可用空间的 P2 卡上创建新文件,并继续将镜头录制到该卡上。虽然可以将一个镜头录制到多个跨接剪辑组中,但在视频编辑应用程序中,多文件镜头将被作为单个剪辑或素材项目进行处理。要使 After Effects 能够自动地同时导入一组跨接剪辑并将它们合并为一个素材项目,必须已将这些剪辑全都录制到同一 P2 卡上,而且不能缺少任何文件,包括关联的 XML 元数据文件。

  1. (可选)将 P2 卡中的整个内容复制到硬盘。

    虽然可以直接从 P2 卡将资源导入 Adobe Premiere Pro 或 After Effects,但是,先将 P2 卡的内容复制到硬盘然后再导入通常更为有效。

  2. 选择“文件”>“导入”。
  3. 导航到 CONTENTS 文件夹。
  4. 选择一个或多个 MXF 文件:
    • 要导入某视频要素项目及其关联的音频要素项目,请从 VIDEO 文件夹中选择 MXF 文件。

    • 要仅仅导入音频要素项目,请从 AUDIO 文件夹中选择 MXF 文件。

    • 要导入一组已录制到同一 P2 卡上的跨接镜头剪辑,请从 VIDEO 文件夹的组中只选择一个 MXF 文件。该组作为单个素材项目导入,其持续时间等于它包括的所有跨接剪辑的总持续时间。如果您选择了多个此类跨接剪辑,则会重复导入整组跨接剪辑,它们将作为“项目”面板中的重复素材项目。

    不能将跨越两个不同卡的镜头中的跨接剪辑作为单个素材项目导入。确切地说,您必须选择一个属于每个卡中镜头的 MXF 文件,才能为每个卡上录制的镜头部分创建一个单独的素材项目。例如,如果某个镜头的一组跨接剪辑本身跨越两个卡,则您必须在卡 1 上从该组中选择一个跨接剪辑,并在卡 2 上从该组中选择另一个跨接剪辑。这会将拍摄的内容导入“项目”面板的两个素材项目中。

“项目”面板中的“日期”列显示获得每个源剪辑的时间。导入跨接剪辑后,可以使用日期值来判断它们在镜头中的正确年月日次序。

注意:

After Effects 不能直接导出为 P2 格式。要渲染和导出为 P2 格式,请使用 Adobe Media Encoder 或 Premiere Pro。

有关 Panasonic P2 格式和 Adobe 数字视频软件工作流的更多信息,请访问 Adobe 网站:

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Interlaced video and separating fields

Interlacing is a technique developed for transmitting television signals using limited bandwidth. In an interlaced system, only half the number of horizontal lines for each frame of video are transmitted at a time. Because of the speed of transmission, the afterglow of displays, and the persistence of vision, the viewer perceives each frame in full resolution. All of the analog television standards use interlacing. Digital television standards include both interlaced and noninterlaced varieties. Typically, interlaced signals are generated from interlaced scanning, whereas noninterlaced signals are generated from progressive scanning.

Each interlaced video frame consists of two fields. Each field contains half the number of horizontal lines in the frame; the upper field (or Field 1) contains the odd-numbered lines, and the lower field (or Field 2) contains the even-numbered lines. An interlaced video monitor displays each frame by first drawing all of the lines in one field and then drawing all of the lines in the other field. Field order specifies which field is drawn first. In NTSC video, new fields are drawn to the screen approximately 60 times per second, corresponding to a frame rate of approximately 30 frames per second.

Noninterlaced video frames aren’t separated into fields. A progressive‑scan monitor displays a noninterlaced video frame by drawing all the horizontal lines, from top to bottom, in one pass. Computer monitors are almost all progressive-scan monitors, and most video displayed on computer monitors is noninterlaced.

The terms progressive and noninterlaced are thus closely related and are often used interchangeably, but progressive scanning refers to the recording or drawing of the scan lines by a camera or monitor, whereas noninterlaced refers to the fact that the video data itself isn’t separated into fields.

Interlaced scanning of interlaced video fields compared with progressive scanning of noninterlaced video frame
Interlaced scanning of interlaced video fields compared with progressive scanning of noninterlaced video frame.

A. For interlaced video, entire upper field (odd-numbered lines) is drawn to screen first, from top to bottom, in one pass. B. Next, entire lower field (even-numbered lines) is drawn to screen, from top to bottom, in one pass. C. For noninterlaced video, entire frame (all lines in counting order) is drawn to screen, from top to bottom, in one pass. 

Separate video fields

If you want to use interlaced or field-rendered footage (such as NTSC video) in an After Effects project, you get the best results if you separate the video fields when you import the footage. After Effects separates video fields by creating a full frame from each field, preserving all of the image data from the original footage.

Separating fields is critical if you plan to make significant changes to the image. When you scale, rotate, or apply effects to interlaced video, unwanted artifacts, such as crossed fields, are often introduced. By separating fields, After Effects accurately converts the two interlaced frames in the video to noninterlaced frames, while preserving the maximum amount of image quality. Using noninterlaced frames allows After Effects to apply edits and effects consistently and at the highest quality.

After Effects creates field-separated footage from a single formerly interlaced frame by splitting it into two independent frames. Each new frame has only half the information of the original frame, so some frames may appear to have a lower resolution than others when viewed at Draft quality. When you render the final composition, After Effects reproduces high-quality interlaced frames for output. When you render a movie at Best quality, After Effects interpolates between the scan lines of a field to produce maximum image quality.

If your output will not be interlaced, it’s best to use noninterlaced source footage, to avoid the need to separate fields. However, if a noninterlaced version of your source footage is not available, interlaced footage will work fine.

Always separate fields for interlaced footage. Never separate fields for noninterlaced footage items.

You can only remove pull-down after you have separated fields.

When you render a composition containing field-separated footage, set the Field Rendering option to the same field order as your video equipment. If you don’t field-render the composition, or if you field-render with the incorrect settings, the final movie may appear too soft, jerky, or distorted.

Note:

To quickly give video footage a more film-like appearance, import the footage twice, and interpret each footage item with a different field order. Then add them both to the same composition and blend them together. The misinterpreted layer adds some film-like blur.

After Effects automatically separates fields for D1 and DV video footage items. You can manually separate fields for all other types of video footage in the Interpret Footage dialog box.

  1. Select the footage item in the Project panel.

  2. Choose File > Interpret Footage > Main.

  3. Choose an option from the Separate Fields menu.

  4. Click Preserve Edges (Best Quality Only) to increase image quality in nonmoving areas when the image is rendered at Best quality. Then click OK.

Note:

If the field settings in the Interpret Footage dialog box are correct for the input footage and the field settings in the Render Settings dialog box are correct for the output device, you can mix footage items of different field orders in a composition. If either of these settings is incorrect, however, the frames will be in the correct order, but the field order may be reversed, resulting in jerky, unacceptable images.

Determine the original field order

The field order for an interlaced video footage item determines the order in which the two video fields (upper and lower) are displayed. A system that draws the upper lines before the lower lines is called upper-field first; one that draws the lower lines before the upper lines is called lower-field first. Many standard-definition formats (such as DV NTSC) are lower-field first, whereas many high-definition formats (such as 1080i DVCPRO HD) are upper-field first.

The order in which the fields are displayed is important, especially when the fields contain motion. If you separate video fields using the wrong field order, motion does not appear smooth.

Some programs, including After Effects, label the field order when rendering interlaced video files. When you import a labeled video file, After Effects honors the field order label automatically. You can override this field order by applying different footage interpretation settings.

If a file does not contain a field order label, you can match the original field order of your footage. If you are not sure which field order was used to interlace a footage item, use this procedure to find out.

  1. Select the item in the Project panel.

  2. Choose File > Interpret Footage > Main.

  3. In the Interpret Footage dialog box, select Upper Field First from the Separate Fields menu, and then click OK.

  4. In the Project panel, press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) as you double-click the footage to open it in the Footage panel.

  5. If the Preview panel is not visible, choose Window > Preview.

  6. In the Footage panel, find a segment that contains one or more moving areas.

  7. Using the Next Frame button in the Preview panel, step forward at least five frames in the Footage panel. Moving areas should move consistently in one direction. If the moving areas move backward every other frame, the wrong field-separation option has been applied to the footage.

Online resources about fields and interlaced video

Chris Pirazzi provides technical details of fields and interlacing on his Lurker's Guide to Video website.

Trish and Chris Meyer provide a variety of materials about interlacing, field order, field dominance, field rendering, and separating fields:

Remove 3:2 or 24Pa pulldown from video

When you transfer 24-fps film to 29.97-fps video, you use a process called 3:2 pulldown, in which the film frames are distributed across video fields in a repeating 3:2 pattern. The first frame of film is copied to fields 1 and 2 of the first frame of video, and also to field 1 of the second video frame. The second frame of film is then spread across the next two fields of video—field 2 of the second video frame and field 1 of the third frame of video. This 3:2 pattern is repeated until four frames of film are spread over five frames of video, and then the pattern is repeated.

The 3:2 pulldown process results in whole frames (represented by a W) and split-field frames (represented by an S). The three whole video frames contain two fields from the same film frame. The remaining two split-field frames contain a video frame from two different film frames. The two split-field frames are always adjacent to each other. The phase of 3:2 pulldown refers to the point at which the two split-field frames fall within the first five frames of the footage.

Phase occurs as a result of two conversions that happen during 3:2 pulldown: 24-fps film is redistributed through 30-fps video, so each of four frames of 24-fps film is spread out over five frames of 30(29.97)-fps video. First, the film is slowed down 0.1% to match the speed difference between 29.97 fps and 30 fps. Next, each film frame is repeated in a special pattern and mated to fields of video.

Remove 3:2 or 24Pa pulldown from video
When you apply 3:2 pulldown to footage, one frame of the film (A) is separated into two or three interlaced video fields (B) which are grouped into video frames containing two fields each.

When importing interlaced video that was originally transferred from film, you can remove the 3:2 pulldown that was applied during the transfer from film to video as you separate fields so that effects you apply in After Effects don’t appear distorted.

It’s important to remove 3:2 pulldown from video footage that was originally film so that effects you add in After Effects synchronize perfectly with the original frame rate of film. Removing 3:2 pulldown reduces the frame rate by 1/5—from 30 to 24 fps or from 29.97 to 23.976 fps, which also reduces the number of frames you have to change. To remove 3:2 pulldown, you must also indicate the phase of the 3:2 pulldown.

After Effects also supports Panasonic DVX100 24p DV camera pulldown, called 24P Advance (24Pa). Some cameras use this format to capture 23.976 progressive-scan imagery using standard DV tapes.

Before you remove 3:2 pulldown, separate the fields as either upper-field first or lower-field first. Once the fields are separated, After Effects can analyze the footage and determine the correct 3:2 pulldown phase and field order. If you already know the phase and field order, choose them from the Separate Fields and the Remove menus in the Interpret Footage dialog box.

  1. In the Project panel, select the footage item from which to remove 3:2 pulldown.
  2. Choose File > Interpret Footage > Main.
  3. In the Fields and Pulldown section, select Upper Field First or Lower Field First from the Separate Fields menu.
  4. Do one of the following and click OK:
    • If you know the phase of the 3:2 or 24Pa pulldown, choose it from the Remove menu.

    • To have After Effects determine the correct settings, click Guess 3:2 Pulldown or Guess 24Pa Pulldown.

    Note:

    If your footage file contains frames from different sources, the phase may not be consistent. If the phase is inconsistent, import the footage multiple times, once for each phase, and interpret each footage item with a different setting. Then, add each footage item to your composition and trim each layer to use only the appropriate frames. In other words, if you have an asset that has multiple pulldown phases, then you need to cut that asset into pieces and remove pulldown separately for each of the pieces. This can come up if the asset is a movie that has been edited together from several sources in an NLE.

Import assets in Panasonic P2 format

A P2 card is a solid-state memory device that plugs into the PCMCIA slot of a Panasonic P2 video camera. The digital video and audio data from the video camera is recorded onto the card in a structured, codec-independent format known as MXF (Media eXchange Format). Specifically, Adobe Premiere Pro and After Effects support the Panasonic Op-Atom variant of MXF, with video in AVC-Intra 50, AVC-Intra 100, DV, DVCPRO, DVCPRO50, and DVCPRO HD formats. A clip is said to be in the P2 format if its audio and video are contained in Panasonic Op-Atom MXF files, and these files are located in a specific folder structure.

The root of the P2 folder structure is a CONTENTS folder. Each essence item (an item of video or audio) is contained in a separate MXF wrapper file; the video MXF files are in the VIDEO subfolder, and the audio MXF files are in the AUDIO subfolder. The relationships between essence files and the metadata associated with them are tracked by XML files in the CLIP subfolder.

Note:

Adobe Premiere Pro and After Effects do not support proxies recorded by Panasonic P2 camcorders in P2 card PROXY folders.

The video and audio on a P2 card are already in a digital form, as if the P2 card were a hard disk, so no capture step is involved in importing media from a P2 card. The process of reading the data from the card and converting it to a format that can be used in a project is sometimes referred to as ingest.

For your computer to read P2 cards, you must install the appropriate driver, which you can download from the Panasonic website. Panasonic also provides the P2 Viewer application, with which you can browse and play media stored on a P2 card.

Because Panasonic P2 cards use the FAT32 file system, each file is limited to a size of 4 GB. When a shot is recorded that requires more than the 4 GB, a P2 camera creates another file and continues recording the shot to the new file without interruption. This is referred to as clip spanning, because the shot spans more than one file or clip. Similarly, a camera may span a shot across files on different P2 cards: if the camera has more than one P2 card loaded, it will record the shot until it runs out of room on the first P2 card, create a new file on the next P2 card with available space, and continue recording the shot to it. Although a single shot can be recorded to a group of multiple spanned clips, the multiple-file shot is designed to be treated as a single clip or footage item in a video editing application. For After Effects to automatically import a group of spanned clips simultaneously and assemble them into a single footage item, they must all have been recorded to the same P2 card and none of the files can be missing, including the associated XML metadata file.

  1. (Optional) Copy the entire contents of the P2 card to a hard disk.

    Though it is possible to import assets into Adobe Premiere Pro or After Effects directly from a P2 card, it is usually more efficient to copy the contents of the P2 card to a hard disk before importing.

  2. Choose File > Import.
  3. Navigate to the CONTENTS folder.
  4. Select one or more MXF files:
    • To import a video essence item and its associated audio essence items, select the MXF files from the VIDEO folder.

    • To import only the audio essence items, select the MXF files from the AUDIO folder.

    • To import a group of spanned clips for a shot that were recorded onto the same P2 card, select only one of the MXF files in the group from the VIDEO folder. The group is imported as a single footage item with a duration equal to the total duration of all the spanned clips it includes. If you select more than one of these spanned clips, you import duplicates of the whole group of spanned clips, as duplicate footage items in the Project panel.

    You cannot import spanned clips from a shot that spans two different cards as a single footage item. Rather, you must select a single MXF file belonging to the shot from each card to create a separate footage item for the part of the shot recorded on each card. For example, if a group of spanned clips for a single shot itself spans two cards, you must select a spanned clip from the group on card 1 and another from the group on card 2. This imports the contents of the shot into two footage items in the Project panel.

The Date column in the Project panel shows when each source clip was acquired. After you import spanned clips, you can use the Date value to determine their correct chronological order within the shot.

Note:

After Effects can’t directly export to the P2 format. To render and export to the P2 format, use Adobe Media Encoder or Premiere Pro.

For additional information on the Panasonic P2 format and workflows with Adobe digital video software, see the Adobe website:

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy