广播是要求最苛刻的制作环境之一。质量和一致性至关重要。必须严格遵循交付截止日期。需要精心计算周转时间。而且每天的所有工作都必须正常完成。因此,广播是最适合用于测试后期制作效率的环境。

integration

我们可以从广播制作中学到哪些东西?

高效广播制作的核心原则,适用于所有视频内容创作者:

  • 保持简单
  • 标准化工作流程
  • 自动执行重复性任务
  • 专注于内容,而非编解码器

集成制作工具

简单来说,集成可让您轻松地使用各种额外的功能。集成制作工具可避免在多个应用程序和系统之间反复切换,从而节省您的时间和金钱。除了简单的提升工作速度之外,深入的集成还可以转变广播公司(和所有视频专业人员)创作内容的方式。

Premiere Pro 和 Adobe Creative Cloud 应用程序设计为开放平台,提供了大量第三方技术的 API。数百家公司为平台提供了各种可提高生产率并节约成本的扩展和集成。您可以访问此处以查找 Adobe 技术合作伙伴:Adobe 视频与音频合作伙伴查找器

此最佳实践指南考察了各种广播使用案例,概略介绍了可让用户加快、自动化和标准化其工作流程的各种集成工具。适用于高度复杂广播制作的原则,同样适用于所有类型的视频制作。

Red Giant 为 Premiere Pro 和 After Effects 提供了功能强大的增效工具和扩展
Red Giant 为 Premiere Pro 和 After Effects 提供了功能强大的增效工具和扩展

Support Partners 是一家服务于广播公司和后期制作机构的系统集成商。我们的日常工作就是了解我们客户的工作流程,并确定哪些方面可以让他们加快制作速度、可节省多少时间以及需花费多少成本。除非另行说明,否则本文档中提到的时间节省量均基于我们自己的经验。

将媒体引入编辑应用程序

大多数广播公司会针对后期制作对某些拍摄格式和中间编解码器进行标准化,以便预测工作量并针对特定格式进行优化。但是在现实生活中,什么事情都有可能发生,交付的媒体可能是任意一种格式。我们曾经遇到过的典型例子 - 制作要求是 25 fps,而收到的媒体却是 29.97 fps。我们曾经见过向 HD 制作提供 8K 毛片的情况,分辨率超过要求 40% 之多 - 导致大量的媒体需要进行排序、转码和准备,然后才能对其进行编辑。Adobe 应用程序和第三方集成可以自动化并简化收录流程,从而让广播公司有效管理其媒体。

Premiere Pro 有能力编辑原生摄像机格式,非常适合用于新闻媒体和要求快速周转的媒体。开放格式时间轴意味着该技术排除了编辑人员面临的格式障碍,可最大限度地缩短从拍摄到播出之间的时间间隔。

其他制作很大程度上依赖批量转码毛片的功能,从而帮助编辑人员优化编辑工作的效率。处理具有较大帧大小和色彩空间的格式时,转码有助于优化存储空间和编辑效率。

在您的 NLE 中执行此转码可能是费时费力的重复工作,尤其是在处理会占用大量 CPU 资源的格式(如 RED RAW 或 ARRI RAW)时。使用 Adobe Media Encoder 与渲染农场管理器的集成,广播公司可以通过内部部署或云端调用方式来选择渲染农场,不仅可加快媒体“编辑就绪”的速度,而且还可减少工作量并减少创意团队中断工作的次数。

使用 Adobe Media Encoder 与 Premiere Pro 的集成,编辑人员可查看转码进度,并在媒体就绪时收到通知。通过此工作流程,可以将媒体拖放到素材箱中,或直接拖放到时间轴上,以便编辑人员开始处理。与需要等待先转码才能开始的工作流程相比,这种方式可让编辑人员开始工作的速度加快 50%。

每天,流转在全世界网络中的数据,有 75% 属于视频。对于广播公司而言,这一庞大的媒体生命周期首先要从收录操作人员开始,该工作人员需要负责为材料进行命名、加标签和整理。良好的整理工作,可为内容创作者的媒体创作带来巨大的好处。

企业和精制后期工作室通过为媒体使用标准化命名约定和文件夹结构,节省了时间、降低了风险,并简化了编辑流程。AI 和自动化可以极大地加速这一过程。

GreyMeta Curio 通过 AI 的帮助,对可在 Premiere Pro 中访问的媒体进行排序和管理
GreyMeta Curio 通过 AI 的帮助,对可在 Premiere Pro 中访问的媒体进行排序和管理

集成认知服务可使用各种参数(例如品牌识别、面部识别、屏幕文本、语音转文本分析、拍摄大小、拍摄类型)来加速排序和标记流程。实际上,只要有足够的数据让算法进行学习,便可训练认知服务,使其具备识别几乎任何内容的能力。在可预见的将来,经过训练的 AI 系统将可根据场记板信息、场景人物或位置的识别来对各个镜头进行排序。

媒体和元数据可显示在 Premiere Pro 面板中,允许用户直接从 Premiere Pro 排序、搜索和检索剪辑和子剪辑。将此元数据与 Adobe 智能素材箱集成,可让编辑人员访问可能未被收录操作人员重视的媒体。或可让他们重新整理媒体。

部署工具以通过认知服务将项目设置自动化,可确保创作者将所有精力集中在创作上。

(来自 Digital Anarchy 的)Transcriptive 为 Premiere Pro 提供了语音转文本功能。
(来自 Digital Anarchy 的)Transcriptive 为 Premiere Pro 提供了语音转文本功能。

编辑和增强内容

在编辑的中途不得不离开 Premiere Pro,确实会导致创作流程中断。事实上,《纽约时报》曾经报告过,创作流程中断后,可能需要花费 25 分钟才能重回正轨。集成的面板和增效工具为编辑流程带来了各种定制第三方应用程序的强大功能,可让用户使用单一界面进行高效的创意编辑工作,而无需中断其编辑流程。无论是在您的系统中还是在 Stock 图像网站上,最常见的编辑流程中断事件都是搜索文件。

用户通常会以两种方式查找媒体,手动浏览文件系统或打开资源管理工具。如果媒体资源管理系统是独立的,则编辑人员必须下载媒体,将其移动到本地驱动器,最后将其导入 NLE。此过程需要花费一些时间,并且经常会导致媒体重复。

将资源管理系统嵌入 Premiere Pro 可简化此过程,让用户可以直接在资源管理系统中搜索、预览媒体,并可将媒体直接拖曳到 Premiere Pro 的时间轴上。根据 Interact Source 的说法,19.8% 的业务时间被花在了搜索文件上。消除此障碍可为编辑工作节约可观的时间。

Cantemo Iconik 可让用户使用 Premiere Pro 直接访问媒体并将其拖曳到时间轴上。
Cantemo Iconik 可让用户使用 Premiere Pro 直接访问媒体并将其拖曳到时间轴上。

即使可以访问作品毛片和存档,编辑人员也可能无法获得全部所需素材。这就是 Adobe Stock 的价值所在。与其他素材库内容站点不同,Adobe Stock 可在 Adobe 应用程序内部进行访问。它允许用户在 9000 多万份图像、视频和图形(包括 Mogrt)中进行搜索,以帮助完成其作品。Adobe 委托进行的一项研究表明,使用传统的素材库内容网站,从查找某个视频到将其加入时间轴,花费的时间超过 3 分钟。而在 Adobe Stock 中,此过程只需花费 16 秒。值得注意的是,您不必获得 Adobe Stock 素材的许可即可使用该素材:将带水印的预览素材保存到 Creative Cloud,然后导入到您的时间轴中即可。在素材获得批准后,单击“下载”,则该剪辑的许可版本将取代预览版本,并保留所有调整。

加入品牌图形和音频元素

内容是全球性的。交付平台的增加和媒体的全球供稿,意味着必须交付多个版本的、质量平均的视频。我们不仅需要多种格式,而且媒体的每个版本都必须根据地理区域、人口特征等因素进行量身定做。您如何在确保品牌一致性的同时,跟上不断提升的内容速度?

Adobe 认识到,确保整个行业内可交付结果的一致性是一项挑战,因此致力于让广播公司和后期制作公司能够通过第三方集成自动完成大部分工作流程。

此问题在创建促销内容时最突出,因为可能需要处理数百次以生成对应的版本。例如,某个促销可能需要为一周中的每一天使用一个图形,比如“本周五”、“明天上午 9 点”、“今晚 9 点”。而每跨越一个不同的区域、语言和交付平台,此示例的工作量都将成倍增长,一个视频很快就会转变为数百个可交付结果,且所有这些可交付结果都要保持一致性和相同的感觉。 

在过去,各个广播公司通过品牌工具包来处理此问题,将各个版本存储在多个文件夹中,并需要通过耗时耗力的手动工作流程进行处理。在更新或替换工具包时,很容易很遇到一致性问题。利用 Adobe Creative Cloud,企业可创建工具包并向全球促销团队进行分发,且所有内容都可通过促销人员使用的任意应用程序中的 Adobe 面板进行访问。如果必须更新某个资源,则图形部门只需在共享库中进行一次更改,即可在全球范围内更新该工具包。

在制作简短的广播内容时,无论是用于促销、新闻还是数字营销,最大的挑战都是在满足紧迫周转时间的同时而不牺牲质量。利用 Adobe 动态图形模板(也称为“Mogrt”,派生自 .mogrt 文件格式),用户可在 Premiere Pro 中充分利用 After Effects 的功能。在 After Effects 中创建动态图形后,可将其导出并添加到 Creative Cloud,供编辑人员在 Premiere Pro 中访问并使用。让编辑人员一直在该应用程序内工作,可提升其工作效率,包括那些并不是很了解 After Effects 和动态图形的编辑人员。 

此外,mogrt 可以动态更改,而无需操作人员手动操作。只需集成主电子表格,即可自动生成替代图形。我们发现,这种方式可将替换图形版本所花费的时间减少 84%。有很多第三方集成可进一步执行此操作,例如通过 API 调用、CMS 系统和 MAM 自动填充项目,以及自动转码或上传到特定的交付目的地。

MASV 提供了直接从 Premiere Pro 进行高速文件传输的功能。
MASV 提供了直接从 Premiere Pro 进行高速文件传输的功能。

与其他团队和团队成员协作

要接触世界各地的出色人才,实现跨大洲低延迟共享媒体、项目和会话至关重要,协作工作流程必不可少。Teamviewer 和 GoToMeeting 无法提供足够的帮助。上传到 Vimeo 并请求评论,需要花费很长的时间。请求利益相关者通过跨国或跨洲出差以查看最新版本,是浪费时间和资金。制作对于协作方面的迫切需求,不仅存在于审阅阶段,同时也存在于创作阶段。

(Creative Cloud 团队和企业帐户提供的)Adobe 团队项目允许多名用户对同一个 Premiere Pro 或 After Effects 项目进行操作(无论他们身处何地)。任何用户每次做出了更改,都可以进行项目同步,让协作者有机会选择接受还是拒绝更改。此工作流程非常重要,因为广播公司需要可视化 Adobe 工具集。例如,可以将团队项目设置为允许用户在本地设施内部编辑以及在基于云的虚拟机上编辑。借助云实例,全球任何地方的用户都可以将粗剪过的作品放在云端,以便随后将其共享到某个本地设施内部,在本地完成其余工作。此工作流程通过提供本地编辑的机会,从而加快项目完成速度并减少编辑费用。与 NDI 视频流和智能云结构之类的技术结合使用时,不管用户身处何方,都能为用户提供真正的实时协作体验。 

以前,如果用户想要发送媒体以供审阅和批准,他们必须先导出媒体,然后将其上传到私有 Vimeo 或 YouTube 频道,然后通过电子邮件沟通,花费数小时/数天/数周来进行各种细微的修改。 

这不可避免地会导致错误传达和项目延迟。幸运的是,苦难的日子已经过去了。利用 Adobe Exchange 上提供的各种审阅和批准工具,审阅和批准项目的时间最多可减少 42%*。现在,用户现在可以进行精细的审阅,这不仅改进了我们的协作方式,而且为 Adobe 引入了一系列全新的功能。用户可以在 Premiere Pro 或第三方应用程序本身之间进行交互,为照片、场景和一般艺术决定添加评论和注释。集成评论的审核记录可将 Premiere Pro 转化为协作平台,允许所有团队成员、编辑人员以及其他团队成员一起合作,让项目成形。 

Frame.io 提供了在 Premiere Pro 时间轴上添加审阅者评论的功能。
Frame.io 提供了在 Premiere Pro 时间轴上添加审阅者评论的功能。

针对观看平台导出

当周转时间变得紧张时,优化交付工作流程可以节约大量的时间,很大程度上就可以决定能否赶上截止日期。在导出之前完成的工作越多,赶上截止期限的可能性越高。

Adobe Media Encoder 包括大量可节省时间的功能(例如时间调谐器、响度标准化工具),且能够应用总体图像校正以使媒体符合广播标准,而无需返回到时间轴进行校正。导出后,有多种工具可以自动执行交付过程的其余步骤,例如提示用户填写正确的元数据、生成更多的版本、对媒体进行质量控制并传输到不同的目标。将工作流程编排工具集成到 Premiere Pro 中,不仅可确保媒体的合规性,还可减少 38% 的交付时间。

Telestream Vantage 提供了自动转码和质量控制工作流程
Telestream Vantage 提供了自动转码和质量控制工作流程

第三方集成带来的时间节省,在合规性和质量控制流程方面感觉最为明显。现在,可以轻松从质量控制工具导入 XML 和 JSON 报告文件,并在 Premiere Pro 时间轴的相应时间码处填充带有对应错误信息的标记。这可加快质量控制流程,并降低提供错误文件的风险。

个人和小型工作室可以从广播工作流程中学到些什么?

BorisFX 提供的 Mocha Pro 为 After Effects 和 Premiere Pro 提供了强大的内部跟踪工具
BorisFX 提供的 Mocha Pro 为 After Effects 和 Premiere Pro 提供了强大的内部跟踪工具

无论预算或流程如何,以下几项原则都可为任何工作室或编辑人员带来帮助。 

避免打开多个应用程序,避免在窗口之间切换,以及避免离开您的 NLE。选择一个核心平台来构建您的业务,然后确保所有其他应用程序和工具都可以在该平台中使用或对其进行补充。

请参阅最佳实践:高效编辑以了解更多方法。

 

将编辑流程图表化、找出瓶颈、解决瓶颈,然后以实现一致性为目标。这不仅可帮助您找出工具和集成可以改善您的工作流程的哪些位置,还可帮助您平稳渡过繁忙的时段。

有时会有很多时间被花费在费时费力的重复性任务上,而这些工作可以通过自动化流程进行取代。将您的工作流程图表化之后,请仔细查看每个阶段,并问问自己,是否充分利用了时间。这通常有助于确定哪些流程可以进行自动化处理。如果您认为某处可以进行自动化处理,则可以将对应的自动处理应用程序集成到您的工作流程中。

请参阅动态图形音频混合优化工作流程的最佳实践指南。

 

应配置并部署能让您省心的技术,从而让您可以专注于制作内容。通常情况下,由于技术限制、不灵活或不良的工作流程问题,制作团队不得不花费大量时间处理技术问题,而不是关注制作内容。制作和技术团队应始终感觉技术能够满足其要求,而不是相反。

请参阅我们的最佳实践:使用原生格式

关于这些最佳做法指南

Adobe 可帮助您更快地到达终点。详细了解我们关于视频编辑和制作的全新最佳实践指南。

 

贡献者

  • Joe Newcombe 在一家位列支持合作伙伴名单中的、面向广播公司和后期制作公司的系统集成企业担任销售和市场主管。他现居住在英国。
  • Jeff Greenberg 是一名顾问兼主讲师,而且是《Adobe Premiere Pro Studio Techniques》的作者。
  • Maxim Jago 是一名居住在巴黎的电影制作人兼主讲师,而且是《Premiere Pro Classroom in a Book》的作者。
  • Alex Macleod 是一名专业制作人兼广播顾问,同时还是英国 Media City Training 公司的老板。
  • Jarle Leirpoll 是一名居住在挪威的电影制作人、编辑人员兼主讲师。他也是《The Cool Stuff in Premiere Pro》的作者。
  • Ian Robinson 是一名广播动画设计人员兼正规 Adobe MAX 培训师。Ian 居住在科罗拉多州的西尔弗索恩。

Broadcast is one of the most demanding production environments. Quality and consistency are critical. Delivery deadlines are absolute. Turnaround time needs to be calculated with precision. And everything has to work every day. Broadcast, therefore, provides a perfect laboratory for post-production efficiency.

integration

What can we learn from broadcast production?

The core principles of efficient broadcast production apply for all video content creators:

  • Keep it simple
  • Standardize workflows
  • Automate repetitive tasks
  • Concentrate on content, not codecs

Integrating production tools

In the simplest terms, integrations put extra features at your fingertips. They save you time and money by avoiding the disruption of navigating multiple applications and systems. Aside from simply working faster, deep integrations can transform how broadcasters (and all video professionals) create content.

Premiere Pro and the Adobe Creative Cloud applications are designed as open platforms with extensive APIs for third-party technologies. Hundreds of companies have created extensions and integrations that accelerate productivity and save costs. You can find Adobe technology partners here: Adobe Video & Audio Partner Finder.

Examining use-cases in broadcast, this Best Practices guide provides an overview of integration tools that allow users to accelerate, automate, and standardize their workflows. The principles that apply for high-performance broadcast production are valid for all types video production.

Red Giant offers powerful plugins and extensions for Premiere Pro and After Effects
Red Giant offers powerful plugins and extensions for Premiere Pro and After Effects

Support Partners is a system integrator for broadcasters and post-production facilities. Our daily work is about understanding our clients’ workflows and identifying areas where they can speed up their production, how much time they save, and how much it costs. Unless otherwise stated, the time savings mentioned in this document are based on our own experience.

Bring media into the editing application

Most broadcasters standardize on certain capture formats and mezzanine codecs for post-production, which provides predictability and allows them to optimize for specific formats. In the real world, though, anything is possible and media may be delivered in any format. We have seen landmark productions request 25 fps and receive 29.97 fps. We’ve seen 8 K rushes delivered for an HD production, and overshooting your ratio by up to 40% - resulting in a mountain of media that needs sorting, transcoding, and prepping for an edit. The Adobe applications and third-party integrations can automate and streamline the ingest process, allowing broadcasters to manage their media efficiently.

Premiere Pro's ability to edit any camera format natively is ideal for news and fast turnaround media. The open format timeline means that the technology gets out of the way of the editor, minimizing the time between filming and playout.

Other productions rely heavily on batch transcoding of rushes to help keep an edit running optimally for an editor. The transcodes help optimize storage and edit performance when working with formats that have larger frame sizes and color spaces.

Doing this transcode in your NLE can be time consuming and repetitive, especially when handling CPU intensive formats, such as RED RAW or ARRI RAW. By using Adobe Media Encoder’s integration with render farm managers, broadcasters can spin up render farms either on-premise or in the cloud, getting the media ‘Edit-Ready’ faster, with less work, and less disruption to your creative team.

Adobe Media Encoder integration with Premiere Pro allows the editor to see the transcode progress and be notified when the media is ready. With this workflow, media can then be dragged and dropped into bins or directly onto the timeline allowing the editor to start 50% faster than if they have to wait for the first transcodes before they can start working.

75% of the data that moves around the world each day is video. For broadcasters, this giant media lifecycle begins with an ingest operator who, names, tags, and organizes the material. Good organization adds tremendous value to media for content creators.

Enterprise and boutique post houses already save time, reduce risk, and streamline the edit pipeline by using standardized naming conventions and folder structures for media. AI and automation can dramatically accelerate this time.

GreyMeta Curio uses AI to help sort and organize media, accessible within Premiere Pro
GreyMeta Curio uses AI to help sort and organize media, accessible within Premiere Pro

Integrating cognitive services can expedite the sorting and tagging process using parameters such as brand recognition, facial recognition, onscreen text, speech-to-text analysis, shot size, shot type. In fact, cognitive services can be trained to recognize almost anything as long as the algorithm has enough data to learn from. In the foreseeable future, a well-trained AI system could sort every shot, based on clapper board info, or by presenter, or by recognizing the location.

The media and the metadata can be presented in a Premiere Pro panel, allowing users to sort, search, and retrieve clips and subclips directly from Premiere Pro. Integrating this metadata with Adobe Smart Bins gives editors access to media that might not have been deemed important by an ingest operator. Or it allows them to reorganise media.

Deploying tools to automate project set-up with cognitive services ensures that the only thing the creative needs to concentrate on is being creative.

Transcriptive, from Digital Anarchy, provides speech-to-text within Premiere Pro.
Transcriptive, from Digital Anarchy, provides speech-to-text within Premiere Pro.

Edit and enhance content

Having to leave Premiere Pro in the middle of an edit can really disrupt the creative process. In fact, The New York Times has reported that it can take 25 minutes to get back on track after every interruption. Integrated panels and plug-ins bring the power of bespoke third-party applications directly into the editing process, allowing users to creatively enhance their edits from a single interface without interrupting their flow. One of the most common mid-edit distractions is searching for files, whether in your own system or on stock image websites.

Typically, users find media in two ways; manually browsing the file systems or opening up an asset management tool. If the media asset management system is separate, the editor has to download the media, move it to a local drive and, finally, import it into the NLE. This process takes time and often results in media duplication.

Embedding the Asset Management system within Premiere Pro streamlines this process significantly, enabling users to search, preview, and drag the media from the asset management system directly onto the Premiere Pro Timeline. According to Interact Source, 19.8% of business time is spent searching for files. Removing this obstacle frees up invaluable time in the edit.

Cantemo Iconik provides access to media which can be dragged onto the Timeline in Premiere Pro.
Cantemo Iconik provides access to media which can be dragged onto the Timeline in Premiere Pro.

Even with access to production rushes and an archive, editors might not have all the footage they need. This is where Adobe Stock comes in. Unlike other stock content sites, Adobe Stock is accessible within the Adobe applications. It allows users to search over 90 million stock images, videos, and graphics (including Mogrts) to help complete their vision. A study commissioned by Adobe shows that with traditional stock content sites, it can take more than 3 minutes, from finding a video to getting it onto the timeline. Comparatively, this process takes just 16 seconds in Adobe Stock. It is worth noting that you don’t have to license Adobe Stock footage to use it: save the watermarked preview footage to Creative Cloud and then import into your timeline. When the footage has been approved, click download and the licensed version of the clip replaces the preview, with all adjustments preserved. 

Incorporate branded graphics and audio elements

Content is global. The increase in delivery platforms and the worldwide syndication of media means that the average video has to be delivered in multiple versions. Not only are numerous formats required, each piece of media might have to be tailored to a geographical area, a demographic… an individual. How do you keep up with the increased content velocity while ensuring brand consistency?

Adobe recognizes that ensuring consistency across deliverables is a challenge throughout the industry and has enabled broadcasters and post-production companies to automate large portions of the workflow through third-party integrations.

This problem is most acute when creating promo content, which may have to be versioned hundreds of times. For example, a promo might need graphics for each day of the week that is ‘This Friday’, ‘Tomorrow at 9pm’, ‘Tonight at 9pm’. Multiply this example across different regions, languages, and delivery platforms and one video quickly turns into hundreds of deliverables, all needing the same consistency, and feel. 

Traditionally, broadcasters have handled this problem with branding toolkits, stored in multiple folders, requiring time-consuming manual workflows. It can easily spiral into consistency issues when toolkits are updated or replaced. Adobe Creative Cloud enable businesses to create toolkits and distribute them across promo teams globally, all accessible through an Adobe panel in whatever application they are using. If an asset has to be updated, the graphics department makes the changes once in the share library and the toolkits are updated, globally.

When creating short-form broadcast content, whether it’s for promos, news or digital marketing, the biggest challenge is meeting tight turnaround times without sacrificing quality. Adobe Motion Graphics templates (aka “Mogrts,” derived from the .mogrt file format) give users access to the power of After Effects inside Premiere Pro. Once a motion graphic is created in After Effects, it can be exported, added to Creative Cloud and be accessible to editors for use within Premiere Pro. Allowing the editor to keep working within the application  enables them to work more efficiently, including editors who do not have a deep knowledge of After Effects and motion graphics. 

Also, mogrts can be changed dynamically, without being touched by an operator. By simply integrating a master spreadsheet, alternative graphics can be generated automatically. We have seen this reduce time spent versioning graphics, by 84%. There are many third-party integrations that take this one step further, such as auto-filling projects from API calls, CMS systems, and MAMs and auto transcoding or uploading to specific delivery destinations.

MASV provides rapid file transfers directly from Premiere Pro.
MASV provides rapid file transfers directly from Premiere Pro.

Collaborate with other teams and team members

To access the best talent around the world, low latency sharing of media, projects, and sessions, across continents, is vital and collaborative workflows have become a necessity. Teamviewer and GoToMeeting do not suffice. Uploading to Vimeo and asking for comments takes too long. Requesting stakeholders to travel across a country or continent to see that the latest version is a waste of time and money.  There is a hunger for productions to collaborate not just during the review process but also while creating.

Adobe Team Projects, which is included with Creative Cloud Teams and Enterprise accounts, allows multiple users to work on the same Premiere Pro or After Effects project, wherever they are in the world. Each time a user makes a change, the project can be synchronized, giving collaborators the chance to accept or reject changes. This workflow is important as broadcasters look to virtualize their Adobe toolset. For example, a Team Project can be set up to allow users to edit either on-premise and on a cloud-based Virtual Machine. With the cloud instance, users anywhere in the globe can put together a rough-cut story that can then be shared with an on-premise facility to be finished locally. This workflow opens up opportunities for on location edits, which in-turn speeds up project completion and reduces editorial overheads. Combined with technologies such as NDI video streaming and smart cloud architecture, it provides users with a true collaborative, over-the-shoulder experience, regardless of their location. 

Not that long ago, if users wanted to send media for review and approval they would have to export the media, upload it to a private Vimeo or YouTube channel and then spend hours/days/weeks going back and forth over email making minor alterations. 

This inevitably led to miscommunication and project delays. Thankfully, those tedious days are gone. With various reviews and approve tools available on the Adobe Exchange, the time to review, and approve a project is reduced by up to 42%*. It is now possible for users to review at a granular level, not only improving the way we collaborate but fundamentally bringing a whole new set of functionalities to Adobe. Users can interact in Premiere Pro or third-party applications themselves, commenting and annotating shots, scenes, and general artistic decisions. Integrating an audit trail of comments turns Premiere Pro into a collaboration platform allowing all team members, editors, and others, to work together as their project take shape. 

Frame.io brings reviewers comments onto the Timeline in Premiere Pro.
Frame.io brings reviewers comments onto the Timeline in Premiere Pro.

Export for viewing platforms

When turnaround times become tight, streamlining the delivery workflow can make the difference between making or missing a deadline.  The more that can be done prior to export the more likely it is to hit deadlines.

Adobe Media Encoder includes more time-saving features such as Time Tuner, Loudness normalizer, and the ability to apply an overall image correction so media is broadcast compliant, without having to go back to the Timeline. Once exported, there are various tools that can automate the remaining steps of the delivery process, prompting users to fill in the correct metadata, generate more versions, QC the media and deliver to various destinations. Integrating a workflow orchestration tool into Premiere Pro not only ensures media compliance but reduces the time to deliver by 38%.

Telestream Vantage automates transcoding and QC workflows
Telestream Vantage automates transcoding and QC workflows

The time savings generated by third-party integrations are most keenly felt in compliance and QC workflows. Today, it is simple to import XML and JSON report files from a QC tool and populate a Premiere Pro timeline with markers showing any errors at the corresponding timecodes. This speeds up the QC process and reduces the risk of delivering an incorrect file.

What can individuals and small studios learn from broadcast workflows?

Mocha Pro from BorisFX provides powerful tracking tools within After Effects and Premiere Pro
Mocha Pro from BorisFX provides powerful tracking tools within After Effects and Premiere Pro

There are several principles that can help any studio or editor, regardless of budget or pipeline. 

Avoid having multiple applications open, avoid switching between windows and avoid leaving your NLE. Choose a core platform to build your business around and then ensure that all additional applications and tools can work within or compliment that platform.

See our Best Practices: Editing efficiently for more ideas.  

 

Map your edit process, recognize bottlenecks, remove them and then aim for consistency. Not only does this help you recognize where tools and integrations might improve your workflow but also help you scale smoothly in busy periods.

So much time is spent on laborious, repetitive tasks which can easily be replaced with automation. Once you have mapped your workflow, look at each stage and ask whether it is a good use of time. This often helps identify the processes that could be automated. And if you think it’s perfect for automation then there is a good chance that an application exists that can be integrated into your workflow.

See our Best Practices guides for motion graphics, audio mixing and streamlining workflows.

 

Technology should be configured and deployed to get out of your way, so you can focus on making content. All too often technology limitations, inflexibility, or poor workflows can mean that production teams spend their time focusing on the technology, rather than their content. Production and technical teams should always feel happy that the technology is working to their requirements and not the other way around.

See our Best Practices: Working with native formats.

About these Best Practice guides

Adobe helps you get to the finish line faster. Learn more in our new Best Practices guides for video editing and production.

 

Contributors

  • Joe Newcombe is head of sales and marketing at Support Partners, a system integrator for broadcasters and post-production facilities. He’s based in the UK. 
  • Jeff Greenberg is a consultant, master trainer, and author of Adobe Premiere Pro Studio Techniques. 
  • Maxim Jago is a Paris-based filmmaker, master trainer, and author of Premiere Pro Classroom in a Book. 
  • Alex Macleod is a production professional, broadcasting consultant, and owner of Media City Training in the UK. 
  • Jarle Leirpoll is a filmmaker, editor, and Master trainer based in Norway. He is also the author of The Cool Stuff in Premiere Pro
  • Ian Robinson is a broadcast motion designer, and regular Adobe MAX trainer. Ian is based in Silverthorne, Colorado.