注意:

有关此文档的更新版本,请参阅支持 VR 工作流

 

使用 VR 视频

概述

数十年中已经出现了多种不同形式的沉浸式视频,但直到最近以来尚未出现任何重大突破。

最常见的 VR 视频解决方案将观看者置于球体内,然后沿球面环绕呈现视频流。在使用立体视频时,这种解决方案能够提供一种身临其境的感觉,观看者每只眼睛都可以看到独特的封装视频流。这种视频观看风格是由 YouTube、Google Cardboard 和 Facebook 提供的一种观看体验。

该解决方案的关键是以一种能够轻松沿球面环绕呈现视频流的方式捕捉、格式化和编码视频。最简单的方法是通过等距柱状投影来完成此任务。

等距柱状投影是什么?

您可以想象在球面上,使用纬度和经度坐标定义一个点。现在,请想象下标准视频帧。视频帧具有宽度和高度,包含许多定义为 X 和 Y 坐标的点。

等距柱状投影只是简单地展开球面,将经度映射到 X 坐标,将纬度映射到 Y 坐标。

下面是一个常见示例,平展的球体:

平展的球体

请注意,越靠近极点,图像越宽。这是因为随着向极点不断靠近,经度位置之间的空间距离会逐渐缩短。靠近极点的较短纬度线周长被拉伸到与赤道上纬度相同的长度。

这种扭曲让我们很难了解等距柱状图像由哪些部分构成。此外,您可以看到的信息远多于通常习惯看到的信息,而且物体的位置并不是直观地定义的。帧最右侧的物体实际是在相机之后,最左侧的物体就在最右侧物体的右方。

金门大桥

金门大桥非常引人注目,因为它朝向这一帧的中央位置,但当您拍摄沉浸式视频时,希望关注的是整个场景。我们看看这一帧,背后有一个围栏,但不是很明显。您的左肩膀后面还有一个勇士正从围栏上跳下来!

横跨围栏

为了以编辑身份讲述一个好故事,应该了解整个帧正在发生的事情。这个问题在等距柱状投影中是一个更大的挑战。Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2015.3 为您提供了环视球体所需的工具,可以模拟通过头戴设备产生的视图,或者 YouTube 等桌面查看器的观看体验。

编辑等距柱状视频

尽管处理等距柱状投影可能是一种挑战,但等距柱状投影与其他任何视频格式并没有什么不同。大多数编辑技能、工具和技巧都是相关的。裁切、拼接和跟踪处理的工作方式完全相同。甚至许多最常用的效果也同样适用于等距柱状投影。

Premiere Pro 2015.3 版中新增了一个对沉浸式视频有特别帮助的功能:代理工作流程。某些等距柱状视频的大小可能会达到·8,000·x·8,000·像素,这远大于大部分其他帧的大小。即使启用硬件加速,也很难对如此高分辨率的视频进行实时解码。Premiere Pro 新增的代理工作流程则可以让您处理此类素材:开始对其进行编辑后,会同时在后台生成低分辨率的 2K 版本,在需要时,只需单击一个按钮即可将这种低版本置于时间轴中。

启用 VR 视频显示

在节目或源监视器中启用 VR 视频显示后,Premiere Pro 允许您进入球体,从用户的角度来观看视频。使用 VR 视频显示,您可以通过等距柱状视频模拟不同的观看体验,例如,使用 VR 头戴设备(如 Oculus Rift),或者通过 YouTube 或 Facebook 实现的桌面体验。

要激活 VR 视频显示,只需单击监视器右侧的“设置”图标(扳手),然后选择“VR 视频”>“启用”。

启用 VR 显示
启用 VR 显示

新的监视器按钮可快速切换 VR 视频显示;通过此按钮可轻松添加到监视器的播放控件。要添加此按钮,请单击监视器右下方的 + 图标以打开按钮编辑器。将“切换 VR 视频显示”按钮拖放到监视器显示屏下方的所需位置。

“切换 VR 视频显示”按钮
“切换 VR 视频显示”按钮

您还可以使用“键盘快捷键”对话框分配一个您选择的键,以便从一个或两个监视器切换 VR 视频显示。

在 VR 视频显示中观看沉浸式视频

启用 VR 视频显示后,您所看到的视图现在来自球体内部,您的监视器将变换为以下体验:

VR 视频显示中的视图
VR 视频显示中的视图

上方的中央位置是在球面内的交互式窗口。只需在球体中单击并拖动视图即可以立即改变您的视角,从而可以轻松进行平移和倾斜。您随时可以通过双击视图中的任何位置来快速回到视角的中心位置。

通过右边缘和下边缘的滑块,可分别控制倾斜和平移。

每个滑块旁边的数字字段可为您提供所查看位置的准确反馈,同时还允许您输入自己的值。正值将向右平移,向上倾斜,而负数则将向左和向下移动您的视角。

视频显示底部的径向旋钮可以提供更加直观的视觉反馈,能够显示您当前面对的方向,而且还允许您单击并拖动以向左和向右平移您的视角。此旋钮的独特之处在于,它允许您一直围绕您的起点旋转。

配置 VR 视频显示

VR 视频显示可处理单一视场视频和立体影像视频。您还可以在球体的某个较小截面使用等距柱状画面。您可以对其进行配置,以模拟头戴设备或桌面的观看体验,甚至允许您使用一副便宜的红/绿立体眼镜观看 3D 立体画面。

要配置 VR 视频显示,请单击监视器右侧的“设置”图标(扳手),然后选择“VR 视频”>“设置”。

“VR 视频设置”窗口
“VR 视频设置”窗口

通过“帧布局”,您可以声明视频是单一视场视频还是立体影像视频,后者还允许您选择“上/下”或“并排”布局。如果您选择了一个立体影像布局,则还可以选择左眼或右眼立体视图以及红/绿立体复合图像。

处理沉浸式视频时,除要考虑像素尺寸外,还需考虑视觉角度。“捕捉的视图”会指出视频帧呈现的是球体的哪一部分。通常,将在整个球面设置的控件保留为默认值,即水平 360 度 x 垂直 180 度。

“监视器视图”字段允许您控制以 VR 视频显示模式观看球体的哪一部分,您可以在这里模拟不同的观看体验。例如,使用水平 90 度 x 垂直 60 度的值大致可模拟 Oculus Rift 头戴设备;160 x 90 度可模拟 YouTube 中的观看体验。另请注意,这些设置决定了视图窗口的长宽比。例如,160 x 90 度呈现 16:9 视图窗口。

使用效果

等距柱状投影中三个常用效果分别是溶解、色彩 (Lumetri) 和速度。这些效果对像素位置的更改不足以导致问题。基本规则是,如果效果更改了像素的垂直位置,那么该效果可能无法使用。应考虑应用透视后,像素的垂直位置会对其水平扭曲产生怎样的影响。例如,“水平压缩”或“擦除”可以使用,而简单的“画中画”效果看起来发生了扭曲,因为它缩放了图像的垂直和水平尺寸。

此外,还请考虑使用复合功能。只要不更改等距柱状影像的垂直位置和缩放,您就可以在其他等距柱状影像的顶部复合等距柱状影像。您可以将对象等矩投射到绿色屏幕上,并在背景图像顶部为其设置色度键。要在等距柱状影像顶部复合传统的平面视频,还需要执行其他一些步骤,这就需要我们了解第四个最常用效果:字幕和图形。要在等距柱状影像顶部使用平面影像(如字幕),必须将平面影像投射到球体中。要在等距柱状影像顶部复合平面视频,请使用第三方增效工具,如 Mettle 的 SkyBox 360/VR 工具 - 特别是 Mettle SkyBox Project 2D 效果。

处理等距柱状视频时应了解的一个重要内置效果是“位移”效果(可在“视频效果”/“扭曲”中找到)。不同于传统的相机,VR 装置没有专门用来突出呈现物体的镜头,而是一次性捕捉整个场景。当您开始剪接不同的镜头时,可能发现相机的方向发生了改变,您最为关注的物体的位置与上一个镜头有所不同。您不希望用户必须扭过头才能看到此物体。

“位移”效果允许旋转整个帧。对时间轴中的剪切区段应用“位移”效果,然后向左或向右拖动“将中心偏移至”参数对的第一个数字,具体取决于您要如何平移剪辑。请注意,不要偏移第二个参数,这会违反垂直位置规则。最后再说明一下:此效果不具备实时性,需要渲染。Mettle 的“旋转球体”效果可提供实时支持。它还允许您垂直倾斜,甚至可以滚动。倾斜和滚动球体时需谨慎,因为它可能会降低图像质量,这完全是由于等距柱状投影的工作方式造成的。

导出

导出等距柱状视频的方式与导出任何其他类型视频的方式非常类似,但还有几点需要注意:

  • 无论选择哪种“格式”和“预设”,一定要将“导出设置”对话框中的“源缩放”更改为“拉伸以填充”。如果不更改此选项,可能会在导出的视频中引入黑边,这会破坏球体连接,从而使其发生扭曲。
  • 如果导出 H.264、HEVC 或 QuickTime,请启用“视频设置”选项卡中的“视频为 VR”复选框。接着,选择与源视频匹配的相应帧布局,就像 VR 视频显示设置中的操作一样。如果启用此设置,则在发布到 YouTube 和 Facebook 的等距柱状视频经过服务处理之后,将自动在特殊的 VR 查看器中播放,上载完成后,处理过程可能需要最长一小时的时间。
  • 对于非常大型的等距柱状帧,请仔细选择容器和编解码器。如果是在 Mac 上导出,可以选择使用 QuickTime 和某个 ProRes 变体来导出。

    Windows 的情况比较复杂,最好选择使用 H.264。使用 H.264 导出大型帧时,请遵循以下步骤:
  1. 通过“匹配源”预设选择 H.264 格式。
  2. 停用尺寸、简表和级别的匹配源复选框。
  3. 将简表更改为“高级”,将级别更改为 5.2。
  4. 在“源缩放”设置中选择“拉伸以填充”。
  5. 停用尺寸旁边的长宽比链接,然后将尺寸更改为 4096 x 2304(对于 60 fps,为 4096 x 2160)。
  6. 选择高比特率,如 100 Mbps。
  7. 启用“使用最高渲染品质”以取得最佳的缩放结果。

以下是 H.264 立体导出设置的示例:

H.264 立体导出设置
H.264 立体导出设置

摘要

Adobe Premiere Pro 一直是编辑人员用来处理沉浸式 VR 视频的标准工具。在 2015.03 版本中,Premiere Pro 提供了多款工具,可帮助您更好地观看、导出和共享 VR 视频。此外,与 VR 视频相关的市场正在迅速增长:装置、相机、等距柱状视频拼接器、效果、VR 头戴设备以及应用程序内头戴设备监控。沉浸式 VR 视频尚处在初期阶段,但正在蓬勃发展起来。它与立体 3D 技术的不同之处在于,少数大型电子制造商不可能推动此项技术向前发展。它需要数百家大、小公司的共同努力,Adobe 将继续为此做出贡献。

资源

有关在 Premiere Pro 中编辑 360/VR 视频的视频教程

在 Premiere Pro 中编辑 360/VR 视频(单一视场和立体影像)

在 Premiere Pro 中编辑 360/VR 视频(单一视场和立体影像)
观看此教程以了解如何在 Premiere Pro 中编辑 360/VR 视频

本产品经 Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License 许可  Twitter™ 与 Facebook 中的内容不在 Creative Commons 的条款约束之下。

法律声明   |   在线隐私策略

Note:

For an updated version of this document, see Support for VR workflows.

 

Working with VR video

Overview

Immersive video has been around in different forms for decades, but it hasn’t been able to break through on a large scale until recently.

The most common VR video solution places the viewer inside a sphere and wraps a video stream around the sphere. This solution can be even more immersive when using stereoscopic video, allowing the viewer to see a unique stream of wrapped video for each eye. This style of viewing video is the viewing experience provided by YouTube, Google Cardboard, and Facebook.

The key to this solution is capturing, formatting, and encoding in such a way that it can be easily wrapped around a sphere. The easiest way to accomplish this task is through equirectangular projection.

What is equirectangular projection?

If you think about the surface of a sphere, a single point is defined as having a latitude and a longitude coordinate. Now think about a standard video frame. A video frame has a width and height, with points defined as X and Y coordinates.

Equirectangular projection simply unwraps the sphere, mapping the longitude to the X coordinate, and the latitude to the Y.

Here is a familiar example, the globe laid flat:

Globe laid flat

Notice that the image widens and it progresses toward the poles. The reasoning is that the spatial distance between longitude positions decreases the closer you get to the pole. The smaller circumference of a line of latitude close to a pole is stretched to the same distance as the latitude at the equator.

This distortion makes it difficult to comprehend what an equirectangular image is composed of. In addition, you’re seeing far more information than you’re typically accustomed to, and its position is not intuitively defined. The object at the far right of the frame is actually behind the camera, and the object to the far left is directly to the right of it.

Golden Gate Bridge

The Golden Gate Bridge catches the eye because it’s toward the center of the frame, but when you are shooting immersive video, you want to be aware what’s in the entire scene. Looking at the frame, it is not apparent that there’s a fence behind us. Or the brave soul leaping from that fence behind your left shoulder!

Jumping from fence

To tell a good story, editorially, be aware of what is going on in the entire frame. This problem is even more of a challenge with equirectangular projection. Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2015.3 provides you with the tools necessary to look around the sphere, simulating the view you might have through a headset or watching on a desktop viewer such as YouTube.

Editing equirectangular video

Even though working with equirectangular projection can be a challenge, it’s not that different from any other video format. Most of your editing skills, tools, and tricks are relatable. Trimming, splicing, and track manipulation all work the same. Even many of the most commonly used effects work well with equirectangular projection.

One feature new in the Premiere Pro 2015.3 release can be especially helpful with immersive video: proxy workflows. Some equirectangular video can be as large as 8,000 pixels wide by 8,000 pixels high—much larger than most other frame sizes. Video of such high resolution is difficult to decode in real time, even with hardware acceleration. Premiere Pro’s new proxy workflow allows you to ingest this material and begin editing with it, while lower-resolution 2K versions are generated in the background, ready to take their place on the timeline with the click of a button.

Enabling the VR Video display

By enabling the VR Video display in either the Program or Source monitor, Premiere Pro allows you to step inside the sphere and view the video from a user’s perspective. Using VR Video display, you can simulate different viewing experiences with your equirectangular video, for example, using a VR headset such as the Oculus Rift or on a desktop through YouTube or Facebook.

To activate the VR Video display, simply click the Settings icon (wrench) on the right side of the monitor, and then choose VR Video > Enable.

Enabling VR display
Enabling VR display

A new monitor button quickly toggles the VR Video display; use it to easily add to your monitor’s playback controls. To add this button, open the Button Editor by clicking the + icon in the lower right of the monitor. Drag the Toggle VR Video Display button to the desired position under the monitor display.

Toggle VR video display button
Toggle VR video display button

You can also assign a key of your choice to toggle the VR Video display from either or both of your monitors using the Keyboard Shortcuts dialog box.

Viewing immersive video in the VR Video display

Once you enable the VR Video display, your view is now from inside the sphere and your monitor transforms into an experience like this:

View inside the VR Video display
View inside the VR Video display

The upper center is your interactive window inside the sphere. You can immediately change your perspective by simply clicking and dragging your view inside the sphere, allowing you to easily pan and tilt. At any time, you can quickly recenter your perspective by double-clicking anywhere within the view.

The sliders along the right and bottom edges allow you to control the tilt and pan, respectively.

The numeric fields alongside each slider provide you with exact feedback of your viewing position, but also allow you to enter your own values. Positive values pan to the right and tilt upward, while negative numbers move your perspective to the left and downward.

The radial knob at the bottom of the display provides more-visual feedback as to which direction you’re currently facing, but it also allows you to click and drag within to pan your perspective left and right. The knob is unique in that it allows you to spin completely around and keep going past your starting point.

Configuring the VR Video display

The VR Video display works with both monoscopic and stereoscopic video. You can also work with equirectangular footage from a smaller section of a sphere. You can configure it to simulate the view from a headset or desktop, even allowing you to view stereoscopic footage in 3D using a pair of inexpensive red/cyan anaglyph glasses.

To configure the VR Video display, click the Settings icon (wrench) on the right side of the monitor, and then choose VR Video > Settings.

VR Video Settings window
VR Video Settings window

Frame Layout lets you declare if your video is Monoscopic or Stereoscopic, the latter also allowing you to choose between an Over/Under or Side-by-Side layout. If you choose one of the stereoscopic layouts, you’re given a choice of a Stereoscopic View, either the Left or Right eye, along with a red/cyan anaglyph composite.

When working with immersive video, think in degrees of view, in addition to pixel dimensions. The Captured View describes what part of the sphere the video frame represents. Typically, you leave controls set at the full-sphere defaults of 360 horizontal by 180 vertical degrees.

The Monitor View fields allow you to control what portion of the sphere you view—where you can simulate different viewing experiences—while in the VR Video Display mode. For example, using a value of 90 horizontal by 60 vertical degrees approximates an Oculus Rift headset; 160 by 90 degrees simulates viewing within YouTube. Also note that these settings determine the aspect ratio of the view window. For example, 160 by 90 degrees presents a 16:9 view window.

Working with effects

Three common effects used in equirectangular projection are Dissolves, Color (Lumetri), and Speed. These effects do not alter a pixel’s position enough to cause an issue. The basic rule is that if an effect changes a pixel’s vertical position, it’s unlikely to work. Consider how a pixel’s vertical position affects its horizontal distortion once perspective is applied. For example, Horizontal Squeeze or Wipe works, while a simple Picture-in-Picture effect looks distorted, because it scales both the vertical and horizontal dimensions of the image.

Also consider compositing. You can composite equirectangular imagery on top of other equirectangular imagery as long as you do not change its vertical position and scale. You can shoot an object against a green screen in equirectangular and chroma key it on top of a background image. You cannot composite traditional flat video on top of equirectangular without additional steps, and that brings us to the fourth most common effect: Titles and Graphics. To work with flat imagery, such as a title, on top of equirectangular, it has to be projected into the sphere. To composite flat video on top of equirectangular, use third-party plug-ins, such as Mettle’s SkyBox 360/VR tools—specifically the Mettle SkyBox Project 2D effect.

One important built-in effect to be aware of when working with equirectangular video is the Offset effect (found within Video Effects/Distort). Unlike a traditional camera, a VR rig has no single lens to use to focus on the subject. The entirety of the scene is captured at once. When you begin to cut together different shots, you may find that your camera changed orientation, that the subject you care most about is in a different position from the previous shot. You don’t want users to have to twist their head to bring the subject back into view.

The Offset effect allows you to rotate the entire frame. Apply the Offset effect onto the cut segment in the timeline and drag the first number of the Shift Center To parameter pair left or right, depending on how you want to pan the clip. Take care not to shift the second parameter, which violates the vertical position rule. One final note: This effect is not real time and requires rendering. Mettle’s Rotate Sphere effect provides real-time support. It also allows you to tilt vertically and even roll. Use caution when you tilt and roll the sphere, as it can degrade the image quality, purely due to the way equirectangular projection works.

Exporting

Exporting equirectangular video is much like exporting any other type of video, with a few caveats:

  • Regardless of the Format and Preset you select, be certain to change the Source Scaling option in the Export Settings dialog box to Stretch To Fill. If you don't change this option, you are likely to introduce either letterbox or pillars to the exported video, which breaks the seam of the sphere and distorts it.
  • If you export H.264, HEVC, or QuickTime, enable the Video is VR check box in the Video settings tab. Next choose the appropriate Frame Layout that matches your source video, just as you did in the VR Video Display settings. If you enable this setting, equirectangular video published to YouTube and Facebook automatically plays in a special VR viewer after it has been processed by the service, which can take up to an hour after upload is complete.
  • For very large equirectangular frames, carefully choose a container and codec. If you're exporting on a Mac, you have the option of exporting using QuickTime and one of the ProRes variants.

    The situation is more complicated with Windows, where H.264 is your best choice. When exporting large frames with H.264, follow these steps:
  1. Choose the H.264 format with the Match Source preset.
  2. Disable the match source check boxes for dimensions, profile, and level.
  3. Change the profile to High and the level to 5.2.
  4. Choose Stretch To Fill in the Source Scaling setting.
  5. Disable the aspect ratio link next to the dimensions and change the dimensions to 4096 by 2304 (or 2160 for 60 fps).
  6. Select a high bit rate, such as 100 Mbps.
  7. Enable Use Maximum Render Quality to achieve the best scaling results.

The following is an example of H.264 stereoscopic export settings:

H.264 stereoscopic export settings
H.264 stereoscopic export settings

Summary

Adobe Premiere Pro has long been the standard tool used by editors working with immersive VR video. With the 2015.03 version, Premiere Pro provides you with the tools to better view, export, and share VR video. In addition, the market is quickly growing for everything related to VR video: rigs, cameras, equirectangular video stitchers, effects, VR headsets, and even in-application headset monitoring. Immersive VR video is nascent and exploding. It’s different than stereoscopic 3D in that a small handful of large electronics manufacturers aren't driving the technology. It’s being nurtured by hundreds of companies, large and small, many working together, and Adobe continues to contribute.

Resources

Video tutorial on editing 360/VR video in Premiere Pro

Editing 360/VR Video in Premiere Pro (Monoscopic & Stereoscopic)

Editing 360/VR Video in Premiere Pro (Monoscopic & Stereoscopic)
Watch this video to know how to edit 360/VR video in Premiere Pro

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License  Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.

Legal Notices   |   Online Privacy Policy