抠像简介和资源

注意:

如果背景颜色不一致或者不容易分辨,则您无法使用抠像效果移除背景。在此类情况下,您可能需要使用动态抠像 - 在各个帧上手动绘画,以便将前景对象与其背景隔离开。(请参阅动态抠像简介和资源。)

关于抠像:抠色、亮度抠像和差值抠像

抠像按图像中的特定颜色值或亮度值定义透明度。如果您抠出某个值,则颜色或明亮度值与该值类似的所有像素将变为透明。

通过抠像可轻松替换背景,这在因使用过于复杂的物体而无法轻松进行遮蔽时将非常有用。当您将某个已抠像图层置于另一图层之上时,将生成一个合成,其中的背景将在该抠像图层透明时显示。

您经常能够在影片中看到采用抠像技术制作的合成,例如,当演员悬挂在直升飞机外面或者漂浮在太空中时。为创建此效果,演员在影片拍摄中应位于纯色背景屏幕前的适当位置。然后会抠出背景色,包含该演员的场景将合成到新背景上。

抠出颜色一致的背景的技术通常称为蓝屏绿屏,然而您不必使用蓝色或绿色屏幕;您可以对背景使用任何纯色。红色屏幕通常用于拍摄非人类对象,例如汽车和宇宙飞船的微型模型。在一些因视觉特效出众而闻名的电影中,就使用了洋红屏幕进行抠像。这种抠像的其他常用术语包括抠色色度抠像

差值抠像的工作方式与抠色不同。差值抠像定义与特定基础背景图像相关的透明度。您可以抠出任意背景,而不是抠出单色屏幕。要使用差值抠像,您必须至少具有一个只包含背景的帧;其他帧将与此帧进行比较并且背景像素将设置为透明,以保留前景对象。杂色、颗粒和其他微妙的变化可能使差值抠像在实践中很难得到应用。

抠像效果,包括 Keylight

After Effects 包括几个内置的抠像效果,以及获得奥斯卡奖的 Keylight 效果,后者在制作专业品质的抠色效果方面表现出色。(请参阅抠像效果遮罩效果。)

有关 Keylight 效果的信息,请参阅安装了 Keylight 增效工具的文件夹中的相关文档,或者 Foundry 网站上的相关文档。

注意:

虽然 After Effects 中内置的抠色效果对于某些用途来说会非常有用,但在尝试使用这些内置抠像效果之前,应先尝试使用 Keylight 抠像。某些抠像效果(例如抠色效果和“亮度抠像”效果)已经被 Keylight 等更现代的效果所取代。

在应用 Keylight 之类的抠像效果后,抠像清除器和高级溢出抑制器效果按此顺序一起应用时最为有效。

使用“Keylight + 抠像清除器 + 高级溢出抑制器”动画预设(位于“Image-Utilities”预设文件夹中)应用全部三种效果。默认情况下,高级溢出抑制器效果是关闭的,允许您在 Keylight 效果中对抠色进行采样(如果素材没有任何要移除的颜色溢出)。有关更多信息,请参阅抠像清除器与高级溢出抑制器效果

Mark Christiansen 在其位于 Peachpit Press 网站上的 After Effects Studio Techniques: Visual Effects and Compositing 一书的摘录中提供了有关使用 Keylight 的提示和技巧。在 After Effects Studio Techniques 的“Color Keying in After Effects”章节摘录中,Mark Christiansen 提供了有关抠色(包括避免使用哪些抠像效果的建议,以及如何解决常见的抠像问题)的详细提示和技巧。

有关演示如何使用“色差抠像”效果、“遮罩阻塞”效果、“溢色抑制”效果以及无用蒙版的分步指导教程,请参阅 Peachpit Press 网站上的 After Effects Classroom in a Book 中的“Keying in After Effects”一章。

Jeff Foster 免费提供了从他撰写的 The Green Screen Handbook: Real World Production Techniques 一书中抽取的一些章节。这些示例章节涵盖基本合成、抠色、无用遮罩、保持遮罩,以及如何避免常见的绿屏拍摄问题。有关更多信息,请访问 Adobe 网站

Rich Young 在他的 After Effects Portal 网站上收集了更多有关抠像的技巧和资源。

经验丰富的合成师 Chris Zwar 提供了一些有关抠色与合成的技巧

注意:

请记住,生成高品质的抠像可能需要按顺序应用多个抠像效果并且要谨慎修改其属性,当素材是在没有考虑合成师的要求的情况下拍摄时,尤其如此。

拍摄和捕获抠像素材

有关拍摄素材以便更加轻松并成功进行抠色的技巧,请参阅 Jonas Hummelstrand 的 General Specialist 网站

  • 使彩色屏幕光照均匀,并使其保持平整。

  • 从您可以搜集到的最高品质素材开始,例如您扫描和数字化的胶片。

  • 使用未经压缩的素材(或者至少使用压缩程度最低的文件)。许多压缩算法(特别是用于 DV、HDV 和 Motion JPEG 的算法)会丢弃蓝色通道中的一些细微变化,这些变化可能是从蓝屏创建高品质抠像所必需的。使用颜色子采样尽可能少的素材,例如,4:2:2 而不是 4:2:0 或 4:1:1。(有关颜色子采样的信息,请访问 Wikipedia 网站Adobe 网站。)

Robbie Carman 和 Richard Harrington 在 Peachpit 网站上提供了他们所撰写的 Video Made On A Mac 一书的摘录,其中演示了如何规划、拍摄和合成绿屏镜头以及对其进行抠像。

有关使用 After Effects 进行抠像的技巧

  • 使用无用遮罩大致勾勒出您的主体的轮廓,这样就不必在抠出远离前景主体的背景部分时浪费时间。(请参阅使用无用遮罩。)
  • 使用保持遮罩可稍许保护与背景具有类似颜色的区域免遭抠出。(请参阅使用保持遮罩。)
  • 为帮助您查看透明度,可暂时更改合成的背景色,或者在要抠出的图层后面包括一个背景图层。在对前景中的图层应用抠像效果时,合成背景(或背景图层)将显示出来,以便您轻松查看透明区域。(请参阅合成设置。)
  • 要使素材的光照均匀,可调整对单独一个帧的抠像控制。选择场景中最复杂的帧,即,包含丰富细节(例如头发以及透明或者烟或玻璃等半透明物体)的一个帧。如果光照不变,则您应用于第一个帧的相同设置将应用于后续所有帧。如果光照发生变化,您可能需要调整对其他帧的抠像控制。将第一组抠像属性的关键帧置于场景开头处。如果您仅为一个属性设置关键帧,可使用线性插值。对于需要为多个相互作用的属性设置关键帧的素材,可使用定格插值。如果为抠像属性设置关键帧,则可能需要逐帧检查结果。可能显示中间抠像值,从而生成意外结果。
  • 要抠取在彩色屏幕前拍摄的光照均匀的素材,可首先使用“颜色差值抠像”。添加高级溢出抑制器效果移除抠色的痕迹,然后使用一个或多个其他遮罩效果(如果需要)。如果您对结果不满意,可尝试再次从线性抠色开始。
  • 要抠取在多种颜色前拍摄的光照均匀的素材,或者在绿屏或蓝屏前拍摄的光照不均匀的素材,可从颜色范围抠像开始。添加高级溢出抑制器和其他效果来优化遮罩。如果您对结果不是很满意,可尝试使用或添加线性抠色。
  • 在序列中使用抠像清除器和高级溢出抑制器效果是应用抠像效果的最佳方法。您可以使用“Keylight + 抠像清除器 + 高级溢出抑制器”动画预设(在 Image-Utlities 文件夹的“动画预设”下),在图层上以该顺序组合使用 Keylight 效果和抠像清除器与高级溢出抑制器效果。默认情况下,高级溢出抑制器效果是关闭的,允许您在 Keylight 效果中对抠色进行采样(如果素材没有任何要移除的颜色溢出)。有关更多信息,请参阅抠像清除器与高级溢出抑制器效果
  • 要抠取黑暗区域或阴影,可对明亮度通道使用提取抠像。
  • 要使静态背景场景透明,请使用差值遮罩抠像。在需要优化遮罩时,可添加“简单阻塞工具”和其他效果。
  • 当您使用一个色调创建透明度后,使用遮罩效果可移除抠色痕迹并创建清晰边缘。
  • 在抠像可以柔化遮罩边缘后对 Alpha 通道进行模糊处理,以改善合成结果。

使用无用遮罩

无用遮罩(或垃圾遮罩)可移除场景中不需要的部分,进而生成一个仅包含您要保留的主体的大致区域。在您使用光线昏暗或颜色不均匀的屏幕(例如,蓝屏或绿屏)时,在主体周围绘制无用遮罩可以极大地减少您在抠出背景时必须完成的工作量。然而,如果您花费大量时间来制作精确勾勒主体轮廓的完美无用遮罩(实际上为动态抠像),您将失去抠像的省时优势。

  1. 创建蒙版以大致勾勒主体轮廓。
  2. 应用一个或多个抠像效果以遮蔽背景的其余部分。
  3. 根据需要应用遮罩效果以优化遮罩。

Aharon Rabinowitz 在 Creative COW 网站上提供了一个视频教程,其中演示了如何使用自动追踪创建致密的无用遮罩。

使用保持遮罩

使用保持遮罩(又称还原遮罩)可修补应用了抠像效果的场景。

保持遮罩是您已对其进行抠像的图层副本的遮蔽部分。重复部分将被遮蔽以便仅包括包含您要保持为不透明的主色的图像区域。然后会将保持遮罩直接置于已抠像图层的上方。

使用保持遮罩的示例
使用保持遮罩的示例 

A. 原始蓝屏图像。数字的背景也是蓝色的。 B. 在抠像之后,数字的背景也是透明的。 C. 包含您要保持为不透明的图像部分的保持遮罩 D. 在将保持遮罩置于已抠像图像上后,数字的背景现在是不透明的。 
  1. 复制包含彩色屏幕的图层。
  2. 对原始图层应用抠像效果和遮罩效果,以创建透明度。
  3. 在复制图层上,创建蒙版以遮蔽图像中除要保留的区域以外的所有区域。
  4. 确保副本(保持遮罩)位于已抠像图层的正上方。

    注意:

    不要在创建副本之后更改单独某个图层的“变换”属性;使图层一起移动。应考虑使一个图层成为另一个图层的父图层。(请参阅父图层和子图层。)

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Keying introduction and resources

Note:

When a background is not of a consistent and distinctive color, you can’t remove the background with keying effects. Under these conditions, you may need to use rotoscoping—the manual drawing or painting on individual frames to isolate a foreground object from its background. (See Rotoscoping introduction and resources.)

About keying: color keys, luminance keys, and difference keys

Keying is defining transparency by a particular color value or luminance value in an image. When you key out a value, all pixels that have colors or luminance values similar to that value become transparent.

Keying makes it easy to replace a background, which is especially useful when you work with objects too complex to mask easily. When you place a keyed layer over another layer, the result forms a composite, in which the background is visible wherever the keyed layer is transparent.

You often see composites made with keying techniques in movies, for example, when an actor appears to dangle from a helicopter or float in outer space. To create this effect, the actor is filmed in an appropriate position against a solid-color background screen. The background color is then keyed out and the scene with the actor is composited over a new background.

The technique of keying out a background of a consistent color is often called bluescreening or greenscreening, although you don’t have to use a blue or green screen; you can use any solid color for a background. Red screens are often used for shooting non-human objects, such as miniature models of cars and space ships. Magenta screens have been used for keying work in some feature films renowned for their visual effects. Other common terms for this kind of keying are color keying and chroma keying.

Difference keying works differently from color keying. Difference keying defines transparency with respect to a particular baseline background image. Instead of keying out a single-color screen, you can key out an arbitrary background. To use difference keying, you must have at least one frame that contains only the background; other frames are compared to this frame, and the background pixels are made transparent, leaving the foreground objects. Noise, grain, and other subtle variations can make difference keying very difficult to use in practice.

Keying effects, including Keylight

After Effects includes several built-in keying effects, as well as the Academy Award-winning Keylight effect, which excels at professional-quality color keying. (See Keying effects and Matte effects.)

For information on the Keylight effect, see its documentation in the folder in which the Keylight plug-in is installed, or on the Foundry website.

Note:

Though the color keying effects built into After Effects can be useful for some purposes, you should try keying with Keylight before attempting to use these built-in keying effects. Some keying effects—such as the Color Key effect and the Luma Key effect—have been superseded by more modern effects like Keylight.

The Key Cleaner and Advanced Spill Suppressor effects are most effective when applied together, in that order, after a keying effect like Keylight. 

Use the Keylight + Key Cleaner + Advanced Spill Suppressor animation preset (located in the Image-Utilities presets folder) to apply all the three effects. The Advanced Spill Suppressor effect is turned off by default to allow you to sample the key color in the Keylight effect or if the footage does not have any color spill to be removed. For more information, see Key Cleaner and Advanced Spill Suppressor effect.

Mark Christiansen provides tips and techniques for using Keylight in an excerpt from his book After Effects Studio Techniques: Visual Effects and Compositing on the Peachpit Press website. In an excerpt from the “Color Keying in After Effects” chapter of After Effects Studio Techniques, Mark Christiansen provides detailed tips and techniques for color keying, including advice on which keying effects to avoid and how to overcome common keying challenges.

For a step-by-step tutorial demonstrating the use of the Color Difference Key effect, the Matte Choker effect, the Spill Suppressor effect, and garbage masks, see the “Keying in After Effects” chapter of the After Effects Classroom in a Book on the Peachpit Press website.

Jeff Foster provides free sample chapters from his book The Green Screen Handbook: Real World Production Techniques. The sample chapters cover basic compositing, color keying, garbage mattes, hold-out mattes, and how to avoid common problems with greenscreen shots. For more information, see the Adobe website.

Rich Young collects more tips and resources for keying on his After Effects Portal website.

Tips on color keying and compositing from experienced compositor, Chris Zwar.

Note:

Keep in mind that generating a high-quality key can require the application of multiple keying effects in sequence and careful modification of their properties, especially if the footage was shot without considering the requirements of the compositor.

Shooting and acquiring footage for keying

For tips on shooting footage so that color keying is easier and more successful, see Jonas Hummelstrand’s General Specialist website.

  • Light your color screen uniformly, and keep it free of wrinkles.

  • Start with the highest-quality materials you can gather, such as film that you scan and digitize.

  • Use uncompressed footage (or, at least, files with the least possible amount of compression). Many compression algorithms, especially the algorithms used in DV, HDV, and Motion JPEG, discard subtle variations in blue—which may be necessary to create a good key from a bluescreen. Use footage with the least color subsampling possible—for example, 4:2:2 rather than 4:2:0 or 4:1:1. (For information about color subsampling, see the Wikipedia website and the Adobe website.)

Robbie Carman and Richard Harrington provide an excerpt on the Peachpit website from their book Video Made On A Mac that demonstrates how to plan, shoot, key, and composite a greenscreen shot.

Tips for keying with After Effects

  • Use a garbage matte to roughly outline your subject so that you don’t have to waste time keying out parts of the background far from the foreground subject. (See Use a garbage matte.)
  • Use a hold-out matte to roughly protect areas that are of a similar color to the background from being keyed out. (See Use a hold-out matte.)
  • To help you view transparency, temporarily change the background color of the composition, or include a background layer behind the layer you are keying out. As you apply the keying effect to the layer in the foreground, the composition background (or a background layer) shows through, making it easy to view transparent areas. (See Composition settings.)
  • For evenly lit footage, adjust keying controls on only one frame. Choose the most intricate frame of the scene, one involving fine detail such as hair and transparent or semitransparent objects, such as smoke or glass. If the lighting is constant, the same settings you apply to the first frame are applied to all subsequent frames. If lighting changes, you may need to adjust keying controls for other frames. Place keyframes for the first set of keying properties at the start of the scene. If you are setting keyframes for one property only, use Linear interpolation. For footage that requires keyframes for multiple interacting properties, use Hold interpolation. If you set keyframes for keying properties, you may want to check the results frame by frame. Intermediate keying values may appear, producing unexpected results.
  • To key well-lit footage shot against a color screen, start with the Color Difference Key. Add the Advanced Spill Suppressor effect to remove traces of the key color, and then use one or more of the other Matte effects, if necessary. If you are not satisfied with the results, try starting again with the Linear Color Key.
  • To key well-lit footage shot against multiple colors or unevenly lit footage shot against a bluescreen or greenscreen, start with the Color Range key. Add the Advanced Spill Suppressor and other effects to refine the matte. If you are not completely satisfied with the results, try starting with or adding the Linear Color Key.
  • Using the Key Cleaner and the Advanced Spill Suppressor effect in sequence is the best way to go about applying Keying effects.  You can use the Keylight effect in combination with the Key Cleaner and Advanced Spill Suppressor effects in that order on a layer using the Keylight+Key Cleaner+Advanced Spill Suppressor animation preset in the Image-Utlities folder under Animation Presets. The Advanced Spill Suppressor effect is turned off by default to allow you to sample the key color in the Keylight effect or if the footage does not have any color spill to be removed. For more information, see Key Cleaner and Advanced Spill Suppressor effect.
  • To key dark areas or shadows, use the Extract Key on the Luminance channel.
  • To make a static background scene transparent, use the Difference Matte Key. Add the Simple Choker and other effects as needed to refine the matte.
  • After you have used a key to create transparency, use Matte effects to remove traces of key color and create clean edges.
  • Blurring the alpha channel after keying can soften the edges of the matte, which can improve compositing results.

Use a garbage matte

A garbage matte (or junk matte) removes unneeded portions of the scene, resulting in a rough area that contains only the subject that you want to keep. When you are working with a poorly lit or uneven color screen (for example, a bluescreen or greenscreen), sketching a garbage matte around the subject can greatly reduce the amount of work that you have to do in keying out the background. However, if you spend a lot of time making a perfect garbage matte that exactly outlines the subject—essentially rotoscoping—you lose the time-saving advantage of keying.

  1. Create a mask to roughly outline a subject.
  2. Apply one or more keying effects to mask out the remainder of the background.
  3. Apply Matte effects as necessary to fine-tune the matte.

Aharon Rabinowitz provides a video tutorial on the Creative COW website that shows how to create a super-tight garbage matte using Auto-trace.

Use a hold-out matte

Use a hold-out matte (also known as a hold-back matte) to patch a scene to which a keying effect has been applied.

A hold-out matte is a masked-out portion of a duplicate of a layer that you have keyed. The duplicate is masked to include only the area of the image that contains the key color that you want to preserve as opaque. The hold-out matte is then placed directly on top of the keyed layer.

Example of using a hold-out matte
Example of using a hold-out matte 

A. Original bluescreen image. The background for the number is also blue. B. After keying, the background for the number is also transparent. C. Hold-out matte containing the part of the image you want to remain opaque D. When the hold-out matte is placed on top of the keyed image, the background for the number is now opaque. 
  1. Duplicate the layer containing the color screen.
  2. Apply keying effects and Matte effects to the original layer to create transparency.
  3. On the duplicate layer, create masks to mask out everything in the image except the area that you want to preserve.
  4. Make sure that the copy (the hold-out matte) is positioned directly on top of the keyed layer.

    Note:

    Don’t change Transform properties of only one of the layers after making the duplicate; keep the layers moving together. Consider parenting one to the other. (See Parent and child layers.)

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy