关于空间和时间关键帧插值

插值 是在两个已知值之间填充未知数据的过程。您可以设置关键帧以指定特定关键时间的属性值。After Effects 可为关键帧之间所有时间的属性插入值。

由于插值在关键帧之间 生成属性值,因此插值有时也称为补间。关键帧之间的插值可以用于对运动、效果、音频电平、图像调整、透明度、颜色变化以及许多其他视觉元素和音频元素添加动画。

创建关键帧和运动路径以使相关值随时间变化后,您可能希望对变化发生的方式进行更精确地调整。After Effects 提供几种影响中间值计算方式的插值方法。

时间插值 是时间值的插值;空间插值 是空间值的插值。某些属性(如不透明度)仅具有时间组件。其他属性(如位置)还具有空间组件。

时间插值和值图表

在图表编辑器中使用值图表,您可以对为动画创建的时间属性关键帧进行精确调整。值图表将 x 值显示为红色,y 值显示为绿色,而 z 值(仅 3D)显示为蓝色。值图表提供有关合成中任何时间点的关键帧值的完整信息,并允许您对其进行控制。此外,“信息”面板显示选定关键帧的时间插值方法。

空间插值和运动路径

在对位置等属性应用或更改空间插值时,您可以在“合成”面板中调整运动路径。运动路径上的不同关键帧可提供有关任何时间点的插值类型的信息。“信息”面板显示选定关键帧的空间插值方法。

当您在图层中创建空间变化时,After Effects 使用“自动贝塞尔曲线”作为默认空间插值。

注意:

要将默认方法更改为线性插值,请选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“常规”(Windows),或者选择“After Effects”>“首选项”>“常规”(Mac OS),然后选择“默认的空间插值为线性”。更改首选项设置不影响已存在的关键帧,或已存在关键帧的属性的新关键帧。

运动路径插值:线性、自动贝塞尔曲线、连续贝塞尔曲线、贝塞尔曲线和定格
运动路径插值 

A. 线性 B. 自动贝塞尔曲线 C. 连续贝塞尔曲线 D. 贝塞尔曲线 E. 定格 

在某些情况下,位置关键帧的“自动贝塞尔曲线”空间插值可能会导致在具有相同值的两个关键帧之间发生不需要的来回(回旋)运动。在这种情况下,您可以更改时间较早的关键帧以使用定格插值,或更改两个关键帧以使用线性插值。

有关关键帧插值的在线资源

Aharon Rabinowitz 在 Creative COW 网站上提供了两个视频教程,介绍为具有相同值的关键帧设置“自动贝塞尔曲线”空间插值后意外出现的回旋运动问题和解决方案:

Antony Bolante 在 Peachpit Press 网站上的相关文章中提供了有关关键帧插值的信息和图解。

关键帧插值方法

在图层条模式中,关键帧图标的外观取决于您为关键帧之间的时间间隔选择的插值方法。当图标的一半为深灰色 时,颜色较深的一半表示该侧附近没有关键帧,或者其插值由应用于前一关键帧的定格插值所取代。

默认情况下,关键帧使用一种插值方法,但您可以应用两种方法:传入 方法在当前时间接近关键帧时应用于属性值,而传出 方法在当前时间离开关键帧时应用于属性值。当您设置不同的传入和传出插值方法时,图层条模式中的关键帧图标会发生相应的变化。它显示传入插值图标的左半部分和传出插值图标的右半部分。

注意:

要在关键帧图标和关键帧编号之间切换,请从“时间轴”面板菜单中选择“使用关键帧图标”或“使用关键帧索引”。

图层条模式下“时间轴”面板中的关键帧图标:线性;线性传入,定格传出;自动贝塞尔曲线;连续贝塞尔曲线或贝塞尔曲线;线性传入,贝塞尔曲线传出
图层条模式中“时间轴”面板的关键帧图标示例 

A. 线性 B. 线性传入,定格传出 C. 自动贝塞尔曲线 D. 连续贝塞尔曲线或贝塞尔曲线 E. 线性传入,贝塞尔曲线传出 

After Effects 使用的所有插值方法都以贝塞尔曲线 插值方法为基础,后者可提供方向手柄以便您可以控制关键帧之间的过渡。不使用方向手柄的插值方法是“贝塞尔曲线”插值的受限版本,方便执行某些特定任务。

要详细了解不同插值方法如何影响时间属性,可以进行演练,即,设置至少三个具有不同时间图层属性(如不透明度)的值的关键帧,然后更改插值方法,同时在“时间轴”面板中在图表编辑器模式下查看值图表。

要详细了解不同的插值方法如何影响运动路径,可以进行演练,即,为在运动路径上具有不同值的空间属性(如位置)设置三个关键帧,然后更改插值方法,同时在“合成”面板中预览运动。

注意:

要更改插值方法,请右键单击某个关键帧,从显示的菜单中选择“关键帧插值”,然后从“时间插值”菜单中选择一个选项。

为了详细说明以下插值方法描述中的示例,每种方法的结果都被描述为您已将其应用于某个图层属性的所有关键帧。但实际上,您可以将任何可用的插值方法应用于任何关键帧。

无插值

无插值状态是指图层属性没有关键帧,即秒表处于关闭状态且工字形图标 显示在“时间轴”面板中当前时间指示器的下方。在此状态下,当您设置图层属性的值时,将在图层的持续时间内保留该值,除非它被表达式覆盖。默认情况下,不向图层属性应用插值。如果某个图层属性存在任何关键帧,表明正在使用某种类型的插值。

线性插值

线性插值在关键帧之间创建统一的变化率,这种方法让动画看起来具有机械效果。After Effects 尽可能直接在两个相邻的关键帧之间插入值,而不考虑其他关键帧的值。

如果将线性插值应用于时间图层属性的所有关键帧,则变化将立即从第一个关键帧开始并以恒定的速度传递到下一个关键帧。在第二个关键帧处,变化速率将立即切换为它与第三个关键帧之间的速率。当图层到达最后一个关键帧值时,变化会立刻停止。在值图表中,连接采用线性插值方法的两个关键帧的段显示为一条直线。

贝塞尔曲线插值

贝塞尔曲线插值提供最精确的控制,因为您可以手动调整关键帧任一侧的值图表或运动路径段的形状。与“自动贝塞尔曲线”或“连续贝塞尔曲线”不同,可在值图表和运动路径中单独操控贝塞尔曲线关键帧上的两个方向手柄。

如果您将贝塞尔曲线插值应用于某个图层属性的所有关键帧,After Effects 将在关键帧之间创建平滑的过渡。计算方向手柄的初始位置时使用的方法与“自动贝塞尔曲线”插值中使用的方法相同。当您更改贝塞尔曲线关键帧值时,After Effects 将保留现有的方向手柄位置。

与其他插值方法不同,“贝塞尔曲线”插值允许您沿着运动路径创建曲线和直线的任意组合。因为可单独操控两个贝塞尔曲线方向手柄,所以弯曲的运动路径可能会在贝塞尔曲线关键帧的位置突然转变成锐利的转角。要绘制具有复杂形状(例如线路图或徽标轮廓)的运动路径,贝塞尔曲线空间插值是理想之选。

当您移动运动路径关键帧时,现有方向手柄位置保持不变。每个关键帧处应用的时间插值控制沿路径的运动速度。

自动贝塞尔曲线插值

“自动贝塞尔曲线”插值通过关键帧创建平滑的变化速率。您可以使用“自动贝塞尔曲线”空间插值来创建在弯路上行驶的汽车的路径。

当您更改自动贝塞尔曲线关键帧 值时,自动贝塞尔曲线方向手柄的位置将自动变化以实现关键帧之间的平滑过渡。自动调整将更改关键帧任一侧的值图表或运动路径段的形状。如果上一个和下一个关键帧也使用“自动贝塞尔曲线”插值,则上一个或下一个关键帧远端的段的形状也将发生更改。如果您手动调整自动贝塞尔曲线的方向手柄,可将其转换为连续贝塞尔曲线关键帧

“自动贝塞尔曲线”是默认的空间插值方法。

连续贝塞尔曲线插值

与“自动贝塞尔曲线”插值一样,“连续贝塞尔曲线”插值通过关键帧创建平滑的变化速率。但是,您可以手动设置连续贝塞尔曲线方向手柄的位置。您所作的调整将更改关键帧任一侧的值图表或运动路径段的形状。

如果您将“连续贝塞尔曲线”插值应用于某个属性的所有关键帧,After Effects 将调整每个关键帧的值以创建平滑的过渡。当您在运动路径或值图表上移动连续贝塞尔曲线关键帧 时,After Effects 将保持这些平滑的过渡。

定格插值

定格插值仅在作为时间插值方法时才可用。使用它可随时间更改图层属性的值,但过渡不是渐变的。如果要应用闪光灯效果,或者您希望图层突然出现或消失,则可使用该方法。

如果您将定格时间插值应用于图层属性的所有关键帧,则第一个关键帧的值在到达下一关键帧之前将保持不变,但在到达下一关键帧后,值将立即发生更改。在值图表中,定格关键帧 之后的图表段显示为水平的直线。

尽管定格插值仅可用作时间插值方法,而且运动路径上的关键帧可见,但它们不通过图层位置点连接。例如,如果您使用定格插值为图层的位置属性添加动画,则图层将定格在上一个关键帧的位置值,直到当前时间指示器到达下一个关键帧,这时图层将从旧位置消失并出现在新位置。

您可以使用“冻结帧”命令轻松地在图层持续时间内冻结当前帧。要冻结某个帧,请将当前时间指示器置于想要冻结的帧的位置。确保选定该图层,然后选择“图层”>“时间”>“冻结帧”。时间重映射已启用,并且定格关键帧位于当前时间指示器的位置以冻结该帧。

注意:

如果之前已对图层启用了时间重映射,则当您应用“冻结帧”命令时,会删除您创建的所有关键帧。

您仅可以将定格插值用于传出时间插值(用于某个关键帧后面的关键帧)。如果您在定格关键帧后面创建一个关键帧,则新的关键帧将使用传入定格插值。  

注意:

要针对某个关键帧应用或移除作为传出插值的定格插值,请在“时间轴”面板中选择该关键帧,然后选择“动画”>“切换定格关键帧”。

应用和更改关键帧插值方法

您可以应用和更改任何关键帧的插值方法。您可以使用“关键帧插值”对话框应用更改,或将更改直接应用到图层条模式、运动路径或图表编辑器中的关键帧。您还可以更改 After Effects 用于空间属性的默认插值方法。

有关使用缓动控件自动缓和关键帧之间的速度的信息,请参阅控制关键帧之间的速度

使用“关键帧插值”对话框更改插值方法

“关键帧插值”对话框提供用于设置时间和空间插值以及漂浮设置(仅适用于空间属性)的选项。

  1. 在图层条模式或图表编辑器中,选择您要更改的关键帧。
  2. 选择“动画”>“关键帧插值”。
  3. 对于时间插值,请选择以下选项之一:

    当前设置

    保留已应用于选定关键帧的插值。如果选择了多个关键帧或手动调整的关键帧并且不想更改现有设置,则可选择此选项。

    线性、贝塞尔曲线、连续贝塞尔曲线、自动贝塞尔曲线和定格

    应用使用默认值的时间插值方法。

  4. 如果您选择了空间图层属性的关键帧,则可针对空间插值选择以下选项之一:

    当前设置

    保持已应用于选定关键帧的插值设置。

    线性、贝塞尔曲线、连续贝塞尔曲线和自动贝塞尔曲线

    应用使用默认值的空间插值方法。

  5. 如果您选择了空间图层属性的关键帧,则可使用“漂浮”菜单来选择关键帧确定其时间位置的方式,然后单击“确定”:

    当前设置

    保持当前应用的、确定选定关键帧的时间位置的方法。

    漂浮穿梭时间

    根据离选定关键帧前后最近的关键帧的位置,自动变化选定关键帧在时间上的位置,从而平滑选定关键帧之间的变化速率。

    锁定到时间

    将选定关键帧保持在其当前的时间位置。除非您手动移动这些关键帧,否则它们保持原有位置不变。

    有关平滑选定关键帧之间变化速率的更多信息,请参阅使用漂浮关键帧平滑运动

在图层条模式中使用选择工具更改插值方法

  1. 通过使用选择工具,执行以下操作之一:
    • 如果关键帧使用线性插值,则按住 Ctrl 键 (Windows) 或 Command 键 (Mac OS) 单击该关键帧,将其更改为自动贝塞尔曲线

    • 如果关键帧使用“贝塞尔曲线”、“连续贝塞尔曲线”或“自动贝塞尔曲线”插值,则按住 Ctrl 键 (Windows) 或按住 Command 键 (Mac OS) 的同时单击该关键帧以将其更改为线性。

在图表编辑器中更改插值方法

  • 使用“转换顶点”工具 单击关键帧,在线性和“自动贝塞尔曲线”插值之间进行切换。
  • 选择一个或多个关键帧,然后单击屏幕底部的“定格”、“线性”或“自动贝塞尔曲线”按钮以更改插值方法。
图表编辑器中的插值按钮:将选定的关键帧转换为“定格”;将选定的关键帧转换为“线性”;将选定的关键帧转换为“自动贝塞尔曲线”
图表编辑器中的插值按钮

A. 将选定的关键帧转换为定格 B. 将选定的关键帧转换为线性 C. 将选定的关键帧转换为自动贝塞尔曲线 

在图表编辑器中修改贝塞尔曲线方向手柄

在图表编辑器中,使用贝塞尔曲线插值的关键帧都附带有方向手柄。您可以收缩、拉伸或旋转方向手柄,以便在值图表中微调贝塞尔曲线插值曲线。您可以收缩或拉伸方向手柄,以便在速度图表中微调曲线。

默认情况下,当您收缩或拉伸方向手柄时,关键帧上对面的手柄也随之移动。拆分方向手柄可独立操控关键帧附带的两个方向手柄。

  • 要收缩或拉伸方向手柄,请使用选择工具往朝向或远离其关键帧中心的方向拖动方向手柄。
  • 要拆分方向手柄,请使用选择工具在按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS) 的同时拖动关键帧。无论手柄是否存在,您都可以在按住 Alt 键 (Windows) 或 Option 键 (Mac OS) 的同时向关键帧外部拖动,以绘制新的手柄。
  • 要同时操控两个邻近关键帧的方向手柄,请拖动关键帧之间的值图表段。
在速度图表中拉伸贝塞尔曲线方向手柄
在速度图表中拉伸贝塞尔曲线方向手柄

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

About spatial and temporal keyframe interpolation

Interpolation is the process of filling in the unknown data between two known values. You set keyframes to specify a property’s values at certain key times. After Effects interpolates values for the property for all times between keyframes.

Because interpolation generates the property values between keyframes, interpolation is sometimes called tweening. Interpolation between keyframes can be used to animate movement, effects, audio levels, image adjustments, transparency, color changes, and many other visual and audio elements.

After you create keyframes and motion paths to change values over time, you may want to make more precise adjustments to the way that change occurs. After Effects provides several interpolation methods that affect how the in-between values are calculated.

Temporal interpolation is the interpolation of values in time; spatial interpolation is the interpolation of values in space. Some properties—such as Opacity—have only a temporal component. Other properties—such as Position—also have spatial components.

Temporal interpolation and the value graph

Using the value graph in the Graph Editor, you can make precise adjustments to the temporal property keyframes you’ve created for your animation. The value graph displays x values as red, y values as green, and z values (3D only) as blue. The value graph provides complete information about the value of keyframes at any point in time in a composition and allows you to control it. In addition, the Info panel displays the temporal interpolation method of a selected keyframe.

Spatial interpolation and the motion path

When you apply or change spatial interpolation for a property such as Position, you adjust the motion path in the Composition panel. The different keyframes on the motion path provide information about the type of interpolation at any point in time. The Info panel displays the spatial interpolation method of a selected keyframe.

When you create spatial changes in a layer, After Effects uses Auto Bezier as the default spatial interpolation.

Note:

To change the default to linear interpolation, choose Edit > Preferences > General (Windows) or After Effects > Preferences > General (Mac OS), and select Default Spatial Interpolation To Linear. Changing the preference setting does not affect keyframes that already exist or new keyframes on properties for which keyframes already exist.

Motion path interpolation: Linear, Auto Bezier, Continuous Bezier, Bezier, and Hold
Motion path interpolation 

A. Linear B. Auto Bezier C. Continuous Bezier D. Bezier E. Hold 

In some cases, the Auto Bezier spatial interpolation for Position keyframes can cause undesired back-and-forth (boomerang) motion between two keyframes with equal values. In such a case, you can change the earlier keyframe to use Hold interpolation or change both keyframes to use Linear interpolation.

Online resources about keyframe interpolation

Aharon Rabinowitz provides a pair of video tutorials on the Creative COW website that describe the issue and solution for the boomerang motion problem that arises from unintentionally having Auto Bezier spatial interpolation set for keyframes of equal value:

Antony Bolante provides information and illustrations about keyframe interpolation in an article on the Peachpit Press website.

Keyframe interpolation methods

In layer bar mode, the appearance of a keyframe icon depends on the interpolation method you choose for the interval between keyframes. When half of the icon is dark gray , the dark half indicates that no keyframe is adjacent to that side, or that its interpolation is overridden by the Hold interpolation applied to the preceding keyframe.

By default, a keyframe uses one interpolation method, but you can apply two methods: the incoming method applies to the property value as the current time approaches a keyframe, and the outgoing method applies to the property value as the current time leaves a keyframe. When you set different incoming and outgoing interpolation methods, the keyframe icon in layer bar mode changes accordingly. It displays the left half of the incoming interpolation icon and the right half of the outgoing interpolation icon.

Note:

To toggle between keyframe icons and keyframe numbers, select Use Keyframe Icons or Use Keyframe Indices from the Timeline panel menu.

Keyframe icons in Timeline panel in layer bar mode: Linear; Linear in, Hold out; Auto Bezier; Continuous Bezier or Bezier; Linear in, Bezier out
Examples of keyframe icons in Timeline panel in layer bar mode 

A. Linear B. Linear in, Hold out C. Auto Bezier D. Continuous Bezier or Bezier E. Linear in, Bezier out 

All interpolation methods used by After Effects are based on the Bezier interpolation method, which provides direction handles so that you can control the transitions between keyframes. Interpolation methods that don’t use direction handles are constrained versions of Bezier interpolation and are convenient for certain tasks.

To learn more about how different interpolation methods affect temporal properties, experiment by setting up at least three keyframes with different values for a temporal layer property—such as Opacity—and change the interpolation methods as you view the value graph in Graph Editor mode in the Timeline panel.

To learn more about how different interpolation methods affect a motion path, experiment by setting up three keyframes for a spatial property—such as Position—with different values on a motion path, and change the interpolation methods as you preview the motion in the Composition panel.

Note:

To change interpolation methods, right-click a keyframe, select Keyframe Interpolation from the menu that appears, and then select an option from the Temporal Interpolation menu.

To clarify the examples in the following descriptions of interpolation methods, the result of each method is described as if you had applied it to all of the keyframes for a layer property. In practice, you can apply any available interpolation method to any keyframe.

No interpolation

No interpolation is the state in which a layer property has no keyframes—when the stopwatch is turned off and the I-beam icon appears in the Timeline panel under the current-time indicator. In this state, when you set the value of a layer property, it maintains that value for the duration of the layer, unless overridden by an expression. By default, no interpolation is applied to a layer property. If any keyframes are present for a layer property, some type of interpolation is in use.

Linear interpolation

Linear interpolation creates a uniform rate of change between keyframes, which can add a mechanical look to animations. After Effects interpolates the values between two adjacent keyframes as directly as possible without accounting for the values of other keyframes.

If you apply Linear interpolation to all keyframes of a temporal layer property, change begins instantly at the first keyframe and continues to the next keyframe at a constant speed. At the second keyframe, the rate of change switches immediately to the rate between it and the third keyframe. When the layer reaches the final keyframe value, change stops instantly. In the value graph, the segment connecting two keyframes with Linear interpolation appears as a straight line.

Bezier interpolation

Bezier interpolation provides the most precise control because you manually adjust the shape of the value graph or motion path segments on either side of the keyframe. Unlike Auto Bezier or Continuous Bezier, the two direction handles on a Bezier keyframe operate independently in both the value graph and motion path.

If you apply Bezier interpolation to all keyframes of a layer property, After Effects creates a smooth transition between keyframes. The initial position of the direction handles is calculated using the same method used in Auto Bezier interpolation. After Effects maintains existing direction handle positions as you change a Bezier keyframe value.

Unlike other interpolation methods, Bezier interpolation lets you create any combination of curves and straight lines along the motion path. Because the two Bezier direction handles operate independently, a curving motion path can suddenly turn into a sharp corner at a Bezier keyframe. Bezier spatial interpolation is ideal for drawing a motion path that follows a complex shape, such as a map route or the outline of a logo.

Existing direction handle positions persist as you move a motion-path keyframe. The temporal interpolation applied at each keyframe controls the speed of motion along the path.

Auto Bezier interpolation

Auto Bezier interpolation creates a smooth rate of change through a keyframe. You may use Auto Bezier spatial interpolation to create the path of a car turning on a curving road.

As you change an Auto Bezier keyframe value, the positions of Auto Bezier direction handles change automatically to maintain a smooth transition between keyframes. The automatic adjustments change the shape of the value graph or motion path segments on either side of the keyframe. If the previous and next keyframes also use Auto Bezier interpolation, the shape of the segments on the far side of the previous or next keyframes also changes. If you adjust an Auto Bezier direction handle manually, you convert it to a Continuous Bezier keyframe .

Auto Bezier is the default spatial interpolation.

Continuous Bezier interpolation

Like Auto Bezier interpolation, Continuous Bezier interpolation creates a smooth rate of change through a keyframe. However, you set the positions of Continuous Bezier direction handles manually. Adjustments you make change the shape of the value graph or motion path segments on either side of the keyframe.

If you apply Continuous Bezier interpolation to all keyframes of a property, After Effects adjusts the values at each keyframe to create smooth transitions. After Effects maintains these smooth transitions as you move a Continuous Bezier keyframe on either the motion path or the value graph.

Hold interpolation

Hold interpolation is available only as a temporal interpolation method. Use it to change the value of a layer property over time, but without a gradual transition. This method is useful for strobe effects, or when you want layers to appear or disappear suddenly.

If you apply Hold temporal interpolation to all keyframes of a layer property, the value of the first keyframe holds steady until the next keyframe, when the values change immediately. In the value graph, the graph segment following a Hold keyframe appears as a horizontal straight line.

Even though Hold interpolation is available only as a temporal interpolation method, the keyframes on the motion path are visible, but they are not connected by layer-position dots. For example, if you animate the Position property of a layer using Hold interpolation, the layer holds at the position value of the previous keyframe until the current-time indicator reaches the next keyframe, at which point the layer disappears from the old position and appears at the new position.

You can easily freeze the current frame for the duration of the layer using the Freeze Frame command. To freeze a frame, position the current time indicator at the frame you want to freeze. Make sure that the layer is selected and then choose Layer > Time > Freeze Frame. Time-remapping is enabled, and a Hold keyframe is placed at the position of the current time indicator to freeze the frame.

Note:

If you previously enabled time-remapping on the layer, any keyframes you created are deleted when you apply the Freeze Frame command.

You can use Hold interpolation only for outgoing temporal interpolation (for the frames following a keyframe). If you create a keyframe following a Hold keyframe, the new keyframe uses incoming Hold interpolation.  

Note:

To apply or remove Hold interpolation as outgoing interpolation for a keyframe, select the keyframe in the Timeline panel, and choose Animation > Toggle Hold Keyframe.

Apply and change keyframe interpolation methods

You can apply and change the interpolation method for any keyframe. You can apply changes using the Keyframe Interpolation dialog box, or you can apply them directly to a keyframe in layer bar mode, in a motion path, or in the Graph Editor. You can also change the default interpolation After Effects uses for spatial properties.

For information on using Easy Ease controls to automatically ease speed between keyframes, see Controlling speed between keyframes.

Change interpolation method with the Keyframe Interpolation dialog box

The Keyframe Interpolation dialog box provides options for setting temporal and spatial interpolation and—for spatial properties only—roving settings.

  1. In layer bar mode or in the Graph Editor, select the keyframes you want to change.
  2. Choose Animation > Keyframe Interpolation.
  3. For Temporal Interpolation, choose one of the following options:

    Current Settings

    Preserves the interpolation values already applied to the selected keyframes. Choose this option when multiple or manually adjusted keyframes are selected and you do not want to change the existing settings.

    Linear, Bezier, Continuous Bezier, Auto Bezier, and Hold

    Apply a temporal interpolation method using default values.

  4. If you selected keyframes of a spatial layer property, choose one of the following options for Spatial Interpolation:

    Current Settings

    Preserves the interpolation settings already applied to the selected keyframes.

    Linear, Bezier, Continuous Bezier, and Auto Bezier

    Apply a spatial interpolation method using default values.

  5. If you selected keyframes of a spatial layer property, use the Roving menu to choose how a keyframe determines its position in time, and then click OK:

    Current Settings

    Preserves the currently applied method of positioning the selected keyframes in time.

    Rove Across Time

    Smooths the rate of change through the selected keyframes by automatically varying their position in time, based on the positions of the keyframes immediately before and after the selection.

    Lock To Time

    keeps the selected keyframes at their current position in time. They stay in place unless you move them manually.

    For more information on smoothing the rate of change through selected keyframes, see Smooth motion with roving keyframes.

Change interpolation method with the Selection tool in layer bar mode

  • Using the Selection tool, do one of the following:
    • If the keyframe uses Linear interpolation, Ctrl-click (Windows) or Command-click (Mac OS) the keyframe to change it to Auto Bezier .

    • If the keyframe uses Bezier, Continuous Bezier, or Auto Bezier interpolation, Ctrl-click (Windows) or Command-click (Mac OS) the keyframe to change it to Linear.

Change interpolation method in the Graph Editor

  • Click the keyframe with the Convert Vertex tool to toggle between linear and Auto Bezier interpolation.
  • Select one or more keyframes, and then click the Hold, Linear, or Auto Bezier button at the bottom of the screen to change the interpolation method.
Interpolation buttons in the Graph Editor: Convert selected keyframes to Hold; Convert seleced keyframes to Linear; Convert selected keyframes to Auto Bezier
Interpolation buttons in the Graph Editor

A. Convert selected keyframes to Hold B. Convert seleced keyframes to Linear C. Convert selected keyframes to Auto Bezier 

Modify Bezier direction handles in the Graph Editor

In the Graph Editor, keyframes that use Bezier interpolation have direction handles attached to them. You can retract, extend, or rotate the direction handles to fine-tune the Bezier interpolation curve in a value graph. You can retract or extend the direction handles to fine-tune the curve in a speed graph.

By default, when you retract or extend a direction handle, the opposite handle on the keyframe moves with it. Splitting direction handles makes the two direction handles attached to a keyframe behave independently.

  • To retract or extend direction handles, drag the direction handle toward or away from the center of its keyframe with the Selection tool.
  • To split direction handles, Alt-drag (Windows) or Option-drag (Mac OS) a keyframe with the Selection tool. You can also Alt-drag (Windows) or Option-drag (Mac OS) outside a keyframe to draw new handles, whether or not handles already exist.
  • To manipulate the direction handles of two neighboring keyframes simultaneously, drag the value graph segment between the keyframes.
Extending a Bezier direction handle in the speed graph
Extending a Bezier direction handle in the speed graph

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy