关于双色调

在 Photoshop 中,双色调指的是单色调、三色调、四色调以及双色调。单色调是用非黑色的单一油墨打印的灰度图像。双色调、三色调和四色调分别是用两种、三种和四种油墨打印的灰度图像。在这些图像中,将使用彩色油墨(而不是不同的灰级)来重现带色彩灰色。

双色调增大了灰色图像的色调范围。虽然灰度重现可以显示多达 256 种灰阶,但印刷机上每种油墨只能重现约 50 种灰阶。出于此原因,与使用两种、三种或四种油墨打印并且每种油墨都能重现多达 50 种灰阶的灰度图像相比,仅用黑色油墨打印的同一图像看起来明显粗糙得多。

有时用黑色油墨和灰色油墨打印双色调 -- 黑色用于阴影,灰色用于中间色调和高光。更多情况下,双色调用彩色油墨打印高光颜色。此技术将使用淡色调生成图像,并明显增大图像的动态范围。双色调非常适合使用强调专色(如 PANTONE 颜色)的双色打印作业。

因为双色调使用不同的彩色油墨重现不同的灰阶,因此在 Photoshop 中,双色调被视为单通道、8 位的灰度图像。在双色调模式中,不能(像在 RGB、CMYK 和 Lab 模式中那样)直接访问个别的图像通道。而是通过“双色调选项”对话框中的曲线操纵通道。

将图像转换为双色调

  1. 通过选取“图像”>“模式”>“灰度”,将图像转换为灰度图像。只能将 8 位灰度图像转换为双色调。
  2. 选取“图像”>“模式”>“双色调”。
  3. 在“双色调选项”对话框中,选择“预览”以预览图像。
  4. 对于“类型”选项,选择“单色调”、“双色调”、“三色调”或“四色调”。
  5. 单击颜色框(实心方形)以打开拾色器,然后单击“颜色库”按钮并从对话框中选择油墨库和颜色。

    注意:

    要生成完全饱和的颜色,请按降序指定油墨 -- 颜色最深的位于顶部,颜色最浅的位于底部。

  6. 单击彩色油墨框旁边的曲线框并调整每种油墨颜色的双色调曲线。
  7. 如有必要,设置压印颜色。
  8. 单击“确定”。

    注意:

    要仅对部分图像应用双色调效果,请将双色调图像转换为多通道模式 -- 这会将双色调曲线转换为专色通道。然后就可以抹掉希望以标准灰度打印的区域的部分专色通道。

修改给定油墨的双色调曲线

在双色调图像中,每一种油墨都有一条单独的曲线指定颜色如何在阴影和高光内分布。该曲线将原始图像中的每个灰度值映射到一个特定的油墨百分比。

  1. 要预览任何对齐方式,请在“双色调选项”对话框中选择“预览”选项。
  2. 单击油墨颜色框旁边的曲线框。

    默认的双色调曲线是一条直的对角线,表示原始图像中的灰度值映射到一个相等的油墨百分比。在该设置下,50% 中间调像素用油墨的 50% 色调渲染,100% 阴影用 100% 的颜色渲染,依此类推。

  3. 通过拖动图形上的点或输入不同的油墨百分比值,调整每种油墨的双色调曲线。
    • 在曲线图中,水平轴从高光(左侧)向阴影(右侧)移动。油墨浓度沿垂直轴向上逐渐增加。在曲线上最多可以指定 13 个点。当沿曲线指定两个值时,Photoshop 将计算中间值。调整曲线时,数值自动输入到百分比文本框中。

    • 您在文本框中输入的值指明用于在原始图像中代表灰度值的油墨颜色的百分比。例如,如果您在 100% 文本框中输入 70,则会使用该油墨颜色的 70% 色调来打印 100% 阴影。

  4. 单击“双色调曲线”对话框中的“存储”,存储用该对话框创建的曲线。
  5. 单击“载入”载入这些曲线或在“曲线”对话框中创建的曲线,包括使用“任意图”选项创建的曲线。

    在处理双色调图像时,可以使用“信息”面板来显示油墨百分比。将读出模式设置为“实际颜色”,以便确定在打印图像时将应用什么油墨百分比。这些值反映您在“双色调曲线”对话框中输入的任何更改。

指定压印颜色

压印颜色是相互打印在对方之上的两种无网屏油墨。例如,当您在黄色油墨上打印青色油墨时,产生的压印颜色是绿色。打印油墨的顺序以及油墨和纸张的改变都可能显著影响最终结果。

为了预测颜色打印后的外观,请使用压印油墨的打印色样来相应调整网屏显示。请记住,此调整只影响压印颜色在屏幕上的外观,而并不影响打印出来的外观。在调整这些颜色之前,请确保校准您的显示器。

调整压印颜色的显示

  1. 选取“图像”>“模式”>“双色调”。
  2. 单击“压印颜色”按钮。“压印颜色”对话框将显示组合的油墨在打印时的外观。
  3. 单击要调整的油墨组合的色板。
  4. 在拾色器中选择所需的颜色,然后单击“确定”。
  5. 重复步骤 3 和 4,直至对油墨组合满意为止。然后单击“确定”。

存储和载入双色调设置

使用“双色调选项”对话框中的“存储”按钮存储一组双色调曲线、油墨设置和压印颜色。使用“载入”按钮载入一组双色调曲线、油墨设置和压印颜色。然后可以将这些设置应用到其它灰度图像。

Photoshop 包含几组双色调、三色调和四色调曲线的样本。这几组样本包含一些常用的曲线和颜色。在创建您自己的组合时,请先使用这几组样本。

查看双色调图像的个别颜色

由于双色调是单通道图像,因此对个别打印油墨的调整显示为最终复合图像的一部分。在某些情况下,您可能需要查看个别的“印版”,以查看打印时各颜色的分色方式(就像可以对 CMYK 图像所做的那样)。

  1. 指定油墨颜色后,选取“图像”>“模式”>“多通道”。

    图像即被转换为多通道模式,每个通道代表一个专色通道。每个专色通道的内容精确反映了双色调设置,但是屏幕上的复合预览可能不如双色调模式下的预览精确。

    注意:

    如果在多通道模式下对图像进行了任何更改,您将无法将图像恢复到原来的双色调状态(除非可以在“历史记录”面板中访问双色调状态)。要调整油墨的分布并查看其在个别印版上的效果,请在转换为多通道模式之前在“双色调曲线”对话框中进行调整。

  2. 在“通道”面板中选择要检查的通道。
  3. 选取“编辑”>“还原多通道”恢复到双色调模式。

打印双色调

在创建双色调时,请谨记:油墨的打印顺序和您使用的网角都会显著影响最终输出。(如果需要,更改打印机 RIP 上的半调网屏角度。)

不必为打印分色而将双色调图像转换为 CMYK 模式 - 只需从“打印”对话框(用于设置打印机选项)的色彩管理部分中的“配置文件”弹出式菜单中选取“分色”即可。转换为 CMYK 模式时会将所有自定颜色转换为它们相应的 CMYK 值。

将双色调图像导出到其它应用程序

要将双色调图像导出到页面排版应用程序,您必须首先以 EPS 或 PDF 格式存储图像。(但是,如果该图像包含专色通道,请将其转换为多通道模式,并以 DCS 2.0 格式存储该图像。) 记住使用适当的后缀为自定颜色命名,以便导入应用程序能够识别它们。否则,应用程序可能无法正确地打印颜色,或者根本无法打印图像。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

About duotones

In Photoshop, duotone refers to monotones, tritones, and quadtones as well as duotones. Monotones are grayscale images printed with a single, non-black ink. Duotones, tritones, and quadtones are grayscale images printed with two, three, and four inks. In these images, colored inks, rather than different shades of gray, are used to reproduce tinted grays.

Duotones increase the tonal range of a grayscale image. Although a grayscale reproduction can display up to 256 levels of gray, a printing press can reproduce only about 50 levels of gray per ink. For this reason, a grayscale image printed with only black ink can look significantly coarser than the same image printed with two, three, or four inks, each individual ink reproducing up to 50 levels of gray.

Sometimes duotones are printed using a black ink and a gray ink—the black for shadows and the gray for midtones and highlights. More frequently, duotones are printed using a colored ink for the highlight color. This technique produces an image with a slight tint and significantly increases the dynamic range of the image. Duotones are ideal for two‑color print jobs with a spot color (such as a PANTONE Color) used for accent.

Because duotones use different color inks to reproduce different gray levels, they are treated in Photoshop as single-channel, 8‑bit, grayscale images. In Duotone mode, you do not have direct access to the individual image channels (as in RGB, CMYK, and Lab modes). Instead, you manipulate the channels through the curves in the Duotone Options dialog box.

Convert an image to duotone

  1. Convert the image to grayscale by choosing Image > Mode > Grayscale. Only 8‑bit grayscale images can be converted to duotones.
  2. Choose Image > Mode > Duotone.
  3. In the Duotone Options dialog box, select Preview to preview the image.
  4. For the Type option, select Monotone, Duotone, Tritone, or Quadtone.
  5. Click the color box (the solid square) to open the color picker, then click the Color Libraries button and select an ink book and color from the dialog box.

    Note:

    To produce fully saturated colors, specify inks in descending order—darkest at the top, lightest at the bottom.

  6. Click the curve box next to the color ink box and adjust the duotone curve for each ink color.
  7. Set overprint colors, if necessary.
  8. Click OK.

    Note:

    To apply a duotone effect to only part of an image, convert the duotone image to Multichannel mode—this converts the duotone curves to spot channels. You can then erase part of the spot channel for areas that you want printed as standard grayscale.

Modify the duotone curve for a given ink

In a duotone image, each ink has a separate curve that specifies how the color is distributed across the shadows and highlights. This curve maps each grayscale value in the original image to a specific ink percentage.

  1. To preview any adjustments, select the Preview option in the Duotones Options dialog box.
  2. Click the curve box next to the ink color box.

    The default duotone curve, a straight diagonal line, indicates that the grayscale values in the original image map to an equal percentage of ink. At this setting, a 50% midtone pixel is rendered with a 50% tint of the ink, a 100% shadow is rendered in 100% color, and so on.

  3. Adjust the duotone curve for each ink by dragging a point on the graph or by entering values for the different ink percentages.
    • In the curve graph, the horizontal axis moves from highlights (at the left) to shadows (at the right). Ink density increases as you move up the vertical axis. You can specify up to 13 points on the curve. When you specify two values along the curve, Photoshop calculates intermediate values. As you adjust the curve, values are automatically entered in the percentage text boxes.

    • The value you enter in the text box indicates the percentage of the ink color used to represent the grayscale value in the original image. For example, if you enter 70 in the 100% text box, a 70% tint of that ink color is used to print the 100% shadows.

  4. Click Save in the Duotone Curve dialog box to save curves created with this dialog box.
  5. Click Load to load these curves or curves created in the Curves dialog box, including curves created using the Arbitrary Map option.

    You can use the Info panel to display ink percentages when you’re working with duotone images. Set the readout mode to Actual Color to determine what ink percentages will be applied when the image is printed. These values reflect any changes you’ve entered in the Duotone Curve dialog box.

Specifying overprint colors

Overprint colors are two unscreened inks printed on top of each other. For example, when you print a cyan ink over a yellow ink, the resulting overprint color is green. The order in which inks are printed, as well as variations in the inks and paper, can significantly affect the final results.

To predict how colors will look when printed, use a printed sample of the overprinted inks and adjust your screen display accordingly. Keep in mind that this adjustment affects only how the overprint colors appear on-screen, not when printed. Before adjusting these colors, make sure to calibrate your monitor.

Adjust the display of overprint colors

  1. Choose Image > Mode > Duotone.
  2. Click Overprint Colors. The Overprint Colors dialog box shows how the combined inks will look when printed.
  3. Click the color swatch of the ink combination that you want to adjust.
  4. Select the desired color in the Color Picker, and click OK.
  5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 until you are satisfied with the ink combination. Then click OK.

Saving and loading duotone settings

Use the Save button in the Duotone Options dialog box to save a set of duotone curves, ink settings, and overprint colors. Use the Load button to load a set of duotone curves, ink settings, and overprint colors. You can then apply these settings to other grayscale images.

Photoshop includes several sample sets of duotone, tritone, and quadtone curves. These sets include some commonly used curves and colors. Use these sets as starting points when you create your own combinations.

View the individual colors of a duotone image

Because duotones are single-channel images, your adjustments to individual printing inks are displayed as part of the final composite image. In some cases, you may want to view the individual “printing plates” to see how the individual colors will separate when printed (as you can with CMYK images).

  1. After specifying your ink colors, choose Image > Mode > Multichannel.

    The image is converted to Multichannel mode, with each channel represented as a spot color channel. The contents of each spot channel accurately reflect the duotone settings, but the on‑screen composite preview may not be as accurate as the preview in Duotone mode.

    Note:

    If you make any changes to the image in Multichannel mode, you can’t revert to the original duotone state (unless you can access the duotone state in the History panel). To adjust the distribution of ink and view its effect on the individual printing plates, make the adjustments in the Duotone Curves dialog box before converting to Multichannel mode.

  2. Select the channel you want to examine in the Channels panel.
  3. Choose Edit > Undo Multichannel to revert to Duotone mode.

Printing duotones

When creating duotones, keep in mind that both the order in which the inks are printed and the screen angles you use have a significant effect on the final output. (If needed, change the halftone screen angles on the printer’s RIP.)

You do not have to convert duotone images to CMYK to print separations—simply choose Separations from the Profile pop‑up menu in the Color Management section of the Print dialog box (for setting printer options). Converting to CMYK mode converts any custom colors to their CMYK equivalents.

Exporting duotone images to other applications

To export a duotone image to a page-layout application, you must first save the image in EPS or PDF format. (However, if the image contains spot channels, convert it to Multichannel mode and save it in DCS 2.0 format.) Remember to name custom colors using the appropriate suffix so that the importing application can recognize them. Otherwise, the application may not print the colors correctly, or it may not print the image at all.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy