“比特率”滑块和“质量”滑块

“比特率”滑块和“质量”滑块之间没有关系。

“质量”滑块能够控制一些与运动搜索相关的参数,这些参数都会对质量产生显著影响。比特率也能够对质量产生显著影响,但是比特率是一个相当重要的设置,应该有其自己的控件。这就解释了为何“质量”滑块能够控制会对质量产生影响的任何要素,但是不能控制比特率。

例如,许多人希望能够保持特定的比特率,以便将内容装入光盘,但是他们希望能够在保持该比特率的同时达到最高质量。如果“质量”滑块也能够控制比特率,那么这些用户就不能如愿以偿。如果将滑块调高,他们就无法满足自己的比特率预算。如果调低,他们会觉得只能采用中等质量设置。

而通过当前的执行方案,用户可以先设置目标比特率(例如 4k),然后在不影响比特率设置的情况下调高质量。这就意味着编码器可以专注于处理运动搜索和其他会对质量造成影响的要素,而无需考虑比特率。而且,通过“质量”滑块与“比特率”滑块相互独立的这种方法,可以在保持较低的比特率的同时,获得优良的质量。

“质量”滑块的运作以阈值为基础。它能够在编码器做决定之前,告诉编码器在何种范围内查找某些类型的运动。大部分情况下,在 2–3 范围内(共 5 个尺度)所提供的阈值就能够充分地满足需要。也就是说,由于采取了这种阈值方法,较低的质量设置实际上并非始终意味着会有较低的质量。处理富有挑战性的素材时,编码器需要更加专注于运动搜索,而这就是“质量”滑块真正的作用所在。

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Bitrate and Quality sliders

There is no relationship between the Bitrate and Quality sliders.

The Quality slider controls a number of parameters related to motion searching, all of which can have a significant effect on quality. Bitrate can also have a significant effect on quality, but it is an important enough setting that it should have its own control. This is why the Quality slider controls everything—except bitrate—which can affect quality.

For example, many people want to keep a certain bitrate to fit their content onto a disc, but then they want the highest available quality at that bitrate. If the Quality slider also controlled bitrate, those users would be out of luck. If they set the slider higher, they would not meet their bitrate budget. If they set it lower, they would have the perception of only being able to use a mediocre quality setting.

With the current implementation, a user can set the target bitrate (4k, for example) and then crank the quality up without affecting the bitrate setting. This means that the encoder will do the most diligent job with motion searching and the other things (except bitrate) that affect quality. And it is very possible to get pristine quality at lower bitrates using this approach—with the Quality slider independent of the Bitrate slider.

The Quality slider works on a threshold basis. It tells the encoder how far to look for certain kinds of motion before making a decision. In most cases, the 2–3 range (on a scale of 5) provides more than an adequate threshold. This means that lower quality setting doesn't actually mean lower quality in all cases because of this threshold approach. Challenging material needs more diligent motion searching; that's where the Quality slider can really make a difference.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy