如果您在 Adobe Premiere Pro 中尝试导入视频文件或播放已导入的视频文件时出现问题,请参考此文档来解决问题(视频文件包括 AVI 文件、Apple QuickTime [MOV] 文件和 MPEG 文件,等等)。

基本的播放问题

如果某个已导入的视频文件出现基本的播放问题,请转到对序列和文件解析设置进行故障排除。这些问题包括播放不顺畅或闪烁,或者视频模糊、不清楚、像素化、拉伸过宽或挤压过窄。

严重的播放问题

如果某个已导入的视频文件出现较为严重的播放问题,请转到对文件格式和编解码器进行故障排除。严重的播放问题包括视频上下倒置、没有视频、没有声音、存在色块或色条导致视频失真或者视频提前结束播放。

冻结、关闭或出错

如果在您尝试导入视频文件或尝试播放已导入的文件时,Adobe Premiere Pro 冻结、关闭或返回错误(例如,“文件中的音频速率不受支持”或“格式不受支持或文件已损坏”),请转到对文件格式和编解码器进行故障排除

特定视频文件

如果您使用的是 MPEG-2、VOB、MOD 或 TOD 文件、使用静止图像数字相机录制的视频文件、使用超紧凑型无带摄像机录制的视频文件、使用 Apple Final Cut Pro 制作的视频文件或从在线媒体商店购买的视频文件,请参阅有关特定类型视频文件的说明

对序列和文件解析设置进行故障排除

请按顺序执行以下解决方案。在执行每个解决方案之后,请测试播放 Adobe Premiere Pro 中的已导入视频文件。如果导入的文件仍然无法正常播放,请转到对文件格式和编解码器进行故障排除

解决方案 1:使用其设置与所导入文件相符的序列。

如果已导入文件与您使用的 Adobe Premiere Pro 序列的设置不匹配,则可能会导致出现播放问题。例如,如果您在非宽屏序列中使用宽屏视频文件,则视频可能出现挤压现象。如果您在标清序列中使用高清文件,则文件可能会看起来模糊。

了解已导入文件的基本信息有助于您选择适当的序列设置。在“项目”面板中右键单击一个文件,然后选择“属性”。“属性”窗口会显示文件的帧大小(如“图像大小”)、帧速率和像素长宽比。

要创建序列并选择序列设置,请执行以下操作之一:

Adobe Premiere Pro CS4

  1. 选择“文件”>“新建”>“序列”。
  2. 在“新建序列”窗口的“序列预设”窗格中,选择与您的一个或多个文件相匹配的预设。如果没有完全匹配的预设,也请选择一个预设。转到“新建序列”窗口的“常规”窗格中,调整设置(要设置自定义帧大小,请从“编辑模式”菜单中选择“桌面”)。
  3. 键入序列的名称,然后单击“确定”。

Adobe Premiere Pro CS5 及更高版本

  1. 在“项目”面板中找到您要为其创建新序列的剪辑。
  2. 将该剪辑拖到“项目”面板底部的“新建项目”图标上。

将自动创建一个新序列,该序列具有与您的源素材相匹配的适当分辨率和帧速率。 

有关序列设置的更多信息,请参阅序列预设和设置 (Premiere Pro CS4),或参阅创建和更改序列(对于更高的 Premiere Pro 版本)。

解决方案 2:在时间轴中渲染剪辑预览。

对于您放在时间轴中的已导入视频文件,渲染预览可提高其播放的平滑度。

要渲染时间轴工作区域内的剪辑预览,请执行以下操作之一:

  • 按下 Enter。
  • 选择“序列”>“渲染工作区域”。

有关渲染预览的更多信息,请参阅预览序列 (Premiere Pro CS4),或参阅渲染和预览序列(对于更高的 Premiere Pro 版本)。

解决方案 3:调整缩放、帧速率、像素长宽比或场设置。

对于解决方案 1 和 2 无法解决的播放问题,在适用情况下,请通过下面的其他方法进行解决。

  • 如果导入的视频文件不能填满帧或看起来放大了,请在时间轴中选择该剪辑。选择“剪辑”>“视频选项”>“缩放至帧大小”。
  • 如果导入的视频文件看起来拉伸得过宽或挤压得过窄,可能是因为 Adobe Premiere Pro 错误地解析了文件的像素长宽比。您可以使用“解析素材”命令指定正确的像素长宽比。有关说明,请参阅更正各个长宽比误解 (Premiere Pro CS4),或参阅处理长宽比(对于更高的 Premiere Pro 版本)。
  • 如果导入的视频文件播放速度过快或过慢,可能是因为 Adobe Premiere Pro 无法正确解析该文件的帧速率。该问题的表现还包括在渲染预览后播放不顺畅。您可以使用“解析素材”命令指定正确的帧速率。有关说明,请参阅更改文件的帧速率 (Premiere Pro CS4),或参阅更改剪辑的帧速率(对于更高的 Premiere Pro 版本)。

    注意:如果视频以较低的帧速率录制(大约 15 帧/秒或更低),则播放时不可避免地会不顺畅。
  • 如果一个导入的隔行扫描视频文件在播放时移动对象上出现锯齿边缘或细横线(“梳齿”),可能是因为 Adobe Premiere Pro 无法正确解释该文件的场序。场序错误还可能会导致剪辑闪烁。您可以使用“解析素材”命令指定正确的场序。有关说明,请参阅更改剪辑的场序 (Premiere Pro CS4),或参阅更改剪辑的场序(对于更高的 Premiere Pro 版本)。“场选项”对话框中还有用于解决场序问题的其他工具。有关使用“场选项”对话框的说明,请参阅创建隔行扫描剪辑或非隔行扫描剪辑 (Premiere Pro CS4)。或者,参阅创建隔行扫描剪辑或非隔行扫描剪辑(对于更高的 Premiere Pro 版本)。

对文件格式和编解码器进行故障诊断

视频录制设备和视频软件应用程序以特定文件格式对文件进行编码,如 AVI、QuickTime (MOV) 和 Windows Media (WMV)。有关 Adobe Premiere Pro 支持的文件格式列表,请参阅支持的导入文件格式 (Premiere Pro CS4)。或者,参阅支持的文件格式(对于更高的 Premiere Pro 版本)。

注意:并非所有格式在 Mac OS 和 Windows 平台上均可用。请参阅上面提供的相关帮助链接,以了解有关在各个平台上支持哪些格式的具体信息。

某些视频文件格式(包括 AVI 和 MOV)是容器文件格式。这些容器文件中的数据根据特定编解码器进行编码。编解码器是用于压缩视频和音频数据的算法。有许多不同的编解码器。

例如,可对 AVI 文件进行编码的编解码器包括但不限于以下类型:

  • DV 编解码器(将视频录制到 miniDV 磁带的摄像机使用此编解码器)
  • 商用编解码器(如 DivX)
  • Motion JPEG 编解码器(某些带“影片”模式的静止图像相机使用此编解码器)

对于使用设计不佳的编解码器或您计算机上未安装的编解码器完成编码的文件,Adobe Premiere Pro 可能无法进行解码。

了解所处理文件的格式和编解码器(如果适用)有助于您使用以下解决方案。要收集此信息,请执行以下一个或多个操作:

  • 在 Apple QuickTime Player 中打开文件,然后选择“窗口”>“显示影片检查器”。
  • 如果文件来自摄像机、相机或其他视频录制设备,请参阅设备的文档,或者在制造商的网站上查找设备规格信息。
  • 在用于分析媒体文件的第三方应用程序(如 MediaInfo 或 GSpot 2.70)中打开文件。

解决方案 4:安装需要的编解码器。

有些视频文件在编码时使用的编解码器(DivX、Xvid 和 3ivx,等等)并不是 Windows 或 Apple QuickTime 上默认安装的编解码器。您可以在计算机上下载并安装其他编解码器。例如,要播放 DivX 编码的 AVI 文件,您可以下载并安装 DivX 编解码器。

通常在安装需要的编解码器后,您便可以使用 Windows Media Player 等媒体播放器应用程序来播放使用该编解码器创建的文件。安装需要的编解码器也可能会解决在 Adobe Premiere Pro 中播放这类文件时出现的问题。

但是,安装编解码器并非一定能解决当您尝试在 Adobe Premiere Pro 中导入或播放使用该编解码器创建的文件时出现的问题。编辑视频文件的技术要求比播放视频文件更为严格。在某些情况下,需要对有问题的文件进行转码(请参阅解决方案 6)。

编解码器可从编解码器发行商的网站中获取。

警告:请仅从声誉良好、可验证的软件发行商网站下载编解码器。避免下载“编解码器包”软件。安装新的编解码器可能会导致某些视频或音频文件变得无法读取。在开始安装之前,请先备份所有文件。

解决方案 5:删除一个或多个已安装的编解码器 (Windows)。

如果您在导入或播放格式相同但来源不同的文件时遇到问题,那么问题可能在于编解码器设计欠佳。也可能是由于为同一个视频格式安装了多个编解码器。这些情况可能会导致编解码器发生冲突。

要解决编解码器冲突,请禁用或删除第三方编解码器。

要删除某些第三方编解码器(尤其是下载的“编解码器包”),请使用“控制面板”中的“添加或删除程序”项 (Windows XP) 或“控制面板”中的“程序和功能”项 (Windows Vista)。

并非所有编解码器都可以通过“控制面板”删除。有关如何禁用或删除其他已安装编解码器的说明,请参阅以下文档:

解决方案 6:对有问题的视频文件进行转码。

针对在 Adobe Premiere Pro 中尝试导入或播放时出现问题的视频文件,请使用其他软件对其进行转码(转换)。然后导入经过转码的文件。

您可以在保持相同格式的情况下对文件进行转码(例如,将 3ivx 编码的 AVI 文件转码为 DV 编码的 AVI 文件)。也可以使用不同的格式(例如,将 MPEG-2 文件转码为 AVI 文件)。

在对视频文件进行转码时,为保持图像质量,请在转码软件中选择不压缩或低压缩输出选项。

请参阅下面的列表,其中列出了可对视频文件进行转码的部分 Windows 应用程序。此外,还有其他一些可用的转码应用程序,它们可能会更适合您的工作流。

免责声明:Adobe 不为第三方软件提供支持,此信息仅供参考。如需获得有关使用第三方软件的帮助,请联系软件发行商或参阅软件文档。

  • AVI 文件:VirtualDub;Microsoft Windows Movie Maker。
  • QuickTime (MOV) 和 MPEG-4 文件:适用于 Windows 的 Apple QuickTime Player(含 QuickTime Pro)。
  • MPEG-2 和 VOB 文件:MPEG Streamclip;适用于 Windows 的 Apple QuickTime Player(含 QuickTime Pro 和 MPEG-2 播放组件)。

如需获得有关视频文件转码方法的更多帮助,请访问 Adobe 论坛VideoHelp

有关特定类型视频文件的说明

MPEG-2 文件

MPEG-2 文件为高度压缩的文件。要提高时间轴中 MPEG-2 剪辑的播放平滑度,请渲染其预览(请参阅解决方案 2)。

由于 MPEG-2 文件可以使用大不相同的设置来编码,因此并不是所有导入的 MPEG-2 文件在 Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 中都能正常播放。请对有问题的 MPEG-2 文件进行转码(请参阅解决方案 6),然后导入经过转码的文件。

VOB 文件

在 DVD 中使用的 VOB(“视频对象”)文件是 MPEG-2 的一种变体。Adobe Premiere Pro CS4(包含所有适用更新,请选择“帮助”>“更新”)和 Adobe Premiere Pro CS5 及更高版本均支持导入 DVD 兼容的 VOB 文件。如果在导入本机 VOB 文件时出现问题,可能是因为该 VOB 文件的创建方式有问题(例如,DVD 翻录软件可能存在问题)。可能需要对 VOB 文件进行转码(请参阅解决方案 6),然后导入经过转码的文件。

MOD 和 TOD 文件

一些无带摄像机(包括 Canon、JVC Everio 和 Panasonic 的一些机型)将标清视频录制为 MOD 文件,将高清视频录制为 TOD 文件。MOD 和 TOD 均为 MPEG-2 的变体。

Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 本身不支持导入 MOD 或 TOD 文件。请使用摄像机捆绑的软件(如有)或其他软件对这些文件进行转码(请参阅解决方案 6)。然后导入经过转码的文件。

来自静止图像相机的视频文件

很多静止图像数字相机具有可创建视频文件的“影片”模式(通常为 AVI 或 QuickTime 文件)。但是,这类视频文件往往不如使用数字摄像机录制的视频。很多静止图像相机会使用不符合专业视频编辑标准的专有压缩编解码器。

如果您要使用来自静止图像相机的视频文件,请参阅相机的文档。或者联系相机的制造商,以了解有关使用该相机创建的视频文件的详细信息。

如果您无法导入或播放来自静止图像相机的文件,可能是因为需要安装编解码器(请参阅解决方案 4)。很多静止图像数字相机会使用 Motion JPEG(“MJPEG”)编解码器对视频进行编码。有多个发行商均提供 Motion JPEG 编解码器。

注意:Motion JPEG 使用相对较低水平的压缩。因此,如果您在 Adobe Premiere Pro 中使用较大的 Motion JPEG 视频文件,性能可能会比平时慢,或者出现关于内存不足的警告消息。对 Motion JPEG 文件进行转码(请参阅解决方案 6)可解决此类问题。

对于来自静止图像相机的文件,如果并未使用特殊编解码器进行视频编码,但您却无法导入或播放该文件,则应将文件转码(请参阅解决方案 6)。导入经过转码的文件。

来自超紧凑型无带摄像机的视频文件

超紧凑型无带摄像机包括 Aiptek、Flip Video、Sanyo Xacti 的一些机型和 Kodak Zi6,这类摄像机可用多种格式录制视频。部分超紧凑型无带摄像机也使用特殊编解码器对视频进行编码。

如果您要使用来自超紧凑型无带摄像机的视频文件,请参阅摄像机的文档。或者联系相机的制造商,以了解有关使用该相机创建的视频文件的详细信息。

如果您无法导入或播放来自超紧凑型无带摄像机的文件,那么可能需要安装编解码器(请参阅解决方案 4)。例如,有些 Flip Video 摄像机使用 3ivx 编解码器对视频进行编码。如果摄像机未使用特殊编解码器,请使用该摄像机捆绑的软件(如果有)对文件进行转码。或者使用其他软件(请参阅解决方案 6)将视频转码。然后导入经过转码的文件。

如果您能导入来自超紧凑型无带摄像机的文件,那么请在具有适当帧大小、帧速率和场设置的序列中使用这些文件(请参阅解决方案 1)。如果您使用的文件来自录制渐进式视频(如 720p)的无带摄像机,那么请在渐进式(无场)序列中使用这些文件。如果您使用的文件来自录制隔行扫描视频的无带摄像机,那么这些文件可能有上场优先的场序。

来自 Apple Final Cut Pro 的视频文件

一些 Final Cut Pro 工作流会创建使用 Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC) 编码的 QuickTime 文件,但该编解码器不适用于 Windows。因此 Windows 版 Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 无法读取 AIC 编码的 QuickTime 文件。

要解决此问题,请使用 Final Cut Pro 将 AIC 编码的文件转码为使用 QuickTime 代码编码的文件。该编解码器既适用于 Mac OS,也适用于 Windows。

来自在线媒体商店的视频文件

从在线商店(如 iTunes Music Store)购买的视频文件通常有版权保护或数字版权管理 (DRM)。在 Adobe Premiere Pro 中无法使用这样的文件。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Use this document to resolve problems that occur in Adobe Premiere Pro when you try to import video files or when you play imported video files. (Video files include AVI files, Apple QuickTime [MOV] files, MPEG files, and so on.)

Basic playback issues

If an imported video file exhibits basic playback issues, go to Troubleshoot sequence and file-interpretation settings. These issues include stuttered or flickering playback, or video that appears blurry, fuzzy, pixelated, stretched too wide, or squeezed too thin.

Serious playback issues

If an imported video file exhibits more serious playback issues, go to Troubleshoot file formats and codecs. Serious playback issues include upside-down video, no video, no sound, video distorted with colored blocks or stripes, or playback that ends prematurely.

Freezes, closures, or errors

If Adobe Premiere Pro freezes, closes, or returns an error—such as "Unsupported audio rate in file" or "Unsupported format or damaged file"—when you try to import a video file or when you try to play an imported file, go to Troubleshoot file formats and codecs.

Specific video files

If you are working with MPEG-2, VOB, MOD, or TOD files, video files recorded with a digital still-image camera, video files from an ultra-compact tapeless camcorder, videos files from Apple Final Cut Pro, or video files purchased from an online media store, see Notes about specific kinds of video files.

Troubleshoot sequence and file-interpretation settings

Complete these solutions in order. After you complete each solution, test the playback of your imported video files in Adobe Premiere Pro. If your imported files still play incorrectly, go to Troubleshoot file formats and codecs.

Solution 1: Work in a sequence whose settings are appropriate for your imported files.

A mismatch between an imported file and the settings for the Adobe Premiere Pro sequence in which you are working can cause playback problems. For example, widescreen video files can appear squeezed if you use them in a nonwidescreen sequence. And high-definition files can appear blurry if you use them in a standard-definition sequence.

Knowing basic information about an imported file helps you choose appropriate sequence settings. Right-click a file in the Project panel and choose Properties. The Properties window shows the file's frame size (as "Image Size"), frame rate, and pixel aspect ratio.

To create a sequence and choose sequence settings, do one of the following:

Adobe Premiere Pro CS4

  1. Choose File > New > Sequence.
  2. In the Sequence Presets pane of the New Sequence window, select the preset that matches your file or files. If no preset is an exact match, then select a preset. Go to the General pane of the New Sequence window, and adjust the settings. (To set a custom frame size, choose Desktop from the Editing Mode menu.)
  3. Type a name for the sequence and click OK.

Adobe Premiere Pro CS5 and later

  1. Find the clip that you want to create a New Sequence for in the Project panel.
  2. Drag the clip to the New Item icon at the bottom of the Project panel.

A new sequence is automatically created with the appropriate resolution and frame rate that matches your source footage. 

For more information about sequence settings, see Sequence presets and settings (Premiere Pro CS4), or see Create and change sequences for later Premiere Pro versions.

Solution 2: Render previews of clips on the Timeline.

Rendering previews can improve the smoothness of playback of imported video files that you have placed on the Timeline.

To render previews of clips within the Work Area on the Timeline, do one of the following:

  • Press Enter.
  • Choose Sequence > Render Work Area.

For more information about rendering previews, see Previewing sequences (Premiere Pro CS4), or see Rendering and previewing sequences for later Premiere Pro versions.

Solution 3: Adjust the scaling, frame rate, pixel aspect ratio, or field settings.

Use these additional methods, as applicable, to correct playback problems unresolved by Solutions 1 and 2:

  • If an imported video file does not fill the frame or appears zoomed-in, then select the clip on the Timeline. Choose Clip > Video Options > Scale To Frame Size.
  • If an imported video file appears squeezed too narrow or stretched too wide, then it's possible that Adobe Premiere Pro is misinterpreting the file's pixel aspect ratio. You can assign the correct pixel aspect ratio by using the Interpret Footage command. For instructions, see Correct individual aspect ratio misinterpretations (Premiere Pro CS4) or Working with aspect ratios for later Premiere Pro versions.
  • If an imported video file plays too fast or too slow, it's possible that Adobe Premiere Pro isn't interpreting the file's frame rate correctly. This issue also manifests as  playback that is stuttered after you render previews. You can assign the correct frame rate by using the Interpret Footage command. For instructions, see Change the frame rate of a file (Premiere Pro CS4), or see Change the frame rate of clips for later Premiere Pro versions.

    Note: Playback inevitably seems stuttered if the video was recorded at a low frame rate (approximately 15 frames per second or less).
  • If an imported interlaced video file plays with jagged edges or thin horizontal lines ("combing") on moving objects, it's possible that Adobe Premiere Pro isn't interpreting the file's field order correctly. An incorrect field order can also cause the clip to flicker. You can assign the correct field order by using the Interpret Footage command. For instructions, see Change the field order of a clip (Premiere Pro CS4), or see Change the field order of a clip for later Premiere Pro versions. Additional tools for correcting field-order problems are available in the Field Options dialog. For instructions on using the Field Options dialog, see Create interlaced or non-interlaced clips (Premiere Pro CS4). Or, see Create interlaced or non-interlaced clips for later Premiere Pro versions.

Troubleshoot file formats and codecs

Video-recording devices and video software applications encode files in a specific file format, such as AVI, QuickTime (MOV), and Windows Media (WMV). For a list of the file formats that Adobe Premiere Pro supports, see File formats supported for import (Premiere Pro CS4). Or, see Supported file formats for later Premiere Pro versions.

Note: Not all formats are available on both Mac OS and Windows platforms. See the related Help links above for specific information about which platforms are supported for each format.

Some video file formats—including AVI and MOV—are container file formats. The data inside these container files is encoded according to a particular codec. Codecs are algorithms for compressing video and audio data. Many different codecs exist.

For example, an AVI file can be encoded with the following types of codecs, among others:

  • The DV codec (camcorders that record to miniDV tapes use this codec)
  • A commercial codec (such as DivX)
  • A Motion JPEG codec (some still-image cameras that have "movie" modes use this codec)

It's likely that Adobe Premiere Pro can't decode video files that were encoded with a poorly designed codec or a codec that is not installed on your computer.

Knowing the format and, when applicable, the codec of the files you are working with helps you use the solutions below. To gather this information, do one or more of the following:

  • Open the file in Apple QuickTime Player and choose Window > Show Movie Inspector.
  • If the file is from a camcorder, camera, or other video-recording device, then see the device's documentation, or locate the device's specifications on the manufacturer's website.
  • Open the file in a third-party application that analyzes media files, such as MediaInfo or GSpot 2.70.

Solution 4: Install a required codec.

Some video files are encoded with codecs (DivX, Xvid, 3ivx, and so on) that are not installed by default with Windows or Apple QuickTime. You can download and install additional codecs on your computer. For example, to play DivX-encoded AVI files, you could download and install the DivX codec.

Installing a required codec usually enables you to use media-player applications, such as Windows Media Player, to play files that were created with that codec. It'slikley that the required codec also enables correct playback of those files in Adobe Premiere Pro.

However, installing a codec doesn't necessarily resolve problems in Adobe Premiere Pro that occur when you try to import or play files that were created with that codec. The technical requirements for editing video files are more stringent than the requirements for playing video files. Sometimes it's necessary to transcode problematic files. (See Solution 6.)

Codecs are available from codec publishers' websites.

Caution: Only download codecs from established, verifiable software publishers. Avoid downloading "codec pack" software. Installing a new codec can cause some video or audio files to become unreadable. Back up all your files before you begin.

Solution 5: Remove one or more installed codecs (Windows).

If you experience problems importing or playing files that are all the same format but are from different sources, then the problem could be a poorly designed codec. It could also be because multiple codecs are installed for the same video format. These situations can cause codec conflicts.

To resolve codec conflicts, disable or remove third-party codecs.

To remove some third-party codecs—particularly "codec pack" downloads—use the Add or Remove Programs item in the Control Panel (Windows XP) or the Programs and Features item in the Control Panel (Windows Vista).

Not all codecs can be removed via the Control Panel. For instructions on how to disable or remove other installed codecs, see these documents:

Solution 6: Transcode problematic video files.

Use other software to transcode (convert) video files that cause problems when you try to import or play them in Adobe Premiere Pro. Then import the transcoded files.

You can transcode a file within the same format (for example, transcode a 3ivx-encoded AVI file into a DV-encoded AVI file). Or, you can use a different format (for example, transcode an MPEG-2 file into an AVI file).

To preserve image quality when you transcode a video file, choose an uncompressed or low-compression output option in your transcoding software.

See the following list of some of the Windows applications that can transcode video files. Other transcoding applications are available and could be better suited to your workflow.

Disclaimer: Adobe doesn't support third-party software and provides this information as a courtesy only. For assistance using third-party software, contact the software publisher or see the software's documentation.

  • AVI files: VirtualDub; Microsoft Windows Movie Maker.
  • QuickTime (MOV) and MPEG-4 files: Apple QuickTime Player for Windows with QuickTime Pro.
  • MPEG-2 and VOB files: MPEG Streamclip; Apple QuickTime Player for Windows with QuickTime Pro and MPEG-2 Playback Component.

For additional assistance with methods of transcoding video files, use the Adobe forums or VideoHelp.

Notes about specific kinds of video files

MPEG-2 files

MPEG-2 files are highly compressed. To improve the smoothness of playback of MPEG-2 clips on the Timeline, render previews of them (see Solution 2).

Because MPEG-2 files can be encoded with settings that vary greatly, not all imported MPEG-2 files play correctly in Adobe Premiere Pro CS4. Transcode problematic MPEG-2 files (see Solution 6) and then import the transcoded files.

VOB files

VOB ("video object") files--which are used on DVDs--are variants of MPEG-2. Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 (with all updates applied, choose Help > Updates) and Adobe Premiere Pro CS5 and later support import of DVD-compliant VOB files. If you have trouble importing a native VOB file, it's possible that there's an issue with the way the VOB was created. (For example, there could be problems with DVD ripping software.) It could be necessary to transcode the VOB files (see Solution 6) and then import the transcoded files.

MOD and TOD files

Some tapeless camcorders (including some Canon, JVC Everio, and Panasonic models) record standard-definition video as MOD files or record high-definition video as TOD files. MOD and TOD are variants of MPEG-2.

Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 does not natively support import of MOD or TOD files. Transcode these files by using the software that was bundled with the camcorder (if any) or by using other software (see Solution 6). Then import the transcoded files.

Video files from still-image cameras

Many digital still-image cameras have "movie" modes that create video files (commonly AVI or QuickTime files). However, these video files generally do not compare favorably to the video that digital camcorders record. Many still-image cameras use proprietary compression codecs that do not conform to professional video editing standards.

If you are working with video files from a still-image camera, then see the camera's documentation. Or contact its manufacturer for details about the video files that its creates.

If you cannot import or play files from a still-image camera, then it's probably necessary to install a codec (see Solution 4). Many digital still cameras encode video with a Motion JPEG ("MJPEG") codec. Motion JPEG codecs are available from several publishers.

Note: Motion JPEG uses a relatively low level of compression. Therefore, you can experience slower than usual performance or warning messages about low memory if you work with large Motion JPEG video files in Adobe Premiere Pro. Transcode Motion JPEG files (see Solution 6) to resolve these problems.

If you cannot import or play files from a still-image camera that does not use a special codec for video, then transcode the files (see Solution 6). Import the transcoded files.

Video files from ultra-compact tapeless camcorders

Ultra-compact tapeless camcorders—including Aiptek, Flip Video, Sanyo Xacti models, and the Kodak Zi6—record video in various formats. Some ultra-compact tapeless camcorders also use special codecs to encode video.

If you are working with video files from an ultra-compact tapeless camcorder, then see the camcorder's documentation. Or contact its manufacturer for details about the video files that its creates.

If you cannot import or play files from an ultra-compact tapeless camcorder, then it could be necessary to install a codec (see Solution 4). For example, some Flip Video camcorders encode video with a 3ivx codec. If the camcorder does not use a special codec, then transcode the files by using software that was bundled with the camcorder (if any). Or use other software (see Solution 6) to transcode the video. Then import the transcoded files.

If you can import files from an ultra-compact tapeless camcorder, then work in a sequence with the appropriate frame size, frame rate, and field settings. (See Solution 1.) If you are using files from a tapeless camcorder that records progressive video (such as 720p), then work in a progressive (no fields) sequence. If you're using files from a tapeless camcorder that records interlaced video, the files are likely to have a field order of upper fields first.

Video files from Apple Final Cut Pro

Some Final Cut Pro workflows create QuickTime files encoded with the Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC), which is not available for Windows. Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 for Windows, therefore, cannot read AIC-encoded QuickTime files.

To resolve this issue, use Final Cut Pro to transcode AIC-encoded files into files encoded with a QuickTime code. The codec is available for both Mac OS and Windows.

Video files from online media stores

Video files that are purchased from online stores such as the iTunes Music Store generally have copy protection or digital rights management (DRM). They cannot be used in Adobe Premiere Pro.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy