调整颜色和色调之前的考虑事项

Photoshop 中功能强大的工具可增强、修复和校正图像中的颜色和色调(亮度、暗度和对比度)。在调整颜色和色调之前,需要考虑下面一些事项。

  • 使用经过校准和配置的显示器。对于重要的图像编辑,校准和配置十分关键。否则,在打印后,图像在您的显示器和在其他显示器上看上去有所不同。

  • 尝试使用调整图层来调整图像的色调范围和色彩平衡。使用调整图层,您可以返回并且可以进行连续的色调调整,而无需扔掉或永久修改图像图层中的数据。请记住,使用调整图层会增加图像的文件大小,并且需要计算机有更多的内存。面板通过访问“调整”面板中的颜色和色调命令自动创建调整图层。

  • 如果不想使用调整图层,则可以直接将调整应用于图像图层。请记住,当对图像图层直接进行颜色或色调调整时,会扔掉一些图像信息。

  • 对于至关重要的作品,为了尽可能多地保留图像数据,最好使用 16 位/通道图像(16 位图像),而不使用 8 位/通道图像(8 位图像)。当您进行色调和颜色调整时,数据将被扔掉。8 位图像中图像信息的损失程度比 16 位图像更严重。通常,16 位图像的文件大小比 8 位图像大。

  • 复制或拷贝图像文件。您可以使用图像的拷贝进行工作,以便保留原件,以防万一需要使用原始状态的图像。

  • 在调整颜色和色调之前,请移去图像中的任何缺陷(例如,尘斑、污点和划痕)。

  • 在“扩展视图”中打开“信息”或“直方图”面板。当您评估和校正图像时,这两个面板上都会显示有关调整的重要反馈信息。

  • 您可以通过建立选区或者使用蒙版来将颜色和色调调整限制在图像的一部分。另一种有选择地应用颜色和色调调整的方法就是用不同图层上的图像分量来设置文档。颜色和色调调整一次只能应用于一个图层。只会影响目标图层上的图像图素。

校正图像

在校正图像的色调和颜色时,您通常需要遵循以下工作流程:

  1. 使用直方图来检查图像的品质和色调范围。

  2. 确保已打开“调整”面板以访问颜色和色调调整。单击某个按钮访问下列步骤中描述的调整。应用“调整”面板的校正会创建调整图层,这种方法可以增大灵活性,并且不会扔掉图像信息。请参阅调整面板概述关于调整图层和填充图层

  3. 调整色彩平衡以移去不需要的色痕或者校正过度饱和或不饱和的颜色。请参阅颜色调整命令

  4. 使用“色阶”或“曲线”调整来调整色调范围。

    在开始校正色调时,首先调整图像中高光像素和阴影像素的极限值,从而为图像设置总体色调范围。此过程称作设置高光和阴影设置白场和黑场。设置高光和阴影将适当地重新分布中间调像素。但是,您可能需要手动调整中间调。

    要只调整阴影和高光区域中的色调,请使用“阴影/高光”命令。请参阅改善阴影和高光细节

  5. (可选)进行其他颜色调整。

    校正完图像的总体色彩平衡后,您可以有选择地进行调整,以便增强颜色或产生特殊的效果。

  6. 锐化图像边缘。

    作为最后的步骤之一,使用“USM 锐化”或“智能锐化”滤镜以锐化图像的边缘清晰度。图像所需的锐化量因您使用的数码相机或扫描仪所生成的图像品质而异。请参阅锐化图像

  7. (可选)针对打印机或印刷特性调整图像。

    可以使用“色阶”调整或“曲线”调整中的选项将高光和阴影信息导入到输出设备(如桌面打印机)的色域中。如果将图像发送到印刷机,并且了解印刷机特性时,也可以完成这个步骤。

    由于锐化会增加相邻像素的对比度,因此可能会出现如下情况:在您使用的打印机或印刷机上无法印刷关键区域中的某些像素。出于此原因,最好在锐化之后微调输出设置。有关调整输出设置的更多信息,请参阅设置高光和阴影目标值

调整面板概述

可以在“调整”面板中找到用于调整颜色和色调的工具。单击“工具”图标以选择调整并自动创建调整图层。使用“调整”面板中的控件和选项进行的调整会创建非破坏性调整图层。请参阅关于调整图层和填充图层

“属性”面板具有可设置调整预设的“预设”菜单。预设可用于色阶、曲线、曝光度、色相/饱和度、黑白、通道混合器以及可选颜色。单击“预设”,使用调整图层将其应用于图像。总是可以将调整设置存储为预设,它会被添加到预设列表中。

单击调整按钮或预设以显示特定调整的设置选项。

要观看相关视频,请参阅控制调整图层所影响的图层

使用调整面板应用校正

  1. 在“调整”面板中单击调整图标,或从面板菜单中选取调整。

  2. 请使用“属性”面板中的控件和选项来应用所需的设置。

  3. (可选)请执行下列操作之一:
    • 要切换调整的可见性,请单击“切换图层可见性”按钮
    • 要将调整恢复到其原始设置,请单击“复位”按钮
    • 要扔掉调整,请单击“删除此调整图层”按钮
    • 要扩展“调整”面板的宽度,请拖动面板的底角。

将校正只应用于下面的图层

  1. 在“调整”面板中单击调整图标,或从面板菜单中选取调整。

  2. 在“调整”面板中,单击“剪切到图层”按钮 。再次单击图标,将调整应用于“图层”面板中该图层下的所有图层。

存储和应用调整预设

“属性”面板具有可设置调整预设的“预设”菜单,作用于您在“调整”面板中单击的工具。此外,可以存储和应用有关色阶、曲线、曝光度、色相/饱和度、黑白、通道混合器以及可选颜色的预设。存储预设后,它将被添加到预设列表。

  • 要将调整设置存储为预设,请从“属性”面板菜单中选择“存储预设”选项。
  • 要应用调整预设,请从“属性”面板的“预设”菜单中选取预设。

自动选择文本字段或目标调整工具

如果您经常使用文本字段或目标调整工具来更改调整参数,则可以通过自动选择这几项使效率最大化。

  1. 从“属性”面板菜单中选择“自动选择参数”或“自动选择目标调整工具”。

    注意:

    如果您希望根据需要选择文本字段,请按 Shift-Enter (Windows) 或 Shift-Return (Mac OS)。

颜色调整命令

您可以选择以下色彩调整命令:

自动调整色阶

快速校正图像中的色彩平衡。尽管“自动颜色”命令的名称暗示了自动调整,但您还是可以微调该命令的运行方式。请参阅使用自动颜色移去色偏

色阶命令

通过为单个颜色通道设置像素分布来调整色彩平衡。请参阅使用色阶调整颜色

曲线命令

对于单个通道,为高光、中间调和阴影调整最多提供 14 个控点。请参阅曲线概述

曝光度命令

通过在线性颜色空间中执行计算来调整色调。曝光度主要用于 HDR 图像。请参加调整 HDR 图像的曝光度

自然饱和度命令

调整颜色饱和度,以使剪切最小化。请参阅使用自然饱和度调整颜色饱和度

照片滤镜命令

通过模拟在相机镜头前使用 Kodak Wratten 或 Fuji 滤镜时所达到的摄影效果来调整颜色。

色彩平衡命令

更改图像中所有的颜色混合。请参阅应用色彩平衡调整

色相/饱和度命令

调整整个图像或单个颜色分量的色相、饱和度和亮度值。请参阅调整色相和饱和度

匹配颜色命令

将一张照片中的颜色与另一张照片相匹配,将一个图层中的颜色与另一个图层相匹配,将一个图像中选区的颜色与同一图像或不同图像中的另一个选区相匹配。此命令还调整亮度和颜色范围,并对图像中的色痕进行中和。请参阅匹配不同图像中的颜色

替换颜色命令

将图像中的指定颜色替换为新颜色值。请参阅替换图像中对象的颜色

可选颜色命令

调整单个颜色分量的印刷色数量。请参阅调整可选颜色

通道混合器命令

修改颜色通道并进行使用其他颜色调整工具不易实现的色彩调整。请参阅混合颜色通道

进行颜色调整

所有 Photoshop 颜色调整工具的工作方式本质上是相同的:它们都将现有范围的像素值映射到新范围的像素值。这些工具的差异表现在所提供的控制数量上。可在“调整”面板中访问颜色调整工具及其选项设置。有关颜色调整工具的概述,请参阅颜色调整命令

可以用多种方式调整图像中的颜色。最灵活的方法是使用调整图层。当在“调整”面板中选择颜色调整工具时,Photoshop 会自动创建调整图层。调整图层使您可以在不必永久修改图像中的像素的情况下进行颜色和色调调整。颜色和色调更改位于调整图层内,该图层像一层透明膜一样,下层图像图层可以透过它显示出来。

  1. 如果要对图像的一部分进行调整,请选择相应的部分。如果没有建立选区,则调整将应用于整个图像。
  2. 执行下列操作之一:
    • 单击“调整”面板中的调整图标。
    • 双击“图层”面板中现有调整图层的缩览图。

    注意:

    也可以选择“图像”>“调整”,并从子菜单中选择命令以将调整直接应用于图像图层。请记住,这种方法会扔掉图像信息。

    新的调整图层包括图层蒙版,在默认情况下为空(或白色),即意味着调整将应用于整个图像。(如果在添加调整图层时图像上有现用选区,则初始图层蒙版以黑色覆盖未选中的区域。)使用“画笔”工具,可以上色蒙版上的黑色区域,即不想让调整影响图像的地方。请参阅编辑图层蒙版

  3. 要将图像视图在使用调整和不使用调整之间切换,请单击“属性”中的“切换图层可见性”图标

    注意:

    要取消更改,请单击“复位”按钮

存储调整设置

可以存储颜色调整设置并将它们应用于其它图像。设置存储完毕后,即可在“属性”面板的“预设”菜单中访问。也可以从调整对话框菜单中选择“加载预设”选项。如果要使用“匹配颜色”命令存储颜色调整设置,请参阅匹配不同图像中的颜色

  • 要存储“预设”菜单中的设置,请从面板菜单中选择“存储预设”选项。该选项只可用于色阶、曲线、曝光度、色相/饱和度、黑白、通道混合器以及可选颜色。
  • 要存储“阴影/高光”或“替换颜色”图像调整对话框中的设置,请单击“存储”。在“色阶”、“曲线”、“曝光度”、“色相/饱和度”“黑白”、“通道混合器”或“可选颜色”图像调整对话框中,从面板菜单选取“存储预设”。输入设置的名称,然后单击“存储”。

再次应用调整设置

存储调整设置后,它将存储为预设并可以再次应用。

  • 从“属性”面板的“预设”菜单中选取调整预设。
  • 在调整对话框中,单击“载入”。置入并载入已存储的调整文件。在“曲线”、“黑白”、“曝光度”、“色相/饱和度”、“可选颜色”、“色阶”或“通道混合器”对话框中,“预设”菜单中显示已存储的预设。从“预设”选项中选择“载入预设”可从不同位置载入“预设”弹出式菜单中未显示的预设。

要删除默认预设,请导航到下列文件夹,将预设移出文件夹,并重新启动 Photoshop。

  • Windows:[启动盘]/Program Files/Adobe/Adobe Photoshop [版本号]/Presets/[调整类型]/[预设名称]

  • Mac OS:[启动盘]/Applications/Adobe Photoshop [版本号]/Presets/[调整类型]/[预设名称]

校正 CMYK 和 RGB 颜色

尽管您可以在 RGB 模式下执行所有的颜色和色调校正,而且可以在 CMYK 模式下执行大多数颜色和色调调整,但您还是要仔细选择模式。避免在不同模式之间多次进行转换,因为每次转换都会有一些颜色值会因取舍而丢失。如果图像要在屏幕上显示,请勿将 RGB 图像转换为 CMYK 模式。对于已分离和已打印的 CMYK 图像,请勿在 RGB 模式下进行颜色校正。

如果您必须将图像从一种模式转换到另一种模式,则应在 RGB 模式下执行大多数色调和颜色校正。然后可以使用 CMYK 模式进行微调。在 RGB 模式中工作具有如下好处:

  • RGB 的通道较少。这样,计算机就会使用较少的内存。

  • RGB 的颜色范围比 CMYK 的颜色范围更广,并且可能会在调整之后保留更多的颜色。

    您可以电子校样颜色,在屏幕上预览文档颜色在特定输出设备上重现时的外观。请参阅关于电子校样颜色

注意:

可以从一个窗口中在 RGB 模式下编辑图像,从另一个窗口中查看同一个图像的 CMYK 颜色。选择“窗口”>“排列”>“为(文件名)新建窗口”可打开另一个窗口。为“校样设置”选择“工作中的 CMYK”选项,然后选取“校样颜色”命令以在一个窗口中打开 CMYK 预览。

确定溢色颜色

色域是指颜色系统可以显示或打印的颜色范围。对于 CMYK 设置而言,可在 RGB 模式中显示的颜色可能会超出色域,因而无法打印。

在 RGB 模式下,您可以采用以下方式来辨别颜色是否超出色域:

  • 在“信息”面板中,每当您将指针移到溢色上时,CMYK 值的旁边就会出现一个惊叹号。

  • 在“拾色器”和“颜色”面板中,将出现一个警告三角形 。选择一种溢色时,将显示最接近的 CMYK 等价色。要选择 CMYK 等价色,请单击该三角形或色块。

    当您将 RGB 图像转换为 CMYK 时,Photoshop 会自动将所有颜色置于色域中。注意,图像中的某些细节可能会丢失,这取决于转换选项。您可以在转换为 CMYK 之前,识别图像中的溢色或手动进行校正。可以使用“色域警告”命令来高亮显示溢色。

查找溢色

  1. 选取“视图”>“校样设置”,然后选取用作色域警告的基础的校样配置文件。
  2. 选择“视图”>“色域警告”。

当前校样配置文件空间色域之外的所有像素都高亮显示为灰色。

更改色域警告颜色

  1. 执行下列操作之一:
    • (Windows) 选择“编辑”>“首选项”>“透明度与色域”。
    • (Mac OS) 选择“Photoshop”>“首选项”>“透明度与色域”。
  2. 在“色域警告”下,单击颜色框以显示拾色器。然后选择新的警告颜色,并单击“确定”。

    为达到最佳的效果,请使用还没有在图像中出现的颜色。

  3. 在“不透明度”框中输入一个值,然后单击“确定”。

    使用此选项可以或多或少地透过警告颜色显示底层图像。值的范围可以是从 1% 到 100%。

    Photoshop 色域警告颜色
    原始图像和选择蓝色作为色域警告颜色的溢色预览

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Before making color and tonal adjustments

The powerful tools in Photoshop can enhance, repair, and correct the color and tonality (lightness, darkness, and contrast) in an image. Here are some items to consider before making color and tonal adjustments.

  • Work with a monitor that’s calibrated and profiled. For critical image editing, calibration and profiling are essential. Otherwise, the image you see on your monitor looks different on other monitors or when printed.

  • Plan to use adjustment layers to adjust the tonal range and color balance of your image. Adjustment layers let you go back and make successive tonal adjustments without discarding or permanently modifying data from the image layer. Keep in mind that using adjustment layers adds to the file size of the image and demands more RAM from your computer. Accessing the color and tonal commands in the Adjustments panel automatically creates adjustment layers.

  • If you don’t want to use adjustment layers, you can apply adjustments directly to an image layer. Remember that some image information is discarded, when making a color or tonal adjustment directly to an image layer.

  • For critical work and maximum preservation of image data, it’s best if the image you work with is 16 bits per channel (16‑bit image) rather than 8 bits per channel (8‑bit image). Data is discarded when you make tonal and color adjustments. The loss of image information is more critical in an 8‑bit image than a 16‑bit image. Generally, 16‑bit images have a larger file size than 8‑bit images.

  • Duplicate or make a copy of the image file. Working on a copy of your image preserves the original in the event you want to use the image in its original state.

  • Remove any flaws such as dust spots, blemishes, and scratches from the image before making color and tonal adjustments.

  • Open the Info or Histogram panel in Expanded view. As you evaluate and correct the image, both panels display invaluable feedback on your adjustments.

  • You can make a selection or use a mask to confine your color and tonal adjustments to part of an image. Another way to apply color and tonal adjustments selectively is to set up your document with image components on different layers. Color and tonal adjustments are applied to only one layer at a time. Only the image components on the targeted layer are affected.

Correcting images

Here is the general workflow you follow when you correct the tonality and color of an image:

  1. Use the histogram to check the quality and tonal range of the image.

  2. Make sure that the Adjustments panel is open to access color and tonal adjustments. Click an icon to access the adjustments described in the following steps. Applying corrections from the Adjustments panel creates an adjustment layer, which gives you more flexibility and doesn’t discard image information. See Adjustments panel overview and About adjustment layers and fill layers.

  3. Adjust the color balance to remove unwanted color casts or to correct oversaturated or undersaturated colors. See Color adjustment commands.

  4. Adjust the tonal range, using either the Levels or Curves adjustments.

    Begin tonal corrections by adjusting the values of the extreme highlight and shadow pixels in the image, setting an overall tonal range for the image. This process is known as setting the highlights and shadows or setting the white and black points. Setting the highlights and shadows typically redistributes the midtone pixels appropriately. However, you might need to adjust your midtones manually.

    To adjust the tonality in just shadow and highlight areas, use the Shadow/Highlight command. See Improve shadow and highlight detail.

  5. (Optional) Make other color adjustments.

    After you correct the overall color balance of your image, you can make optional adjustments to enhance colors or produce special effects.

  6. Sharpen the edges in the image.

    As one of the final steps, use the Unsharp Mask or the Smart Sharpen filter to sharpen the clarity of edges in the image. The amount of sharpening required for an image varies according to the image quality produced by the digital camera or scanner you use. See Sharpen images.

  7. (Optional) Target the image for printer or press characteristics.

    You can use options in the Levels or Curves adjustments to import highlight and shadow information into the gamut of an output device, like a desktop printer. This procedure can also be done if you are sending your image to a printing press, and know the characteristics of the press.

    Because sharpening increases the contrast of neighboring pixels, it’s possible that some pixels in critical areas might become unprintable on the printer or press that you’re using. For this reason, it’s best to fine-tune the output settings after sharpening. For more information on adjusting the output settings, see Setting highlight and shadow target values.

Adjustments panel overview

The tools for making color and tonal adjustments can be found in the Adjustments panel. Clicking a tool icon both selects an adjustment and automatically creates an adjustment layer. The adjustments you make using the controls and options in the Adjustments panel create nondestructive adjustment layers. See About adjustment layers and fill layers.

The Properties panel has a Presets menu with the adjustment presets. Presets are available for Levels, Curves, Exposure, Hue/Saturation, Black & White, Channel Mixer, and Selective Color. Clicking a preset applies it to the image using an adjustment layer. You can always save adjustment settings as a preset, which is added to the presets list.

Clicking an adjustment icon or a preset displays the settings options for the specific adjustment.

Apply a correction using the Adjustments panel

  1. In the Adjustments panel, click an adjustment icon or choose an adjustment from the panel menu.

  2. Use the controls and options in the Properties panel to apply the settings you want.

  3. (Optional) Do any of the following:
    • To toggle the visibility of the adjustment, click the Toggle Layer Visibility button .
    • To return the adjustment to its original settings, click the Reset button .
    • To discard an adjustment, click the Delete This Adjustment Layer button .
    • To expand the width of the Adjustment panel, drag a bottom corner of the panel.

Apply a correction to only the layer below

  1. In the Adjustments panel, click an adjustment icon or choose an adjustment from the panel menu.

  2. The Adjustments, click the Clip to Layer button . Click the icon again to make the adjustment apply to all layers below it in the Layers panel.

Save and apply adjustment presets

The Properties panel has a Preset menu with the adjustment presets for the tool that you clicked in the Adjustments panel. Additionally, you can save and apply presets for Levels, Curves, Exposure, Hue/Saturation, Black & White, Channel Mixer, and Selective Color. When you save a preset, it’s added to the presets list.

  • To save adjustment settings as a preset, choose the Save Preset option from the Properties panel menu.
  • To apply an adjustment preset, choose a preset from the Preset menu in the Properties panel.

Automatically select text fields or the targeted adjustment tool

If you often change adjustment parameters using text fields or the targeted adjustment tool, maximize your efficiency by automatically selecting these items.

  • From the Properties panel menu, select Auto-Select Parameter or Auto-Select Targeted Adjustment Tool.

    Note:

    If you prefer to select text fields as needed, press Shift-Enter (Windows) or Shift-Return (Mac OS).

Color adjustment commands

You can choose from the following color adjustment commands:

Adjust Levels Auto

Quickly corrects the color balance in an image. Although its name implies an automatic adjustment, you can fine-tune how the Auto Color command behaves. See Remove a color cast using Auto Color.

Levels command

Adjusts color balance by setting the pixel distribution for individual color channels. See Adjust color using Levels.

Curves command

Provides up to 14 control points for highlight, midtone, and shadow adjustments for individual channels. See Curves overview.

Exposure command

Adjusts tonality by performing calculations in a linear color space. Exposure is primarily for use in HDR images. See Adjust Exposure for HDR images.

Vibrance command

Adjusts color saturation so clipping is minimized. See Adjust color saturation using Vibrance.

Photo Filter command

Makes color adjustments by simulating the effects of using a Kodak Wratten or Fuji filter in front of a camera lens.

Color Balance command

Changes the overall mixture of colors in an image. See Apply the Color Balance adjustment.

Hue/Saturation command

Adjusts the hue, saturation, and lightness values of the entire image or of individual color components. See Adjust hue and saturation.

Match Color command

Matches the color: from one photo to another photo, from one layer to another layer, and from a selection in an image to another selection in the same image or a different image. This command also adjusts the luminance and color range and neutralizes color casts in an image. See Match the color in different images.

Replace Color command

Replaces specified colors in an image with new color values. See Replace the color of objects in an image.

Selective Color command

Adjusts the amount of process colors in individual color components. See Make selective color adjustments.

Channel Mixer command

Modifies a color channel and makes color adjustments not easily done with other color adjustment tools. See Mix color channels.

Make a color adjustment

All Photoshop color adjustment tools work essentially the same way; they map an existing range of pixel values to a new range of values. The difference between the tools is the amount of control they provide. Color adjustment tools and their option settings are accessed in the Adjustments panel. For an overview of the color adjustment tools, see Color adjustment commands.

You can adjust the color in an image in different ways. The most flexible method is to use an adjustment layer. When you select a color adjustment tool in the Adjustments panel, Photoshop automatically creates an adjustment layer. Adjustment layers let you experiment with color and tonal adjustments without permanently modifying the pixels in the image. The color and tonal changes reside within the adjustment layer, which acts as a veil through which the underlying image layers appear.

  1. If you want to make adjustments to a portion of your image, select that portion. If you make no selection, the adjustment is applied to the entire image.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • Click an adjustment icon in the Adjustments panel.
    • Double-click the thumbnail of an existing adjustment layer in the Layers panel.

    Note:

    You can also choose Image > Adjustments, and choose a command from the submenu to apply adjustments directly to the image layer. Keep in mind that this method discards image information.

    A new adjustment layer includes a layer mask, which by default is empty (or white), meaning that your adjustment is applied to the entire image. (If you have an active selection on the image when you add an adjustment layer, the initial layer mask masks out the unselected area in black.) Using the Brush tool, you can paint black areas on the mask where you don’t want the adjustment to affect the image. See Edit a layer mask.

  3. To toggle the view of your image with and without adjustments, click the Toggle Layer Visibility icon  in the Properties.

    Note:

    To cancel changes, click the Reset button .

Save adjustment settings

You can save your color adjustment settings and apply them to other images. Once a setting is saved, it can be accessed in the Preset menu in the Properties panel. You can also choose the Load Preset option from an adjustment dialog box menu. If you are saving color adjustment settings using the Match Color command, see Match the color in different images.

  • To save a setting in the Preset menu, choose the Save Preset option from the panel menu. This option is only available for Levels, Curves, Exposure, Hue/Saturation, Black & White, Channel Mixer, and Selective Color.
  • To save a setting in the Shadows/Highlights or Replace Color image adjustment dialog box, click Save. In the Levels, Curves, Exposure, Hue/Saturation, Black & White, Channel Mixer, or Selective Color image adjustment dialog box, choose Save Preset from the panel menu. Enter a name for the setting, then click Save.

Reapply adjustment settings

Once an adjustment setting is saved, it’s stored as a preset and can be reapplied.

  • Choose an adjustment preset from the Preset menu in the Properties panel.
  • In an adjustment dialog box, click Load. Locate and load the saved adjustment file. In the Curves, Black & White, Exposure, Hue/Saturation, Selective Color, Levels, or Channel Mixer dialog boxes, saved presets appear in the Presets menu. Choose Load Preset from the Preset option to load a preset not shown on the Preset pop-up menu from a different location.

To remove default presets, navigate to the following folders, move the presets out of the folders, and restart Photoshop.

  • Windows: [startup drive]/Program Files/Adobe/Adobe Photoshop [version_number]/Presets/[adjustment type]/[preset name]

  • Mac OS: [startup drive]/Applications/Adobe Photoshop [version_number]/Presets/[adjustment type]/[preset name]

Correcting colors in CMYK and RGB

Although you can perform all color and tonal corrections in RGB mode and most adjustments in CMYK mode, choose a mode carefully. Avoid multiple conversions between modes, because color values are rounded and lost with each conversion. Don’t convert RGB images to CMYK mode if they are meant for on-screen display. For CMYK images that are separated and printed, do not make color corrections in RGB mode.

If you must convert your image from one mode to another, perform most of your tonal and color corrections in RGB mode. You can then use CMYK mode for fine-tuning. The advantages of working in RGB mode are:

  • RGB has fewer channels. As a result, your computer uses less memory.

  • RGB has a wider range of colors than CMYK, and more colors are likely to be preserved after adjustments.

    You can soft proof colors to see an on-screen preview of how your document’s colors will look when reproduced on a particular output device. See About soft-proofing colors.

Note:

You can edit an image in RGB mode in one window and view the same image in CMYK colors in another window. Choose Window > Arrange > New Window For (Filename) to open a second window. Select the Working CMYK option for Proof Setup, then choose the Proof Color command to turn on the CMYK preview in one of the windows.

Identify out‑of‑gamut colors

A gamut is the range of colors that a color system can display or print. A color that can be displayed in RGB could be out of gamut, and therefore unprintable, for your CMYK setting.

In RGB mode, you can tell whether a color is out of gamut in the following ways:

  • In the Info panel, an exclamation point appears next to the CMYK values whenever you move the pointer over an out‑of‑gamut color.

  • In both the Color Picker and the Color panel, an alert triangle  appears. When you select an out‑of‑gamut color, the closest CMYK equivalent is displayed. To select the CMYK equivalent, click the triangle or the color patch.

    Photoshop automatically brings all colors into gamut when you convert an RGB image to CMYK. Note that some detail in the image may be lost, depending on your conversion options. You can identify the out‑of‑gamut colors in an image or correct them manually before converting to CMYK. You can use the Gamut Warning command to highlight out‑of‑gamut colors.

Find out‑of‑gamut colors

  1. Choose View > Proof Setup, then choose the proof profile on which you want to base the gamut warning.
  2. Choose View > Gamut Warning.

All pixels outside the gamut of the current proof profile space are highlighted in gray.

Change the gamut warning color

  1. Do one of the following:
    • (Windows) Choose Edit > Preferences > Transparency & Gamut.
    • (Mac OS) Choose Photoshop > Preferences > Transparency & Gamut.
  2. Under Gamut Warning, click the color box to display the Color Picker. Then choose a new warning color, and click OK.

    For best results, use a color that is not already present in the image.

  3. Enter a value in the Opacity box, then click OK.

    Use this option to reveal more or less of the underlying image through the warning color. Values can range from 1 % to 100%.

    Photoshop Gamut warning color
    Original image, and out‑of‑gamut colors preview with blue selected for gamut warning color

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy