此文档面向哪些对象?

本文档为具有以下需求的相关人员提供基本说明:

  • 处理在 Photoshop 中创建的,或通过数码相机或扫描仪捕获的 RGB 图像,
  • 并且要在喷墨打印机上打印这些图像。

本文档不解决以下相关人员的需求:

  • 需要可衡量的颜色精确度,
  • 只希望将图像发布到网上,
  • 将图像发送到联机服务进行打印,
  • 准备将图像用于印刷,
  • 在 CMYK 颜色模式下处理图像。

什么是色彩管理?

色彩管理是一种技术和流程,可用于确保颜色在多个设备上尽可能地以其预想的方式呈现。没有哪个显示设备或打印机可显示人眼能够看到的全部亮度和颜色范围,并且没有哪两个设备(包括不同类型的打印纸)可显示完全相同的亮度和颜色范围。

此外,同种类型的不同设备会做出不同的响应:如果您拔出一个型号的显示器,并插上另一型号的显示器且不更改任何软件设置,图像在新显示器上看起来会不太一样。如果您更换打印机中的纸张且不更改任何软件设置,图像在新纸张上看起来会不太一样。

色彩管理可解决上述问题。您只需具备最低设备要求并在某些简单的流程上投入少量时间,即可获得非常好的结果。如果您要使结果具有极高的可衡量精度,则需采用更复杂的流程和设备。本文档将介绍其中最简单的情况。色彩管理可让您尽可能地获得更好的实际效果,但显示器和打印之间始终存在着一定的差异(如下所示)。最重要的是,色彩管理可以使这种差异保持一致且可预测。您在打印时,不会时而绿色时而为粉色,或容易变得非常暗或亮。

什么是颜色配置文件?

色彩管理基于颜色配置文件的应用。对于我们而言,存在以下两种颜色配置文件:

  1. 设备配置文件与显示器或打印机之类的设备及特定的墨水和纸张关联。它们描述了设备如何显示颜色,包括它可以显示哪些颜色不可以显示哪些颜色。
  2. 工作配置文件与 Photoshop 中的文档关联,例如由数码相机捕获的图像。它们描述了文档中的 RGB 值是如何与我们看到的实际颜色相对应的,并确定哪些颜色可在文档中呈现。创建文档时会设置文档的工作配置文件,无论它是来自数码相机或扫描仪的 JPEG 文件、Photoshop 中创建的新文档、还是通过打开 Adobe Camera Raw 中的数码相机 RAW 图像创建的文档。两个最常见的工作配置文件为 sRGB 和 AdobeRGB。

1. ProPhotoRGB。此色彩空间的使用者为希望能够尽可能保留图像捕获中所有颜色信息的人员。它属于“如果您已经知道为什么要使用它,那么您也许只愿意使用它”的功能之一,并且更适合于最高端的打印机。关于使用 ProPhotoRGB 作为工作空间方面最需要了解的一点是,为避免图像中的这些额外颜色占据更多带宽的风险(颜色之间的可见步骤),您应当在 16 位模式下工作。ProPhotoRGB 可呈现比 AdobeRGB 更多的颜色,包括一小部分可由高端喷墨打印机打印但无法以 AdobeRGB 呈现的颜色。它还包含大量可由数码相机捕获但无法在任何输出设备或打印机上显示的颜色,甚至还有更多人眼可见但无法由任何输入设备捕获或由任何输出设备显示的颜色。如果您无法显示或打印所有这些颜色,那么它们有何用处?首先,您可以确保没有丢弃任何由相机捕获的信息,除非您必须要这么做(在您输出文件时)。例如,您可以将之前在不可见和不可打印的紫红色范围内波动的较大色相/饱和度更改到可显示的深蓝色范围内。或者,您也可以执行一系列编辑步骤以临时创建极端的不可打印颜色,然后再将它们恢复到可打印的范围内(比如,提高整体的颜色饱和度,然后在特定的区域内削减它)。如果拥有所有这些额外颜色,那么您无需消除图像中的颜色差异即可做到以上这一切。但 ProPhotoRGB 是有代价的:要避免带宽,您应当在 16 位模式下工作,因为它会使文件大小、内存要求和操作时间加倍。大部分 Photoshop 操作都可在 16 位模式下进行,但许多具有创意的滤镜操作却不行。

AdobeRGB 可呈现比 sRGB 更多的颜色,尤其包括可由喷墨打印机打印的更饱和颜色。此配置文件最适合于中档打印机。因此,如果您计划在喷墨打印机上打印您的图像,不妨使用 AdobeRGB 作为您的工作空间。为此,您需要设置数码相机或扫描仪软件以输出 AdobeRGB 文件,设置 Adobe Camera Raw 内的输出设置以输出 AdobeRGB 文件,或者,如果要在 Photoshop 中从头开始创建文档,请从“新建文档”对话框“高级”部分内的“颜色配置文件”弹出菜单中选择 Adobe RGB。

sRGB 可呈现比 AdobeRGB 更少的颜色,而喷墨打印机可打印其中的大多数颜色。此配置文件最适合于多功能一体机(包含扫描仪和/或传真机)。因此,如果您使用 sRGB,将永远不会看到某些可由数码相机或扫描仪捕获并由打印机打印的更加饱和的颜色。但是,sRGB 包含绝大多数图像中的绝大多数颜色。大部分连接到 Internet 的显示器没有任何形式的颜色管理,但它们具有接近于 sRGB 的设备配置文件,并且许多联机打印服务都需要它们打印的文件具有 sRGB 的工作配置文件。这意味着对于要在 Internet 上发布或发送到此类联机服务的文件而言,您应当使用 sRGB 的工作配置文件,或者应将待发布或发送的文件转换为 sRGB。您可以通过以下方法将文档转换为 sRGB:选择“编辑”>“转换为配置文件”,并选择 sRGB 作为目标空间(其他设置则保留不变),或者在将 JPEG 存储为 Web 所用格式时出现的“存储为 Web 和设备所用格式”对话框中选中“转换为 sRGB”复选框。

更好地进行色彩打印的技巧:

以下是有关色彩管理的一些基本技巧(头两个最为重要):

为用来进行编辑的显示器安排一个合理且一致的光照环境。

  • 在一天的各时段中变化不大,且不会有光源直接落在屏幕上的低光照是最理想的(您不会希望在屏幕关闭时看到屏幕上有反光或发光的物体)。相反,最糟糕的情况是早上有阳光射在您的显示器上,下午则直接照在您的脸上。

每 6 个月左右配置和校准显示器一次。

  • 即使最便宜的现代显示器校准器(150 美元以下)也会产生比 Mac 和 Windows 操作系统中的内置软件校准功能更准确一致的结果。但是,这些软件校准功能所产生的结果又好过完全不校准显示器。

无论您采用何种方法,最后都会产生一个具有这些设置的显示器配置文件。当您下次启动 Photoshop 时,它将使用您新创建的配置文件。请不要在配置显示器后更改其设置,尤其是不要更改亮度、对比度或颜色设置。如果您确实要更改设置或显著更改光照环境,则应当重复执行配置过程。

便携式计算机的内置屏幕并不适合获取最佳的打印匹配颜色。

  • 出色的色彩管理需要一台经过精心配置的显示器;其控件必须以创建配置文件所用的相同方法进行设置。便携式计算机屏幕可能比高质量桌面显示器更加不均匀(屏幕的不同区域具有不同的颜色和亮度),它们被设置得非常亮,并且/或者其亮度可依据环境光线而自动变化。这非常适合在较亮的光线下和咖啡馆中进行 Web 浏览,但您的打印始终看起来很暗,或更糟的是,有时看起来还好,有时看起来有点暗,有时候又极暗。

     

    不过,便携式计算机屏幕在近几年来已有了显著的改善。如果您计划使用便携式计算机屏幕来编辑要打印的图像,并且如果校准设备或内置软件没有引导您设置一个特定的亮度级别,请尝试设置为最大亮度级别的三分之一到二分之一。每当您编辑图像时,请将显示器返回到这些设置,否则将得到质量不佳和不可预测的结果。 

请确保将要使用的打印机和纸张配置文件组合在一起
(请在第一次开始使用新类型的打印机纸时这么做)

  • 当今大多数的喷墨打印机(尤其是那些主要用于成像而非商用的)都为打印机制造商出品的各类纸张提供了相当不错的配置文件,并且这些配置文件是随打印机软件一起安装的。如果您使用新类型的纸张,或并非出自打印机制造商的纸张,则需要从该纸张制造商的网站或其他来源获取配置文件。

请不要在喷墨打印机中使用廉价的墨水

  • 喷墨打印机油墨成本很高,但对于量小质高的打印,目前还没有一种简单便宜的产品可用于替代打印机制造商的墨水。可将低价的替代墨水留作打印含图的文字处理文档和电子表格。要保持颜色的精确性和一致性,请使用打印机制造商的墨水,或 Lyson 等知名厂商生产的专业成像墨水(使用专业墨水同样需要自定义配置文件,因为一个打印机配置文件只专门用于相应打印机、墨水和纸张的组合)。廉价的商场自有品牌墨水存在极高的风险,可能会产生糟糕的和多变难料的颜色结果,并严重降低打印寿命。

围绕您的显示器准备一个适合于查看打印的光照环境
(请在设置计算机工作区时做好此项工作)。

  • 您需要使显示器周围空间的光线适合于查看打印,它最好是类似于最终将会查看打印的光线,并且最好就在显示器附近,这样便于您对比观看。通常这种光照环境不会是直接的太阳光(它会使您很难看清显示器),也不会是一片漆黑(它会促使您只看显示器,而无法看到您的打印)。通常最好是不要将打印抬升到紧邻显示器的地方,因为在这个位置上如果能有良好的光线可查看打印,显示器很可能会形成反光,从而给您造成不便。放在桌子上的一侧是最理想的。

     

    无论您怎么做,您的打印永远都无法完全匹配您的显示器,因为:

    • 显示器会发出光线,而打印会反射光线。
    • 根据查看打印时的光线,打印看起来会略有不同:它在白炽灯、间接的阳光和荧光灯下看起来都不太一样。
    • 显示器和打印无法呈现完全相同的颜色,也无法呈现从亮到暗的相同亮度范围。例如,显示器可能会产生一些无法由打印机打印的深蓝色和红紫色,特别是在亚光纸上打印时。显示器能够显示比打印机更大的黑白亮度差(特别是在亚光纸上打印时)。打印机可能可以打印无法由显示器显示的中间色调和深蓝绿色及绿色。色彩管理软件可修改文档中的许多颜色,从而在每个设备上提供最佳整体结果。它并不只是将过度饱和的颜色在特定的设备上呈现,然后将其替换为可显示的最接近颜色。因为这会消除颜色中接近设备功能极限的所有细节。它是以不易察觉的程度转换许多颜色,从而保留整体的外观。

使用软校样以更好地了解您的打印效果
(请在需要时或每次打印前执行此操作)

  • 如果您已校准过显示器,那么 Photoshop 在屏幕上显示的内容即为文档尽可能最准确的呈现形式。如果您随后使用适当的配置文件打印该文档,则将以打印机可以打印的最准确呈现形式将您的文档打印出来。由于上述这些因素,它们之间通常会有显著的不同。

     

    这里并不是要使 Photoshop 在屏幕上以尽可能最准确的形式呈现您的文档,而是以尽可能最准确的呈现形式显示打印效果,其中要考虑到您的打印机无法打印的颜色,以及打印机只能生成缩小的暗亮色调范围。由于这些不同之处,软校样(屏幕上的打印颜色预览)看起来总是要暗于原始图像。您可能需要使用此信息增加图像特定区域的对比度或饱和度以作为补偿,不过很显然,如果某个颜色因为打印机无法打印而不存在,那么您对文件执行任何操作也不能在打印中创建该颜色。此预览仍受光照环境的限制,另外,有一些打印机可以打印但显示器无法显示的颜色也对其有所影响。但是它将让您更好地了解打印效果与正常(“文档中的最佳图像”)显示有何不同。

要查看文档的软校样,请选择“视图”>“校样设置”>“自定义”,并按如下所示设置对话项:

  • 要模拟的设备:为要校样的打印机和纸张组合选取配置文件。
  • 保留 RGB 值:取消选择
  • 渲染方法:可感知或相对比色(您通常无法分辨这两者之间的区别,但是您选择的方法应当匹配您打印文档时在打印对话中选取的方法)
  • 黑场补偿:选择
  • 模拟纸张颜色:选择
  • 模拟墨黑色:选择

然后单击“确定”。

它可为这一特定的纸张和打印机组合配备相关设置,并开启软校样。要通过开启或关闭此设置切换软校样,请选择“视图”>“校样颜色”。您可在软校样开启时执行任何编辑操作。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Who Is This Document For?

This document provides basic instructions for people who:

  • work with RGB images, whether created in Photoshop or captured with a digital camera or scanner,
  • wish to print their images on an inkjet printer.

This document does not address the needs of people who:

  • need measurable color accuracy,
  • only wish to post their images to the web, 
  • print their images by sending them to an online service, 
  • are preparing images for a printing press,
  • work with images in the CMYK color mode.

What Is Color Management?

Color Management refers to the technology and processes used to insure that colors are presented as closely as possible to the way they're intended on multiple devices. No display device or printer can show the range of brightness and color that the human eye can see, and no two devices (including different kinds of printing paper) display exactly the same range of brightness and color.

Further, different devices of the same kind respond differently: if you unplug one model of monitor and plug in another without changing any software settings, images will look different on the new monitor. If you change paper in your printer without changing any software settings, images will look different on the new paper.

Color management addresses these issues. You can get quite good results with minimal equipment and a small investment of time in some simple procedures. If you require results with extreme and measurable accuracy, more complex procedures and equipment are required. This document is biased strongly toward the simple end of that scale. Color management can get you as close as physics allows, but there will always be a difference between monitor and print (see below). Most importantly, color management makes that difference consistent and predictable. Your prints won’t be green sometimes and pink other times, or unpredictably dark or light.

What Are Color Profiles?

Color management is based on the use of color profiles. For our purposes, there are two kinds of color profiles:

  1. Device profiles are associated with a device such as a display or a printer and specific ink and paper. They describe how that device displays color, including which colors it can and can’t display.
  2. Working profiles are associated with a document in Photoshop, such as an image captured by a digital camera. They describe how the RGB values in the document correspond to the actual colors that we see, and determines which colors can be represented in the document. The working profile of a document is set when that document is created, whether it’s a JPEG file from a digital camera or scanner, a new document created in Photoshop, or a document created by opening a digital camera RAW image in Adobe Camera Raw. The two most common working profiles are sRGB and AdobeRGB.

1. The ProPhotoRGB. This color space is used by people who want to make sure they are retaining all the color information possible from their image captures. It’s one of those “you probably only want to use it if you already know why you want to use it” features, and is more appropriate for highest-end printers. The most important thing to know about using ProPhotoRGB as a working space is that to avoid paying for those extra colors with a greater risk of banding (visible steps between colors) in your images, you should work in 16 bit mode. ProPhotoRGB can represent many more colors than even AdobeRGB, including a relatively small slice of colors that high end inkjet printers can print that cannot be represented in AdobeRGB. It also includes a huge number of colors that digital cameras can capture but that can’t be displayed on any output device or printer, and even more colors that humans can see but that can’t be captured with any input device or displayed by any output device. What’s the use of all these colors if you can’t display or print them? First, you can be sure you haven’t thrown away any information that your camera captured until you absolutely must (when you output the file). For example, you could make a big hue / saturation change that moves previously unviewable and unprintable range of purplish reds into a range of deep blues that can be displayed. Or you might perform a sequence of editing steps that temporarily create extreme, unprintable colors and then later restore them to a printable range (say, by boosting overall color saturation and then cutting it back in specific areas). Having all those extra colors lets you do this without destroying color differences in the image. But ProPhotoRGB comes with a cost: To avoid banding you should work in 16 bit mode, which doubles file sizes, memory requirements, and operation times. Most Photoshop operations are available in 16 bit mode, but many of the creative filter operations are not.

AdobeRGB can represent more colors than sRGB — specifically including more saturated colors that inkjet printers can print. This profile is most appropriate for mid-range printers. So if you plan to print your images on an inkjet printer, you may wish to use AdobeRGB as your working space. You do this by setting your digital camera or scanner software to output AdobeRGB files, setting the output settings within Adobe Camera Raw to output AdobeRGB files, or, if creating documents from scratch in Photoshop, selecting Adobe RGB from the Color Profile pop-up in the advanced section of the New Document dialog.

sRGB can represent fewer colors than AdobeRGB, and inkjet printers can print many of those colors. This profile is best for all-in-one printers (that include a scanner and/or fax). So if you use sRGB, you will never see some of the more saturated colors that your digital camera or scanner can capture and your printer could print. But sRGB does include the vast majority of colors in the vast majority of images. Most monitors connected to the Internet are not color managed in any way, but they have device profiles that are close to sRGB, and many online print services require files that they print to have a working profile of sRGB. That means that for files to be posted on the internet or sent to such an online service, you should either use a working space of sRGB, or convert the file to sRGB before posting or sending it. You can convert a document to sRGB either by choosing Edit >Convert to Profile, and choosing sRGB as the Destination Space (leave other settings as they are), or by selecting the Convert To sRGB checkbox in the Save For Web And Devices dialog when saving a JPEG for the web.

Tips for Better Color Prints:

Here are some fundamental tips for color management (the first two being the most important):

Set up a reasonable and consistent lighting environment for the monitor you use for editing.

  • Low lighting that doesn’t vary much by time of day and has no light sources falling directly on the screen is ideal (you don’t want to see reflections of lights or bright objects in the screen when it’s off). Conversely, the worst possible setup would be one in which the sun shines on your monitor in the morning and in your face in the afternoon.

Profile and calibrate the monitor every 6 months or so.

  • Even the least expensive modern monitor calibrators (under $150) will produce more accurate and consistent results than the software calibration functions built into the Mac and Windows operating systems. In turn, those will produce better results than not calibrating your monitor at all.

Whichever method you use, the result will be a profile of your monitor with those settings. The next time you launch Photoshop, it will use your newly created profile. Do not change the settings on your monitor after you profile it — specifically do not change brightness, contrast, or color settings. If you do change settings or significantly change the lighting environment, you should repeat the profiling process.

The built-in screens of laptops are not ideal for obtaining good color matches with prints.

  • Good color management requires a monitor that has been profiled; its controls must be set the same way as when the profile was created. Laptop screens can be more non-uniform (with different color and brightness in different parts of the screen) than high-quality desktop monitors, and they are set very bright and/or with brightness automatically varying based on the ambient light. That is great for web browsing in bright light and coffee shops, but your prints will always look dark — or worse, sometimes OK, sometimes a little too dark, and sometimes far too dark.


    Laptop screens, however, have improved greatly over the last several years. If you plan to use your laptop screen for editing images to be printed, and if the calibration device or built-in software doesn't guide you to a particular brightness level, try about one-third to one-half the maximum brightness level. Whenever you edit images, return the display to those settings, or you will be frustrated by poor and unpredictable results. 

Make sure you have profiles for the printer and paper combinations you’ll be using
(do this when you first start using a new kind of printer paper)

  • Most inkjet printers today — especially ones meant for imaging rather than business use — come with reasonably good profiles for various types of paper made by the printer manufacturer, and those profiles are installed along with the printer software. If you’re using a new kind of paper, or a paper that isn’t made by the printer manufacturer, you will have to obtain a profile from the paper manufacturer’s website or another source.

Do not use cheap ink in your inkjet printer

  • Inkjet ink is expensive — but for low volume, high quality printing there is no easy budget alternative to the printer manufacturer’s ink. Save budget replacement ink for word processing documents and spreadsheets with graphics. For color accuracy and consistency, use either the printer manufacturer’s ink or specialty imaging ink such as that made by Lyson (use of specialty ink will also require custom profiles — a printer profile is specific to the combination of printer, ink, and paper). Inexpensive store brand inks carry a high risk of poor and variable color results and significantly lowered print longevity.

Prepare a lighting environment near your monitor for viewing prints
(do this once when you set up your computer workspace).

  • You need a space near your monitor that has light suitable for viewing the print — preferably similar to the light in which it will eventually be viewed, and preferably near the monitor so you can look from one to the other. Generally that won’t be direct sunlight (which would make it hard to see your monitor anyway), and it won’t be pitch darkness (which might be tempting for viewing your monitor, but then you can’t see your prints). It’s often best not to hold the print up right next to the monitor because if there’s good light for print viewing in that position, there’s probably light reflecting off the monitor, which is bad. On the desk to one side is ideal.


    No matter what you do, your prints will never match your monitor exactly, because:

    • The monitor is emitting light and the print is reflecting light.
    • The print will look somewhat different depending on the light in which it is viewed: it will look different under incandescent light, indirect sunlight, and fluorescents.
    • The monitor and the print can’t represent all the same colors nor the same range of brightness from light to dark. For example, the monitor can likely produce some deep blues and reddish-purples that your printer can’t print — especially if you’re printing on matte paper. The monitor can show a hugely greater brightness difference from black to white than can the printer (again, especially if you’re printing on matte paper). The printer can probably print middle tone and deep blue-greens and greens that the monitor can’t display. The color management software modifies many of the colors in the document to provide the best overall result on each device. It doesn’t just take the colors that are too saturated to represent on a particular device and replace them with the closest color that can be shown. That would eliminate all detail in colors near the extremes of the device’s capabilities. Instead, it shifts many colors subtly to preserve overall appearance.

Use soft proofing to get a better idea of what your print will look like
(do this as desired, or each time before you print)

  • If you’ve calibrated your monitor, what Photoshop is showing you on the screen is the most accurate representation possible of your document. If you then print that document using an appropriate profile, it will print the most accurate representation of your document that the printer can print. Because of the factors listed above, those will usually be quite different.


    Instead of having Photoshop show the most accurate possible representation of your document on the screen, it can show the most accurate possible representation of what the print will look like — taking into account the colors your printer can’t print, and the decreased range of dark to light tones that the printer can produce. Because of these differences, a soft proof (onscreen preview of print colors) will always look duller than the original image. You may want to use this information to increase the contrast or saturation of certain areas of your image to compensate, though obviously if a color isn’t there because the printer can’t print it, nothing you can do to the file will create that color in the print. This preview is still limited by the lighting environment, plus the fact that there are colors the printer can print that the monitor can’t display. But it’ll give you a better idea of what the print will look like than the normal (“best possible image of the document”) display.

To see a soft proof of your document, choose View > Proof Setup > Custom and set the dialog items as follows:

  • Device to Simulate: Pick the profile for the printer and paper combination you want to proof.
  • Preserve RGB Numbers: Deselected
  • Rendering Intent: Perceptual or Relative Colorimetric (you usually won’t see much difference between these, but the one you choose should match the one you pick in the print dialog when you print the document)
  • Black Point Compensation: Selected
  • Simulate Paper Color: Selected
  • Simulate Ink Black: Selected

Then click OK.

This prepares settings for this particular paper and printer combination and turns on soft proofing. To toggle soft proofing for this setup on and off, choose View >Proof Colors. You can perform any editing operation while soft proofing is on.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy